View Full Version : Football in Shannon
Pages :
[
5]
Oscar Traynor manager doesnt seem to think so kid..keep your comments about the limerick league because you obviously havent got a clue about the clare league!;)
brutus
07/03/2007, 5:03 PM
Oscar Traynor manager doesnt seem to think so kid..keep your comments about the limerick league because you obviously havent got a clue about the clare league!;)
sorry spudd but you have lost it,what has this topic got to do with limerick league,maybe you belong in the mayo thread:eek: :eek:
how good do ye want it to be,the players playing in clubs in shannon are all playing standard football,2 teams in clare prem and 2 teams in limerick 1A,1A is even tougher than the clare prem,there shouldnt be a problem getting a decent side,the only problem is who would look after it..:ball:
Now as i said below - You know absaloutley nothing about the clare league kid! So you might aswell start adding comments in the 1B thread because thats where you'll be playin ball next year kid!
Lev Yashin
07/03/2007, 8:40 PM
park(quirkey,shane mccarthy,locks,hedgey)
shannon town(ger kelly,griffin,the other lad who left park,strong midfielder,pogger carew)
newtown(derek burn,tom o hare,cheeky,ryan kelly,
olympic(john ryan,j-regan,jimmy houligan,terry duggan)
there is just a run off of a few stronger players at each club,many good other players i havent mentioned..
are you serious about this one or just takng the p!ss....no offence to pogger but he would openly admit he is not one of the best 4 players at the club!!he plays witht he b team.
2legged tackle
07/03/2007, 10:43 PM
he is a great keeper but he is not as good as whelers for bunratty young lad,deep down u know yourself...:D
Wheelers in my opinion is better than skinny but
Do you really think skinny is a "great keeper"? Hes half decent at very most. (imo)
who are you comparing him to?
Wouldnt put great in the same sentance as any keeper in Clare.
Interested
07/03/2007, 11:09 PM
Do you really think skinny is a "great keeper"? Hes half decent at very most. (imo)
Have to agree that Wheeler's in my opinion is a better keeper than Skinny, both have good defences in front of them to hide whatever weaknesses are there.
If your talking about best keepers there are a few good ones outside the Shannon area. The Hermitage keeper springs to mind straight away, as does that foreign lad that plays with Bridge Celtic.
Just a point on an earlier thread, not all the best players in Clare were picked for the Oscar Treaynor Panel for one reason or another. Eddie went with the panel that could give him the commitment needed, needless to say, not all players could give that commitment.
OpenGoal
08/03/2007, 6:37 AM
park(quirkey,shane mccarthy,locks,hedgey)
shannon town(ger kelly,griffin,the other lad who left park,strong midfielder,pogger carew)
newtown(derek burn,tom o hare,cheeky,ryan kelly,
olympic(john ryan,j-regan,jimmy houligan,terry duggan)
there is just a run off of a few stronger players at each club,many good other players i havent mentioned..
Brutus, based on the four players you selected from shannon olympic, I have to ask the question, have you ever actually seen them play??? Or just repeating something you heard in the pub......
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 8:37 AM
Lads it is a bit strange that Noel Donnellan hasn't been mentioned in this along with Jason Stretton. They have been rock solid this year for Newtown. Noel hasn't put a foot wrong all year and is Probably the reason Newtown are doing so well.Jason has done great stuff aswell but he can only do so much as Noel seems to leave him with little or nothing to do. Speaking to a few of Newtown apponents and they reckon the to lads are the best center half/ sweepers they have played against.
2legged tackle
08/03/2007, 8:46 AM
Brutus, based on the four players you selected from shannon olympic, I have to ask the question, have you ever actually seen them play??? Or just repeating something you heard in the pub......
