View Full Version : 1st Divison run in!
Pages :
[
2]
i dont have a victimhood complex. i have a zero threshold for bullshít complex. when our fans act up i will condemn it.
your challenge. find me one photo from the love ulster riots (and there are plenty of them available for free on the web) that,as you claim, shows a rovers shirt even there, let alone rioting. if not, shut the fúck up about it.
i was talking to CB about the incident recently and there were no football fans involved in his attack, let alone colours. but you know more about it then he does.
with that banquet of bullshít out of the way, whats your credibility like about the incidents in limerick?
Haha, banquet of bull****, so just because you say so means everything is false does it? Give me a break. To answer your questions, I can't be bothered looking them up because since I was at the riot back in march I don't need to prove anything to myself, if people want to look for them to see if I'm telling the truth or not themselves, then do so by all means. Plus we have one rovers fan saying that there wasn't anyone involved in the riot in a rovers shirt, and another saying there was, its hard to know who to believe on that one since Rovers fans are stereotypically so full of ****
As for the Charlie Bird thing, I made a joke about NY Hoop calling up the great man himself, forgot that normally people with a 'zero threshold for bull****' (:rolleyes: )normally also have a zero threshold for getting a joke.
Right on to NY Hoop, my favourite poster on foot by a long mile. I never said that there wasn't GAA or Celtic jerseys on display at the Love Ulster riots, I'm sure there were a lot more of Our Day Will Come element there as well. The Love Ulster reference was harking back to a disagreement we've already had about this in some other thread, I thought you might get the joke, but then I'm not sure if all Rovers fans share Roverstilidie's 'zero threshold for bull****'(:rolleyes: ) so maybe I was wrong about that.
Oh and I have 'zero threshold for bull****'(:rolleyes: ) internet terms like WUM, to be honest I don't even know what that means, toodles
JC_GUFC
22/09/2006, 12:36 AM
This thread was actually alright until all the ****e at the end.
Foot.ie really is a load of ****e these days - any chance the u18s could be banned?
If United beat Monaghan tomorrow there are 3 teams on level points at the top of the Division and Rovers will have a game in hand.
After that United's fixtures are:
Limerick Away
Rovers Home
Harps Away
Dundalk Home
2 home wins and 2 away draws would set us up very nicely - of course both Dundalk and Rovers would settle for a point in Terryland. It is very likely that this division will be settled on the last day of the season.
In my opinion Rovers will still win the league with United a couple of points behind and Dundalk in third - I hope I'm wrong though!
22/09/2006, 3:40 AM
G'wan Galway!!!. Would love to see GUFC take the title, if not them Dundalk.
Thats my tuppence...:o
22/09/2006, 10:14 AM
this league will go to the last few weeks and Rovers games in hand could prove a hindrance the longer they survive in the cup.John Gill comes out with some rubbish and id say he might crack before seasons end.
this league will go to the last few weeks and Rovers
games in hand could prove a hindrance the longer they survive in the cup.John
Gill comes out with some rubbish and id say he might crack before seasons
end.
John Gill thinks he's Chuck Norris!
22/09/2006, 10:50 AM
Haha, banquet of bull****, so just because you say so means everything is false does it? Give me a break. To answer your questions, I can't be bothered looking them up because since I was at the riot back in march I don't need to prove anything to myself, if people want to look for them to see if I'm telling the truth or not themselves, then do so by all means. Plus we have one rovers fan saying that there wasn't anyone involved in the riot in a rovers shirt, and another saying there was, its hard to know who to believe on that one since Rovers fans are stereotypically so full of ****
As for the Charlie Bird thing, I made a joke about NY Hoop calling up the great man himself, forgot that normally people with a 'zero threshold for bull****' (:rolleyes: )normally also have a zero threshold for getting a joke.
Right on to NY Hoop, my favourite poster on foot by a long mile. I never said that there wasn't GAA or Celtic jerseys on display at the Love Ulster riots, I'm sure there were a lot more of Our Day Will Come element there as well. The Love Ulster reference was harking back to a disagreement we've already had about this in some other thread, I thought you might get the joke, but then I'm not sure if all Rovers fans share Roverstilidie's 'zero threshold for bull****'(:rolleyes: ) so maybe I was wrong about that.
