View Full Version : Cillian Sheridan (F Inverness Caledonian Thistle b.1989)
Pages :
[
4]
irishfan86
13/06/2011, 8:38 PM
On the topic of MLS, check out this goal from Eric Hassli of the Vancouver Whitecaps against the Seattle Sounders this weekend. Best goal I've ever seen live -- it was absolutely surreal to watch:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8Vfdx7LEh4
Junior
14/06/2011, 7:27 AM
That is a strike and a half alright, lovely first touch to tee him up nicely. Poor old Casey..........
14/06/2011, 7:53 AM
Great strike but awful pitch.
14/06/2011, 8:51 AM
Was it grass, or artificial?
14/06/2011, 9:20 AM
Looks artificial as hell. I think it's an American football field.
irishfan86
14/06/2011, 8:53 PM
It's artificial turf. The stadium is also used by the Seattle Seahawks, an American football team.
cclinton
14/06/2011, 10:16 PM
I thought MLS teams didn't allow loans, unless it was with a view to a permanent move?
There was something about it when Terry Dixon was linked with a loan to Colorado when he was still at West Ham
correct... no incoming MLS loans allowed unless permanent conversion planned.
15/06/2011, 11:31 AM
"Permanent conversion"? Sounds like a term that Nigel Worthington could concoct.
Crosby87
15/06/2011, 11:36 AM
Or Scientology :).
AlaskaFox
08/07/2011, 11:08 AM
On trial with Hibs:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14078009.stm
AlaskaFox
21/07/2011, 2:43 PM
Moving to St. Johnstone on loan:
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/cillian-sheridan-agrees-loan-deal-with-st-johnstone/
Paddy the Dog
21/07/2011, 9:41 PM
Well, was just down in Seattle covering the Whitecaps match against the Sounders.
My pal goes to all the Seattle Sounders games. They were only formed in the last couple of years. The enthusiasm of the fans at the games is incredible, it is evident even from the highlights which he makes available for me; here's the highlights from the Whitecaps game:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyeHFivSVvA&feature=player_embedded
Note the tricolour in the stand on the left of the screen. My pal reckons it was for Cillian! That's not you standing behind it, is it Irishfan86????
irishfan86
21/07/2011, 10:09 PM
Not a bad shout regarding it being for Cillian, but he never played a formal league match with the team as he was only on trial.
Would proudly stand behind it Paddy but I'm up in the press box with the rest of the journalists (I write for MLSsoccer.com).
Paddy the Dog
24/07/2011, 10:55 PM
Not a bad shout regarding it being for Cillian, but he never played a formal league match with the team as he was only on trial.
Would proudly stand behind it Paddy but I'm up in the press box with the rest of the journalists (I write for MLSsoccer.com).
Aww man, wanna swap jobs?
It appears to me that MLS is doing really well although having viewed the footage of Sounders away games, other teams don't seem to be so well supported. I've witnessed some great goals and some terrible defending!
Jaysus, I sound like Alan Hansen...
irishfan86
25/07/2011, 5:01 PM
Yeah it varies around the league. I cover the Vancouver Whitecaps and they average over 19,000 a match. They're moving into a beautiful new stadium later this season in a more central location so I think that will add another 5,000 or so to the average by next season.
Got 2 goals today as St Johnstone beat Hearts. Great to see.
TiocfaidhArmani
27/09/2011, 3:02 PM
He's hit and miss. Some days he looks good the next he couldn't trap a bag of cement.
nicked a late one away at easter road. st. johnstone might be about his level i'm afraid, but you never know.
theworm2345
19/12/2011, 4:06 PM
Saw him on Sportscene in his Christmas jumper ;)
http://i42.tinypic.com/w05gr9.png
He's out with a hamstring tear, said he'd be back in probably 2-3 weeks.
