View Full Version : CaoimhÃn Kelleher GK Brentford b.1998
liamoo11
10/11/2024, 3:07 PM
One of the greats alright.
Has he not played in more big games for a top 3 Premier league side than any other irsh player in the last 10 years . Played in league cup finals played in champions league. Not many irish players have done all that in last 20 years surely that counts as a great career so far? If he had move to Preston 4 years ago I'm sure he would have 200 appearance s for them but woukd that be better than the career he has had at Liverpool in the last 4 years? I don't think it would
liamoo11
10/11/2024, 3:09 PM
They'll surely put a statue of him on a nice bench somewhere around the stadium, chilled, watching a good game.
Strange attitude.
Has he not played in more big games for a top 3 Premier league side than any other irsh player in the last 10 years . Played in league cup finals played in champions league. Not many irish players have done all that in last 20 years surely that counts as a great career so far? If he had move to Preston 4 years ago I'm sure he would have 200 appearance s for them but woukd that be better than the career he has had at Liverpool in the last 4 years? I don't think it would
He’s a fine keeper, the doubts I had have been almost fully put to bed over the last year. He’s got the Irish jersey now too and Bazunu will have to level up again to win it back. I’m delighted. But to bank your career on your competition getting injured is risky and questionable. I don’t love it. But like I said delighted it’s worked out for us.
Your last line in the post I quoted is a strange take which is why I quoted it. He’s a second choice keeper who’s taken advantage of the few opportunities handed to him through injury to Allison. A great career would be to have won the Liverpool jersey outright or moved to a less elite level (non Top 6) and proven himself as a number one there. That’s all I was questioning.
Strange attitude.
Ah come on - that was very funny :D
10/11/2024, 4:03 PM
He's the only Irish player getting game tile at a top PL club and winning plaudits from fans and pundits every week, and yet posters on this forum know better. He's a barely adequate flapper who has wasted his talent and should have followed the Bazunu path (probably second choice keeper, when fit, at a club destined to be relegated once again Laughable.)
I don’t think he’s a barely adequate flapper at all. Not sure if that was meant at me, because I mentioned a flap earlier. I think he’s a really good keeper who looks at home at the top of the PL and in the CL.
CraftyToePoke
10/11/2024, 4:16 PM
Strange attitude.
Missed the humour maybe ?
What I found strange was trying to paint his time at Liverpool as a, what a career, type thing.
& that's from someone who thinks he's good enough and they are making a mistake if they let him move on.
That he has played more big games than any other Irish player in a decade speaks about Irish footballs ongoing low tide, not his club situation.
rebelmusic
10/11/2024, 6:59 PM
In fairness to Caoimhin, he had a really good relationship with Klopp and there was plenty of signs/suggestion that he was the long term replacement for Alisson. It's really only since Slot came in that the debate was ended and he fairly quickly signalled he was open to moving elsewhere.
If he doesn't start making waves next summer then that's a different story but I feel he's been very smart about his career choices to date and it's mostly paid off.
Rayzor
10/11/2024, 7:15 PM
Thought myself that he should leave during this winter transfer window, not sure now, looks like he could collect a league winners medal which he will i
of have massively contributed to, if they do go on a win the league.
seanfhear
10/11/2024, 7:51 PM
He might even grow on Slot as time goes by !
Eirambler
10/11/2024, 9:04 PM
In fairness to Caoimhin, he had a really good relationship with Klopp and there was plenty of signs/suggestion that he was the long term replacement for Alisson. It's really only since Slot came in that the debate was ended and he fairly quickly signalled he was open to moving elsewhere.
I think a lot of that was just Klopp blowing smoke up his hole. He nearly didn't pick him for the League Cup final that time he ended up scoring the winning penalty, despite the League Cup being the one competition he was meant to be the keeper for. Used to leave him on the bench for dead rubber Champions League group games as well. I doubt Klopp ever saw him as a future first choice, he just saw a way to keep a good backup on side for as long as he was going to be there.
CraftyToePoke
10/11/2024, 9:15 PM
"First of all, Alisson needs to become fit,” Slot said in his press conference after the win.
“I have always been quite clear, that’s always been the position of Alisson.
