View Full Version : Mayo Football- 2006

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14

pixiehead
13/12/2006, 9:05 PM
Am looking for the club colours of teams that have played Galway United at competitive level in the past.

What are the club colours of Straide and Foxford ?
Do Mayo and District League use green and red ?

All help appreciated, please pm me or post here.

Thanks,

PD.

Hello Ronan ;) Ya S and f are Black and orange and mayo league are red and green. Why... Whatya doin:rolleyes: From The Barmy Army in castlebar........................... Great to see we are going up but i cant help feel bad for Dundalk. Somehow i dont think theyll lie down and die:(

galactico
14/12/2006, 10:01 PM
Am looking for the club colours of teams that have played Galway United at competitive level in the past.

What are the club colours of Straide and Foxford ?
Do Mayo and District League use green and red ?

All help appreciated, please pm me or post here.

Thanks,

PD.mayo league colours are home green tops white shorts red or green socks.....
away white tops white shorts white socks:ball:

the grape vine
15/12/2006, 9:33 AM
i see paul jordan is the new manager of the Boro, what people think of it?

Closing Time
15/12/2006, 11:28 AM
Paul Jordan, a great signing for the Boro. He will need to bring in alot of new players (I wonder will any Mitchell's players come with him or can he tap any of the Celtic old guard, but the Boro have already been down that road.) to keep them up as their current crop are not good enough. The Boro should concentrate on their youth teams rather than trying to stay in the Super League. Padraic McHale will be a big loss to the club. He was a real committed clubman. Will Kieran Murphy stay with the club. He brough them along way. I know some players did'nt like him because they were not picked for the A team. Interesting times in Castlebar soccer circles.

the grape vine
15/12/2006, 1:03 PM
yes very interesting time's ahead for the boro,i agree that the current squad would probably not be good enough to stay up(no disrespect to any of the current player's). so who could he get or would he be interested in gettin??

pixiehead
15/12/2006, 3:28 PM
:cool:
Paul Jordan, a great signing for the Boro. He will need to bring in alot of new players (I wonder will any Mitchell's players come with him or can he tap any of the Celtic old guard, but the Boro have already been down that road.) to keep them up as their current crop are not good enough. The Boro should concentrate on their youth teams rather than trying to stay in the Super League. Padraic McHale will be a big loss to the club. He was a real committed clubman. Will Kieran Murphy stay with the club. He brough them along way. I know some players did'nt like him because they were not picked for the A team. Interesting times in Castlebar soccer circles.

Im afraid you only know the half of it lads. When two Mayo under 21s and a player of the year are left on the bench then you dont know the boro squad. Paul will have a look at what boro have first and im not sure he will have to bring in players as im sure guys will arrive themselfs when they see the fresh new set up. This is only rumour but i heard Kieran Murphy is gone to ballyheane as a player manager. All the best to Paul and co!!!!

swinfordfc
18/12/2006, 7:26 AM
So Castlebar Celtic come unstruck down in Limerick to Wemley 3-1 yestarday - is this a bad result for Celtic or is it a reality check?
Also hard luck to Westport gone to within 4 mins of pens away up in Dublin.

theboy
18/12/2006, 8:29 AM
its a reality check for them. they are no where near good enough to win the FAI cup. same to about westport. neither sides are good enough right now. wesport going through some changes now with lads leaving. who will celtic try and bring in now?? good to see about 3 castlebar lads playing for celtic...

the grape vine
18/12/2006, 9:01 AM
isn't that great 3 real celtic playing:rolleyes:

Closing Time
18/12/2006, 9:56 AM
:cool:

Im afraid you only know the half of it lads. When two Mayo under 21s and a player of the year are left on the bench then you dont know the boro squad. Paul will have a look at what boro have first and im not sure he will have to bring in players as im sure guys will arrive themselfs when they see the fresh new set up. This is only rumour but i heard Kieran Murphy is gone to ballyheane as a player manager. All the best to Paul and co!!!!

