View Full Version : 1st Divison run in!
Pages :
[
3]
seand
26/09/2006, 10:15 AM
and can i ask all Galway fans to try not to litter our ground on Friday evening. Its this insane ripping up of newspapers into little bits and throwing them around the ground makes it a bitch to clean up on Sat morning.
If this quote isn't an incentive for every right minded Galway fan to empty every shedding bin in work and bring the contents to Limerick on Friday I dunno what is!
oriel
26/09/2006, 10:18 AM
I wasn`t a fan of this pitch when the club put it in last august, I thought it was a ridiculous idea and far too expensive at 500k, but it was in for the long term, and any negative feelign I had on it, was replaced by at least we were back playing home game sin oriel after a 5 or 6 mth delay.
Then this season started, and you know what the quality of the surface was so good most of us forgot it wasn`t real grass, the ball moves very smooth with no high bounce, and the adavantage is when BOTH teams attack, it makes for a very fast moving game, Drogs were first up and played us off the park in the second half.
The pitch is a 2005 fifa approved surface, the appearance is off actual 'grass blades' compared to Dunfermlines flat, hockey style , hard carpet type. Also it was an experimental 2002 fifa surface, most if no all clubs who particpated have since (grant asssisted) removed the pitch.
I`ve noticed no complaints from 'footballing' sides like rovers, drogs etc, ie teams who like to pass it about
marley
26/09/2006, 10:27 AM
The following message was copied and paste from the Dundalk Website
"Off the field we had two UEFA officials as our guests on Thursday night.Dr.Jan Ekstrand and Mr. Rolf Hediger were guests of honour after theycontacted me a number of weeks ago.Dundalk F.C. have been invited to partakein the UEFA Pilot Project , which is a continuous study on pitches likeours. We are delighted to have been invited to participate and are in good
company with Clubs such as Arsenal, Chelsea, Newcastle United, Salzburg, HJK Helsinki and Glasgow Rangers the chosen ones, also taking part."
26/09/2006, 10:51 AM
and can i ask all Galway fans to try not to litter our ground on Friday evening. Its this insane ripping up of newspapers into little bits and throwing them around the ground makes it a bitch to clean up on Sat morning.
I am going to ensure that we now have 3 bags(minimum) full of confetti for Friday night!!!:)
Hopefully you'll be cleaning it up on Saturday aswell!:)
26/09/2006, 11:03 AM
The following message was copied and paste from the Dundalk Website
"Off the field we had two UEFA officials as our guests on Thursday night.Dr.Jan Ekstrand and Mr. Rolf Hediger were guests of honour after theycontacted me a number of weeks ago.Dundalk F.C. have been invited to partakein the UEFA Pilot Project , which is a continuous study on pitches likeours. We are delighted to have been invited to participate and are in good
company with Clubs such as Arsenal, Chelsea, Newcastle United, Salzburg, HJK Helsinki and Glasgow Rangers the chosen ones, also taking part."
Chrost on a moped dont tell me this was last thursday:eek: What an impression that must have left.
oriel
26/09/2006, 12:54 PM
ny hoop - bad news for you - i`ve just checked our official website - afraid so - this quote was taken from the commerical managers weekly column !
Welcome to Ireland
26/09/2006, 2:07 PM
I`ve noticed no complaints from 'footballing' sides like rovers, drogs etc, ie teams who like to pass it about
Exactly, Rovers train on artificial surfaces. I have zero problem with Dundalk's pitch. Off the pitch however....
26/09/2006, 2:53 PM
I am going to ensure that we now have 3 bags(minimum) full of confetti for Friday night!!!
Hopefully you'll be cleaning it up on Saturday aswell!
Do they let you play with it in the creche?? Surely a choking hazard??
You could have an eye out with all that confetti
Easily as dangerous as imaginary stones ;) :rolleyes:
26/09/2006, 3:43 PM
There were real stones that hit Rovers fans during the game. How can you not understand that?
