View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2005/06

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18

scoobysham
02/05/2006, 1:09 PM
ya agree with u fonsie on who will go up say corballty to win last 3 games and get promoted tho u never know with this league this year every week teams goin for promotion are dropping points

leather
02/05/2006, 2:19 PM
any news on the injury to youth player w.o'donnovan..
that kids has been very unlucky with knocks...best of luck to wembly on sat night...

W.R.F.C
02/05/2006, 2:33 PM
Scooby what happened wayne o'donovan now. its true he is always been unlucky with injurys

summervilleman
03/05/2006, 12:50 AM
Herbertstown 2-1 summerville
That ends our challange on promotion.....Best of luck to the 2 teams that do go up!!!

abbeyvale
03/05/2006, 8:06 AM
1) Star Rvs Pl 21 / Pts 50. (Max Pts 53).....Champions
2) Herbertstwon Pl 20 / Pts 42. (Max Pts 48)
3) Wembley Pl 20 / Pts 37. (Max Pts 43)
4) Corbally Pl 19 / Pts 36. (Max Pts 45)
5) Caherdavin Pl 19 / Pts 35. (Max Pts 44)
6) Summerville Pl 19 / Pts 32. (Max Pts 41)
7) Coonagh Pl 21 / Pts 30. (Max Pts 33)
8) Shannon Pl 2 / Pts 29. (Max Pts 32)
9) Balla Pl 22 / Pts 24. (Max Pts 24)
10) Dines Pl 20 / Pts 20. (Max Pts 26)
11) Abbey Pl 21 / Pts 6. (Max Pts 9).....relegated
12) Croom Pl 19 / Pts 0. (Max Pts 9).....relegated

Tue 02.05.06 (7pm)
Herbertstown 2-1 Summerville
Caherdavin 2-1 Star
Wembley off Coonagh
Croom off Corbally

Herbertstown now only require 2 draws from their last 2 games (v Caherdavin & Corbally) to win promotion

fonsie
03/05/2006, 8:07 AM
I thought you would have won that one now I have to say. I think this makes Corbally's chances of going up even better as they have to get into winner takes all mode now & produce some sparkling football.

I still say Corbally for second.

fonsie
03/05/2006, 8:10 AM
Herbertstown now only require 2 draws from their last 2 games (v Caherdavin & Corbally) to win promotion

Can't see it myself. Corbally beat them 4-0 in one of the cups a while back and with Caherdavin's players playing for that cup final, I think they will beat Herbertstown.

Corbally for second.

abbeyvale
03/05/2006, 8:15 AM
Can't see it myself. Corbally beat them 4-0 in one of the cups a while back and with Caherdavin's players playing for that cup final, I think they will beat Herbertstown.

Corbally for second.

Yes but remeber Corbally still have to play Caherdavinb as well and if that game finished all sqaure then Herbertstown could affrod to draw with Corbally and even lose v Caherdavin and still go up...

Pallas_United
03/05/2006, 9:47 AM

Corbally for second.

4-2 Fons...

Pallas_United
03/05/2006, 9:48 AM
I think this makes Corbally's chances of going up even better as they have to get into winner takes all mode now & produce some sparkling football.

Does this guy makes anyone else laugh ???

fonsie
03/05/2006, 10:51 AM
I'm a fan of city football.

You need sides to go up that will take on the big teams in the Premier - Corbally & Wembley could both do that.

I just don't think Herbertstown are good enough - nothing at all against ye mind. I've heard people praise ye and year ground is meant to be good but most GAA grounds are well maintained these days.