So you are telling me that once you play for the Mayo U-21 team you are a good player. No disrespect to your two U-21 players but but they are not good enough. One of them if I am right could not Make the Celtic U-18 starting 11 when he played with that club (could be wrong) but I was told by a reliable source at one of the U-21 games when he saw him playing. He's not a bad player but I don't think he is Super League standard. Look anyone who saw the Boro play last year will know that Paul jordan will have to bring in 5 or 6 quality players. As for players arriving to the Boro on their own bat, are you for real. What players are going to join a team who will be struggling next year. If he brings in all these new players will you be following the Celtic path which seems to upset so many people on this site.

Closing Time
18/12/2006, 10:03 AM
its a reality check for them. they are no where near good enough to win the FAI cup. same to about westport. neither sides are good enough right now. wesport going through some changes now with lads leaving. who will celtic try and bring in now?? good to see about 3 castlebar lads playing for celtic...

I agree with you. They don't have a good enough midfield. Looking at the Mayo League site 5 players came through the Celtic Youth system on the starting 11. It will be less once the club enter an U-21 team. None of the Mayo teams are good enough to win the FAI or Connacht Cups this year.

theboy
18/12/2006, 10:58 AM
I agree with you. They don't have a good enough midfield. Looking at the Mayo League site 5 players came through the Celtic Youth system on the starting 11. It will be less once the club enter an U-21 team. None of the Mayo teams are good enough to win the FAI or Connacht Cups this year.

yes once the u-21 comes in the number of castlebar lads in the squad will go down. what will happen when this bubble bursts? and there looking for all the castlebar lads to play again. how many over 21's can be played on this u-21 set up?

the grape vine
18/12/2006, 11:42 AM
i'am pretty sure that you could pick a very strong team from the lad's that played for celtic first team in the last 1-6yrs that could be still playing for them but are either, playing GAA,not playing at all,or playin for another super leageue teams.

Closing Time
18/12/2006, 12:55 PM
i'am pretty sure that you could pick a very strong team from the lad's that played for celtic first team in the last 1-6yrs that could be still playing for them but are either, playing GAA,not playing at all,or playin for another super leageue teams.

That could be said for any club with a decent youth system. The majority of the Mitchel's would have played for Celtic Youths, but how many have played for the A team. If you take away the lads that have moved from Castlebar you are left with what. Players who might have been good 6 years ago dose'nt mean that they would make any of the top teams in the Super League now. The above list should be made up of players who are still good enough to play for Celtic now and not teams at the lower end of the Super League. I cant think of any player that played for Celtic and still playing in the Mayo League that is good enough to make the starting 11 of the top four Super League teams. Please advise.

the grape vine
18/12/2006, 2:03 PM
not to sure how many if any of these are still playing but would still be all very good players, o.cunningham,k.burke,w hurst,marty mac,k.hopkins,the two reilly's in the states,sammy earls,lydon reilly

Closing Time
19/12/2006, 1:17 PM
not to sure how many if any of these are still playing but would still be all very good players, o.cunningham,k.burke,w hurst,marty mac,k.hopkins,the two reilly's in the states,sammy earls,lydon reilly
I am just wondering what is the point you are making. Declan Reilly & Marty Mac would be the only two who would make the present Celtic team. One is playing GAA and the other is in the US. The rest all good players in their day but you cannot put the clock back. Every club in the country could list players who have retired, got to old, play GAA instead, or lost interest in playing.

swinfordfc
19/12/2006, 2:07 PM
Castlebar Celtic have alot of work to do to keep they hands on the Connacht Cup this year, never mind thinking of further afield - they should used they own youths player - the two o'boyle, minouge, hynes, pa fitzgearld. these lads with they junior players would have a good solid team and not bringing in players that dont give a damn about celtic.

Closing Time
19/12/2006, 6:19 PM
Castlebar Celtic have alot of work to do to keep they hands on the Connacht Cup this year, never mind thinking of further afield - they should used they own youths player - the two o'boyle, minouge, hynes, pa fitzgearld. these lads with they junior players would have a good solid team and not bringing in players that dont give a damn about celtic.