You're just a WUM you obviously dont even go to games.
FAO Galway fans do not stand opposite the main entrance to this dump.
Latest odds from P Power
Rovers 10/11
Galway 9/4
Dundalk 5/2
Cobh 20/1
Lims 40/1
26/09/2006, 3:53 PM
They were real stones that hit us aswell.Good old Limerick eh!:rolleyes:
26/09/2006, 4:16 PM
You're just a WUM you obviously dont even go to games.
I've only missed one game this season (Bloody Dundalk Thursdays), I even braved Tolka for the Rovers game. The stewarding there is good in fairness. He even told us going in not to go into the main stand as we'd be attacked. So up to the family stand we went. Got spat on up there but at least I wasn't killed :)
26/09/2006, 4:22 PM
I've only missed one game this season (Bloody Dundalk Thursdays), I even braved Tolka for the Rovers game. The stewarding there is good in fairness. He even told us going in not to go into the main stand as we'd be attacked. So up to the family stand we went. Got spat on up there but at least I wasn't killed :)
You got spat on?? Oh of course you did:rolleyes: The spit couldnt reach you cos you're so far down from the weight of the chips on your shoulders.
Any normal Limerick fans at that game can confirm this non incident?
Tell you what. I'll stick to what actually happened. Suppose the Galway fans were hit by imaginary stones too?
26/09/2006, 4:30 PM
Define normal, we all follow Limerick F.C. :p
gael353, sadloserkid, monkfish, gspain..... gael got the worst of it I merely got reflected spit if you will :)
I'm not complainin thogh these things happen at football grounds, kinda like little babbies throwing pebbles around and Galway fans not telling them to shag off (just to clarify not at the Galway fans, just playing amongst themselves)
BTW I accept the Rovers incident was a different circumstance as those stones were coming from an area outside the ground which the club has no control over and which our fine gardai won't go to :rolleyes:
What I would debate is the seriousness of the stone throwing. Fact is when your more burberry clad fans moved behind the goals for the second half, a large section of the rovers support stayed put suggesting maybe it wasn't as bad as you make out??
Watch yourself Lim Til I Die, these Rovers fans will start using big words by their standards like 'WUM' and 'THE' and then state something and say that its the truth and anyone who disagrees is a 'WUM'.
Oh and NY Hoop is you disagree with that why don't you follow your own advice, look up your petty 'ignore list' and ignore what I'm saying? :cool:
26/09/2006, 5:11 PM
I accept the Rovers incident was a different circumstance as those stones were coming from an area outside the ground which the club has no control over and which our fine gardai won't go to :rolleyes:
And the difference in Dundalk is??........... :confused:
..........Wait a second, there is no difference. :rolleyes:
Sam Savic
26/09/2006, 5:29 PM
I spoke to two Limerick fans at the tunnell shortly after the final whistle, there was no mention of any problems and no mention of spitting.
On a seperate point, if an area of the ground is closed ( behind the goal at Limerick ) it should be cordoned off.
Patrick Dunne
26/09/2006, 7:08 PM
"The seriousness of the stone throwing" :rolleyes:
A polite lob as opposed to a full on frontal throw ?
26/09/2006, 8:39 PM
If this quote isn't an incentive for every right minded Galway fan to empty every shedding bin in work and bring the contents to Limerick on Friday I dunno what is!
Well they do it every time they come down now im all for atmosphere but this is just annoying, so instead of letting them do it as per usual i just thought id ask them not to. Its simple really dont throw that ****e around the place and ye wont get hit with rocks :rolleyes: conor H may still want to throw it though :D
so your saying Gael353 that if there is any confetti thrown you will throw stones at those people?
26/09/2006, 10:06 PM
Ya Terry-only in Limerick.
Gael we'll be livening up the morge that is Rathbane on Friday night with flags,drums,confetti,tissue roll etc etc.If you don't like it tough ****!!
