View Full Version : CaoimhÃn Kelleher GK Brentford b.1998
Rayzor
21/08/2024, 8:25 PM
Not looking good for Kelleher this season but some of the folk on here are absolutely clueless how contracts in football work, seen it with Lawal posts as well, when you sign a contract, the club decides your future not you. Would it be better for Kellehers career to leave? yes, but not for Liverpool. Having a poor back up cost Inter the 2022 title, don't think Liverpool will take that risk.
Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 8:28 PM
Not looking good for Kelleher this season but some of the folk on here are absolutely clueless how contracts in football work, seen it with Lawal posts as well, when you sign a contract, the club decides your future not you. Would it be better for Kellehers career to leave? yes, but not for Liverpool. Having a poor back up cost Inter the 2022 title, don't think Liverpool will take that risk.
Players force their way out of clubs every day. We are all aware of his contract situation, it was even clarified to me that its 2 years and not 1, but players and their agents can and do make enough of a fuss that the clubs will let them go if the player really wants it.
21/08/2024, 9:02 PM
It's true he signed a contract and it's true players can make their intentions to leave clear (Idah did exactly that, albeit with very solid interest)
But Liverpool are spending £30m on a decent keeper (do they have to loan him back for a year?) - surely it makes sense for them to try get a few million of that back on a keeper they now don't need?
It seems like all the signs are there for Kelleher to finally move... except the move itself
To be fair I thinks its a no brainer that Kelleher is our first choice keeper through the Autumn games, O'Leary should probably get a cap but Kelleher would be the undisputed #1 until Bazunu gets back playing. Im assuming we have games in March/April next year, if Kellehers situation remains as it is now and Bazunu is playing Premiership football, that again would be a no brainer for Bazunu to be our 1st choice in my opinion.
Travers and O'Leary are unlucky to have those two lads in front of them, but I dont see either really establishing themselves for us unless Kelleher stays a sub keeper long term and Bazunus injury causes him to regress
Still think Kelleher will keep the number one jersey next March even if he's not playing and Bazunu is back as number one with Southampton.
As we've seen before with Ireland and even some big nations that club form doesn't guarantee you a place in the starting XI. If Kelleher plays all six NL games I can see HH sticking with Kelleher going into the qualifiers unless he plays poorly in the NL.
HH will be well acquainted with Kelleher come next March but will be his first time getting an up close look at Bazunu. With a bit of luck we end up with a four team group for the qualifiers meaning we won't have our first qualifier till September so could organise friendlies in June.
Should have a promotion/relegation playoff next March if we finish second or third unless we're relegated which we'll have more friendlies in March.
Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 9:16 PM
Still think Kelleher will keep the number one jersey next March even if he's not playing and Bazunu is back as number one with Southampton.
As we've seen before with Ireland and even some big nations that club form doesn't guarantee you a place in the starting XI. If Kelleher plays all six NL games I can see HH sticking with Kelleher going into the qualifiers unless he plays poorly in the NL.
HH will be well acquainted with Kelleher come next March but will be his first time getting an up close look at Bazunu. With a bit of luck we end up with a four team group for the qualifiers meaning we won't have our first qualifier till September so could organise friendlies in June.
Should have a promotion/relegation playoff next March if we finish second or third unless we're relegated which we'll have more friendlies in March.
Yep no doubt some managers are loyal to a fault with players and often it's harder to get out of the team than get in if you are one of the favorites, but I suppose we don't really know Hallgrimsson yet and how he operates. He might be one to pick on form, we'll find out more in the next couple months.
Rayzor
21/08/2024, 9:51 PM
Players force their way out of clubs every day. We are all aware of his contract situation, it was even clarified to me that its 2 years and not 1, but players and their agents can and do make enough of a fuss that the clubs will let them go if the player really wants it.
That's true but you need to be a certain type of person to do that, Kelleher been there since he's 16, they plucked him from ringmahon and made him an international and a millionaire. Klopp seemed to really rate him, hopefully slot not too bothered and he gets a move.
Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 10:32 PM
That's true but you need to be a certain type of person to do that, Kelleher been there since he's 16, they plucked him from ringmahon and made him an international and a millionaire. Klopp seemed to really rate him, hopefully slot not too bothered and he gets a move.