15/02/2012, 12:16 PM
Article on Cillian Sheridan published at weekend.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/cillian-sheridan-they-were-probably-expecting-an-unbelievable-player-then-i-turned-up-3017063.html
20/07/2012, 8:02 AM
Inauspicious return for Sheridan last night for CSKA Sofia, he was shown a straight red after 69 minutes
EastTerracer
06/09/2012, 4:13 PM
According to the @OfficialKillie twitter feed Cillian Sheridan has signed for Kilmarnock today
29/10/2012, 12:39 PM
here's his goal against Celtic from the weekend's game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXDhCVcjCdQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Grafter
29/10/2012, 7:32 PM
here's his goal against Celtic from the weekend's game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXDhCVcjCdQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Decent pace for a big man but a very poor goal to concede.... he is obviously a fan of the hairy Samaras look to intimidate defenders :rolleyes:
the bear
29/10/2012, 11:20 PM
Decent pace for a big man but a very poor goal to concede.... he is obviously a fan of the hairy Samaras look to intimidate defenders :rolleyes:
Feckin Greeks
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT7UKDmBzb3SuGAxutf-noebJIENs4Y6ZpPMW6M-vB7uuPhL6x_Fw (http://www.google.ie/imgres?hl=en&sa=X&biw=1243&bih=579&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=ZoN1BfHodJqX9M:&imgrefurl=http://www.fark.com/comments/7379727/80018820&docid=BNRR0Gc2t4SEtM&imgurl=http://imageshack.us/a/img96/9753/90f6.jpg&w=350&h=273&ei=AR2PUMOPEZGwhAeSs4DAAg&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=948&vpy=268&dur=951&hovh=198&hovw=254&tx=149&ty=96&sig=103059142352740772477&page=1&tbnh=148&tbnw=167&start=0&ndsp=18&ved=1t:429,r:11,s:0,i:99)
19/06/2013, 8:52 PM
Feckin Greeks
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT7UKDmBzb3SuGAxutf-noebJIENs4Y6ZpPMW6M-vB7uuPhL6x_Fw (http://www.google.ie/imgres?hl=en&sa=X&biw=1243&bih=579&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=ZoN1BfHodJqX9M:&imgrefurl=http://www.fark.com/comments/7379727/80018820&docid=BNRR0Gc2t4SEtM&imgurl=http://imageshack.us/a/img96/9753/90f6.jpg&w=350&h=273&ei=AR2PUMOPEZGwhAeSs4DAAg&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=948&vpy=268&dur=951&hovh=198&hovw=254&tx=149&ty=96&sig=103059142352740772477&page=1&tbnh=148&tbnw=167&start=0&ndsp=18&ved=1t:429,r:11,s:0,i:99)
Close but no cigarillo. He's off to Cyprus and recent Champions League quarter-finalists APOEL Nicosia.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10524/cillian-sheridan-departs-kilmarnock-for-cyprus/
30/08/2013, 10:35 AM
Will be playing in the Europa League this season after APOEL were picked to replace Fenerbache
30/08/2013, 1:08 PM
Drawn in a tough group with Bordeaux, Eintracht Frankfurt and Maccabi Tel Aviv.
DannyInvincible
30/08/2013, 3:51 PM
Will be playing in the Europa League this season after APOEL were picked to replace Fenerbache
All thanks to Cypriot celeb, Emmet Malone: http://www.joe.ie/football/football-news/emmet-malone-of-the-irish-times-earns-mad-props-from-apoel-fc-fans-after-securing-europa-league-place/
TheOneWhoKnocks
07/02/2014, 4:29 PM
http://theemeraldexiles.com/2014/02/06/late-sheridan-goal-hands-apoel-vital-win-in-cypriot-title-race/
Sheridan goal hands APOEL title impetus.
Goal in link.
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/03/2014, 2:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-vMBptkr94&feature=share&list=UUN_ITP8cJ0zcJOylc0YMvHg
Nice goal by Sheridinho this weekend. Second goal in a 3-0 win over Apollon.
2:23 @ the link.
Yard of Pace
30/03/2014, 10:05 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-vMBptkr94&feature=share&list=UUN_ITP8cJ0zcJOylc0YMvHg
Nice goal by Sheridinho this weekend. Second goal in a 3-0 win over Apollon.
2:23 @ the link.
