View Full Version : 1st Divison run in!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

13/10/2006, 6:25 PM
There's the possiblity they could promote all three and relegate Bray and ourselves. At this stage we've narrowed down the permutations though. Only three clubs can conceivably be relegated in UCD, Bray and Waterford (at a long shot) and only three can be promoted in Galway, Rovers and Dundalk.

oriel
13/10/2006, 8:32 PM
Jerry the saint

I think you`re been really narrow minded saying things like 'you`re shocked
this thread has gone on so long'

Lets put things into place. and its really as simple as this, with Cork losing tonight and Derry also during the week, the premier div title is all but Shels, game over.

FAI CUP - great semi final draws, 2 north west rivals Sligo V Derry and two of DUblin oldest teams in the second game, both should get full houses.

International scene - well last wed was an improvement but the whole country is still a bit in shock in my opinion and we`ve no chance of making euro 08

First Div ??

Come on give us fans of Dundalk, Rovers and Galway a bit of credit, we`ve all come out in large numbers this season, some crowds over 3,000 and all averaging well over 1,000, thats a lot better than a lot of premier clubs. Generally this div is like a dead duck, trust me i`ve seen enough of it. Also with the lack of media attention, forums like this is our only way of communicating, not to mention the fun aspect. So thats why the thread has lasted so long. We`re having a bit of fun, as we`re all excited and very enthuaistic about the 3 teams we passionately support. no harm in that is there ?

Ps I`ve officially lost interest in this seasons premier div such is the ferocity of this year first div race.

No harm in that either

On another matter Galway fans - here is an hillarious copy/paste from John Gills weekly article on dundalkfc.com

We kept a clean-sheet which is good for confidence, we go three points clear of Galway, they’ll be on the teletext tonight, I’m telling you, because I’ve done it, players will be looking ‘oh 4-0!’, physiologically it gets to them and it’s the manner of the defeat, they’ll see 4-0, it was like when they beat Limerick 5-1, I was sitting at home that night, I nearly had to take a valium. They’ll be doing the same tonight

13/10/2006, 8:37 PM
His weekly interview is always a good laugh. :)

Frankfurt Hoop
14/10/2006, 1:35 AM
Oriel, you're spot on. The First Division is a three horse race and it's going right to the wire. The Premier, by contrast, is Shels' for the taking.

The other thing to note is that the top three in the First this year are probably better than anything outside the top 4/5 in the Premier. I've been surprised by the quality of football provided by Galway and Dundalk, and I'm sure I'm not the only one.

14/10/2006, 4:43 AM
Actually you may not be top-depends on goal difference.

You gave us the challenge of winning the 6 points, and we won them, adding 5 goals to the gd, after finally having the same amount of games played.

Now the pressure is back on Galway to win in Donegal, then on Galway and Dundalk next week, while we head for 6 more banker points against Athlone and Kilkenny. Whoever loses that game in Galway next week, is officially out of the championship race. Whoever wins it, will attempt to play-off for it against us.

I'm shocked that this thread is so huge considering that the run-in is all but meaningless.

Yes, Pat's run-in is meaningless, and if we knock them out of the cup, it will be obsolete.

Can rovers fans explain why exactly they think or know they will be in the premier next year regardless of finishing 1,2,3 this year.

Tax compliance, club licencing, recent record, points this season, fan base, and most crucially, marketing potential will ensure we make it. We have all the boxes covered.

Mental Man
14/10/2006, 5:44 AM
Lads just out of interest, John Delaney was just on Terrace Talk (which is a sports show hosted By a die hard Blues fans ) here on WLR fm and he even said it, no matter where you finish at either the top of the 1st division or the bottom of the premiere division you cannot either get promoted or relagated, its all down to past performances on the field since 2001, tax compliances, supporter base, infrastructures and future development for the club, also he said he wants to see regionalised clubs in the premeire division to break the mold of dublin congregation of clubs.
Now since the blues have met all the criteria in whats listed above and was talking to a member of the board of WUFC, were guarenteed a position in next years new premiere division.
John Delaney has been very good to us since he rose through the ranks of the FAI :D :D .

Passive
14/10/2006, 12:18 PM
Mental Man: there is no way Delaney will relegate WUFC, you can take your place in the top flight for granted.

