View Full Version : Mayo Football- 2006

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

Mad Moose
27/04/2006, 8:37 AM
Of course I'd like to wish Gavin Dykes and Castlebar Celtic all the very best. Two seasons running for Mayo clubs would be something to be very very proud of.

I've no doubt there will be a great buzz around town over this game.

Brendan

swinfordfc
27/04/2006, 12:53 PM
Castlebar Celtic U.18s are playing Sligo Rovers in the Connacht Cup on Saturday, so the forumites must wish the two Castlebar teams the best of luck. Also good luck to Kiltimagh/Knock United in the SFAI Goodson Cup.

Yes also in Mayo U 18 League Quarter Final Erris playing Ballyglass on Saturday at 2pm.

On Tuesday next. Castlebar Celtic U18 playing Swinford in the Mayo Under 18 Cup semi final. (Quigley Cup)

Good luck to celtic on saturday and sunday and to k+k united u14 boys on saturday.

Mad Moose
27/04/2006, 1:19 PM
On Tuesday next. Castlebar Celtic U18 playing Swinford in the Mayo Under 18 Cup semi final. (Quigley Cup)

Good luck to celtic on saturday and sunday and to k+k united u14 boys on saturday.

Best of luck to Swinford against Castlebar Celtic in the Semi's of the Quigley cup.Keep us posted on the outcome of that.

Anyone got the entire 1st Round of the AIB Cup results for a bit of debate.

Brendan

27/04/2006, 1:37 PM
Brendan for a guy that doesn't care about Harps you never shut up about us.

Finn Park's facilities are poor but have improved over the last 12 months even though we intend to move to the best football stadium in the country within the next 12-18 months.

Harps have always mixed the best local talent available with outsiders. The club have allocated money from this years budget to set up a youth academy to supplement the U21 set-up that has won its league 3 years in a row and has 10 points from 12 this season.

Finn Harps are a club based in a largely rural area that has dragged itself from the verge of extinction, through the efforts of the supporters who love the club, to a day where we can see the club being debt free and having a superb ground. We're not doing well at the moment but that happens to every club at one time or another.

Any eL aspirant in Mayo could take plenty of positives from our example, as well as learning from some of our mistakes.

Mad Moose
27/04/2006, 5:04 PM
Aidan I think you'll find this thread concerns Mayo football and my mention of Finn Harps above, warts, boils, acne and all was in linking the possibility of a club in Mayo aspiring to the Eircom League. This is not the place for your very colourful depictions of life around Finn Park. I do note and accept however your mention of the clubs 'mistakes'. Their not hard to find. I have mentioned how Finn Harps have got around many aspects of their UEFA Licence so the prospect here is not as daunting as it might appear.

As for Harps my concerns of the last few seasons has been with underage soccer and I mentioned the fact on your own forum of kids been turned away from Finn Park. Their are lessons in that, not that Finn Harps have learned all that much. I was a regular at Finn park but such disregard for people was a little too much. This is now reflected in the financial, attendance and league position of the club. Again for an aspiring Eircom League of Ireland club plenty their to mull over on how not to do things.

Brendan

gnasher
27/04/2006, 5:08 PM
Good to see the town of Castlebar gearing up for the match on Sunday they are now beginning to put out the green white flags of Celtic, lets hope the old guard could put there indifferants aside and make it a big day out just like a county final day.
Iwas surprize to see the F.AI. put up the entry fee from €5 to €10 on the day
lets hope children and OAP ARE LET IN FREE.
Milebush should look at its best, and lets feel anthenry are warmly welcome to Castlebar.

I thought it was 15 euro! Not bad at a tenner but I've spent my 15 going to the NFL semi-final, so its MWR for me. Are you commentating reno? (or do you speak as bad as you spell!)

And Gnasher signs off happy, ta ra forum!

Mad Moose
27/04/2006, 5:15 PM
Weather is promised good for the weekend. The joys of summer soccer!!!!