Lucky that we're fully stocked with strikers who can calmly finish a 1-on-1 with the keeper.......oh, wait :confused:
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/03/2014, 11:50 AM
Lucky that we're fully stocked with strikers who can calmly finish a 1-on-1 with the keeper.......oh, wait :confused:
I know. Watch out Gibraltar.
http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/keane_getty_955078t.jpg
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/05/2014, 9:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tObb9TuNHJU&feature=youtu.be
0:29 Sheridan wins a penalty and gets defender sent off.
1:15 Sheridan with a cheeky flick to set up third goal.
3:40 Sheridan with a cracking first-time left footed finish.
APOEL win 8-1 against Anorthosis.
Elsewhere across Europe, Barry Maguire's Den Bosch lose out in the Eredivisie Playoff. Another season in the 2nd tier awaits him.
Patrick Kohlmann scored in his final game for Union Berlin ahead of his release.
Robbie Keane scored for LA Galaxy.
TheOneWhoKnocks
22/05/2014, 12:41 PM
http://incyprus.philenews.com/en-gb/Blogs/4324/41764/apoel-take-cyprus-cup
Sheridan scores as APOEL win the Cypriot Cup final.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mj0t0Z9C-Mg&feature=youtu.be
Goal.
22/05/2014, 7:55 PM
A call up?
DeLorean
01/06/2014, 10:27 AM
Wins the league for APOEL in Cyprus (http://www.thescore.ie/cillian-sheridan-apoel-league-win-1495495-Jun2014/)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScVEJ3NMm9E
On head to heads, after finishing level on points... not bad. Pity it was played behind closed doors.
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/07/2014, 5:39 PM
APOEL have come from 2 goals down to draw level against HJK Helsinki in the Champions League. Sheridan netted their equalising goal.
30/07/2014, 6:08 PM
Was only following the score but looks like the turning point was a red card for HJK when they were seemingly cruising. With two away goals in hand, they should progress from the home leg. It's mad to think Cyprus get two qualifying spots for the Champions League and Scotland only get one.
IsMiseSean
30/07/2014, 8:21 PM
If Connor Sammon is getting in the squad surely Sheridan wouldn't be too far away...
DeLorean
31/07/2014, 8:03 AM
Ireland’s Cillian Sheridan scored his first Champions League goal tonight (http://thescore.thejournal.ie/cillian-sheridan-apoel-champions-league-goal-1597899-Jul2014/?utm_source=facebook_short)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdSHbik67Ls
Sheridan's goal is at 2:34
TheOneWhoKnocks
06/08/2014, 5:13 PM
Another Champions League goal for Sheridan this evening. HJK need two to qualify now.
06/08/2014, 5:16 PM
2-0 now, so they'll need two just to force extra time.
TheOneWhoKnocks
06/08/2014, 5:38 PM
Sheridan involved in the move that led to the penalty too.
http://theemeraldexiles.com/2014/08/06/cillian-sheridan-tee10/
Interview with Sheridan.
Surely he is living proof that more high/er profile Irish players should try their luck abroad. League win, cup win, fan adulation, regular European football, high standard of life.
06/08/2014, 6:06 PM
He's done well for himself, but I'm not sure there's much security in Cypriot football outside of APOEL. Have read stories of players being paid with cash in envelopes on arrival and a few weeks later the money drying up.
DeLorean
08/08/2014, 10:12 AM
AaB v APOEL in final playoff round. First leg in Denmark.
DeLorean
08/08/2014, 11:24 AM
Surely he is living proof that more high/er profile Irish players should try their luck abroad. League win, cup win, fan adulation, regular European football, high standard of life.
Like Robbie Keane you mean? Minus the European football obviously.
TheOneWhoKnocks
08/08/2014, 6:34 PM
Obviously. As much as we are missing Liam Miller, Andy Keogh, Joe Gamble and Andy O'Brien.
swinfordfc
22/08/2014, 1:51 PM
Did Sheridan play in the away leg? did he score in the 1-1 draw?
22/08/2014, 2:22 PM
Did Sheridan play in the away leg? did he score in the 1-1 draw?
yes, and no. Was substituted right at the very end too.