View Full Version : 2022 FAI Cup
Pages :
[
7]
sbgawa
03/09/2022, 6:41 PM
Tell Ronan Finn, Greg bolger , Conan Byrne and dozens of other top loi players who when they retire have an education to fall back on that UCD aren't good for the league..
Kilkenny , monaghan, mervue, sporting fingal , salt Hill, the list is a long one if you want to see who has less to offer
colonelwest
04/09/2022, 1:34 PM
One of the greatest indictments of the dysfunctional regime at UCD is that they have no student fan base. They have no interest in marketing and promo, no interest in filling the place with their own fans, which is badly needed when they are in the 1st Division. They do an utterly poxy job at social media, last night being the perfect example, no team sheet posted pre match, so waiting for LOITV 2 minutes before the ko to find out who is playing. Its simply a personal hobby for a bunch of old geezers and a small number of staff who have controlled UCD AFC for years now, who like to win the Collingwood Cup, and appear answerable to nobody. Even Myler is in on it now, the background to his original appointment being subject of much chatter in the stands at the time. Nice cosy set up for all. Must try harder.
It always baffled me that the club wasn't more integrated with the college off the pitch with regard to student involvement for course credits, it's an easy thing to do and seems an absolute no brainer. Yes there's a production line of players who leave with a degree in their back pocket etc. but there's a massive production line of students from multimedia & film production to fitness, nutrition, physiotherapy and so on that in theory should be mad to get a bit of practical experience as part of their courses.
04/09/2022, 1:52 PM
I think they've every right to be in LOI, plenty of begrudgers who simply slag them off for being different and not always nearly bankrupt (jealousy), the model is perfect for Irish football, especially 1st Div. As to why they got into LOI, its a perfect way to attract high quality young players who want to get a decent education at the same time as playing top level ball. At least it was, but I think they've shot themselves in the foot on that this last couple of seasons, so many of the players aren't UCD students these days, and other clubs have wised up by offering to pay college/leaving cert grind school fees and uni fees for some of the players they might have originally lost to UCD u17s U19s. I actually wouldn't be surprised to see UCD pulling back from LOI at some stage, they seem disinterested compared to previous years, and they have zero recruitment/scouting policy outside of Myler sucking up to Rovers and signing their underage castoffs. With smart commercially minded people in charge their, they could have a brilliant small stadium developed, a full house every week. They have a huge catchment area not catering for LOI in any way.
It is incredibly challenging to get people interested in the club. Back when the FAI was providing grants we had a full time Club Promotion Officer, who had fairly extensive experience in marketing sports goods, for at least a couple of seasons. He tried to attack both angles in the local catchment area and the college. I hammered away as a volunteer postering and trying to engage with the Students Union and there's just zero interest. People here don't feel a connection to their college in the way people would in America and don't feel any inclination to attend games just because they attend UCD for a number of years. Thursday and Saturday kick offs were attempted over the years. I'm not saying the Committee are flawless and I am sure they could do with fresh impetus and ideas but what looks like lack of effort is the result of decades of seeing all attempts to boost attendances come to no fruition. The lack of supporters and volunteers in the first instance also makes it hard to harness any volunteer manpower to carry out any promotion of the club. It's a viscous circle.
EatYerGreens
04/09/2022, 2:47 PM
We got into the LoI the same way ye got in - we asked and there was no-one else interested really.
That's fairly disingenuous. Longford came into the LOI for the 1984/5 season as stage one of a two stage process of significant expansion of the league leading up to the introduction of the second tier in 1985/6. And they were a fairly obvious choice, as they had a good record over the years in the LSL and had made numerous FAI Cup appearances - including reaching the quarter-final in 1969. UCD, on the other hand, got into the LOI at short notice when Cork Celtic resigned in 1979. They were selected through a cobination of being an LOI B Division team (where they struggled), and having attracted a lot of attention with their grand footballing tours of the world most Summers.
So one joining was a planned process in which teams with decent records were elevated. The other was essentially a case of grabbing the first club they thought of to fill an unexpected gap.
