View Full Version : Cillian Sheridan (F Inverness Caledonian Thistle b.1989)
Pages :
[
3]
The Fly
03/03/2009, 6:18 PM
Has a spot for a "Big Man" opened up in the squad after Folans withdrawing of himself (while not injured and reasonably fit) from the last squad I wonder???
Sheridan is a long way off an international call-up.
03/03/2009, 7:52 PM
If being big has such merit for an International call up ahead of other attributes, then why not simply buy a pair of "elevator boots" for Doyle.
How about Patriot-2009- sporty casual (http://www.ekmpowershop5.com/ekmps/shops/shoelift1/patriot-2009-sporty-casual--26-inches66-cm-height-increase-12-p.asp)?
for a 2.6 inches/6.6 cm Height Increase at only USD 99.
http://www.ekmpowershop5.com/ekmps/shops/shoelift1/images/patriot.gif
irishfan86
03/03/2009, 9:03 PM
In my book he shouldn't be that far off.
I'd rather take a chance on Sheridan than go with someone like Daryl Murphy...
livehead1
03/03/2009, 9:16 PM
In my book he shouldn't be that far off.
I'd rather take a chance on Sheridan than go with someone like Daryl Murphy...
I've seen him a good few times for Celtic and from what I can see his all round play is dreadful!
irishfan86
03/03/2009, 9:35 PM
I've seen him a good few times for Celtic and from what I can see his all round play is dreadful!
To be honest I don't think we need a talented footballer for that role.
We just need a big, strong, brute to get in there and bully the opposing defenders, and give us an aerial threat.
The fact that he has pace and is a decent finisher means he's a step up on Murphy for me.
Torn-Ado
03/03/2009, 10:18 PM
To be honest I don't think we need a talented footballer for that role.
We just need a big, strong, brute to get in there and bully the opposing defenders, and give us an aerial threat.
The fact that he has pace and is a decent finisher means he's a step up on Murphy for me.
He's as slow as a night in jail and has the first touch of a rapist. He's not near international level yet. Any half decent centre half could easily contain him.
03/03/2009, 10:41 PM
He's as slow as a night in jail
No he's not.
The Fly
03/03/2009, 10:44 PM
he has the first touch of a rapist.
Bit of plagiarism there T-A ;)
04/03/2009, 1:56 AM
If being big has such merit for an International call up ahead of other attributes, then why not simply buy a pair of "elevator boots" for Doyle.
How about Patriot-2009- sporty casual (http://www.ekmpowershop5.com/ekmps/shops/shoelift1/patriot-2009-sporty-casual--26-inches66-cm-height-increase-12-p.asp)?
for a 2.6 inches/6.6 cm Height Increase at only USD 99.
http://www.ekmpowershop5.com/ekmps/shops/shoelift1/images/patriot.gif
I really do love those "enlarge" links which show you a picture exactly the same size, they don't fool me ;)
I'm thinking of opening up a kebab van selling kebabs - small, medium, and large - all the same size of course,
just small, medium and large prices :D
(most ISP's do a similar thing with their speeds).
04/03/2009, 3:24 PM
Poor first touch alright, certainly if his showing in Copenhagen is anything to go by, but the first time I saw him live I was surprised that he had some pace about him.
What game was it he scored twice for Celtic - was it Kilmarnock at home? For one goal he whacked a rebound from the keeper into the roof of the net. If you see the goal again you'll see that he actually got there very quickly ahead of the defender. No slouch in that position.
I think Strachan or the reserve coach was quoted as saying he had good pace. Will try & dig it up.
