View Full Version : Italy Away - 1st April 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

Fergie's Son
03/01/2009, 11:22 PM
This may be pricey. Going to go via Chicago to Milan to Bari.

Saint Tom
04/01/2009, 12:07 PM
Tom

Where are you staying in Bari?

Hey, booked this spot. www.hotelmajesty.it

Seems to be a few km from the centre but once its in Bari it will be grand

Newryrep
04/01/2009, 1:41 PM
Mr and Mrs M M are all booked in the Boston but had to search around to get a booking. There will be a cold one on the bar for your Newry and Mrs Newry if she is coming.

Cheers MM, Mrs Newryrep will be there

04/01/2009, 2:39 PM
Sounds like they are trying it on Superdub, I think the Mercure/ACCOR group will guarantee you a room if you are Mercure/ACCOR group member even if the hotel is full - you may have been bumped - try to get them to sort you out with another local hotel as you have already made your plans etc made arangements etc based on their email - hope it works out for you

I never even got the email!!!! I didn't think anything of it until I saw this post today. I went back, no email. Rang them, they have no record of the booking:(

I definately remember seeing the confirmation screen why the feck did I not take a screenshot.

Newryrep
04/01/2009, 6:31 PM
I never even got the email!!!! I didn't think anything of it until I saw this post today. I went back, no email. Rang them, they have no record of the booking:(

I definately remember seeing the confirmation screen why the feck did I not take a screenshot.

Sickener Maribor,

finbarrk
04/01/2009, 8:36 PM
I got a room in the Hotel Victor a few days ago for €90 pn.
http://www.ahotelinitaly.com/hotel-victor-bari/

stojkovic
04/01/2009, 9:10 PM
I got a room in the Hotel Victor a few days ago for €90 pn.
http://www.ahotelinitaly.com/hotel-victor-bari/

Some reviews say its a right kip

05/01/2009, 7:53 AM
Anybody going back on the Thursday from Naples on the Aer Lingus flight?

I'll probably be doing a one way car rental. If anybody is interested in a lift and sharing the costs let me know.

Dr. Ogba
05/01/2009, 8:46 AM
Just managed to get a great deal on an apartment in the city centre - €228 in total for Monday to Thursday for 4 of us...happy days! :D

just have to book flights now...:confused:

Actually does anyone have an "address" of that main square on google maps so i can see how far away i am? cheers...

ChrisRed
05/01/2009, 10:06 AM
Just managed to get a great deal on an apartment in the city centre - €228 in total for Monday to Thursday for 4 of us...happy days! :D

just have to book flights now...:confused:

Actually does anyone have an "address" of that main square on google maps so i can see how far away i am? cheers...

Where abouts did you manage to get the appartment?

finbarrk
05/01/2009, 10:24 AM
Some reviews say its a right kip
That'll suit me so!

Dr. Ogba
05/01/2009, 11:31 AM
Where abouts did you manage to get the appartment?

jammy really, just googled holiday apartments in bari and came up with these guys www.bbplanet.ie ...don't know if they have many apartments in the area but the one i got looks like its pretty much city centre which is handy...

Edit, that should be www.bbplanet.it obviously...

Saint07
05/01/2009, 12:16 PM
Cant find anywhere to stay. Might just do an all nighter on the wed and get 1st train back to rome at 5.30 on thur morning.
Wouldn't be going to bed much earlier anyway.

Will keep my 3 nights in rome too so can get a kip when we get back if we need.

05/01/2009, 2:07 PM
37,500 at the Italy v Scotland game in 2007. This would imply tickets won't be too much of a problem here. The Irish end might still be a little difficult.

CaroG
05/01/2009, 2:13 PM
Anyone flying to Milan Malpensa on the Monday night with Aer Lingus, staying overnight and on to Bari with Easyjet Tuesday morning?

AidoM
05/01/2009, 8:28 PM
Anyone flying to Milan Malpensa on the Monday night with Aer Lingus, staying overnight and on to Bari with Easyjet Tuesday morning?

