View Full Version : 2024 Pre-Season Competitions and Friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/08/2024, 9:00 PM
Glenn Crowe and Bobby Ryan used to play with them also

2 Year Contract
16/08/2024, 2:03 PM
Bohs vs Rovers has been moved to an 11:30am kickoff on a Sunday. Crazy early, although knowing the FAI that means both clubs should show up at 3pm for kickoff ;)

https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/sse-airtricity-mens-premier-division-fixture-update-bohemians-v-shamrock-rovers/

Kiki Balboa
16/08/2024, 2:17 PM
Bohs vs Rovers has been moved to an 11:30am kickoff on a Sunday. Crazy early, although knowing the FAI that means both clubs should show up at 3pm for kickoff ;)

https://www.leagueofireland.ie/news/sse-airtricity-mens-premier-division-fixture-update-bohemians-v-shamrock-rovers/

Surly a mistake?

kksaints
16/08/2024, 2:22 PM
Surly a mistake?

Apparently not, Garda advice due to the Coldplay concerts in Croke Park.

Kiki Balboa
16/08/2024, 2:43 PM
Apparently not, Garda advice due to the Coldplay concerts in Croke Park.

Jesus Christ...

This is embarrassing.

I wonder when the last professional football game was ever played in the morning. Nevermind one of the most hyped game of the domestic calendars.

Side note... Has anyone else noticed just how extremely lazy The Guards have gotten since Covid? They refuse to do anything anymore.

I'm not a 'crime is rampant' person , it is not. Just the institution of the Guards have become allergic to police work.

A story in the Drogheda Independent a few months ago about a local GAA club that was extorted under threats of violence was dismissed by the Guards as 'civil matter'.

Nevermind letting the right wing goons set up Road Blocks last year, and all the arson attacks that happen without consequence.

16/08/2024, 4:26 PM
Jesus Christ...

This is embarrassing.

I wonder when the last professional football game was ever played in the morning. Nevermind one of the most hyped game of the domestic calendars.

Side note... Has anyone else noticed just how extremely lazy The Guards have gotten since Covid? They refuse to do anything anymore.

I'm not a 'crime is rampant' person , it is not. Just the institution of the Guards have become allergic to police work.

A story in the Drogheda Independent a few months ago about a local GAA club that was extorted under threats of violence was dismissed by the Guards as 'civil matter'.

Nevermind letting the right wing goons set up Road Blocks last year, and all the arson attacks that happen without consequence.

To be fair, there's regular 11:30am or 12pm kickoffs in England on Sky Sports.

2 Year Contract
16/08/2024, 8:57 PM
To be fair, there's regular 11:30am or 12pm kickoffs in England on Sky Sports.

12:30 kickoffs in England. The earliest in Britain I can think of are 12pm for Celtic rangers I think. Defo no 11:30am kickoffs spring to mind

16/08/2024, 11:22 PM
Did the infamous West Brom v Wolves FA Cup tie last year not kick off at 11am and all hell still broke loose?

2 Year Contract
17/08/2024, 8:07 AM
Did the infamous West Brom v Wolves FA Cup tie last year not kick off at 11am and all hell still broke loose?
Good shout, that was an 11:30am kickoff actually. That was for policing reasons and still absolute madness ensued as you say. Can’t think of any regular TV slot that had games kicking off that early though

Kiki Balboa
19/08/2024, 9:53 AM
Dundalk and St. Pats is still fixed for Friday night.

With the early kick off Bohs/ Rovers.. Just mental to me that the league is willing to 'hide' a prime game in the morning. This should have been flagged way before as a game that could potentially be moved due to Europe, and potential consequences should have been liased on (ie Major events on in the city should have been known for that weekend before the season starts).

Total failure of administration really.

But to be fair, I think I am alone in being against morning kick offs.

cláirseach
19/08/2024, 10:11 AM
No, everyone who is normally coaching on Sunday mornings is with you there!

sbgawa
19/08/2024, 10:32 AM
It is riddiculous of the Guards to be using Coldplay as an excuse its hardly a potential riot situation , its basic traffic Management in the area.
As regards Security the Concert organisers will have their own security and stewarding.
Its just Lazy and the fact they dont give a **** about the league

sbgawa
19/08/2024, 10:33 AM
No, everyone who is normally coaching on Sunday mornings is with you there!