04/03/2009, 3:29 PM
Here it is, Scott McDonald commenting:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/2008/11/10/scott-mcdonald-cillian-sheridan-can-be-a-celtic-star-86908-20883732/
"He has terrific pace and is one of the fittest guys I know and once he tidies up a few things in his game then he'll have everything. He's tall, can run and finish so he's a manager's dream and much better than a small, stumpy wee guy.
seanfhear
04/03/2009, 5:35 PM
Here it is, Scott McDonald commenting:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/2008/11/10/scott-mcdonald-cillian-sheridan-can-be-a-celtic-star-86908-20883732/
"He has terrific pace and is one of the fittest guys I know and once he tidies up a few things in his game then he'll have everything. He's tall, can run and finish so he's a manager's dream and much better than a small, stumpy wee guy.
A good big un is better that a good little un anyday
Manc Irish Wolf
04/03/2009, 10:52 PM
Read in the Record at the weekend that Sheridan was likened to Chris Sutton (although that was by Chris's brother John). McGhee was talking highly of him also saying that he learns very quickly.
Can't believe that he is getting questioned over his pace & touch already. He's only a Kid. His touch and all round game will come. As for pace - don't recall Niall Quinn or Teddy Sheringham being Linford Christie - anyway, who gives a monkeys how fast you are when you are 6ft 4 and built like a brick s**thouse?
Junior
05/03/2009, 8:39 AM
Built like a brick s***thouse, he is not! Im sure he'll improve his strength but fighting his way out of a wet paper bag at this stage would be difficult enough for him!
Scored a decent winner for Motherwell at the weekend. Good to see he is getting a run of games under his belt. International Football is something he is nowhere near ready for and a distraction he doesnt need in this stage of his development.
Docboy
05/03/2009, 2:15 PM
The problem in the modern era with so much football on tv is that players are given no time to develop before being written off. It's the lads first year, he has a couple of Champions League appearances to his name and he's bagged a few in SP. I'd say give him a few years to develop before giving him a label.
dr_peepee
06/03/2009, 8:34 AM
Is he really that far off though?? Folan is hardly pulling up trees in his career, but got in cos he offered something different to what we have in say Keogh, Hunt or Long..
30/03/2009, 10:30 AM
Anyone saying Sheridan is slow should have seen the U21 game on Friday evening. He looked really quick down the left side at times and both commentators on TV made a point of highlighting his pace.
Hopefully that'll put the record straight on that issue.
30/03/2009, 12:32 PM
Outstripped the full back to set up Judge for the second goal
Junior
30/03/2009, 12:36 PM
Agreed he definitely looked quicker out on the flank, than I thought when Ive seen him at Celtic. Still showing the shortcomings in terms of first touch, short passing and strength.....but it could come......
31/03/2009, 5:54 PM
He slaughtered the Spaniard for pace to win the free kick that led to the first goal on the right wing. He certainly didn't look favourite to win the ball.
He could try to hold the ball up a bit more on occasion as he likes to just play the pass back straight away when he receives it to feet and misplaces plenty.
zackmorris
17/05/2009, 10:19 PM
http://www.sundaymail.co.uk/sport-news/scottish-football/spl/motherwell-fc/2009/05/17/mark-mcghee-i-want-to-keep-celtic-starlet-cillian-sheridan-at-fir-park-for-another-season-78057-21366212/
rebelmusic
16/09/2010, 9:11 PM
Watched him tonight. Looked like the only striker who was up for it for CSKA. Had 2 chances that he really should have done better with. Always making runs though and always calling for the pass. Got himself into positions a few times that if his colleagues hadn't been selfish he would have had good chances. Sadly, CSKA conceded in the 89th minute, which was lousy on their keeper who had an outstanding performance.
To sum up, he looked lively, should have scored but i'm more confident about him he keeps improving on tonight's game.
25/09/2010, 7:51 PM
Scored both in a 2-0 against Montana this evening. Just finished
25/09/2010, 9:12 PM
I love putting foreign articles through Google Translate
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sport1.bg%2Fsport1%2Fnode%2F188 654
CSKA continued faltering appearances this season, but this time is good, though tortured, the three points against Montana in a match played at the national stadium "Vasil Levski". Goals for Success with 2:0 realized Cillian Sheridan during the second half.
