View Full Version : David Connolly

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

beautifulrock
10/09/2005, 5:08 PM
Clinton scored as well, hopefully he will be get plenty of match time now

Irish Pride
10/09/2005, 5:36 PM
Just because the angry ant scores 1 goal in the premiership doesnt mean he is premiership call. Lets wait and see with this one........hope he does well but i would never be to sure about him in an ireland shirt.

And i wouldnt pick him for the cypus game ahead of Elliot. but Kerr might as he doesnt think Elliot is ready. :rolleyes:

10/09/2005, 6:28 PM
Well he is one goal up on Micheal Owen and at one eighth of the price thats not bad going, so give him a chance!!

Fergie's Son
10/09/2005, 7:36 PM
What exactly has Elliot done to deserve to be picked ahead of Connolly? He had a semi-decent season last year and that's been about it. He's a good prospect but nothing more. Connolly should be called back into the squad for the game against Cyprus. He's a proven goal-scorer and that's something that this team needs now. Elliot is there for the future, we need Connolly now.

livehead1
10/09/2005, 7:47 PM
Stephen Elliot:
theres no chance that elliot is ready for itnl football. one senior season and he wasnt always first choice. hes playing in the worst side in the premiership and is not standing out....i dont even think he is that good of a striker and i think this will be proven, hes hardly 18-19 either

David Connolly:
connolly is a decent striker and people say it cant cut it at the top...well he aint been given a chance until now. hes always been consistant at championship level and has had some good games for ireland but has never really been first choice in recent years and this is always going to affect you, especially at international level

Clinton Morrison:
morrison is a good striker and looked quite lively against the french. he always gives 110% in all the games and is always there for the friendlies and squad meet ups. his strike record is reasonably good and he has seemed to improve recently and is becoming more accustomed to what is expected at this level

Gary Doherty
doherty is simply a pile of wa*k. he cant give a long pass, he cant give a short pass,when in defence he cant deal with anything on the ground, when in attack he cant find the back of the net regularly enough to be considered a striker, indeed ask tottenham or norwich fans and im sure they struggle to consider him a footballer at all. how a man who cannot get in the side of a championship team consistantly earn a place in the squad ahead of a player with the record at that level of david connolly or even the skilful lee trundle is beyond many peoples comprehension

From this, i conclude that backup to robbie keane, (as his position in the current ireland team is all but guarenteed down to his outstanding talent and goalscoring record) should be david connolly and clinton morrison. behind him would probably be stephen elliot but doyle could push him all the way as elliot has not achieved a great deal more...just a season of decent senior football, which seems to be enough to earn a place. Indeed im tempted to ask kerr for a call up meself!

10/09/2005, 8:10 PM
Jbut Kerr might as he doesnt think Elliot is ready. :rolleyes:
Why do you say that? Didn't he start Elliott in the Faroes?

Was that Connolly's Premiership debut? Always liked him as a player, but a moany fecker alright - seems to be costing him. Would have him in the Cyprus and Switzerland squad though.

del fuego
10/09/2005, 8:53 PM
Saw highlights of the wigan game. Very well taken goal by Mr. Connolly! Should be in with a shot for the Cyprus game squad, if he can prove it wasn't a one off!

11/09/2005, 12:14 AM
I think he must start against Cyprus especailly given the suspensions (both Keane
and Morrison suspended?), I don't care what people think about him personally or
his record in the past, he has scored 5 goals in 8 games, which I believe is 4 more
than any of the other candidates, besides Cyprus wouldn't make it in the Championship
nevermind the Premiership. He is on form and putting the ball in the back of the
net so he must play. The size of the goal at international level is the same as in the
Championship I believe!!!

I didn't see his goal today because my TV has packed up :mad: but the
ones I have seen in the past show he knows how to put the ball in the back of the net.

Metrostars
11/09/2005, 3:11 AM
Hopefully, Connolly will get into a good run of form over the next few weeks and that will open up options for Kerr.

11/09/2005, 8:43 AM
Your right about connollys goal, it was a great goal. He controlled the ball perfectly and smacked it brilliantly into the back of the net. Its a pity he never did it at international level , maybe at 28 he can now ?

brine3
11/09/2005, 10:41 AM
Connolly got a hat trick in the first half against Liechtenstein in 1996. He was 19 at the time. Mick McCarthy gave him a bollocking at half time. Connolly never played well under Mick again. There was another time against Andorra when Mick drafted Connolly back into the Ireland team. Robbie and Connolly were playing up front, Robbie was having an absolute howler while Connolly was creating chances for himself and others, and generally playing well. Mick took Connolly off.

Kerr is a good man manager, look at how he smoothed things over with Harte. If anyone can get the most out of Connolly, then Kerr can.

