View Full Version : 2022 FAI Cup
Pages :
[
8]
culloty82
16/09/2022, 9:09 PM
Are you sure they can't? Does the rule say the club has to have been in existence for at least 3 years, or does it say they have to have played for at least 3 seasons? Limerick people might correct me on this, but weren't they founded more or less straight after Limerick FC dropped out of the league, but only applied for an LOI license a year later?
Looking at the relevant article on the UEFA clause cited on Waterford's Wiki page, it reads "The club's membership and the contractual relationship must have lasted at the start of the licence season for at least three consecutive years", which suggests it begins on the date when Treaty were admitted into the League:
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/fai-confirm-uefa-licence-awarded-to-st-patricks-athletic-at-expense-of-waterford-fc-38051271.html
sidewayspasser
16/09/2022, 9:12 PM
Found the clause myself. So yes, they have to have played for three seasons.
14.02By the start of the licence season, the membership and/or the contractual relationship (if any) must have lasted for at least three consecutive seasons. Furthermore, the licence applicant must have participated in the official competitions for at least three consecutive seasons (hereinafter: three-year rule).
A Limerick team hasn't reached the decider in exactly 40 years, while it's been 18 for Waterford, so just one lucky draw away from a novel finalist!
Can you imagine the huge support either of these teams would bring to the Aviva for a final! I reckon you would have 30,000+ no bother if it was a Waterford/Treaty final, while both teams are capable of bringing 10,000+ to a final game!
Good times for the FAI Cup! :p
D24Saint
16/09/2022, 9:16 PM
Can you imagine the huge support either of these teams would bring to the Aviva for a final! I reckon you would have 30,000+ no bother if it was a Waterford/Treaty final, while both teams are capable of bringing 10,000+ to a final game!
Good times for the FAI Cup! :p
A underdog in the final would be a good story. I’d support them if European football is secured in Inchicore.
blueblood
16/09/2022, 9:35 PM
Found the clause myself. So yes, they have to have played for three seasons.
14.02By the start of the licence season, the membership and/or the contractual relationship (if any) must have lasted for at least three consecutive seasons. Furthermore, the licence applicant must have participated in the official competitions for at least three consecutive seasons (hereinafter: three-year rule).
Loophole...the women's team started a season before the men's 🤣🤣. Seriously tho it would be a right kick in the hole if they won the Cup but couldn't play in Europe
16/09/2022, 9:41 PM
Id be confident of getting third in our current form. A huge game in Oriel next month pending of course.
Crucial few weeks and with hope that some of the injuries are back in contention. Hoban 1st and foremost, fit Benson, unlikely to see Kelly too soon. As annoying as going out of the cup is, just maybe it could be a help to focus with players returning.
kksaints
16/09/2022, 10:25 PM
Deserved win for Waterford in a thriller. Patterson goal was worth the admission alone. Dundalk were dreadful defensively, was amazed Gartland started he looked well off the pace. Waterford's attack was very threatening and Dundalk essentially resorted to hacking them down in the 2nd half. Patterson looked really sharp, wouldn't mind seeing us sign him if he leaves Waterford next season. Some of the Dundalk players look shadows of their former selves. Benson was poor and McMillan hasn't been good at all the last year.
Was a bit of trouble between the fans outside the Super Value car park. Some digs thrown and a lad getting stamped on the ground. I assume it was the Dundalk fans who were taken out by the guards after they scored who were involved.
ontheotherhand
17/09/2022, 1:28 AM
lf Derry don't win the cup from here it's a monumental collapse by the only good team in the league.
ToberonaTornado
17/09/2022, 3:14 AM
Deserved win for Waterford in a thriller. Patterson goal was worth the admission alone. Dundalk were dreadful defensively, was amazed Gartland started he looked well off the pace. Waterford's attack was very threatening and Dundalk essentially resorted to hacking them down in the 2nd half. Patterson looked really sharp, wouldn't mind seeing us sign him if he leaves Waterford next season. Some of the Dundalk players look shadows of their former selves. Benson was poor and McMillan hasn't been good at all the last year.
Was a bit of trouble between the fans outside the Super Value car park. Some digs thrown and a lad getting stamped on the ground. I assume it was the Dundalk fans who were taken out by the guards after they scored who were involved.
Well done Waterford. Much Higher energy and desire than Dundalk.
Probably gartlands last game as a Dundalk player.He's been a super player for us down through the years so no harsh words for him and same for Davy Mac .
Bob(Benson) is just a passenger these days and is injured but keeps going although he's probably been told not to.
The "trouble" was some 16 year od dxhead v another
legendz
17/09/2022, 5:54 AM
UCD, Dundalk and Rovers are rightly favourites. I'd like to see Treaty, Bohs, Waterford and Derry to make the semi-finals.Fair play to Waterford and Treaty for knocking out Premier opponents. Waterford's win is some result. If Waterford avoid the Derry or Rovers, their momentum could get them to the final.
