View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers entering a team in Div 1 next season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10

RathfarnhamHoop
20/02/2020, 5:58 PM
Going to be so very sweet when we win the first division then the FDA demand that we're relegated to the newly created 3rd tier for devaluing the division

20/02/2020, 6:16 PM
Is it actually spelled out anywhere that Rovers can't get promoted? What happens if they end up in a play off spot? I know it won't happen in all probability, just curious.

20/02/2020, 6:20 PM
Is it actually spelled out anywhere that Rovers can't get promoted? What happens if they end up in a play off spot? I know it won't happen in all probability, just curious.

Yeah they can't be promoted and aren't eligible for play offs so 6th could be enough for play off place in a 10 team league which is ridiculous

Asterix
20/02/2020, 6:32 PM
Yeah they can't be promoted and aren't eligible for play offs so 6th could be enough for play off place in a 10 team league which is ridiculous

Well thats down to the low number of teams in the league. Its not as if 5th in a 9 league team getting playy offs would have been better.

20/02/2020, 6:35 PM
The total arrogance from Rovers supporters is unbelievable. I backed Kram back in the day as did loi supporters from all clubs so I find their lack of understanding or empathy for clubs fighting for their futures.

20/02/2020, 6:51 PM
I don't think Galway v Rovers II is all that comparable to Galway having Terryland sold from under them in fairness.

RathfarnhamHoop
20/02/2020, 7:20 PM
The total arrogance from Rovers supporters is unbelievable. I backed Kram back in the day as did loi supporters from all clubs so I find their lack of understanding or empathy for clubs fighting for their futures.

How on earth are clubs fighting for their futures? What possible detrimental impact could Rovers II have on another clubs solvency?

If anything financially its better for the other clubs. Take the fact it's Rovers out of it. A 10 team league playing each other 3 times with no midweek games is financially better than either a 9 team league playing each other 3 times so losing overall number of games and having weeks with no income, or a 9 team league playing each other 4 times which would mean weeks with no income and midweek games which at that level are almost guaranteed to be break even events at best.
So before you even factor in away fans just having a 10th team is financially better for the clubs. Then on the away fans front Rovers are bringing 40/50 fans on Saturday at least, for the first division that's a decent away crowd, won't happen every week but it will every so often and will financially benefit the home club when it does.

20/02/2020, 7:50 PM
I for one welcome our new Rovers overlords. I have to say I know a lot of the powers that be at LTFC for a good while and have rarely disagreed with the route they've gone down whilst running the club but I just can't see the major problem. It's not ideal by any means but, and I'm being flippant, our new sponsor isn't going to pull out just because Limerick aren't in and Rovers II are. The integrity of the division etc is a nice idea but when it comes down to it at the end Drogs would feck over LTFC, LTFC would feck over Drogs, they'd both feck over Galway etc. Win your matches, finish as high as you can.

Town Legend
20/02/2020, 8:40 PM
I find it funny how one of the reasons Rovers fans are giving as good reason for them to be included is the amount of fans they''ll bring. Last time they were in they brought no one!! How is this going to be any different??

mcgonigle
20/02/2020, 9:40 PM
I find it funny how one of the reasons Rovers fans are giving as good reason for them to be included is the amount of fans they''ll bring. Last time they were in they brought no one!! How is this going to be any different??

It's not, but they can't see past their own arrogance. In their heads they are the greatest thing to happen to football in this country. That's why they're all on here having a hissy fit that fans of other FD clubs aren't delighted with the privilege of playing the famous green and white hoops in the greatest stadium built by a county council

RathfarnhamHoop
20/02/2020, 10:23 PM

If you're managing to get that from my "every so often there'll be a bigger than most away crowd" you're seriously reaching there.

Town Legend
20/02/2020, 11:07 PM
If you're managing to get that from my "every so often there'll be a bigger than most away crowd" you're seriously reaching there.

Where did I mention you?? All you have to do is go on twitter and take a look at what some deluded Shamrock Rovers fans are saying about crowds they would bring.

Town Legend
20/02/2020, 11:55 PM
See Longfords social media guy is making a show of himself again

This lad is an embarrassment to the club with his tweets and match commentary.

DCWA
21/02/2020, 5:50 AM
Rovers fans will be the ones crying into their pints in a few years time.

