View Full Version : Mayo Football- 2006

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

Ballina Town
09/11/2006, 3:30 PM
What is that clown Pixiehead on about.Take your head from your hoop good man.

pixiehead
10/11/2006, 1:42 PM
Maybe but will dykes be there for the long haul? is Limerick not after him?

There is not a shread of evidence that limerick are looking for him. In fact it looks quite certain that the club will fold once the new Irish premiership is introduced.... Rumours!!!!

pixiehead
10/11/2006, 1:48 PM
What is that clown Pixiehead on about.Take your head from your hoop good man.

Sorry mister sensible! Did i say somthing to offend you?? I thought this was a forum not a classroom:D Ya im a clown alright. Im pennywise from the film "IT" You wanna balloon ! Dont ya Georgey!!!!!!!!!! Im hiding in you closet!!! Sleep tight!:p

swinfordfc
10/11/2006, 3:13 PM
There is not a shread of evidence that limerick are looking for him. In fact it looks quite certain that the club will fold once the new Irish premiership is introduced.... Rumours!!!!

Put it another way - do ye want him in charge next year? i think declan kilkenny doing great job with under 17 & 18, could he take his place? Celtic under dykes - i cant see them wining the FAI Cup or Connacht Cup

mamoore
11/11/2006, 7:47 PM
hello swift,was informed by pixiehead that my name is being thrown around the forum,so decided to log on.Im still using the bulltoe - old(bad) habits die hard!!

mamoore
11/11/2006, 8:04 PM
Being a while since i've been on this forum,but toffee and pixiehead were tellin me about the **** going up on the site. and i have to say that majority of peole know what they are talking about on the site and i hope the topics are kept to the daytoday news in mayo soccer..but this is my last visit on the forum for 2006,and i just hope clowns like*********and ******** don't **** the forum up totally because they are making a good job of it.oh yes *****or will i use your real name) - - is as it says -you seem to have a problem with me and anyone who might have a good word to say about me.so when you see me again,explain your problem to me small man.
Best of luck to all the lads at the boro on sunday -hope ye stay up.

11/11/2006, 8:22 PM
Being a while since i've been on this forum,but toffee and pixiehead were tellin me about the **** going up on the site. and i have to say that majority of peole know what they are talking about on the site and i hope the topics are kept to the daytoday news in mayo soccer..but this is my last visit on the forum for 2006,and i just hope clowns like*********and ******** don't **** the forum up totally because they are making a good job of it.oh yes *****or will i use your real name) - - is as it says -you seem to have a problem with me and anyone who might have a good word to say about me.so when you see me again,explain your problem to me small man.
Best of luck to all the lads at the boro on sunday -hope ye stay up.

If thats the way you are going to post I'd prefer if it was another while til we hear from you.

renovater
12/11/2006, 6:43 PM
No I am not concerned that my own club has been overlooked as I am not that shallow. What I am concerned with is the advancement of Mayo football and the acknowledgement by the powers that be that the lower leagues have a part to play. If you had read my post properly I never advocated playing raw talent I said to bring them in to learn and I also stated that there is some talent that is ready now. Maybe there wern't enough spelling mistakes in my post and you couldn't read it! Competitions are about winning but the Mayo county team is also about bringing on young talent ready to take their part as well.
If you were a manager would you pick the best players available to you.
the poblem is Mick doesn't have that time to explor the talent you talk about he only got weeks to get a team together if he loses 2 out of three games its all over.
However I do take your point but thats down the road, one will have to see if Mick last long enough to look deeper in to lower div.

renovater
12/11/2006, 6:51 PM
Hard to know??? Mad mick Done wonders at snugboro. Hes got a good head on him and that shows in that he has got brought 2 clubs up a division. However if Ballyheane want to keep him then i suggest they reward him if you catch my drift!!! ;)

some of the credit must does to Nial Donelly WHO DOES MOST OF THE TRAINNING.
however regards to the buisness will or not Mick stays at Ballyheane will leave that to Ballyheane Do you catch my drift!!!

The Don
13/11/2006, 8:10 AM
Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.

Well Manulla hang your heads in shame. You decided to throw the game yesterday, whats more ye spent the last week telling people ye were going to do it. Will anything be done about it, doubt it. Will any mayo league offical condone it, doubt it. Cant wait to play ye next season. Have to say felt so sorry for S & F they played their hearts out and did not deserve to be relegated. Special mention for yesterdays ref. This is not a classroom you cant tell players to shut up just because you feel like it, I have to say I have never seen a more ignorant official. You know talking to players works sometimes as well!. And you know the players might even know what some of your bizarre dicisions are about then.

theboy
13/11/2006, 4:28 PM
yes i agree, manulla handing the game to snugb- doesnt say alot about the manulla set up, no team no matter what league or type of game should roll over. didnt want to s&f goin down as they have some good players, hopefully they wont lose many more players so they can bounce back.

