View Full Version : Perth sacked
Burnsie
20/08/2020, 8:32 PM
according to James Rogers on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/jamesdundalk/status/1296545229806460928?s=20
The Lilywhites
20/08/2020, 8:42 PM
They were close to sacking him before the CL game but gave him one last chance. Maybe they shouldn't have.
There won't be any tears shed by anyone employed in Oriel.
CorribsideSteve
20/08/2020, 11:02 PM
Seems a bit harsh on the surface after nearly a decade of service, from 1st Division graveyard days to playing Legia SWarsaw in CL, but this isn't about loyalty, but results. And they've been poor. The preformance and result the other night was pitiful, and clearly the final bit of straw left in the thing, as Father Ted once said. Major clear out needed there.
Kiki Balboa
20/08/2020, 11:11 PM
They were close to sacking him before the CL game but gave him one last chance. Maybe they shouldn't have.
There won't be any tears shed by anyone employed in Oriel.
Yeah, you are wide of the mark by a loooooooooooooooong way. This is totally not representative of Dundalk or the fans.
Most fans are huge fans of Perth, as a club manager and a person, and their is serious outrage about how he was treated (which shows deeper issues). Ultimately, the players werent performing, and their was an obvious issue somewhere since the restart. I was thinking before hand Could Vinny fix it? I dont know, but I thought he deserved more time, but with the performances and results, time was running out. Im sure a lot of stories will come out soon, but Vinny leaves with his head held high.
Big Thanks to Vinny. To win a league in your rookie year as top dog is no mean feat. Personally, the win in Riga, with the celebrations, meant most for me.
The Lilywhites
20/08/2020, 11:52 PM
Supporters backing Perth obviously don't know what's been going on at the club. Fed up listening to the "Perth is a nice guy" rubbish, which seems to be based on how he portrays himself publicly.
I think we'll all see on Saturday who the problem was since the restart.
2 Year Contract
21/08/2020, 8:07 AM
Supporters backing Perth obviously don't know what's been going on at the club. Fed up listening to the "Perth is a nice guy" rubbish, which seems to be based on how he portrays himself publicly.
I think we'll all see on Saturday who the problem was since the restart.
https://www.lmfm.ie/news/sport/dundalk-sack-perth-as-manchester-city-coach-tipped-to-take-charge/
big bad Vinny Perth refused to be a good puppet it seems
LMFM understands that the club's board had put pressure on Perth regarding his team selection for the opening qualifier in the competition and had been warned there would be consequences if he didn't follow their instructions.
However, he refused to give in and picked the team as he saw fit.
Absolutely embarrassing stuff from peak 6 if true. I’ve heard of owners signing players that the manager wasn’t into but trying to pick the team? Wow
21/08/2020, 8:07 AM
Whatever about Matthews, you'd expect Gill to show some solidarity with the colleague and friend that brought him to the club 'temporarily'! Appoint an new external manager and a coaching department could be cleared out anyway.
21/08/2020, 8:10 AM
[QUOTE=2 Year Contract;2044996]https://www.lmfm.ie/news/sport/dundalk-sack-perth-as-manchester-city-coach-tipped-to-take-charge/
big bad Vinny Perth refused to be a good puppet it seems
Yeah refused and lost 3 nil. What changes could they have been looking for ??
21/08/2020, 8:24 AM
Whatever about Matthews, you'd expect Gill to show some solidarity with the colleague and friend that brought him to the club 'temporarily'! Appoint an new external manager and a coaching department could be cleared out anyway.
I'd be very surprised if Gill didn't walk as you said Vinny brought him in. Maybe he's waiting to be sacked so he can get the remainder of his contract if that's the case fair enough but it looks a total sh#t show up there at the moment
We now know the real reason for the Peak6 takeover of Dundalk FC!
21/08/2020, 8:29 AM
It's a strange one.
Four trophies in his first year, and yet this isn't entirely unexpected.