“He is and will be our first goalkeeper if he is fit. But first he needs to be fit.
“But Caoimh has done outstanding, last season and this season again as well but the moment Alisson is fit, he will be our first goalkeeper.”
-----------------
Difficult reading for Ireland fans there ( particularly about such a Liverpool legend ) but there is an honesty and a decency to it that Klopp wouldn't show toward him.
seanfhear
10/11/2024, 9:36 PM
"First of all, Alisson needs to become fit,” Slot said in his press conference after the win.
“He is and will be our first goalkeeper if he is fit. But first he needs to be fit.
“But Caoimh has done outstanding, last season and this season again as well but the moment Alisson is fit, he will be our first goalkeeper.”
-----------------
Difficult reading for Ireland fans there ( particularly about such a Liverpool legend ) but there is an honesty and a decency to it that Klopp wouldn't show toward him.
Decent honesty there alright.
liamoo11
10/11/2024, 10:25 PM
Decent honesty there alright.
Yeah Slot couldn't be fairer there.
elatedscum
10/11/2024, 11:12 PM
https://youtu.be/q8DUyKDH2-k?si=MpBX3kHQjrUau-qz
Klopp saying the exact same thing about Robertson and Tsimikas.
I don’t see at all how Klopp was anything other than supportive towards Kelleher and a huge boost to Kelleher’s career
Snapshot
11/11/2024, 8:01 AM
-----------------
In what instance was Klopp ever other than honest and decent with/about Kelleher? Slot is just stating the bleedin' obvious.
CraftyToePoke
11/11/2024, 10:46 AM
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jurgen-klopp-reveals-refused-sell-28210083
“Yeah (he is ready to be a number one at a club like Liverpool), no doubt, no doubt,” Klopp told reporters ahead of the Reds’ clash with Fulham. “We see him every day in training. He is exceptional, an exceptional talent.
“Maybe we don’t mention his name often enough. John Achterberg, from day one when I came in, he told me this will be our homegrown boy who will make it. Since then, we see every step. He is now a man. He was a boy, now he’s a man. A top goalie, no doubt.
Less than a year ago Snappers, when Klopp would have known he was about to tap out of the Liverpool job.
Plenty other young academy lads in the Liverpool side though, despite all the one to make it carry on.
Klopp did a job on him there and did it well in fairness, and won't care less the guy is now pushing 30 with less apps than taytos in a bag.
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jurgen-klopp-reveals-refused-sell-28210083
That's stretching it a bit, he'll turn 30 in 2028, we aren't nearly there.
And yes he probably should have a lot more senior appearances, but to say you've played 55 times for a club at the top of the Premier league and champions league is pretty novel for our squad and has been for a number of years
Less than a year ago Snappers, when Klopp would have known he was about to tap out of the Liverpool job.
Plenty other young academy lads in the Liverpool side though, despite all the one to make it carry on.
Klopp did a job on him there and did it well in fairness, and won't care less the guy is now pushing 30 with less apps than taytos in a bag.
That's stretching it a bit, he'll turn 30 in 2028, we aren't nearly there.
And yes he probably should have a lot more senior appearances, but to say you've played 55 times for a club at the top of the Premier league and champions league is pretty novel for our squad and has been for a number of years
Diggs246
11/11/2024, 12:35 PM
Anyone else find his salary shockingly poor for a prem/ champions League player. 520k
11/11/2024, 12:48 PM
There was some discussion above claiming that that particular figure is not from a reliable source.
Diggs246
11/11/2024, 1:14 PM
Ok thanks a million
I missed that.
That salary would have been ridiculous!
11/11/2024, 1:37 PM
There's another site here (https://salarysport.com/football/player/caoimhin-kelleher/) which says he went up to £32k/week with his new contract. Not that it's necessarily more reliable just because the numbers are higher.
Snapshot
11/11/2024, 1:54 PM
There's another site here (https://salarysport.com/football/player/caoimhin-kelleher/) which says he went up to £32k/week with his new contract. Not that it's necessarily more reliable just because the numbers are higher.
I trawled myriad sites all claiming Kelleher earns £10k per week. The only exception was SalarySport which gave him £32k-£50k per week - the site you're referencing here. It supports Eirambler's post.