Rovers tick virtually every box, with the possible exception of stadium infrastructure (although that depends very much on the High Court outcome in December, and in any case the FAI will probably accept a tenancy deal in the same way as they do for the licensing). In terms of on-the-field performance, marketability, tax compliance etc. we're laughing.

What worries me is the issue of regionalisation. You can bet that the FAI don't want five Dublin clubs, which means that either UCD or Rovers will take the fall. Let's face it, UCD are more likely to be dropped than we are, which is, of course, very harsh on them. Bray are - at the risk of offending Co. Wicklow nationalists - basically a Dublin club, so this could go against them also.

If the FAI decided to keep both Bray and UCD, that would leave just one free space in the new division. Under the policy of regionalisation, that might well favour Galway, especially since GUFC are a fantastic club that are run well and have massive potential.

What they are thinking, we don't know. And while placings in the divisions don't officially mean promotion or relegation, there is a feeling that it would be very hard not to promote whoever wins the First Division, especially given the freakishly competitive nature of the division this season. Given that the decision making is largely out of our collective hands, this is the one issue that clubs can still try to better each other on.

Which is just a very long-winded way of explaining why we're all busting our balls trying to win the bloody thing.

manic da hoop
14/10/2006, 12:44 PM
We're due to make our verbal presentation next week, and I'm confident that the lads involved (very impressive speakers with very professional attitudes) will put on a good show. I can only imagine the amatuer efforts some clubs will cobble together, and I wouldn't put it passed some not to turn up when invited to amke theirs!

Mental Man
14/10/2006, 2:28 PM
Well i hope yer reps are good cos i would love to see ye back up in the premiere division, the league needs teams like rovers and the blues, too much history between them.
As far as i know weremaking our rep in 2 weeks time, we have 4 or 5 i think nominated to talk on the different aspects of the club within.
Heres to 2007 in the premiere division :) .

hoopy
14/10/2006, 2:48 PM
Unfortunately there's a lot of clubs in the league with history who are going to be on the outside looking in next season. Some clubs haven't done themselves any favours but the people running the league haven't done their part either, nor have the general public. Whoever is in or out, there's gonna be clubs who'll feel hard done by

Paddyfield
14/10/2006, 9:15 PM
Things just got interesting.

Alan Murphy scored a penalty in Finn Park to give Galway United a seventh consecutive win. Next Friday, Dundalk are in Terryland. It will be no place for the faint hearted.

manic da hoop
14/10/2006, 10:55 PM
If we beat Athlone on Monday it will put all three teams dead level, each with five games to play. You could predict a closer run finale to the season. Still not nearly enough to give the First Division some media attention though it would seem:o

Frankfurt Hoop
14/10/2006, 11:12 PM
Still not nearly enough to give the First Division some media attention though it would seem:o

I dunno, Manic. TG4 are broadcasting a 1st Division match live for the first time in a couple of weeks and might do a second before it's over. And 1,300 for the visit of Kildare is nearly double what I thought we could ever get for such a game. While there isn't much media coverage of the First, it has to be said that most of it is graveyard shift material.

15/10/2006, 12:58 AM
Next Friday, Dundalk are in Terryland. It will be no place for the faint hearted.

So we won't be there then. ;) That game is a win-win game for us, as one, or both teams will drop points from it.

Both of them are on good runs, but if we don't slip up, it's pretty meaningless really. If we win our remaining 6 games, we're champions, irrespective of what happens elsewhere. :)

15/10/2006, 10:22 AM
So we won't be there then. ;) That game is a win-win game for us, as one, or both teams will drop points from it.

Both of them are on good runs, but if we don't slip up, it's pretty meaningless really. If we win our remaining 6 games, we're champions, irrespective of what happens elsewhere. :)

No ye're not.:)

GalwayFrancis
15/10/2006, 10:37 AM

stupid post!

oriel
15/10/2006, 7:51 PM
Good win by Galway on sat night, seven wins on the trot speaks for itself, I really thought this was the one they would drop points, so fair play.

Rovers dead certs to win tomorrow so thats all 3 on 59 pts. £ good teams all on good form, only one winner though.