But I think this is one of those cases where the manager sacking takes the heat off the directors to an extent. Peak6 appointed an unqualified manager 18 months ago, seemingly on the hope that a good coach would turn into a good manager. That's always a bit of a gamble though. Surely Dundalk had the profile to go for a better candidate? Wouldn't have gotten Pep or Klopp, but surely there was someone actually qualified for a start who could have taken over?
The timing of the sacking seems to indicate the Europa League is fairly vital and they don't trust Perth to succeed in it. But if that's the case, Peak6 deserve criticism/questioning for playing dice with three vital European campaigns (counting last year as CL and EL).
Worrying times, I think.
placid casual
21/08/2020, 8:31 AM
Perhaps peak6 were tired of seeing him pick his mates and wanted the more recent recruits in the team. But vinny showed them eh! 😁
2 Year Contract
21/08/2020, 8:37 AM
Perhaps peak6 were tired of seeing him pick his mates and wanted the more recent recruits in the team. But vinny showed them eh!
If the owners disagree with team selection then they should’ve sacked him before the game rather than threatening to do so if he doesn’t play X/Y/Z player. Major red flags when owners start interfering with the team selection, totally undermines the manager.
They clearly want to hire a yes man as the next manager
D24Saint
21/08/2020, 8:48 AM
I feel sorry for Perth. He seems a decent football man and has probably let the biggest opportunity of his career slip through his fingers. It’s been clear for a while now that Dundalk just don’t look the same outfit that won leagues and qualified for the europa league. Things have been let slip and their next appointment is a big one to see can they stop the rot. Is there any names floating about ?
Yossarian
21/08/2020, 8:51 AM
This is just a complete mess. I’m surprised that he’s been sacked now, I thought at least he’d get to complete the European campaign. It’s not good when the owners are getting involved in team affairs, especially as the chairman really has no history in football at all. Fair play to Vinny for sticking to his guns and picking his own team but the players have really let him down with that performance.
As stated by previous posters, I think that he has persisted too much with the players who have been there for years and you can see that there was some complacency as they knew they wouldn’t be dropped. I think he needed a touch of ruthlessness with regard to underperforming players.
It’s interesting that this has all come to the fore since Bill Hulsizer took a hands on involvement after Mike Treacy left. The next managerial appointment is vital as if that is wrong the yanks may pull the plug. And the problem is it’ll be the yanks picking the new boss.
21/08/2020, 9:04 AM
Is there any names floating about ?
Mark Burton, a former Man City youth coach, is one name apparently. In the LMFM article above.
redarmyfaction
21/08/2020, 9:11 AM
We sacked Ian Barraclough in a similar situation and that worked out just great for us in the long run, so it is onwards and upwards Dundalk.
Dundalk fans must be getting very worried at this stage. After the questionable appointment of Reynolds, the yanks bring in this Burton bloke to further complicate the first team coaching set up and have him "taking sessions" while Perth is still in the job. Now multiple sources are reporting that Perth was warned that there would be consequences if he didn't pick the team he was instructed to by Buffalo Bill! Perth refuses and is sacked with a four line statement.
Who exactly is Mark Burton? When did he leave the Man City academy and why? It's public knowledge that he was suspended by City after "allegations of misconduct". It appears that this related to bullying and verbal abuse of kids. There are also multiple parents on twitter who are making allegations regarding his treatment of their kids and by all accounts he sounds like a prized arsehole. On top of that we're talking about a bloke who is a Canadian schoolboy coach who has spent his entire professional career coaching and scouting in an academy and apparently has absolutely zero record of any involvement with a senior professional football team in any capacity whatsoever. You'd also have to assume he wouldn't be very familiar with the league here either.
Combine this with the big losses, emptying cash reserves, the impending break-up of the remainder of that successful team and the consistently poor appointments the yanks have made off the pitch, things are really looking precarious.
Bunny Kelly
21/08/2020, 10:29 AM
I always think its a bit naive when people expect Gill & others to walk away in solidarity, this is their job. If they quit they are unemployed, this is isn't the PL where people have millions in the bank, they will probably go in due course but as they have contracts they deserve to be paid out
D24Saint
21/08/2020, 10:40 AM
Appoint Sheridan!