EatYerGreens
04/09/2022, 2:53 PM
It is incredibly challenging to get people interested in the club. Back when the FAI was providing grants we had a full time Club Promotion Officer, who had fairly extensive experience in marketing sports goods, for at least a couple of seasons. He tried to attack both angles in the local catchment area and the college. I hammered away as a volunteer postering and trying to engage with the Students Union and there's just zero interest. People here don't feel a connection to their college in the way people would in America and don't feel any inclination to attend games just because they attend UCD for a number of years. Thursday and Saturday kick offs were attempted over the years. I'm not saying the Committee are flawless and I am sure they could do with fresh impetus and ideas but what looks like lack of effort is the result of decades of seeing all attempts to boost attendances come to no fruition. The lack of supporters and volunteers in the first instance also makes it hard to harness any volunteer manpower to carry out any promotion of the club. It's a viscous circle.
Ireland is definotely at the opposite end of the spectrum from America when it comes to emotionl connection to one's alma matre. But you'd think that this is something the uni would be seeking to change. They've got students in their hands for 3-4yrs, and a lot of them will go on to forge good careers, make good money etc. It is completely in the university's interests to strengthen the bond those people feel towards UCD - if only to maximie the ability to tap them for money, internships, sponsorship, pro-bono help etc later down the line.
04/09/2022, 3:08 PM
That's fairly disingenuous.
Not disingenuous at all. We were both LoI B clubs - one aim of the LoI B being to support potential new LoI clubs. We also had numerous FAI Cup appearances as a non-league side. We didn't struggle in the LoI B - we were promoted from eighth, which was a bad season, but had been top half each of the previous six years, and had been title contenders in 1975/76. Longford's record in the B division wasn't dissimilar to ours.
Can you show me why you think our summer tours had any impact on our election? UCD were always a fairly well-regarded club down the years, as evidenced by being elected to the LoI in 1922 and being admitted to the 1934/35 FAI Cup as the leading fully-amateur side in the country.
And while we were elected to fill the gap left by Cork, you could argue Longford were elected to fill the gap that Cork's re-election brought about.
EatYerGreens
04/09/2022, 4:23 PM
Can you show me why you think our summer tours had any impact on our election?
The tours gave UCD a glamour and high profile beyond a 'normal' LOI B club, and made the club seem ambitious and progressive. ANY Irish club going on tours in that era to the USA, Canada, India, Hong Kong,Thailand, Indonesia, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Macao, Kenya,Sudan, Malaysia, Australia, Jordan and Norway (almost all prior to joining the LOI) would have been fairly big news and very impressive - never mind a B Diviison club doing it. UCD even became the first western football team allowed to play in China (1976). There is no way that this wouldn't have been noticed or have impressed people within the Irish game, which was pretty shambolic at the time.
UCD were always a fairly well-regarded club down the years, as evidenced by being elected to the LoI in 1922 and being admitted to the 1934/35 FAI Cup as the leading fully-amateur side in the country.
Pretty much anyone who wanted to join the league in the early 1920s was let in sooner or later. UCD didn't exactly cover themselves in glory by seeking membership, getting it, and then realising that the students wouldn't be back when the season started in August (d'oh!). And then, after causing everything to be delayed until September to accommodate them, still dropping out at the 11th hour anyway (leading to a further delay). The club was lucky memories of that rigmarole didn't extend to the 1970s :p
And while we were elected to fill the gap left by Cork, you could argue Longford were elected to fill the gap that Cork's re-election brought about.
That doesn't make a lot of sense tbh. They could just have left it one more year before letting Cork City in along with everyone else for the 1985/6. The idea that Longford were just ballast for Cork City is seriously disingenous. In reality they needed the numbers in the 1984/5 league to then be able to relegate enough teams to the new second tier below whilst keeping the new PD at 12 teams. Adding 2 clubs as phase 1 of the expansion was a useful stepping stone and made it less of a huge 'big bang' in 1985-6. Interesting to note that, whilst half the teams added in 1985/6 didn't remain in the game (Monaghan, EMFA, Newcastle United - Cobh too if you include their years out), both Longford and Cork City have remained despite only one year separatig all the accessionss. Which suggests a big influx may not be the most enduirng way to expand
04/09/2022, 4:40 PM
Ah, so you're saying we got elected for being a well-run club? But that's also evident from our relatively sound performances in the LoI B (where, despite what you think, we didn't struggle) and general club growth in the previous decade under a competent, progressive head in the Doc. So I don't know why you focus on the first part of that when really it's just a symptom of the latter, more important, factors.
