View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers entering a team in Div 1 next season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 6:21 PM
He didn't put up any of the childish BS just the democratic people's republic statement.
It's a bray thing 😁

YendorsMOT
22/02/2020, 8:00 PM
Are Rovers now playing an U19B team in the U 19 division as most of that team FD B team still play at under 19 level or are they eligible for both

22/02/2020, 8:37 PM
Fair play to the Galway social media guy, he put the statement up and said he was embarressed by it.
That won't go down well with the eejit blazers who told him to but respect to him

Where did he say this as I saw his posts and there was nothing attached to the statement by him,

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 10:45 PM
Where did he say this as I saw his posts and there was nothing attached to the statement by him,

It's on his personal account. Few other social media guys agreed with him, funnily enough droghedas was one and Wexford were another.

EatYerGreens
22/02/2020, 11:13 PM
Glad to see the Development Team take a beating tonight. The first of many hopefuly.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 11:29 PM
Glad to see the Development Team take a beating tonight. The first of many hopefuly.

Losing 2-0 to a team aiming for automatic promotion is a beating now?
Embarrassing how much some people are celebrating this? Thought it was just a development team?

One of the best things to come from this game has to be the Longford social media guy being called out on his pettiness at which point he said he was just doing what he was told before having it quoted back at him that he said Longford social media policy is just how he feels on the day.
Don't you love it when people's own words come back to bite them

D24Saint
23/02/2020, 12:07 AM
Losing 2-0 to a team aiming for automatic promotion is a beating now?
Embarrassing how much some people are celebrating this? Thought it was just a development team?

One of the best things to come from this game has to be the Longford social media guy being called out on his pettiness at which point he said he was just doing what he was told before having it quoted back at him that he said Longford social media policy is just how he feels on the day.

Bit rich Rovers fan giving off about a clubs social media the rovers account has done more blocking than Hawaiian Tropic.

vinnie
23/02/2020, 12:40 AM

We are the shamrock rovers. We're Ireland's number 2. When we play the town, they always cry boo hoo.

23/02/2020, 8:42 AM
Aye pure sh1te allright!

23/02/2020, 10:32 AM
Rovers II are far from crap, will take a few points as they go. Not the best performance in the world from us but important to get off to a winning start with Drogs away up next. The loss of Dean Byrne is going to be absolutely disastrous

RathfarnhamHoop
23/02/2020, 11:37 AM
Bit rich Rovers fan giving off about a clubs social media the rovers account has done more blocking than Hawaiian Tropic.

I'd rather have a social media that just blocks people than one that makes a show of itself by being unbelievably petulant

23/02/2020, 12:12 PM
Rovers II are far from crap, will take a few points as they go. Not the best performance in the world from us but important to get off to a winning start with Drogs away up next. The loss of Dean Byrne is going to be absolutely disastrous

Any initial word on how bad his injury is?

23/02/2020, 12:21 PM
I'd rather have a social media that just blocks people than one that makes a show of itself by being unbelievably petulant

You'd be right at home there so RH!

23/02/2020, 1:22 PM
Every u21 player in the first team was named. Its just an u21s team with two over 21 players allowed each game so the whole u19s and u17s have been named in it pretty much.

Heard on Jamie Moores 98 fm podcast this morning that theres lads from the Under 15 squad included in this too..

23/02/2020, 1:35 PM
The thing I find most intriguing is why did the guys running the Rovers II team leave it so late in the day to announce their squad. Our programme would have being going to print early in the week as any articles that you want to send to the match programme has to be by Tuesday night last so ye have noone to blame except yourselves if the squad wasnt in it.

23/02/2020, 1:39 PM
Any initial word on how bad his injury is?

He got in touch with one of the section o lads on twitter. Hes in severe pain he was going to Mullingar Hospital I think but preferred to go private but hes in hospital in Dublin now. He is waiting on a diagnosis but from what I hear its not looking good for him. Pity as he was superb for us until his freakish injury.

Oh by the way in a change of policy our squad arent training in Leixlip any more as there was way too many teams training out there and they have had to move their training base to Donaghmede out near the Airport.

RathfarnhamHoop
23/02/2020, 1:53 PM
The thing I find most intriguing is why did the guys running the Rovers II team leave it so late in the day to announce their squad. Our programme would have being going to print early in the week as any articles that you want to send to the match programme has to be by Tuesday night last so ye have noone to blame except yourselves if the squad wasnt in it.