Horrible thought but if we fail to win on Friday in Galway, thats us finished, and its between them and Rovers, no question about it. Even a draw is no good as Rovers will win (Killkenny away is it ??)

We`ve a lot of fans travelling over (unfortunately not me), thanks to Galway lads for posting messages on oriel web re acommodation etc. Should be some game with a great atmosphere and plenty of tension. We're unbeaten in 18 now I think, Galway unbeaten at home for over a year is it ?

I`ll be closely watching affairs via errortel and cans of stella for my nerves !

15/10/2006, 7:56 PM
Updates on GalwayBayfm if you'd prefer!

Sam Savic
15/10/2006, 8:22 PM
stupid post!

Not stupid really. If we win all our remaining games as he suggest, it means that Galway have to win all their remaining games by at least 2 goals. Not impossible, but a tall order.

manic da hoop
15/10/2006, 10:40 PM
It is stupid if you are basing your team's chances of winning the league on the assumption of winning all six of their remaining games. Right now the only match I'm concerned about is Athlone tomorrow night, and I only begun thinking about that when the final whistle blew against Kildare on Friday. Kilkenny next Saturday is also very winnable but it's very firmly in the back of my mind at the moment. The thought that some are already looking ahead to November 18th and a tally of 18 points out of 18 is absurd. If you really want to think like that then, yes, sure Galway will win all of theirs too, and clock up plenty of goals in the process - their form certainly suggests it. Thre's alot of twists and turns yet to come, but my guess right now is that two if not three teams will go into the final round of games with the title up for grabs.

Paddyfield
16/10/2006, 6:31 AM
The Rovers v Athlone is a potential banana skin for Rovers. Town have nothing to play for but will want to avenge their Cup deafeat to Rovers.

oriel
16/10/2006, 8:28 AM
The Rovers v Athlone is a potential banana skin for Rovers. Town have nothing to play for but will want to avenge their Cup deafeat to Rovers.

If Athlone play anything like they did in oriel last thursday night rovers will be out of sight by half time

JC_GUFC
16/10/2006, 9:14 AM
It's a fascinating run-in but with the 3 clubs respective forms it's hard to see any slip ups at all!

Rovers have much tougher away games than United but we obviously have to play Dundalk on Friday!

If we win that we'll be favourites because of Rovers away games but having said that if we can win 7 in a row so can Rovers and so can Dundalk.

manic da hoop
16/10/2006, 10:59 AM
I'm sure some stato can fill me in but off the top of my head I can think of Dundalk and Finn Harps being Rovers only wins.

Twice away to Athlone (three including the Cup), and Kildare.

hoops1
16/10/2006, 11:05 AM
Jesus dont forget Bohs aswell:D

16/10/2006, 12:10 PM
Rovers better goal difference will possibly be the deciding factor - presuming they beat athlone tonight by the odd goal this will be the way it will look
.......... pld pts GD
Rovers 31 59 +30
Galway 31 59 +22
Dundalk 31 59 +20

16/10/2006, 1:17 PM
Rovers better goal difference will possibly be the deciding factor - presuming they beat athlone tonight by the odd goal this will be the way it will look
.......... pld pts GD
Rovers 31 59 +30
Galway 31 59 +22
Dundalk 31 59 +20

I thought we were +24?

16/10/2006, 2:18 PM
Jerry the saint

I think you`re been really narrow minded saying things like 'you`re shocked
this thread has gone on so long'

Lets put things into place. and its really as simple as this, with Cork losing tonight and Derry also during the week, the premier div title is all but Shels, game over.

FAI CUP - great semi final draws, 2 north west rivals Sligo V Derry and two of DUblin oldest teams in the second game, both should get full houses.

International scene - well last wed was an improvement but the whole country is still a bit in shock in my opinion and we`ve no chance of making euro 08

First Div ??

Come on give us fans of Dundalk, Rovers and Galway a bit of credit, we`ve all come out in large numbers this season, some crowds over 3,000 and all averaging well over 1,000, thats a lot better than a lot of premier clubs. Generally this div is like a dead duck, trust me i`ve seen enough of it. Also with the lack of media attention, forums like this is our only way of communicating, not to mention the fun aspect. So thats why the thread has lasted so long. We`re having a bit of fun, as we`re all excited and very enthuaistic about the 3 teams we passionately support. no harm in that is there ?

