View Full Version : Football in Shannon
Pages :
[
2]
parkfan
15/12/2006, 6:44 PM
lads... is there any wonder why lads don't bother playing anymore, darren griffin is a fine center half why cant you just accept grif for player he is. There ain't no point in shouting and roaring at lads, who learns anything from that?. It wrecks a players confidence. maybe for one reason or another the player is having problems in his work at home or whatever. Maybe the only reason he goes playing is because he loves the game.. Encouragement is the only way to go. Whats the point in abusing a player because he made a mistake. As i said different people lead in different ways.. I don't want no **** balling at me because its not working out for me on the field.
Ice-man
15/12/2006, 7:16 PM
Is Griff the Captain ? If not, then what's all this about ?
Griff is a quality players, great feet, great in the air and reads the game very well - the Boro didn't want him just to sit on the bench at the start of the season, who gives a fu*k if his quiet or not, the Captain should be the only man on the field to have a few words to anyone who is not pulling their weight, FULL STOP and I don't mean fu*k the person out of it - it's not the way to go about it as the person already knows he's fu*ked up!
15/12/2006, 7:44 PM
Griff is a quality players, great feet, great in the air and reads the game very well - the Boro didn't want him just to sit on the bench at the start of the season, who gives a fu*k if his quiet or not, the Captain should be the only man on the field to have a few words to anyone who is not pulling their weight, FULL STOP and I don't mean fu*k the person out of it - it's not the way to go about it as the person already knows he's fu*ked up!
Ice-man,the language filter is there for a reason.3 in one post is really pushing it.Leave it out.
riverside
16/12/2006, 9:29 AM
Griff is on the list of better players in the town if so just like everyone else there will be different oppinions of him,and i am not takling about him having to abuse anyone, i have yet to hear him organise his defense either at Park or Shannon Town and Shannonman i have watched him on three occassions this season and i still have not heard or seen him organise it doesnt mean i dont think he is a good player he is but he could be a hell of a lot better,and i will finish this arguement with one more point, the type of player i am talking about not only keeps his own players on there toes but can also intimidate the opposition players and dont any of you tell me that you dont like to see that.:D
old git
18/12/2006, 4:10 PM
lads... is there any wonder why lads don't bother playing anymore, darren griffin is a fine center half why cant you just accept grif for player he is. There ain't no point in shouting and roaring at lads, who learns anything from that?. It wrecks a players confidence. maybe for one reason or another the player is having problems in his work at home or whatever. Maybe the only reason he goes playing is because he loves the game.. Encouragement is the only way to go. Whats the point in abusing a player because he made a mistake. As i said different people lead in different ways.. I don't want no **** balling at me because its not working out for me on the field.
played soccer for many a year & never had a problem with anybody roaring or shouting at me .. problems at work / home even more reason to go out on a sunday and forget it all for 90 mins . roar / shout / scream at a few team mates & leave it all on the pitch and then go for a few pints afterwards... what do you do if you played terrible is manager allowed to shout at ye and tell you afterwards in front of your teammates how bad you were !!! get real it is a passionate game and we all have to be strong enough to take a bollocking every so often
riverside
19/12/2006, 8:19 AM
played soccer for many a year & never had a problem with anybody roaring or shouting at me .. problems at work / home even more reason to go out on a sunday and forget it all for 90 mins . roar / shout / scream at a few team mates & leave it all on the pitch and then go for a few pints afterwards... what do you do if you played terrible is manager allowed to shout at ye and tell you afterwards in front of your teammates how bad you were !!! get real it is a passionate game and we all have to be strong enough to take a bollocking every so often
Couldnt agree with you more, too many mammies boys playing the game now and look at the overall standard for Gods sake.
old git
19/12/2006, 9:53 AM
Couldnt agree with you more, too many mammies boys playing the game now and look at the overall standard for Gods sake.