Squad was announced before the deadline, sure rovers only found out on the 12th they were in for sure and it was after that that the first division clubs agreed on the u21s rule and you're dealing with a lot of minors so you've to talk to them, their parents, representatives if they have them, and find out if they're all okay with being involved in the team. Really the first division clubs have nobody but themselves to blame for not knowing the squad, if they'd been even the slightest but cooperative it would have all been sorted a lot earlier and easier.

Given the attitude of Longford media guy anyway and not even printing the club name on the programme (hope you get fined for that btw) the squad could have been in in December and I wouldn't have held my breath over it being printed.

23/02/2020, 1:59 PM
Squad was announced before the deadline, sure rovers only found out on the 12th they were in for sure and it was after that that the first division clubs agreed on the u21s rule and you're dealing with a lot of minors so you've to talk to them, their parents, representatives if they have them, and find out if they're all okay with being involved in the team. Really the first division clubs have nobody but themselves to blame for not knowing the squad, if they'd been even the slightest but cooperative it would have all been sorted a lot earlier and easier.

Given the attitude of Longford media guy anyway and not even printing the club name on the programme (hope you get fined for that btw) the squad could have been in in December and I wouldn't have held my breath over it being printed.

Unofficially from my side myself and a few other town fans didnt agree with the clubs stance on it. Five long years ago there was no issues from Shamrock Rovers B being in it and nothing was said back then.
I do agree with you that the FAI and a lot of the first division clubs didnt make things easy for themselves at all. I prefer a ten team league than a nine team league with a shield competition which would have completely pointless.
I would be interested to see if the FAI are really going to go ahead with the A championship to resolve this debacle?

RathfarnhamHoop
23/02/2020, 4:39 PM
Unofficially from my side myself and a few other town fans didnt agree with the clubs stance on it. Five long years ago there was no issues from Shamrock Rovers B being in it and nothing was said back then.
I do agree with you that the FAI and a lot of the first division clubs didnt make things easy for themselves at all. I prefer a ten team league than a nine team league with a shield competition which would have completely pointless.
I would be interested to see if the FAI are really going to go ahead with the A championship to resolve this debacle?

I think every one, rovers included, is hoping that next year there's an A championship or reserve league. And everyones fine with first division clubs not being too happy about how everything was done, but how the first division clubs reacted was just as bad and how some have acted on their socials has just been outright childish.
There's a dozen examples just from around last nights game from Longfords socials alone that do nothing but harm the image of the league, far more than and second team beiein it does.

redobit
24/02/2020, 8:44 AM

Throwing stones in your glasshouse. You must forget when the Shamrock officals stopped the Sligo radio station from broadcasting the game in Tallaght because they didn't like what the commentator said the last time they covered the game.

24/02/2020, 11:02 AM
At this stage clubs need to accept that SRII are included and treat them as any other side they will play. Any ire should be directed at the decision makers on this and not Shamrock Rovers - they are simply taking an opportunity that was afforded to them and I doubt that any other club, if they had the resources, wouldnt also take the advantage of entering a reserve/U19 team if it was going to benefit the club, its young players or those who need game time. A bit like the cringe 'Won it in Talla' banner at an official Dundalk jersey launch, official club media channels like the above should more professional. Leave the side-swiping to fans fora!

24/02/2020, 1:47 PM
A bit like the cringe 'Won it in Talla' banner at an official Dundalk jersey launch, official club media channels like the above should more professional. Leave the side-swiping to fans fora!

Agreed. but if clubs are going to do side swiping they really need to put more effort into doing it properly.

24/02/2020, 1:49 PM
He got in touch with one of the section o lads on twitter. Hes in severe pain he was going to Mullingar Hospital I think but preferred to go private but hes in hospital in Dublin now. He is waiting on a diagnosis but from what I hear its not looking good for him. Pity as he was superb for us until his freakish injury.

Oh by the way in a change of policy our squad arent training in Leixlip any more as there was way too many teams training out there and they have had to move their training base to Donaghmede out near the Airport.

We heard from Dean himself by pm on twitter last night. He has broken his ankle and snapped his ligaments. It is sad what has happened to him considered his injury history whilst with us. It will be a long time till he will come back playing thats for sure.

Human 1
24/02/2020, 8:35 PM
Hey Guys, can someone explain to me how according to the SSE AIRTRICITY squad lists, Rovers had 6 of their Premier squad playing against Longford at the weekend with another one on the bench, and tonight three of their reserves named against Waterford started at Longford.. maybe i'm just missing something..