I think Corbally will sneak it, just my opinion, don't shoot me for saying that :(

scoobysham
03/05/2006, 11:09 AM
wayne o donovan broke his leg against balla last sunday in the youth cup final in a 50 50 challenge.game was delayed he had to be taken away in ambulance. he knew straight away he broke it he could hear it snap straight away. it is his second break in a couple of years same leg too different bone tho. he was in hospital yesterday same doctor as previous break came into him saying we meet again f uc kin lousy on him he missed an fai final a couple years back cause of his first break of leg.

scoobysham
03/05/2006, 11:16 AM
Yes but remeber Corbally still have to play Caherdavinb as well and if that game finished all sqaure then Herbertstown could affrod to draw with Corbally and even lose v Caherdavin and still go up...

if wembley won last 2 games and these results did happen above we would go into play off with herbertstown so think they need more to do than just draw with corbally. think a lot of people including myself have written off caherdavin if they win their remaining games they will go up. granted games they have(corbally, summerville, herbertstown) are very difficult but could happen, they had a great win last night against star.

abbeyvale
03/05/2006, 12:14 PM
if wembley won last 2 games and these results did happen above we would go into play off with herbertstown so think they need more to do than just draw with corbally. think a lot of people including myself have written off caherdavin if they win their remaining games they will go up. granted games they have(corbally, summerville, herbertstown) are very difficult but could happen, they had a great win last night against star.

No offence but Caherdavin beat a struggling Star team last night and they are not good enough to go up.

leather
03/05/2006, 1:55 PM
wayne o donovan broke his leg against balla last sunday in the youth cup final in a 50 50 challenge.game was delayed he had to be taken away in ambulance. he knew straight away he broke it he could hear it snap straight away. it is his second break in a couple of years same leg too different bone tho. he was in hospital yesterday same doctor as previous break came into him saying we meet again f uc kin lousy on him he missed an fai final a couple years back cause of his first break of leg.

IF YOU SEE HIM WISH HIM ALL THE BEST FROM THE BORO LADS...HOPE HE COMES BACK STRONGER THAN EVER... BRYAN ROBSON BROKE THE SAME LEG TWICE AND HE MADE IT BACK.. THAT WAS IN THE LATE 70'S EARLY 80'S.. REHAB EVEN FOR US HAS IMPROVED ALOT....

scoobysham
03/05/2006, 3:02 PM
IF YOU SEE HIM WISH HIM ALL THE BEST FROM THE BORO LADS...HOPE HE COMES BACK STRONGER THAN EVER... BRYAN ROBSON BROKE THE SAME LEG TWICE AND HE MADE IT BACK.. THAT WAS IN THE LATE 70'S EARLY 80'S.. REHAB EVEN FOR US HAS IMPROVED ALOT....

ya no bother he will prob be at the u17s fai final on sat night so will say to him then still reckon hell sign for either pike or boro next season when he recovers but the main thing is him making a full recovery.

scoobysham
03/05/2006, 3:05 PM
No offence but Caherdavin beat a struggling Star team last night and they are not good enough to go up.

ya was kind of thinking that myself. why couldn ye have a weakened side against us last sat night no difference ye prob still would of beat us. were just not good enough same story last 3 or 4 years always up there till the end and manage to throw it away in the last few games of the season.

summervilleman
04/05/2006, 4:19 AM
I thought you would have won that one now I have to say. I think this makes Corbally's chances of going up even better as they have to get into winner takes all mode now & produce some sparkling football.

I still say Corbally for second.

We were confident enough going out there ourselves but we did get 2 people sent off in the cup match that previous sunday against corbally so that weakend our team a little and we also went into extra time on sunday so that didn't help either...I know its nearing the end of season and we should be fit enough to play 2 games in 3 days but we hadn't a game in a few weeks and well it sort of all came at us at once...We did well against them in the first half creating a good few chances..They created a few themselves and had the ball in the net at one stage but they were offside...Second half was mad altogether....Ball going from one end of the field to the other...they scored 1st and our heads dropped but we kept pressing them....Got a great goal then from Mike monahan from outside the box and we were back in it....But we kept going for the win as a draw was no good for us so we left it with 3 at the back and they scored from a break....thats all i can say really..to be totally honest i think myself that herbertstown will go up but they will have to strenghten there squad majorily if they are to stay up as we have been up there only last year and we know how tough it is up there...Fine setup out there though!!!!:) :eek: :D

W.R.F.C
04/05/2006, 7:55 AM
Best of luck to u17s on saturday nite. It would b nice if they won and commited themselves to junior football with the club for at least one season. with all the attention giving to them for this year, its the least they can do.

abbeyvale
04/05/2006, 8:19 AM
Best of luck to u17s on saturday nite. It would b nice if they won and commited themselves to junior football with the club for at least one season. with all the attention giving to them for this year, its the least they can do.