That’s just pub talk.
21/08/2020, 11:16 AM
Interesting the comments on a clear-out or Perth sticking with his own players.
Dundalk haven't really upgraded their squad properly since reaching the group stages - even their recent signings have been bringing back Boyle and McMillan. It doesn't help of course that Rovers now rob all UCD's best players, not Dundalk :)
But have any of the foreign imports really worked out either? Peak6 seem to be behind a lot of those (or maybe I'm reading the whole thing wrong) The general recruitment policy at Dundalk seems to have failed over the past 4/5 years, and that's where you would have thought an organisation like Peak6 would bring in a Director of Football rather than a manager to cover the fact that your manager isn't qualified to be a manager.
Seem to remember a comment on here from a Dundalk fan when they reached the EL groups to the effect that "€7m was a lot for an LoI club to **** away, but sure we'll give it a go" It could be close to a fait accompli now
Jack B
21/08/2020, 11:45 AM
The biggest disgrace here is that they're allowing Rovers and Bohs of all teams to run away with being the top 2 teams in the country.
Dark, dark days for the LOI.
21/08/2020, 3:00 PM
Perth is in studio for Rovers vs. Shels tonight on RTÉ.
For their sake, I hope the Americans have an NDA is place.
The Lilywhites
21/08/2020, 3:08 PM
Perth is in studio for Rovers vs. Shels tonight on RTÉ.
For their sake, I hope the Americans have an NDA is place.
Vinny is out quickly with his side of the story.
RTÉ should ask him about the club captaincy and what happened before the Waterford game in the dressing room...
Yossarian
21/08/2020, 3:15 PM
Vinny is out quickly with his side of the story.
RTÉ should ask him about the club captaincy and what happened before the Waterford game in the dressing room...
Why don’t you tell us instead of all this cryptic nonsense.
And who are those players he was supposed to play? The only two I can see as possible big sells are Patching and Oduwa
The yank lad that Buffalo Bill signed off Netflix 😂
The Lilywhites
21/08/2020, 3:47 PM
Why don’t you tell us instead of all this cryptic nonsense.
Not getting into it on a forum because people generally don't believe what they read on online forums, or only believe what they want to. That's pretty evident on Oriel Web at the minute, where anyone who goes against the grain is shot down by the Perth fan boys. So what's the point.
You didn't believe the "story" I posted a few days ago that Perth would be sacked after the CL game.
There weren't any unhappy players in Oriel today anyway. Looking forward to tomorrow.
21/08/2020, 3:54 PM
Vinny Perth wanted to start as captain against Waterford.
The players disagreed.
Vinny Perth then took a live rabbit out of his coat pocket.
And proceeded to eat it in front of everyone.
While it was still alive.
Vinny Perth.
Ate the live rabbit.
Did I mention the players children were there?
Prove me wrong.
Not getting into it on a forum because people generally don't believe what they read on online forums, or only believe what they want to. That's pretty evident on Oriel Web at the minute, where anyone who goes against the grain is shot down by the Perth fan boys. So what's the point.
You didn't believe the "story" I posted a few days ago that Perth would be sacked after the CL game.
There weren't any unhappy players in Oriel today anyway. Looking forward to tomorrow.
Are you happy with the way Peak6 have administered the club in the last year?
2 Year Contract
21/08/2020, 4:23 PM
Not getting into it on a forum because people generally don't believe what they read on online forums, or only believe what they want to.
Then why bring up the captaincy/Waterford pre match thing at all??
The Lilywhites
21/08/2020, 5:07 PM
Are you happy with the way Peak6 have administered the club in the last year?
Not at all, haven't been happy with them since they came in, but who put them there? Andy & Paul accepted their offer and ran with the money.
I haven't been happy with the way the club is being run full stop, but when the team is winning, 99% of supporters don't care about what is going on behind the scenes. Results paper over the cracks, which has been happening at Oriel for a number of years. When the team is winning, you can't say anything about the running of the club because nobody will listen.