11/11/2024, 2:46 PM
I wonder how reliable any of those sites can really be tbh.
Or even why I'd care what he's on. (Would love ten grand a week myself!)
elatedscum
11/11/2024, 7:21 PM
a decade ago - or twenty years ago, you only got a sense of someone's salary when a deal was signed - if it was someone high enough profile, someone involved in the deal would leak the wages to a journalist. that's basically still the case - sticking with Liverpool, the likes of Salah, Van Dijk - their wages are common knowledge. For Kelleher, no one really cared enough to ever leak the deal.
In US Sports, all the contracts that players sign are public, so you have websites whose entire purpose is in listing those contracts. As Premier League football and football in general has increased in popularity, Spotrac, one of those sites, (run by 2 randomers in New York) decided to publish a table of premier league wages (guessing every player) without any more info than you or I would have. But they know it's great for traffic and people don't really care if they're wrong, and it's rare to be able to prove it either way. And then loads of online publications use it as a source - example here: https://www.liverpool.com/liverpool-fc-news/features/liverpool-players-salary-wages-money-29757218 ("All wages listed below are as per Spotrac (https://www.spotrac.com/epl/liverpool-fc/cap/_/year/2024)."
You occasionally get proof (like when Football Leaks released Firmino's contract or when John Arne Riise threw out his payslip.
Clickbait media just uses it to write loads of articles but pretty much every fan base can look through it and find obvious mistakes (like Kelleher) - just google it and you'll find arsenal fans on reddit going through how ridiculous some of the numbers are.
Here you've got an article in 2021, where it says his previous contract, which he signed at age 19 in 2018 was at £15k (he was third choice at the club and sixth choice including loan players) and his current contract (signed in 2021, when he was 2nd choice) is an upgrade on that or "a bumper pay rise":
If I were guessing, I'd say he's on around £50k (somewhere in the £40-80k mark)
Eirambler
14/11/2024, 11:11 PM
A decent piece of work here on Kelleher's situation from the BBC.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/czxr8q58lqno
liamoo11
15/11/2024, 12:31 AM
A decent piece of work here on Kelleher's situation from the BBC.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/czxr8q58lqno
A good piece. Never understand how negative so many posters are about him . This hood without ever playing for morecambe as a 20 year old hard to believe
backstothewall
15/11/2024, 12:34 AM
Gavin Bazunu has done nothing wrong, but I think he lost the #1 jersey tonight.
Razors left peg
15/11/2024, 12:55 AM
What a career Kelleher has had for Ireland
liamoo11
15/11/2024, 7:57 AM
Bazunu is and will be a top.keeper ,I'd be very confident with either playing for us
Eirambler
15/11/2024, 8:20 AM
September I think was the turning point in the Kelleher/Bazunu battle. Kelleher has just stepped up to another level, playing the 20+ games for Liverpool last season brought him on massively.
It's a shame for Bazunu (and also Travers) as they're high potential keepers, but if Kelleher keeps going like this it's going to be near to impossible for either of them to shift him. When you have lots of decent centre backs you can do things like play them at full back or rotate them to keep players involved. Even easier with forwards as there are always sub opportunities. But goalkeeper is brutal - you get an injury at the wrong moment (Bazunu) or make a mistake in a high profile game early on in your international career (Travers) and you might not get the jersey back for years, if ever.
seanfhear
15/11/2024, 10:50 AM
Perhaps the rules could be changed to play more than one goalkeeper at a time ~ ~ Two ball playing goalkeepers could be an interesting tactic ! !
Jolly Red Giant
15/11/2024, 11:28 AM
It happens with goalkeepers - Kelleher has been outstanding for Liverpool, yet will likely be back on the bench next game.
Jolly Red Giant
15/11/2024, 11:32 AM
I remember when he signed the contract it was stated that he was on £25k a week.
Either way - he would be paid a lot more as a starting keeper now given the standard he is playing at. Given the Saudi money behind them - Newcastle should sign him, he is better than anything they have (and way younger as well).
backstothewall
15/11/2024, 11:42 AM
If he moves on in the summer he should leave England. He'll be far more respected for what he's done on the continent.
