View Full Version : Rugby World Cup
Pages :
[
15]
06/10/2007, 11:25 AM
o/t definitely but did anyone read the part serialisation of trevor brennan's autob? Gave one very funny anecdote of Michelak getting wound up by some of his team mates.
Apparently he's a part-time builder, and had started to build a 5 ft wall in front of a team mates front door, realised he was at the wrong house then trapsed across the garden to the house next door and proceeded to build a 6 ft wall inf ront of that house!
GAs stuff.
06/10/2007, 12:05 PM
I think France have the best chance for a shock.
I´ll be cheering for England against Australia, not with any expectations though. I see Mike Catt is playing, some athlete at the age of 36.
Torn-Ado
06/10/2007, 2:47 PM
England beat Australia.
Fair play to them I suppose. Just goes to show the difference between them and us. On the big stage, they can do it.
06/10/2007, 2:59 PM
Fully deserved victory I thought.
Good, structured rugby, good in set-pieces, mauled the Aussies in the scrum, the forwards were fantastic.
One tactic that surprised me was that England kept it close at every opportunity. 22 drop outs and so on, never kicked down field, Wilkinson kept it close, they clearly fancied themselves at the breakdown.
Australia were poor, too many turnovers, and they need a better goal kicker.
Australia were abismal. England killed them in the forwards but far too many mistakes from Australia. Depressing to see them in the semi final. Have to hope NZ win now as I think England could take France.
06/10/2007, 4:22 PM
Australia were abismal. England killed them in the forwards but far too many mistakes from Australia. Depressing to see them in the semi final. Have to hope NZ win now as I think England could take France.
I'm praying for a kiwi victory tonight for that very reason!!!!
Australia were dreadful. Looked ok going forward but as we find out if you can't get good quality ball and your pack is going backwards your screwed.
I don't think England were anything special today but they competed well at the breakdown and had the Aussies in all sorts of trouble in the scrum. Their 6,7 and 8 won a lot of ball and deserve a lot of credit. England have to pray they rack up the penalties because when they meet the big guns (New Zealand/France) they don't have the quality to take their try scoring opportunities. They had a good bit of ball in the oppositions 22 today but couldn't do anything with it. I bet Ashton buys Rolland a pint or two tonight!!!
06/10/2007, 5:02 PM
I'm praying for a kiwi victory tonight for that very reason!!!!
Australia were dreadful. Looked ok going forward but as we find out if you can't get good quality ball and your pack is going backwards your screwed.
I don't think England were anything special today but they competed well at the breakdown and had the Aussies in all sorts of trouble in the scrum. Their 6,7 and 8 won a lot of ball and deserve a lot of credit. England have to pray they rack up the penalties because when they meet the big guns (New Zealand/France) they don't have the quality to take their try scoring opportunities. They had a good bit of ball in the oppositions 22 today but couldn't do anything with it. I bet Ashton buys Rolland a pint or two tonight!!!
Although it grieved me to see England win I thought Rolland was excellent today. Gave the Aussies every opportunity to sort out their scrum before penalising them. Nor did he allow Gregan to referee he game as he usually like to. All the other penalties for both sides were clear cut. Some of the Auusie indiscipline was unbelievable and it cost them in the end.
I'd say there is a good chance of Rolland getting the final, although if France didn't make it could be Joel Jutge.
06/10/2007, 5:14 PM
Although it grieved me to see England win I thought Rolland was excellent today. Gave the Aussies every opportunity to sort out their scrum before penalising them. Nor did he allow Gregan to referee he game as he usually like to. All the other penalties for both sides were clear cut. Some of the Auusie indiscipline was unbelievable and it cost them in the end.
I'd say there is a good chance of Rolland getting the final, although if France didn't make it could be Joel Jutge.
I thought so too, I wasn't having a go at him. It's just a pity he is Irish and couldn't have reffed some of our games. Would he be allowed to ref England again in the Semi?
06/10/2007, 8:34 PM
NZ look to be struggling. Wouldn't be surprised to see France shade it.
06/10/2007, 9:01 PM
bloody hell the kiwi's choke again. Remember the first two weeks of the world cup when the northern hemisphere teams were supposed to be light years behind their southern counterparts? If Scotland beat Argentina the WC semi finals will have 3 teams from the 6 nations!!!
06/10/2007, 11:19 PM
The biggest surprise was the lack of depth NZ had on the bench. None of their replacements made any impact where all the French replacements contributed positively.
The other surprising aspect was their lack of composure particularly when the mounted their last few attacks, typified by the ridiculous drop goal attempt at the end from the worst field position they had in that last five minutes.