24/02/2020, 9:28 PM
That's terrible. Very talented player, everyone was delighted that we held on to him. Hopefully we see him back in a Town shirt again next season.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 9:56 AM
Throwing stones in your glasshouse. You must forget when the Shamrock officals stopped the Sligo radio station from broadcasting the game in Tallaght because they didn't like what the commentator said the last time they covered the game.

Getting a media pass for a club is a privilege not a right, clubs treating each other with respect is the bare minimum expected, seemingly too much for some involved with Longford though.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 11:05 AM
So on the first LOI podcast out for the week Longford and Drogheda have been called "Petulant" and "Pathetic" for their social media and website antics so anyone who has those two adjectives on their bingo card can tick them off.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 12:58 PM
Outspoken I just heard your appearance on the kick off there. Do you not see the contradiction in what you said in it and what you said in it and the fact you've been supporting the Longford in how they've been acting online? Is it really any wonder that teams in this league can't sit down together when you have the official club channels being so childish? What's going to make the big clubs want to work with clubs like Longford when they see that they can't even manage to act professional towards other clubs? If they cant do it on their own website what's going to make other clubs think they can be expected to be professional, respectful and cooperative behind closed doors? You can't say one thing (that you've no problem with Rovers it's the FAI your problem is with) and then do another (Show a complete lack of respect to another football club in the league) and expect to be asked for your input in important discussions. Life doesn't work that way.

25/02/2020, 3:27 PM
Outspoken I just heard your appearance on the kick off there. Do you not see the contradiction in what you said in it and what you said in it and the fact you've been supporting the Longford in how they've been acting online? Is it really any wonder that teams in this league can't sit down together when you have the official club channels being so childish? What's going to make the big clubs want to work with clubs like Longford when they see that they can't even manage to act professional towards other clubs? If they cant do it on their own website what's going to make other clubs think they can be expected to be professional, respectful and cooperative behind closed doors? You can't say one thing (that you've no problem with Rovers it's the FAI your problem is with) and then do another (Show a complete lack of respect to another football club in the league) and expect to be asked for your input in important discussions. Life doesn't work that way.

Not sure where I have supported Longford's stance on anything, I actually remember tweeting how childish the people's league poster was the morning it was released by all the clubs, I'm sure I've put up a few tweets in jest in a personal capacity making light of the whole thing but what I said on the show is what I l've said from day 1 I'm much happier with a 10 team league than a 9 team one and the biggest issue throughout was how the decision was reached and the lack of clarity on it. The fact rovers B looks like a short term solution and talks of a B league next season are an added bonus. I contribute to the match programme and help with interviews etc after matches, that's as far as my involvement in the clubs media goes.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 3:50 PM
Not sure where I have supported Longford's stance on anything, I actually remember tweeting how childish the people's league poster was the morning it was released by all the clubs, I'm sure I've put up a few tweets in jest in a personal capacity making light of the whole thing but what I said on the show is what I l've said from day 1 I'm much happier with a 10 team league than a 9 team one and the biggest issue throughout was how the decision was reached and the lack of clarity on it. The fact rovers B looks like a short term solution and talks of a B league next season are an added bonus. I contribute to the match programme and help with interviews etc after matches, that's as far as my involvement in the clubs media goes.

Supported basically everything the media guy has put up, even the programme that excluded the opposition clubs name and you never even suggested to Doyle that had the first division clubs been open to compromise from the start instead of stamping their feet that he'd have had the Rovers squad list much earlier.

25/02/2020, 3:50 PM
Stop being so damn outspoken about it all.

25/02/2020, 4:42 PM
Supported basically everything the media guy has put up, even the programme that excluded the opposition clubs name and you never even suggested to Doyle that had the first division clubs been open to compromise from the start instead of stamping their feet that he'd have had the Rovers squad list much earlier.
Again putting a laughing face over a tweet isn't supporting it, I complemented the new programme lay out I had no idea what was or wasn't in it and the FD clubs had every right to fight there corner and would have carried it further only it would have hurt them financially.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 4:50 PM
Again putting a laughing face over a tweet isn't supporting it, I complemented the new programme lay out I had no idea what was or wasn't in it and the FD clubs had every right to fight there corner and would have carried it further only it would have hurt them financially.

You could see exactly what was on the cover which is enough to know that the opposition weren't being shown any professional respect.