Tram_14
11/09/2005, 10:42 AM
Absolutely..Yea great goal, on his weaker foot. Surely another option for us?

livehead1
11/09/2005, 11:37 AM
lets hope and pray! wat impressed me more was not the finish, cos i've seen that all before wit him. if u can hit the top corner at one level, u can hit it at any level cos its only striking a ball. wat impressed me was his off the ball run and the pace he showed, completely killed the defender for pace. he also had a hand in the second goal, playing the ball into bullard. he should only get better as he gets to know his new teammates

Colie
11/09/2005, 11:58 AM
Brilliant goal. Yeah, as much as we've given him shed loads of grief, he's doing a lot more than Keano at the mo. I'd start him against Cyprus. Fookit, see what happens.

del fuego
11/09/2005, 2:14 PM
Looks like he's interested in returning also! Very well mannered in his come and get me plea on skysports (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=306626&lid=2&cpid=8&title=Connolly+wants+Irish+return&channel=football_home). Says he supports the team no matter what and can undertand why kerr might not have picked him in the past! If harte can get back after badmouthing kerr...

11/09/2005, 2:22 PM
both Keane and Morrison suspended?
Roy, not Robbie.

11/09/2005, 3:43 PM
Connolly should be in the Cyprus squad if he's fit. We are dreadfully short of depth in this position. Doc just isn't the answer. Whatever the reasons for picking him in theory, he isn't even in Nowich's match day squad, let alone team so is nor deserving of a place in a good international side. He's no bloody Jan Koller that's for sure.

I said recently that I prefer Elliott but if Connolly is on form it'd be an insult not to include him. What message does it send out to any player in any position? The Irish squad should not be a closed shop. 15 or 16 places should pick themselves but "outsiders" have to feel they've some chance, especially when someone in their position is suspended. Alan Quinn is another who should be in the next squad.

I'm still not too concerned about Elliott's form - yet. It was obvious he'd find it tough playing for a team that is up against it at this level. For Ireland he showed enough against Faroes & Italy that he's got something to offer.

11/09/2005, 4:33 PM
Were not a big enough team to say no to players. We cant afford to have any hangups who plays for the Green. I hope the greener is texting him now telling him if he keeps it up he will be on his way to sunny Cyprus in 4 weeks time !

jorge
11/09/2005, 4:48 PM
I say we drop Robbie and start with Clint and Connolly.Drop Robbie for now.

Colie
11/09/2005, 5:18 PM
Yeah, it has to be in Kerrs mind anyway. The guy ain't playing at all & it showed against the French.

11/09/2005, 5:18 PM
Non-runner: Clint is suspended for Cyprus.

jorge
11/09/2005, 5:23 PM
Oops.ffs.

11/09/2005, 5:35 PM
not a great time for messing around with formations and who plays. Its going to be robbie in Cyprus and either Duff, Elliott, Connolly or Doc up front. Probably Duff with S.Reid being brought in and Finnan on the wings.

Condex
11/09/2005, 5:45 PM
not a great time for messing around with formations and who plays. Its going to be robbie in Cyprus and either Duff, Elliott, Connolly or Doc up front. Probably Duff with S.Reid being brought in and Finnan on the wings.

Well if thats not mssing around with the formation what is....

Finnan in for Reid...
Kavanagh in for keane
Connolly/Elliott in for Morrison

'Ginger Pele' should be told to go find himself another profession....

jorge
11/09/2005, 6:40 PM
Kav in for Roy
Connolly in for Clint
Someone else in for Killer
Finnan for Carr
Harte for O'shea

11/09/2005, 7:16 PM
yeah thats a better idea condex. we should have enough there to get the 3 points

dr_peepee
11/09/2005, 7:25 PM
Wellity wellity wellity.....Amazing how easily people change their tune. Connolly, Harte and Kilbane are aguably the most bitched about Irish players of the last ten years

For years I've been getting stick over defending our Wavay Davey (in my previous incarnation on soccerC in particular). I'm not blind to his faults, but i always felt he was better than he was made out . Plus he was the victim of bad substitutions I think. Why are our managers afraid to take off Robbie Keane when he's clearly having a bad day. I thought even the other night that Clinton should've stayed on the pitch. Anyway, I digress

Seen on teletext today that Connolly wants a recall. He noted that Kerr might be a little miffed at him for withdrawing from a friendly due to injury.

Admittedly I questioned his motives when he declared years ago ,as i do most "latecomers", but a little over two years ago I watched him during the Anthem and he was BELTING out Amhrann na bhFiann, AS GEILGE no less. The chap has passion. It just has to be harnessed.

He's not the answer to our goalscoring problems by any stretch, but he's an option. He played well against Cyprus last time if I remember right and was unlucky to be taken off. Problem is though, that for a small lad he actually likes to play some football. As opposed to our current tactics.....