England must be laughing tonight and unless France can string together good back to back perfomances, something they don't often do, it could be well be England in the final. :eek:
Rovers fan
06/10/2007, 11:42 PM
typified by the ridiculous drop goal attempt at the end from the worst field position they had in that last five minutes.
diid they not have an advantage that they thought would come f he missed but they were too late and the advantage was gone? im not sure though.
I was surprised the all blacks chocked because france weren't particularly good. Carter was quite poor, he tred 2 of the stupidest kicks when he was in his own 22 but got lucky both tmes.
France were 9/1 when they were 13-0 down, i was gonna bet on them but i didnt bother. argh! It was a definite forward pass for the jauzion try.
I also felt sivivatu ws completely anonymous.
Great to hear a rendition of the fields in the 1st half!
Im guessing it will be a france south
07/10/2007, 1:15 AM
France thoroughly deserved the victory.
Painful to watch the world´s nr 1 try to batter their way to try line. And then they knock on or get turned over with inches to go :) I loved that bit.
Sorry, I just don´t like the All Blacks teutonic rugby.
I thought France were magnificent. A victory for the team with some flair.
They withstood the battering ram of NZ Rugby, reminded a bit of Ali's rope a dope, popping out now and again with the killer blows.
07/10/2007, 10:22 AM
They aren't. They are representing the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.Wrong thread for you perhaps?:confused:
ok so why not play the two then, the Irish and british anthems together? i wouldnt have a problem with that!
no im sorry its not the wrong thread........i follow all sports (as a gambler i have to!;)), but i didnt give a toss about Ireland and was more than happy to see them beaten
anyway.................great to see my bet France (at 6/1) still in it, even if they are not the best French team i have ever seen
and i fancy Scotland to beat the Argies today, esp with all the frees they will be giving away
Giuly
07/10/2007, 11:19 AM
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x35cbm_les-hymnes-et-le-haka-de-francenouv_news
07/10/2007, 11:43 AM
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x35cbm_les-hymnes-et-le-haka-de-francenouv_news
Great! I watched it on tv last night, the Haka was great up close. As usual Michalak ;) worked his magic for France. That Jesus look-a-like Chabal is scary :eek:
Glad France won, they deserved it
07/10/2007, 12:42 PM
I thought Chabal is a stand in for Gérard Depardieu
07/10/2007, 1:50 PM
I thought the All Blacks didn't deserve to lose, but neither did they deserve to win. Make sense?
Another good game between Fiji and south Africa. 20-20 with 20 mins to go, but the big South African pack cleaned up late on, winning 37-20. Some great running from Fiji though.
The turning point today was at 20-20 when Fiji were on the SA line until they knocked on. A few minutes later SA scored a 7 point try.
The 2nd try by Fiji was maybe try of the tournament although Fiji have a few other contenders too.
:cool:
Its always great to see NZ lose
07/10/2007, 9:04 PM
Argentina beat Scotland tonight by 19-13 in what was a terrible game. Argentina got more nervous as the game went on and Scotland just weren't good enough to capitalise.
It now has become quite an intruiging World Cup, and you can make a case for all four left after todays inept performances by South Africa and Argentina. England have the best line-out / scrummage left in the tournament and this alone gives them a chance against France. They badly need a cutting edge outside of 10 though and they simply don't have it.
Prediction: France 32-15 England.
South Africa will find Argentina much more to their liking. They will target Hernandez and Contepomi far better than anyone else has to date in this tournament, and the further Argentina progress, the more nervous they seem to be getting.
Prediction: South Africa 36-12 Argentina.
07/10/2007, 10:39 PM
have to say from a non expert point of view , really enjoyed the 2 games yesterday and the SA Figi game today , some great contrasting styles , I'd tip France to win it now
heres them facing the Haka from close up
jKXevFUKZZ8
diid they not have an advantage that they thought would come f he missed but they were too late and the advantage was gone? im not sure though.
It was a scrum advantage, not a penalty advantage - poor decision making. Kiwi's should've carried on going through the phases - they would've scored or drawn the penalty eventually as France didn't look like turning it over. Delighted for Henry, absolute banker....
btw Is that Kiwi around who was being typically arrogant before the competition? Gone to ground like the rest of them. Still plenty of general site seeing in Paris for the 20,000 (or whatever it is) that had their holidays planned around the knock out stages :D
Argentina peaked to soon to challenge South Africa imo. Although they had to peak to have a chance of getting out of the group, so that's probably a little unfair. I know there's the theory that they didn't get out of 2nd gear yesterday, but we know as well as anyone it's had to find 3rd, 4th and 5th then when you need it. Scotland were brutal - how come we always end up with France and Argentina and they get a clear cut group that's relatively easy to get out of? Of is it our mentality that stops us - Scotland probably would've put out the A team against France to concentrate against Argentina anyway...
