View Full Version : Perth sacked
Scrufil
24/08/2020, 3:42 PM
I wonder are Dundalk stepping into Athlone's Chinese shadow role? Beware of weird betting patterns. Has due diligence been done? Can the FAI refuse the appointment on Covid -19 grounds. Isolation for 14 days or this is not a joke but a real life or death situation.
Fair play to them anyway keeping it interesting
Park_Lane
24/08/2020, 6:58 PM
Dundalk players must be buzzing. All will receive a club branded water bottle, football and a certificate at the end of the weeks training.
24/08/2020, 7:35 PM
Buffalo Bill is picking the team I take it he knew this lad from his time in the States somehow and he can now use him as a puppet. Dundalk in big bother
24/08/2020, 8:01 PM
Buffalo Bill is picking the team I take it he knew this lad from his time in the States somehow and he can now use him as a puppet. Dundalk in big bother
Was rewatching that Dundalk documentary of that Europa League run earlier. Its shocking that the majority of that squad are still in Dundalk squad. This reminds me so much of whats happening at Barcelona.
24/08/2020, 8:02 PM
How would they even know of him or decide on him?
He's hardly applying for the job with his CV.
Asterix
24/08/2020, 10:26 PM
http://jamesrogers.ie/the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly-the-fall-of-vinny-perth/
Interesting read there,.
24/08/2020, 11:59 PM
Worrying for Dundalk fans I'd say, when coupled with the summer camp maestro.
25/08/2020, 7:26 AM
http://jamesrogers.ie/the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly-the-fall-of-vinny-perth/
Interesting read there,.
stopped reading once useless stats were spouted, 70% win rate......so what, in the LOI that means nothing, it was always about Europe............
25/08/2020, 7:58 AM
You've missed a signifcant amount of well explained info so! The mention of the win rate % was just for comparative reasons, an irony, where Perth was sacked with a better relative record than Kenney.
A “kamikaze mission” according to the new gaffer.
Time to start planning who will take Dundalk’s league place next year. An extra team promoted and a Derry City 2 into 1st Div I go for.
25/08/2020, 10:34 AM
You've missed a signifcant amount of well explained info so! The mention of the win rate % was just for comparative reasons, an irony, where Perth was sacked with a better relative record than Kenney.
Agreed. I found it very informative as someone who wouldn't have been close to what was going on. It was balanced I felt, the author was happy to criticise Vinny where he felt it was warranted.
placid casual
25/08/2020, 11:15 AM
Is it a requirement on this forum that every dundalk related post requires fellation from a Longford fan?
25/08/2020, 1:55 PM
For what it's worth, I thought it was a pretty fascinating read.
Mad insight into the mental few months at Dundalk.
It's only going to get more fun really.
sbgawa
25/08/2020, 3:13 PM
yeah , good read alright, he might find himself banned again.
25/08/2020, 4:11 PM
I had no idea James Rogers was banned by Dundalk. This is way better reading than you would get from the LOI tabloid journalists. Superb read! The whole thing is a mess. Who would want the poisoned chalice?
25/08/2020, 4:35 PM
Daniel McDonnell in the Indo reporting yer man has referred to taking charge as a kamikaze mission, and asked friends to pray for him.
I'm not sure why he doesn't just decline tbh. How much money would it take to move an Italian from New York to Dundalk to make a tit of himself?
This is nudging towards Bray levels of daftness
25/08/2020, 6:02 PM
John Gill has left now.
https://twitter.com/JGill_Giller/status/1298314874007805959
25/08/2020, 6:38 PM
Is it a requirement on this forum that every dundalk related post requires fellation from a Longford fan?
Don't tar me with the same brush as tommy two teams aka outspoken.
Paulgufc
25/08/2020, 8:53 PM
https://www.dundalkfc.com/giovagnoli-appointed-as-new-lilywhites-interim-head-coach/
Wow. That is all
Burnsie
25/08/2020, 8:56 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OX0E5jxGkI&feature=youtu.be
I mean....
Jesus
He's not even a good spoofer.
Mr_Parker
25/08/2020, 9:43 PM
Have I read the reports correctly that this guy doesn't hold a UEFA Pro Licence? Such issues may have been quietly swept away in the past by the FAI, but surely under the new whiter than white regime this will be a huge issue for Dundalk's UEFA Licence? :confused:
25/08/2020, 9:50 PM
It's ok - John Gill will cover for him.
Oh, wait...
Mr_Parker
25/08/2020, 10:02 PM
It's ok - John Gill will cover for him.
Oh, wait...
