View Full Version : San Marino Away (7th February 2007) - Match Thread
Pages :
[
2]
24/02/2006, 4:41 PM
Surely then they'll move our game to Bolonga if theres a
big crowd expected?
Would we move a match from Lansdowne to the Millennium Stadium if there's a big crowd expected?
Helen Donegan
24/02/2006, 4:42 PM
All in all it doesn't really make an enormous amount of difference if the match is played in San Marino or Bologna from the point of view of where people should stay - the choice is still San Marino, Rimini or Bologna:p
Forever Dreamin
24/02/2006, 5:15 PM
We're playing San Marino so we should be staying in San Marino, besides isnt it a tax free zone, cheap booze!!! Most likely alternate venue would be Bologna but doubt if theyll surrender home advantage, not like they need the moeny or anything. Besides the other teams in the group would probably object, either way flights booked and were on our way!!
24/02/2006, 5:42 PM
Surely then they'll move our game to Bolonga if theres a
big crowd expected?
Didn't we have this discussion about the Faroes as well?
Forever Dreamin
24/02/2006, 9:29 PM
Didn't we have this discussion about the Faroes as well?
At least we'll get to San Marino, still ****ed off at not landing in the faroes!! Maybe the fai'll organise a friendly there this May.. any toughts on who they should play away in May??????????
24/02/2006, 9:37 PM
Anyway, it sounds to me it'll be full of snow (global warming notwithstanding) in San Marino in February. More reason to have it in Bologna.
More reason to have it in San Marino, I think! Be nice to see a bit of snow. Don't think 60/70 miles will make that much difference to the weather either.
Incidentally, here's (http://www.rsssf.com/tabless/sanm-intres.html) San Marino's results and venues to 2002 - they only played a home game in Bologna twice (Holland and England in 1993) and in Serravelle every other time. 2004 - every home qualifier in Serravelle. 2006 - Serravelle for the first few games anyway (rsssf stops after round 6, for some reason). We're not going to bring 4,000, especially on a Wednesday in February in a place which is fairly awkward to get to. I don't see why the game would be anywhere other than Serravelle.
p_o_r
25/02/2006, 10:43 AM
Bare with me on this post it has a point
Back in 1993 when England beat San Marino 7-1 after going 1-0 down and still failed to qualify for the WC.
The report in the Irish Times the next day said 'For 23 long minutes England were loosing to a mountain top'
Taken from that I presume the area is mountainous so would it be good to make the game part of a week long packaged ski trip in Italy, or are the ski resorts too far away ?
Helen Donegan
25/02/2006, 11:05 AM
Bare with me on this post it has a point
Back in 1993 when England beat San Marino 7-1 after going 1-0 down and still failed to qualify for the WC.
The report in the Irish Times the next day said 'For 23 long minutes England were loosing to a mountain top'
Taken from that I presume the area is mountainous so would it be good to make the game part of a week long packaged ski trip in Italy, or are the ski resorts too far away ?
Could be done but it is a good drive to any of the ski resorts - a much better idea would be to try and combine the match with a stop in Venice if their carnivale is on:cool:
Forever Dreamin
25/02/2006, 11:12 AM
You could always take in the Italy Ireland rugby match, quite likely on the Sat / Sun before. Went up to a place called Titless (no joke) in the Swiss Alps the day before the last match in Basel, it was fabulous and kept us out of the pubs for an afternoon!
Would we move a match from Lansdowne to the Millennium Stadium if there's a big crowd expected?
No, the point I was making is if they are thinking of switching the
Germany game to a bigger stadium to accomodate a large away
following I presumed they'd do the same for us.
Paulie
04/05/2006, 5:06 PM
I booked flights for San Marino earlier today. We're actually flying to Wales first as we're going to Ireland V Wales in the 6 Nations on Sunday February 4th. We fly to Bologna from London on the Monday, spend the night in Bologna before heading to either San Marino or Rimini on Tuesday. This is the thing though, I was checking up to see if I could find any information on pubs or nightlife in San Marino and the only thing I can find are restaurants. Don't get me wrong, I don't expect to have a huge choice or anything but one or two pubs or bars would be nice. From what I read it appears that Rimini is where the San Marinese go to for a night out as well. While I know it's off peak in Rimini there should be a bit more going on (pub wise) than in San Marino. It's just that I much prefer to stay in the country that we are playing against. Hmmmm what to do.......
