View Full Version : Evan Ferguson F Brighton b.2004
31/01/2023, 9:13 AM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/early-prognosis-positive-for-brightons-irish-striker-evan-ferguson-after-horror-challenge-by-fabinho-42320514.html
Dan McDonnell's article in the Indo says it's not a long term injury. Short term story is still being assessed.
Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PMGOL), the body that oversees referees, have subsequently admitted that the Brazilian should have received a red card for a studs above the ankle tackle from behind.
Eirambler
31/01/2023, 9:19 AM
I suppose that could mean he's still out for March but I'd take that compared to how things looked on Sunday evening.
Diggs246
31/01/2023, 12:13 PM
game v France is 2 months away
He will be grand unless it's a long term injury. Which it appears not to be
BOOMSHAKALAKA
31/01/2023, 12:30 PM
Lads, we're going to beat France and Ferguson is going to score. Even with Kenny in charge. You heard it here first.
Olé Olé
31/01/2023, 5:31 PM
As if we needed any more proof that the boy was super human - that tackle didn't injure him seriously? Amazing if true..
Still not over the fact it wasn't a red.
Lads, we're going to beat France and Ferguson is going to score. Even with Kenny in charge. You heard it here first.
Ok, what have you done with the real Boomshakalala ;) ?
On the main topic, I’m very uneasy about the level of expectation we’re heaping on a lad who is still just 18 years old. No doubt he has massive potential, but we shouldn’t necessarily be expecting him to be our saviour at this point. Of course, if he plays against France and makes no impact, no doubt we’ll have people coming forward saying he isnt all that.
Razors left peg
31/01/2023, 5:55 PM
Ok, what have you done with the real Boomshakalala ;) ?
On the main topic, I’m very uneasy about the level of expectation we’re heaping on a lad who is still just 18 years old. No doubt he has massive potential, but we shouldn’t necessarily be expecting him to be our saviour at this point. Of course, if he plays against France and makes no impact, no doubt we’ll have people coming forward saying he isnt all that.
I wouldnt be too concerned with the France game Tony, for me he is obviously good enough to play now but the exciting thing is that he is genuinely a talent who could develop into a World Class player in the not too distant future.
The expectation comes with the territory. All top class players deal with it and he seems like hes taking it all in his stride so far.
01/02/2023, 11:59 PM
Update on his injury. Thankfully looks like he’ll be back pretty quickly although B&HA haven’t confirmed a return timeline. A bruised bone (think Kingdom had that one weekend).
https://www.the42.ie/evan-ferguson-injury-5984989-Feb2023/?utm_source=shortlink
EVAN FERGUSON HAS not suffered any ligament damage in his knee with The42 learning that scans showed up bruising of the bone in the affected area.
Encouragingly, there has also been no structural damage to the 18-year-old’s knee and it now remains a possibility he will return to Premier League action in time to be available for Ireland’s opening Euro 2024 qualifier with France next month.
ontheotherhand
02/02/2023, 2:04 AM
Brilliant news all round. Brighton showing serious faith in him by not signing Vitinha. Also puts a lot of pressure on him but he seems to be dealing with it OK for now.
In a few years time, himself and Collins could bring us up a few levels all by themselves.
Razors left peg
02/02/2023, 2:34 AM
Brilliant news all round. Brighton showing serious faith in him by not signing Vitinha. Also puts a lot of pressure on him but he seems to be dealing with it OK for now.
In a few years time, himself and Collins could bring us up a few levels all by themselves.
Just on a side note, that Vitinha lad is from the same small town as my wife so I've watched a bit of him. He's not bad, but if he's a 30 Million player Ferguson is worth 100 million already
ontheotherhand
02/02/2023, 4:29 PM
Just on a side note, that Vitinha lad is from the same small town as my wife so I've watched a bit of him. He's not bad, but if he's a 30 Million player Ferguson is worth 100 million already
You have to 3x the value for a name like Vitinha though Razor.
