View Full Version : Mayo Football- 2006

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14

theboy
31/10/2006, 3:35 PM
so now there is a manager, who should be included in the squad?

swinfordfc
31/10/2006, 4:04 PM
so now there is a manager, who should be included in the squad?

From what i hear, Castlebar Celtic not allowing none of they players forward to the team so thats a bad start to be honest although is that a good thing? :eek:

theboy
31/10/2006, 4:17 PM
From what i hear, Castlebar Celtic not allowing none of they players forward to the team so thats a bad start to be honest although is that a good thing? :eek:

Any reason why there not letting there players go for it? hopefully the team will not be just westport and celtic players(if they go).

Ron Bergundy
31/10/2006, 5:18 PM
How did Bally H get on today? Young N Donnelly turn the clock back?? !! :p
Ballinrobe deserve to be down a few levels until they learn how to actually play soccer, Mr Dee won't be too happy if they get relegated.

how do you mean ballinrobe deserve to go down a few levels???they've lacked consistency this season alright,this is mainly due to injuries suffered and a constant change in the team sheet week in week out!they're far better than division 1, a couple of very talented players at the club,just a matter of if they can keep them!!!

juan pablo
31/10/2006, 5:22 PM
talking out of your hole ron, robe deserve to go down,

short_frank
01/11/2006, 1:30 AM
The one thing you can be sure of is that it will be Celtic and Westport dominated (if Celtic allow their players) with a few other super league players thrown in. The biggest problem Mayo football has is that anyone in power over county teams cannot see past the super league. They don't seem to understand that Mayo football is parochial and that the best players are not nessecerily (spelling apology) in the biggest clubs. I have seen outstanding individuals throughout the leagues from division 2 up and if they were given a chance to shine they would. The most obvious example is the under 21 debacle. If the county team cannot field a full squad because players are not available why didn't they cast the net wider. I know of at least 8 under 21's who would not disgrace the Mayo team but unfortunatly they play for unfashionable teams. I was at the division 2 and 1 cup finals and didn't see any Mayo team managers at either. If they won't attend even these occasions then how can we expect them to see players in the lower leagues.
On another sadder note it is unfortunate to see the position Ballinrobe find themselves in. I always thought they made a mistake appointing their manager. He talks a good talk but............

irishyop
01/11/2006, 8:26 AM
how do you mean ballinrobe deserve to go down a few levels???they've lacked consistency this season alright,this is mainly due to injuries suffered and a constant change in the team sheet week in week out!they're far better than division 1, a couple of very talented players at the club,just a matter of if they can keep them!!!

Ron, they don;'t play football and don't deserve to be in a divison with teams who do. Hooking a ball over the top and fighting for it with the hope it breaks your way cannot be deemed to be football.
Yes I agree they do a couple of good players who would be doing themselves no harm in moving club to fufil their potential.
Robe will get stuck in Div 1 and their "burst" mentality to football might not get them out of it for a good while.

sinabhuil
01/11/2006, 9:20 AM
As regards the U21 set up what is the procedure as regards how the teams are picked. Are clubs asked to put players forward? We weren't. We have two players who might have played.They would need some coaching but surely thats what the league should be doing. Maybe they are at a earlier age?
As regards Ballinrobe I hope they stay up. It is a good club with good people running it. It has had success at underage level and has produced some very good players - O'Malley, Kelly, Murphy (x2), Burke, Maloney, etc.. As with a lot of clubs (definitely ours!!) it appears that a lack of qualified coaching at underage level is showing in the brand of football they play. No point in trying to coach players in their 20s they need to have been caught at an earlier age.

mossy
01/11/2006, 9:35 AM
Congrats to the Boro I must admit that I thought that ye were gonners but well done ye stuck at it.
So it is down to S&F or the Heane, How the Heane are here after drawing twice with Celtic, Beating and drawing with the Port is beyond me. But make no doubt about it the table does not lie. They have a few players that are absolutely dreadfull, wouldn't control a ball in a month of Sundays with attitudes to boot. They need to avoid defeat at home to S&F to stay up and while drawing is their penchant they might find a rejunenated S&F too much too carry. What a Match to look forward too with all Celtic/Manulla/Port/MAFL hoping to see the back of the Heane !!!!!

swinfordfc
01/11/2006, 12:44 PM
Congrats to the Boro I must admit that I thought that ye were gonners but well done ye stuck at it.
So it is down to S&F or the Heane, How the Heane are here after drawing twice with Celtic, Beating and drawing with the Port is beyond me. But make no doubt about it the table does not lie. They have a few players that are absolutely dreadfull, wouldn't control a ball in a month of Sundays with attitudes to boot. They need to avoid defeat at home to S&F to stay up and while drawing is their penchant they might find a rejunenated S&F too much too carry. What a Match to look forward too with all Celtic/Manulla/Port/MAFL hoping to see the back of the Heane !!!!!