Or ferrying their kids around to their matches

kksaints
19/08/2024, 10:33 AM
Dundalk and St. Pats is still fixed for Friday night.

With the early kick off Bohs/ Rovers.. Just mental to me that the league is willing to 'hide' a prime game in the morning. This should have been flagged way before as a game that could potentially be moved due to Europe, and potential consequences should have been liased on (ie Major events on in the city should have been known for that weekend before the season starts).

Total failure of administration really.

But to be fair, I think I am alone in being against morning kick offs.

It possible that they were waiting for the cup results for the Dundalk-Pats match as if both teams had it off they would have moved it to the quarter final weekend.

Kiki Balboa
19/08/2024, 10:50 AM
It possible that they were waiting for the cup results for the Dundalk-Pats match as if both teams had it off they would have moved it to the quarter final weekend.

Right now, before the weekend, Pats are still due to play two games on subsequent nights.

Just funny to me.

The real winners are Drogheda... Either Pats play an extra game before them, or Dundalk lose an 'advantage' and face a clogged up calender later.

kksaints
19/08/2024, 11:49 AM
Right now, before the weekend, Pats are still due to play two games on subsequent nights.

Just funny to me.

The real winners are Drogheda... Either Pats play an extra game before them, or Dundalk lose an 'advantage' and face a clogged up calender later.

Moved to this Sunday. Not ideal for us but that's the cost of European progression.

D24Saint
17/09/2024, 5:39 PM
We have named a mixed team for tonight’s Leinster Cup semi final v Maynooth. It’s mainly the back up first team lads and a few underage players.

D24Saint
17/09/2024, 8:47 PM
We won 3-1 against a useful Maynooth side. Their goal was a lovely finish. As for us it was a mixed bag. The younglad Noonan has staked a claim for a place on the bench with an impressive performance and two goals. I’d say Kenny has a bit to chew on with who to retain for next season and who to cut from the senior players that played tonight.

kksaints
08/10/2024, 6:35 PM
Leinster Senior Cup final between St Mochtas and us in Richmond Park tonight.

legendz
08/10/2024, 9:30 PM
Leinster Senior Cup final between St Mochtas and us in Richmond Park tonight.

2-1 win for Pat's.

kksaints
08/10/2024, 9:43 PM
2-1 win for Pat's.

Yep, match was delayed for 30 minutes due to the floodlights failing. Fairly entertaining match although not really a classic. Always nice to see your team win a trophy, even if the Leinster Senior Cup is way down the list of priorities.

08/10/2024, 9:55 PM
LSC/Preidents Cup/FAI Cup/League Trophy in no particular order all lined up make a nice photo! The League Cup that got away that season rankles but maybe thts just greedy. A first trophy for new manager is important even if or especially if won with kids and reserves and of course the LSC is a damn nice looking old pot!

2 Year Contract
08/10/2024, 10:04 PM
Kian Leavy's coming back from injury so got a useful 90 mins in the tank tonight and was head and shoulders the best player on the pitch by a distance. Really good crowd there for an LSC game against LSL opposition, the stand was packed in a lot of parts. I’d guess between 1400-1600 there

Jack B
08/10/2024, 10:54 PM
An amusingly senior team put out by Pats tonight. It was essentially the second choice first team players starting with two academy lads in Rhys Bartley and Mason Melia's heir apparent Michael Noonan, who got himself a goal.

09/10/2024, 5:12 AM
Reading about a 17 year old's heir apparent makes me feel incredibly old.

Jack B
09/10/2024, 8:34 AM

I was being sarcastic really but watching the likes of Melia and Sam Curtis every week for the last couple of seasons has had that effect on me too. There is growing hype around Noonan though, he's not a million miles off the equivalent position of Melia at his age (which was essentially only yesterday, granted).

2 Year Contract
09/10/2024, 9:54 AM

Noonan is getting his junior cert results today if you want to feel any older :)

nr637
10/10/2024, 8:19 AM
Sligo Rovers 2 Celtic 3 at a sold out Showgrounds last night, so about 4,000+ :confused:

10/10/2024, 5:14 PM
Sligo Rovers 2 Celtic 3 at a sold out Showgrounds last night, so about 4,000+ :confused:

Heard ex Sligo Rovers and Celtic great Sean Fallons son spoke at the game. He also played for us too.