But thats the point isnt it. Hes comfortable there, nice lad and happy to go with the flow and it may badly affect his career. Hallgrimson tonight talking about needing more b@stards in the squad, he'll be looking past Kelleher for that bit it seems
Does any of our keepers give off ******* vibes? Remember thinking a couple of times that Bazunu was too quiet for his own good two seasons ago when he first joined Southampton.
Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 10:42 PM
Does any of our keepers give off ******* vibes? Remember thinking a couple of times that Bazunu was too quiet for his own good two seasons ago when he first joined Southampton.
Theres very few in the squad overall that have that edge to them. Bazunu does come across as a nice lad himself, but at least he looked for loans from City and wanted a permanent move for 1st team football at a very young age, does that show a bit of backbone that seems to be missing from Kelleher so far?
Hallgrimsson mentioned Kelleher in the Q&A.
There was also an indirect recommendation for Caoimhín Kelleher to hasten his planned move from Liverpool, denoting how goalkeepers require gametime to keep fresh.
“He showed how good he was last season,” was Hallgrimsson’s opening statement about the Corkman, set to resume his status as back-up to Brazilian Alisson.
“If he gets games, it’s good for us but goalkeepers usually benefit from starting on a regular basis. You don’t usually change a goalkeeper at half-time.”
Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 11:19 PM
Hallgrimsson mentioned Kelleher in the Q&A.
There was also an indirect recommendation for Caoimhín Kelleher to hasten his planned move from Liverpool, denoting how goalkeepers require gametime to keep fresh.
“He showed how good he was last season,” was Hallgrimsson’s opening statement about the Corkman, set to resume his status as back-up to Brazilian Alisson.
“If he gets games, it’s good for us but goalkeepers usually benefit from starting on a regular basis. You don’t usually change a goalkeeper at half-time.”
Seems that he wont accept Kelleher sitting on the bench all season if others are playing regularly. Not knowing much about Hallgrimsson makes all this more interesting, we've no idea what to expect from him
Travers another that will need to sort a move if he even wants to make squads. Hallgrimsson might well want two back up keepers that play regularly while Kelleher is first choice.
elatedscum
22/08/2024, 12:52 AM
Travers another that will need to sort a move if he even wants to make squads. Hallgrimsson might well want two back up keepers that play regularly while Kelleher is first choice.
I mean until Bazunu’s fit, who does that leave apart from O’Leary? Travers on the bench for Bournemouth, Bonham is on the bench for Stoke. Randolph is without a club. You’re left with League 1: Pym, League 2: Harrington, LOI: Kearns, Maher, McGinty. Conference: McNicholas
Not exactly a lot to pick from…
Eirambler
22/08/2024, 6:35 AM
There's a huge drop off from the best four to anyone else. So as long as Bazunu is out the other three will be in every squad when they're fit. Kelleher is sure to get the gloves at the start anyway, but if his club situation hasn't changed by the spring and Bazunu is back starting in the Premier League, it's likely the change will be made then.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 2:06 PM
It must be Kelleher. O’Leary was one of the best Championship goalkeepers last season and that deserves No.2 spot. Bazunu will never be an EPL regular. He is simply not good enough. Even the Championship may be beyond him. He is possibly Southampton’s worst ever signing.
So it’s Kelleher based on not a lot other than him retaining some claim to an EPL career. A claim that’s becoming a challenge in itself.
It must be Kelleher. O’Leary was one of the best Championship goalkeepers last season and that deserves No.2 spot. Bazunu will never be an EPL regular. He is simply not good enough. Even the Championship may be beyond him. He is possibly Southampton’s worst ever signing.
So it’s Kelleher based on not a lot other than him retaining some claim to an EPL career. A claim that’s becoming a challenge in itself.
He already has been a premier league regular.
Eirambler
25/08/2024, 2:32 PM
You know Southampton signed Ali Dia, right..?
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 2:34 PM
He is possibly Southampton’s worst ever signing.
The same club who once put a player on the field because he pretended to be George Weahs cousin. I'd say he's safe enough.
Ramp up the hyperbole though, its fantastic.