What are you on about Boro are far from safe and actually can see Ballyglass beating them on sunday week to sent them down!!!!

pixiehead
01/11/2006, 2:03 PM
What are you on about Boro are far from safe and actually can see Ballyglass beating them on sunday week to sent them down!!!!

Get your facts right bumface . No boro are not safe but have played Ballyglass twice so its Manulla they play last. I predicted S and f to go at the start of the season and i still think they will. Although if Boro go they mite be better off to shake off a few older players and start a fresh with the younger lads who are not been givin a chance. The same thing happened in Ballyglass and they fell last Sunday. Theres no room in the Super league for players over 32. Ballyglass could have avoided the drop had the Manager not played his "drinking buddies". I see it myself on Sunday. They were appaulling!!! :mad:

swinfordfc
01/11/2006, 3:14 PM
Get your facts right bumface . No boro are not safe but have played Ballyglass twice so its Manulla they play last. I predicted S and f to go at the start of the season and i still think they will. Although if Boro go they mite be better off to shake off a few older players and start a fresh with the younger lads who are not been givin a chance. The same thing happened in Ballyglass and they fell last Sunday. Theres no room in the Super league for players over 32. Ballyglass could have avoided the drop had the Manager not played his "drinking buddies". I see it myself on Sunday. They were appaulling!!! :mad:

oophs i am wrong in that boro are playing manulla but still stand by that i think they will go down. how are Castlebar doing with all the extra players from other clubs at youth level? can they join erris and westport in only teams from mayo to win fai cups? oh thats must haunt them that erris and westport have done it but celtic haven't ;)

swinfordfc
01/11/2006, 3:15 PM

And looking forward to playing Ballyglass in league next year, always handy 6 points for us :D

renovater
01/11/2006, 6:33 PM
Any reason why there not letting there players go for it? hopefully the team will not be just westport and celtic players(if they go).
So what's new on that front, they have continued all year refusing to allow there players to be selected.
Has the Mayo League gone soft when it was Westport they were remaned to explain and threaten to be removed.
What happened to Rule 35 when players dont make them selfs available.
If Castlebar Celtic or any other club don't make there players available when called up for the coming fixures in the Oscar Traynor, then I trust the League will throw the book at them or even still suppend there players from playing in other competitions or throw there club out of the league.
We wait and see?:mad:

renovater
01/11/2006, 6:38 PM
The one thing you can be sure of is that it will be Celtic and Westport dominated (if Celtic allow their players) with a few other super league players thrown in. The biggest problem Mayo football has is that anyone in power over county teams cannot see past the super league. They don't seem to understand that Mayo football is parochial and that the best players are not nessecerily (spelling apology) in the biggest clubs. I have seen outstanding individuals throughout the leagues from division 2 up and if they were given a chance to shine they would. The most obvious example is the under 21 debacle. If the county team cannot field a full squad because players are not available why didn't they cast the net wider. I know of at least 8 under 21's who would not disgrace the Mayo team but unfortunatly they play for unfashionable teams. I was at the division 2 and 1 cup finals and didn't see any Mayo team managers at either. If they won't attend even these occasions then how can we expect them to see players in the lower leagues.
On another sadder note it is unfortunate to see the position Ballinrobe find themselves in. I always thought they made a mistake appointing their manager. He talks a good talk but............