No promotion this year but Rovers II end up in again next year. The no promotion clause is quietly deleted. Significant investment. Rovers II promoted. 2022 further significant investment from Desmond Rovers II usurp the real Rovers. Desmond pulls away, splits the two entities. Rovers II now Dublin Celtic and within a few years whilst the real Rovers, ironically now strong themselves as “Dublin’s Original’s” are pottering about mid table League of Ireland football under Bradley and Desmond’s Dublin Celtic, playing in the Aviva under Stephen Kenny with Perth back as his assistant, are at the top end of the English Championship rapidly approaching the Premier League over there.

sulywaterfordfc
21/02/2020, 8:01 AM
The pictures clubs posted yesterday were nothing short of an embarrassment for the league. It’s even more laughable that the background to UCDs picture was a packed main stand in the RSC, Waterford. That really puzzled me, absolutely no relevance whatsoever.

This excuse that Rovers II will bring no away fans either is absolute rubbish. We spent ten years in the division, and it wasn’t to often we had more then a dozen or two away fans in the RSC. From 2012-2017, ourselves and Shels were seemingly the only clubs bring a bus load to away grounds on a regular basis.

The division already has Athlone, Cobh, Cabinteely and Wexford. Chances are it’ll be a rare occasion this year if they bring more then a dozen fans to an away game.

Reality is a 9 team league playing each other four times simply wouldn’t work with the LOI, especially the first division in its current state. If first division clubs are going to act like big boys they would want to come to the table with better and more realistic and viable solutions in future.

placid casual
21/02/2020, 8:15 AM
It's not, but they can't see past their own arrogance. In their heads they are the greatest thing to happen to football in this country. That's why they're all on here having a hissy fit that fans of other FD clubs aren't delighted with the privilege of playing the famous green and white hoops in the greatest stadium built by a county council
Wow, how wide of the mark could you actually get..
Rovers fans on here are just bemused by the amount of attention this move is getting, for them doing the FAI a favour and rounding out an even numbered league- so everyone gets to play , every week. DUH!
I get that everyone more or less hates Rovers anyway, but at least acknowledge this situation for what it is.

Bunny Kelly
21/02/2020, 8:37 AM
I can get why Prem Div clubs would have an issue with the B team if it was providing match fitness to their subs & giving an unfair advantage but this appears to have been largely ruled out.

The First Division clubs have little grounds tho, Cabo, Wexford & UCD are largely u21 sides with no fans so how are Rovers B any different.

What I do find interesting is the club driving the wedge in the FD appear to be Cabo who weren't around the last time Rovers B were. While they have their rights to protest as league member it grates with me that the new kids on the block are dictating policy for the First Division, especially when motives seem to have nothing to do with the LOI itself

21/02/2020, 9:09 AM
Ah here, do you really think the other clubs are dancing to Cabinteely's tune? Why on earth would they do that? It makes no sense whatsoever.

Bunny Kelly
21/02/2020, 10:16 AM
The comment about not wanting any player born after 2003 in the statement is clearly relating to schoolboy football & the fact that Cabo & now Bray are now a front for 2 of the biggest schoolboy set ups in the country.

I honestly can't see any reason for the other First Division clubs to have a problem, it has actually made it easier to get promoted for these sides

Town Legend
21/02/2020, 10:37 AM
The pictures clubs posted yesterday were nothing short of an embarrassment for the league. It’s even more laughable that the background to UCDs picture was a packed main stand in the RSC, Waterford. That really puzzled me, absolutely no relevance whatsoever.

This excuse that Rovers II will bring no away fans either is absolute rubbish. We spent ten years in the division, and it wasn’t to often we had more then a dozen or two away fans in the RSC. From 2012-2017, ourselves and Shels were seemingly the only clubs bring a bus load to away grounds on a regular basis.

The division already has Athlone, Cobh, Cabinteely and Wexford. Chances are it’ll be a rare occasion this year if they bring more then a dozen fans to an away game.

Reality is a 9 team league playing each other four times simply wouldn’t work with the LOI, especially the first division in its current state. If first division clubs are going to act like big boys they would want to come to the table with better and more realistic and viable solutions in future.

Shamrock Rovers B were in the league before and brought no one to their away games. Genuine question, why will this year be different with this B team? The 300-500 that I see mentioned on twitter would be 290-490 more than what they brought last time. I have no issues with Rovers entering a B team. It was just the clarity of what first team players they could use I had the issue with. But one gk and one outfield player from the senior team is OK. If they were allowed to play any amount of A players it would of been a joke.