Brendan

27/04/2006, 5:19 PM
I think you'll find that my post was every bit as relevant as your little rant. If you can't admit there's anything good about our club then there's no hope for you.

Incidentally Harps have no tie-up with the Finn Valley Ladies (but then facts don't seem to mean much to you) and meet licenscing requirements (in most cases exceeding them) on every issue but facilities- and we're building a new stadium to address that. Your comments relating to licenscing are therefore sadly fundamentally wrong.

Thunderblaster
27/04/2006, 11:34 PM
Weather is promised good for the weekend.

Rain on Sunday.:( :eek: :mad:

renovater
30/04/2006, 2:06 PM
if Castlebar Celtic decides toplay in the League of Ireland they could use Milebush park as there ground,

pixiehead
30/04/2006, 6:09 PM
if Castlebar Celtic decides toplay in the League of Ireland they could use Milebush park as there ground,

I Think theyll be revewing that after todays defeat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

sinabhuil
01/05/2006, 7:32 PM
Does anyone know is the Galway League in close season yet?

gazza2
02/05/2006, 8:28 AM
The galway league's last game will be on May 11th and its between Galway Hibs and Corrib Rangers for the title

Athenryboy
02/05/2006, 8:54 AM
I have to say the Condition of Milebush park is a credit to the Groundskeepers up there in Castlebar, it is in fantastic condition.

Thanks to Castlebar for their Hospitality & good luck in the Connaught Cup.

swinfordfc
03/05/2006, 12:44 PM
Under 18 cup semi final,
Castlebar Celtic 3 Swinford 1
from what i seen, our lads never play first half, 2 mistakes 2 down. play well for 30 mins of second half got 1, should had pen for obious hand ball! but celtic got 3rd with 4 mins left.

juan pablo
03/05/2006, 6:01 PM
back to the football lade please, come on, this isnt about history!!!

looks like the leagues are back to normal this coming weekend, thank god.

03/05/2006, 9:26 PM
Blue Bombers are now a separate thread for anybody who wants to continue.....

FahyForever
04/05/2006, 8:29 AM
What a boost to Mayo football to have Castlebar Celtic entertain shamrock Rovers in the Senior cup at Milebush!! They will have to change so Celtic can wear their green and white hoops! Should be a real occasion in Milebush, and a good advertisement for the club and the county.

Mad Moose
04/05/2006, 8:52 AM
Definetely. Full house and all that and a fitting tribute to their excellent season. Dykes will know a bit about them. Rovers are having a good season in the First Division of the Eircom League and look like they may make a swift return to the Eircom League Premier Division. Under Pat Scully they have a sharp, shrewd and talented manager who seems to have turned them around albeit in a lower division. The Ultras for Castlebar.

Brendan

hamish
04/05/2006, 5:23 PM
Would Castlebar's own ground not be up to standard for an FAI Cup game? Thought they had a good set up there??:confused:

swinfordfc
05/05/2006, 8:13 AM
Would Castlebar's own ground not be up to standard for an FAI Cup game? Thought they had a good set up there??:confused:

no it will be play at milebrush park. celtic park is fine but not idea for a big crowd, milebrush more suited

Mad Moose
05/05/2006, 8:40 AM
Should be a great occasion and as I said before a fitting tribute to Castlebar Celtic's season. How we envy them.Celtic Park would be fine but for Castlebar Celtic to maximise the benefit of the tie Milebush is the best option. Incidently while I was talking about the Mayo League and a move to Eircom League of Ireland status I mentioned the increase in negative press associated with this profile and this is linked to increased support and increased loutish and anti-social behaviour as demonstrated in the following link http://www.donegaldemocrat.com/story/6558. This isn't unusual at League of Ireland level and not the first time such incident happened at this particular ground, its great to be able to see games where such behaviour is not part of the game. Lets hope it'll be a great occasion for Castlebar Celtic.