25/08/2024, 2:57 PM
With Gav injured, and Travers not playing any football, I think Kelleher probably should be Ireland no.1, but Given that O' Leary is the only one who is actually a footballer right now, maybe it should be his jersey to lose, to give everyone the kick they need to sort their lives out.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 3:04 PM
I said Bazunu will never be a regular. Future tense.
I said “possibly” Southampton’s worst signing.
The hyperbole about Bazunu has indeed been fantastic.
Typical footie.ie ambush. The lads.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 3:05 PM
With Gav injured, and Travers not playing any football, I think Kelleher probably should be Ireland no.1, but Given that O' Leary is the only one who is actually a footballer right now, maybe it should be his jersey to lose, to give everyone the kick they need to sort their lives out.
It's not impossible with a guy coming in who isn't from these parts & might evaluate his player pool differently. That said he's fairly clear O'Shea will have a big say in the early stages.
25/08/2024, 3:08 PM
It's not impossible with a guy coming in who isn't from these parts & might evaluate his player pool differently. That said he's fairly clear O'Shea will have a big say in the early stages.
It's a great way to have someone to blame if there is teething problems :D
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 3:09 PM
Ah man, you have your view on him & fair enough, but never this & never that & possibly worst ever this & that is going to get a reaction & you know that too. Particularly a keeper who's still too young to bring a verdict as big as yours in on. We don't know yet where his career will settle, level wise, and you don't either.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 3:12 PM
It's a great way to have someone to blame if there is teething problems :D
Yeah
Send Sheasy out to do the presser after a good hiding off England. You picked em Sheasy, go & meet the people.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 3:36 PM
Ah man, you have your view on him & fair enough, but never this & never that & possibly worst ever this & that is going to get a reaction & you know that too. Particularly a keeper who's still too young to bring a verdict as big as yours in on. We don't know yet where his career will settle, level wise, and you don't either.
Fair enough. But is it a crime to believe a guy who has never performed beyond L1, is hated (not personally) by Southampton fans following two howler-ridden seasons and looks suss every time a cross sails over, or a shot comes in from near or far is, well, a sub-standard waste of money? Take the green specs off before answering. I gave an honest opinion.
I just pointed out that an opinion that Baz will never be a PL regular falls at the first hurdle as he has already been one and there’s nothing to suggest he isn’t ready to be again. He’s 22, he has many years of maturation ahead of him too. It’s a bit silly to draw a conclusion as definitive and pessimistic as you did. If you’d said you didn’t think he’d ever be an elite level PL keeper, I’d have said nothing.
Eirambler
25/08/2024, 3:46 PM
And saying he's potentially Southampton's worst ever signing when everyone and his dog knows they once signed a player who wasn't even an actual professional footballer was always going to be picked up on as well.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 4:33 PM
I just pointed out that an opinion that Baz will never be a PL regular falls at the first hurdle as he has already been one and there’s nothing to suggest he isn’t ready to be again. He’s 22, he has many years of maturation ahead of him too. It’s a bit silly to draw a conclusion as definitive and pessimistic as you did. If you’d said you didn’t think he’d ever be an elite level PL keeper, I’d have said nothing.
My opinion is not silly because you disagree. Your arrogance is defined in your final sentence.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 4:34 PM
Take the green specs off before answering. I gave an honest opinion.
I don't believe I wear them Snappers.
I'm fairly moderate I'd term it, on all our lads.
I don't like them attacked but that's more a decency thing than a green goggles thing.
Happy to be corrected though if you've seen something I haven't, about myself.
Now, you're mad for a scrap and I'm sure you'll find one but I'm fairly chilled today and I'm going to keep it that way.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 4:43 PM
I didn’t seek or expect a scrap. Sorry if I offended.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 4:47 PM
I didn’t seek or expect a scrap. Sorry if I offended.
Yer grand.
I wouldn't mind seeing O'Leary play to be honest.
He's playing every week, an established number one keeper in his prime & he has turned up to a lot of squads for no reward so far.
My opinion is not silly because you disagree. Your arrogance is defined in your final sentence.