Ps I`ve officially lost interest in this seasons premier div such is the ferocity of this year first div race.

No harm in that either

I agree with most of what you say and that's why I'm disappointed that the clubs voted for these changes. The First Division could have been the most exciting ever but there's just far too much confusion for it to merit the wider attention it would normally desrve.

And I agree with the comment that Pats run-in is meaningless, it has been for most of the season. The only Premier clubs that still seem to hold interest are Shels, Derry and Sligo (with, I suppose, Waterford and Bray trying to finish 10th). Continued involvement in the FAI Cup is a cruel trick to make it look as if we have something to play for but it's not fooling anyone. Normal cup service will be resumed shortly...

There seems to be an assumption that the final placing will be given a bigger weighting than the FAI criteria allow for; i.e. for PR reasons, the FAI will fudge the points awarded for other factors to ensure that the D1 champions are promoted. It's not enough just to have minimum standard for facilities, finances etc. (as with UEFA Licensing) - each team is supposed to be ranked against each other and the points allocated accordingly. As was said, it will be vital that this process is transparent and that full results are published if the new Delaneyship is to have any credibility.

17/10/2006, 1:23 AM
It is stupid if you are basing your team's chances of winning the league on the assumption of winning all six of their remaining games. Right now the only match I'm concerned about is Athlone tomorrow night, and I only begun thinking about that when the final whistle blew against Kildare on Friday. Kilkenny next Saturday is also very winnable but it's very firmly in the back of my mind at the moment. The thought that some are already looking ahead to November 18th and a tally of 18 points out of 18 is absurd.

Ah, the old "one game at a time approach". :o

I am not assuming we will win all six of our remaining games, I did say if we won them, we would be champions. The league isn't won by adapting a one-game approach, it's won over 36 games, and so you have to look at the bigger picture.

Having finally caught up with everyone else for the first time since April, we are of course, top of the league on the back of 3 straight wins. Galway and Dundalk could win the league, but as they have shown all season, only by playing more games than us. :D

scotsbeer
17/10/2006, 2:48 AM
All games should be on Saturday nights, period.

sorry but thats absolute pish. every club in eircom league are trying to get as many fans as they can through the gates and if they have a decent enough marketing department and know their fan base then it only makes sense to try to have their home games when it best suits the fans and at the same time maximising attendances. prob the main reason ga;way have home games on fridays. a fair argument can be made from away fans on how diffficult it would be to get to galway for friday night games and i can agree with that but there are very few clubs who have such a decent travelling support for most eircom league clubs to consider the benefits (gate money from them) of changing traditional kick off times. with no set standard kick off times in place in the league it only adds to the problems of attracting fans to games.united fans have had to endure thursday friday saturday and even sunday afternoon kick offs the last few seasons but at least away fans generally know that our home games at terryland are on friday nights. and before anyone sets the record straight, i know that this season once or twice there have been stupid saturday afternoon and evening games at terryland but generally they do play fridays. reasons for these kick of times still havnt been explained to me which again shows how much the league are doing things without considering the fans. lets hope that will all change next season

17/10/2006, 10:12 AM
sorry but thats absolute pish. every club in eircom league are trying to get as many fans as they can through the gates and if they have a decent enough marketing department and know their fan base then it only makes sense to try to have their home games when it best suits the fans and at the same time maximising attendances. prob the main reason ga;way have home games on fridays. a fair argument can be made from away fans on how diffficult it would be to get to galway for friday night games and i can agree with that but there are very few clubs who have such a decent travelling support for most eircom league clubs to consider the benefits (gate money from them) of changing traditional kick off times. with no set standard kick off times in place in the league it only adds to the problems of attracting fans to games.united fans have had to endure thursday friday saturday and even sunday afternoon kick offs the last few seasons but at least away fans generally know that our home games at terryland are on friday nights. and before anyone sets the record straight, i know that this season once or twice there have been stupid saturday afternoon and evening games at terryland but generally they do play fridays. reasons for these kick of times still havnt been explained to me which again shows how much the league are doing things without considering the fans. lets hope that will all change next season

Agree but there should not be any games played on thursday nights.

