View Full Version : Perth sacked
ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 2:04 AM
Would put my house on Healy not going to Dundalk.
Would be on that and i'd put my home on it too.
Dundalk need a good LOI manager and Healy is not our man! But i'd take Pat Fenlon away from them(Linfield). Unpopular at Dundalk but could turn out to be just what we need.
mcgonigle
09/05/2021, 3:19 PM
Dundalk need a good LOI manager and Healy is not our man!
Fenlon does not want to return to management and would not put up with the crap at Dundalk. So who are the good LOI managers that are available? I can't think of any
ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 3:42 PM
Fenlon does not want to return to management and would not put up with the crap at Dundalk. So who are the good LOI managers that are available? I can't think of any
I hear you McGonigle. I'm hoping that the long wait for an announcement from the club is a good sign. Seen Gary Rogers had a poll up on Twitter with Duff and Doolin on it. Few others saying Dave Rogers and ..........with Dave 2ic.
EDIT - dont want Duff or Doolin near the gaff tbh.
mcgonigle
09/05/2021, 9:34 PM
I hear you McGonigle. I'm hoping that the long wait for an announcement from the club is a good sign. Seen Gary Rogers had a poll up on Twitter with Duff and Doolin on it. Few others saying Dave Rogers and ..........with Dave 2ic.
EDIT - dont want Duff or Doolin near the gaff tbh.
Agree, Duff has no experience so unless the owners and fans are willing to give him plenty of time it won't work. Doolin has proven he can work with the cream of the league and manage egos while spending big but that was a long time ago, there's a reason he hasn't worked in the league since.
Rogers, no thanks, so who's left?
The flip side is that anyone of the names mentioned might turn out to be a good fit. We just have to hope those in charge know the type of person required. Another worry...
joey B
09/05/2021, 10:28 PM
A few players went to Belfast to check out the new manager it seems!
10/05/2021, 11:38 AM
Does a new manager need the players blessing, are they part of the recruitment process? Tail wagging the dog stuff and never works. Not sure there is a better way of undermining a new manager before a ball is kicked than players having a big say in who a club appoints. Clubs appoint someone the players need, not the person the players want or next thing they'll be locking 'The Gaffer' out of changing rooms at half times or picking teams....
EalingGreen
10/05/2021, 3:38 PM
Link?
If true, as Nesta says, that's just bizarre!
Meanwhile, I wonder did Dundalk ever consider Matthew Tipton (played a few games for them a decade ago)?
He did ok in his first management job at Warrenpoint (promotion), causing Portadown to appoint him on a 2 1/2 year, p-t contract.
After another promotion for the Ports, they must be very happy with him, since they've just given him a new 5 year contract on a f-t basis:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57047492
Oran Kearney's another IL manager who looks to have something about him.
bluemovie
10/05/2021, 3:43 PM
Have heard suggestions of Perth to Waterford. That'd be jumping from the frying pan into the raging inferno of basket case clubs for him, but doesn't look like he's getting any other offers.
joey B
10/05/2021, 3:48 PM
Link?
If true, as Nesta says, that's just bizarre!
Meanwhile, I wonder did Dundalk ever consider Matthew Tipton (played a few games for them a decade ago)?
He did ok in his first management job at Warrenpoint (promotion), causing Portadown to appoint him on a 2 1/2 year, p-t contract.
After another promotion for the Ports, they must be very happy with him, since they've just given him a new 5 year contract on a f-t basis:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57047492
Oran Kearney's another IL manager who looks to have something about him.
A few Dundalk players went on the **** in Belfast at the weekend that seemed to irk some fans on twitter, whether they were checking out a new manager is unconfirmed!!!
dundalkfc10
10/05/2021, 5:12 PM
https://twitter.com/noriordan/status/1391798088264822792?s=19
10/05/2021, 8:47 PM
A few Dundalk players went on the **** in Belfast at the weekend that seemed to irk some fans on twitter, whether they were checking out a new manager is unconfirmed!!!