Paulie
10/05/2006, 10:24 AM
Ended up booking the Tuesday and Wednesday night in the Grand Hotel in San Marino. We got a single room each for €55 each a night. Happy with that. By the way if anyone else is looking to book there I couldn't do so over the internet as it was coming up as fully booked for those dates, as were any of the other hotels I tried. When I rang them however I was able to book the rooms no bother.
We fly to Bologna from London on the Monday, spend the night in Bologna before heading to either San Marino or Rimini on Tuesday.
How are ye getting from Bologna to Rimini?
Paulie
10/05/2006, 11:17 AM
We decided to stay in San Marino so we won't be going to Rimini from Bologna, that is unless we get the train which means we transfer to a bus in Rimini. Anyway, we don't have the the transport from Bologna to San Marino organised yet. Whether we get the train or hire a car it seems to be fairly straightforward whichever way you go. As it's turning out even though it's a little awkward to get to the San Marino trip is a good bit cheaper than I would have thought.
10/05/2006, 10:43 PM
Fast train (takes 70 minutes) every hour, Ordinary train (takes 90 minutes) every hour. One or other every 30 minutes
Forever Dreamin
11/05/2006, 6:52 AM
Fast train (takes 70 minutes) every hour, Ordinary train (takes 90 minutes) every hour. One or other every 30 minutes
Can we get from Bologna direct to San Marino, or do we have to go to Rimini. I believe Rimini is a short taxi ride from San Marino.
Cheers for the info, must book a flights now.
Paulie
11/05/2006, 9:11 AM
Can we get from Bologna direct to San Marino, or do we have to go to Rimini. I believe Rimini is a short taxi ride from San Marino.
Rimini is about 10k from San Marino.
Ash, if you're booking flights look into flying in and out of Rome. As far as I can tell it's about 60 miles further away from San Marino than Bologna which in the greater scheme of things is not that far. You can get a return flight on Aer Lingus for about €120. When I tried to book out of Bologna on Aer Lingus the website stated that they don't fly that route on Feb.
Paulie
11/05/2006, 12:09 PM
As far as I can tell it's about 60 miles further away from San Marino than Bologna which in the greater scheme of things is not that far.
I just did a little bit of checking up on this and it looks as though I underestimated the distance between Rome and Rimini. Apparently it's about 330k whereas from Bologna to Rimini it's about 120K. This doesn't really bother me, especially as we will only have to do this trip on the way home as we arrive into Bologna, but I just thought I'd mention it as it may not work for other people.
11/05/2006, 12:49 PM
Also, if you're going from Rome to Rimini by train, you have to change in Bologna. You're also going over the Appennines in early February, which may involve delays for snow (no idea how likely this is, but I would imagine it's some sort of consideration). Trains from Rome to Rimini leave every hour and take about 4/4½ hours. Train from Bologna to Rimini takes about 1½ hours.
Hope to head over, and will probably spend the weekend in Rome anyway. San Marino sounds like a place you could see in 2/3 days, so may as well take the chance to have a weekend touring Rome too, especially having done Latin in school...
Saint Tom
11/05/2006, 7:42 PM
what would people think of arranging buses if people were on similar flights out? would be some session. doesnt seem to be a hell of a lot of options, bologna or rome essentially. would imagine that people will be on the same flights
Forever Dreamin
11/05/2006, 8:03 PM
Theres a gang of us flying to Bologna on Monday with BA and back thursday, about 14 or 15 Id say
Paulie
12/05/2006, 9:45 AM
what would people think of arranging buses if people were on similar flights out? would be some session. doesnt seem to be a hell of a lot of options, bologna or rome essentially. would imagine that people will be on the same flights
It's not a bad idea but I don't think it will work out for us. We get in to Bologna late on Monday evening so we're going to spend the night there. As a result I don't know at what time we will be heading to San Marino on Tuesday. I assume it will be early enough but we probably won't know until the day itself.