If Waterford win the cup, they deny Pat's the final euro spot. Revenge for a few years back. If Treaty win the cup, Pat's will again benefit from a club falling short of the required 3 years.
Brilliant night at the RSC. There's a good feeling around the club at the moment with the takeover and an exciting team with a good mix of local lads and skilful imports like Patterson and Junior Quitirna. Patterson was super last night and Dundalk had at least 3 yellow cards for fouls on him before he limped off to a standing ovation near the end.
We've beaten 2 of the top 4 premier teams so far in the Cup.
Hopefully we draw Treaty in the semi final.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/09/2022, 7:04 AM
Fair play to Waterford and Treaty for knocking out Premier opponents. Waterford's win is some result. If Waterford avoid the Derry or Rovers, their momentum could get them to the final.
If Waterford win the cup, they deny Pat's the final euro spot. Revenge for a few years back. If Treaty win the cup, Pat's will again benefit from a club falling short of the required 3 years.
Pats will finish ahead of Dundalk based on current form
17/09/2022, 7:11 AM
Yep. Strange that a club whose defence was the best in the league for the first half of the season is now collapsing due to a porous back line (13 conceded in the last 6). This high back line only seems to have become an issue in the past few games for whatever reason.
total hoofball
17/09/2022, 7:36 AM
I called it out on this forum a couple of months ago after Shels' third match against Dundalk that they looked a bang average team in all those games despite them in 2nd spot at the time. I'm not surprised they are limping home now and may not qualify for Europe SOD overachieved with them in that first half of the season I would strongly expect Pats to take 3rd spot
legendz
17/09/2022, 7:37 AM
Pats will finish ahead of Dundalk based on current formThey might. Pat's at home to Derry and Dundalk at home to Drogheda are interesting fixtures after the international break, before Dundalk host Pat's.
17/09/2022, 7:44 AM
I called it out on this forum a couple of months ago after Shels' third match against Dundalk that they looked a bang average team in all those games despite them in 2nd spot at the time.t
Yeah, I said the same after they drew in the Bowl in May, but still, their form has definitely turned.
Whether it's the lad Connolly (?) who's gone or a couple of injuries meaning their thin squad is now getting stretched or teams have figured out how to play against them, I don't know. But with Pat's in form, Dundalk are suddenly an outside bet for third, having been solidly second most of the season
ToberonaTornado
17/09/2022, 8:08 AM
Yeah, I said the same after they drew in the Bowl in May, but still, their form has definitely turned.
Whether it's the lad Connolly (?) who's gone or a couple of injuries meaning their thin squad is now getting stretched or teams have figured out how to play against them, I don't know. But with Pat's in form, Dundalk are suddenly an outside bet for third, having been solidly second most of the season
Connolly was the jam that held the Dundalk defence together no doubt and nobody stood up after he left or took on his role or job. SO'd has thrown every df'r into that role and not one stuck!
Can 1 player make a defensive back four?
17/09/2022, 10:46 AM
It's been quite noticeable how sh!t Harps defence has been without Dave Webster holding it together this season, so yeah I'd say one player can definitely make a back four.
17/09/2022, 11:26 AM
Connolly was the jam that held the Dundalk defence together no doubt and nobody stood up after he left or took on his role or job. SO'd has thrown every df'r into that role and not one stuck!
Can 1 player make a defensive back four?
Connolly was huge loss but Boyle is no kid so you'd have hoped he would take on some leadership. People often wondered what Gartland offered and was seen by some as a liability but it was his ability to organise the defence (ie Boyle) that was the strength across the back 4 with Gannon Massey. Oh to have Massey still in the squad as he also was a leader when needing someone to step up.
Getting a few of the injured lads back at the right time, heading in to the run in could just save the season but its an outsider bet. If there is any silver lining its laying bare how thin the squad really is with the likes of McMillan no longer able to step in.
lf Derry don't win the cup from here it's a monumental collapse by the only good team in the league.
Just to clarify here , and you should know better, there are no good teams in the league.
Finishing 2nd in the LOI with the standard it is at atm (garbage) is most certainly not a good team.
placid casual
17/09/2022, 4:09 PM
Just to clarify here , and you should know better, there are no good teams in the league.
Finishing 2nd in the LOI with the standard it is at atm (garbage) is most certainly not a good team.
It must really suck to be you. You have my sympathies.
ontheotherhand
17/09/2022, 5:29 PM
Any team that finishes ahead of the team you proclaimed so vociferously to be the only good team in the league would be a good team surely?
You do have one final chance at redemption in fairness. The league is there for Derry to win. The smart move might have been to disengage until they do (and you did try!). Then you'd have no need to contradict yourself at all.