Idiotic! They look to be oblivious to the pictures being taken so wonder who the eagle eyed person was that recognised them?
joey B
11/05/2021, 1:03 PM
Idiotic! They look to be oblivious to the pictures being taken so wonder who the eagle eyed person was that recognised them?
There's always someone with a camera! Not very clever from them leaving aside how bad their form is just the fact I dont think they were even allowed to travel there by law at the time......
sbgawa
11/05/2021, 1:10 PM
its the intercounty travel bit that has them in trouble, if there was a picture of DFC players having a few takeaway pints outside a pub in Dundalk for a teambuilding event no one could say boo to them
Dalymountrower
11/05/2021, 3:18 PM
its the intercounty travel bit that has them in trouble, if there was a picture of DFC players having a few takeaway pints outside a pub in Dundalk for a teambuilding event no one could say boo to them
Unlikely that anyone will say boo to them for their Belfast escapade either.
Belfast has limited enough charms but I am struggling to understand wtf they were thinking socialising around Shaftsbury Square for their well merited break from on field footballing achievement, if they were in Laverys there really is no hope for that team!!
EalingGreen
11/05/2021, 3:53 PM
An FAI spokesperson confirmed to BBC Sport NI that the organisation is aware of the matter.
"We are currently reviewing it with assistance from Dundalk Football Club. We have no further comment to make at this stage," the spokesperson said.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57076969
11/05/2021, 8:10 PM
NOR has an excellent piece on this Dundalk/Waterford fiasco in todays irish sun. Superb article. I heard mumourings but I didnt fully understand the whole fiasco with Dundalk players. Wonder did JM encourage this as I imagine hes looking for a way out of whole affair I imagine!
EalingGreen
11/05/2021, 10:34 PM
NOR has an excellent piece on this Dundalk/Waterford fiasco in todays irish sun. Superb article. I heard mumourings but I didnt fully understand the whole fiasco with Dundalk players. Wonder did JM encourage this as I imagine hes looking for a way out of whole affair I imagine!
I'm surprised Big Jim wasn't up there with them - to claim asylum!
Though whether that be "mental" or "political" I'm not sure.
Maybe both? :cool:
08/06/2021, 11:15 AM
Thought there was another thread on all things Dundalk - but it seems the Magilton appointment mayn't be set in stone as yet, and the Perth rumours aren't going away (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0608/1226880-perth-remains-in-dundalk-frame-ahead-of-budget-cuts/).
Also adds a note on budget cuts -
Cuts to what is the biggest budget in the SSE Airtricity League are expected over the coming months with a number of players expected to be moved on next month.
Will be interesting to see who leaves - if it was players signed over the pre-season, then that fairly undermines the scouting network.
08/06/2021, 12:09 PM
Thought there was another thread on all things Dundalk - but it seems the Magilton appointment mayn't be set in stone as yet, and the Perth rumours aren't going away (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0608/1226880-perth-remains-in-dundalk-frame-ahead-of-budget-cuts/).
Also adds a note on budget cuts -
Will be interesting to see who leaves - if it was players signed over the pre-season, then that fairly undermines the scouting network.
Scouting network? I hope that was tongue in cheek PS. if it undermines agent(s) offering overpriced players to Bill that could be a good thing!
08/06/2021, 12:47 PM
Well I was going to put it in inverted commas but there's a couple of Dundalk fans on here who'd probably have leapt on me for that :)
08/06/2021, 6:19 PM
Well maybe Bill has been trawling Football Manager for a few ideas in fairness. On the assistant managers possible appointment, its gas how often Ive heard the last few days on whether goalkeepers can make decent managers, for Gary it's proof how quickly a player is forgotten after retirement never mind Dave....
joey B
14/06/2021, 10:27 PM
So have Dundalk hired and sacked a manager in 13 minutes or what!!!!