Its hard for any manager to select from the lower leagues when there players are not playing at the highest level. Bare in mind the playing for your county is the next level. so when you come from the lower levels you have alot of ground to make up. that includes the pace of the game never mind the skill

short_frank
02/11/2006, 12:25 AM
Its hard for any manager to select from the lower leagues when there players are not playing at the highest level. Bare in mind the playing for your county is the next level. so when you come from the lower levels you have alot of ground to make up. that includes the pace of the game never mind the skill

For a man who likes to seem to be an expert on all things football you don't seem to understand that this is where being called into these squads will benefit these players. The step up in coaching, playing with players of a higher class. If these county managers cannot see a player with undouted raw skill that can be worked on then they shouldn't be in the job. This is after all a county team not a super league team. How many players have you seen being picked up by the bigger clubs from lower leagues and stepping straight in without looking out of place. We need to be developing players not just plodding along with the same players, because, there are some rough diamonds and some players who are as good a finished article as you would see in the super league.
I am sorry if I am ranting a bit but this has always been an sore spot of mine because I remember many years ago when I was involved with a club that was unfashionable at the time but we had a very successful under 16 team. We had no players picked for the Mayo under 16's and when we asked why we were told that none of our players were good enough for the county team (this was a team that had won the league and cup double two years running) and one of these players went on to play for Ireland underage (but not good enough for Mayo).:mad:

sinabhuil
02/11/2006, 9:51 AM
Too right. For eaxample Ballinrobe players can make the leap from Div 1/premier league players straight into Super league teams - O'Malley, Kelly, Maloney, Burke, Alan Murphy, the other Murphy. Did these lads play for Mayo at underage level? There are many good players esp younger players in the lower leagues. These need an opportunity to be properly coached.
Renovater you accuse Celtic of elitism and here you are at it yourself. Buy a mirror.
As regards the super league each of the teams are there on merit having invested in pitches, coaching, training, etc.. Well done. Fair play. However the league, who overall are better than most leagues, need to spend more time in encouraging and in providing coaching for lower league teams. You need to train the trainers! This to be done in conjunction with the clubs. It is extremely hard for the likes of Mulranny, Glenhest, etc. to be able to get enough ex players, etc to take the coaching courses. Some help at a local level is needed. For example a course in Ballinrobe could involve B'Robe, Cross, Partry and Claremorris.
YNWA

irishyop
02/11/2006, 10:34 AM
Sinabhuil I agree totally with what you are saying, I have watched a couple of Div 2 games this season and last.
In particular 2 clubs jumped out who had massive potential but due to the lack of good coaching will prob not get to Premier or Super league. The first club would be Inver who I played against 2 or 3 years ago and really had a good brand of football, they have progressed well and could get further but without a good coaching system their young team will struggle to reach a high enough technical level to get there.

Another club, Clew Bay United, again played against them 3 years ago when they started out and we very very raw, and again this year and their improvement was immense, did not get promoted but I put this down to a GAA manager looking after them, if they had a right coach and trainer could progress no end.

A rep from each club should be invited to a coaching scheme, maybe this happens already??, but if it does not I could see this help them a lot

pixiehead
02/11/2006, 1:09 PM
I agree totally. Its as simple as this........ why have the mayo squads never done any good???? Because they limit their disposal. Fair enough the superleague is the best Quaility league but that dosent mean that all the best players are there. What we are forgetting here is that this is not the premiership . Its not full of quaility players bought for and paid big money.The super league contains the teams in mayo whos squads have a "Majority of good players" while the lower league clubs may only have a few good players. However they are still good players. Any how the mayo team is clearly picked by local newspapers!!! Lets hope Mick wallace has a bit more cop on ! WE ARE AN AMATURE LEAGUE AND LETS REMEMBER THAT:mad:

mossy
03/11/2006, 9:24 AM

My point about the Boro is true. THEY ARE SAFE NOW
Reason: They play Manulla and you better believe it when I tell you that this game will be thrown to high water and back for the manderins in Manulla would like nothing better to see their nemises - The Heane gone. Remember the Heane have lost to them only once on the last 19 occasions !!!!!!
As for the Heane would they rather get relegated than have their fiercest rivals rescue them.....
Could you imagine listening to chants in years to come of 'Only for us you'd be s??t', It would be reminiscent of English lager louts singing at their French hosts 'If it wasn't for us English you'd be Krauts'.........
For the Heane I would presume that falling on one's own sword would be less painfull.........

pixiehead
05/11/2006, 11:58 AM
Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)

Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)

Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)

Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)

Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)

Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)

James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)

David Roughneen (Snugboro)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Philip Devers (Ballina Town)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)

Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)

Derek Glynn (Claremorris)

Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)

Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)

Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
This is the panel called up to the Mayo squad. Hats off to Wallace. There are some great Call ups here. I wont agree with all of them as im sure alot of you wont but i think all round its a good side. Happy to see..... Dave Roughneen, Derek Glynn, James Gilleispie and deffo Niall Gallagher!!! A victory for Common sence. What do yee think???:cool:

pixiehead
05/11/2006, 12:01 PM
Reason: They play Manulla and you better believe it when I tell you that this game will be thrown to high water and back for the manderins in Manulla would like nothing better to see their nemises - The Heane gone. Remember the Heane have lost to them only once on the last 19 occasions !!!!!!
As for the Heane would they rather get relegated than have their fiercest rivals rescue them.....
Could you imagine listening to chants in years to come of 'Only for us you'd be s??t', It would be reminiscent of English lager louts singing at their French hosts 'If it wasn't for us English you'd be Krauts'.........
For the Heane I would presume that falling on one's own sword would be less painfull.........

I didnt realise they hated each that much.Eleborate please :confused: :confused:

The Don
06/11/2006, 8:18 AM

Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.

irishyop
06/11/2006, 9:33 AM
I played my last season with glenisland,i won't even talk about our season!!,have a few mates on town team and if they get a right manager - i hope to sign with them. Your right about moore,i heard that himself and the manager had a head to head about a knee injury he is carrying all season and that he was told to come back next season when it recovers because it will cripple him if he kept playing on with it.so who do you fancy to win the bbb's and heane game?
i'll go for a heane win on penalty shootout!!!!!!!!

Strange that but you stated earlier you played for Charlestown? How is that figure?
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475818&postcount=103
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=488627&postcount=173
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=489977&postcount=184

Out of interest, your user name, is hardly Mark ga Moore???? :confused: Since you mention him in every post you make?? Go on tell us?:D

OscarBravo
06/11/2006, 10:06 AM
Good spot Irish Yop. I had noticed that too. Seems to say how good the Castlebar Town 'keeper is in every post.

irishyop
06/11/2006, 10:34 AM

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

This is the panel called up to the Mayo squad. Hats off to Wallace. There are some great Call ups here. I wont agree with all of them as im sure alot of you wont but i think all round its a good side. Happy to see..... Dave Roughneen, Derek Glynn, James Gilleispie and deffo Niall Gallagher!!! A victory for Common sence. What do yee think???:cool:

Delighted to see Dave Roughneed, Glynn and Niall "Shay Given" Gallagher. Not sure about Gillespie, will his verbal abuse of players and "kick the sh1T" out of the young lads tactics get him onto the team? At least he has been recognised for getting Glenhest their title.
Glynn is a serious talent and deserves his chance, if Claremorris don't make it up this season he will move I expect.

pixiehead
06/11/2006, 12:17 PM
Strange that but you stated earlier you played for Charlestown? How is that figure?
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475818&postcount=103
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=488627&postcount=173
http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=489977&postcount=184

Out of interest, your user name, is hardly Mark ga Moore???? :confused: Since you mention him in every post you make?? Go on tell us?:D

Good work Sherlock Hee Hee:D

mgam1
06/11/2006, 4:59 PM
firstly,i'm not moore.
but i don't play for any soccer club(yet!).
most of us have covered our identities on this website-and are entitled to do so.
i have got the impression on this forum that if your not a player or manager within the league -then your opionion doesn't count.I'm a GAA man myself and ex celtic player.i've gone to alot of celtic and town games this season,so i'm in a position to give my opinions - for example i think the main reason celtic b have done so well the last few seasons is because of ****** obrien and castlebar town have transformed this year after only bringing in 4 players,one of which is moore -and they never had permanent keeper and he has made a difference - he is not super league standard -but can hold his own in the lower league. -as im given up on GAA-because the club is a shambles.and i hope to sign with town or celtic b next season, i'm waiting to see who is going to manage either teams.do you know who is in line to take celtic b team for next season?i heard flynn has left the town and that mad mick might take it over -is that a good thing i wonder?!? anyhow on a different note i see the mayo panel picked by m.wallace,bit surprised by collins inclusion.suppose he will add a bit of steal to the side.

