View Full Version : Evan Ferguson F Brighton b.2004

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

Bottle of Tonic
05/03/2025, 8:53 PM
Unlucky not to be picked as WH are winning recently.

Not match fit when he arrived.

Not playing as WH don't need to develop him.

Rust, lack of confidence and match sharpness.

WH not playing him so they get him cheap in the summer.....

Some of the recent excuses offered up here. I'll go with occams razor and suggest he's not being picked at WH or Brighton because he's deemed not good enough in comparison to the other options in the squad(s).

He's a young player that's played damn all football since he broke through. Badly needs games somewhere/anywhere at this stage of his development.

Eirambler
06/03/2025, 1:09 PM
WH not playing him so they get him cheap in the summer.....

I was joking with that one to be fair. Reality is that he's a 20 year old striker and it's hard to get games in that league at that age as the main man up front. Clubs have other more experienced options that they are playing over him. He probably needs a year or two out of the Premier League, either in Britain or further afield, with a club that will start him every week. But most clubs that fit the description probably couldn't afford his wages. So he's caught to some extent.

Razors left peg
10/03/2025, 5:48 PM
Collecting splinters again today

~YTM~
10/03/2025, 7:14 PM
Same starting XI for the third game going. Did anyone really except Potter to make changes to his starting XI that beat Arsenal and Leicester in the previous two games.

rebelmusic
10/03/2025, 8:27 PM
Watching the match. West Ham chasing the game...Potter just brought on 3 players and still leaving Ferguson on the bench. Considering how many clubs were chasing Ferguson this is an absolute disaster of a move.

Assuming he was promised game time. I dunno, raging at the moment!

Edit: okay he just brought him on 1 minute after I posted

The Fly
10/03/2025, 8:54 PM
He just seems far too passive, and almost too relaxed. He still makes good runs so I’m sure it’ll come together for him at some point, and it’s easy to forget that he’s still only 20. Fingers crossed he’ll learn to impose himself much more on the game; with opponents and teammates alike.

Irish fans just have to temper their expectations now.

rebelmusic
10/03/2025, 8:58 PM
He just seems far too passive, and almost too relaxed. He still makes good runs so I’m sure it’ll come together for him at some point, but Irish fans just have to temper their expectations now.

It’s easy to forget that he’s still only 20.

Fair point. He was fairly anonymous. One decent chest down to another player towards the end but other than that he wasn't there. I'd liken it to Idah in that he needs a run of games where he's starting but it doesn't look like that's going to happen with this move. I'm not really frustrated with Ferguson at all but very frustrated with this loan move considering there was options in the championship and European leagues

elatedscum
10/03/2025, 9:04 PM
watched from the 73rd minute (3 mins after Evan came on). Don't think he touched the ball until the 92nd minute. Made some decent runs etc but just never received it. When he finally got the ball, he shot from a stupid distance, shot was blocked. Chased back to win the ball, picked it up and then skipped a tackle and played a dangerous ball into Kudus. Centre back sliding backwards got a foot to it, spinning it into the air, Pope came out to claim but Kudus beat him to it, but Kudus' touch was too heavy and it went out for a goal-kick. Chested the ball down for a Kudus shot in the 94th minute. Shot was blocked by a Newcastle defender...

The Fly
10/03/2025, 9:07 PM
Fair point. He was fairly anonymous. One decent chest down to another player towards the end but other than that he wasn't there. I'd liken it to Idah in that he needs a run of games where he's starting but it doesn't look like that's going to happen with this move. I'm not really frustrated with Ferguson at all but very frustrated with this loan move considering there was options in the championship and European leagues
Yeah, I just think when he ‘first burst onto the scene’ most Irish fans were hoping (or assuming) that that was going to just carry on. And that hope wasn’t without foundation because you can see the intelligence and technique in him.

But because of a combination of factors he’s effectively starting again. As I say…fingers crossed!

Razors left peg
10/03/2025, 10:29 PM
watched from the 73rd minute (3 mins after Evan came on). Don't think he touched the ball until the 92nd minute. Made some decent runs etc but just never received it. When he finally got the ball, he shot from a stupid distance, shot was blocked. Chased back to win the ball, picked it up and then skipped a tackle and played a dangerous ball into Kudus. Centre back sliding backwards got a foot to it, spinning it into the air, Pope came out to claim but Kudus beat him to it, but Kudus' touch was too heavy and it went out for a goal-kick. Chested the ball down for a Kudus shot in the 94th minute. Shot was blocked by a Newcastle defender...