did their mammies not shout at them either :D :D
parkfan
19/12/2006, 10:31 AM
i want the manager to scream at me. it means he expects more which means you can do more than what your doing but if another player decides he has the rite to abuse anyone on the pitch then you and he are wrong.. the captain should have every rite to give out to players because people will respect his opinion. any other should look at themselves before shouting and concentrate on there own game, wasnt it always nice to hear the opposition roar at each other
old git
19/12/2006, 10:43 AM
i want the manager to scream at me. it means he expects more which means you can do more than what your doing but if another player decides he has the rite to abuse anyone on the pitch then you and he are wrong.. the captain should have every rite to give out to players because people will respect his opinion. any other should look at themselves before shouting and concentrate on there own game, wasnt it always nice to hear the opposition roar at each other
you have to be big enough to accept it... if it is just **** abuse ignore it nothing wrong with your teamates roaring at you.. sometimes it even gets you to raise your game .. i would rather have 11 players roaring / shouting than 11 players saying nothing..
it was nice to hear the opposition roar at each other !!!! did some of them not use this to fire up their team :ball:
parkfan
21/12/2006, 9:57 AM
it was nice to hear the opposition roar at each other !!!! did some of them not use this to fire up their team :ball:[/QUOTE]
it fired up there team alrite the 2 boys nearly started boxing we went on to beat them 7-0. fat lot of good it done them
old git
22/12/2006, 12:27 PM
it was nice to hear the opposition roar at each other !!!! did some of them not use this to fire up their team :ball:
it fired up there team alrite the 2 boys nearly started boxing we went on to beat them 7-0. fat lot of good it done them[/QUOTE]
well at least they showed their frustration / disapointment of getting well beat... still better than 11 lads who do not give a **** about getting beat......:p
shelbourne1904
22/12/2006, 4:57 PM
Has anyone any idea why Newtown would be playing an unimportant league match against Rinneana on 31st New Years Eve when they have an FAI game against James Gate on the 14th and the Oscars are playing on the 7thJan.Why is the Munster match against Bunratty not on the 31st Dec instead???
sore_toe
27/12/2006, 10:27 AM
bunratty asked for a free weeknd because 1 of lads are getn married
old git
29/12/2006, 9:32 AM
bunratty asked for a free weeknd because 1 of lads are getn married
david hogan getting married today ... in shannon.. don't see why match not played on sunday.. !!
smellyfeet
29/12/2006, 9:39 AM
david hogan getting married today ... in shannon.. don't see why match not played on sunday.. !!
well Newtown are to play Rineanna on sunday.
old git
29/12/2006, 11:18 AM
well Newtown are to play Rineanna on sunday.
from your newtown view... can u agree munster match via bunratty should have been played sunday ... fair enough bunratty have a wedding today.. gives them saturday to sober up .. they must have good contacts in league to get these matches called off ..:confused:
smellyfeet
29/12/2006, 2:54 PM
from your newtown view... can u agree munster match via bunratty should have been played sunday ... fair enough bunratty have a wedding today.. gives them saturday to sober up .. they must have good contacts in league to get these matches called off ..:confused:
Don't really care when it is played....
It would be nice to have a free new years eve.
If Bunratty had this weekend booked as free, can't see a problem with it myself.This game has been fixed for a long time now but only wheather stopped it before so nothing can be done imo.
old git
02/01/2007, 8:25 AM
[QUOTE=old git;from your newtown view... can u agree munster match via bunratty should have been played sunday ... fair enough bunratty have a wedding today.. gives them saturday to sober up .. they must have good contacts in league to get these matches called off ..:confused
i think if you check rules..you'll see if u ask for free weekend 2 weeks in advance..you will get it 99% of the time...in fairness its not bunratty,s fault the game hasnt been played before now..nobody can predict weather..and i think there entitled to free weekend just like newtown or any other club would if they asked fo it..
i have no problem with teams getting free weekends as per rules above ,, but is this not bunrattys 2-3 free weekend already even with the terrible weather !!! now i see on latest league fixtures posted by cousinslydolan under no circumstances will a team get a free weekend from now to end of season... a bit harsh as i am sure other teams will be looking for free weekends as per rules above .. :confused: :confused:
CousinSylDolan
02/01/2007, 9:07 AM
i have no problem with teams getting free weekends as per rules above ,, but is this not bunrattys 2-3 free weekend already even with the terrible weather !!! now i see on latest league fixtures posted by cousinslydolan under no circumstances will a team get a free weekend from now to end of season... a bit harsh as i am sure other teams will be looking for free weekends as per rules above
Make up your mind...are you for or against the Clare Lg free weekend policy.