mgam1
06/11/2006, 5:05 PM
also great to see Derek Glynn on mayo squad,seen him play this year a nd he is real live wire up front,i dont think claremorris would be in premier league without him!i see in a previous chat-he is been chased by celtic - is their any truth in that?

renovater
06/11/2006, 9:34 PM
For a man who likes to seem to be an expert on all things football you don't seem to understand that this is where being called into these squads will benefit these players. The step up in coaching, playing with players of a higher class. If these county managers cannot see a player with undouted raw skill that can be worked on then they shouldn't be in the job. This is after all a county team not a super league team. How many players have you seen being picked up by the bigger clubs from lower leagues and stepping straight in without looking out of place. We need to be developing players not just plodding along with the same players, because, there are some rough diamonds and some players who are as good a finished article as you would see in the super league.
I am sorry if I am ranting a bit but this has always been an sore spot of mine because I remember many years ago when I was involved with a club that was unfashionable at the time but we had a very successful under 16 team. We had no players picked for the Mayo under 16's and when we asked why we were told that none of our players were good enough for the county team (this was a team that had won the league and cup double two years running) and one of these players went on to play for Ireland underage (but not good enough for Mayo).:mad:

you seem to be more concerned that your club has been over looked.
I will ask you one question when you as manager select players to play in a team would you go for raw talent as you put it.
knowing that the next results means that you are out of the competition or do you go for the tried and trusted to get you in to the next round.
knowing at the end of the day you will be judge on performance.
the problem is these competitions they dont alow you the scobe to try out young players against a team who will play the best players available to them .
this Oscar traynor is about winning, any manager who will select players from the lower leagues will be like lambs to the slaughter

renovater
06/11/2006, 9:57 PM
Too right. For eaxample Ballinrobe players can make the leap from Div 1/premier league players straight into Super league teams - O'Malley, Kelly, Maloney, Burke, Alan Murphy, the other Murphy. Did these lads play for Mayo at underage level? There are many good players esp younger players in the lower leagues. These need an opportunity to be properly coached.
Renovater you accuse Celtic of elitism and here you are at it yourself. Buy a mirror.
As regards the super league each of the teams are there on merit having invested in pitches, coaching, training, etc.. Well done. Fair play. However the league, who overall are better than most leagues, need to spend more time in encouraging and in providing coaching for lower league teams. You need to train the trainers! This to be done in conjunction with the clubs. It is extremely hard for the likes of Mulranny, Glenhest, etc. to be able to get enough ex players, etc to take the coaching courses. Some help at a local level is needed. For example a course in Ballinrobe could involve B'Robe, Cross, Partry and Claremorris.
YNWA

There are a number of questions you ask which in turn need to be answered
the players mention from ballinrobe did play for there county let it be at youth or junior some of them played at a higher level in the eircom league Alan Murphy was voted best young player of the year by the F.A.I. SOME achievement must add.

Castlebar Celtic are more than lightly have the best best players playing for them, and they all dont come from Caslebar.
And I don't need to look in to any mirror to relise that.

the league does encourage all clubs to take up places on coaching,Clubs are reminded all the time, by the league. I think your comment regards the league is on called for after appionting an R.d.o. for the county. as for under age there is accademys at every level for the players to brake into no club has ever been refused to push his players on if you think he or she can make the grade.
All clubs have problems in getting explayers to go on and take up coahing even in the Super league.
Why are there so many managers from our top clubs not from this county or gone to other clubs.
Here one for you how many referees has our clubs put forward in the last two years. has your club put forward some one to take up the man in black?

renovater
06/11/2006, 10:04 PM
Sinabhuil I agree totally with what you are saying, I have watched a couple of Div 2 games this season and last.
In particular 2 clubs jumped out who had massive potential but due to the lack of good coaching will prob not get to Premier or Super league. The first club would be Inver who I played against 2 or 3 years ago and really had a good brand of football, they have progressed well and could get further but without a good coaching system their young team will struggle to reach a high enough technical level to get there.

Another club, Clew Bay United, again played against them 3 years ago when they started out and we very very raw, and again this year and their improvement was immense, did not get promoted but I put this down to a GAA manager looking after them, if they had a right coach and trainer could progress no end.

