View Full Version : Transfers Discussion Thread
Pages :
[
7]
04/01/2006, 2:45 PM
dont think any of the Shels or Longford fans were overly impressed over all with Cawley really so im not that disappointed we didnt get him
Ye would be better off without him IMO.
04/01/2006, 2:45 PM
Not sure if it was posted before and to lazy to check but Trevor Molloy has signed for St. Pats.
Don't think he has to be honest. He's still a Hoop AFAIK. See players signed - http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/
04/01/2006, 11:04 PM
Plus, it hasn't being confirmed that he has signed with UCD yet...it's not a done deal yet afaik.
It's confirmed now.
lofty9
05/01/2006, 7:57 AM
Kevin McHugh signing for Derry tonight on a two year contract.
(Source Radio Foyle: direct from his mouth)
Just heard Noel Hunt won't be offered a new contract??:confused: :confused:
Should set off alarm bells in the eL!!
Yesterdays Drogheda Independent reckons we're after him :)
05/01/2006, 8:26 AM
I still cant believe rovers signed Sean Kelly from us....I hope he does better for you than he did for us last season. The year b4 he was grand but last year he seemed to have given up....he is a good dancer tho!
dcfc_1928
05/01/2006, 9:00 AM
Kevin McHugh signs for Derry City
http://www.derrycityfc.net/displaystory.php?storyid=349
Krstic
05/01/2006, 9:22 AM
Brilliant signing for Derry.
Cannot wait for the new season to begin:D
carrickharp
05/01/2006, 9:37 AM
Sh1te:(
Da Real Rover
05/01/2006, 10:10 AM
Kevin McHugh signing for Derry tonight on a two year contract.
(Source Radio Foyle: direct from his mouth)
What a signing for Derry, Farren and Mc Hugh up front for yee.
Breifne
05/01/2006, 11:35 AM
We may have been slow of the mark but I think we have bagged us some good uns!
Brian Gannon (UCD)
Andrew Cousins (Kildare)
David McGeough (Dundalk)
Think you can add Ray Scully to that list as well,
good solid professional, bit small, but gets stuck in.
Should be worth a few positions in the table on his own.
Oh yeah, we have signed Keith Doyle from Rovers, any word on what hes like.
05/01/2006, 12:00 PM
We were in talks with Scully but he has signed for Scumrock from what I hear. I know he defo hasnt signed for us coz just off the phone from Mick Cooke.
harpskid
05/01/2006, 12:07 PM
Gary Crossan has been released from Finn Harps
Also, we've signed Stephen O Donnell (ex Sligo) and are close to signing David Bell who was with Pats last term
05/01/2006, 2:42 PM
We were in talks with Scully but he has signed for Scumrock from what I hear. I know he defo hasnt signed for us coz just off the phone from Mick Cooke.
Explain please?
05/01/2006, 2:43 PM
Were you not at the play off games? He is rubbish and well suited to a non club like you. He'll get relegated again this year.
Maynard
05/01/2006, 2:47 PM
Were you not at the play off games? He is rubbish and well suited to a non club like you. He'll get relegated again this year.
What an ars£hole response to a perfectly straight forward and unprovocative question...:rolleyes:
Passive
05/01/2006, 2:51 PM
Would love to know what wage he is on with you lot. Cost us a fortune and had very little interest in playing last season. Was good a few years ago but I reckon he's past it. He'll pick up a few red cards too.
05/01/2006, 2:53 PM
What an ars£hole response to a perfectly straight forward and unprovocative question...:rolleyes:
Is there a part of "rubbish player" you didnt understand?
Would love to know what wage he is on with you lot. Cost us a fortune and had very little interest in playing last season. Was good a few years ago but I reckon he's past it. He'll pick up a few red cards too.
We had him on loan a few years back and did very well for us, good signing for DCFC IMO.......
He's far to young to be past it, not many Rovers players were interested last year in fairness, thats why your in the 1st now
05/01/2006, 4:15 PM
Explain please?
What do u need explaining??? I was talkin to our Manager and he said that we werent signing Scully coz u lot did.....god almighty man.
05/01/2006, 4:32 PM
What do u need explaining??? I was talkin to our Manager and he said that we werent signing Scully coz u lot did.....god almighty man.
The scumrock bit???:o
05/01/2006, 4:46 PM
well you see, sometimes in football when you dont like a team, it is occasionally fun to take the pee out of them, and it is fun to do something with their name to show much you dislike them....i.e. Scumrock = Shamrock
Dungdalk = Dundalk
do you understand?? If you need me to I will draw you a diagram or ask someone with a degree in explaining things to dumbasses to come and talk to u.