Ezeikial
21/02/2020, 11:26 AM
I get that everyone more or less hates Rovers anyway, but at least acknowledge this situation for what it is.

You seem to underestimate how others feel about Rovers

mcgonigle
21/02/2020, 12:22 PM
Wow, how wide of the mark could you actually get..
Rovers fans on here are just bemused by the amount of attention this move is getting, for them doing the FAI a favour and rounding out an even numbered league- so everyone gets to play , every week. DUH!

Thanks for proving my point.

Can't see why these minnow clubs are making such a fuss, sure they get to play in a 7,000 capacity ground in front of 200 people against the best of Ireland's newest puppy farm.

And not only are Rovers doing these 9 minnows a great service they are selflessly helping out the FAI with no benefits to themselves. The model club

placid casual
21/02/2020, 12:24 PM
You seem to underestimate how others feel about Rovers
Don't worry mate I wasn't referring to you 😄.
We're all aware of the high regard you have for Rovers- why else would you constantly make reference to them after all.

21/02/2020, 1:49 PM

I know it's easy to forget Harps were in the First Division a few of those years 2012-2017..

sulywaterfordfc
21/02/2020, 2:12 PM
I know it's easy to forget Harps were in the First Division a few of those years 2012-2017..

Actually in fairness to Harps in the latter years always some brought fans. I remember one year in particular might have been the first game of the season and there must of been 50 plus Harps at the game with a drum creating a bitta noise. Only done the trek to Harps twice and the journey up is great crack, but coming home straight after feels like a punishment. Letterkenny is a grand spot for a night out all the same

thebronze14
21/02/2020, 3:01 PM
Actually in fairness to Harps in the latter years always some brought fans. I remember one year in particular might have been the first game of the season and there must of been 50 plus Harps at the game with a drum creating a bitta noise. Only done the trek to Harps twice and the journey up is great crack, but coming home straight after feels like a punishment. Letterkenny is a grand spot for a night out all the same
Last minute equiliser to rob a point iirc.... Skipped a wedding to go. The goal is reward in the end!

21/02/2020, 3:07 PM

Cos this time if you are a fan of shamrock rovers whether you are a fan of the top flight rovers team or the lower flight rovers team any game you go to at home watching them is covered in your season ticket price thats why. I imagine there will be more interest than six years ago tbh.

YendorsMOT
21/02/2020, 3:58 PM
Only Rovers fans are parents of the kids

Asterix
21/02/2020, 4:43 PM
Your Shamrock Rovers II team for the season

https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2833&stc=1

21/02/2020, 4:53 PM
Well that's an absolute nightmare for programme editors. Inconsiderate feckers :)

D24Saint
21/02/2020, 5:37 PM
Well that's an absolute nightmare for programme editors. Inconsiderate feckers :)

Typical Rovers they care about nothing not even the environment that will take extra pages to fit in.

Town Legend
21/02/2020, 5:49 PM
Cos this time if you are a fan of shamrock rovers whether you are a fan of the top flight rovers team or the lower flight rovers team any game you go to at home watching them is covered in your season ticket price thats why. I imagine there will be more interest than six years ago tbh.

But their season ticket won't cover them at away games so I doubt they will bring much of a crowd for the B team away games.

Scrufil
22/02/2020, 1:04 PM
Genuine question ...what would you be protesting about.
Leave aside the integrity of the league question please (Limerick betting scandal / going bust/ cabo playing on a rugby pitch in front of 100 people. Kilkenny city Salt hill devon Graveyard etc etc etc)
This is purely a schoolboy club driven agenda with a few gullible people pulled in.

We could protest against the virus Rovers suffer from - Hooping cough. 😀

Any chance Rovers could get that Burkey fellow to play against Longford? He looks like he needs the game time.

22/02/2020, 1:16 PM
But their season ticket won't cover them at away games so I doubt they will bring much of a crowd for the B team away games.

Good point I was on about their home games in Tallaght I meant to say.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 1:20 PM
We could protest against the virus Rovers suffer from - Hooping cough. 😀

Any chance Rovers could get that Burkey fellow to play against Longford? He looks like he needs the game time.

He came off early last night after we'd used all 3 subs just to rest himself for today, himself and Mannus are the two overage players today I'm hearing.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 1:22 PM
Shamrock Rovers B were in the league before and brought no one to their away games. Genuine question, why will this year be different with this B team? The 300-500 that I see mentioned on twitter would be 290-490 more than what they brought last time. I have no issues with Rovers entering a B team. It was just the clarity of what first team players they could use I had the issue with. But one gk and one outfield player from the senior team is OK. If they were allowed to play any amount of A players it would of been a joke.