All these players have been used, but you have to remember that all the above but one are playing with the Celtic U-18's and one is still playing at U-17 so if their games clash like last Sunday what is the manager supposed to do. Also if Celtic are going U-21 these players will not be available to the Junior set up. I cannot see Celtic or any Mayo team winning the Connacht Cup this year. But why are you so obsessed with who should or should not play with Celtic. Are you telling me if a number of quality players agreed to go to Swinford FC that they would be turned away. I think not.

Thunderblaster
19/12/2006, 6:24 PM
Castlebar Celtic have alot of work to do to keep they hands on the Connacht Cup this year

Abbey United are the holders of the Connacht Cup!!

renovater
19/12/2006, 6:27 PM
The U-21 sytem in complex as the game its self first of all players that are u-21 years of age are treated in the same way as if they were youths (u-18)
so the Mayo League can use these players in there competion so long they are sign with a mayo club.
I think you are aloud to use to over age players however they can not revert to junior status without regrade as this was only given to the Mayo League as an experment team.
I would think Dykes would avoid this issue his idea would be to bring on 18-20 yrs old through.

Thunderblaster
19/12/2006, 7:00 PM
Ballina Town and Erris United left in Mayo to carry the FAI Junior Cup flag. Westport had a tough draw but for Castlebar Celtic, you ought to have fancied them to beat Wembley Rovers. Disappointing result. If you want to break down Gavin Dykes' success rate with Celtic, I would give him honours in domestic (Mayo) football as he won everything he could win. At Connacht, the jury's out but in the FAI Junior Cup, might have done well last season but considering the players he signed for this term's competition and the desire for Celtic to emulate Westport United, you would have to say that Dykes failed this particular exam. Now, the pressure is on him to deliver the Connacht Cup to justify his closed domestic season signings. Failure in that means that for all Celtic invested in Dykes, apart from domestic competitions that they are expected to win, it will be seen as a failed project.

gazza2
20/12/2006, 8:42 AM
So Thunderblaster, is there much pressure on your own manager or are the people happy with him

swinfordfc
20/12/2006, 9:13 AM
Abbey United are the holders of the Connacht Cup!!

Sorry, very true :D

swinfordfc
20/12/2006, 9:18 AM
All these players have been used, but you have to remember that all the above but one are playing with the Celtic U-18's and one is still playing at U-17 so if their games clash like last Sunday what is the manager supposed to do. Also if Celtic are going U-21 these players will not be available to the Junior set up. I cannot see Celtic or any Mayo team winning the Connacht Cup this year. But why are you so obsessed with who should or should not play with Celtic. Are you telling me if a number of quality players agreed to go to Swinford FC that they would be turned away. I think not.

Your missing my point, with all the players he sign, like maughan from sligo and price from swinford (where was he last week?) what last week result a bad result do you think? Of course quality players would never be turn away from any club but my thinking is that celtic dont need to sign players - they have good players coming through the youth system or do you think they good enough? so is that obsession!!! :D

the grape vine
20/12/2006, 9:30 AM
Your missing my point, with all the players he sign, like maughan from sligo and price from swinford (where was he last week?) what last week result a bad result do you think? Of course quality players would never be turn away from any club but my thinking is that celtic dont need to sign players - they have good players coming through the youth system or do you think they good enough? so is that obsession!!! :D

I totally agree with you, i dont see point signing all these outside players( and paying them expenses),when all the very good local that's around,who i'am pretty sure would have a lot more pride in playing for the club?

theboy
20/12/2006, 9:54 AM
Can this be said also for westport or ballina or even ballyheane who are signing players from other teams. local lads that play for there local team wil have more pride in doing so then outsiders. i cant wait to see what happens when all celtics outsiders leave. will the locals go back to them??

Proud cove
20/12/2006, 10:37 AM
have any players that were not born in the town, apart from Dessie, of course, who's from Louisburgh and he's been with us since he was 10!

the grape vine
20/12/2006, 10:47 AM
have any players that were not born in the town, apart from Dessie, of course, who's from Louisburgh and he's been with us since he was 10!

all i'am sure u could say louisburgh is apart of westport catchment area, like u could say ballyheane,surgboro and some of manulla would be in castlebar's area?