A rep from each club should be invited to a coaching scheme, maybe this happens already??, but if it does not I could see this help them a lot

Look wre have you been all club get the oppitunity to do coaching the next time ring John Durkan he is the secretary of Mayo FOOTBALL he will tell you the next coaching course. did your club raise these questions at the last club meeting with the league. I dont think so.

renovater
06/11/2006, 10:12 PM

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

To be fair to mick he has picked up a pision chalace, not everyone cup of tea.
The players he has picked would be the ones he feels will turn up for trainning rather than just turn up on the day.
good luck to him its a lonely road if things don't go well , the long knifes will sharpen if things dont go his way.

renovater
06/11/2006, 10:20 PM
Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.
Well don, have to say I agree with mossy the would dance on Ballyheane grave.
You will be able to judge them on the team they sent out. but don't hold ya breath on this one.
Ballyheane however dont need to worry what Manulla do, it is in there own hands and just go and get the right result.
at 4.30 next sunday we can all have some think to shout about

renovater
06/11/2006, 10:24 PM
firstly,i'm not moore.
most of us have covered our identities on this website-and are entitled to do so.
i have got the impression on this forum that if your not a player or manager within the league -then your opionion doesn't count.I'm a GAA man myself and ex celtic player.i've gone to alot of celtic and town games this season,so i'm in a position to give my opinions - for example i think the main reason celtic b have done so well the last few seasons is because of ****** obrien and castlebar town have transformed this year after only bringing in 4 players,one of which is moore -and they never had permanent keeper and he has made a difference - he is not super league standard -but can hold his own in the lower league. -as im given up on GAA-because the club is a shambles.and i hope to sign with town or celtic b next season, i'm waiting to see who is going to manage either teams.do you know who is in line to take celtic b team for next season?i heard flynn has left the town and that mad mick might take it over -is that a good thing i wonder?!? anyhow on a different note i see the mayo panel picked by m.wallace,bit surprised by collins inclusion.suppose he will add a bit of steal to the side.

I dont think mad mick will go to the town after promoting Ballyheane B into DIV. 1 WOULD YOU?

short_frank
07/11/2006, 12:15 AM
you seem to be more concerned that your club has been over looked.
I will ask you one question when you as manager select players to play in a team would you go for raw talent as you put it.
knowing that the next results means that you are out of the competition or do you go for the tried and trusted to get you in to the next round.
knowing at the end of the day you will be judge on performance.
the problem is these competitions they dont alow you the scobe to try out young players against a team who will play the best players available to them .
this Oscar traynor is about winning, any manager who will select players from the lower leagues will be like lambs to the slaughter

No I am not concerned that my own club has been overlooked as I am not that shallow. What I am concerned with is the advancement of Mayo football and the acknowledgement by the powers that be that the lower leagues have a part to play. If you had read my post properly I never advocated playing raw talent I said to bring them in to learn and I also stated that there is some talent that is ready now. Maybe there wern't enough spelling mistakes in my post and you couldn't read it! Competitions are about winning but the Mayo county team is also about bringing on young talent ready to take their part as well.

swift
07/11/2006, 12:21 AM
To be fair to mick he has picked up a pision chalace, not everyone cup of tea.
The players he has picked would be the ones he feels will turn up for trainning rather than just turn up on the day.
good luck to him its a lonely road if things don't go well , the long knifes will sharpen if things dont go his way.

Give this fella some spelling lessons

irishyop
07/11/2006, 8:31 AM
Look wre have you been all club get the oppitunity to do coaching the next time ring John Durkan he is the secretary of Mayo FOOTBALL he will tell you the next coaching course. did your club raise these questions at the last club meeting with the league. I dont think so.

I take your point on raising the issues, the problem is that the clew bay in particular are been managed by a donkey who doesn't think he needs coaching, shame really as I think they have a lot of potential.

I must do that on the coaching courses alright, can be no harm to do it.

Thanks

irishyop
07/11/2006, 8:32 AM
firstly,i'm not moore.