Ultimately though, UCD and Longford were elected to the league in very similar circumstances. We had a very similar history, crossing paths many times going back to our first meeting in 1935. We were both elected from the LoI B, a common source for new LoI clubs. The only other non-B teams in the LoI B when we were elected were Trinity College, CYM, Belgrove and Tullamore, and we'd finished ahead of the latter two. Longford finished behind Belgrove, but ahead of CYM, Tullamore, Trinity and St Brendan's Hospital. All remarkably similar.
So when a gap came about, we both put our hands up and got in. Nothing disingenuous about that at all.
EatYerGreens
04/09/2022, 4:46 PM
Ah, so you're saying we got elected for being a well-run club? But that's also evident from our relatively sound performances in the LoI B (where, despite what you think, we didn't struggle) and general club growth in the previous decade under a competent, progressive head in the Doc. So I don't know why you focus on the first part of that when really it's just a symptom of the latter, more important, factors.
Ultimately though, UCD and Longford were elected to the league in very similar circumstances. We had a very similar history, crossing paths many times going back to our first meeting in 1935. We were both elected from the LoI B, a common source for new LoI clubs. The only other non-B teams in the LoI B when we were elected were Trinity College, CYM, Belgrove and Tullamore, and we'd finished ahead of the latter two. Longford finished behind Belgrove, but ahead of CYM, Tullamore, Trinity and St Brendan's Hospital. All remarkably similar.
So when a gap came about, we both put our hands up and got in. Nothing disingenuous about that at all.
We'll have to agree to disagree - because as stated previously there was one key difference. Longford joined as part of a planned process of expanding the league. UCD joined at the last minute as the league needed to plug a gap after Cork Celtic were expelled at the end of July 1979. That is undeniably two very different sets of circumstances. The question remians as to whether or not UCD would ever have joined the league had Cork Celtic not been hoofed out at the last minute. Which, of course, we'll never know.
04/09/2022, 4:54 PM
That's not a key difference at all.
There league wanted a new member and a long-standing, ambitious non-league club was chosen in both cases. Still there's nothing disingenuous about that fact
Also, there was no particular reason to expand the league in two steps. More likely is that Cork/Longford were elected to replace Cork/Thurles, who had withdrawn two years earlier. They could easily have just relegated two sides in 84, elected six (including Cork and Longford) to the First Division and carried on. But why tell Cork that you're not ready to have them back in the league yet and could they wait another year? It makes more sense to get a Cork side back ASAP.
(And a proper pyramid would make even more sense, but that can be taken as read)
Have RTE picked a game for TV?
What would anyone's preference be?
Shels v Bohs, a tasty local Dublin derby rivalry.
Derry v Shams, probably the best two teams in the league.
Waterford v Dundalk, can the Blues follow on from their St. Pats win.
Treaty v UCD, a possible upset or not!
I
total hoofball
05/09/2022, 12:58 PM
Both Derry/Rovers and Shels/Bohs are scheduled for the Sunday 18th so unlikely RTE will show those live on that day
Shels/Bohs has been moved from the usual Friday night at Tolka Park to Sunday 2pm thanks to Garth Brooks, not sure why kick off is so early and clashes with EPL games
05/09/2022, 2:06 PM
Derry v Rovers is being shown on RTE.
05/09/2022, 2:37 PM
Derry v Rovers is being shown on RTE.
At an annoying KO time of 5 o'clock.
Would rather it was earlier or later. Still will sell out, mind.
Dermobohs
05/09/2022, 6:06 PM
Both Derry/Rovers and Shels/Bohs are scheduled for the Sunday 18th so unlikely RTE will show those live on that day
Shels/Bohs has been moved from the usual Friday night at Tolka Park to Sunday 2pm thanks to Garth Brooks, not sure why kick off is so early and clashes with EPL games
AGS decision, they won’t have anyone available as they’re all “policing “ the gig in croke pk/ they don’t want bohs and shels commoners mixing with the salt o the earth country folk exiting the event of the decade at culchie central.