The hosts had more opportunities, but Platini fired from a small corner out in the second minute, but more disappointing new addition Cillian Sheridan to score rather than a meter of empty door 10 minutes later, cleared the ball came to him after the shock of Todor Yanchev.
By the end of halftime nyamashte pure goal position, Sheridan has repeatedly led fans to wonder why they had waited all summer as a messiah.
Holiday Goeree Jovanovski made two changes, playing the game Delev and Nelson's place on the grill and Galchev. This animated game of "Reds" in the 59th minute reservation Nelson found Sheridan in the penalty area but the Irishman and amazed himself, squeeze the ball into the net for 1:0.
In 77 minutes the hosts were able to reach the second goal, but after stirring in the penalty area cleared by Trifonov golliniyata after header of Platini. Only a minute later Vidanov shoot head in transom.
In the 80th minute Antonov for almost equalized but M'Boli stretched most striking and cellars, and in the 85th minute Sheridan hit the second beam for CSKA with a shot from the edge of the box.
In the 88 th minute Miro Ivanov also had a chance to equalize, but again M'Boli was fantastic and took the ball from his door assembly.
At the last minute of the given 4-minute period Sheridan is out of Trifonov and shoot under plonzha Ivanov final 2:0.
Thus CSKA ahead of his rival in the ranking and came out of eighth place in the standings with 11 points and Montana fell to 10th with 8. Sounds like he missed an open goal (or "empty door" as another article put it) in the first half and hit the post from the edge of the box in the second in between his two goals, but the bolded part is what I'm interested in.
edit: from the second article:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Ffootball.sportal.bg%2Fnews.php%3Fne ws%3D261179
Finally CSKA still managed to reach the second goal, but the author has again become Cillian Sheridan. Irishman hint why the Reds paid almost one million leva to Celtic for him - ran with the ball in the leg 40 m overcoming defender of guests and no problem with the technique with his left foot shot past the goalie formed around 2:0 for CSKA.
One million leva!
shaneker
25/09/2010, 9:23 PM
Two goals, excellent stuff. Hope he keeps it up!
AlaskaFox
26/09/2010, 9:17 AM
GreenScene put up an English article (no empty doors there) with highlights of the match:
http://greenscene.me/2010/09/cillian-sheridan-scores-twice-as-cska-sofia-win-2-0/
Great to see him scoring, looks like his and McGeady's moves to Eastern Europe are working out.
Razors left peg
26/09/2010, 9:40 AM
I honestly didnt think the 2nd goal was a goal he was capable of, fair play he seems to be doing well there
26/09/2010, 1:57 PM
nice finish for the second goal alright
26/09/2010, 4:56 PM
Two very different goals and both excellent.
First one I'd say was just as good as the 2nd, even if it was helped on it's way by a deflection.
26/09/2010, 5:09 PM
I think he was squaring the ball for the first, but he took the pass & turned really well. Good forward play.
kev mcq
26/09/2010, 6:22 PM
Two very different goals and both excellent.
First one I'd say was just as good as the 2nd, even if it was helped on it's way by a deflection.
Eh...the first one wasn't even a shot, it was a pass, o.g if anything. Good second though.
Irish_Praha
26/09/2010, 7:41 PM
Nice second goal alright; shows that he good on the ground and not just there to use his height to score from headers.
What's the story with his finger between his nose and lip after scoring? Does he wish he had a mustash or does he just like the smell of his finger?
Sullivinho
26/09/2010, 8:42 PM
That fella he bypassed for the second wouldn't give me the greatest confidence in the standard of defending over there.
Great to see that he's finding his feet though. And using the newly discovered limbs to score neat goals like that. :ball:
26/09/2010, 10:23 PM
I think he was squaring the ball for the first, but he took the pass & turned really well. Good forward play.
Exactly, it was quality play, his turn into that space after taking the pass, meant he held most of the aces when he went to square the ball.