Yes, 5 of us doing that :eek: :)

Mullin
05/01/2009, 8:30 PM
Yes, 5 of us doing that :eek: :)

Doing that aswell

Just got accomm sorted for the Tuesday and Wednesday night is this spot, 58 per night and its 5 mins from town so not too bad

http://www.lastminute.com/hotels/showHotelDetails.do?accommCode=1057717-0-2-EXT:147871$v1v$&accommAdditional=en_GB-BRI-($n)-($n)-1-IT-($n)-2-3-($n)-5-5-($e)$v1v$&currencyCode=GBP&maxResults=300&startIndex=0&maxRange=25&sortOrder=biasedrating_ASC,price_ASC&locale=en_GB&skin=engb.lastminute.com&lmnRooms=1&returnURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lastminute.com%2Fsite%2 Fmain%2Fhomepage_lastminute_en_gb.html&preserveName-CATEGORY=hotels&preserveName-requestURL=%2Fsite%2Fmain%2Fhomepage_lastminute_en _gb.html&lmnShowRestaurants=True&lmnCheckOutDay=6&lmnLengthOfStay=2&lmnRoom2ChildAge2=-1&lmnCheckInDay=31&lmnRoom2ChildAge1=-1&lmnRoom3ChildAge1=-1&lmnChildrenRoom3=0&lmnChildrenRoom2=0&lmnChildrenRoom1=0&preserveName-CATID=4&lmnRoom3ChildAge3=-1&lmnRoom2ChildAge3=-1&lmnCheckInMonth=3&lmnRoom2ChildAge4=-1&searchableAmenityGroupIds=&lmnCheckOutMonth=1&CATID=4&preserveName-SEARCH=basic&lmnRoom3ChildAge2=-1&errorURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lastminute.com%2Fsite%2F travel%2Fhotels%2Ferror.html&filterResultsBy=all&lmnWeekOffset=&searchTypeName=cityName&lmnCountry=IT%7CITALY%7CITALY&lmnDayOfWeek=&lmnAdultsRoom3=2&lmnAdultsRoom2=2&lmnAdultsRoom1=1&lmnRoom1ChildAge3=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge2=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge1=-1&lmnLocation=bari&lmnRoom3ChildAge4=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge4=-1&preserveName-skin=engb.lastminute.com&currencyCode=GBP&preserveName-method=hotelsFullSearch&returnURL=http://www.lastminute.com/site/travel/hotels/hotels-results.html&&locale=en_GB&tabSelection=hotelDetails&CATID=4&preserveName-startIndex=0&partnerId=0

Newryrep
05/01/2009, 8:42 PM
One of the guys on board.ie posted this link from the Scots supporter group

http://www.tartanarmyclubs.com/fansembassy/bari/index.htm

I am sure our arrangements will be something similar - less the booze ban

05/01/2009, 9:10 PM
http://www.grandhotelleondoro.it/

There is still space here for anyone that needs to book.

finbarrk
05/01/2009, 10:13 PM
Doing that aswell

Just got accomm sorted for the Tuesday and Wednesday night is this spot, 58 per night and its 5 mins from town so not too bad