Our club is going to crash and burn, we'll be fighting relegation as soon as the owners leave, probably be back in the First Division for a spell. We need them to stay around as long as possible because the one thing they have is money, but we should all be aware of what's going to happen when they eventually pull the plug.
The running of the club is a separate issue to Perth though. I'm happy he was sacked. It's just a pity it wasn't before the CL game, because progress in Europe is the only thing that will keep the owners here for a little while longer. As soon as they leave, we are goosed.
Perth also sold his soul to keep the job for as long as he did. How many times did he come out publicly and say how great the owners are and how lucky we are to have them, blah blah blah. It was on repeat.
Not at all, haven't been happy with them since they came in, but who put them there? Andy & Paul accepted their offer and ran with the money.
I haven't been happy with the way the club is being run full stop, but when the team is winning, 99% of supporters don't care about what is going on behind the scenes. Results paper over the cracks, which has been happening at Oriel for a number of years. When the team is winning, you can't say anything about the running of the club because nobody will listen.
Our club is going to crash and burn, we'll be fighting relegation as soon as the owners leave, probably be back in the First Division for a spell. We need them to stay around as long as possible because the one thing they have is money, but we should all be aware of what's going to happen when they eventually pull the plug.
The running of the club is a separate issue to Perth though. I'm happy he was sacked. It's just a pity it wasn't before the CL game, because progress in Europe is the only thing that will keep the owners here for a little while longer. As soon as they leave, we are goosed.
Perth also sold his soul to keep the job for as long as he did. How many times did he come out publicly and say how great the owners are and how lucky we are to have them, blah blah blah. It was on repeat.
That all sounds very reasonable. If I were a Dundalk fan I'm not sure I would be as eager as you are for them to stick around tbh. A big rebuild is needed and where will the money come from to finance it? To date Peak6 haven't shown any indication that they are willing to spend any of their own money, and Buffalo Bill's involvement in recruitment appears to be a major, major problem.
Yossarian
21/08/2020, 5:51 PM
I didn’t believe it because I hadn’t heard anything of that apart from your post. I’m not surprised he’s been sacked but I thought as we were still in Europe it wouldn’t happen at this point.
There’s obviously been something not right there but if you can’t tell us on an anonymous Internet forum what’s the point in the forum?
I don’t believe Perth was the man to take us the next step but I think his sacking has been handled poorly and it appears to be quite knee jerk. I’d love to know if there’s more to it and if you know then maybe you could enlighten us.
As for our future if and when the yanks pull the plug, we’ll I’m not naive enough to think we won’t struggle, but such is the life of an Irish football fan. I’ve spent many years traipsing the country when we were in the first division and will do the same if we end up back there.
The Lilywhites
21/08/2020, 6:03 PM
That all sounds very reasonable. If I were a Dundalk fan I'm not sure I would be as eager as you are for them to stick around tbh. A big rebuild is needed and where will the money come from to finance it? To date Peak6 haven't shown any indication that they are willing to spend any of their own money, and Buffalo Bill's involvement in recruitment appears to be a major, major problem.
Well if they're not going to spend, they should leave.
The problem is who comes after Peak6? I don't think there'll be an Andy & Paul to pick it up next time around. I also don't think there is a desire in our support to have a fan-owed/run model. You would hope our core support has grown hugely since 2013, but I wouldn't hold out much hope for that kind of model at our club, certainly not a good enough one to make us really competitive in the Premier.
The recruitment has been a joke since Perth took over. Maybe Kenny knew what was coming in the background and was happy to jump ship to the Irish U21 role.
If Perth had no say in the signings, he should not have attacked media when they reported Andy Burton was head of recruitment. Burton had no official title and almost seemed like a secret despite his prominent role in the club, which went beyond recruitment. Perth maintained that he and his management team were over signings and it was nothing to do with Burton.