Fiji were unlucky. England were impressive, and could do it again against France unfortunately. Doubt they'll out muscle South Africa or Argentina though, and they've nothing else.
btw Did TV3 just repeat the post match from Saturday last night? TV3 coverage like the Irish teams - devoid of inspiration and a plan b. There's only so many time's you can hear Glennon go on about the bench, and Brennan going on about keeping the squad happy before you turn over to ITV...
08/10/2007, 10:11 AM
I can't wait for the France vs England game.
Oh oh, doesn't it clash with something?
I might take my radio to Croker with me on Saturday! Can you get BBC R5 Live in Drumcondra?
08/10/2007, 10:48 AM
.....England were impressive, and could do it again against France unfortunately...
It is worrying that the chariot appears to be cruising! :eek:
08/10/2007, 10:52 AM
I might take my radio to Croker with me on Saturday! Can you get BBC R5 Live in Drumcondra?
I suspect there will be plenty of barstoolers who will want the big screens switched over about 15 minutes into the second half at CP, just after GSTQ is finished :D
You should be able to get 5live, but newstalk are covering both semi's anyway (the ad isn't wrong, turn down the TV, turn up the radio).
Whats the Setanta coverage been like? I've heard it's been pretty good, and the GAA have taken note. Looks like Setanta and TV3 will be putting together a package for the GAA too....
08/10/2007, 11:00 AM
It is worrying that the chariot appears to be cruising! :eek:
Struggled in every game bar the QF, and even then if Mortlock hadn't have missed so many kicks they'd have been out.
08/10/2007, 11:01 AM
I dunno about r5 live but the game should be on that Talk 106 station.
Is it "alles les bleus" for you.
08/10/2007, 11:06 AM
allez les bleus.
I was telling the lads here at work during the week that I thought england would beat australia during the week, I also said to them if france beat nz i could see England beating france. I still can.
08/10/2007, 11:06 AM
Struggled in every game bar the QF, and even then if Mortlock hadn't have missed so many kicks they'd have been out.
Maybe so but they are still there.
I cannot see them allowing France to play the expansive game they love playing. In a tight game, you would have to fancy England. I hope I am completely wrong.
08/10/2007, 11:19 AM
Struggled in every game bar the QF, and even then if Mortlock hadn't have missed so many kicks they'd have been out.You're only as good as your last game at this level of rugby, and the English pack was awesome. No other pack in the world would have coped with them on Saturday. If they can repeat that, France are up against it.
And Jonny Wilkinson missed some glaring kicks too on Saturday. Your point about Mortlock is rubbish. England deserved the game.
08/10/2007, 11:21 AM
And Jonny Wilkinson missed some glaring kicks too on Saturday. Your point about Mortlock is rubbish. England deserved the game.
Where did I say they didn't deserve it? I stated that they could have EASILY gone out if Mortlock hadn't missed several easy kicks. He missed more chances than Wilkinson, thats fact.
And Jonny Wilkinson missed some glaring kicks too on Saturday.
The ball must be really crap. Interesting that it took Wilkinson and Carter to complain about the ball for anyone to take notice - Contepomi was giving out to the ref first place kick in the first game of the tournament...
08/10/2007, 11:37 AM
If England somehow stumble to a world cup final after 4 years of ineptitude then words fail me. If France don't concede stupid penalties then I can't see how England will score any points. Christ reading the papers over in England you'd have thought they absolutely wiped Australia off the park.......it was a 2 point game!!!!
Very surprised to hear the commentators criticise Argentina's game plan last night. Sure kicking the ball back and waiting for the opposition to make mistakes has been a key feature of all their big games so far. It bores the livng daylights out of me but hey why would you change what works so well for you?
Well done to Fiji, breath of fresh air. I was actually leaping off my seat yesterday roaring them on, if only they had got that third try when they were on a roll.....
08/10/2007, 11:57 AM
Where did I say they didn't deserve it? I stated that they could have EASILY gone out if Mortlock hadn't missed several easy kicks. He missed more chances than Wilkinson, thats fact.
Thats not fact actually. They both missed three penalties. Australia kicked one pen out of 4 attempts, England kicked 4 pens out of seven attempts. About even if you ask me. And you didn't state that they could have easily gone out, you stated that they would have. http://worldcup.planet-rugby.com/Opta_Stats/0,21241,2902775,00.html
08/10/2007, 12:01 PM
And you didn't state that they could have easily gone out, you stated that they would have
Fair point. Apologies.