If for doing this we are pelted with sones then so be it we won't be deterred by yere local yobs.Yet in Limerick they try and throw you out of the ground for creating an atmosphere with confetti tissue roll etc and nothing is done about the stone throwing.Except the Limerick fans try and brush it over as Galway fans over exaggerating!:rolleyes:
Roll on Friday!
27/09/2006, 10:58 AM
If for doing this we are pelted with sones then so be it we won't be deterred by yere local yobs.
Stones are one thing but SONES, good god I can't even begin to try and condone that :eek: :eek: :p
27/09/2006, 10:59 AM
so your saying Gael353 that if there is any confetti thrown you will throw stones at those people?
I would politely suggest you get a life Terrance :rolleyes:
27/09/2006, 11:17 AM
Ok ltid, jeez I should be banned for life for questioning someone else on this message board !!
27/09/2006, 11:28 AM
Ok ltid, jeez I should be banned for life for questioning someone else on this message board !!
Taking gaels post literally was ludicrous and you know it.
You know there are some anal mods round here who've been known to delete posts left, right and centre and give out warnings for less ;)
27/09/2006, 11:32 AM
Its called rising, since you were the only one taking me seriously I will make exceptions for you anymore ;)
27/09/2006, 11:37 AM
Its called rising, since you were the only one taking me seriously I will make exceptions for you anymore
Thats barely coherent :eek:
Feel free to add me to your ignore list, yourself and NY Hoop can start a club. Plus you'll avoid getting your knickers in a twist whenever I debate with some of your mates on the Galway forum ;)
Anyway to drag myself slightly back on topic, Galway are going to win Friday, it's all going to be very tight come the end of season :ball:
harpskid
27/09/2006, 12:30 PM
.Yet in Limerick they try and throw you out of the ground for creating an atmosphere
This also happened to us in Dundalk and Kilkenny in recent times!! Quite sad I thought :ball:
27/09/2006, 12:44 PM
This also happened to us in Dundalk and Kilkenny in recent times!! Quite sad I thought :ball:
It hasn't happened in Limerick yet either. Though I believe there are grounds in the league where you'll be threatened with eviction for calling opposition players nasty names...:cool:
marley
27/09/2006, 12:45 PM
what are you on about. The Harps fans and the Dundalk fans shared the terraces that night. It was hard for you to make an atmosphere as there were only 10 - 15 of you but when you were banging away on your drum and singing your songs no-one asked you to leave or to stop. Cop on to yourself and quit **** stirring. By the way i was beside your fans
harpskid
27/09/2006, 12:48 PM
Cop on to yourself and quit **** stirring. By the way i was beside your fans
The first time we were up this season and the stewards told us to stop drumming - the night we won three-one and we were positioned in the stand and the poor folk complained about the noise.
The last night we were up, the Harps fans went to the terrace to avoid a repeat of that!
marley
27/09/2006, 12:57 PM
Thats fair enough they don't want the lads from the shed in the stand also because of the singing so as a general rule we don't bother going in. My mistake for the **** stirring jibe
27/09/2006, 10:35 PM
You got spat on?? Oh of course you did:rolleyes: The spit couldnt reach you cos you're so far down from the weight of the chips on your shoulders.
Tell you what. I'll stick to what actually happened. Suppose the Galway fans were hit by imaginary stones too?
you hit that nail on the head you clown cos i was the one who got spat on, several times as we took the lead. so did you get that, can you read? i was the one that got spat on,
28/09/2006, 10:22 AM
you hit that nail on the head you clown cos i was the one who got spat on, several times as we took the lead. so did you get that, can you read? i was the one that got spat on,
Clown coming from you?:rolleyes:
Did you read Sam Savic's post? IF this happened why didnt you report it?
Was it imaginary spit like the imaginary stones we got hit with?