I just watched it when Ferguson came on too and I just found myself frustrated watching like I do a lot of games now. Everyone just seems to play the same way these days. Its slow passing out from the keeper and around the defense all the time and no urgency. West Ham were fannying around with the ball instead of actually looking to create something. I couldnt help but think that we might not be too far away from a Sam Allardyce type character getting success from going route one again. I just find so much of football very bland these days with everyone trying to be a clone of Pep.

Eirambler
11/03/2025, 6:01 AM
Fully agree with that. And Graham Potter managed teams are particularly bad for it.

As a team we need to be different because we can't play that way. We just don't have the technical midfielders to do it. With our strengths in defence and pace out wide (albeit injuries this month), I think we should be setting up to play fast counter attacking football whenever we play first and second seeded teams. Try to do something different to what nearly everyone else is doing.

Snapshot
11/03/2025, 7:23 AM
I just watched it when Ferguson came on too and I just found myself frustrated watching like I do a lot of games now. Everyone just seems to play the same way these days. Its slow passing out from the keeper and around the defense all the time and no urgency. West Ham were fannying around with the ball instead of actually looking to create something. I couldnt help but think that we might not be too far away from a Sam Allardyce type character getting success from going route one again. I just find so much of football very bland these days with everyone trying to be a clone of Pep.
Says Stephen Kenny's (former) greatest fan.

Drummerboy2
11/03/2025, 10:03 AM
Interesting to see if HH selects him to start v Bulgaria. I think he could form a great partnership with Parrott, who is apt for bringing other players into play.

Eirambler
11/03/2025, 10:44 AM
I expect him to start, there's nobody else really for the centre forward role. Idah isn't doing enough at Celtic to move ahead of him, Cannon has gone off the boil. Parrott will be in contention for a start as well, but likely not as an out and out centre forward. He may be competing with Azaz to play behind the striker.

rebelmusic
11/03/2025, 12:53 PM
I expect him to start, there's nobody else really for the centre forward role. Idah isn't doing enough at Celtic to move ahead of him, Cannon has gone off the boil. Parrott will be in contention for a start as well, but likely not as an out and out centre forward. He may be competing with Azaz to play behind the striker.

I'd be fine with either Azaz or Parrot as long there's a solid plan B if it's not working out in the first 55/60 mins. If that plan B is start Azaz and Ferguson to be replaced by Parrot and Idah I'll be holding my head.

Razors left peg
11/03/2025, 1:08 PM
Says Stephen Kenny's (former) greatest fan.

One of these days am I gonna find my pet rabbit boiling on the stove ?

Snapshot
11/03/2025, 1:14 PM
One of these days am I gonna find my pet rabbit boiling on the stove ?
You dish, you cop. And boy, did you dish.

Razors left peg
11/03/2025, 2:07 PM
You dish, you cop. And boy, did you dish.

Oh no, some guy on the internet thinks I supported the Ireland manager too much. The horror, whatever am I gonna do. It obviously rules me out of ever having a football opinion again.... unless I can find 1 post from 4 years ago where I criticized Kenny in some way, then all will be redeemed

CraftyToePoke
11/03/2025, 4:31 PM
There's proportionally a fair few KennyOuts still nursing wounds around the support. Still sore. Settling grievances that exist only in their own minds far as I can tell.

11/03/2025, 6:22 PM
Evan's still probably going to be the best striker of the lot, but right now I don't think he deserves to be starting by default honestly. The minutes would do him good and maybe lead to a turnaround for him, but Parrott and even Idah deserve their chance ahead of him for what they've done this year imo.

I expect HH to lead with Evan, it is the impression he's given generally, and I think any pick can be justified, but I don't think it'd be good for the morale of his competition if he is the undisputed first pick regardless of form/fitness.

Snapshot
11/03/2025, 9:22 PM
There's proportionally a fair few KennyOuts still nursing wounds around the support. Still sore. Settling grievances that exist only in their own minds far as I can tell.Seven games without a goal et al. The mind has mountains.

12/03/2025, 9:34 AM
I'd say you're great craic down the pub

Snapshot
12/03/2025, 10:35 AM
I'd say you're great craic down the pub
You wouldn't like my local - it's multicultural.

12/03/2025, 11:10 AM
https://media1.giphy.com/media/2Q7XomRi7fc7jdqpaT/giphy.gif

Olé Olé
15/03/2025, 1:00 PM
Thought Evan might get the start away to Everton. No such luck. Hopefully gets a good run because otherwise it's been a pretty uneventful February and March for him.