Oh and I have 'zero threshold for bull****'(:rolleyes: ) internet terms like WUM, to be honest I don't even know what that means, toodles
Check out my sig you child. And when you do go away permanently or off to bebo.
I've more of a sense of humour than you'll ever know but then I dont joke around with teenagers. Though you are a joke.
Back on topic. Last nights draw means we are still top with 9 games to go. Expect Galway to pick up 3 points tonight and go second but you never know in this league!
22/09/2006, 10:54 AM
exactly ny.We fear no one in this league only our own complacency which is our biggest enemy.
oriel
22/09/2006, 11:29 AM
Def advantage Rovers after last nights draw, but as a lot on here have said, Dundalk and Rovers both have some tricky away games to go, not over til 18th Nov and our away form is best in the lge, so we`ll see.
Last nights game (well first half) was better than a lot of premier div games I saw
Battery Rover
22/09/2006, 12:37 PM
this league will go to the last few weeks and Rovers games in hand could prove a hindrance the longer they survive in the cup.John Gill comes out with some rubbish and id say he might crack before seasons end.
John Gill talks rubbish:eek: What are your sources:) :)
I see he got quote of the day on www.elevenaside.com
"I thought we were miles ahead of them. In the last ten minutes they had the wind at their backs and had a go, but where were they for the other 80 minutes?" - Dundalk manager John Gill on his side’s display against Shamrock Rovers in Thursday night’s big First Division game.
Redzer
22/09/2006, 12:42 PM
While I would like to see Galway make it to the prem div, I doubt if they will.
When the pressure is on they usually bottle it. Even though they have a better team than previous years, I still cant see them doing it. I fear Wesley will give away a penelty or two yet. I Think Shams will open a gap in the next few weeks.
22/09/2006, 9:47 PM
Could have done without that Galway win tonight. We are away to Cobh next weekend - who are Galway and Rovers playing?
22/09/2006, 9:52 PM
GUFC have Lims away.
Rovers are away to Athlone.
3 tough games for everyone.
22/09/2006, 10:01 PM
Rovers are away to Athlone.
That's the cup game I take it? It doesn't really matter then. I hope it is a draw. A nice tough replay with extra time would be nice.
22/09/2006, 10:02 PM
No it's not that's in the league.
atfconline
22/09/2006, 10:07 PM
Eh no, it's in the Cup.
22/09/2006, 10:08 PM
Eh no, it's in the Cup.
So when are yee playing them in the league?Yee are due to play them next week in the league aswell aren't yee?Any date given?
22/09/2006, 10:08 PM
No it is definitely the cup game. Athlone have already played Rovers twice in Athlone.
22/09/2006, 10:11 PM
Tues. 17 Oct. EL Shamrock Rovers v Athlone Town Tolka Park 8.00 pm
Shamrock Rovers Fixtures (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/fixtures.php)
atfconline
22/09/2006, 10:11 PM
We're at home to them in the Cup next Saturday night. We were due to be away to them in the League next Friday night.
22/09/2006, 10:12 PM
Tues. 17 Oct. EL Shamrock Rovers v Athlone Town Tolka Park 8.00 pm
Shamrock Rovers Fixtures (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/fixtures.php)
Nice one thanks.So GUFC can go top of the league next weekend!:)
22/09/2006, 10:20 PM
As can Dundalk FC.
Rovers are playing their game in hand against Limerick on Tuesday the 10th October by the way.
23/09/2006, 12:16 AM
We have 2 games in hand, v Limerick (h), and v Athlone (h), with the possibility of 3 in hand should we win in Athlone next week. :D :)
JC_GUFC
24/09/2006, 1:21 PM
We have 2 games in hand, v Limerick (h), and v Athlone (h), with the possibility of 3 in hand should we win in Athlone next week. :D :)
It's all very well having games in hand but if you're 3 points behind United when you come to Terryland the pressure will really be on you not to lose.
Conor H -you could well be right, with both us and rovers having to go to terryland the points picked up/lost from the 3 clubs on these two games will have a massive bearing on who comes first.