18/11/2024, 9:58 AM
I think he'd be a perfect replacement for Neuer.
Demesne Lad
18/11/2024, 10:54 PM
To Chelsea or Italy in the summer, if a certain tabloid could be believed. The rumour has been repeated in other publications and websites but Eoin Harrington at balls.ie has quoted 'transfer gurus' who have scoffed at the idea of a move to Chelsea, who already have TEN 'keepers on their books.
Report Linking Caoimhín Kelleher To Premier League Giants Shut Down | Balls.ie (https://www.balls.ie/football/caoimhin-kelleher-chelsea-links-616281)
20/11/2024, 8:02 AM
Chelsea have denied any interest in Kelleher
https://www.givemesport.com/chelsea-transfer-news-not-interested-caoimhin-kelleher-deal-stamford-bridge/
seanfhear
20/11/2024, 8:04 AM
To Chelsea or Italy in the summer, if a certain tabloid could be believed. The rumour has been repeated in other publications and websites but Eoin Harrington at balls.ie has quoted 'transfer gurus' who have scoffed at the idea of a move to Chelsea, who already have TEN 'keepers on their books.
Report Linking Caoimhín Kelleher To Premier League Giants Shut Down | Balls.ie (https://www.balls.ie/football/caoimhin-kelleher-chelsea-links-616281)
Ten keepers ~ There could be a song in that !
24/11/2024, 4:04 PM
Another penalty save today - though Southampton scored the rebound.
Does he have a good save percentage or does it just feel like it?
Eirambler
24/11/2024, 4:19 PM
Bit of a mixed bag for him today. A good early save, saved the pen and was unlucky not to save the rebound. But got caught a bit flatfooted for the other Southampton goal (might not have got to it anyway) and was maybe a bit lucky not to concede a penalty in the second half.
27/11/2024, 8:31 PM
Well.
Steve McManaman:
Kelleher is doing fantastic. Every time he is called upon, he stands up.
He is an absolute superstar in his own right. He is not a number two. He is an equal number one.
He is fantastic.
Jd2793
27/11/2024, 8:50 PM
irelands best keeper by a distance. hopefully makes the right move in the summer.
joey B
27/11/2024, 8:58 PM
Just a very good goalkeeper,if his future is not at Liverpool he’ll be on the radar of some big clubs still and he should have an excellent career at the top level….
28/11/2024, 6:30 AM
Well.
Tis yourself!
texidub
28/11/2024, 8:46 AM
Another peno save, I heard?! Liverpool are looking stupid beyond belief at this stage. If he leaves I hope he saves a peno against them for his new club - CL semi or Final would be nice.
seanfhear
28/11/2024, 9:31 AM
Another peno save, I heard?! Liverpool are looking stupid beyond belief at this stage. If he leaves I hope he saves a peno against them for his new club - CL semi or Final would be nice.
It is getting odder and odder alright !
28/11/2024, 9:40 AM
Arguably already the highest level of club football an Irish keeper has ever played? Top of EPL, consistent winner at CL level and already with cup final wins and medals. Shay played for much longer at a very high level but I think you can say now, though of course it's only November, that Liverpool are a serious EPL and CL contender, something Shay's Newcastle never were.
And Euro 2028 qualification already guaranteed :)
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cdxvw1vx15ro
There is a poll about halfway through this article. I am calling on all Irishmen and women to do what we do best as a nation. Fix a poll.
Joking aside (am i joking?)... the lack of appearances at his age is a legitimate factor in all this, as the article points out towards the end.
Kelleher, who never had any loan spells, has only played 57 games of club football - all for Liverpool - at the age of 26.
He is older than incoming Reds keeper Mamardashvili, who has played 179 club matches, and Italy's Gianluigi Donnarumma - who has played 402 times for AC Milan and Paris St-Germain.
His main rival for the Republic of Ireland number one jersey is 22-year-old Gavin Bazunu, who has played 162 times for four different clubs, including current side Southampton.
seanfhear
28/11/2024, 6:08 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cdxvw1vx15ro
There is a poll about halfway through this article. I am calling on all Irishmen and women to do what we do best as a nation. Fix a poll.
I did my duty ~ ~ And if I was more tech savvy ~ ~ I would vote early and often !