You seem to support it but imply Bunratty should not be allowed use it.
Bunratty have had 2 free weekends this season so far... Sept 17th and Dec 31st.
old git
02/01/2007, 9:34 AM
Make up your mind...are you for or against the Clare Lg free weekend policy.
You seem to support it but imply Bunratty should not be allowed use it.
Bunratty have had 2 free weekends this season so far... Sept 17th and Dec 31st.
i am all for it. but as per your post on clare league nobody else will now get a free weekend untill end of season ...due to backlog... good luck to bunratty for getting weekends off..and any other team that got weekends off.. but as backlog was already there for the last couple of weeks .. 1.. question... should this rule not have been in place before now ?? it is now going to very unfair on other teams in league looking for matches called of now during rest of season... :confused:
CousinSylDolan
02/01/2007, 9:52 AM
i am all for it. but as per your post on clare league nobody else will now get a free weekend untill end of season ...due to backlog... good luck to bunratty for getting weekends off..and any other team that got weekends off.. but as backlog was already there for the last couple of weeks .. 1.. question... should this rule not have been in place before now ?? it is now going to very unfair on other teams in league looking for matches called of now during rest of season... :confused:
I think that every team should be allowed to use their 2 free weekends yes. It seems unfair that this rule has been announced now but at the same time the fixtures secretary just wants to get games played....
papa-j
02/01/2007, 11:08 AM
I think that every team should be allowed to use their 2 free weekends yes. It seems unfair that this rule has been announced now but at the same time the fixtures secretary just wants to get games played....
Yes every team should be entitled to a free weekend so long as the proceedures are followed correctly. My question is will the secretary take into account and grant submissions for free weekends between now and end of season that were requested before end 2006?
old git
02/01/2007, 11:53 AM
fair point ... and i would assume clare league will still listen to clubs requests for free weekends !!!
parkfan
04/01/2007, 7:59 PM
Lads ye should all join the limerick league we havent played in a month and a half our last game being against summerville on the 17/11. Now is that a break or what. We might aswell restart preseason training. It's a great break..
BallBreaker
18/01/2007, 9:27 PM
what about this team might not last long in a match but would last along time in the bar after the match
ronan o conner
steff russell
lush lougnane
andy o mahony
darren ryan
kizzy
paul carr
adam fanning
richy lillis
brendy o mara
lockey from park fc
can you name a better team
Just a few more to add,
Jim Fitzgerald could still do a job,
Tommy McDade would also be dissapointed not to get a mention.
Brendy Flanagan also deserves a spot
Red Austin could manage the team along with crushed ice stoney.
Goals4fun
19/01/2007, 12:41 PM
following on from a couple of threads in the Limerick 1A forum,
as there seems to be a lot of players from shannon playing outside of the clubs in shannon. Do any of you think they will go back to the teams in shannon, and if so which teams will they go to?
Lev Yashin
19/01/2007, 3:46 PM
following on from a couple of threads in the Limerick 1A forum,
as there seems to be a lot of players from shannon playing outside of the clubs in shannon. Do any of you think they will go back to the teams in shannon, and if so which teams will they go to?
well there are enough teams for them..as for where they will go who knows, we could do with getting a couple but it just depends on the mentality of the person.
old git
19/01/2007, 4:51 PM
well there are enough teams for them..as for where they will go who knows, we could do with getting a couple but it just depends on the mentality of the person.
hard to see them going back... why did they leave in first place ..
park players wont want to play div 1 b .. 1 a / or even clare league ... most players would have left for so called better teams or after falling out with current managers ... :p :p
Lev Yashin
22/01/2007, 4:52 PM
hard to see them going back... why did they leave in first place ..