12/09/2005, 2:34 AM
Who's that striker on the right? Rooney? Van Nistelrooy? Owen? Drogba? Henry?

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=306299&CPID=&clid=&channel=football_home

BobbySands
12/09/2005, 2:42 AM
With Morrisson out for Cypruss theres no doubt that Connolly has to start. If he's not working out then try Elliot. As for Gary Doc...He's saved us a few times so all the **** pulling and talk of embarrassment when he came on is a bit harsh.

12/09/2005, 8:30 AM
it will be a close call between connolly and elliott but i guess connolly will get the nod since he has more experience at this level

Condex
12/09/2005, 12:37 PM
the giner pele should be dropped full stop and never recalled for the ireland squad again, aghaaaaa he brings nothing to the squad

Wrong, he brings a splash of colour to the squad!!! :)

and am i the only one that thinks Kavanagh is fu@king pants?
Slow as a wet week!!!

livehead1
12/09/2005, 12:52 PM
i think small soldiers kavanagh is a good player. i reckon that will be proven this season, his passing is OUTSTANDING. wait till you see some stats in a few weeks regarding how often he finds his own man. also his set pieces are excellent and that would be a good thing to have. hes gona be important for wigan this year and could be for the republic also

12/09/2005, 5:59 PM
Were not a big enough team to say no to players. We cant afford to have any hangups who plays for the Green. I hope the greener is texting him now telling him if he keeps it up he will be on his way to sunny Cyprus in 4 weeks time !
Are you handing out your password to a load of other users? :)

David Connolly ?? :D :D :D :D

You must be joking. how many "Connolly you are crap " threads are there ? He has been given so many chances and failed everytime.

I cant see him ever playing for Ireland again.
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=341896&postcount=11

On Kavanagh. Excellent player. Most Irish fans have only seen him play the holding role (well, he didn't play the holding role against Israel) but I think he's much better when playing box to box. Although, so is Roy Keane. 2 wins out of 2 for Wigan since he came back from injury.

12/09/2005, 6:28 PM
i bet that was he scored in the EPL eireboy. He only has scored one but i said if he scored more than one give him a go.

I only use this account.. if I say one thing and then post another its my inconsistency

brine3
12/09/2005, 6:45 PM
I don't know why Kavanagh wasted his career away in Divisions 2 and 3, when he is clearly skilled. We missed his corner taking against France.

12/09/2005, 10:38 PM
I don't know why Kavanagh wasted his career away in Divisions 2 and 3, when he is clearly skilled. We missed his corner taking against France.
Loyalty to Cardiff, and what he believed they could accomplish - plain and simple. Perhaps a little naieve, but it is to a trait be admired in the modern game

Qwerty
13/09/2005, 2:10 AM
'Ginger Pele' should be told to go find himself another profession....

In fairness to the Doc he took a firm line at club level with Norwich and said he was not comfortable playing as a striker and wanted to be considered a defender - no laughing down the back please!

Which makes you wonder why Kerr would persevere in using him as the Hail Mary striker? He is having difficulty getting his game as a defender at Championship level and Kerr thing he can do a job as a striker at international level? Serious question mark on that call Mr Kerr. I know the Doc has knocked a few in and he can head the ball very well but it really is desperation stakes when he comes on.

Alan Lee is fit, his form mightn't be great but surely a better option if you want to hoist it?

Condex
13/09/2005, 11:54 AM
Not bad on Soccernets team of the week with Dunne

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=342327&cc=5739

Still can't help thinking of him playing cr*p away to Switzerland and at home to Albania, hes gotta come good at some point, and the comptetion for places is not exactly fierce...

13/09/2005, 12:15 PM
Not bad on Soccernets team of the week with Dunne

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=342327&cc=5739

Still can't help thinking of him playing cr*p away to Switzerland and at home to Albania, hes gotta come good at some point, and the comptetion for places is not exactly fierce...
How come Steve McLaren is listed as the manager of the week and in the explanation it's Curbishley?? Bloody soccernet.
Still good to see 2 Irish players in the team of the week. Thought Dunne was a rock against the scum, coped well with both Donkey and Shrek, eased Distin back into his first game.

13/09/2005, 1:12 PM
i still think dunne lacks that 100% error free game, with 100% concentration throughout a game, i still see him at fault for the france game ( somewhat at least, he may not have stopped henry but 1/2 a yard closer and put his body in front of the ball rather than turn away), if he can rid this side of game, he will be one of the best in europe never mind the premier league.

13/09/2005, 4:25 PM
He's in the BBC's team of the week too.
I can't the soccor net link to work.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/spl/hi/football/squad_selector/team_of_the_week/html/ss_team.stm

19/09/2005, 10:06 AM
As I said before, one goal does not an international make. COnnolly subbed yesterday and his replacement (Camara) scored. Mind you Elliott was subbed as well. WHat about Man City's, Stephen Ireland ? He had a good game yesterday.