Thunderblaster
13/11/2006, 5:31 PM
Some of the Westport United supporters on hearing the Manulla result fell big time into the trap of complacency. They are actually over-fancying our chances on hearsay.

Thunderblaster
13/11/2006, 5:55 PM
Had a quirky dream over the weekend my friends. It was of Tom Kelly of the MAFL in his Sunday best being a Eucharistic Minister giving Holy Communion at Mass!!:eek: :D

mossy
14/11/2006, 9:10 AM
I have intentionally left it a day to voice my views on a sad day for Mayo Football so as not to leave myself open to charges of over reaction.
But now I can say that the actions of Manulla FC was full of contempt for all the other clubs in the Super league.
The barest minimum anyone expects from a club is to try and win the game they are playing, This is sacrosant in every sport and to see it violated in this manner is sick to the core.
Anyone old enough to remember accusations of this skullduggery happening before when they played Ballyglass about Ten Years ago ??? The precedent was set then so.
The saddest aspect of this event is the Ostrich like reaction of Leading Mayo
Football figures - What we didn't see didn't happen right !!!
Also I was surprised by the reaction of the most able one of them on Sunday when he feigned utter astonishment at the claim.
As the old Idiom goes 'Evil triumphs when good men do nothing'

gazza2
14/11/2006, 10:34 AM
According to todays Star newspaper Westport's Brendan O'Connor is a contender for the Irish Juniors National managers job

swift
14/11/2006, 5:05 PM
I was just wondering if there are any more Celtic lads out there because I heard there were a few retirements after the games on Sunday?

Mad Moose
15/11/2006, 12:15 PM
I haven't really posted on here in a while. Certainly not since the Play-Off v Ballyheane B. Fair play to them and I wish them all the best for next season. Just having trawled through some of that I obviously haven't missed that much. I'm surprised even some of the opinion's put forward were actually allowed. It goes against everything that is foot.ie. Although I see mamoore was however put in his place. I wonder have the number of members dropped dramatcally on this forum. I imagine they have.

On the Manulla situation it doesn't really surprise me.This is the same club that dropped us into the relegation play-off with their massive last 15 mins capitulation to Mulranny Utd to lose 6-2.It was 2-2 with a quarter to go.The game meant nothing to them, they were up as champions so why not give the game to Mulranny to move them above us.Its just a thought but funny they should do the same to our near neighbours Straide and Foxford Utd.

Will anything become of them, not at all.Just what is it with the game in this country. Durkan will do his bit and dampen it down. I hope Gannon picked up this and has the balls to expose the game for what it is here. Its rotten to the core.The FAI are a farce, a multi series comedy show, the Eircom League follow suit and then we have the MAFL. This isn't the only example but its small wonder the game is dying on its feet and were it not for the efforts of clubs at all levels we would be waking the game now.

theboy
15/11/2006, 4:02 PM
I was just wondering if there are any more Celtic lads out there because I heard there were a few retirements after the games on Sunday?

why who is goin now? dont worry im sure they'll fill the gaps that players leave from lads of other clubs in mayo, or further a field.

FahyForever
16/11/2006, 9:08 AM
Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)
Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)
Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)
Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)
Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)
Declan Flynn (Snugboro)
Peter Burke (Ballyheane)
Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)
Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)
Tommy Walsh (Manulla)
Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)
James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)
Mark McGreal (Manulla)
Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)
David Roughneen (Snugboro)
Johan Collins (Snugboro)
Philip Devers (Ballina Town)
Malachy Byrne (Manulla)
Gordon Carter (Swinford)
Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)
Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)
Tom Molloy (Mulranny)
Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)
Derek Glynn (Claremorris)
Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)
Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)
Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)

I think that Mick Wallace has taken his first steps into managing the Oscar Traynor team by picking his inaugural squad and in doing so lost credibility already. I understand Swift's point about the need to explore the possibilities in the lower leagues, but when you consider the fact that this squad has only one more Castlebar Celtic player than it does Mulranny players, you realise it's neither coincidental nor sensible. There are only three players from the Premier Divison on the squad, so why he chooses two players from Mulranny, who finished fourth from bottom of the First Division, as the only representatives from that league, is a bit of an anomaly.

Until you remember that he played in goal for them a few seasons ago.