Paulie
26/05/2006, 12:05 PM
A couple of mates of mine have been looking into going over as well and they came up with this:
Dublin - Rome (Aer Lingus) €65 Departs at 7:10am, arrives at 11:10am.
Pisa - Dublin (Ryanair) €28 Departs at 6pm, arrives at 7:40pm.
Total price of the flights €93.
Apparently by train it takes as long to get from Rome to Rimini as it does to get from Rimini to Pisa. They haven't gone into depth on the trains but they reckon they'll be ok.
Forever Dreamin
01/06/2006, 6:35 PM
Check out
Monday BA from Dublin to Bloogna via Gatwick, back thursday €189 inc taxes, was €250 when we booked
www.ba.com
Forever Dreamin
08/07/2006, 1:48 PM
Anyone with a bit of italian might check out this website and let us know if we can but tickets here ipor if we can in the future?
http://www.multieventi.sm
according to our hotel in San Marino it's the SM equivalent of ticketmaster, we are only entitled to about 500 tickets for this match so sponsors will probably get virtually all the tickets. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
08/07/2006, 4:45 PM
The game's not likely to be a sell-out in fairness. And I'd say there'll be 1000 tops from Ireland there. There'll be tickets for everyone.
casso36
10/07/2006, 11:18 AM
Anyone with a bit of italian might check out this website and let us know if we can but tickets here ipor if we can in the future?
http://www.multieventi.sm
according to our hotel in San Marino it's the SM equivalent of ticketmaster, we are only entitled to about 500 tickets for this match so sponsors will probably get virtually all the tickets. :rolleyes:
Forever,
Here's the San Marino football federation web site!!! www.fsgc.sm
Seem to have a ticket section but can't read Italian :D so if you can figure out how too let me know!!!!
Saint Tom
10/07/2006, 8:31 PM
lads ,
get on this: www.ryanair.com
dublin - pisa sunday evening the 4/2
pisa - Dublin friday evening the 9/2
€98 including tax return. Great thing is that Pisa central train station is directly connected to the airport train station (five mins away). Plenty of hotels right beside the central station, overnight in pisa the sunday (because of late arrival) and maybe thursday on the return (optional)
Train to rimini/bologna on monday the 5th approx €40 return and three and a half hours. very regular. www.trenitalia.com
Arrange accommodation for remaining days then as soon as they announce match venue
10/07/2006, 8:43 PM
Seems a waste to fly home on the Friday evening?
Saint Tom
11/07/2006, 5:38 PM
well,
a week in paris directly after stuttgart, Cyprus for five days, christmas and then San Marino.. will be a pricey few months. Could do without spending money for extra days and hotels
11/07/2006, 9:00 PM
Fair enough. Suppose I'm looking at it that it'd be a waste of holidays to come back on the Friday and not spend the weekend. Though I'd likely be flying in on the Wednesday and leaving on the Sunday, with a weekend in Rome, if I'm heading.
12/07/2006, 4:51 PM
I was thinking of doing that except leave Monday evening and travel tuesday morning by train from Pisa to San Marino. Stay Tuesday night and Wednesday there and then back Thursday for the flight on the Friday.
12/07/2006, 5:23 PM
Tom did you get a hotel for Pisa yet. Any recommendations. Think I will stay there Monday night and Florence on the Thursday night.
