View Full Version : Caoimhín Kelleher GK Brentford b.1998

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40

31/05/2024, 2:15 PM
If Kelleher actually was to end up at Celtic would be a very underwhelming move.

I agree but it wouldnt be so bad if it were a loan. As ER points out, he is a specialist player in a market that is quite small for a player of his (not yet fully proven) ability. Actually, I think any move he makes is - loan or permanent - is likely to be and feel like a step down.

seanfhear
31/05/2024, 2:16 PM
Could Man Utd do with a goal-keeper ? !

31/05/2024, 2:30 PM
Could Man Utd do with a goal-keeper ? !

as I said, a step down... but no - Onana is generally underrated and going nowhere.

elatedscum
31/05/2024, 2:44 PM
as I said, a step down... but no - Onana is generally underrated and going nowhere.

Another absolute clanger in the cup final. If I was United, I'd be moving on from him...

Predator
31/05/2024, 3:11 PM
I would rather Kelleher didn't go to Celtic. One or two bad performances up there and they'll be on his back, talking trash about how he could do it in the PL but not Scotland.

31/05/2024, 4:32 PM
Another absolute clanger in the cup final. If I was United, I'd be moving on from him...

But why? Because of one clanger in a cup final they won? Look, I know he has made some noticeable errors (all keepers have) but his stats are actually exceptional. Going on FBREF, he has a higher save percentage than Allison, Ederson, Raya, Pickford, Vicario (i ws limited in the comparisons i could make) and the second highest PSxG of that same group (after Pickford). The list isn't exhaustive (I picked the ones that first came to mind) but when Becker and Ederson are usually identified as elite level goalkeepers, then you cant really argue against him not being in/around that grouping. The defence in front of him was decimated for a while too, consisting too frequently of Jonny Evans! :D

zero
01/06/2024, 2:58 PM
But why? Because of one clanger in a cup final they won? Look, I know he has made some noticeable errors (all keepers have) but his stats are actually exceptional. Going on FBREF, he has a higher save percentage than Allison, Ederson, Raya, Pickford, Vicario (i ws limited in the comparisons i could make) and the second highest PSxG of that same group (after Pickford). The list isn't exhaustive (I picked the ones that first came to mind) but when Becker and Ederson are usually identified as elite level goalkeepers, then you cant really argue against him not being in/around that grouping. The defence in front of him was decimated for a while too, consisting too frequently of Jonny Evans! :D

I thought you were talking about Kells there and got a bit excited! (then realised it was Onana).

elatedscum
27/07/2024, 3:36 AM
Back from injury to start against Betis in pre-season, played the first half, as Liverpool kept a clean sheet. Didn’t have a lot to do, was excellent with his feet.

Jaros came on for him at half time. I think it’s possible that Kelleher moving depends largely on how good Jaros looks and whether Liverpool think he’s ready to be No.2.

Got off to a very shaky start. Hesitated slightly when given a hospital back pass and it almost cost him, made a last ditch tackle on the striker who had beaten him to the ball (due to the hesitation), injuring the striker in the process. Won the ball well but it was inches away from being a free kick and a straight red for denying a goal scoring opportunity. Was literally 2 mins after he came on, so was his first touch. Had another moment a few mins later where his feet got him into trouble, passing straight to a Betis attacker who was wasteful with a pass and let Liverpool away with it.

He did make a very good save late on in a 1v1 to ensure the win. Overall a passing grade. He’s definitely a significant step down from where Kelleher is now, particularly with his feet but he’s also probably as good as the average Premier League backup keeper.

If Alisson was injured for 30 games like last year, you’d be worried if you’re Liverpool but if it’s just your typical season where a second keeper plays in the League Cup and FA Cup, then he’s plenty good for that…

elatedscum
04/08/2024, 1:19 AM
Kept a clean sheet in the first half against United in preseason. Made probably 6 or 7 good saves - 2 or 3 of which were great. Hes a really good goalkeeper

His understudy Jaros has also done well so far (75 mins in)

12/08/2024, 5:42 PM
Linked with a £30m move to Juve in a couple of the tabloids over the weekend. Szczesny is moving on and they've brought in di Gregorio from Monza.

Probably tabloid talk - club needing a keeper linked with a keeper needing a move - but it'd be a fantastic move if it came off

joey B
12/08/2024, 6:13 PM
There’s been persistent rumours that Liverpool are trying to sign Marmadashvili from Valencia as a long term replacement for Allison,if that happens you’d probably see Kelleher moving on….

Razors left peg
12/08/2024, 6:22 PM
Linked with a £30m move to Juve in a couple of the tabloids over the weekend. Szczesny is moving on and they've brought in di Gregorio from Monza.