I thought he would get starts. Instead they've adjusted formation and he isn't getting any. That's pretty sickening given the options he had but he hasn't given Potter a compelling reason to revert to a striker up top I suppose..

Olé Olé
15/03/2025, 3:28 PM
Was about to come on with Soler there but Soucek has put them up 1-0. Let's see if he still comes in.

Razors left peg
15/03/2025, 3:47 PM
I think at this point it's fairly clear this move was a disaster. This summer so important that he gets a move where he plays every week. One potential move that springs to mind would be Sporting Lisbon. Goykeres will be sold so they will be on the look out for a striker. They are so good at developing young players too. It's a bit of wishful thinking on my part because I watch Sporting most games anyway, but I think it'd be perfect all round.

Olé Olé
15/03/2025, 3:50 PM
Having been about to get 25mins it doesn't look like he'll come in at all now.

Olé Olé
15/03/2025, 3:51 PM
Jake O'Brien has equalised. I feel so sorry for Potter and West Ham.

The Fly
15/03/2025, 3:56 PM
I think at this point it's fairly clear this move was a disaster. This summer so important that he gets a move where he plays every week. One potential move that springs to mind would be Sporting Lisbon. Goykeres will be sold so they will be on the look out for a striker. They are so good at developing young players too. It's a bit of wishful thinking on my part because I watch Sporting most games anyway, but I think it'd be perfect all round.
Yeah, on the evidence so far he’d have been much better off with the Everton move.

Olé Olé
15/03/2025, 3:59 PM
Yeah, on the evidence so far he’d have been much better off with the Everton move.
Hardly, given that Beto has 5 Premiership goals for Everton in the period since Ferguson moved to West Ham. Came off on 79mins today and that's the least minutes he's played in a game in the same timeframe.

The Fly
15/03/2025, 4:02 PM
Hardly, given that Beto has 5 Premiership goals for Everton in the period since Ferguson moved to West Ham. Came off on 79mins today and that's the least minutes he's played in a game in the same timeframe.
It couldn’t be worse than this West Ham stint so far.

Razors left peg
01/04/2025, 6:14 PM
Gets the start tonight

The Fly
01/04/2025, 6:34 PM
April Fool’s?

01/04/2025, 6:39 PM
Nope. (It'd be a banable offence to make a joke like that!)

Eirambler
01/04/2025, 7:52 PM
Doesn't make it back out for the second half (and no that's not an April Fool's Day joke either). It's not going to happen for him this season.

rebelmusic
01/04/2025, 7:58 PM
Missed a really good chance again but I think the early substitution is baffling. He was making runs and was being a bit of a nuisance. Makes sense to change tactics but this is terrible man-management.

Everything about this loan move stinks. Ferguson should fire his agent

Eirambler
01/04/2025, 8:05 PM
Arguably it doesn't really make sense for West Ham to play him at all from here on. He's nowhere near 100%, they're not going to buy him, Fullkrug is back fit and their season's over anyway. Why invest any time or energy in someone else's player?

Ferguson needs a full pre-season and to hit the ground running next season. He also probably needs a move to somewhere he will play each week, but he can do the pre-season at Brighton in the first instance to see where he's at in their plans.

If the pattern of the last 18 months continues into next season then that's when we know we have a problem.

Razors left peg
01/04/2025, 8:10 PM
This move has been a disaster alright. Agree that good preseason needed. Troy was nearly being written off by some at this age so it shows the right fit matters in a move.

Diggs246
01/04/2025, 8:11 PM
Hold fire guys

It was a triple substitution

Insidetherock
02/04/2025, 8:18 AM
This move has been a disaster alright. Agree that good preseason needed. Troy was nearly being written off by some at this age so it shows the right fit matters in a move.

Best post here..

Give the kid a chance. Because that's what he is.. a kid. He's only 20. Many strikers don't mature fully for another 4/5 years

Drummerboy2
02/04/2025, 8:50 AM
Overall West Ham were terrible in the first half. They stood off Wolves. On several occasions Ferguson tried to press them and he looked around to see who else was joining in only to realise he was on his own. He should have done better for the goal chance. However I still think it was harsh for Potter to whip him off on half time. He could have given him another 15 minutes, especially as WH were instructed to press more aggressively.
Unfortunately I can't see Potter giving him many more changes to impress. It has been a disaster of a move as previously pointed out, but don't give up on this kid. He will come good

Diggs246
02/04/2025, 9:53 AM
I re-watched his goal v Bulgaria and it an outstanding goal.