Brendan

renovater
05/05/2006, 9:31 PM
good luck to Celtic against Shamrock RVS this is a good test to see how far Celtic have come or also it will show how far they may need to go.
One way or another its a test as to what there next level is.
It should be a good money spinner, for all those invovled and highlight development of the game in Mayo at large.:ball:

rasper
06/05/2006, 9:03 PM
hi swinford fc what happened with all your girls teams and no senior womens team this year in swinford?

swinfordfc
08/05/2006, 7:13 AM
hi swinford fc what happened with all your girls teams and no senior womens team this year in swinford?

to be honest i dont know whats the story here but i would guess they no one about to coach the ladies which is a shame to be honest. but thats a guess

rasper
08/05/2006, 11:18 AM
seems the same in a lot of clubs time is a big thing thanks any way s.f.c

FahyForever
08/05/2006, 2:12 PM
Elverys Sports Super League Round 5
Ballina Town 3-2 Erris Utd 12.00
Crossmolina 3-1 Ballyheane 12.00
Manulla 3-3 Straide FoxU 11.30
Westport Utd 5-0 Snugboro Utd 12.00

Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Div Round 5
Claremorris 3-1 Ballinrobe Tn 2.30
Conn Rangers 1-1 Glenhest Rvs 2.30
Killala 0-3 Fahy Rovers 2.30
Swinford 2-2 Westport Utd B 11am

Great result for Crossmolina...what went wrong Don? In the premier, Claremorris are now top, after beating Ballinrobe on Sunday, Castlebar B have two games in hand although.

juan pablo
08/05/2006, 5:31 PM
Lets get Back to talking football!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks must go out to the don for updating the league table,

to be honest, i cant believe how quite the forum has been over the last few weeks, maybe due to the short 2 week break there is not much to talk about, the tables in the super and premier are showing interesting positions, claremorris off to a decent start in premier, i see cross celtic almost snatched a draw, good to see them holding their own at the moment.

Castlebar seem to be in every cup at the moment, fair play, Big match on the horizon against Shamrock R soon., tis great to see a mayo team welcoming an Eircom League Team,

08/05/2006, 9:52 PM
Come on lads, lets get back to the soccer talk,slags, digs or whatever takes your fancy,!

Since when does slagging,digs and "whatever takes your fancy" = good football talk?.It only ends up with threads getting locked and people getting bans from the site.There are plenty of Posters on this forum who are positively contributing to it without resorting to needless stuff.

renovater
08/05/2006, 10:03 PM
Since when does slagging,digs and "whatever takes your fancy" = good football talk?.It only ends up with threads getting locked and people getting bans from the site.There are plenty of Posters on this forum who are positively contributing to it without resorting to needless stuff.
Must fully agree
there is no need for neg thoughts however I dont have any problem with my old friend Manfred.
We just had differant oppions of which I respect.

juan pablo
08/05/2006, 11:55 PM
think you need to relax 12th man, have any of my posts ever been a dig at anyone.....NO, chill out a small bit,
i do understand what your saying but i didnt mean it with the intent of causing trouble.

good win for the port yday renovator, how does the team feel taking a back seat this year with castlebar going well in the cups??

mossy
09/05/2006, 10:42 AM
I see that the Manulla Management have resigned citing player abuse and indisciple as their reason. Now this will bring on Two things - 1. Mossy back = bad news for the JP wing of the club and 2. More journeys for the Muinteoir to Ref them constantly ( Cause they really need him now ). How much would it cost the club just to buy him a house there. surely long term savings. I remember not so long ago that the flavour of the month was Mick Walsh, not that I noticed any bias on his part mind, but nonetheless he was out there at pratically every match. No doubt the Muinteoir will fall from grace too and then they could use it for their next favourable 12th Man.
Was at Crossmolina on Sunday and they deserved their victory. Congrats Lads

sinabhuil
09/05/2006, 5:27 PM
Lets get Back to talking football!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks must go out to the don for updating the league table,

to be honest, i cant believe how quite the forum has been over the last few weeks, maybe due to the short 2 week break there is not much to talk about, the tables in the super and premier are showing interesting positions, claremorris off to a decent start in premier, i see cross celtic almost snatched a draw, good to see them holding their own at the moment.