The goal is credited to him, isn't it?
AlaskaFox
24/10/2010, 9:54 PM
Came on as a sub yesterday. CSKA won 4-2, not sure if he was involved in any of the goals though.
theworm2345
02/12/2010, 8:18 PM
Scored today against Besiktas in the Europa League.
TrapAPony
02/12/2010, 8:31 PM
Scored today against Besiktas in the Europa League.
Ya, his goal is here :
http://rutube.ru/tracks/3835859.html?v=530321845bc44d32b0cf65003032e87a&autoStart=true&bmstart=0
03/12/2010, 1:53 PM
That was a good old fashioned, classic centre forward's goal.
AlaskaFox
11/12/2010, 6:05 PM
Scored in the cup today according to Greenscene:
http://greenscene.me/2010/12/irish-goalscorers-11-december-2010/
11/12/2010, 6:11 PM
goal is online here: http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/malesh-mikrevo-cska-sofia-7826230/
Lenny82
12/12/2010, 1:21 PM
How many is that now for the season so far? 4?
12/12/2010, 1:35 PM
How many is that now for the season so far? 4?
six, and 3 in his last 4 games - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=46153
Jacky08
10/06/2011, 8:13 AM
Any updates about Cillian - think I Read somewhere he was linked to a move in the MLS?? anyone any info
AlaskaFox
10/06/2011, 8:33 AM
Here perchance?
http://greenscene.me/2011/06/cillian-sheridan-on-trial-with-seattle-sounders/
There's a photo of him in action and some Top Trump "stats" about his performance here:
http://www.sounderatheart.com/2011/6/8/2213357/trialists-cillian-sheridan-myron-samuel-seattle-sounders-reserve-league
Quotes from the technical director here:
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/soundersfcblog/2015262849_sounders_fc_quote_sheet_chris.html
RiffRaff
10/06/2011, 5:21 PM
Surely that would be a terrible move for him
AlaskaFox
10/06/2011, 10:11 PM
It'd only be a loan move, so surely something that gets him starts, goals, and confidence would be a good move.
10/06/2011, 10:22 PM
I thought MLS teams didn't allow loans, unless it was with a view to a permanent move?
There was something about it when Terry Dixon was linked with a loan to Colorado when he was still at West Ham
irishfan86
13/06/2011, 9:40 AM
Well, was just down in Seattle covering the Whitecaps match against the Sounders. They've got a great stadium (Qwest Field), and sell over 35,000 tickets each game. It's a hell of an atmosphere and the standard of play is continuing to improve here.
Seattle play good passing football, so it may not be the worst thing for him. I find it interesting that a move to CSKA Sofia is greeted with open arms while a potential move to MLS is derided.
History might be with Bulgaria but MLS is now attracting some quality players while developing some strong North American talent as well.
mark12345
13/06/2011, 11:12 AM
I find it interesting that a move to CSKA Sofia is greeted with open arms while a potential move to MLS is derided.
History might be with Bulgaria but MLS is now attracting some quality players while developing some strong North American talent as well.
Agree completely. MLS is above Championship level in my book. Different sort of dynamic with a lot of Central and South American players, but players in America are more technical than their Irish counterparts. Also, the way it is shaping up the next gold mine for the FAI is in the States - there are thousands of prospects in the US with Irish heritage.
DannyInvincible
13/06/2011, 6:10 PM
Agree completely. MLS is above Championship level in my book. Different sort of dynamic with a lot of Central and South American players, but players in America are more technical than their Irish counterparts. Also, the way it is shaping up the next gold mine for the FAI is in the States - there are thousands of prospects in the US with Irish heritage.
Why any more so now rather than previously exactly? 80s migration or something? Whilst the development of such an option would appear to bode well, it's important that the FAI has a development plan in place whereby we can stop piggy-backing off the work of mainly English clubs - and maybe MLS clubs in the future - whereby we're picking up their scraps.