JC_GUFC
17/10/2006, 10:20 AM
Having finally caught up with everyone else for the first time since April, we are of course, top of the league on the back of 3 straight wins. Galway and Dundalk could win the league, but as they have shown all season, only by playing more games than us. :D

Actually if our last 5 games were against Rovers I'd be pretty confident we'd win the league!

Rovers have the easiest run-in but after Friday United will.

Rovers have scored enough in the last few games to put the GD issue out of the window. They will HAVE to slip up for anyone else to win the league.

DvB
17/10/2006, 1:36 PM
Actually if our last 5 games were against Rovers I'd be pretty confident we'd win the league!

Rovers have the easiest run-in but after Friday United will.

Rovers have scored enough in the last few games to put the GD issue out of the window. They will HAVE to slip up for anyone else to win the league.

JC that would depend where the games were to be played, we've been unlucky twice in Terryland this season & there hasnt been more than a goal between the sides in all 4 games, hard to call another 5 of them in all honesty!

Personally i think we have a tough run in, Cobh & Limerick away (ie fourth & fifth in the table) in grounds we've yet to win in this season, i'm not banking on six points there to be fair & am really not looking forward to Kilkenny this saturday, if you can avoid defeat v Dundalk imo Galway are easily the favourites as i cant see any real games where I could expect you to drop points!

Far closer than i would have predicted a few weeks ago!!

Koh

JC_GUFC
18/10/2006, 11:34 AM
JC that would depend where the games were to be played, we've been unlucky twice in Terryland this season & there hasnt been more than a goal between the sides in all 4 games, hard to call another 5 of them in all honesty!

Personally i think we have a tough run in, Cobh & Limerick away (ie fourth & fifth in the table) in grounds we've yet to win in this season, i'm not banking on six points there to be fair & am really not looking forward to Kilkenny this saturday, if you can avoid defeat v Dundalk imo Galway are easily the favourites as i cant see any real games where I could expect you to drop points!

Far closer than i would have predicted a few weeks ago!!

Koh

Well you've only scored once against us in the 4 games and that was from a terrible error deep into injury time.
Whatever about the first game in Terryland we definitely deserved the win in our last meeting!
That said there is very little between the 2 of us and Dundalk for that matter.
If we beat Dundalk, we'll prob go back to favourites as we do have the easier run-in.
That said we've won 7 in a row including wins in Cobh and Limerick so there's no reason Rovers can't do the same.

18/10/2006, 6:42 PM
All 3 sides have difficult run-ins. Dundalk still have to visit Finn Harps, not an easy place to win at, and have to go to Galway also. Galway's run-in is tough as well, with only their game at home to Kildare a 3-point banker. Athlone always give them problems, while both Rovers and Galway have to play Cobh and Kilkenny, which while winnable, are against sides who are both notoriously hard to break down.

Dave drummerboy
18/10/2006, 10:46 PM
im lucking for cobh to do us favours .

21/10/2006, 2:02 AM
every club in eircom league are trying to get as many fans as they can through the gates and if they have a decent enough marketing department and know their fan base then it only makes sense to try to have their home games when it best suits the fans and at the same time maximising attendances. prob the main reason ga;way have home games on fridays. a fair argument can be made from away fans on how diffficult it would be to get to galway for friday night games and i can agree with that but there are very few clubs who have such a decent travelling support for most eircom league clubs to consider the benefits (gate money from them) of changing traditional kick off times. with no set standard kick off times in place in the league it only adds to the problems of attracting fans to games.united fans have had to endure thursday friday saturday and even sunday afternoon kick offs the last few seasons but at least away fans generally know that our home games at terryland are on friday nights. and before anyone sets the record straight, i know that this season once or twice there have been stupid saturday afternoon and evening games at terryland but generally they do play fridays. reasons for these kick of times still havnt been explained to me which again shows how much the league are doing things without considering the fans. lets hope that will all change next season

Years ago, there are people who said summer soccer couldn't work, but it did. They said full-time soccer wouldn't work. but it did. There are people who said that the smoking ban wouldn't work here, but guess what, it did.

This league struggles to attract fans/press/tv coverage as it is, and most of that is down to the wacky times we play league games here. Games on Thursday/Friday nights, Saturday/Sunday afternoons that few people bar the hard core go to. Few kids/away fans at games on Thursdays/Fridays, and foreign football on tv at the other times.