park players wont want to play div 1 b .. 1 a / or even clare league ... most players would have left for so called better teams or after falling out with current managers ... :p :p
I understand your point but what choice will they have if they are not getting on after moving teams...they will have to swallow their pride and either go back to teams where they mightn't see eye to eye with the manager or else play in a lower division...that said they could come play with us...we still have a chance of promotion this year!!
old git
23/01/2007, 8:14 AM
I understand your point but what choice will they have if they are not getting on after moving teams...they will have to swallow their pride and either go back to teams where they mightn't see eye to eye with the manager or else play in a lower division...that said they could come play with us...we still have a chance of promotion this year!!
i would say you have more chance of picking up these players as ye are playing in limerick anyway ..:D :D cannot see to many wanting to play in clare league
Goals4fun
23/01/2007, 9:14 AM
it would depend onwhich they thought wa shigher or who had the better team.
clare prem league v 1a in limerick
newtown/Olympic v shannon town
who has the better setup also
papa-j
23/01/2007, 9:18 AM
i would say you have more chance of picking up these players as ye are playing in limerick anyway ..:D :D cannot see to many wanting to play in clare league
that old chestnut..clare league has improved its facilities greatly over the past few years. Most of the premier teams try to play good football now, the days of kicking a team off the park are long gone. Limerick Premier is still ahead in terms of more quality teams but the better teams in clare are catching up. One thing thats for certain is that Clare Premier is a better standard than 1a in Limerick.
old git
23/01/2007, 9:40 AM
that old chestnut..clare league has improved its facilities greatly over the past few years. Most of the premier teams try to play good football now, the days of kicking a team off the park are long gone. Limerick Premier is still ahead in terms of more quality teams but the better teams in clare are catching up. One thing thats for certain is that Clare Premier is a better standard than 1a in Limerick.
youre probally right on better standard than 1a... but for lads playing in limerick they might not think like this ... after all limerick is the best league in ireland ( ha ha ) :D :D
parkfan
23/01/2007, 12:52 PM
dont fool yourself mate the football in limerick is very physical its just that in my opinion in clares premier you could be playing against gaa lads who arent at all interested in soccer and just play to keep themselves fit. futhermore half of them couldnt time a tackle to save theyre lives which can make playing against these sides dangerous.
old git
23/01/2007, 12:57 PM
dont fool yourself mate the football in limerick is very physical its just that in my opinion in clares premier you could be playing against gaa lads who arent at all interested in soccer and just play to keep themselves fit. futhermore half of them couldnt time a tackle to save theyre lives which can make playing against these sides dangerous.
i played with players & against players for 10 years.. and some of them could not time a tackle .. so it is not always the gaa lads...
it is the nasty sh*t who knows how to tackle that does most of the damage :mad: :mad:
papa-j
24/01/2007, 9:28 AM
listen "mate" I've played enough football in both leagues to know the story. Yes the limerick premier (not 1a) is very physical and you have to be fairly "streetwise". You obviously have not played clare premier recently to make those other comments and to say half the players in Clare cant play is just ignorant. Maybe thats why 90% of players in Shannon today wouldn't dream of playing for your club.Then again maybe you're too good for the clare league and have found your level in 1a...soon to be 1b.
Lev Yashin
24/01/2007, 10:05 AM
Personally i dont see any problem with playing in either league..it just boils down to where you feel most comfortable playing and most importantly what club you want to play for. I know there is a train of thought that says limerick league is better than the clare league and they are all muckers...but those days are over from what i understand...i dont think its healthy to get into slagging off each others leagues i gives no benfit to anyone.
Regardless of any divison outside the top tier in either league your going to play on bad pitch's with bad referee's and and against someone who gets great pleasure in kicking you up and down the field....thats life.
the best players still play football and come out on top.
old git
24/01/2007, 11:14 AM
Personally i dont see any problem with playing in either league..it just boils down to where you feel most comfortable playing and most importantly what club you want to play for. I know there is a train of thought that says limerick league is better than the clare league and they are all muckers...but those days are over from what i understand...i dont think its healthy to get into slagging off each others leagues i gives no benfit to anyone.