Definatly hasnt seen them play!!!
parkfan
08/03/2007, 8:55 AM
Definatly hasnt seen them play!!!
afraid lads hes probably right they are among the best in shannon, jimmy and john are class well worth a jersey. but i dont think this brutus lad nos what he is saying, he obviously doesnt watch much football. :D
Brazil Nut
08/03/2007, 9:23 AM
afraid lads hes probably right they are among the best in shannon, jimmy and john are class well worth a jersey. but i dont think this brutus lad nos what he is saying, he obviously doesnt watch much football. :D
Parkfan, Seriously!!!!!!! U are brutal at writing posts! think about what you say or at least write it down and read it before posting as u never make sense. u just completely contradicted yourself for the 100th time:rolleyes:
Brazil Nut
08/03/2007, 9:31 AM
Lads it is a bit strange that Noel Donnellan hasn't been mentioned in this along with Jason Stretton. They have been rock solid this year for Newtown. Noel hasn't put a foot wrong all year and is Probably the reason Newtown are doing so well.Jason has done great stuff aswell but he can only do so much as Noel seems to leave him with little or nothing to do. Speaking to a few of Newtown apponents and they reckon the to lads are the best center half/ sweepers they have played against.
Have to agree, easily the best centre half pairing around. Are newtown worried that next yr they might loose their best asset, their defence??? surely b team football is calling for the old heads. Not having having a go at age (as they are playing very well) but cant play at the top forever!!
old git
08/03/2007, 9:32 AM
are you serious about this one or just takng the p!ss....no offence to pogger but he would openly admit he is not one of the best 4 players at the club!!he plays witht he b team.
fair play shannonman... i thought brutus was taking de p*ss about pogger carew. shows you how many matches he has seen
old git
08/03/2007, 9:36 AM
Have to agree, easily the best centre half pairing around. Are newtown worried that next yr they might loose their best asset, their defence??? surely b team football is calling for the old heads. Not having having a go at age (as they are playing very well) but cant play at the top forever!!
old heads alright but by performances this season don't see any reason why they will want to stop playing next year .. plenty of bite / heart left in both jason & noel to see in a few more seasons with newtown .. :ball:
parkfan
08/03/2007, 9:44 AM
Parkfan, Seriously!!!!!!! U are brutal at writing posts! think about what you say or at least write it down and read it before posting as u never make sense. u just completely contradicted yourself for the 100th time:rolleyes:
try reading the post again and using your head. hes rite about the two players i mention and then i lead on saying that he obliously doesnt watch much football in the town. how does that confuse you go back and play with your blocks.:D
brutus
08/03/2007, 9:46 AM
only having a laugh about pogger he is a good mate..
brutus
08/03/2007, 9:48 AM
this season skinny has being a great keeper in all the f.a.i. matches i had seen,fantastic penalty stopper..
brutus
08/03/2007, 9:50 AM
Just a point on an earlier thread, not all the best players in Clare were picked for the Oscar Treaynor Panel for one reason or another. Eddie went with the panel that could give him the commitment needed, needless to say, not all players could give that commitment.
you are dead right there what on gods earth is trevor maxwell doing starting on that team so many better players out there than him..
brutus
08/03/2007, 9:52 AM
ive seen them play on many occasions,you cant argue that i havent picked out 4 of there best players,madness if you are trying to differ..
brutus
08/03/2007, 9:57 AM
parkfan are you drunk or something absolute nonsense your posts are, go back to bed,ive seen more matches than youve had hot dinners kid..
brutus
08/03/2007, 10:01 AM
fair play shannonman... i thought brutus was taking de p*ss about pogger carew. shows you how many matches he has seen
bit of a laugh old git smile will ya:p
Brazil Nut
08/03/2007, 10:04 AM
try reading the post again and using your head. hes rite about the two players i mention and then i lead on saying that he obliously doesnt watch much football in the town. how does that confuse you go back and play with your blocks.:D
It confuses me because.......... how can he be right as u clearly say he is and then say he obviously doesn't watch too much football???? What's worse is u wrote it twice and it still makes sense in your head:rolleyes:
brutus
08/03/2007, 10:05 AM
2 fabalous players smellyfeet,noel excellent in the air,jay reads the game very well from the games i have seen down in ballycasey this year,alot of the youngsters will learn from both men:ball: :ball:
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 10:19 AM
2 fabalous players smellyfeet,noel excellent in the air,jay reads the game very well from the games i have seen down in ballycasey this year,alot of the youngsters will learn from both men:ball: :ball:
Don't know about the youngsters learning from them:D
brutus
08/03/2007, 10:56 AM
Don't know about the youngsters learning from them:D
who else down in the newtown camp can teach them,apart from andy o mahony:eek:
parkfan
08/03/2007, 10:59 AM
It confuses me because.......... how can he be right as u clearly say he is and then say he obviously doesn't watch too much football???? What's worse is u wrote it twice and it still makes sense in your head:rolleyes:
sorry if your still confused. i can smell the rope burning from here. poor old skin....