Eirambler
02/02/2023, 4:54 PM
Introducing "Ferginho"
One season in the Portuguese premier league with Benfica
6 caps for Brazil Under 23s
Bought by Chelsea in summer 2023 for €120m
03/02/2023, 3:03 PM
Could play this weekend ...
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2023/0203/1353639-brighton-boss-reveals-ferguson-could-play-this-weekend/
03/02/2023, 3:14 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EjmOMc5XkAAfxHQ.jpg
BOOMSHAKALAKA
03/02/2023, 3:24 PM
This is brilliant news. Now, I hope they don't start him and he gets a rest but great to hear he's in contention.
Olé Olé
11/02/2023, 7:36 AM
https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3056555/palace-team-news-ferguson-and-mac-allister-available
In contention to play today so must be back and fit. Ferguson has done a few things in the last few weeks that have made me smile and shake my head in disbelief. Hoping today is another day like that.
AFunnyOldGame
24/02/2023, 10:51 AM
YBIG seem to have fallen hook line and sinker for the media’s line that the potential to deflect to England is a real one.
That kind of talk should really be made a ban-able offense at this stage. Does nothing but send the entire forum into a tangent over absolutely nothing.
24/02/2023, 1:15 PM
That kind of talk should really be made a ban-able offense at this stage. Does nothing but send the entire forum into a tangent over absolutely nothing.
Yeah, I'm tempted to do that, unless you can provide solid evidence. Maybe not go as far as an outright ban, just delete the posts.
24/02/2023, 1:29 PM
Eh?
Eirambler
24/02/2023, 2:39 PM
There is no evidence. That's not to say that there is no risk - he will, of course, have been approached about it by now, I think we can take that as a given.
But unless and until there is anything more to it than internet forum chat it's not really worth discussing too much further.
24/02/2023, 3:01 PM
I don't think anyone claimed there was evidence though?
Agree with the rest of your post of course.
elatedscum
24/02/2023, 3:52 PM
if i was evan, i'd remove all the pics of ireland and references to ireland from my insta - just for a day - just to see everyone absolutely lose their mind and then go back to normal like nothing happened
Razors left peg
24/02/2023, 4:05 PM
I don't think anyone claimed there was evidence though?
Agree with the rest of your post of course.
There was one guy on YBIG who claimed to have heard from a family member of Ferguson that discussions were happening. It is nonsense though, even just this week Richard Dunne was at some FAI event with Evans father Barry who works for the FAI, Dunne talking about Evan being the future of the Ireland team etc.
Im looking forward to it not showing up as "story" anywhere anymore after March.
24/02/2023, 4:07 PM
Yeah, touch wood March ends all this (like with Obafemi), but I'm still confused as to what tets was talking about!
seanfhear
24/02/2023, 4:20 PM
I really hope England don't take our Massive Ferguson.
Razors left peg
24/02/2023, 4:22 PM
I think Tets, like the rest of us is sick of the shyte talk and will ban anyone that says Ferguson might declare for England unless they can show the evidence that its happening.... Im not opposed to that idea at this stage ;)
24/02/2023, 4:33 PM
Yeah, touch wood March ends all this (like with Obafemi), but I'm still confused as to what tets was talking about!
I think Tets, like the rest of us is sick of the shyte talk and will ban anyone that says Ferguson might declare for England unless they can show the evidence that its happening.... Im not opposed to that idea at this stage ;)
Yep, This. Not a ban, but I'd delete anything without proof
I've added CSAD's post for clarity
24/02/2023, 4:48 PM
Ah ok - a pre-emptive warning seems fair. I didn't think anyone had actually claimed it here!
Razors left peg
24/02/2023, 5:02 PM
Ah ok - a pre-emptive warning seems fair. I didn't think anyone had actually claimed it here!
Nah, it was from the YBIG discussion. The guy that mentioned having the source of info there sparked 5 or 6 pages of crap
if i was evan, i'd remove all the pics of ireland and references to ireland from my insta - just for a day - just to see everyone absolutely lose their mind and then go back to normal like nothing happened
Oooh, you little scamp ;)
24/02/2023, 5:58 PM
Nah, it was from the YBIG discussion. The guy that mentioned having the source of info there sparked 5 or 6 pages of crap
Oh I know that, but preemptive here!