Charlie O Donnell is a skillful midfielder with a great touch but has been winding down this past few seasons. He left Glenhest to take his football nice and handy for Mulranny and it would really surprise me if he has any notion of playing football at such a competitive level again. Tom Molloy is an average striker in the first division and failed to get into the top FIFTEEN scorers when they played in the premier division last season.
Wallace's last club, Westport United, have five representatives in the squad, which is easier to justify. However, Seamus Higgins has played most of this season as a B team player and seems unlikely to break into their first team, let alone the county team. Last week against Castlebar Celtic he only made the bench, despite them being without Lovejoy (Who is a huge loss to the Oscar Traynor team) and Joe Lawless in defence. (Joe was playing in midfield). Instead the manager choose to play himself, wisely as it turned out as he scored twice. I dont think he's a bad player, just that there are other centre-halves of a higher calibre currently playing in the league. Erris United must be wondering how they managed to come second in the super league without a single player that's up to Mulranny standard.
Glad to see Derek Glynn getting a chance from the start of the season this year, hopefully his pace and finishing will see him making the most of his call up.

Every club member is biased to their own club to a certain extent and I have no problem in saying that I find it amazing that a couple of our lads were not given the opportunity from the first squad. We had a poor season but Darren Creaby, who played for the under 21's this year, and in particular Joe Keane, who has been outstanding throughout, deserve a chance. It's not as if Mick is not aware of them, he's picked the ball out of his net on account of them enough of times.

So who deserves a chance in your opinion? Who has been overlooked? Does anyone defend Wallace's choice throughout? I am not trying to hang him before the first ball is kicked, but I think some of his choices were dubious enough.

irishyop
16/11/2006, 10:34 AM
FahyRovers, it again highlights the under hand crap that is flowing through Mayo League football at the moment, its almost a bit like Bertie giving "jobs for the boys".
The Mulranny boys IF they are good enough deserve their chance, every probably feels that their club deserves a player in the squad, how he managed to jump down 3 divisions for players he used to play with smells alright but give them their chance.
Yes maybe the Celtic lads who won the Super League deserve more on the team but then again maybe they don't.

Time will tell, Wallace will look the fool if it all back fires

swift
16/11/2006, 3:37 PM
No one will ever be happy with the Oscar Traynor set up! I personally thinks Mayos partcipation in this competition will stop soon enough. I mean in the paper a few weeks ago Tom Kelly said that " a Mayo team in the series was in doubt" up until Mick Wallace was announced as manager. It sort of beggars belief that a man with no managieral experience can get the "best job" in the county. Now fair enough he can turn around and prove us all wrong but after his first big call he names Johan Collins as team captain I'm not too sure. Johan Collins would not get on any Super League team and of that I'm sure. Wallace seems to be picking players who he played with and I'm very suprised he did not pick Kieran Murphy and Declan Conway while he was at it.:confused:

Proud cove
16/11/2006, 3:42 PM
He should be given an opportunity to prove himself. Any criticism of his appointment should not be aimed at him, rather it should be in the direction of the people responsible for the appointment and the criterion used to make it. But I think he should be given a chance.

swift
16/11/2006, 3:46 PM
He should be given an opportunity to prove himself. Any criticism of his appointment should not be aimed at him, rather it should be in the direction of the people responsible for the appointment and the criterion used to make it. But I think he should be given a chance.

If he was that good how come ye didnt give him a chance

Proud cove
16/11/2006, 5:35 PM
to 'ye'. I have no idea as I am not involved in any shape or form with the club, other than going to games as a fan. From what I know, he was signed as a player when a manager was already in place so there wasn't a vacancy.

renovater
16/11/2006, 7:32 PM
Well finally the Super League season has finally come to a close, but after 18 rounds of what was one can only describe as one to remember for all the wrong reasons.
I can’t say I have ever witness in which any club would go out and not play in the spirit of the game knowing the out come of that match would eliminate one or other opponents to the premier division. It was the case that Straide & Foxford had to be the fall guys in a game that they should have at leased being given another chance to redeem themselves... It is the manner in which I find unsporting and should not be tolerated by any League .Or allow such club or clubs to behave in such Manner. Manulla having received such allocates the week before by winning such has they did a week earlier or even better still defeated there opponents Snugboro in two rounds earlier with the greatest of ease.
However for Snugboro on there part share no blame as they went out to get the result that keeps them in the Super league.
One does wonder had Manulla been on 19pts would it have been a different match, I guess will never know…

renovater
16/11/2006, 8:07 PM
No one will ever be happy with the Oscar Traynor set up! I personally thinks Mayos partcipation in this competition will stop soon enough. I mean in the paper a few weeks ago Tom Kelly said that " a Mayo team in the series was in doubt" up until Mick Wallace was announced as manager. It sort of beggars belief that a man with no managieral experience can get the "best job" in the county. Now fair enough he can turn around and prove us all wrong but after his first big call he names Johan Collins as team captain I'm not too sure. Johan Collins would not get on any Super League team and of that I'm sure. Wallace seems to be picking players who he played with and I'm very suprised he did not pick Kieran Murphy and Declan Conway while he was at it.:confused:
ALOT of what you said is right untill you came to the Captain.
I think Peter Burke would be the best man for the Job. I just think he Mick lacks managieral Experience.
good luck to him I hope his Trainning sessions have better turn out in order to help him prepare for Friday.

