View Full Version : Football in Shannon
Pages :
[
12]
Lev Yashin
25/07/2007, 12:18 PM
any truth in rumour i heard that finnin is gone from park..already
i haven't heard that to be honest....did you hear a reason as to why that might have happened??:ball:
see's it
26/07/2007, 12:01 PM
i heard he thought they were still in the premier
Offside
30/07/2007, 2:10 PM
Will Park even have a team this year? By the sounds of it they might aswell make themselves at home in 1b this year, I don't know the full story but I heard there's not many going training and if its true that they now have no manager, what kind of a squad will they have!?.. Still no word on the Wesley Webb anyone?
Lev Yashin
30/07/2007, 3:47 PM
Will Park even have a team this year? By the sounds of it they might aswell make themselves at home in 1b this year, I don't know the full story but I heard there's not many going training and if its true that they now have no manager, what kind of a squad will they have!?.. Still no word on the Wesley Webb anyone?
Wesle Webb starts tommorrow week(tuesday) the draw has been made.
as for park i dunno what has happened but i heard dermot finnin is gone and that he didn't know they were in 1B which just sounds mental!! so i dont know what to believe or if they have a team. sure time will tell i suppose.
el_nino84
30/07/2007, 4:44 PM
whats the draw for the wesley webb so?????
Lev Yashin
30/07/2007, 6:38 PM
not sure of it all
shannon town a against olympic a
shannon town b against olympic b
after that i couldn't be sure:confused:
shelbourne1904
30/07/2007, 11:13 PM
I heard Wolfe Tones are in it this year???
Offside
31/07/2007, 9:03 AM
What teams are in it this year? Just the 3 Shannon A' & B' teams? Didn't Bunratty enter 1 year?
old git
31/07/2007, 10:48 AM
not sure of it all
shannon town a against olympic a
shannon town b against olympic b
after that i couldn't be sure:confused:
heard park a v newtown b and same as above
is it still last years signed players that has to be used or have shannon town made up any new rules
Lev Yashin
31/07/2007, 10:57 AM
heard park a v newtown b and same as above
is it still last years signed players that has to be used or have shannon town made up any new rules
last years teams form what i hear dont think bunratty have a team in it...but they did play one year from what i remember..and i dunno why they dont have a team in it
shelbourne1904
31/07/2007, 1:23 PM
They changed the rule last year to the coming seasons players not last years anymore.
Wolfe Tones can use anyone they like as long as they are Irish born and can play on a Friday night.
old git
31/07/2007, 1:42 PM
They changed the rule last year to the coming seasons players not last years anymore.
Wolfe Tones can use anyone they like as long as they are Irish born and can play on a Friday night.
shelbourne you seem to dislike the gaa / wolfe tones for some reason
yet if i remember correctly your picture with tommy mcdade was in the clare courier last year above in cusack park supporting wolfe tones .. :D
shelbourne1904
31/07/2007, 2:06 PM
How did you draw that conclusion?
That was categorically not me and Mcdade.They were cardboard cutouts brought along by Ger Loughnane to give the likes of you something to post about!!:p
old git
01/08/2007, 9:00 AM
How did you draw that conclusion?
That was categorically not me and Mcdade.They were cardboard cutouts brought along by Ger Loughnane to give the likes of you something to post about!!:p
must have used a lot of cardboard to fit in u & mc dade... no wonder the brazilians had to cut down half of the rainforest to supply all the extra paper.. or were ye both scouting for new players for newtown !!!
manalishi
01/08/2007, 12:21 PM
must have used a lot of cardboard to fit in u & mc dade... no wonder the brazilians had to cut down half of the rainforest to supply all the extra paper.. or were ye both scouting for new players for newtown !!!
They were seeing if Decky O Rourke was fit enough for their regime!!!He failed the criteria.
Lads did you know that a couple of years ago Newtown had more players on the Clare hurling team than Wolf Tones???
Would that now qualify them to enter the All Ireland at this stage through the side window???
BallBreaker
01/08/2007, 9:38 PM
They were seeing if Decky O Rourke was fit enough for their regime!!!He failed the criteria.
Lads did you know that a couple of years ago Newtown had more players on the Clare hurling team than Wolf Tones???
Would that now qualify them to enter the All Ireland at this stage through the side window???