http://www.lastminute.com/hotels/showHotelDetails.do?accommCode=1057717-0-2-EXT:147871$v1v$&accommAdditional=en_GB-BRI-($n)-($n)-1-IT-($n)-2-3-($n)-5-5-($e)$v1v$&currencyCode=GBP&maxResults=300&startIndex=0&maxRange=25&sortOrder=biasedrating_ASC,price_ASC&locale=en_GB&skin=engb.lastminute.com&lmnRooms=1&returnURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lastminute.com%2Fsite%2 Fmain%2Fhomepage_lastminute_en_gb.html&preserveName-CATEGORY=hotels&preserveName-requestURL=%2Fsite%2Fmain%2Fhomepage_lastminute_en _gb.html&lmnShowRestaurants=True&lmnCheckOutDay=6&lmnLengthOfStay=2&lmnRoom2ChildAge2=-1&lmnCheckInDay=31&lmnRoom2ChildAge1=-1&lmnRoom3ChildAge1=-1&lmnChildrenRoom3=0&lmnChildrenRoom2=0&lmnChildrenRoom1=0&preserveName-CATID=4&lmnRoom3ChildAge3=-1&lmnRoom2ChildAge3=-1&lmnCheckInMonth=3&lmnRoom2ChildAge4=-1&searchableAmenityGroupIds=&lmnCheckOutMonth=1&CATID=4&preserveName-SEARCH=basic&lmnRoom3ChildAge2=-1&errorURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lastminute.com%2Fsite%2F travel%2Fhotels%2Ferror.html&filterResultsBy=all&lmnWeekOffset=&searchTypeName=cityName&lmnCountry=IT%7CITALY%7CITALY&lmnDayOfWeek=&lmnAdultsRoom3=2&lmnAdultsRoom2=2&lmnAdultsRoom1=1&lmnRoom1ChildAge3=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge2=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge1=-1&lmnLocation=bari&lmnRoom3ChildAge4=-1&lmnRoom1ChildAge4=-1&preserveName-skin=engb.lastminute.com&currencyCode=GBP&preserveName-method=hotelsFullSearch&returnURL=http://www.lastminute.com/site/travel/hotels/hotels-results.html&&locale=en_GB&tabSelection=hotelDetails&CATID=4&preserveName-startIndex=0&partnerId=0
Whats all that about?

CaroG
05/01/2009, 11:14 PM
I'm trying to find somewhere resonable to stay for the night in Milan, not sure if near the airport or in the centre. Am thinking nearer airport might be handy as early start Tuesday morning

Sligo Hornet
06/01/2009, 7:03 AM
Doing that aswell

You want to be careful........looks like alot of dodgy small print;)

06/01/2009, 8:23 AM
Just listening to Gerry Ryan this morning, caught the end of the story that Ryanair are stepping in and offering direct flights to Bari for the game. There is nothing about it on their website or anywhere really. Anyone else hear it?

06/01/2009, 8:37 AM
Just listening to Gerry Ryan this morning, caught the end of the story that Ryanair are stepping in and offering direct flights to Bari for the game. There is nothing about it on their website or anywhere really. Anyone else hear it?

NewsTalk said something about it this morning, but gave no detail other than saying Ryanair putting on flights

06/01/2009, 9:07 AM
Flights arent the problem tbh unless your a lazy git its accomodation that will be the hardest thing to sort out as most central hotels are booked out already.

DeLorean
06/01/2009, 10:52 AM
For anybody that booked Rome in advance there are return flights to Bari for as little as €60 including taxes with EasyJet. Beats a four hour train journey anyway for a possibly higher price.

06/01/2009, 11:03 AM
For anybody that booked Rome in advance there are return flights to Bari for as little as €60 including taxes with EasyJet. Beats a four hour train journey anyway for a possibly higher price.

Thats from Rome Fiumicino ... no direct flight connection from Ciampino to Bari

Newryrep
06/01/2009, 11:07 AM

Flight may be only an hour, but you need to get there early to check in, time to travel to the airport etc cost to get to the airport especially if an early flight it all adds up.

got the train from Mainz to Berlin last year after the game, it was a bit longer than flying but much more enjoyable and at a convienent time.

Saint07
06/01/2009, 11:45 AM
Flight may be only an hour, but you need to get there early to check in, time to travel to the airport etc cost to get to the airport especially if an early flight it all adds up.

got the train from Mainz to Berlin last year after the game, it was a bit longer than flying but much more enjoyable and at a convienent time.

Thats exactly what we're thinking. Only get into Rome at 7 on tue evening so couldn't be bothered going back to airport 12 hours later esp as were staying across from train stataion.

Doubt we'll be on our own on the train???

DeLorean
06/01/2009, 11:54 AM
Fair enough lads just said I'd throw it out there in case it was of any use. I'll be flying to Rome from Dublin on the Sunday having stayed up in the big smoke for the Bulgaria match so it suits me fine. There'll be a couple of days in between arriving in Rome and the flight to Bari on the Tuesday (dept. 0910) and I think our accom owners are gonna pick us up in the airport in Bari so that should be handy enough.