05/01/2006, 5:14 PM
Hold on so is shelbourne = $h€l$ :D :p
Maynard
05/01/2006, 5:17 PM
The rubbish player part of your post I accept (until I see otherwise) it's more the needless snipeing at our "non club" that just smacks of childish bitterness really. But you knew that anyway, and this thread is about transfers not bruised egos.
Mental Man
05/01/2006, 5:19 PM
Kevin Doherty has just left the blues too so he is also looking for a club that can afford his huge fees and injury prone body.
05/01/2006, 5:24 PM
No, Doherty was released by Shels he was only on loan to yous!
05/01/2006, 8:17 PM
No, Doherty was released by Shels he was only on loan to yous!
Coming to LTFC apparently.
05/01/2006, 8:28 PM
Yeah I heard that as well. Supposedly Gannon wanted him at Stockport but Doherty wasn't too sure, as Stockport could be going to the Conference and Gannon is only there at the moment as temp. manager.
Stuart Malcolm has gone from drogs to dublin city according to LMFM (someone put that up on drogs forum today)
06/01/2006, 10:33 AM
Hold on so is shelbourne = $h€l$ :D :p
Exactly!!
Monaghan United = Magic Moos :D
06/01/2006, 10:40 AM
well you see, sometimes in football when you dont like a team, it is occasionally fun to take the pee out of them, and it is fun to do something with their name to show much you dislike them....i.e. Scumrock = Shamrock
Dungdalk = Dundalk
do you understand?? If you need me to I will draw you a diagram or ask someone with a degree in explaining things to dumbasses to come and talk to u.
I'm a dumbass?? What a stupid kid. I ask a simple question and you come out with that:rolleyes:
How in the name of christ does a monaghan fan hate us? How about you draw a diagram of the Ulster Senior League where your club belongs?
06/01/2006, 10:43 AM
I'm a dumbass?? What a stupid kid. I ask a simple question and you come out with that:rolleyes:It was quite obvious what Magicme meant by that so your question was very stupid and therefore, he/she is right to consider you a "dumbass";).
Even I knew what they meant by it ffs:p.
06/01/2006, 10:51 AM
I will tell you how i hate scumrock....personal experience of your fans. 2 seasons ago we played you in a pre-season friendly and your thugs...ooops I mean fans were a crowd of annoying feckers. When requested to leave the television in the club house alone they gave me verbal abuse. Luckily I am a thick skinned bitch and stood my ground and insisted your fan plugged the tv back in. These were grown men acting like naughty 6 year olds. Says it all really, my encounters with your fans have been like trying to control bad mannered children.
I dont understand who so called fans can go to another clubs ground and cause hassle. but then I suppose you dont have a ground of your own so you dont understand the hard work that goes into maintaining one and making it as comfortable as possible.
06/01/2006, 11:02 AM
I will tell you how i hate scumrock....personal experience of your fans. 2 seasons ago we played you in a pre-season friendly and your thugs...ooops I mean fans were a crowd of annoying feckers. When requested to leave the television in the club house alone they gave me verbal abuse. Luckily I am a thick skinned bitch and stood my ground and insisted your fan plugged the tv back in. These were grown men acting like naughty 6 year olds. Says it all really, my encounters with your fans have been like trying to control bad mannered children.
I dont understand who so called fans can go to another clubs ground and cause hassle. but then I suppose you dont have a ground of your own so you dont understand the hard work that goes into maintaining one and making it as comfortable as possible.
Poor baby. So ALL our fans are "thugs" and we are the ONLY club with "thugs"?:rolleyes: Plugging out a tv means you are a thug?:D
Probably something to do with the fact that for a change you saw people in your ground as opposed to you milking the cow behind the goal for the half time cuppa for company.
Believe me you have to be drunk to go to monaghan!
Sligoman you and magicmoo here should get together:eek:
06/01/2006, 11:16 AM
Ha ha....it wasnt just the plugging out of the tv it was the aggressiveness and threatening manner that my request that it was plugged back in met...thats what makes them thugs and since there was a group of about 8 of them it was very intimidating.
Didnt say all fans were thugs but there is a bit of a problem with your fans which has gained you a reputation as scum. Yes other clubs have thugs too and didnt say that you were the only ones. Just that you do have alot of scum attached to your club so it is fitting to call you scumrock...God some people are sooooo sensitive!