Imagine how satisfying it would have been to just dance back in and reply to your earlier post? It's a shame.
ger121
18/09/2022, 10:13 AM
Big day today for both clubs. Lose and your season is effectively over. We’ve a good record there but no idea how this one goes.
Bohtastic
18/09/2022, 1:10 PM
10 minutes in. 500 away fans waiting to get in.
Overheard a Garda saying Shels oversold tickets. Delayed by the most ridiculous Garda diversion that brought us halfway to Santry
Comical.
joey B
18/09/2022, 1:24 PM
1 nil Shels ,lovely goal from Jack Moylan,Bohs will regret not holding to him….
joey B
18/09/2022, 1:42 PM
2 nil Shels,Bohs absolutely shocking…
Bohtastic
18/09/2022, 1:54 PM
Our performance is absolutely septic.
No shape, no composure on the ball. only Burt doing anything. Can't see us turning it around. Finish the season now.
joey B
18/09/2022, 2:39 PM
3 nil Shels,Sean Boyd shows some unbelievable flashes sometimes ,that goal case in point
ger121
18/09/2022, 3:04 PM
Shambles of a season over.
sbgawa
18/09/2022, 4:06 PM
still think it was riddiculous to allow long sign 8 or 9 players in the july window and then sack him.
Massive oppurtunity now for Rovers or Derry to get into what looks like a weakish semi final draw.
Famous last words :)
ger121
18/09/2022, 4:22 PM
still think it was riddiculous to allow long sign 8 or 9 players in the july window and then sack him.
Massive oppurtunity now for Rovers or Derry to get into what looks like a weakish semi final draw.
Famous last words :)
It was ridiculous. Based on the first 20 minutes of this game, you won’t be long following us out of the cup.
18/09/2022, 4:24 PM
Just watching Derry game .McGonigle breaks a goal drought dating back to May and he gets into double figures now.
sbgawa
18/09/2022, 4:26 PM
It was ridiculous. Based on the first 20 minutes of this game, you won’t be long following us out of the cup.
You could be right. Rovers need to kop on and prioritise the league over Europe in the next few weeks. Nothing more important imo. Closely followed by the cup and it looks like we are blowing that.
sbgawa
18/09/2022, 4:38 PM
Shocking deciosn by the ref. Game over
placid casual
18/09/2022, 4:41 PM
It's difficult to know what's more derisory.
Patchings peno or Rob Hennessys existence on earth
Shocking deciosn by the ref. Game over
Not quite...long way to go yet
MichaelCherrito
18/09/2022, 4:42 PM
Derry have been a penalty away from being tagged as Cup favourites.
Patching hit bar for the second time today, though.
sbgawa
18/09/2022, 4:44 PM
Top two teams in a fai cup quarter final and the fai put probably the worst ref in the league in charge.
18/09/2022, 4:52 PM
Are we looking at upsets in every quarterfinal so?
ontheotherhand
18/09/2022, 4:52 PM
Hennessy has been absolutely awful every time I've seen him. We are very poor again today but he's ruined the game now.
ontheotherhand
18/09/2022, 4:53 PM
Not sure this is an upset? Derry would have been favourites to win at home.
18/09/2022, 4:53 PM
Well certainly they're the lower-placed of the two teams
ontheotherhand
18/09/2022, 4:57 PM
Well certainly they're the lower-placed of the two teams
I wish they were playing like it.
mcgonigle
18/09/2022, 4:58 PM
I dislike Hennessey as much as the next man but that's a peno and a red. Grace is the wrong side, clips McElenhy's heals and puts his forearm through his back
joey B
18/09/2022, 4:58 PM
Derry were favourites in the betting market just before the game fwiw…..
placid casual
18/09/2022, 4:59 PM
Dunno about that. I expected Treaty to beat ucd, shels to beat bohs and derry to beat Rovers. Only shock was dundalk but they've been abysmal the last couple of weeks so maybe that's no shock either.
Yossarian
18/09/2022, 5:02 PM
Do you think that the dundalk players emerged at kick off, saw the size of the away support and thought "well if they're not bothered, why should we"?
I wonder if the Rovers players in Derry thought the same.
bohsmug
18/09/2022, 5:11 PM
Honestly starting to look like the worst thing Long did in his reign was sign those players. Hope I'm wrong and some manager gets more out of them but they look awful. I would've been pro Long but he looks like he lost his mind with these signings.
sbgawa
18/09/2022, 5:13 PM
The rovers away support is a good reflection of what's happening on the pitch. In fairness most of the regular away supporters were in gent on Thursday.
18/09/2022, 5:20 PM
Dunno about that. I expected Treaty to beat ucd, shels to beat bohs and derry to beat Rovers. Only shock was dundalk but they've been abysmal the last couple of weeks so maybe that's no shock either.
I don't know - we were in good form, winning away to Galway and then beating Dundalk
Probably helped that the lower-ranked sides were all at home