Probably tabloid talk - club needing a keeper linked with a keeper needing a move - but it'd be a fantastic move if it came off

Id put that up there with the Evan Ferguson to Man Utd chatter over the weekend, Id love it but cant see it happening

weldoninhio
13/08/2024, 3:03 PM
There’s been persistent rumours that Liverpool are trying to sign Marmadashvili from Valencia as a long term replacement for Allison,if that happens you’d probably see Kelleher moving on….

The rumours I saw were that they wanted to sign Marmadashvili and then loan him back until Allison moved on.

JR89
13/08/2024, 6:20 PM
If Juventus are actually serious about Kelleher then should maybe hear some noise now that they've officially terminated Wojciech Szcz?sny's contract.

joey B
13/08/2024, 6:39 PM
If Juventus are actually serious about Kelleher then should maybe hear some noise now that they've officially terminated Wojciech Szcz?sny's contract.

If you put his name into Twitter there’s a lot of goodbyes being said to him,appears he might be retiring so maybe there is something in the Kelleher links ….

In fact it’s all there …..

joey B
14/08/2024, 3:48 PM

If this is true and Kelleher isn’t pushing to leave this summer the questions over his ambition will only grow,clearly has no future at Liverpool if that’s what is happening……

liamoo11
14/08/2024, 5:26 PM

If this is true and Kelleher isn’t pushing to leave this summer the questions over his ambition will only grow,clearly has no future at Liverpool if that’s what is happening……

If this is true then that bad news for Travers and Kelleher all in one transfer

CSAD
14/08/2024, 6:30 PM
If this is true then that bad news for Travers and Kelleher all in one transfer

Not for Kelleher as he's out of there.

liamoo11
14/08/2024, 6:34 PM

He might not be though until.next summer as pool will still need a top second choice keeper for this season and I can't see that been jaros

Razors left peg
14/08/2024, 6:35 PM

I'll believe Kelleher is out of there when he is actually 3 months playing for a new club. Every off season we think this will be the year that he finally moves and gets some 1st team football and every season we are let down. If the Juventus links are actually true then that is a dream transfer that everyone should be buzzing about but I just have a hard time believing it just yet

CSAD
14/08/2024, 7:06 PM
He might not be though until.next summer as pool will still need a top second choice keeper for this season and I can't see that been jaros

Well it will have to be Jaros as Kelleher has made it clear he wants to move, that's probably why Liverpool want Mamukashvili in for next season.

CSAD
14/08/2024, 7:08 PM
I'll believe Kelleher is out of there when he is actually 3 months playing for a new club. Every off season we think this will be the year that he finally moves and gets some 1st team football and every season we are let down. If the Juventus links are actually true then that is a dream transfer that everyone should be buzzing about but I just have a hard time believing it just yet

Reading all his interviews he seems adamant that he wants to leave. What we are seeing here is Liverpool making sure they are prepared for life after Kelleher so when he moves on they have an alternate ready. I suspect the plan all along was eventually Kelleher would replace Becker when he moves on but now that this looks like its foiled Liverpool need to act to make sure they have a top keeper ready for when the day Becker leaves.

Razors left peg
14/08/2024, 7:42 PM
Reading all his interviews he seems adamant that he wants to leave. What we are seeing here is Liverpool making sure they are prepared for life after Kelleher so when he moves on they have an alternate ready. I suspect the plan all along was eventually Kelleher would replace Becker when he moves on but now that this looks like its foiled Liverpool need to act to make sure they have a top keeper ready for when the day Becker leaves.

The boy who cried wolf. We've heard it all before. Lets see some action before we get excited.

liamoo11
14/08/2024, 9:26 PM

If liverpool wanted Kelleher to replace Allison they could have loaned Kelleher to Bournemouth and brought him.back next summer when Allison was leaving,

elatedscum
15/08/2024, 4:22 AM
I think there’s different ways of viewing this. it’s all a bit weird.