14/06/2021, 10:40 PM
Itd be good to have a manager to sack full stop!!
sbgawa
14/06/2021, 10:58 PM
If vinny comes back it will be the best comeback since bobby Eweing, turns out the last 12 months was just a daydream
15/06/2021, 7:54 AM
Until he takes a look at the squad.
Eminence Grise
15/06/2021, 9:17 AM
'What a shower!' - Bobby Ewing, Dallas, 1986.
'What a shower!' - Vinny Perth, Dundalk, 2021?
D24Saint
15/06/2021, 9:26 AM
Very interesting turn of events. If I were a Dundalk supporter I’d take VP ahead of Dave Rogers all day long.
15/06/2021, 10:55 AM
Dont know what the issue is with JM on Perth... thought he didnt want the managers job which he would have if Rogers is appointed. Sporting Director is undermined if he is being overruled though I'd prefer Perth to Rogers simply as we need to steady the ship and knock a few players noses out of joint, not experiment with an assistant manager manager:rolleyes: Perth has lobbied hard for this and he holds sway with P6 still obviously so that relationship between VP and JM will be interesting.
Bucket
15/06/2021, 4:23 PM
Does Vinny have a pro license?
15/06/2021, 4:32 PM
He does.
placid casual
16/06/2021, 9:27 AM
So Magilton wanted Rogers but was overruled by the yanks who wanted Perth... That surely can't be good for future relations with Magilton & owners, no?
Is it true that vinny fell out with a number of dundalk players before he got the bullet - maybe that's why shields is packing his bags.
For my money it's about the best appointment they could get at the moment as Perths heart is in the club at least. Maybe scrape a European place now, or are the more bullish dundalk fans seeing a title challenge?
Yossarian
16/06/2021, 9:41 AM
So Magilton wanted Rogers but was overruled by the yanks who wanted Perth... That surely can't be good for future relations with Magilton & owners, no?
Is it true that vinny fell out with a number of dundalk players before he got the bullet - maybe that's why shields is packing his bags.
For my money it's about the best appointment they could get at the moment as Perths heart is in the club at least. Maybe scrape a European place now, or are the more bullish dundalk fans seeing a title challenge?
I would’ve been against Perth coming back as he fell out with quite a few players last year, probably the most significant was Gartland. However with the mess the club is in now I just want a manager in who knows the league and can push us on. I don’t think his previous issues with players will make much difference now as the last year has shown that the players aren’t playing for any of the various managers we’ve had.
With regard to expectations, I think most Dundalk fans would just like some stability and consistency on the pitch and to put a few wins together and climb up the table. I’d be delighted if we managed to nick a European spot but who knows what way it’ll go. With the strong rumours that the yanks will pull out at the end of the season, qualifying for Europe for next year will be huge in terms of us carrying on next season.
Dalymountrower
16/06/2021, 10:00 AM
Perth will have a bit of fire in his belly and should be able to get performances from that squad. Probably too far away from a title challenge, but I can see them winning more games than losing from now on.
sbgawa
16/06/2021, 10:24 AM
With the co efficient dundalk have not qualifying for Europe is really shooting yourself in the foot. 21 games to go and 8 points behind drogs who they play in a few weeks. Europe is very do able with the squad they have. With an easy draw in ECL 11 Europe progression is off to a good start for this year which might postpone letting players go beyond Sheilds which seems done
Knocklyonhoop
16/06/2021, 8:26 PM
Perth will be an improvement but genuinely don’t see him as a long term solution for them
16/06/2021, 8:34 PM
Well he's back anyway.
Peak6 haven't a notion what they're doing surely?
ToberonaTornado
17/06/2021, 1:04 AM
Well he's back anyway.
Peak6 haven't a notion what they're doing surely?
