19/03/2021, 8:54 AM
Save;
94/96
Worst;
10/11
19/03/2021, 3:45 PM
May as well throw in my two cents too...
I do like a good dash of orange, so I'll reprieve -
94/95
1978/83
Never liked the shamrock crest, and some of the newer kits have a green that's gone too dark (you can see that quite well on the chart of kits that was linked earlier actually), so my worst is 1985, followed by 1984 and 2012. (I'll let 1963 off the hook because it was too far back for people to know what they were doing)
19/03/2021, 4:07 PM
Reprieve:
07, 78-83, 2020
Reprieve
78-83
1994/95
Burn for Eternity
2000-01
2010/11
CraftyToePoke
19/03/2021, 6:41 PM
Reprieve 2012.
20/03/2021, 8:56 AM
OK, this is a bit ridiculous. I suggested three kits per poster in order to get a good few votes in. I've given 3-2-1 points where posters voted for three kits, and a solitary point where posters voted for only one kit (the same as in the Best Goal groups, where giving full points to a solitary vote kind of skewed things a bit)
And we've ended up with four kits jointly placed on 9 points for the reprieve, and two kits jointly declared the worst! Worst is shared between 2000/01 and 1984, while the last spot in the last 16 is a tie between 1994-96, 2007, 1978-83 and 2012.
The tie-break I mentioned at the start was that my vote would be removed (as an effective casting vote when none was needed) And that does clear matters up, as my top three all tied for the reprieve spot, while I also voted for one, but not both, of the kits tied for worst.
So the Euro 2012 kit gets a reprieve and will take its place in the last 16 (where it will be kept apart from the 1994 kit) -
https://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2016/05/soccer-euro-2012-italy-ireland-3-390x285.jpg
And the kit foot.ie has voted as the worst ever is, slightly surprisingly I think cos it's not a terrible kit, the 2002 WCQ kit.
https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF56/059794.jpg
Check back here on Monday morning as the last 16 gets underway.
20/03/2021, 9:08 AM
And I've just done the draw for the last 16, and of course 2012 came out against 1994.
So I threw that in the bin, re-did the draw - and of course 2012 came out against 1994...
Third time did it though!
CraftyToePoke
20/03/2021, 4:45 PM
So the Euro 2012 kit gets a reprieve and will take its place in the last 16 (where it will be kept apart from the 1994 kit)
Tournament dark horse, right there :)
22/03/2021, 8:43 AM
OK - we start with round 2 so. No second chances any more. Once you're out, you're out.
To kick things off, it's the 2005 kit up against the 2013-14 kit, the one worn by Conor Sammon when up against Gerard Pique.
Usual stuff - this one will run 24 hours, and another bout up this evening. The last 16 will last this week, and then I might slow it down to one bout a day for the quarters next week, and the winner decided the following week.
https://img.rasset.ie/00005ff0-1600.jpg
https://i2-prod.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article3658374.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/inpho_00817905.jpg[/QUOTE]
22/03/2021, 8:52 AM
The kit you call 2005.
Fixer82
22/03/2021, 9:11 AM
Not crazy about either but I’ll go for 2013
22/03/2021, 9:21 AM
I think 2005 too, not much in it really.
22/03/2021, 9:23 AM
I'm also Team 2005 but it's just emphasises how many mediocre kits we've had. They're both forgettable.
DeLorean
22/03/2021, 9:26 AM
2013-14 for me. Good times - Pique didn't know where Sammon was, Sammon didn't know where the goal was.
https://media.balls.ie/uploads/2013/06/SAMMON.gif
22/03/2021, 9:46 AM
2005 thanks
CraftyToePoke
22/03/2021, 10:54 AM
elatedscum
22/03/2021, 11:14 AM
2013-14
22/03/2021, 11:52 AM
13/14.
22/03/2021, 12:07 PM
I like the 05 kit. The little green detail on the shirt adds subtle character.
backstothewall
22/03/2021, 12:52 PM
Eirambler
22/03/2021, 2:20 PM
2005. Neither a classic though.
22/03/2021, 7:12 PM
Getting forgetful in my old age this week!
Match 2 in the last 16 is an interesting one - it's the current away kit up against the kit it was inspired by. Can imitation possible beat the real thing?
https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Os2_F8Ndgnw/X5qNBm44m_I/AAAAAAACjFM/0MghkOaaVpg7kirnp8w6FzcNW5FJ6pDSwCLcBGAsYHQ/s738/ireland-2020-21-kits-4.jpg
https://img.rasset.ie/000ab4a6-642.jpg
CraftyToePoke
22/03/2021, 7:26 PM
Those three stripes swing it
Eirambler
22/03/2021, 7:35 PM
Definitely the original - 1990.