YBIG is a weird place where everyone seems far more over-reactionary then here! Not surprised it blew the place up
Yeah but can he do it on a (possibly) cold, wet night in (not) Stoke on a Tuesday night? Yes he can!
texidub
28/02/2023, 7:12 PM
Simple goal, but you have to know where to be and how to time your run. It's like he's been knocking them in for years!
28/02/2023, 7:55 PM
https://twitter.com/eurofootcom/status/1630656279721943044?s=20
A very simple goal and a simple run but well timed and in the right area to give himself the best possible chance. I hope we've the players playing capable of making those runs so he can get in behind like that
28/02/2023, 8:00 PM
Youngest Irish goalscorer in the FA Cup in 14 years
His run was lovely to watch in isolation of the play. The look, the acceleration and the finish. Nice.
Razors left peg
28/02/2023, 8:08 PM
Its amazing how good strikers seem to get "easy" goals. His movement is brilliant and it puts him in right place at right time
Demesne Lad
28/02/2023, 10:55 PM
Its amazing how good strikers seem to get "easy" goals. His movement is brilliant and it puts him in right place at right time
Reminds me of Wayne Gretsky's famous comment: “I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it has been.”
04/03/2023, 4:10 PM
A 4-0 win for Brighton, but Evan not among the scorers.
He's finished Joe!
Watched the second half of the game and he played well. Great touches and link up play. Had a decent chance but the defender nicked the ball off his toe - would have been similar to the goal he scored earlier in the week.
tommy_c12000
04/03/2023, 6:37 PM
Did ok in first half, kept it simple, had one difficult tame effort with his left foot. He did some wonderful link up play in second half and showed great awareness, his back heel flick to set March on his way the highlight. Had a tap in taken off his toe, another shot with left blocked, had a good low drive with his right foot saved well, and then blew one over prior to him being substituted when he tried to bend it into the top right. Good outing, continues to develop nicely. Starting against France without question
irishfan86
04/03/2023, 8:01 PM
No goals but great overall play today. Holds the ball up well, two very clever/classy flicks including one in the buildup to the third goal.
Brighton have a brilliant possession-with-purpose brand of football, and Ferguson is playing an important role within that system. What’s encouraging to see as I watch him is that his contributions go far beyond goalscoring.
Bielsa´s irish
11/03/2023, 3:45 PM
he seems fat and slow vs leeds good link with irishman WC winner good chemistry, looked weary and burnt out, and so fat, what are they feeding him with? feedlot? i much prefer skinny mobile EVAN from autrefois lads, he gained like 8 kilos, and his legs are so robust now, they used to be sninny skilful legs, dont agree with that, they are killing his attributes
11/03/2023, 4:38 PM
he seems fat and slow vs leeds good link with irishman WC winner good chemistry, looked weary and burnt out, and so fat, what are they feeding him with? feedlot? i much prefer skinny mobile EVAN from autrefois lads, he gained like 8 kilos, and his legs are so robust now, they used to be sninny skilful legs, dont agree with that, they are killing his attributes
I'm sorry, but this is truly idiotic stuff.
Fixer82
11/03/2023, 4:50 PM
I'm sorry, but this is truly idiotic stuff.
One must concur
11/03/2023, 5:31 PM
No goal again today. Must be a drought
elatedscum
11/03/2023, 10:42 PM
Calling an 18 year old kid fat is not good Javi.
No goal again today. Must be a drought
I think he would have had a penalty if the second goal didn’t go in. The only reason he doesn’t slot it in is because the defender pulls him down
tommy_c12000
11/03/2023, 10:58 PM
Reasonable performance today. Put himself about. Linked play pretty well. Wasn’t picked out a few times by his team mates when he’d taken up good positions. One chance which defender did well against him. Almost got a touch to the own goal too
11/03/2023, 11:19 PM
He's none of those things BI. retract that post.