They know what they're doing :D . As you may know,there will be serious cutbacks to Dundalk's budget soon.Perth is coming in until the end of the season on a freebie(expenses) with bonuses to be paid on where they finish.(eg: secure Europe = HUGE feckin BONUS)
Rogers was more expensive. QED
Dignified response from Rogers this evening. Nice guy.
https://scontent.fdub3-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/201111973_4080505995363552_6005264342530552290_n.j pg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=bZWiDjQZ1D0AX_OqWVn&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-2.fna&oh=de7eb4a4d5e0bf1f91daa0009133b3cd&oe=60CFD892
17/06/2021, 10:23 AM
In principle i'd say most fans would want players and management on greater performance related bonuses than be handed a wedge weekly to just turn up, but this is sounding like the extreme. Still so many questions on issues - was going against a Sporting Director sideling him, do they regret a long term lucrative contract, VP smooth tallking in to contention, budget cuts, does it set a precedence for future contract dealings, is it P6 winding down to move on or have they seen dollar signs again after the ECL draw, did they just cop on that they were being strung along on the quality and wages of signings, that they are just adjusting the budget accordingly, backroom staff appointments, goalkeepers, what are the senior players reactions to VP being back, the list is endless.
One thing for sure is that it shows a determination by Perth, he is staking an awful lot in management career terms, to come and try and turn around the playing fortunes at a dysfunctional club. He means it when he said he backs himself and obviously has belief. I hope it goes well for him for both his and the club's sake. Questions will arise on whether it was him or a 'team' of coaching staff that dominated less than 2 years ago regardless but is often speculated that the brans behind success isnt the manager so normal enough there I suppose. Seems like the right choice for now and maybe years to come.
Dave Rogers has always been positively spoken about as a decent chap in my experience, football aside. By all accounts he's highly rated as a coach though lacks experience (yeah like thats been an issue recently) but a gamble. We could have missed out on a quality coach, time will tell! Some quarters of DFC support have gotten a bit greedy by wanting Rogers in as coach also - Delaney like imo.
This weekends football will be intriguing!
SeanDrog
17/06/2021, 6:17 PM
I guess the thread name needs updating
Perth sacked - Replaced -Rehired
17/06/2021, 6:18 PM
VP return interview, has a future in politics if things dont work out. That training top is horrendous.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUZE3EYe1cU
18/06/2021, 8:16 AM
I guess the thread name needs updating
Perth sacked - Replaced -Rehired
It'll be current again in a few weeks most likely so I wouldn't bother.
18/06/2021, 9:58 AM
It'll be current again in a few weeks most likely so I wouldn't bother.
For now, he's Schrodinger's manager: sacked and not sacked at the same time.
Eminence Grise
18/06/2021, 12:44 PM
The key issue, of course, is whether the Schrodinger question concerns being inside the box or just on the edge of it.
19/06/2021, 9:54 AM
The key issue, of course, is whether the Schrodinger question concerns being inside the box or just on the edge of it.
This is exactly what VAR was invented for.
Eminence Grise
22/06/2021, 6:36 PM
If they mix VAR with quantum mechanics, I'm done with football!:dazed: But if you believe in string theory, there's a world where Dundalk have won the Champions League and Rovers are in the first division, so it's not that bad.
22/06/2021, 6:42 PM
Surely by observing the foul, that means you can't know its exact location?
You can only know exactly where a foul took place by not observing it, which is the fundamental basis supporting many internet forums, this one included
22/06/2021, 7:25 PM
If they mix VAR with quantum mechanics, I'm done with football!:dazed: But if you believe in string theory, there's a world where Dundalk have won the Champions League and Rovers are in the first division, so it's not that bad.
And i'm the multi billion euro owner were Oriel Park is the top ground in the world - Wouldnt mind falling through a wormhole to experience that realty!!
22/06/2021, 10:15 PM
Surely by observing the foul, that means you can't know its exact location?
You can only know exactly where a foul took place by not observing it, which is the fundamental basis supporting many internet forums, this one included
If a player is ever deemed offside by a Planck length, this might be a valid question.