DeLorean
06/01/2009, 11:55 AM
Thats from Rome Fiumicino ... no direct flight connection from Ciampino to Bari

Not that I can see

Claret Murph
06/01/2009, 12:16 PM
Thats exactly what we're thinking. Only get into Rome at 7 on tue evening so couldn't be bothered going back to airport 12 hours later esp as were staying across from train stataion.

Doubt we'll be on our own on the train???

I have had a quick look at the trains and at a guess you could have to change at least 3 times this may not be the best but if you have found something better Saint07 then please post it .:(

06/01/2009, 1:05 PM
Have updated the main summary thread with links from here. Keep it coming!

Mento
06/01/2009, 1:21 PM
A travel company have been on to us (YBIG)

Direct fans flight to Bari - 385 euro (all inclusive, bags tax etc)

Depart Dublin at 12 noon on Tuesday, return from Bari 2.0 on the Thursday

Anyone who wants to provisionally book can pm me, cheers

Saint07
06/01/2009, 1:37 PM
I have had a quick look at the trains and at a guess you could have to change at least 3 times this may not be the best but if you have found something better Saint07 then please post it .:(

http://orario.trenitalia.com/b2c/TimeTable?stazin=rome+&stazout=bari&datag=01&datam=04&dataa=2009&timsh=08&timsm=00&lang=en&nreq=5&channel=tcom&x=0&y=0

All trains here seem to be direct, no mention of changes along the way.

Erimusred
06/01/2009, 2:21 PM
Lads if anybody hasnt booked yet there are still cheapish deals that havent moved since 31/12

Tues Ryanair Dub - Malta 07.15 - 12.05 E50

Tues Ryanair Malta - Bari 19.15 - 20.35 E20

7 hour stopover but enough time to wander into town grab a few beers

Thur Sky Bari - Prg 11.10 - 13.10 E50

Thur Aer Lingus Prg - Dub 22.10 - 23.40 E50

8 hour stopover but again, enough time to wander into town.

Cheers

06/01/2009, 2:28 PM
Ryanair's flights are up now to Bari.

Over €400 for the return trip. Only €20 if any of the locals fancy watching it in a Dublin pub.

My roundtrip is only costing €110. However I've also lost €150 on a Milan roundtrip which is no use now.

Claret Murph
06/01/2009, 3:19 PM
http://orario.trenitalia.com/b2c/TimeTable?stazin=rome+&stazout=bari&datag=01&datam=04&dataa=2009&timsh=08&timsm=00&lang=en&nreq=5&channel=tcom&x=0&y=0

All trains here seem to be direct, no mention of changes along the way.

Well done Saint07 when I looked this morning it just came back to me as impossible ( in italian ) but hey what do I know anyway :)

Saint07
06/01/2009, 3:35 PM
Well done Saint07 when I looked this morning it just came back to me as impossible ( in italian ) but hey what do I know anyway :)

are you considering the same?

was looking at flying into bari on tue night but that would be 3rd flight that day and wouldnt get there till 11 so best part of night would be gone anyway by time check into a hotel (which would be a good bit away from the city)

Greenforever
06/01/2009, 3:45 PM
Ryanair Confirms World Cup Qualifier Flight to Bari

RYANAIR CONFIRMS WORLD CUP QUALIFIER FLIGHT TO BARI

LIMITED SEATS TO ITALY FOR CRUCIAL GAME

Ryanair, Ireland’s largest airline, today (6th Jan) announced that it will operate a World Cup Special return flight from Dublin to Bari to allow Irish fans to travel to Ireland’s vital World Cup qualifier against Italy in Bari’s Stadio San Nicola on the 1st April 2009.

Ryanair’s World Cup Special will depart Dublin at 6am on the 1st April and return from Bari on 2nd April at 11:15am (arrive Dublin 2pm). Seats are strictly limited to 189 and are sure to go fast with Ryanair advising fans to log on to www.ryanair.com (http://www.ryanair.com/) to avoid disappointment. Return fares for this one off flight are €399.89 including taxes and charges.