Proud cove
20/12/2006, 11:00 AM
Louisburgh when Dessie wanted to play and that's the big difference. The areas you mention are in Castlebar's catchment area but already have existing clubs.

the grape vine
20/12/2006, 11:09 AM
Louisburgh when Dessie wanted to play and that's the big difference. The areas you mention are in Castlebar's catchment area but already have existing clubs.

i know they have clubs,but someone living in surgboro and playing for castlebar wouldn't be classed as a outsider to me !

Proud cove
20/12/2006, 12:12 PM
for two seasons, though he's gone now. I don't think he was born here but I might be wrong.

swinfordfc
20/12/2006, 1:20 PM
for two seasons, though he's gone now. I don't think he was born here but I might be wrong.

What about paul fitz?
Westport won the junior cup in 2005 with all home bred player like all from Westport - it could be a while before we see the like again

pixiehead
20/12/2006, 1:25 PM
i know they have clubs,but someone living in surgboro and playing for castlebar wouldn't be classed as a outsider to me !

Well try this on for size.Yohan collins played for boro and lives in the boro but big uproar when he went to Celtic. Hes from rehins on the newport road which would be in the Snugboro Catchment Area. But he might be looked on as "an outsider now by the Celtic few..........But wait..... an not alot of people know this...... Kieran Hopkins Family originally hail from Snugboro and a few years ago the family moved back an built a house in the heART of Snugboro where he know lives. He has never worn the yellow and blue.. Aint that a bit wierd?? ;)

pixiehead
20/12/2006, 1:29 PM
Can this be said also for westport or ballina or even ballyheane who are signing players from other teams. local lads that play for there local team wil have more pride in doing so then outsiders. i cant wait to see what happens when all celtics outsiders leave. will the locals go back to them??

Here Here The Boy. Why are people in Celtic not standing up on this Issue and being counted.. Especially when the gray one has only the Connaught Cup to have a blast at.....

pixiehead
20/12/2006, 1:32 PM
wHY DONT WE GET A QUICK INSIGHT INTO THE GENERAL FEELING ABOUT BRINGING IN OUT SIDE PLAYERS NOT JUST TO CELTIC BUT ALL CLUBS.
iF YOU ARE IN FAVOUR SIMPLY POST YES
iF YOU ARE NOT SIMPLY VOTE NO
iLL COUNT UP THE VOTES AT THE END AND POST THEM UP. (IT WILL BE INTERESTING TO SEE!!!;)

pixiehead
20/12/2006, 1:33 PM
vOTES NO

Closing Time
20/12/2006, 1:38 PM
Well try this on for size.Yohan collins played for boro and lives in the boro but big uproar when he went to Celtic. Hes from rehins on the newport road which would be in the Snugboro Catchment Area. But he might be looked on as "an outsider now by the Celtic few..........But wait..... an not alot of people know this...... Kieran Hopkins Family originally hail from Snugboro and a few years ago the family moved back an built a house in the heART of Snugboro where he know lives. He has never worn the yellow and blue.. Aint that a bit wierd?? ;)

Well pixiehead the above mention JC played Youth football for Celtic and won a Quigley Cup with Celtic. So would that make him a Celtic Player playing with the Boro and now has returned home? We are not competing under GAA rules its not where you live but who you decide to play for. How many players on last years Boro team live in the Boro or are from there. How many of last years team came from Celtic or other clubs. I saw five or six outsiders playing for the boro aginst Celtic last season. I think I read that on the Celtic Web site.

Closing Time
20/12/2006, 1:51 PM

I know the point you are making just use your youths if they are good enough, but what will happen when they are all playing U-21. As for Price, Dykes did not sign him. He approched the youth manager and asked if he could join the youth team. As rightly Swinford were not happy but it was not Dykes who signed him. As for the point that if you are from the area you play better of it means more. I have played for alot of teams and once I put on the jersey I wanted to win no matter who I played for. How many local players are getting involved with the running of the club when & after their finished very few. I know you will say the outsiders will not.

Proud cove
20/12/2006, 1:53 PM
life in Westport. Father, Tony, played soccer for United and earlier for Crusaders. All his family are Westport people and would be regarded as auld stock. Paul Fitz is a covey, end of story.