old git
08/03/2007, 11:09 AM
who else down in the newtown camp can teach them,apart from andy o mahony:eek:
hopefully not andy teaching .. i played against andy a few times
he would give you a good kicking on the pitch :ball:
brutus
08/03/2007, 11:21 AM
hopefully not andy teaching .. i played against andy a few times
he would give you a good kicking on the pitch :ball:
wel from talking to one individual, andy couldnt teach this fella anything he hadnt learned since under-10 with peter webb,
is there a better man for the job does anyone have any opinion on this.
parkfan
08/03/2007, 11:37 AM
Best man for the job would be Jimmy Rocks. Whatever you dont learn from him wouldnt be worth knowing.
brutus
08/03/2007, 11:40 AM
Best man for the job would be Jimmy Rocks. Whatever you dont learn from him wouldnt be worth knowing.
is j.rocks doing anythin with the club at the moment?
parkfan
08/03/2007, 11:41 AM
is j.rocks doing anythin with the club at the moment?
i think he might be still knocking about with the Bteam. The newtown lads would know more
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 11:59 AM
wel from talking to one individual, andy couldnt teach this fella anything he hadnt learned since under-10 with peter webb,
is there a better man for the job does anyone have any opinion on this.
Seems to be doing an ok job this year.
Any, theres no point in trying to teach fella's something if they are not willing to learn,in one ear and out the other. Especialy when they know everything there is to know about the game;)
OpenGoal
08/03/2007, 12:24 PM
Parkfan, any chance of some punctuation or even a few capital letters at the start of each sentence?
In my opinion, and its only an opinion, you couldn't pick a best 4 from Olympic without including Kelly, Fogarty(last sundays match excepted) & B O'Connor. I'd go for John Ryan to make up that 4 for consistency of performance. Jimmy is a class player, one of the best around on his day, but not consistent. Jay Reagan, good, but again inconsistent. I've picked my players based on influence on the outcome of the match, not skill. Obviously, there's be no place for Fogarty if I had.............:D :D
Goals4fun
08/03/2007, 12:56 PM
did jay try his luck with shannon town and not succeed? i don't hink he would be one of the bnest midfielders in shannon... or an i wrong.
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 1:04 PM
did jay try his luck with shannon town and not succeed? i don't hink he would be one of the bnest midfielders in shannon... or an i wrong.
Your a bit out of date. Jay is playing at Central Defence.Great stuff i might add.
He did play with Shannon Town at youths and was a great player for them from what i have heard. He also played with them in the Premier in Limerick
but i don't know about not succeeding.What was he meant to achieve.:confused:
brutus
08/03/2007, 1:40 PM
Seems to be doing an ok job this year.
Any, theres no point in trying to teach fella's something if they are not willing to learn,in one ear and out the other. Especialy when they know everything there is to know about the game;)
theres alot of players out there always wanting to learn more,but a good percentage of the managers or coaches just arent goods enough and that why i think people are always posting saying theres a lack of quality in shannon..my opinion is if you want to coach a team go get your badges first then come back to the club,how many managers or trainers in shannon at this moment looking after teams have badges?
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 2:03 PM
theres alot of players out there always wanting to learn more,but a good percentage of the managers or coaches just arent goods enough and that why i think people are always posting saying theres a lack of quality in shannon..my opinion is if you want to coach a team go get your badges first then come back to the club,how many managers or trainers in shannon at this moment looking after teams have badges?