Surely they'll all be staying again next year anyway as they would be playing at youth level.

I have seen Crumlin at U17 level this season when they beat the Dines on penos I think it was the 1/4 final stage, and they had one or two good players.

Their keeper is NO.1 for the Irish U17's and he might be No.1 for the youths as well.

But all in all I still fancy Wembley to win it. (hopefully)

Best of luck to all invloved.

W.R.F.C
04/05/2006, 9:36 AM
Abbyvale what i meant was when they were finished at youths, play at least one season with wembly to help them get to premier. Would u agree

Bishop
04/05/2006, 12:42 PM
I agree WRFC, it would be nice if the young lads that your club puts so much effort into would stay around even for a year.

Best of luck to the U17s against Crumlin.

abbeyvale
04/05/2006, 1:01 PM
Abbyvale what i meant was when they were finished at youths, play at least one season with wembly to help them get to premier. Would u agree

I would agree with you 100%, but they dont always stay on when it comes to Junior level, as Geraldines will tell you.

We had what they called "The Dream Team" at under 17's and youths level about 8 years ago but when we were out of youths level the majority of the players left to ply their trade in the Premier as the Dines were still in Div 1A.

That said though, about 6 or 7 stayed on and tried to get the Dines back in the Prem and did eventually.

But for Wembley's sake I hope they do stay on and try at least one season at full junior level to try and get the club back in Prem (If ye are not there already at the end of next season) thats the least they can do for a club that gave them all so much.

Wembley 2-1 Crumlin

fonsie
04/05/2006, 2:51 PM
We had what they called "The Dream Team" at under 17's and youths level about 8 years ago but when we were out of youths level the majority of the players left to ply their trade in the Premier as the Dines were still in Div 1A.

Abbeyvale are you familiar with Geraldines? Do you know an ould buck called Paddy Murphy? He was involved with Geraldines for a long time but I saw them play Corbally this season & no sign of Paddy.

see's it
05/05/2006, 8:48 AM
where has morgan lewis gone best goalie in town 1 time...........?

fonsie
05/05/2006, 11:20 AM
I'd like to echo the sentiments of others & wish your young lads best of luck on saturday & good luck in the Lawson Cup on Sunday. Would be nice to see ye progress in both - ye deserve it.

scoobysham
05/05/2006, 11:34 AM
where has morgan lewis gone best goalie in town 1 time...........?

played with us (wembley) at the start of the season up till about christmas. then took a break for a while has been at few matches since but really hasn been seen on a regular basis since we went drinking for our christmas night out. some man for the cider is morgan. he floats in and out of foot.ie too under a very dodgy name.

scoobysham
05/05/2006, 11:40 AM
everything been said about wembleys young teams above i totally agree with the amount of time and effort the club puts in dom, jimmy, timmy, mark, ger,and jerry for our all levels of the club is unbelievable and would be great if a few of them could stay on after youth level. but the reality is as we have seen with previous successful wembley yoth teams is that some of the players are from a distance out the country and wont really be motivated to come in for 1a games compared to fai finals. and the introduction of limerick u21s and limerick senior team along with premier teams asking them to play is a much hgher level and these players are gonna want to play at the highest level possible which is understandable too. good luck to wembley on sat and hope there is a great crowd at it.

scoobysham
05/05/2006, 11:44 AM
I'd like to echo the sentiments of others & wish your young lads best of luck on saturday & good luck in the Lawson Cup on Sunday. Would be nice to see ye progress in both - ye deserve it.

playing the lawson cup on next tuesday against herbertstown and believe this we are gonna be well up for this we owe them one from last time we played them at home they mugged us to be honest think bishop would agree. turnout at training has been very high considering were gone from promotion race. all we have to play for and want to try and at least get to final of lawson and then u never know.

fonsie
05/05/2006, 12:04 PM
turnout at training has been very high considering were gone from promotion race. all we have to play for and want to try and at least get to final of lawson and then u never know.