I know he's gone, but if that was their intention or similar, surely it wouldn't be allowed by the FAI/UEFA. Using someone else as cover may have been poorly disguised previously, but I can't believe it would be allowed again?
25/08/2020, 10:12 PM
Aren't you allowed to appoint someone for 60 days or something like that without them having the Pro Licence? This lad will be doing well to last that long.
Mr_Parker
25/08/2020, 10:27 PM
Aren't you allowed to appoint someone for 60 days or something like that without them having the Pro Licence? This lad will be doing well to last that long.
Yes, you have 60 days to appoint a replacement with the required licence.
Jack B
25/08/2020, 10:40 PM
Praying we can manage to avoid getting relegated ourselves so Dundalk and Cork can reignite their feud in the First Division next season.
D24Saint
26/08/2020, 6:55 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OX0E5jxGkI&feature=youtu.be
I mean....
Jesus
He's not even a good spoofer.
In fairness the chap could be a competent coach. We have learned that alone doesn’t get you far in LOI or senior football in general. He will have to deal with a whole range of issues to be successful if he is able is the test he faces.
The Lilywhites
28/08/2020, 10:04 AM
Interesting appointment. Very out there, but who knows how it'll go. He's a bit older than most for his first senior role, but you have to start somewhere. He has come across really well in his interviews so far, I thought.
Kenny did well in his first senior job and went on from there. Perth came to us from Malahide, so he hardly had the greatest coaching CV himself.
The bottom line is Perth had to go. The players hated him and it was getting worse as time went on. It's time for them to step up now. Hopefully they buy into what Filippo is doing and we can finish the season well. Hopefully we get a favourable draw in the EL too and get through at least one round.
Gill had to go too, really. He was still defending Perth to the players before and after the Sligo game. He really should have walked when Perth left considering they're buddies. Reynolds was probably sorry he joined at all.
Still, it's poor form by the club not to acknowledge Gill's contribution, especially after the way he exited back in 2008. They could have shown a bit of class and given him a good send off. They haven't even said he's left.
Presumably, Shane Keegan will remain on and fill the Pro Licence requirement. Never really took him seriously as a manager so hopefully he doesn't try to get too involved - just sit in the corner and realise your place as a box ticker.
sbgawa
28/08/2020, 11:46 AM
Did the players really hate Perth?
What was the issue in general terms with him...
Mr_Parker
29/08/2020, 12:14 AM
Presumably, Shane Keegan will remain on and fill the Pro Licence requirement. Never really took him seriously as a manager so hopefully he doesn't try to get too involved - just sit in the corner and realise your place as a box ticker.
That does not tick the box. The old FAI regime have turned a blind eye to this in the past. The FAI and the UEFA licensing regulations are clear. It will be a test of the new regime if they continue in the same way. Especially when such has been raised as a major concern in the context of the All Island competition proposals, since such a requirement is strictly enforced, along with other license requirements by the IFA.
placid casual
29/08/2020, 7:58 AM
Read the piece in the indo about dundalk. The owner is crackers,by the sounds of it.
Where to now for dundalk?
sbgawa
29/08/2020, 11:41 AM
The co sec resigning is a significant move. The co sec is a very vulnerable position in company law. The co sec went to jail from PTSB (or was it Anglo,) and was almost the only one to do so in the banking scandals.
I'd say he is protecting himself in the event of a disorderly pull out. Doesn't mean it's going to happen but probably sensible on his part as only Irish guy on the board.
Scrufil
29/08/2020, 12:26 PM
Is there something I am missing here? How come Phil Hogan has to resign for not isolating for 14 days yet this Dundalk manager has not isolated in this country for the same amount of time?
joey B
29/08/2020, 12:34 PM
Is there something I am missing here? How come Phil Hogan has to resign for not isolating for 14 days yet this Dundalk manager has not isolated in this country for the same amount of time?
I'm presuming he came from Italy and they're on the green list I think....
Scrufil
29/08/2020, 12:37 PM
I'd be dead many times over if I had relied on presumption in my previous job. That said you might be right but I would like it confirmed.
Yossarian
29/08/2020, 12:42 PM
The two Italians were home in Italy when they got the job and Italy is on the green list so no need to isolate.
Scrufil
29/08/2020, 12:47 PM
Good to know, at least the folk in Cobh can relax on that front. The Dundalk team for cup will be fun. Might be their only chance at Europe. For Cobh I mean of course.