Perth was happy to be Peak6's puppet for as long as he was in the job, so he can hardly cry over it all now. Interested to see what he says on RTÉ tonight.
There’s obviously been something not right there but if you can’t tell us on an anonymous Internet forum what’s the point in the forum?
Some players didn't want to play for him any longer and I don't mean any of the new guys.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/08/2020, 6:45 PM
Unfortunately I think this will be true
21/08/2020, 7:11 PM
It's not that bad down there.
It is.
Vinny Perth wanted to start as captain against Waterford.
The players disagreed.
Vinny Perth then took a live rabbit out of his coat pocket.
And proceeded to eat it in front of everyone.
While it was still alive.
Vinny Perth.
Ate the live rabbit.
Did I mention the players children were there?
Prove me wrong.
Why do you always mention Children, Limerick ones are odd sometimes.
21/08/2020, 9:06 PM
There is supposedly a buy back clause for the fastfix lads that was part of the sale. Whether they evoke that cluse in the event of P6 leaving is another thing. But they wanted to mitigate against a walk away with large contracts outstanding. I hope it is true and it wouldnt be at all a surprise as those lads do truly love the club. The transition back could be painful though
D24Saint
21/08/2020, 9:12 PM
There is supposedly a buy back clause for the fastfix lads that was part of the sale. Whether they evoke that cluse in the event of P6 leaving is another thing. But they wanted to mitigate against a walk away with large contracts outstanding. I hope it is true and it wouldnt be at all a surprise as those lads do truly love the club. The transition back could be painful though
Will probably be at the same level as we are. We have enough of a budget to compete without being world beaters. In fairness to Mr K he has bankrolled us got years and we would be lost without him, he can’t keep tossing cash in the pit though.
D24Saint
22/08/2020, 9:49 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40036154.html?type=amp
Probably just newspaper talk. I’d be surprised if he was genuine candidate.
Yossarian
22/08/2020, 10:49 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40036154.html?type=amp
Probably just newspaper talk. I’d be surprised if he was genuine candidate.
I seriously hope that is just someone throwing his name into an article to get a few more clicks.
The Lilywhites
22/08/2020, 1:45 PM
I hope that's a joke. Wouldn't trust him to carry the water.
22/08/2020, 5:02 PM
2 back to back rookie managers is a gamble too far. Why he wasnt considered for an FAI role is a bit strange but SK didnt want him (or VP for that matter) involved in the international set-up.
There have been a few 'x has the job already' comments around town, each one a different name but all absolute that they that have credible sources:rolleyes:
It looks most like Burton at the moment unless there are some imteresting applications. Leaves Giller and Matthews vulnerable unless maybe they can be used elsewhere with youth with community work thrown in.
I think I may have started the Eddie Howe rumour with a tongue in cheek suggestion that he'd be the man to chase if looking to England and it took some wings lol. Of course thatd be a serious appointment albeit damn ridiculous. Maybe there is a Graham Potter type guy out there but no easy find. It will be a comfortzone appointment imo. I think there may be another 2 seasons under new management before P6 up sticks if there is no progression with their entire own men appointed.
Certainly an upturn in fortunes since getting rid of Perth.
D24Saint
22/08/2020, 6:08 PM
Certainly an upturn in fortunes since getting rid of Perth.
surprised by that result normally in the LOI you fear the sacked manager factor obviously doesn’t phase bucko.
22/08/2020, 6:09 PM
I read very good article on one of the loi websites of candidates in running for Dundalk job. Paul Cooks name was mentioned is it realistic though?
22/08/2020, 6:48 PM
Cooke would be interesting. He was within court case (and a point) of keeping Wigan up. Maybe he is dissilusioned at Wigan so possible. It would still be well withn a LoI appointment and i cant see P6 going to that well. Again bar Burton as their man I doubt it would be one of old loi reliables. Though maybe Bohs should worry...
sbgawa
22/08/2020, 7:14 PM
The appointment will give an indication of whether Peak 6 are sticking around or not.
If its an expensive manager on a decent contract then likely they are in for another year at least