Don't think anyones seriously saying we'll bring 500 to away games, 50-100 seems to be the number most think might make an appearance every so often which would still be a huge away crowd in first division terms.

22/02/2020, 1:31 PM

This is my 10th year running buses to away games, in fairness we wouldn't have had a lot of buses to waterford, but I do recall about four or five buses running there in that time frame.
One particular trip sticks out as most people nearly burst their bladder on the bus with no stop from Ardee to Dublin and again from Red cow to Waterford.
Might actually have been the game you're referring to as well

22/02/2020, 1:34 PM
Don't think anyones seriously saying we'll bring 500 to away games, 50-100 seems to be the number most think might make an appearance every so often which would still be a huge away crowd in first division terms.

With the greatest of respect, that's nonsense. The vast majority of Rovers II away games will be on the same time as the first team are playing.
History shows that Rovers B team in the first division a few years ago didn't travel to away games, and hardly showed up for home games either.

22/02/2020, 1:34 PM
Your Shamrock Rovers II team for the season

https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2833&stc=1

too late for that to appear in our match program tonight!

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 1:35 PM
With the greatest of respect, that's nonsense. The vast majority of Rovers II away games will be on the same time as the first team are playing.
History shows that Rovers B team in the first division a few years ago didn't travel to away games, and hardly showed up for home games either.
Do the words every so often just not mean anything to you?

22/02/2020, 1:36 PM
Do the words every so often just not mean anything to you?

Actually the words I'm having the most trouble with there are "every" and "often".

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 1:42 PM
Actually the words I'm having the most trouble with there are "every" and "often".

Might want to consider heading back to school so if you struggle to comprehend such simple phrases

colonelwest
22/02/2020, 3:54 PM
Couple of standout names on that squad list, most notable being Farrugia, which is absolutely nuts that he's listed. I know it was clearly stated one outfield and one keeper from the seniors in the junior infants squad but what's the story with any limitations on lads stepping up and playing for the seniors? If there's none then that's definitely a massive advantage to Rovers with regard to keeping fringe players match fit and getting game time throughout the season if they can just be called up to the premier team at any point compared to the rest of the prem divisions squads.

Asterix
22/02/2020, 3:58 PM
http://ltfc.ie/event/longford-town-v-shamrock-rovers-ii/

I wonder how quick Lonford will change this back to Shamrock Rovers II if they drop points tonight.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 4:13 PM
Couple of standout names on that squad list, most notable being Farrugia, which is absolutely nuts that he's listed. I know it was clearly stated one outfield and one keeper from the seniors in the junior infants squad but what's the story with any limitations on lads stepping up and playing for the seniors? If there's none then that's definitely a massive advantage to Rovers with regard to keeping fringe players match fit and getting game time throughout the season if they can just be called up to the premier team at any point compared to the rest of the prem divisions squads.

Every u21 player in the first team was named. Its just an u21s team with two over 21 players allowed each game so the whole u19s and u17s have been named in it pretty much.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 4:18 PM

I wonder how quick Lonford will change this back to Shamrock Rovers II if they drop points tonight.

Worst thing about that is you can tell that they originally had is as Shamrock Rovers II from the url, media guy probably changed it after seeing the picture Drogs put up which is pathetic really.

RathfarnhamHoop
22/02/2020, 4:42 PM
Love how the clubs keep trying to insist this isn't an anti Rovers thing, it's the FAI they have the problem with yet all the petty ****e is aimed directly at Rovers. Pull the other one lads

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 5:32 PM
Ah lads we wanted this team to develop our academy players, Longford have totally undermined it by not putting us on the cover of their match programme. Lol.
I hope the young kids can deal with the trauma of it all.
Can some of the longford people on here get your social media eejit and club officers in general to stop making a show of yourselves.

Paulgufc
22/02/2020, 5:59 PM

Seems to be Longford and Drogheda driving most of this drivel. Absolutely minnowism from both. Embarrassed that we are associated with that statement but at least we’re not putting up this kind of ****e on our site.

The poster from Drogheda was an embarrassment.

sbgawa
22/02/2020, 6:16 PM
Fair play to the Galway social media guy, he put the statement up and said he was embarressed by it.
That won't go down well with the eejit blazers who told him to but respect to him