Castlebar seem to be in every cup at the moment, fair play, Big match on the horizon against Shamrock R soon., tis great to see a mayo team welcoming an Eircom League Team,

Thanks Juan Pablo. Whats happening in Ballinrobe. Some poor results, especially from the B team who have some pretty decent players. Losing the 3 Neale lads - Casey, Forde and Ryan seems to have been a big problem!

juan pablo
09/05/2006, 5:53 PM
the B team are finding it hard to score the goals, while the scoreline will tell a different story, the back 4 for robe are all good players, there creating good chances but failing to convert them, trainings are going well, the numbers are high every week, it is also worth mentioning that alot of the young lads in collage are in in the middle of exams, so were missing for both A and B teams at the weekend but we are looking forward to the summer when everyone will be training and trying to help bring both teams higher up in the table, i still strongly feel that the best is yet to come from the A team, Conor Maloney is almost back to his best while the likes of Shane Ryan, Declan & Enda Reilly,Damian Walsh just to name a few are also very important players. Will just have to wait and see.
who scored for ye on sunday??
how is alan G playing for ye??

sinabhuil
09/05/2006, 5:59 PM
the B team are finding it hard to score the goals, while the scoreline will tell a different story, the back 4 for robe are all good players, there creating good chances but failing to convert them, trainings are going well, the numbers are high every week, it is also worth mentioning that alot of the young lads in collage are in in the middle of exams, so were missing for both A and B teams at the weekend but we are looking forward to the summer when everyone will be training and trying to help bring both teams higher up in the table, i still strongly feel that the best is yet to come from the A team, Conor Maloney is almost back to his best while the likes of Shane Ryan, Declan & Enda Reilly,Damian Walsh just to name a few are also very important players. Will just have to wait and see.
who scored for ye on sunday??
how is alan G playing for ye??
Scorers. Maye (Pete), John Hughes (penalty) and Rob Holian. Alan G working at weekends.

swift
10/05/2006, 2:22 AM
I hear that Celtic have signed Andy Neary from S+F and P Fitzpatrick from Manulla. Anyone hear this??

swinfordfc
10/05/2006, 12:13 PM
I hear that Celtic have signed Andy Neary from S+F and P Fitzpatrick from Manulla. Anyone hear this??

And G Gaughan i heard too :eek:

Ron Bergundy
10/05/2006, 2:18 PM
ya heard they have signed Neary from S+F alrite,chasing him for ages,does dat mean dykesy goin hanging the boots up and surrender his centreback spot to neary?

gnasher
10/05/2006, 5:02 PM
Call it what you like lads but if thats true some very important questions are being raised:
1- Where is the heart and soul of football in this county going to end up if Celtic keep gobbling up players from all teams?
2- What are they going to do with that squad - demote all the local lads?
3- Are players in the 'not-so-fashionable' areas of the league just dying to jump ship?

I've never heard the likes of it. Madness

Mad Moose
10/05/2006, 5:23 PM
Applause Gnasher. Applause. I'm delighted for Castlebar Celtic and their achievements but your point is valid.Has the bar ever been raised as high before. Straide and Foxford are close to us at the Bombers and its a good club with a good spirit but it cannot compete nor can many clubs with C'bar Celtic's ambition.What happens to these clubs. I feel an awful lot has to do with Dykes personal ambitions to finally succeed at management after his failed attents particularly at Finn Harps and Derry City. That may or may not be true and you cant fault a club for its ambition but if its going to hurt every other club along the way then we have problems.

Brendan

swift
10/05/2006, 5:53 PM
ya heard they have signed Neary from S+F alrite,chasing him for ages,does dat mean dykesy goin hanging the boots up and surrender his centreback spot to neary?