I notice we have some very difficult away games to come, cobh next week, yourselves in Oct I think and then finish up away to finn harps. Rovers too have limerick I think and yourselves both away to mention just two
One thing for sure, the standard has def improved in the first div this year, very few easy games apart from mons/cats at home
JC_GUFC
24/09/2006, 5:37 PM
The standard is definitely getting better in Division 1 and the strength of depth in the league as a whole is better. Looking at the top 3 you couldn't say with any certainty that they would finish in the bottom 2 of the Premier next season.
United have had some bad luck conceding late goals so I've just gone through each of the top 3 teams record when a result has changed in the last 5 minutes (i.e. if the team has scored/conceded)
Rovers:
H v Cobh
Rowe 90 1-0
H v Dundalk
Doyle 90 2-1
H v United
Purcell 90 1-0
A v Cobh
Guthrie 87 1-1
Points gained: 7
Dundalk:
A v Athlone
Hughes 86 1-0
A v Rovers
Purcell 90 0-1
Points gained: 1
United
H v Athlone
Lavine 85 1-1
H v Harps
Minnock 86 1-1
H v Kilkenny
O'Hanlon 86 1-1
A v Athlone
Fortune 90 0-1
A v Rovers
Purcell 90 0-1
Points lost: 8 :eek:
25/09/2006, 9:00 AM
Limerick is a dump full of vermin.
Your obviously an absolute genius.
Your wasting your time on foot, there's all sorts of problems in the Middle East and Africa.
GO NOW, LIVES ARE AT STAKE!!! :rolleyes:
Great result by Rovers the other night. Genuinely thought they'd take nothing from Oriel, Terryland or Rathbane. Also judging by our performance in Kildare Saturday we won't be presenting quite as stern a challenge as I would have liked against Galway Friday :(
Also, anyone think with the new super-dooper league coming in next year that all this is academic as the top three in the First at the moment will be going up regardless :ball:
Also, anyone think with the new super-dooper league coming in next year that
all this is academic as the top three in the First at the moment will be going up
regardless :ball:
Not necessarily the top 3 ...
I still think we're gonna make it into the new "I can’t believe its not butter"
League, obviously not for on field activities, but that might be at the expense
of another team in Division 1.
25/09/2006, 10:56 AM
Not necessarily the top 3 ...
I still think we're gonna make it into the new "I can’t believe its not butter"
League, obviously not for on field activities, but that might be at the expense
of another team in Division 1.
TBH i can't see any team out of the top 3 getting invited to next year's elite league.Why would Athlone be invited?
-Poor on the field in the last 5 years
-Poor this year again
-Poor crowds
-Good stadium admitedly
-Good PR??
Not been pedantic but who would yee get ahead of in the top 3?Possibly Dundalk?I'd be surprised though.
25/09/2006, 12:11 PM
Not been pedantic but who would yee get ahead of in the top 3?Possibly Dundalk?I'd be surprised though.
Must agree with Conor H :eek: :eek: :eek:
I think the super fantastic I can't believe it's not England Premier soccerball league is coming a year too soon for Athlone
Possibly Dundalk?
Yep ... I just have a feeling about it :)
Battery Rover
25/09/2006, 12:35 PM
Well two things would make me side with Ash other than being Town supporters.
I know one of the Monaghan supporters has said this already but we are pumping all our money into the new stadium to get a premier licence for next season and we have the chairman of the Eircom League who I would take it will get a pretty high position at the table in the new league set up when the Eircom league is disbanded at the end of the season.
Even with all the speculation, no one has got clear clarification how this is being decided. Think the 12 are already picked. On everything other than the football side we will score 100%
25/09/2006, 12:40 PM
On everything other than the football side we will score 100%
And there folks, in a nutshell, is everything that is wrong with this "new dawn" for Irish football :( :rolleyes:
Battery Rover
25/09/2006, 12:44 PM
I don't think anyone totally believes that this will be decided by on the field activities even though it should be.
And there folks, in a nutshell, is everything that is wrong with this "new dawn" for Irish football :( :rolleyes:
another 2 cents from The Giller (jaysus he must have spent a fortune now ;) )
Full Story Eleven-a-side.com (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=24601)
Dundalk manager John Gill has repeated his plea to the eircom League and the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) to clarify the situation regarding the make-up of next season’s new-look Premiership.
“Will promotion be based on who gets the most points in this year’s First Division race? Or will the membership of next season’s Premier Division be decided by a nod and a wink?