Care to elaborate or are you just being your usual self,talking crap.:ball::ball:
Lev Yashin
02/08/2007, 12:19 PM
we seem to be straying from the soccer in shannon to the GAA or just nonsense....so....
is every one looking foreward to the wesley webb...and who is the good money on to win it??:D:ball:
old git
02/08/2007, 1:29 PM
we seem to be straying from the soccer in shannon to the GAA or just nonsense....so....
is every one looking foreward to the wesley webb...and who is the good money on to win it??:D:ball:
if bunratty in tournament would fancy them or newtown a / shannon town a cannot see anybody else winning it ..:ball:
manalishi
02/08/2007, 1:43 PM
Shannon Man:Is this not the football in Shannon forum and not the Wesley Webb forum??
OLdgit:Youve named nearly 50% percent of the teams as potential winners.Thats some risk you old gambler you!!!!!
old git
02/08/2007, 4:26 PM
Shannon Man:Is this not the football in Shannon forum and not the Wesley Webb forum??
OLdgit:Youve named nearly 50% percent of the teams as potential winners.Thats some risk you old gambler you!!!!!
ok so newtown a ... then but only if all their players are available for tournament ... :D
Lev Yashin
02/08/2007, 6:16 PM
[QUOTE=manalishi;738104]Shannon Man:Is this not the football in Shannon forum and not the Wesley Webb forum??QUOTE]
ah it is the football in shannon forum but surely the fact the the wesley webb is on next week in SHANNON and it is a FOOTBALL tournament then it qualifies as something worth talking about in a football in shannon forum????
ParkLife
03/08/2007, 11:50 AM
Just to clarify some of the questions regarding Park this season.Firstly, Finnan is still there,he's on hols this.Secondly,yes of course he knows Park are in 1B(seriously!!).I don't think he realised what state the first team was in.Forms were out last night and signed by about 12 lads.Some of the names Eddie Dunne, Quirke,Lockers,Mark Mc Keogh,BJ,Woodsey,Walton and Paul(from Waterford,looks a decent player).Jamie and Macky still undecided.Playing Olympic B on Tuesday night so it'll be interesting to see who shows up.At least there's the makings of a team now.
shanman2
03/08/2007, 12:12 PM
[QUOTE=ParkLife;738788]Just to clarify some of the questions regarding Park this season.Firstly, Finnan is still there,he's on hols this.Secondly,yes of course he knows Park are in 1B(seriously!!).I don't think he realised what state the first team was in.Forms were out last night and signed by about 12 lads.Some of the names Eddie Dunne, Quirke,Lockers,Mark Mc Keogh,BJ,Woodsey,Walton and Paul(from Waterford,looks a decent player).Jamie and Macky still undecided.Playing Olympic B on Tuesday night so it'll be interesting to see who shows up.At least there's the makings of a team now.
jason hannam, seamus farrell, daniel tierney(i think), darren ryan, shane mc carthy, the two o donnells jimmy nevilles young lad, paul butler??? (dont know him) allegedly joining the club also looks like a half decent side now, mc keogh was telling me that ye have no defenders and he included himself the fat, slow, clown...
Lev Yashin
03/08/2007, 12:15 PM
[QUOTE=ParkLife;738788]Just to clarify some of the questions regarding Park this season.Firstly, Finnan is still there,he's on hols this.Secondly,yes of course he knows Park are in 1B(seriously!!).I don't think he realised what state the first team was in.Forms were out last night and signed by about 12 lads.Some of the names Eddie Dunne, Quirke,Lockers,Mark Mc Keogh,BJ,Woodsey,Walton and Paul(from Waterford,looks a decent player).Jamie and Macky still undecided.Playing Olympic B on Tuesday night so it'll be interesting to see who shows up.At least there's the makings of a team now.
jason hannam, seamus farrell, daniel tierney(i think), darren ryan, shane mc carthy, the two o donnells jimmy nevilles young lad, paul butler??? (dont know him) allegedly joining the club also looks like a half decent side now, :ball:
have they got a goalkeeper??
ParkLife
03/08/2007, 1:02 PM
Daniel tierney is a keeper as far as I'm aware.he hasn't trained yet,but they're tryin to get him to come down on Tuesday.that's one thing shannon seems to be short of ,keepers.Well, spare keepers anyway!