He collects possession on the half way line before his one -two with Finn, he sets himself up with a perfect touch before scoring

He just needs to be playing and get his confidence up and he will be grand

Jolly Red Giant
02/04/2025, 10:14 AM
I re-watched his goal v Bulgaria and it an outstanding goal.

He collects possession on the half way line before his one -two with Finn, he sets himself up with a perfect touch before scoring

He just needs to be playing and get his confidence up and he will be grand
It was an excellent goal - and people forget that Evan is still a kid at 20 - he has a lot of maturing to do before he is the finished article - but he does have massive potential.

Exgrad
03/04/2025, 11:35 AM
Best post here..

Give the kid a chance. Because that's what he is.. a kid. He's only 20. Many strikers don't mature fully for another 4/5 years

Yeah I'd be confident he'll get there in the end, but doesnt stop this loan move being a disaster. Fullkrug is back and Potter was signing his praises after Tuesday night. I'd say he's done with Ferguson and he may not get a look in again this season.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c4g2r1x4d3ko

He would have been better off staying at Brighton, I dont think the loan move ever looked great for him in January. Maybe it was time to knuckle down and see where it got him at Brighton.

03/04/2025, 4:14 PM
Overall West Ham were terrible in the first half. They stood off Wolves. On several occasions Ferguson tried to press them and he looked around to see who else was joining in only to realise he was on his own. He should have done better for the goal chance. However I still think it was harsh for Potter to whip him off on half time. He could have given him another 15 minutes, especially as WH were instructed to press more aggressively.
Unfortunately I can't see Potter giving him many more changes to impress. It has been a disaster of a move as previously pointed out, but don't give up on this kid. He will come good

Just on this part...I think back to the recent international double-header with Bulgaria. Parrot's pressing in both games was superb. There was an energy to it, with the intent of the press appearing 'real' on a keeper who was sufficiently suspect to warrant such a press. In the home game, with Ferguson usurping Parrott for that central role (to a certain extent), the press diminished, insofar as Parrott still pressed when he was the top man, with the same intent; the strength of that intent could be said to be equal when Evan executed it.

Razors left peg
03/04/2025, 4:21 PM
If nothing else Im happy this move hasnt changed my dislike of West Ham, horrible club with horrible owners!

I do hope that Ferguson and his advisors will learn from this move and be a bit more clever when they analyze their options in the summer. I still think hes too good for the Championship, and I think even from his confidence point of view that would be a massive hit to have to drop down. If Leeds were promoted that could be a great potential landing spot for a year. A move to a club in France, Holland or Portugal would get him out of the spotlight a bit which might not be a bad thing.

His goal against Bulgaria I think will keep plenty of clubs interested in him. If Aaron Connolly can keep getting multiple chances at Championship level clubs then Ferguson should have earned the right to have another go at higher level

rebelmusic
03/04/2025, 6:49 PM
If anything his performances for Ireland show that he just needs the support behind him and team members willing him on. He was obviously sold a bag of bs from Potter and Co for the loan move and at such a young age it's hard to manage the sense of injustice and all the confidence knocks.

Troys story should be worth reflecting on as he had multiple disaster loans until he finally landed a team that worked for him.

Ferguson will come good. I think a continent move would be the best option by a country mile. Build up his technical side and then readjust to the pace in England down the road

Eirambler
03/04/2025, 7:12 PM
Part of the problem for Ferguson will be his wages, and it was likely an issue in January too. Clubs that would start him every week can't afford him, clubs that can afford him are ones where he'll have a lot of competition for his place.

Just looking at January - the main options seemed to be staying at Brighton (which I think we'd all have been disappointed with at the time), going to Leverkusen where he'd have been competing with Schick and Boniface and probably again wouldn't have played, or going to West Ham who had a striker shortage for February and March. I can see why his advisors might have looked at those options and picked West Ham.

I can see the same issue coming up in the summer - what club will be able to afford to pay 50k+ a week for a 20 year old who hasn't done anything of note for 18 months and will take him as a starting striker? Ferguson can't easily go the Parrott route, he's simply out of range for the likes of Excelsior or AZ.

03/04/2025, 7:21 PM
Ferguson will come good. I think a continent move would be the best option by a country mile. Build up his technical side and then readjust to the pace in England down the road

I think so too. Bottle of white has far less impact on the body than a 2L of Devils Bit. [joking aside, i do think so too]