28/09/2006, 11:04 AM
Gotta love the First Division run in thread ;)
28/09/2006, 11:08 AM
Gotta love the First Division run in thread
I woulda responded to NY Hoop but he'd only ignore me :p :rolleyes:
I'm actually going through a bit of a crisis at the moment, I mean here i am actually wanting Dundalk to win a trophy!! :eek:
28/09/2006, 11:13 AM
I woulda responded to NY Hoop but he'd only ignore me :p :rolleyes:
I'm actually going through a bit of a crisis at the moment, I mean here i am actually wanting Dundalk to win a trophy!! :eek:
I'm in a bit of a pickle myself to be honest. I'm wondering should I wear a traditional builder's hard hat to the Galway game, or go for the more stylish American football helmet to protect me from all the rocks that will be flying around
28/09/2006, 11:19 AM
I'm in a bit of a pickle myself to be honest. I'm wondering should I wear a traditional builder's hard hat to the Galway game, or go for the more stylish American football helmet to protect me from all the rocks that will be flying around
Why do Limerick fans attack each other these days?No surprise really.
28/09/2006, 11:22 AM
Why do Limerick fans attack each other these days?No surprise really.
Wow he's good. All it took was six minutes for that witty retort :eek:
I'd imagine after all the Galways fans are dead some of the more enthusiastic rock throwers might turn their siege weaponry, cannons, catapaults, slings etc on some of the quieter home fans. Wouldn't blame them really, the action on the field will be rank :rolleyes:
28/09/2006, 11:32 AM
The limerick delusions never end.
Maybe a limerick win tomorrow night:D
28/09/2006, 11:34 AM
Maybe a limerick win tomorrow night:D
aren't you supposed to be ignoring us? :eek:
28/09/2006, 11:40 AM
Did your probation officer give you a word of the day calender or something?
"Lim till i delude", "Limerick delusions", ignore us you clown :rolleyes:
BTW if we win tomorrow night I'll eat my (Hard) hat :p
28/09/2006, 11:44 AM
New limerick word: clown.
Probation officer?:D Coming from a limerick fan? Glorious. Always the same. Those that are in no position to slag off anybody always do.
Back on topic have a sneaking suspicion that limerick might get a result given their recent bad form.
28/09/2006, 11:49 AM
New limerick word: clown.
Back on topic have a sneaking suspicion that limerick might get a result given their recent bad form.
Are you ignoring me or not??? :rolleyes:
He got you that calender in the nick of time if the word "clown" is new to you :rolleyes:
You think Limerick might get a good result because our form has been bad recently?? I'm sure there's logic in there somewhere.................
28/09/2006, 11:55 AM
Presume you mean calendar? If so you know where you can shove it.
Read my signature and try and stay on topic. If you knew about the game it sometimes throws up an unlikely result. Here's hoping that tomorrow night will be one.
Calm down son.
28/09/2006, 12:00 PM
Presume you mean calendar? If so you know where you can shove it.
Read my signature and try and stay on topic. If you knew about the game it sometimes throws up an unlikely result. Here's hoping that tomorrow night will be one.
I see he's teaching you to spell properly aswell, great stuff :rolleyes:
I know you changed your signature, why not ignore me anyway though I mean what has changed your mind??
I know the game throws up odd results, doesn't make your original point any more logical ;)
Calling me son?? What kind of loser are you???
Calm down, Grandson :rolleyes:
BTW I hope we win too, thanks for your kind support
28/09/2006, 12:13 PM
I know you changed your signature, why not ignore me anyway though I mean what has changed your mind??
If you actually read my signature you'd know why.
Sure if I ignored you you'd have nobody to talk to you kid:D
Can you reply without putting in the roll eyes?
When you open your mouth its just to change your feet.
Anyway the Cobh v Dundalk game saturday could be Cobh's last chance to stay alive. If the home side dont get a result it looks like curtains for them.
28/09/2006, 1:21 PM
Worst thread ever?
28/09/2006, 1:22 PM
Worst thread ever?
Just the last 2 or so pages.
Back on Topic.UTD to win the league!:)
28/09/2006, 1:28 PM
Back on Topic.UTD to win the league!:)