06/01/2006, 11:18 AM
BTW NY this is meant to be transfer discussions.....
06/01/2006, 11:25 AM
Really?! So when is your transfer back to reality happening? Do you call your girlfriend plugs out the tv at night do you call her a thug?:D
06/01/2006, 11:29 AM
Maybe its you that should take the reality pills....I dont have a girlfriend!
:p
06/01/2006, 11:53 AM
Maybe its you that should take the reality pills....I dont have a girlfriend!
:p
She doesnt know what she's missing!
06/01/2006, 12:00 PM
Am sure many girls do feel they are missing out alright...but since am a male loving female, I dont really care!
06/01/2006, 12:25 PM
...God some people are sooooo sensitive!
Dead right. Imagine being upset at a telly being plugged out. :eek:
I was at that game 2 years ago and from what I remember we had a great time and were made feel very welcome at CHP. Sometimes people look for any kind of misbehaviour to "prove" that we are "scum". You're not the first and you won't be the last. :rolleyes:
PS See you in CHP next season. There'll be hundreds of us this time. ;)
monutdfc
06/01/2006, 12:37 PM
I was at that game 2 years ago and from what I remember we had a great time and were made feel very welcome at CHP. Sometimes people look for any kind of misbehaviour to "prove" that we are "scum". You're not the first and you won't be the last. :rolleyes:
PS See you in CHP next season. There'll be hundreds of us this time. ;)
Can magicme and NYH leave their little tiff at that?
I for one am looking forward to Shamrock Rovers' visits next season. It's all relative, but in relative terms it's a bit of glamour for us in the graveyard division (plus a big gate: with the M1 and Carrickmacross by-pass Monaghan is only about 1hr 35mins from Dublin)
06/01/2006, 5:06 PM
They are all welcome as long as they behave.
*extends hand of friendship to NY*
09/01/2006, 10:42 AM
They are all welcome as long as they behave.
*extends hand of friendship to NY*
NY's a top bloke, always welcome out in the Carlisle........
Maynard
09/01/2006, 5:42 PM
DUBLIN CITY FC have added no nonsense Scottish born defender Stuart Malcolm to their squad for the 2006 season.
Malcolm becomes the third Drogheda player to sign for City following the earlier acquisition of Mark Rooney and goalkeeper Gary Rogers.
Malcolm's contract with Drogheda United terminated on December 31st and Vikings boss Dermot Keely persuaded the former St Johnstone, Plymouth and Ross County player to sever his links with Paul Doolin's side and sign up with the promoted Dubliners.
Said Keely: "Stuart is an excellent signing. He has a big presence on the park and is a good leader. He has excellent qualities as a player and can operate as an defender or as a striker. He brings strength and versatility and will have a big influence within the squad."
The 26-year-old Edinburgh native could have stayed on Boyneside with the Drogs but opted to link-up with a City side that is taking on a nice blend of youth and experience."
Added Keely: "I'm still talking to a couple of more players and I'm pretty confident that I can bring in some more quality players to add to the likes of Gary Rogers, Mark Rooney, Keith Doyle, Mick O'Donnell and Stuart Malcolm."
Passive
09/01/2006, 6:36 PM
So, Magicme says she requested Rovers fans "to leave the television in the club house alone" and NY straight away, and apparently correctly, says Rovers fans were plugging out the television. I think we've found the guilty party.
09/01/2006, 7:36 PM
So, Magicme says she requested Rovers fans "to leave the television in the club house alone" and NY straight away, and apparently correctly, says Rovers fans were plugging out the television. I think we've found the guilty party.
You are quick to point the finger....u sure it wasnt u?? :eek: Will be keeping an eye on you lot this season....;)
Battery Rover
09/01/2006, 8:46 PM
We have signed Ian Rossiter from Sligo Rovers
10/01/2006, 10:32 AM
Not me. Hard enough to go to that kip for a league game let alone a friendly!
10/01/2006, 10:43 AM
Not me. Hard enough to go to that kip for a league game let alone a friendly!
I think its hilarious the way you call Century Homes Park a "kip"! Its one of the best maintained grounds in the el....sure we dont have a massive big stand for thousands of fans, but what we do have is suffcient for our current needs and most importantly....WE OWN IT. Jealousy makes people say strange things from what I can see.
NY I hope when you do come to CHP this season you enjoy the comfortable friendly athmosphere that we have created and realise that despite our short comings on the pitch, we lack for little off it.