The best time to play games is Saturday evenings, and in many countries in Europe, that is the time when games are played, where everyone's demands (players/fans/media) are catered for. Sadly not here, where mé féin rules amongst the clubs, and attendances suffer from no marketing, shoddy tv coverage, and a lack of interest from the general public.

The status quo will continue as long as the games are played on different nights, with no marketing in local and national media. Marketing Saturday night in the media as nationwide NL night, with all games starting simultaneously, a live tv game every single week, swiftly followed by a glossy highlights show (with match commentaries, interviews and slick analysis, not lazy voiceovers) repeated soon afterwards for the benefit of fans who went to games earlier, is the way forward, for interest, and attendances to increase. It's not that difficult to do, however it requires motivation and commitment from everyone involved to make it work, but it's easier to make excuses, cop-outs, pick holes, then whinge why match attendances and media coverage is poor, while doing nothing to improve it.

geezer
21/10/2006, 9:26 AM
we were well and truly tanked last night by a an excellent dundalk outfit all 11 of which were able to play football, pass move and physically strong and fantastically fit. Dundalk brought the biggest away crowd i have seen in years and on a friday night to terryland and in my experience this doesnt happen unless a club has a very good team.
hats off to them

hoopy
21/10/2006, 11:10 AM
Are you saying Dundalk's ticket allocation wasn't restricted? Ps, our game in Kilkenny is off

Trainee
21/10/2006, 11:18 AM
After last night the first Div is Rovers to loose

They have a far better goal difference than dundalk

But will live in hope that both rovers and dundalk somehow slip up and galway utd some how manage to rob the on the last day of the season

21/10/2006, 11:21 AM
why is the rovers -v- kilkenny game off ?

hoopy
21/10/2006, 11:49 AM
The pitch has a drainage problem apparantely.

manic da hoop
21/10/2006, 12:29 PM
why is the rovers -v- kilkenny game off ?

Kilkenny have a "Rovers" problem. Best to re-fix for a date and time when we'll bring far fewer fans with us:rolleyes:

21/10/2006, 12:42 PM
Kilkenny have a "Rovers" problem. Best to re-fix for a date and time when we'll bring far fewer fans with us:rolleyes:

The ref calls the game off not Kilkenny FC.Just because a match gets called off doesn't mean there's a massive conspiracy against yee.Get over yourself.

manic da hoop
21/10/2006, 2:02 PM
Eh, no there's no conspiracy against us, not at all:rolleyes:

The referee is employed by a higher authority, ie. the FAI. With the match not going ahead tonight it will have to be refixed for a more awkward mid-week/evening time, thus adding to our backlog at just the wrong time of year. Why don't they just declare the fixture abandoned and award the points to Kilkenny now, and save us the hassle of having to play it at all?

21/10/2006, 2:49 PM
Eh, no there's no conspiracy against us, not at all:rolleyes:

The referee is employed by a higher authority, ie. the FAI. With the match not going ahead tonight it will have to be refixed for a more awkward mid-week/evening time, thus adding to our backlog at just the wrong time of year. Why don't they just declare the fixture abandoned and award the points to Kilkenny now, and save us the hassle of having to play it at all?

Ya i could just imagine it.
FAI-"Make sure ya call that Kilkenny v Rovers game off tonight"
Ref-"Why?"
FAI-"Cause they're Rovers and we hate them ok"
Ref_"OK"

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

manic da hoop
21/10/2006, 3:44 PM
Nail-hit-on-head

hoopy
21/10/2006, 4:16 PM
The ref calls the game off not Kilkenny FC.Just because a match gets called off doesn't mean there's a massive conspiracy against yee.Get over yourself.

So are you saying that the ref was in Kilkenny at 11oc? The Kilkenny chairman is a sad and bitter individual

21/10/2006, 4:18 PM
So are you saying that the ref was in Kilkenny at 11oc? The Kilkenny chairman is a sad and bitter individual

Well he hardly gave the pitch inspection so yes i'd say the ref was there at 12 o clock when the inspection took place.

hoopy
21/10/2006, 4:26 PM
Pat Scully must be a psychic so seeing as he rang the players at 11 to tell them it was off