Closing Time
20/12/2006, 1:54 PM

What local A team players have left and gone to another club. A team not B team.

swinfordfc
20/12/2006, 2:22 PM
life in Westport. Father, Tony, played soccer for United and earlier for Crusaders. All his family are Westport people and would be regarded as auld stock. Paul Fitz is a covey, end of story.

i didn't know this so fair enough

theboy
20/12/2006, 3:51 PM
wHY DONT WE GET A QUICK INSIGHT INTO THE GENERAL FEELING ABOUT BRINGING IN OUT SIDE PLAYERS NOT JUST TO CELTIC BUT ALL CLUBS.
iLL COUNT UP THE VOTES AT THE END AND POST THEM UP. (IT WILL BE INTERESTING TO SEE!!!;)

NO...

OscarBravo
21/12/2006, 11:53 AM

If he's aul stock then why did he take so long to find ye? I know his father's from Westport but Paul has played for S & F, Manulla, Celtic and now Westport. People have every right to be cynical about his case.]
But on the whole local clubs issue soccer is a game where the responsibility lies with an individual who he plays with. Dykes didn't bring Collins to Celtic, Collins made that decision himself. It's the responsibility of clubs like Snugboro to be able to hold onto players. Good players should always be able to play at the highest level they can achieve. In Mayo soccer at the minute that means playing for Celtic or Westport.
Cases of loyalty like that with Peter Burke are commendable and should be applauded but most players want to look out for number one and that's their prerogative.

Paul Fitzpatrick is, therefore perfectly within his rights to play with Westport but don't suggest for a second that it's some form of modern day Prodigal Son story

OscarBravo
21/12/2006, 11:56 AM

I'm saying YES

gnasher
21/12/2006, 12:09 PM
I'm voting YES

It's the way forward - sort of a mini version of what happens in every other level of soccer.

21/12/2006, 1:13 PM
I'm voting Yes.

According to some peoples arguement I shouldn't be playing for Snugboro.
I played Celtic U-11 to U-16, Snugboro U-16 to Junior. But I have lived a stones throw away from Celtic Park for the most part of my life. But I wouldn't go back to Celtic. Their attitude stinks.(And they wouldn't take me!)

21/12/2006, 1:15 PM
Well said OscarBravo. Can you imagine renovater using a word like prerogative.:D Although you spelt it wrong.

OscarBravo
21/12/2006, 1:32 PM
The reason I'm saying yes to clubs should be allowed bring in outside players from other clubs is that 99% of clubs do it. Maybe not to the same extent as Celtic but they all do it because that is the nature of soccer.
Lets look at the Super League clubs as a case in point

Celtic: don't need to elaborate
Westport: Brendan O'Connor, Paul Fitzpatrick
Ballyheane: Jonathan Griffin, Gary Fitzgerald, Jamie Carr
Erris: Brian Benson (for a year)
Ballina Town: Duane Helly and Devers from Conn Rangers and Niall Gallagher from Ballyglass
Manulla: Kevin Ring, Dermot McNicholas
Snugboro: Declan Flynn (before he left), Gary Byrne, Joe Denilson!
Straide & Foxford: Kieran O'Malley, Gary Costello
Ballyglass: Niall Gallagher (before he left), Alan Costello, Mark Diskin
Crossmolina: Jonathan Heffernan (has since left again).

They're only players I can think of and you can be sure the situation is replicated down the leagues. Its not the fault of any of these clubs that guys want to sign for them, but there can be blame for clubs that lads are leaving. Pixiehead if Snugboro were reduced to just players in the Snugboro catchment area ye would not be in the Super League. Boundaries always will be loose

OscarBravo
21/12/2006, 1:36 PM
Well said OscarBravo. Can you imagine renovater using a word like prerogative.:D Although you spelt it wrong.

Cheers Joe, good to see someone has their head on today! Mocking is catching, I'm turning into Reno!

swinfordfc
21/12/2006, 1:56 PM
My vote is also yes

players should be allowed to move from club to club as they only sign a yearly contract - then they free agents!! :D