First division clubs had every right to fight their corner, but to say its 9 teams or nothing was just stupidity, everyone and their mother knows that.

Town Legend
25/02/2020, 8:16 PM
RathfarnhamHoop, our media guy is a bluffer! He tweeted off his account one day that what he puts up on the clubs twitter account is how he feels when he gets up in the morning. The following day he says he puts up what he is told!! When he was pulled up on this he started blocking people. As a diehard Town fan who would defend my club to the hilt, I do cringe a lot when I see the muck he puts up. Last season some of his match commentary was a disgrace. How the club are letting him away with it I do not know.

sbgawa
25/02/2020, 8:22 PM
Most clubs rely on volunteers to do the social media stuff. The problem is that some of them treat it like their personal accounts.

25/02/2020, 8:53 PM
You could see exactly what was on the cover which is enough to know that the opposition weren't being shown any professional respect.

There hasnt been too much professional respect shown at any point on this issue. 1st division clubs were treated in quite a dismissive manner with decions made against a general consenus. That isnt Rovers fault but can see why they are bearing the brunt. It could all end up in a general positive for the league if it expidites a change of structure like a reserve/u19 league for next season. In the mean time its a grin a bear it situation. It's true that some of these cringe moments are possibly rooted in volunteerism but clubs should be able to step in and have a word! I wish Dundalk FC would speak to the PA chap in Oriel for example. People who are willing to give up time for free are in short supply I suppose.

RathfarnhamHoop
25/02/2020, 8:59 PM
RathfarnhamHoop, our media guy is a bluffer! He tweeted off his account one day that what he puts up on the clubs twitter account is how he feels when he gets up in the morning. The following day he says he puts up what he is told!! When he was pulled up on this he started blocking people. As a diehard Town fan who would defend my club to the hilt, I do cringe a lot when I see the muck he puts up. Last season some of his match commentary was a disgrace. How the club are letting him away with it I do not know.

Yeah I know hes a buffer, wasn't he sacked for a bit a couple years back for posting something to do with man United on Longfords account?

My point is just that outspoken was saying in the clip that he didn't know why the clubs couldn't all get in a room together with there being so few of them, but when you see stuff like that happening it's obvious why they don't.

All I'll say is if the first division clubs get their wish and Rovers arent in the league next year, even if there isn't another league made I wouldn't hold my breath about getting players from Rovers if I were them, Longford or Drogheda especially, on loan or permanently, because the club are not impressed at all with their carry on last week or so whatsoever and neither are the players or their parents or their advisors. A lot of bridges have been burnt.

Everything was fine when they just weren't happy about how things were done by the FAI, everyone understood that, but this whole development team and not naming the team stuff has ****ed a lot of people off. Not just at Rovers either but I'm not about to go throwing names about.

26/02/2020, 1:01 AM
Yeah I know hes a buffer, wasn't he sacked for a bit a couple years back for posting something to do with man United on Longfords account?

My point is just that outspoken was saying in the clip that he didn't know why the clubs couldn't all get in a room together with there being so few of them, but when you see stuff like that happening it's obvious why they don't.

All I'll say is if the first division clubs get their wish and Rovers arent in the league next year, even if there isn't another league made I wouldn't hold my breath about getting players from Rovers if I were them, Longford or Drogheda especially, on loan or permanently, because the club are not impressed at all with their carry on last week or so whatsoever and neither are the players or their parents or their advisors. A lot of bridges have been burnt.

Everything was fine when they just weren't happy about how things were done by the FAI, everyone understood that, but this whole development team and not naming the team stuff has ****ed a lot of people off. Not just at Rovers either but I'm not about to go throwing names about.

I would expect a club like Rovers to rise above the issue and continue to act in a professional manner. Denying a young player the opportunity to go on loan or transfer to get competative football due to petty behaviour of some at another club would be in itself pettiness. You wouldnt bend over backwards to help them out but if its a positve opportunity being spurned then bridges are burnt another way. Monaghan United were past masters at doing petty, flooding away dressingrooms, shutting off showers, deliberately delaying player registrations among other more serious messing like not opening a gate for an ambulance needed for a player with a leg injury but it wasnt reciprocated, Id have been disappointed if it was as it would have been stooping to minnowism.