I had predicted this one to finish 3-1 but we might see a bigger scoreline if ye are up for it. To be honest I think ye would have a good shot at this cup because of the football that ye play.

Bishop
05/05/2006, 12:10 PM
scooby, ye definitely wasted a lot of good chances against us last time but the lads were hurting after getting a hiding off ye at the start of the season and I think it was a closer game than perhaps you give us credit for. I think the game on Tuesday will be a close one, as both teams would hope to beat St Pats and get to the final.

abbeyvale
05/05/2006, 1:23 PM
Abbeyvale are you familiar with Geraldines? Do you know an ould buck called Paddy Murphy? He was involved with Geraldines for a long time but I saw them play Corbally this season & no sign of Paddy.

I played with the Dines for nearly 20 years and also played under Paddy Murphy.

He is still involved with the club and is on the commitee and goes to some but not all of their games.

abbeyvale
05/05/2006, 1:27 PM
scooby, ye definitely wasted a lot of good chances against us last time but the lads were hurting after getting a hiding off ye at the start of the season and I think it was a closer game than perhaps you give us credit for. I think the game on Tuesday will be a close one, as both teams would hope to beat St Pats and get to the final.

Sorry Bishop, but I'm gonna go for a Balla v Wembley Lawson Cup Final this year, and sorry Scooby but I'd have to go for Balla to win it.

W.R.F.C
05/05/2006, 1:31 PM
No need to b sorry abbyvale, if wembly get to final it will b fantastic. sound for vote of confidence.

fonsie
05/05/2006, 2:15 PM
Sorry Bishop, but I'm gonna go for a Balla v Wembley Lawson Cup Final this year, and sorry Scooby but I'd have to go for Balla to win it.

I'd agree with that. After this round we will see what everyone is made off. Wembley will have their work cut out once they get over tuesday night.

Bishop
05/05/2006, 2:36 PM
Again, no need to be sorry Abbeyvale, everybody is entitled to an opinion. Wembley are a good footballing team and no doubt we would have to pull out a big game to progress.

With regard to Balla, View will have it tough. Any team going to Bateman would have it's work cut out. As football pitches go, it is one of the worst I have seen in years.

fonsie
05/05/2006, 3:14 PM
With regard to Balla, View will have it tough. Any team going to Bateman would have it's work cut out. As football pitches go, it is one of the worst I have seen in years.

Bishop who are you with?

Bishop
05/05/2006, 3:52 PM
Herbertstown.....

Old keeper
07/05/2006, 4:26 PM
I see croom Have won a game today!!!

scoobysham
07/05/2006, 11:00 PM
no way who the hell did croom beat fair play to them for hanging in and they deserve thier victory.

heard caherdavin got hammered by corbally 5-2 in the division 1a cup final. the wide pitch caught caherdavins lack of pace in the team and gave corbally big advantage cause they are a quick side and caherdavins lack of fitness and speed was a major factor in the result. look heard this off a caherdavin player so it must be an honest assesment of the match. if even it could of been worse maybe caherdavin had it a lot harder than was said to me.

well done to wembley u17s just about deserved their 4-3 victory in the fai final on saturday night. crumlin very well organised side was very dangerous from set pieces and caused them lots of problems in the second half with a strong wind behind them. very good win for the lads in front of a very large crowd.

larrywhite
08/05/2006, 12:43 AM
[QUOTE=scoobysham]heard caherdavin got hammered by corbally 5-2 in the division 1a cup final.QUOTE]

5-1 I heard and Corbally walked it. Mates at it said caherdavin couldnt cope with the big pitch and Corbally just passed the football around with ease. Sweet.

fonsie
08/05/2006, 10:19 AM
legends all.