25/09/2006, 12:46 PM
[B]I don't think anyone totally believes that this will be decided by on the field activities even though it should be.
There be another nutshell :(
Jaysus, Athlone is full of them :)
25/09/2006, 12:54 PM
Whats the point in promoting a team with a less than good squad of footballers based on other factors if they would just get relegated in their first season anyway and a club that was passed over gets promoted
BohsFans
25/09/2006, 1:27 PM
Think the 12 are already picked. On everything other than the football side we will score 100%
Is it not 10:confused:
25/09/2006, 1:31 PM
12 next year, then 10 for 2008.
hoops1
25/09/2006, 2:29 PM
Im willing to bet that one of the teams to be shafted is UCD
Not that I agree with it.I think they will be the fall guys
Redzer
25/09/2006, 2:38 PM
Would the Dundalk pitch be a negitive factor? I cant see the big Premier clubs (Shels, Cork, Derry) agreeing to play on it.
monutdfc
25/09/2006, 3:15 PM
Would the Dundalk pitch be a negitive factor? I cant see the big Premier clubs (Shels, Cork, Derry) agreeing to play on it.
I can't see them having any choice once it's UEFA approved
25/09/2006, 3:29 PM
On everything other than the football side we will score 100%I wouldn't be so sure. The proposals are made out in such a way so that they're vague so the FAI can make up their own mind about it.
I don't think anyone totally believes that this will be decided by on the field activities even though it should be.
Sure aren't the proposals outlined as been 50% on the field and 50% of the field.
Im willing to bet that one of the teams to be shafted is UCD
Not that I agree with it.I think they will be the fall guys
I think Rovers, Galway and Dundalk will go up, UCD and Bray down.
The pitch in Dundalk is terrible and Dunfermline were made dig up theirs by the SFA despite them approving it the year before.
marley
25/09/2006, 4:02 PM
The Dundalk pitch is nothing like Dunfermline's old pitch. It has a Fifa 2 star cert and Drogheda used it to train on before their first game in Europe as that is what they were playing on in Finland
dont think this pitch should be allowed in the premier league as it has to be an advantage to dundalk no matter what.the pitch in scotland was also fifa approved as are many in the lower leagues in italy.the scotish league decided it was an advantage dunfermline dug it up and relayed grass.in the new league next year the fai should and will look at this in the criteria.if dundalk cant survive without the income from renting out their plastic pitch i dont think they should be considered.
Patrick Dunne
25/09/2006, 9:06 PM
Any club trying to promote their home games, increase attendances, be professional and organised, try to look after away supporters, have a goalkeeper and corner flags, etc., should be penalised.
Its unfair on Limerick.
Guitd
25/09/2006, 10:12 PM
a good pitch is considered an unfair advantage!?!
only in ireland
no you miss my point
this pitch cant be classed as good for top class competative football.didnt say it was not a good pitch what im saying is players iv spoken to say the ball bounce,tackles etc are different on plastic
BohsFans
25/09/2006, 10:18 PM
no you miss my point
this pitch cant be classed as good for top class competative football.didnt say it was not a good pitch what im saying is players iv spoken to say the ball bounce,tackles etc are different on plastic
write a letter to FIFA then, because they regard it as an excellent playing surface!
26/09/2006, 8:01 AM
Any club trying to promote their home games, increase attendances, be professional and organised, try to look after away supporters, have a goalkeeper and corner flags, etc., should be penalised.
Its unfair on Limerick.
The corner flag incident you allude to happened at a time when ye were teethering on bankruptcy (God willing it will happen again).
We had three injured goalkeepers this season and another one the Fai wouldn't let us use.... What would Galway have done?? :rolleyes:
As for looking after away fans I don't recall ever getting any special treatment in Terryland, you just go in and knida stand around, maybe watch a bit of the game ;)
Don't worry about the hooligans, they're only kids :rolleyes:
Besides its been said by other Limerick fans on this forum, you don't like Rathbane?? Then don't come, your custom won't be missed
26/09/2006, 9:41 AM
Its unfair on Limerick.
and can i ask all Galway fans to try not to litter our ground on Friday evening. Its this insane ripping up of newspapers into little bits and throwing them around the ground makes it a bitch to clean up on Sat morning.