Chill man. I don’t think your opinion is silly, I just think it’s silly to be so definitive with all the elements at play. I’m not being arrogant (just saying I wouldn’t challenge you or anyone if there was a defensible position taken) - I think you not acknowledging a little bit of over zealousness when you’ve been challenged reasonably by 4 or 5 different posters is probably what’s arrogant in all this.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 5:00 PM
Chill man. I don’t think your opinion is silly, I just think it’s silly to be so definitive with all the elements at play. I’m not being arrogant (just saying I wouldn’t challenge you or anyone if there was a defensible position taken) - I think you not acknowledging a little bit of over zealousness when you’ve been challenged reasonably by 4 or 5 different posters is probably what’s arrogant in all this.
What’s the “disagree factor” whereby an honest opinion becomes arrogance? When you bang the gavel? Stop it.
I dunno. You brought arrogance into the conversation, you tell me.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 5:05 PM
I dunno. You brought arrogance into the conversation, you tell me.
Stop banging Snappers gavel will you, tis Sunday.
I feel like I’m the one being shouted at! :D
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 5:25 PM
I feel like I’m the one being shouted at! :DIf five posters disagree with another’s opinion - is that arrogance, as you suggested?
Or is it five posters disagreeing with another’s opinion?
Well like I said, you tell me…you started the shouts of arrogance. I countered. I’m not the arbiter of it here.
The opposite of arrogance is humility. If I had five posters come at my opinion with facts and other considerations, I’d begin to question the validity of my opinion and either walk some or all of it back or simply stop engaging. You’ve decided you want to dig in, double down and keep on the offensive. Is that arrogance or something else?
By the way, if I’m a poster that just generally annoys you and you’re using this as an opportunity for a scrap, fair enough, just say so and I’ll stop engaging.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 5:55 PM
Well like I said, you tell me…you started the shouts of arrogance. I countered. I’m not the arbiter of it here.
The opposite of arrogance is humility. If I had five posters come at my opinion with facts and other considerations, I’d begin to question the validity of my opinion and either walk some or all of it back or simply stop engaging. You’ve decided you want to dig in, double down and keep on the offensive. Is that arrogance or something else?
By the way, if I’m a poster that just generally annoys you and you’re using this as an opportunity for a scrap, fair enough, just say so and I’ll stop engaging.
So you’re now the arbiter of when another’s opinion is arrogance. Five posters it is then before SkStu declares it’s not an opinion of worth - it’s arrogance. Best of luck revitalising the forum. Chrissakes.
25/08/2024, 5:58 PM
What the hell is going on here?
So you’re now the arbiter of when another’s opinion is arrogance. Five posters it is then before SkStu declares it’s not an opinion of worth - it’s arrogance. Best of luck revitalising the forum. Chrissakes.
What is wrong with you? Take a breath.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 7:32 PM
What is wrong with you? Take a breath.
Nothing is wrong with me. I offered an opinion and defended it. Will that cause a problem within your new-era forum recalibration?
Oh my god, you’re so upset! Chill, buddy, chill. It’s ok.
You rolled over and let Crafty tickle your belly so I can only assume given how angry you are at me, and the recent comments about “my” forum revitalization, that it is for some reason personal. For everyone’s sake, I’ll just bow out here. Have a good one!
classic off season squabbles. roll on the England game.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 8:23 PM
A pathetic embrace of reverse psychology. I’m angry at no one and certainly not CTP. Your comment there is just wrong. My crime here is offering an opinion about Gavin Bazunu which offends you. That, Mr SkStu, makes it neither offensive nor arrogant. Good luck with your magnum opus. Can’t wait. Would you like me to pen a foreword?
You can't seem to read so i wouldn't trust you to write.
Snapshot
25/08/2024, 8:51 PM
Please explain the can’t read bit.
Razors left peg
25/08/2024, 8:52 PM
Stu there a line you should remember now...don't argue with stupid people, they'll only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2024, 9:09 PM
Lads stop. Please, everyone.
I think there have been misunderstandings, but continuing this doesn't go anywhere good. Its better if everyone just lets it be. It's done, surely ? There was a scrap & now there'll be pints. It's pints time.
Lads stop. Please, everyone.
I think there have been misunderstandings, but continuing this doesn't go anywhere good. Its better if everyone just lets it be. It's done, surely ? There was a scrap & now there'll be pints. It's pints time.
Its common knowledge that Snapshot never gets his round in.