Thunderblaster
16/11/2006, 9:56 PM
According to todays Star newspaper Westport's Brendan O'Connor is a contender for the Irish Juniors National managers job

There is an old cliche; a newspaper never refuses ink!!;) That is more media speculation rather than fact.

short_frank
17/11/2006, 12:56 AM
Yes I hope it turns out to be a success but I do believe that their are mistakes in the squad. While I applaud Mick for having the courage to pick from the lower leagues and I agree that Charlie O'Donnell is a fine player how come their weren't any places for the lads from Bangor or Inver. I have seen all the 1st division teams this season and O'Donnell stood out as Mulranny's best player but he was their only player of note while Bangor and Inver had some fine individuals that would grace the county set up. This is again the major problem that the county team set up has. The manager should be appointed in time to gather together players to play challenge matches in the county or North v South, East V West Mayo (that type of scenario). Then he could see the best players in the county. He is picking on reputation and personal knowledge alone rather than ability.

The same situation has arrived with the under 18 team. A trial was announced with players named. There was no contact with clubs to send on their best under 18's. I also think that the trial was just for show because the final squad announced is a joke.

How can we be expected to build for the future when the basic foundation is wrong.:mad:

irishyop
17/11/2006, 1:02 PM
I have to agree about the Inver lads, they had some very handy young players who may have been good to run at defences.

As regards Mr Wallace and lack of "managerial experience", 2 words, Steve Staunton!! ;)

Best of luck to the lads tonite, might try and get to home matches for a gander

swinfordfc
20/11/2006, 7:18 AM
Now lads,

Well done to the Mayo team who, did i hear correctly won 5-0 away to Roscommon, also well done to Mick Wallace and the whole team. not bad for a team who according to some of ye, haven't a hope :cool:

swinfordfc
20/11/2006, 7:19 AM
Also congrats to the ladies, they playing UCD in the final now, hope they can finish the job off now

irishyop
20/11/2006, 8:46 AM
Aye well done, as I said have to give them a chance, and they proved us wrong in this one!!!

Full report

http://www.mayo.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=779

FahyForever
20/11/2006, 1:41 PM
Fair play to Mayo for their win over a Roscommon team that dont sound up to much. The comments regarding people writing off the team before they started were a bit off the point though, nobody involved in the mayo game wants to see them lose, they just questioned some off the selections. Johann Collins was one of the lads I was dubious about but apparently he played well and nobody can question his committment. The Galway league will prove sterner opposition and will give a much more insightful look into the state of our Oscar Traynor team.

The players coming back will cause a nice headache for Wallace; does he stick with the men who did well against Roscommon or will he bring in some fresh blood?
Dessie O Malley will surely figure and presumably Andy Neary but it's tough to drop men after a five nil win.
I hope they do well and would love to be proved wrong about Mick Wallace's selections. I hope he will continue to look at teams around the county and seek to improve the squad he already has. Fair play to him although, he has delivered the goods on his first test anyway.

swinfordfc
20/11/2006, 3:06 PM
Fair play to Mayo for their win over a Roscommon team that dont sound up to much. The comments regarding people writing off the team before they started were a bit off the point though, nobody involved in the mayo game wants to see them lose, they just questioned some off the selections. Johann Collins was one of the lads I was dubious about but apparently he played well and nobody can question his committment. The Galway league will prove sterner opposition and will give a much more insightful look into the state of our Oscar Traynor team.

The players coming back will cause a nice headache for Wallace; does he stick with the men who did well against Roscommon or will he bring in some fresh blood?
Dessie O Malley will surely figure and presumably Andy Neary but it's tough to drop men after a five nil win.
I hope they do well and would love to be proved wrong about Mick Wallace's selections. I hope he will continue to look at teams around the county and seek to improve the squad he already has. Fair play to him although, he has delivered the goods on his first test anyway.