I would love to believe you but you contradict yourself in too many posts, stating you played against Castlebar twice for Charlestown, but yet when asked you played for Glenisland. You've you been rumbled, Gwan tell us, gwan gwan gwan

swift
08/11/2006, 12:08 AM
I would love to believe you but you contradict yourself in too many posts, stating you played against Castlebar twice for Charlestown, but yet when asked you played for Glenisland. You've you been rumbled, Gwan tell us, gwan gwan gwan

You're right Yop I was reading back over his posts and its pure and simple thats its Mark Moore. I mean one minute hes watching the Charlestown/Castlebar town game and the next hes playing in it singing the praises of the Town keeper. Are you still using the BULLTOES for the kickouts Mark? Oh thats gotta hurt :D

irishyop
08/11/2006, 8:51 AM
You're right Yop I was reading back over his posts and its pure and simple thats its Mark Moore. I mean one minute hes watching the Charlestown/Castlebar town game and the next hes playing in it singing the praises of the Town keeper. Are you still using the BULLTOES for the kickouts Mark? Oh thats gotta hurt :D

Then maybe he isn't, I see his idle is also on the board?? Especially when they have totally different usernames.

http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=500261&postcount=215

Sorry lads, I will cut this out, waaaaay off topic!!!! :ball:

leftwing
08/11/2006, 11:44 AM
I've been looking in on this forum for a while now, and even though I'm a GAA person firstly, I have taken a bit of interest in soccer in Mayo over the last few years, mostly through the success of Westport in the FAI cup and Celtic doing well enough this year. I was reading the Mayo News today and in their preview of the last day of the season and they were on about either Snugboro or Straide being involved in a playoff if they both draw, does goal difference not count in Mayo soccer as it does in alomst every other league, just found it a bit wierd if thats the way it goes

irishyop
08/11/2006, 11:57 AM
It seems it doesn't Leftwing alright. I think the same could happen in Premier div if the teams left chasing last promotion spot are level.
A bit of an odd one alright but I suppose if you are level on points it is rough to get relegated or not promoted just because you have a couple less than the other teams.
I suppose with the fact you have lads playing dual sports there are times in the season when a squad is short and you could ship a couple of goals, same applies at the beginning & end of season, when a "smaller" team starts the season they will have a good turnout and could hold a "bigger" team to a 1 or 2-0 defeat.
At the end of the season when the same team is buried in relegation they may only have 1/2 a squad and ship 10 to the other "big" team. So it means it could promote you because you played the team at the end of the season.
Does that make sense?

pixiehead
08/11/2006, 2:04 PM
I dont think mad mick will go to the town after promoting Ballyheane B into DIV. 1 WOULD YOU?

Hard to know??? Mad mick Done wonders at snugboro. Hes got a good head on him and that shows in that he has got brought 2 clubs up a division. However if Ballyheane want to keep him then i suggest they reward him if you catch my drift!!! ;)

pixiehead
08/11/2006, 2:18 PM
Is it just me or is that Divisional selection of 11 players from each of the leagues ( in connaught telegraph) the greatest pile of Barry white ive ever seen or heard in my life. They ask the clubs to pick it yet the mayo league then make the final desicion. What a load of crap. Who cares.....:mad: At the end of the day feck all of the players outside the super league know the names of the lads there playing against so haw the hell do they pick the teams. And then really and trully the Mayo League picks it at the end of the day. Politics man.... ****ing Politics!!!!! What a pile of annoying Garbage:mad:

leftwing
09/11/2006, 9:34 AM
So Mayo have pulled out of the Eircom league U21 this mornig, is this a good thing or a bad thing for football in the county. Is there any side that could step up to the plate in the county and enter their own team in the league or would the costs of running a side stop some one

swinfordfc
09/11/2006, 11:16 AM
So Mayo have pulled out of the Eircom league U21 this mornig, is this a good thing or a bad thing for football in the county. Is there any side that could step up to the plate in the county and enter their own team in the league or would the costs of running a side stop some one

This is all set up for Castlebar Celtic now to take they place with Declan Kilkenny leading his troops starting next year - why you think all the young talent in converging in Castlebar?

irishyop
09/11/2006, 11:45 AM
Is that what ye think is happening, would that not have an adverse effect on to the A team, Dykes like to have all the young talent available to him. (And I mean that statement in the best taste possibe) ;)

swinfordfc
09/11/2006, 12:41 PM
Is that what ye think is happening, would that not have an adverse effect on to the A team, Dykes like to have all the young talent available to him. (And I mean that statement in the best taste possibe) ;)

Maybe but will dykes be there for the long haul? is Limerick not after him?

irishyop
09/11/2006, 12:55 PM
True I did hear that alright, might have been here actually.
Time will tell. Sunday the season is over so interesting close season