Newryrep
06/01/2009, 4:26 PM

Ryanair, Ireland’s largest airline, today (6th Jan) announced that it will operate a World Cup Special return flight from Dublin to Bari to allow Irish fans to travel to Ireland’s vital World Cup qualifier against Italy in Bari’s Stadio San Nicola on the 1st April 2009.

Ryanair’s World Cup Special will depart Dublin at 6am on the 1st April and return from Bari on 2nd April at 11:15am (arrive Dublin 2pm). Seats are strictly limited to 189 and are sure to go fast with Ryanair advising fans to log on to www.ryanair.com (http://www.ryanair.com/) to avoid disappointment. Return fares for this one off flight are €399.89 including taxes and charges.

You can still go one way with 2 Ryanair flights for E100 the day before - seems excessive ,very early start and miss the craic the night before - having said that I am sure they will get the 189.

Beal Feirste
06/01/2009, 9:16 PM
West Belfast Supporters Club making the trip. Using the easyjet routes we will be in Bari at 8pm on the Tues night (Belfast - Gatwick - Milan - Bari) and coming home Thur (Bari - Milan - Belfast). It was a difficult trip to do from Belfast but we wouldnt miss it for the world. We managed above 5 flights for £248 pp.

Slan

aidz1
07/01/2009, 12:31 PM
West Belfast Supporters Club making the trip. Using the easyjet routes we will be in Bari at 8pm on the Tues night (Belfast - Gatwick - Milan - Bari) and coming home Thur (Bari - Milan - Belfast). It was a difficult trip to do from Belfast but we wouldnt miss it for the world. We managed above 5 flights for £248 pp.

Slan

will be missing ya then

a few of us are flying belfast-milan (EI) on the tues evening, then milan-bari (EZY) first thing wednesday morning. Intending to stay in a cheap milan airport hotel for tues..

flying back bari-gatwick-belfast on the thursday evening.

Paulie
07/01/2009, 12:47 PM
Booked our flights for this yesterday. Out on the Monday, Dublin - Bari via Paris. Getting the Ryanair flight directly home on Thursday morning. The flight home was nearly 200 Euros but I don't care. I don't mind doing the planes, trains and automobiles on the way out, but coming home all I want to do is get back as quickly and as easily as possible, so it's well worth the money in my view.

Claret Murph
07/01/2009, 1:05 PM
[QUOTE=Saint07;1081939]are you considering the same?

QUOTE]

Yer Saint07 very much so as I left booking flights to Mrs Claret and guess the price seems to go up every two hours at the moment so I said the train is the way to go and I am very happy with that , ohh yer I have promised to stay off the beer until at least 9am on the train .
I am sure there will be good fun with the locals going down to the game on the train .

Bring it on .

07/01/2009, 1:21 PM

4,000 paddies on their way to Italy, and the most Ryanair offer is one flight of 189 seats. :rolleyes:

Saint07
07/01/2009, 1:38 PM
QUOTE]

Yer Saint07 very much so as I left booking flights to Mrs Claret and guess the price seems to go up every two hours at the moment so I said the train is the way to go and I am very happy with that , ohh yer I have promised to stay off the beer until at least 9am on the train .
I am sure there will be good fun with the locals going down to the game on the train .

Bring it on .[/QUOTE]

Good stuff, well there'll be 3 of us travelling too. hopefully some banter.

07/01/2009, 1:39 PM
How many are flying out on those times?

How many do you think Ryanair will be able to bring back on the return flight?

How many spare aeroplanes do you think Ryanair have lying around?

Do you do anything other than moan pointlessly?

citizenerased
07/01/2009, 1:54 PM
anyone flying to bologna aerlingus on the tuesday and getting the train down to bari the same day?

07/01/2009, 2:39 PM

3 of us. same route on the way home but with only 90mins between the two return flights it will be tight on the thurs!