Regardless of any divison outside the top tier in either league your going to play on bad pitch's with bad referee's and and against someone who gets great pleasure in kicking you up and down the field....thats life.
the best players still play football and come out on top.
we have all been playing long enough now .. to accept bad pitches / bad refs/ and players who just want to kick u up & down the pitch .. just get on with playing football & kick them back . its all part of the game and the limerick / clare league who's better debate will still be going on when ye have all hung up your boots and are drinking pints in the knights / lodge or crossroads :D
Lev Yashin
24/01/2007, 2:25 PM
we have all been playing long enough now .. to accept bad pitches / bad refs/ and players who just want to kick u up & down the pitch .. just get on with playing football & kick them back . its all part of the game and the limerick / clare league who's better debate will still be going on when ye have all hung up your boots and are drinking pints in the knights / lodge or crossroads :D
No doubt it will go on for years yet...unless there is a joining of clubs!!!!
which will never happen!
papa-j
24/01/2007, 2:40 PM
No doubt it will go on for years yet...unless there is a joining of clubs!!!!
which will never happen!
I'd say theres more chance of Park winning promotion this year than that ever happening!!!:eek:
old git
24/01/2007, 3:32 PM
I'd say theres more chance of Park winning promotion this year than that ever happening!!!:eek:
now , now papa-j don't be so nasty to poor old park...
after all there was nearly the big one last year between newtown / park .. :p
Goals4fun
24/01/2007, 8:10 PM
and for newtown to be playing in the limerick league :D
parkfan
25/01/2007, 8:50 AM
so your saying lads from bruff and cappamore and hospital herbertstown aren't gaa heads..only really 2 teams in clare premier wit gaa lads..moher and mountshannon..the rest are 90% soccer lads...when did you play premier in clare to know they are gaa heads..most gaa lads are super fit so timing takles wouldn't be a problem for them..just my opinion...
for starters have you ever seen bruff or cappamore play. asked a lad i go to college with who playes for cappamore had they any gaa players gone back playing gaa because they are on an awful run of late his reply no. asked a lad from bruff who are going very well also if they had any gaa lads his reply was that they have one or two thats all. ive never played premier in clare but i do cast an eye and listen when people talk about the farce that is your fixture secretary mike layden arranging games so the gaa lads can compete and how his club connolly celtic have a mass of gaa players. dont be fooled about the ennis clubs aswell most of them do be tipping away at the auld gaa aswell. i also seen bridge celtic with more than a few gaa players also your obviously not a gaa follower
papa-j
25/01/2007, 9:52 AM
and for newtown to be playing in the limerick league :D
i was waiting for it:D and you didn't dissapoint:D
Goals4fun
25/01/2007, 9:55 AM
i was waiting for it:D and you didn't dissapoint:D
i never do :D
parkfan
25/01/2007, 1:48 PM
is it true that donal magee is training balla now
buts86
25/01/2007, 2:00 PM
Big Daddy?!!!
Lev Yashin
25/01/2007, 4:36 PM
Big Daddy?!!!
do people actually call him that..or is that something he calls himself??
old git
25/01/2007, 4:41 PM
do people actually call him that..or is that something he calls himself??
probally came from himself... anybody confirm this "big daddy "
parkfan
26/01/2007, 6:40 PM
i think you will find connolly are 1st division where as we were talking premier in clare..and ya bridge celtic have 2 or 3 gaa players.like most clubs..just wondering if you can name any of these gaa players that you seem to know so much about..there is no way 2 villages the size of bruff and cappamore can have a soccer team witout some gaa players on it...michael lydon does an extremly hard job and if you knew the guy he's not really into gaa..teams get free weekends cause there entitled to them...
More than two or three of theyre players play gaa. most of them play with clonlara gaa and one or two with smith obriens. i dont no theyre names but i know them because ive played gaa against them and i have umpired matches where they have been involved. well the lads must have been lying so. seeing as you have played in limerick and been to all these places to play then you should no. have you ever been to bruff.
Old Git. this big daddy is the man also known as donal magee. he came up with himself in training i believe. another man with absolutely no man management skills. Question for ya old git. when you were playing on all them wonderful sides with newtown and i hear you still kick a ball. what was the relationship between manager and player back then like honestly i dont think much of it exists anymore.