- First weird thing was that Alisson got a lot of extra time off, compared to all the other players. He was the last to return and was about 8-10 days later than he was due back. Not sure what the deal was there but it isn’t normal.
- Kelleher as a result played a lot during pre-season. Playing on the 27th, 1st, 4th and 11th conceding 1 goal across 4 games and playing really well. Further proof that he’s a very good keeper and capable of playing for a high level team
- Adrian left this summer, so Liverpool need to replace their third keeper. Jaros is now an international keeper and is at the very least a good backup keeper. So if Kelleher were to stay then it would be Alisson followed by Kelleher followed by Jaros.
- Adrian did an interview where he basically said that he hoped Kelleher would prioritise himself and what was best for his career.
- I think the big question relates to Alisson. His contract lasts till 2027, so three more years. He rejected a huge offer from Saudi cause he wanted to stay at Liverpool this summer
- There’s an implication that Mamardashvili will go on loan this year to Bournemouth and then take over from Alisson next season.
- Are Liverpool going to force Alisson out? Can’t see that. Maybe there’s a deal done with Alisson to let him go next year to Saudi for whatever amount
- But maybe Alisson plans to see out his contract, and maybe Liverpool know they can’t keep Kelleher on the hook till 2027 and instead focus on an elite keeper who is younger than him and plan to loan him for 1-2 years and then see how he does, while including a buyback clause for Kelleher in 2027 if they decide for him over GM
- Maybe Kelleher has already agreed with the club that they’ll let him go and this move is essentially related to Kelleher getting his move (if Alisson gets a bad injury next week, they could recall GM from loan but if Kelleher is sold and they don’t have another keeper signed, they’re more royally screwed
- Maybe no one has come in for Kelleher, before the Juve link, Celtic were the only link I can remember and frankly, Celtic aren’t able to afford him and Kasper S is a much more realistic signing
- There’s also a chance that with Klopp leaving that Liverpool have really ****ed Kelleher over. Klopp was certainly of the opinion that Caoimhin was the heir apparent to Alisson and maybe with the data people having a greater say (Klopp used to say that the first and last call had to be his). And I don’t think Slot has anywhere near as much control
- The sale of Bobby Clark is another sign of this. A player who Klopp loved and would never have sanctioned the sale of - Liverpool have cashed in very early on him (£10m + a sell on clause).
- I feel like Liverpool had an excellent balance of good scouting with data behind it and a manager who knew what he was doing and what the squad needed. Kept a relatively small squad and gave opportunities to kids as a result but were also happy to dig into their pockets when needed.
- It’s all very weird and best case scenario Liverpool are hedging their bets and will decide in 2027 between buying back Kelleher, or using GM or seeing how Jaros develops as a No.2 over the next year or two
- Worst case scenario, they’ve strung him along for years and the moment Klopp leaves, they basically give up on him as a future No.1

JR89
15/08/2024, 8:13 AM
I'd lean towards worst case scenario because why not loan Kelleher to Bournemouth for a year or two if you were gonna bring him back once Allison leaves if that's the case. Could always find an experienced no.2 to cover while Kelleher is on loan.

Razors left peg
20/08/2024, 6:00 PM

Slap in the face, kick in the nuts.... whatever way you want to put it this is a clear signal to Kelleher that his years sitting and waiting to become first choice at Liverpool have been wasted. Again shows that there is no loyalty in football and players should look after themselves first at every opportunity. Time for him to stop playing nice and force his way out of that club

joey B
20/08/2024, 6:27 PM
I don’t have any sympathy for Kelleher if he feels like he’s being shafted,should have left before now,personally think he could be playing week in week out for another top flight side in England or somewhere in Europe but he didn’t force the issue,Slot or the other parts of the football operation don’t owe him any loyalty,they’ve only just arrived….

Razors left peg
20/08/2024, 6:32 PM
I don’t have any sympathy for Kelleher if he feels like he’s being shafted,should have left before now,personally think he could be playing week in week out for another top flight side in England or somewhere in Europe but he didn’t force the issue,Slot or the other parts of the football operation don’t owe him any loyalty,they’ve only just arrived….

I agree, he should have been out of there ages ago and this proves it. Theres not a massive market for him now. Hes mid 20s with very little football played and yet Liverpool want 20 Million + for him supposedly. The fact that hes never even gone on loan to play first team football for a season at his age is staggering.

Eirambler
20/08/2024, 8:23 PM
Was he really staying there thinking he was going to get the jersey one day after Alisson goes - I'd doubt it. They were always going to bring someone else in, he must have known that. He's a very rare case of a soon to be 26 year old footballer who has hardly played any first team football. It's not surprising that nobody wants to pay £25m for that. He's been let down by Liverpool, but maybe he shouldn't have been so quick to sign a long term contract without guarantees of first team football at a good level on loan.

20/08/2024, 9:02 PM
As a career choice, it couldn't be playing out much worse than this.

ColourfulPeanut
20/08/2024, 9:05 PM
Worst part is Mamardashvili will go out on loan while Kelleher spends another year fetching the balls to warm up Alisson.

He has nobody to blame but himself, he's always been far, far too comfortable there.

Razors left peg
20/08/2024, 9:06 PM
His stock wont get much higher than it is right now so it would be a good time to sell if they got good offers. Im not sure how much of a market there would be for a 25 year old goal keeper who has had about 10 total career games

A post from 2022 where I and others were basically calling this situation, its depressing that here we are a couple of years later and nothing has changed with him

21/08/2024, 11:24 AM
It seems a bit pessimistic given he had ten league appearances last season alone. He has about 60 senior appearances, not 10. I know how you like not to appear biased, razor.