Offside
03/08/2007, 2:18 PM
Lot of talented lads mentioned there.. Alot of them are far too good for division 1b.. Makes you think why all them lads with that much talent are deciding to play 1b football... Are they gonna take it serious down there or are they gonna take it as B' team football and go out on the p!ss the night before games and show up only when it suits them.. No offence to any B' team players..:D
old git
03/08/2007, 6:20 PM
jason hannam, seamus farrell, daniel tierney(i think), darren ryan, shane mc carthy, the two o donnells jimmy nevilles young lad, paul butler??? (dont know him) allegedly joining the club also looks like a half decent side now, mc keogh was telling me that ye have no defenders and he included himself the fat, slow, clown...
paul butler played with newtown a couple of years back . then bunratty & riennna i think nice footballer good left foot,, but seems to have trouble getting a regular starting place with any team he signed .. danny tierney played for newtown b v olympic b last night .. :D
headtheball4
03/08/2007, 7:48 PM
Is it true that Darren Ryan signed for park I thought he was still in America.Hope not because he would be no addition to their side.
jackaroo
05/08/2007, 4:00 PM
Is it true that Darren Ryan signed for park I thought he was still in America.Hope not because he would be no addition to their side.
Of course he would, im sure Dermot Finnan is mad for him to sign
ParkLife
07/08/2007, 8:44 AM
Is tonight the first night of the Wesley Webb? I know Park v Olympic B is on,any ideas on the other game?
3rd booking
07/08/2007, 9:46 AM
Is tonight the first night of the Wesley Webb? I know Park v Olympic B is on,any ideas on the other game?
is it not park v newtown b and newtown a v bunratty
nutmeg
07/08/2007, 9:52 AM
Is davy wall coming back to shannon this year? any one no if terry duggan is playin with bunratty?
Planners
07/08/2007, 11:20 AM
Whats the story with Rineanna Rovers -
old git
07/08/2007, 11:25 AM
is it not park v newtown b and newtown a v bunratty
what time are matches on tonight.. a re both on new pitch behind crossroads... anybody any idea on what teams can be used last years squad or this years new squad :confused:
Wayne's World
07/08/2007, 11:43 AM
Whats the story with Rineanna Rovers -
I don't think there is too much of a story. There was rumours in Shannon that they wouldn't be putting in a team but it seems that they will be ok.
Hacker is the man to ask but as far as I know they are training away as normal. Im sure they will be playing this year, can't see the likes of Fahy and Brian Kelly giving up just yet.
riverside
07/08/2007, 12:00 PM
what time are matches on tonight.. a re both on new pitch behind crossroads... anybody any idea on what teams can be used last years squad or this years new squad :confused:
There supposed to be on up in Rory Lynch Park but theres alot of water on it and no lines and none on Corrib Drive either but thats playable
Brazil Nut
07/08/2007, 12:02 PM
Is davy wall coming back to shannon this year? any one no if terry duggan is playin with bunratty?
Davy has signed or is signing for pike rovers as far as i know and terry duggan has signed for bunratty. Bunratty have signed a lot of good players and will be very strong it seems for next year. Find out more wed night i suppose against newtown.
Is pike the right move for davy???????
ParkLife
07/08/2007, 12:03 PM
First match is on at 6pm,beside the Crossroads.It's players that sign/train this year as opposed to last year's players.Park and olympic B/Newtown B. Not sure about the other game.It's definitely not Bunratty V Newtown A though,that's tomorrow night.
old git
07/08/2007, 4:09 PM
First match is on at 6pm,beside the Crossroads.It's players that sign/train this year as opposed to last year's players.Park and olympic B/Newtown B. Not sure about the other game.It's definitely not Bunratty V Newtown A though,that's tomorrow night.
dont finish work untill about 7pmish would have been intrested to see what sort of team park a put out against newtown b.. might catch end of second game .. :ball:
old git
08/08/2007, 9:08 AM
dont finish work untill about 7pmish would have been intrested to see what sort of team park a put out against newtown b.. might catch end of second game .. :ball:
caught last 10 mins on park a v newtown b game was well over when i arrived . from what i saw park looked fairly good played a lot of nice football or was it just newtown b were terrible ?? anybody see full match ... shannon town a v olympic a second match up untill half time i thought it was both there b teams untill i asked somebody on line... olympic deserved to win looked the better team most of game and gerry kelly did not help shannon town getting sent of rather harshly i must add.. but by now you would think gerry would have learned to stop mouthing at refs.. :ball:
ParkLife
08/08/2007, 9:09 AM
Anyone get the result of the second game last night? It was 1-0 to Olympic when I left,great goal by Hogie. Park had an easy win last night 5-0.Some great goals scored but in fairness,Newtown B weren't up to much.Still they had a very good team out there, considering there's meant to be a crisis at the club.Can't understand why Paul Butler showed up when he's signed for Rineanna already.