Now Corbally get that second promotion spot and make it some season.

abbeyvale
08/05/2006, 5:10 PM
1) Star Rvs Pl 22 / Pts 53. (Max Pts 53).....Champions
2) Herbertstwon Pl 20 / Pts 42. (Max Pts 48)
3) Wembley Pl 20 / Pts 37. (Max Pts 43)
4) Corbally Pl 19 / Pts 36. (Max Pts 45)
5) Caherdavin Pl 19 / Pts 35. (Max Pts 44)
6) Summerville Pl 20 / Pts 32. (Max Pts 38)
7) Shannon Pl 22 / Pts 32. (Max Pts 32)
8) Coonagh Pl 21 / Pts 30. (Max Pts 33)
10) Dines Pl 21 / Pts 20. (Max Pts 23)
11) Abbey Pl 22 / Pts 6. (Max Pts 6).....relegated
12) Croom Pl 20 / Pts 3. (Max Pts 9).....relegated

Updated table with
Dines 1-2 Star
Summerville 1-3 Shannon
Abbey 1-3 Croom

fonsie
09/05/2006, 10:17 AM
for the sake of the premier I hope Corbally go up. Wembley & Caherdavin have an outside chance but methinks Corbally are certainties.

W.R.F.C
09/05/2006, 11:24 AM
Well bishop, do u fancy ur chances tonite in the lawson

abbeyvale
09/05/2006, 4:36 PM
for the sake of the premier I hope Corbally go up. Wembley & Caherdavin have an outside chance but methinks Corbally are certainties.

If I was to chose between Corbally and Herbertstown to go up I would chose Corbally, by far the better footballing side

abbeyvale
09/05/2006, 4:53 PM
Fixtures tonight
Dines v Summerville
Caherdavin v Corbally

Caherdavin will be out for revenge after their heavy defeat in the cup final last Sunday v Corbally tonight but they are without their main striker Glenn Woodland so because of that I would have to fancy Corbally.

If Caherdavin do lose tonight they have no chance of promotion and are down to play Herbertstwon on Sunday in the league, so that then could be 3pts for Herberstown due to Caherdavin having nothing to play for.

Corbally will beat Croom on Sunday and if they beat Caherdavin tonight that will give them 42 pts and with Herbertstown on 45pts (Providing they beat Caherdavin on Sunday) Corbally then are at home to Herbetstown in a must win game next week.

So my prediction is, Corbally to win all 3 remaining games and the play Herbertstown in Jackman for a play off for 2nd spot with Corbally going up to the Prem.

Sorry Scooby and Bishop, but thats my prediction,

We'll know more after tonight.

abbeyvale
09/05/2006, 5:04 PM
Just found out that Dines v Summerville is off tonight,
Probably coz both have nothing to play for??

abbeyvale
09/05/2006, 9:47 PM
1) Star Rvs Pl 22 / Pts 53. (Max Pts 53).....Champions
2) Herbertstown Pl 20 / Pts 42. (Max Pts 48)
3) Corbally Pl 20 / Pts 39. (Max Pts 45)
4) Wembley Pl 20 / Pts 37. (Max Pts 43)
5) Caherdavin Pl 20 / Pts 35. (Max Pts 41)
6) Summerville Pl 20 / Pts 32. (Max Pts 38)
7) Shannon Pl 22 / Pts 32. (Max Pts 32)
8) Coonagh Pl 21 / Pts 30. (Max Pts 33)
10) Dines Pl 21 / Pts 20. (Max Pts 23)
11) Abbey Pl 22 / Pts 6. (Max Pts 6).....relegated
12) Croom Pl 20 / Pts 3. (Max Pts 9).....relegated

Updated table with
Dines P-P Summerville
Caherdavin 0-1 Corbally

Caherdavin down to 9 men at half time, Corbally got a pen in injury time and scored from the rebound to win 1-0.

Caherdavin are now out of the promotion race.

Looks like my prediction above is still on!!!!

see's it
10/05/2006, 9:04 AM
saw 2 of the funniest things ever at a jnr soccer match lastnight.
1 was the performance of ref trevor hoare it was a total joke and the 2nd thing was the finishing of some ginger guy who came on for corbally,when your own team say your crap its time to hang up the boots......:) :)