RathfarnhamHoop
26/02/2020, 8:23 AM
I would expect a club like Rovers to rise above the issue and continue to act in a professional manner. Denying a young player the opportunity to go on loan or transfer to get competative football due to petty behaviour of some at another club would be in itself pettiness. You wouldnt bend over backwards to help them out but if its a positve opportunity being spurned then bridges are burnt another way. Monaghan United were past masters at doing petty, flooding away dressingrooms, shutting off showers, deliberately delaying player registrations among other more serious messing like not opening a gate for an ambulance needed for a player with a leg injury but it wasnt reciprocated, Id have been disappointed if it was as it would have been stooping to minnowism.

Players won't be stopped going on loan, just won't be going to certain clubs

sbgawa
26/02/2020, 9:56 AM
That is unbelievable I assumed it was total amateur hour. Hopefully someone at your club is doing something about it

Scrufil
26/02/2020, 11:47 AM
Yeah I know hes a buffer,.

What's the Travellers got to do with it? Next it'll be Buffers and Shams...😀

26/02/2020, 4:16 PM

Now that you mention Monaghan Utd had that something to do with them withdrawing from loi in 2012? Had no idea they were at this carryon at all.

26/02/2020, 10:46 PM
Tbh I dont know if it impacted on the decision to withdraw. I am very very glad that they did for selfish reasons!!

27/02/2020, 2:18 PM
https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-0/p280x280/88070789_2743314559078250_241456563095601152_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQk6fITpvx1ODfEiv1U1XzoEIKkwfxfc0abHrWJ6A52 QEDKnIUN9fTsmrnMKXTebBw4&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&_nc_tp=6&oh=ebb28ed20adb9cb7ffcd3601d1c8a1b7&oe=5EBDF7A7

Surprised noone has commented on this. See that shamrock rovers are charging €15 for this.
At least with Drogheda you can pay online to go in their crap kip of a away stand and get a discount off their price.
And Rovers are the bigger club that is scandalous this should be charged for all first division games. They are already charging same price for the top flight clubs in Tallaght. They can afford to do a discount.
Fair enough if you are a rovers season ticket holder you get in free but wot about taking the away fans into consideration?

mcgonigle
27/02/2020, 2:34 PM
https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.15752-0/p280x280/88070789_2743314559078250_241456563095601152_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQk6fITpvx1ODfEiv1U1XzoEIKkwfxfc0abHrWJ6A52 QEDKnIUN9fTsmrnMKXTebBw4&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&_nc_tp=6&oh=ebb28ed20adb9cb7ffcd3601d1c8a1b7&oe=5EBDF7A7

Surprised noone has commented on this. See that shamrock rovers are charging €15 for this.
At least with Drogheda you can pay online to go in their crap kip of a away stand and get a discount off their price.
And Rovers are the bigger club that is scandalous this should be charged for all first division games. They are already charging same price for the top flight clubs in Tallaght. They can afford to do a discount.
Fair enough if you are a rovers season ticket holder you get in free but wot about taking the away fans into consideration?

RathfarnhamHoop will be along in a minute to politely explain that you are incorrect and cheerfully suggest you not criticise Shamrock Rovers in the future

sbgawa
27/02/2020, 2:47 PM
I was a bit surprised by that myself tbh, thought it might be a tenner.
Hard to criticise the club though as all season ticket holders are getting in for free and this would be the group who probably would have paid in rather than the casual fan so gate receipts are likely to be pretty low.
Have to say am looking forward to seeing some of the young kids playing against Galway on Saturday

27/02/2020, 3:12 PM
Tenner for adults and kids free. The crowds will be small enough without charging such mental prices to First Division games.

Ezeikial
27/02/2020, 4:29 PM
I was a bit surprised by that myself tbh, thought it might be a tenner.
Hard to criticise the club though as all season ticket holders are getting in for free and this would be the group who probably would have paid in rather than the casual fan so gate receipts are likely to be pretty low.
Have to say am looking forward to seeing some of the young kids playing against Galway on Saturday

Could it be that the gate receipts will be low because of the pricing policy?

D24Saint
27/02/2020, 4:36 PM
Tallaght stadium is only ten minutes away so I would have been tempted to a few games. I haven’t been to a FD game since Cabinteely entered the league but the ticket price will keep the causal punter away.

28/02/2020, 5:18 PM
With the greatest of respect, that's nonsense. The vast majority of Rovers II away games will be on the same time as the first team are playing.
History shows that Rovers B team in the first division a few years ago didn't travel to away games, and hardly showed up for home games either.

How many players are they allowed register for both teams as there’s at least six first teamers registered there.