Bleak news about Keane but the Daily Telegraph gave Kavanagh man of the match.

Duffman
19/09/2005, 11:13 AM
Gary Doherty
doherty is simply a pile of wa*k. he cant give a long pass, he cant give a short pass,when in defence he cant deal with anything on the ground, when

Slice of humble pie in order after his long pass to Huckerby in the Ipswich match yesterday. It was reminiscent of Hoddle about 25 years ago!

Duffman
19/09/2005, 11:15 AM
i still think dunne lacks that 100% error free game, with 100% concentration throughout a game

:D How accurate are you? 90th min against Bolton yesterday, no real danger, up pops the Honey Monster with an abhorrence. I should have read your post before hand. Kudos on the advance prediction though. :)

Roverstillidie
19/09/2005, 11:52 AM
how many second chances will connolly have gotten if he is picked again?
too much too soon, never lived up to early promise.

mandrake
19/09/2005, 3:56 PM
well at least connolly shows for the ball, some earlier said he was cr*P away in swiss (when we lost 2-0) but aleast he showed and had shots.
as for the 'alco money burner' robbie keane he runs away from the ball.
alhtough he scored a great goal on saturday....

19/09/2005, 4:38 PM
:rolleyes: Sigh! Now Connolly is being touted as better than our record goal scorer.

In the land of the blind, the one-eyed is king.

27/09/2005, 3:59 PM
Kerr hands Connolly recall
27/09/2005 - 16:30:23
http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/09/27/story222762.html

Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr today ended David Connolly’s exile from international football.

Connolly, 28, has been named in a 24-man squad to face Cyprus and Switzerland in critical World Cup qualifiers next month.

Despite 40 caps to his name, Connolly has not played for Ireland since the country’s devastating 2-0 European Championship qualifying defeat to Switzerland in October 2003.

The Wigan forward was effectively one of the fall guys for Ireland’s failure to reach the subsequent finals in Portugal, earning his last call-up just under a year ago, only to withdraw through injury.

But following a recent £2m deadline-day move from Leicester, Connolly is in form as he has scored five goals in his first six matches this season to earn himself the recall.

Kerr is without the suspended Clinton Morrison for the game against Cyprus in Nicosia, while Tottenham’s Robbie Keane and Sunderland’s Stephen Elliott are both short of goals and match-time this season.

Connolly recently expressed his disappointment at failing to figure in Kerr’s World Cup plans this campaign, and the Ireland manager responded: “Players always feel hard done by if they are not in the squad.

“But he has always been in our thoughts because he is an experienced international player.

“He had a decent season last year with Leicester, and I have seen him in action for both Leicester and Wigan this season.

“I have good reports on him because he has made a bright start and he looks like his old self.”

Kerr has also handed a debut squad appearance for Reading’s Kevin Doyle, who has made a superb impact for the Royals in the Coca-Cola Championship this season following his recent £80,000 move from Cork City.

“I’ve watched Kevin at various levels, including for the Under-21s, and I’ve seen him this season for Reading,” added Kerr.

“He has maintained a high level of performance and I am obviously serious about bringing him in.

“We don’t have too many centre-forwards in the squad, and as to whether he plays, I will see how he does in the next couple of matches for Reading.”

Morrison is joined on the suspension list for the Cypriot clash by Tottenham winger Andy Reid, while more crucially there is no Roy Keane as the Manchester United midfielder misses both games after breaking a metatarsal bone in his left foot recently.

Republic of Ireland squad to face Cyprus and Switzerland in World Cup Group Four qualifying matches on October 8 and 12:

Given (Newcastle), Kenny (Sheffield United), Colgan (Barnsley), Cunningham (Birmingham), Breen (Sunderland), O’Brien (Portsmouth), Dunn (Manchester City), Carr (Newcastle), Hart (Levante), S Reid (Blackburn), O’Shea, Miller (both Manchester United), Finnan (Liverpool), A Reid (Tottenham), Holland (Charlton), Kilbane (Everton), Kavanagh, Connolly (both Wigan), Duff (Chelsea), Doherty (Norwich), Elliott (Sunderland), Doyle (Reading), Robbie Keane (Tottenham), Morrison (Crystal Palace).

Fair play to Kerr is all I can say. No one can say he has his favourites unlike some of the previous Irish managers. Whether Doyle or Connolly can score a goal between them (not in our net) remainds to be seen. Hopefully we can get something out there in Cyprus and back home

ccfcgirl
27/09/2005, 4:11 PM
I hope Doyle gets a game even as a sub , He has great talent at getting goals.

27/09/2005, 4:19 PM
" He has great talent at getting goals."

well ye'd hope so wouldnt ye!!!!seeing as he is a striker and all.