No I wouldnt think so but I think that would leave Fintan Mchale in a dangerous position

swift
10/05/2006, 5:56 PM
Also heard that Westport signed Brendan O'Connor from Corrib Rangers to manage them. Watch out Celtic, Covie goin' ta get ya

Local scout
11/05/2006, 7:32 AM
Also heard that Westport signed Brendan O'Connor from Corrib Rangers to manage them. Watch out Celtic, Covie goin' ta get ya

At €450 aweek plus expences, i dont know has this been finalised yet.

renovater
11/05/2006, 9:23 PM
think you need to relax 12th man, have any of my posts ever been a dig at anyone.....NO, chill out a small bit,
i do understand what your saying but i didnt mean it with the intent of causing trouble.

good win for the port yday renovator, how does the team feel taking a back seat this year with castlebar going well in the cups??
explain what you mean so I may respond :confused:

renovater
11/05/2006, 9:30 PM
I see that the Manulla Management have resigned citing player abuse and indisciple as their reason. Now this will bring on Two things - 1. Mossy back = bad news for the JP wing of the club and 2. More journeys for the Muinteoir to Ref them constantly ( Cause they really need him now ). How much would it cost the club just to buy him a house there. surely long term savings. I remember not so long ago that the flavour of the month was Mick Walsh, not that I noticed any bias on his part mind, but nonetheless he was out there at pratically every match. No doubt the Muinteoir will fall from grace too and then they could use it for their next favourable 12th Man.
Was at Crossmolina on Sunday and they deserved their victory. Congrats Lads
Can say I did predict that Manulla would strugle at the basement without mossy and without doubt has come home to roused.
The JP. WING WOULD SERVE BETTER IF HE STUCK WHAT HE WAS BEST AT.
ADMIN. :( THE REF THING IS ALWAYS BEING A PROBLEM BUT EMBARRISING TO MANULLA ONLY FOUR JP IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN.

renovater
11/05/2006, 9:37 PM
I believe on the advice of Mossy Neary went to Celtic and fitzy would only stay at Manulla if Mossy was there.
Regards to Dykesy steping down the answer is no.
He want Neary to play in mid field and he going to make him Captain.
I think McHale will be on his way out.or will be thrown to the dogs of football,
the B team.

renovater
11/05/2006, 9:42 PM
At €450 aweek plus expences, i dont know has this been finalised yet.
ITS €400 AFTER TAX HASTINGS COMPANY VAN plus the moble phone
and dont forget the bonus if he wins cups
By the way he doesn't have a level ONE badge to manage a super league club
just wonder what the Mayo League will think?

renovater
11/05/2006, 10:05 PM
Call it what you like lads but if thats true some very important questions are being raised:
1- Where is the heart and soul of football in this county going to end up if Celtic keep gobbling up players from all teams?
2- What are they going to do with that squad - demote all the local lads?
3- Are players in the 'not-so-fashionable' areas of the league just dying to jump ship?

I've never heard the likes of it. Madness
For once I agree with you. the M.A.F. L.HAVE FAIL TO APPLY THERE OWN RULES BUT I DONT EXPECT THEM TO INVESTAGTE THE PLAYERS THAT MAY HAVE BEEN INDUCED BECAUSE THE M.L. IS FOR TURNING JUST LOOK HOW IT WAS INVOLVED IN KELLY GATE.
HOW COULD ONE HAVE TRUST IN EL DUCE AND CO.

Local scout
12/05/2006, 7:33 AM
ITS €400 AFTER TAX HASTINGS COMPANY VAN plus the moble phone
and dont forget the bonus if he wins cups
By the way he doesn't have a level ONE badge to manage a super league club
just wonder what the Mayo League will think?

Whatever money it is they are paying him, i bet westport dont have those resources, can anyone confirm this?

r.rover
12/05/2006, 9:36 AM
Whatever money it is they are paying him, i bet westport dont have those resources, can anyone confirm this?
they actually do have the resources, but app hes just on a 3month trial