I wonder did Bill Shankley or Brian Clough have badge's......:eek:
You don't need badge's to teach a player the game, only need a player listen and not hear you.:ball:
2legged tackle
08/03/2007, 2:06 PM
Great comment there spudd. If only everyone could make more sensible comments like this one.
Many major's ya Rob off your dad this morning then...?
That good enuff comment for ya?
brutus
08/03/2007, 2:22 PM
I wonder did Bill Shankley or Brian Clough have badge's......:eek:
You don't need badge's to teach a player the game, only need a player listen and not hear you.:ball:
well with some of tha trainers around these days,id have to disagree some of these guys dont have a clue at all,only way they l have the knowledge of the game is to get the badges:ball:
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 2:25 PM
well with some of tha trainers around these days,id have to disagree some of these guys dont have a clue at all,only way they l have the knowledge of the game is to get the badges:ball:
ok......
I'd go for John Ryan to make up that 4 for consistency of performances.
was anyone else there on sunday, he was absolutely shockin:ball: ... apparently one of olympics worst this season... How many games has he played this season because apparently he works most sundays......
2legged tackle
08/03/2007, 3:03 PM
I'd go for John Ryan to make up that 4 for consistency of performances.
was anyone else there on sunday, he was absolutely shockin:ball: ... apparently one of olympics worst this season... How many games has he played this season because apparently he works most sundays......
Last 5 or 6 hes been there and hasnt been good in any of these games at all.
brutus
08/03/2007, 3:19 PM
Last 5 or 6 hes been there and hasnt been good in any of these games at all.
well maybe he needs to be playing around better players,few years back when he was playing out in bunratty hell of alot better then:ball:
2legged tackle
08/03/2007, 3:26 PM
well maybe he needs to be playing around better players,few years back when he was playing out in bunratty hell of alot better then:ball:
Maybe but hasnt looked that way. seems behind the rest of the team if anything?
John is a good athlete and ive no doubt he has been good in the past but this year he hasnt really been up to it.
As just1 said hes works most sundays and rushing from work to play a match isnt the best preperation. Just needs to get his head in the game. (imo)
shelbourne1904
09/03/2007, 10:52 AM
These days seems to have a majority of young players of under 25 who are still looking to reach their full potential,where as 10-15 years ago it was the opposite. Most teams were full of experienced players with only one or two young lads in the team. I suppose its down to the lifestyle changes over the past 15 years where priorities have changed.[/QUOTE]
One thing noone has commented on is the fact that none I repeat none of Newtowns youths team are getting anywhere near the Ateam this year!!!
10, 15 and 20 years ago there were always youths playing and in the panel!!!!!
Spudd
09/03/2007, 11:02 AM
One thing noone has commented on is the fact that none I repeat none of Newtowns youths team are getting anywhere near the Ateam this year!!!
10, 15 and 20 years ago there were always youths playing and in the panel!!!!![/QUOTE]
Simple question..Do you not think Gary Leahy's good enough to be on Newtowns A team panel if not the team...?
I certainly do...
brutus
09/03/2007, 11:40 AM
The youth team lads havent even had an oppurtunity to even get a run in the A team squad..2 or 3 of them at least should have been called up in the clare cup against the weaker teams like moher b and cratloe..i have to agree with spudd gary leahy is quality,i could name another four that are capable of getting a run with the Ateam..
2legged tackle
09/03/2007, 11:49 AM
10, 15 and 20 years ago there were always youths playing and in the panel!!!!!
Simple question..Do you not think Gary Leahy's good enough to be on Newtowns A team panel if not the team...?
I certainly do...[/QUOTE]
I wouldnt put Gary Leahy as a sub for the B team. hes a good player but he knows it all. wouldnt listen to a word anyone would have to say. Players like that are no good to any team. thats whats wrong with this years Newtown youths team. There all superstars in their own heads with exceptions for only a few.