22/03/2021, 7:35 PM
2005 in the first one and the Kevin Moran one in the second one for me.
Those three stripes swing it
Yep. 1990 here too.
22/03/2021, 8:10 PM
The original no question
22/03/2021, 8:25 PM
1990. I don't think this is nostalgia: it's just a nicer shirt.
DeLorean
22/03/2021, 8:39 PM
Razors left peg
22/03/2021, 8:50 PM
Current kit, just to be contrary
Eminence Grise
22/03/2021, 9:06 PM
2005 and 1990.
22/03/2021, 9:26 PM
The 1990 one is better.
backstothewall
23/03/2021, 12:51 AM
I was going to say current kit. Just because I thought someone should. But Razor's Left Peg has already done that.
So 1990.
23/03/2021, 7:52 AM
A great tussle in the first match, but it's the 2005 shirt that pulls away in the second half to win 9-5 and be our first quarter-finalist.
I could put Italia 90 v child of Italia out of its misery, but I'll play by the rules and keep it open until the evening.
In the meantime though, paging CraftyToePoke to the thread as the reprieved Euro 2012 kit makes its entrance. And again it's drawn a finals kit, this time the Euro 2016 kit.
https://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2016/05/soccer-euro-2012-italy-ireland-3-390x285.jpg
https://cdn.punditarena.com/uploads/2017/06/inpho_01076486.jpg
23/03/2021, 7:52 AM
Is there a way of resizing images btw so it doesn't appear that I'm blatantly encouraging votes for 2016 (which I'm not!)?
23/03/2021, 8:20 AM
Tempted to abstain because I don't like either of them. 2016 maybe just edges it (because of the massive picture! Maybe.).
23/03/2021, 8:30 AM
1990 and 2016
23/03/2021, 8:48 AM
2016. 2012 puts me in mind of dungarees with one of the straps undone.
Is there a way of resizing images btw so it doesn't appear that I'm blatantly encouraging votes for 2016 (which I'm not!)?
Yeah. It takes a minute, but it's not too bad.
Resize test:
https://i.imgur.com/67OjqVF.jpg
That seems to have worked.
Save the image to your computer. Resize it in MS Paint or another tool. Save. Upload the resized image on imgur. Use the imgur version in your post.
DeLorean
23/03/2021, 10:13 AM
2012 easily enough for me. It was supposed to make my 'retrieve list' actually, not sure what happened there.
Much better memories of the 2016 kit of course.
Fixer82
23/03/2021, 10:13 AM
23/03/2021, 10:32 AM
2012 for me too. I'm appalled at (and marking the card of) all of you who vote differently. Though I enjoyed the dungarees quip.
23/03/2021, 10:39 AM
Makes sense that the Limerick skids would like the half-strapped dungaree look.
23/03/2021, 10:44 AM
Makes sense that the Limerick skids would like the half-strapped dungaree look.
I hate Dexy's Midnight Runners though. 'Come On Eileen' might be the worst rock song ever written, beyond dislikable and easy to despise - the Izzy Akinade of melody.
23/03/2021, 10:47 AM
Harsh!
I remember singing a version of it at UCD games. This was when we were in the Premier and ye were in the First, so ye wouldn't have been there to have yere ears offended :)
Come on...College...too loo rye ay...come on College...too loo rye ay
elatedscum
23/03/2021, 11:15 AM
CraftyToePoke
23/03/2021, 11:24 AM
In the meantime though, paging CraftyToePoke to the thread as the reprieved Euro 2012 kit makes its entrance. And again it's drawn a finals kit, this time the Euro 2016 kit.
You're not helping me out here with the two images Mr Pineapple Sir, an iconic high of the sides history Vs three lads wishing they were anywhere else.
2012 please. That thing oozes pure magnificence.
23/03/2021, 11:33 AM
Have to be honest here and say I thought the Italy game was the only time we wore it, and that was 90 minutes of our players wishing they were somewhere else.
But it seems we did wear it in the friendlies either side of Euro 2012, against Hungary and Serbia. 0-0 draws so mundane I had forgotten about them entirely. (Possibly travelling the world at the time didn't help)
I'll split with you - I prefer the 2016 kit because I think 2012 is too dark a shade of green; the same problem we saw in the home kit comp. But I won't vote. How's that? :)
backstothewall
23/03/2021, 1:43 PM
CraftyToePoke
23/03/2021, 1:46 PM
But I won't vote. How's that? :)
As much as I would like to say no no, you vote away my good man, I'm going to go along with that & good man ;)
Fixer82
23/03/2021, 1:47 PM
Amazed at the disdain for 2016 which was one of our finest away kits in years in my opinion.
The green hoops were different and classy
2012 is just a white shirt with a green stripe running down the left tit.