14/09/2022, 8:21 PM
Seen an advert for tickets on sale for FAI Cup final in November.
Tickets starting at €20 this year. Weren't they a tenner for ages now?
14/09/2022, 8:31 PM
Yeah that sounds right Nigel!
ger121
14/09/2022, 9:01 PM
Could have sworn it was more than €10 last year.
2 Year Contract
14/09/2022, 9:45 PM
Yeah they were €15 for adults last year
15/09/2022, 12:37 PM
Derry-Rovers sold out this weekend.
Haven't seen this sort of scramble for tickets in a while. Facebook is flooded with ones looking for spares.
There's even some random scammers on trying to sell tickets for ridiculous prices, often in stands that don't exist.
16/09/2022, 8:31 AM
They've been on sale for months now, I bought premium tickets months ago. Good to see the FAI doing this but advertising could still be better
blueblood
16/09/2022, 1:06 PM
Anybody know if there's extra time and penalties in the quarter finals?
16/09/2022, 2:59 PM
Anybody know if there's extra time and penalties in the quarter finals?
It is. I understand the reasons, but I liked the concept of having replays.
EatYerGreens
16/09/2022, 3:45 PM
Replays are a hassle at the best of times. And given the cost of fuel etc these days, an unhelpful expense. Plus - when would Rovers fit a replay into their schedule if they needed one after Sunday? It would have a knock-on effect on league games etc and affect even more teams than just them and Derry.
blueblood
16/09/2022, 4:02 PM
That's good so, it probably suits the underdog, hopefully.
joey B
16/09/2022, 7:33 PM
Both Premier division teams losing,UCD 2 down and Waterford ahead after going 1 down....
NeverFeltBetter
16/09/2022, 7:34 PM
Treaty two up at half time from a well struck Curren penalty and a UCD defensive error that Curren pounced on. Not what I was expecting at all. We've played the better football going forward, Willie Armstrong doing well down the right, lot of hoofing from the Students to no real effect so far. Can't presume anything for the second half though, we'll tire quicker. Looks like a decent crowd, relatively speaking, the stand about 4/5ths full. UCD have brought about 15 or so?
The Bowler
16/09/2022, 7:44 PM
Treaty two up at half time from a well struck Curren penalty and a UCD defensive error that Curren pounced on. Not what I was expecting at all. We've played the better football going forward, Willie Armstrong doing well down the right, lot of hoofing from the Students to no real effect so far. Can't presume anything for the second half though, we'll tire quicker. Looks like a decent crowd, relatively speaking, the stand about 4/5ths full. UCD have brought about 15 or so? Regrettably for the students, this is about where we are at. Got very lucky in the last round when Galway keeper threw us a freebie in the last minute, and we stole a win against Dundalk last week, but we've been hoofing the ball for nearly 3 seasons now. Myler has his own PR machine in full swing these days, but he needs more than a PR machine to cover up his failings. Fingers crossed for an unlikely 2nd half revival
kksaints
16/09/2022, 7:48 PM
Good game between Waterford and Dundalk in the RSC. Dundalk's goal was bizarre, long range shot from Doyle, keeper saves onto the crossbar but the ball spins backwards over the line when it bounces on the turf. Waterford have been good and their attack is causing Dundalk's backline a good few problems. Still up for grabs.
16/09/2022, 7:50 PM
the 2 left in the cup after tonight irrespective of other games this weekend will be thinking a final is possible with the rub of the draw and all 4 on Sunday thinking about winning it!
16/09/2022, 7:51 PM
Good game between Waterford and Dundalk in the RSC. Dundalk's goal was bizarre, long range shot from Doyle, keeper saves onto the crossbar but the ball spins backwards over the line when it bounces on the turf. Waterford have been good and their attack is causing Dundalk's backline a good few problems. Still up for grabs.
If that had happened in Oriel.....