Saint Tom
15/07/2006, 2:08 PM
just had a quick look on the net for hotels in Pisa Neil. Plenty of hotels around the central train station for approx €60 a night. Want to see Florence as well so may well go there on Thursday too. I have a friend who is in the travel business who looks after me always with good accommodation, so I will see what he comes up with a post here
Danny
31/07/2006, 12:19 PM
booked this over the w.e
mon-thu
dub-stanstead-ancona with ryanair
3* hotel in Rimini
All in €186
stickyjoe
02/08/2006, 10:45 AM
is this game definitely on in bologna
No, they have until 2 months (or something like that)
before the fixture date to confirm the venue
Forever Dreamin
02/08/2006, 9:40 PM
is this game definitely on in bologna
why do you think the game will be in bologna?
there will be enough tickets for the home supporters, and its not like the country needs money, no logical reason for them to move the game to suit us and our travelling support :confused: :confused:
03/08/2006, 9:25 AM
I hope its on in San Marino, always good to visit another country.
why do you think the game will be in bologna?
there will be enough tickets for the home supporters, and its not like the country needs money, no logical reason for them to move the game to suit us and our travelling support :confused: :confused:
Its only being debated as there was talk of them switching the Germany
game to Bolonga to accomodate the anticipated large away following.
Forever Dreamin
03/08/2006, 11:47 AM
Its only being debated as there was talk of them switching the Germany
game to Bolonga to accomodate the anticipated large away following.
cant see it happening, its one thing to move a game to a bigger stadium to accomodate their own fans and needed the revenue, if they moved the game no one would visit san marino and the country would lose out as the visitors will only spend the real money where the match is.
RogerMilla
03/08/2006, 1:01 PM
pretty sure it's going to be in serravalle lads
have been trying to get some info from the germans as you can see here (http://www.meinung-live.de/f101/dyn.html?x=246208549&_TID=4159) but nothing yet lol lol
Just heard on News at One on RTE Radio 1 that Ryanair are to open new routes from Dublin in December and one of these is to Bologna. This could make travel arrangements very handy !!:)
Watch out for launch - but then again prices will probably be jacked up for the time of the match:(
Forever Dreamin
09/08/2006, 1:49 PM
Just heard on News at One on RTE Radio 1 that Ryanair are to open new routes from Dublin in December and one of these is to Bologna. This could make travel arrangements very handy !!:)
Watch out for launch - but then again prices will probably be jacked up for the time of the match:(
lifes a bitch they start flying the Monday after the match at 1c a ticket!
Me & Beavis heading so all prices are include both of us.
They're all only 1c/ 1p at the mo so here ya go (all rounded up):
Tues 6th
Dublin 13:35 - Stanstead 14:50 = €54
Stanstead 19:00 - Bologna Forli 22:05 = €60
Fri 9th (Ryanair new route starts on the 9th)
Bologna Forli 17:50 - Dublin 19:40 = €36
Total on flights €150
€75 each thats a bargain I reckon.
09/08/2006, 10:59 PM
Tues 6th
Dublin 13:35 - Stanstead 14:50 = €54
Stanstead 19:00 - Bologna Forli 22:05 = €60
Fri 9th (Ryanair new route starts on the 9th)
Bologna Forli 17:50 - Dublin 19:40 = €36
Total on flights €150 - €75 each thats a bargain I reckon.
Dont forget that Bologna Forli is Bologna's second airport and is about 40 miles outside the city centre. To get to the city centre you have to get a bus which is timed to leave after each flight arrival and it takes about 75 minutes or you can get a local bus to Forli station, about 15 minutes away, then get a train to Bologna. Trains run about every half hour (not sure about later in the evening) and the train journey takes about40 minutes.
Forever Dreamin
10/08/2006, 2:51 AM
Dont forget that Bologna Forli is Bologna's second airport and is about 40 miles outside the city centre. To get to the city centre you have to get a bus which is timed to leave after each flight arrival and it takes about 75 minutes or you can get a local bus to Forli station, about 15 minutes away, then get a train to Bologna. Trains run about every half hour (not sure about later in the evening) and the train journey takes about40 minutes.
The question is it 40 miles nearer SAn Marino or 40 mile further????
We booked BA ex Dublin for €250 euros to Bologna, that now is available for €150!:confused:
RogerMilla
10/08/2006, 9:23 AM
looks like forli is 40 km closer lads , no need for that bus back into bologna
forli to serravalle is only 60 clicks , passing through rimini , with bologna back the other way
Sure I knew it wasn't actually gonna be near Bologna; it's Ryanair! Gonna rent a van & sleep in in instead of a hotel so it's a drive for me anyways.