29/08/2020, 5:37 PM
I barely be on twitter much these days(dont ask!). Whats link to Dundalk article pls?
monkey9
29/08/2020, 11:32 PM
I barely be on twitter much these days(dont ask!). Whats link to Dundalk article pls?
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/interfering-in-selection-and-demanding-a-phone-in-the-dugout-how-dundalks-american-dream-turned-into-a-nightmare-39487274.html
Behind a paywall though.
The Lilywhites
30/08/2020, 10:35 AM
Read the piece in the indo about dundalk. The owner is crackers,by the sounds of it.
Where to now for dundalk?
Nothing in it that wasn't out there already. Was expecting a bit more from McDonnell the way he was building it up.
Like how Perth was being told what players to play/not to play last year, by someone referenced in the article (not Bill). Or how our COO (a long time employee of the club, now 12 years) apparently tried to jump ship last year to a job in the GAA.
This has been brewing for a long time, not just over the last month.
I don't know where we go as a club from here but hopefully we can get a win today. Looking forward to actually watching a game of football, after all the nonsense of the past week.
30/08/2020, 12:16 PM
There was always a fear that the setup at Dundalk would turn sour. But the fear was that Peak6 would eventually up sticks and leave us high and dry ala Arkaga. We certainly hoped that it wouldnt end up a similar situation as CCFC simply as P6 were in a different league financially than Arkaga.
But this is an entirely different sh1t show where the eccentric nature of one individual's interference has done a lot of damage. Whether there is a method to the madness time will tell. It does seem like an american sports franchise owner method being copied by someone who doesnt recognise the different culture in football here. That said certainly in Spain club presidents do often dictate to head coaches and hire and fire in a seemingly irrational manner.
For all the stories of phones in dugouts, suggestions on who takes corners and all the other madcap stuff, what is a real worry for me is the distancing of real stalwart volunteers like former licencing officer and former club secretary who in particular practically single handedly drove the club on from 2012 issues and in to this most successful period with tireless effort. Losing these really balanced and level headed people + club administrators is a key concern. They obviously feel they cant be associated with things currently - considering that questionable conduct from one of the CEOs made them step back before and this led to the exit of the then CEO and a lot of issues being sorted, its hard to see a similar amicable righting these problems under the chairman. Its a pity as I liked the way this chairman started off in challanging the FAI and was willing to play hardball with them. That's what he seemed to be good at, if only he had left the footballing side delegated to others.
I dont think things started off anywhere near seeing the club as a conduit for American players to get to Europe, that money could be made selling these players on. But something like this appears to be developing albeit the calibre of players being overestimated. The only hope currently is that the coaching team will turn out to be more effective than their experience would suggest. After that, that there is a plan to appoint a head coach and recruit players purely for a tilt in Europe as a last throw of the dice. It is also a big concern that there doesnt seem to be a move by supporters to start mobilising for a worst case scenario. 200 or so signed up early to Patreon - maybe a totally independent supporters club would have been wiser!
30/08/2020, 2:45 PM
Some more insight from Dan McDonnell on the situation at Dundalk. It's not typical LoI fare but it is certainly typical LoI in it's unnecessary complexity and tendency for self damaging an image of a club/league.
https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1300010398175895552
Scrufil
30/08/2020, 3:23 PM
Any bloody wonder he struck up an accord with Hayden. Birds of a feather...
30/08/2020, 6:33 PM
Any bloody wonder he struck up an accord with Hayden. Birds of a feather...
I didnt read this properly. Whos Hayden Scrufil?
Athlone Town Chairman/Owner
30/08/2020, 6:52 PM
Athlone Town Chairman/Owner
Are you referring to Dundalks owner striking an accord with Athlones owner?
30/08/2020, 7:38 PM
According to Dan McDonnell, while the Dundalk chairman isnt everyones cup of tea with other club officials and rattled a few cages during talks on recommencing the league he does seem to have built up a rapport with the Athlone chairman (one of the contentious american players signed by Dundalk going on loan to Athlone) and seemingly there is common ground with Gareth Kelleher also. The implication though is that other club officials got some insight in to how Bill Hulsizer works and may even have anticipated problems emerging at Oriel Park.
Joe Strummer
05/09/2020, 7:04 AM
Peak 6 tried to buy the Aviva
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/5864463/peak6-aviva-stadium-dundalk-fai-new-home/
D24Saint
05/09/2020, 8:35 AM
Peak 6 tried to buy the Aviva
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/5864463/peak6-aviva-stadium-dundalk-fai-new-home/
They must be delusional if they thought they could justify hosting LOI games in the Aviva. What’s the max they would get every week even with neutrals 3 or 4 k.