Tell me this - if J Collins is good enough for Castlebar Celtic - then isn't he good enough for Mayo surely? :eek:

pixiehead
20/11/2006, 3:09 PM
You heard it here first!!!! Yohan Collins has been asked by Dykes to sign for Celtic and has agreed. He will been on board for the connaught cup!!! And that concludes the Pixie News. P.S Hello to my 2 friends in GMIT Castlebar............ you know who you are.............;)

irishyop
20/11/2006, 4:01 PM
You heard it here first!!!! Yohan Collins has been asked by Dykes to sign for Celtic and has agreed. He will been on board for the connaught cup!!! And that concludes the Pixie News. P.S Hello to my 2 friends in GMIT Castlebar............ you know who you are.............;)

Shot me in the head if that is true!!! I thought he was a 100% Boro player!! :confused:

theboy
20/11/2006, 4:25 PM
Have we not learn from the movin of some players last year that these days there is not such thing as a 100% committed player to any team. im afraid thats how things are gone. it shows a great example for the youth coming through the ranks.

irishyop
20/11/2006, 4:35 PM
I suppose though this has gone on for years in the leagues in the UK and there is no such thing as a player staying with a club for life.

Thunderblaster
20/11/2006, 7:49 PM
What was the thoughts on the dinner dance on Saturday night? Lovely food? Great band? Deserving award recipients? Give us your views!!

renovater
20/11/2006, 9:05 PM
Shot me in the head if that is true!!! I thought he was a 100% Boro player!! :confused:
I was told that the Gray One and two of his cronies met up with Mr Collins last Thursday in the Royal Hotel Castlebar,:mad: to join up with Celtic be apart of the U-21 BACK ROOM STAFF.
COURSE SNUGBORO may have something to add like inducement.
:mad:

renovater
20/11/2006, 9:09 PM
What was the thoughts on the dinner dance on Saturday night? Lovely food? Great band? Deserving award recipients? Give us your views!!
Now I know you may not go out that offen, lets not go there

swift
21/11/2006, 12:07 AM
Now lads,

Well done to the Mayo team who, did i hear correctly won 5-0 away to Roscommon, also well done to Mick Wallace and the whole team. not bad for a team who according to some of ye, haven't a hope :cool:

Who said that on this forum? Open your eyes and read the posts!!!

swift
21/11/2006, 12:08 AM
I was told that the Gray One and two of his cronies met up with Mr Collins last Thursday in the Royal Hotel Castlebar,:mad: to join up with Celtic be apart of the U-21 BACK ROOM STAFF.
COURSE SNUGBORO may have something to add like inducement.
:mad:

I'll believe it when I see it.

The Don
21/11/2006, 8:00 AM

What about Declan Flynn?. I thought he was also signing for Celtic. Mayo League better get those signing on books out early this year!

pixiehead
21/11/2006, 7:56 PM
What about Declan Flynn?. I thought he was also signing for Celtic. Mayo League better get those signing on books out early this year!

Flynn is going too. There is huge unrest in the Boro camp at the mo. Uve probably all heard why :rolleyes:

OscarBravo
23/11/2006, 2:24 PM
Flynn is going too. There is huge unrest in the Boro camp at the mo. Uve probably all heard why

I haven't, what's gone wrong there?

theboy
23/11/2006, 3:26 PM
looks like the same thing is happening to snugb- as what happened to S&F, main players leavin isnt good for the team or club. they'll struggle next season and probably go down.
what is it goin to make of the mayo super league all the main players from each club playin with celtic.
maybe teams are as well off out of the super league and let celtic just have it. if u ask me celtic have fXXKED up mayo football.

juan pablo
23/11/2006, 4:03 PM
Couple of Big Games in the Premier Division this weekend, the Big Relegation Match between Swinford & Ballinrobe Town, Killala Vs Claremorris, Predictions????
Personally think Ballinrobe are in trouble, alot of expectations at the beginning of the year but things have moved backwards for them, who's to blame?? players or management... or both??

Think if Killala can keep Glynn quiet they might just cause an upset in there home territory.

pixiehead
24/11/2006, 11:28 AM
I haven't, what's gone wrong there?

To ba honest i dont want to be bad mouthing any club but if you ask some of them ull find out!!!!!!!!!;)

Superman
27/11/2006, 3:55 PM
looks like the same thing is happening to snugb- as what happened to S&F, main players leavin isnt good for the team or club. they'll struggle next season and probably go down.
what is it goin to make of the mayo super league all the main players from each club playin with celtic.
maybe teams are as well off out of the super league and let celtic just have it. if u ask me celtic have fXXKED up mayo football.

In all fairness, I don't think any of these signings are going to allow Celtic to canter to the any title. They have much better players at the club already.

All it will do is make sure Snugboro are in trouble next year, most likely will go down.