The Bowler
16/09/2022, 7:57 PM
3-0 Treaty, that's one semi finalist sorted
NeverFeltBetter
16/09/2022, 7:57 PM
Curren completes his hat trick with a rocket into the top corner. Looking good now.
joey B
16/09/2022, 8:14 PM
3-1 Waterford,Dundalks season unravelling.......
placid casual
16/09/2022, 8:22 PM
Do you think that the dundalk players emerged at kick off, saw the size of the away support and thought "well if they're not bothered, why should we"?
NeverFeltBetter
16/09/2022, 8:22 PM
Armstrong with a well deserved fourth. There was a period of five minutes when UCD were really piling on the pressure, Wynn made one great save, but when that was weathered it seemed done and dusted.
16/09/2022, 8:27 PM
UCD beats us, Treaty hammers UCD, good job we didnt draw Treaty....
Again cant see any of the game but have we been caught out by a ball or 2 over the top of a high defensive line?
culloty82
16/09/2022, 8:29 PM
A Limerick team hasn't reached the decider in exactly 40 years, while it's been 18 for Waterford, so just one lucky draw away from a novel finalist!
joey B
16/09/2022, 8:31 PM
UCD beats us, Treaty hammers UCD, good job we didnt draw Treaty....
Again cant see any of the game but have we been caught out by a ball or 2 over the top of a high defensive line?
3rd goal was a cracker anyway,nothing to do with high lines....
ger121
16/09/2022, 8:33 PM
Imagine if Treaty or Waterford draw each other in the semi.
16/09/2022, 8:36 PM
All credit to Waterford, but Dundalk have been very poor.
NeverFeltBetter
16/09/2022, 8:41 PM
UCD got a well worked consolation, and huffed and puffed a bit in the last few minutes, but Treaty saw it out. Brilliant performance, all over the pitch. More like that and we'd be chasing promotion at the top of the table, not the middle.
Getting to a cup semi so soon after the founding of the new club is a great achievement, even if the draws have been fortunate for us. Praying for Waterford in the semi. Aside from the better chance of winning, a FD team in the final would be a great novelty.
16/09/2022, 8:45 PM
Maybe controversial enough in the end, six minutes added on in the RSC, Dundalk scored and Waterford made a sub inside stoppage time, but just the six minutes were played, nothing extra added.
Well done to both Waterford and Treaty. Good for the First Division clubs.
Funny if Treaty go and win the cup and can't play in Europe.
joey B
16/09/2022, 8:47 PM
Great for Treaty in only their 2nd season!
placid casual
16/09/2022, 8:48 PM
Dundalk and Pat's hoping one if Derry or Rovers win the cup, or it could be squeaky bum time for them in terms of Europe.. We'll done wahherford, the 3rd goal was a belter. Fatty Ward is a cup jinx 😂😂
16/09/2022, 8:49 PM
Do you think that the dundalk players emerged at kick off, saw the size of the away support and thought "well if they're not bothered, why should we"?
Nah, Dundalk have just been really poor of late, for whatever reason.
D24Saint
16/09/2022, 9:00 PM
Dundalk and Pat's hoping one if Derry or Rovers win the cup, or it could be squeaky bum time for them in terms of Europe.. We'll done wahherford, the 3rd goal was a belter. Fatty Ward is a cup jinx 😂😂
Id be confident of getting third in our current form. A huge game in Oriel next month pending of course.
16/09/2022, 9:01 PM
Watched online. Super night in Limerick. Treaty were up for it, were sharper all over the pitch, UCD offered very little for most of the game. Well-deserved win.
sidewayspasser
16/09/2022, 9:01 PM
Funny if Treaty go and win the cup and can't play in Europe.
Are you sure they can't? Does the rule say the club has to have been in existence for at least 3 years, or does it say they have to have played for at least 3 seasons? Limerick people might correct me on this, but weren't they founded more or less straight after Limerick FC dropped out of the league, but only applied for an LOI license a year later?
16/09/2022, 9:05 PM
Are you sure they can't? Does the rule say the club has to have been in existence for at least 3 years, or does it say they have to have played for at least 3 seasons? Limerick people might correct me on this, but weren't they founded more or less straight after Limerick FC dropped out of the league, but only applied for an LOI license a year later?
You'd have to presume it's three years of licenced football behind them.