08/10/2007, 12:02 PM
1 in 4 is worse than 4 in 7 statistically.
As the french were saying, the 6 nations is just a build up for the autumn tests, it means nothing, the french use it every year to find out about fringe players etc, we were using it as a measuring stick.
It was interesting to here how osullivan last year said not to read into the autumn tests as it means nothing and how south africa hadn't even brought a full strenght team. Yet last week when under pressure it was his first weapon of shield, how people shoudn't forget how we put SA and Australia to the sword blah de blah....
08/10/2007, 12:09 PM
Fair point. Apologies.
None required. I'm just in a pedantic mood. Something ain't working for me at work and I'm grumpy and picky.;)
08/10/2007, 12:37 PM
Is it "alles les bleus" for you.No, it'll be "allez les bleus". Or was that what you were getting at, my having misspelt "joie de vivre" a few months ago?
Anyway, it'll be allez anyone but les blancs. I'm a very bitter individual.
08/10/2007, 12:45 PM
No, it'll be "allez les bleus". Or was that what you were getting at, my having misspelt "joie de vivre" a few months ago?
stutts, didnt i just point this out earlier?
As the french were saying, the 6 nations is just a build up for the autumn tests, it means nothing, the french use it every year to find out about fringe players etc, we were using it as a measuring stick.
It was interesting to here how osullivan last year said not to read into the autumn tests as it means nothing and how south africa hadn't even brought a full strenght team. Yet last week when under pressure it was his first weapon of shield, how people shoudn't forget how we put SA and Australia to the sword blah de blah....
That's rubbish talk from France anyway - they might blood players against the weaker 6 nations sides, but against England and us (or who the a.n.other challenger is) they pick their strongest side. And it has to be factored in, with a much bigger playing pool they can afford to do that.
The championship is the most important competition in the Northern Hemisphere, and the only possible arguement against that is in a World Cup year. Same as in the Tri Nations, it's only in a World Cup year that teams start messing with selections (and even then, mainly South Africa). Test matches are just matches - nice to win but in the scheme of things but just one off games. However, it can provide a real spring board, as our defeat of Austrailia a few years ago did - problem was it was just too early.
If the regular competitions mean so little then Argentina, Fiji, Samoa etc wouldn't be fighting so hard to get in, and the existing teams wouldn't be trying so hard to keep them out.
To some up, more french crap talk.
Am I the only one that can't stand Argentina? Is the Argentina love in because of Contepomi? Argentina are the Jack Charltons Ireland of International rugby - effective but boring as hell because they just feed off others mistakes. Created nothing against Scotland & only try was a charged down kick. Would be a terrible to see them in a final.
08/10/2007, 1:48 PM
stutts, didnt i just point this out earlier?
So you did.
Am I the only one that can't stand Argentina? Is the Argentina love in because of Contepomi?
I'd imagine its because they're not in the 6 nations/tri-nations.
And they can play rugby. I honestly think they just relaxed against Scotland, saving themself for SA
Doubt it's anything to do with Contepomi tbh. I'm watching the world cup mainly on ITV, where they're equally enamoured with Argentina, but Contepomi hardly gets a mention really... Typical Munster though pete, trying to blame it on Leinster bias. :D
08/10/2007, 4:33 PM
Argentina don't play a huge amount of rugby, but when they do they are quite handy at it!! Unlike Scotland who only had one game and when they had to move it wide didn't have the backline.
Unfortunately for Argentina I think South Africa will be able to compete with them in the forwards and have much better backs. 20 garryowens and a load of mauls is unlikely to get them to the final.
08/10/2007, 4:47 PM
Unfortunately for Argentina I think South Africa will be able to compete with them in the forwards and have much better backs. 20 garryowens and a load of mauls is unlikely to get them to the final.
ya see i think thats where Diplomatic immunity will win out, they will have the backs to outclass and outmuscle argentinas backs and that will be the telling difference.
08/10/2007, 9:32 PM
......I'd say there is a good chance of Rolland getting the final.....
Now confirmed on RTE Sports: Irish referee Alain Rolland will take charge of the World Cup final at the Stade de France on 20 October.
Great choice and a well deserved honour, he has been the best referee by a mile.
08/10/2007, 10:59 PM
Now confirmed on RTE Sports: Irish referee Alain Rolland will take charge of the World Cup final at the Stade de France on 20 October.
Great choice and a well deserved honour, he has been the best referee by a mile.You're kidding me aren't you? Tell that to the Namibian he disgracefully sent off against France in the first few minutes. He shouldn't have got another match after that.