old git
08/08/2007, 10:01 AM
Anyone get the result of the second game last night? It was 1-0 to Olympic when I left,great goal by Hogie. Park had an easy win last night 5-0.Some great goals scored but in fairness,Newtown B weren't up to much.Still they had a very good team out there, considering there's meant to be a crisis at the club.Can't understand why Paul Butler showed up when he's signed for Rineanna already.
2-0 to olympic a.. why did park play butler if he has signed for rineanna then.. seems a waste of of parks time especially when you have a couple of subs on the line .. so technically park played an illegal player last night then ?? have all the players from last night signed yet !!! also don't forget it was a poor 3rd division clare league team ye beat last night ..
ParkLife
08/08/2007, 10:57 AM
No one knew he had signed for Rineanna,he told no one.That's why I can't understand why he showed up.One of the lads asked him to sign for Park,and he told him then.And of course I heard that from second hand information so take it with a pinch of salt. And don't get me wrong,Park are under no illusions after last night.It'll be a very different game against any of the better sides. Most of they'e goals were scored because they had so much time on the ball,any other team and they wouldn't have scored.But,it's a start and hopefully it can go on from there.
the only 1
08/08/2007, 12:06 PM
Davy has signed or is signing for pike rovers as far as i know and terry duggan has signed for bunratty. Bunratty have signed a lot of good players and will be very strong it seems for next year. Find out more wed night i suppose against newtown.
Is pike the right move for davy???????
davy will suit pike down to the ground i can see him being a big signing for them this year
riverside
08/08/2007, 12:26 PM
ya buts signed with rineanna last week...
We found out at the end that he had signed for Rineanna if we had known that before hand it would have been a different story.
riverside
08/08/2007, 12:31 PM
2-0 to olympic a.. why did park play butler if he has signed for rineanna then.. seems a waste of of parks time especially when you have a couple of subs on the line .. so technically park played an illegal player last night then ?? have all the players from last night signed yet !!! also don't forget it was a poor 3rd division clare league team ye beat last night ..
We were honestly not aware that he had signed for anyone as far as we knew he was a free agent and thats why we played him,as for illegal we can check that with Shannon Town, remember the rules have changed since it became a pre-season tournament and not an end of season one.
old git
08/08/2007, 12:52 PM
We were honestly not aware that he had signed for anyone as far as we knew he was a free agent and thats why we played him,as for illegal we can check that with Shannon Town, remember the rules have changed since it became a pre-season tournament and not an end of season one.
only having a laugh about illegall part... but again was it not supposed to be only this years signed players / or players training
dont think it will cause 2 much fuss in a local tournament,,
will ye use butler for anymore matches now !!!!
riverside
08/08/2007, 1:49 PM
only having a laugh about illegall part... but again was it not supposed to be only this years signed players / or players training
dont think it will cause 2 much fuss in a local tournament,,
will ye use butler for anymore matches now !!!!
Dont honestly know if, he is staying with Rineanna then theres no point and Shannon town may have a problem with it so we will have to see, but as you saw for yourself we had an outstanding team anyway.;)
Brazil Nut
08/08/2007, 2:21 PM
Dont honestly know if, he is staying with Rineanna then theres no point and Shannon town may have a problem with it so we will have to see, but as you saw for yourself we had an outstanding team anyway.;)
Good to haer:) what was the team? did bj, egais play well.
riverside
08/08/2007, 2:48 PM
Good to haer:) what was the team? did bj, egais play well.
BJ played very well is a very promising player,shows alot of maturity for a young one and i believe will make up what he lacks in physical presence with intelligent covering and passing. Dave Egan is a reasonable player and hard worker will do well i think and possibly outshine some of the bigger name players in the town with his overall play. The team was fine but Newtown were not great it has to be said,with all due respects of course.