It does feel like a critical moment for Kellagher, but there's an awful lot of panic above. Did anyone expect Liverpool to sell him without securing a replacement first? Especially after the season already started. A move in the near future looks likely now. If it doesn't materialise, then I'll worry.

Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 12:09 PM
Yeah he got more game time last season with Alissons injury and he looked really good .... and then the very next transfer window they sign his replacement. Unless he gets a move in the next week or two I don't know how anyone can spin it at as a positive

Eirambler
21/08/2024, 12:47 PM
He has played 15 league games in his entire career. There can't be many active 25/26 year professional players in world football with that record.

The near future looks like being next summer now does it not? At which point he's only about five or so years from being known as "veteran goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher".

21/08/2024, 1:13 PM
It seems a bit pessimistic given he had ten league appearances last season alone. He has about 60 senior appearances, not 10. I know how you like not to appear biased, razor.

It does feel like a critical moment for Kellagher, but there's an awful lot of panic above. Did anyone expect Liverpool to sell him without securing a replacement first? Especially after the season already started. A move in the near future looks likely now. If it doesn't materialise, then I'll worry.

How do you define the near future? If he gets out this window and its a positive step then I think we can call off the hounds alright but my biggest worry is that Mamardashvili's loaning back out to Valencia means that Kelleher is stuck on the bench for another season. After many, many seasons of being stuck on the bench. That's why I think staying with Liverpool and, for sure, not going out on loan for even one of those seasons, have been terrible choices for his career.

21/08/2024, 1:39 PM
I don't think there's anyone here who wouldn't prefer to see him out of Liverpool this window.

Eirambler
21/08/2024, 1:53 PM
Just realised that there's every chance he'll have more international caps than he has played league games by the end of the next international period in September. He's currently on 15 league games and has 14 international caps. You might occasionally get that with a star teenager from a small country but for a 25, going on 26 year old that's a pretty incredible situation.

21/08/2024, 2:28 PM
I don't think there's anyone here who wouldn't prefer to see him out of Liverpool this window.

Right. But you said there was unnecessary panic in some of the messages. There is a week and a half left until the transfer window slams shut and there is nothing about a CK move (other than a very tenuous rumour linking him to Juve). Its enough to be worried about at this point.

JR89
21/08/2024, 3:04 PM
Just realised that there's every chance he'll have more international caps than he has played league games by the end of the next international period in September. He's currently on 15 league games and has 14 international caps. You might occasionally get that with a star teenager from a small country but for a 25, going on 26 year old that's a pretty incredible situation.

If he stays fit he'll likely have more Ireland caps than club appearances this season. We've 8 games this season and even if Bazunu comes back as Southampton no.1 when fit if Kelleher plays all six NL games could assume HH will keep him as no.1 if his performances have been good.

If Allison doesn't get injured I can see Kelleher making 0 appearances for Liverpool. Because surely it benefits Liverpool more if Jaros plays the EFL cup games and select few FA cup games against weaker opposition.

Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 3:33 PM
Right. But you said there was unnecessary panic in some of the messages. There is a week and a half left until the transfer window slams shut and there is nothing about a CK move (other than a very tenuous rumour linking him to Juve). Its enough to be worried about at this point.

I think I seen somewhere thar Aaron Ramsdale is going to Wolves, so that's another potential outlet gone. Kelleher is 26 in November, and has played and grand total of 47 games of football for Liverpool, with 15 of those being in the League. He's in the last year of his contract and Liverpool are still apparently asking north of 20 million for him.Why is he not making more noise and forcing his way out? Players force moves all the time.

JR89
21/08/2024, 3:52 PM
I think I seen somewhere thar Aaron Ramsdale is going to Wolves, so that's another potential outlet gone. Kelleher is 26 in November, and has played and grand total of 47 games of football for Liverpool, with 15 of those being in the League. He's in the last year of his contract and Liverpool are still apparently asking north of 20 million for him.Why is he not making more noise and forcing his way out? Players force moves all the time.

He's got two years left on his contract. Nothing ever mentioned about whether it contains a clause to add an extra year but would assume it doesn't since it was a five year deal he signed.

Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 4:47 PM
He's got two years left on his contract. Nothing ever mentioned about whether it contains a clause to add an extra year but would assume it doesn't since it was a five year deal he signed.

Ah ok, my mistake. I thought he was in the last year.

21/08/2024, 5:46 PM
Time is tight, sure, but I'd argue three points. First, his replacement wasn't hired for no reason; Liverpool now have not only the option but in FFP rules incentive to move him on. Second, yes there hasn't been much noise, but not every transfer is telegraphed in the media. Third, I agree it's a matter of concern that there's not much time left in the window, but I'd distinguish between concern and panic. I think he'll go in this window, or possibly in one of the next two. I'd rather it were sooner so he's playing, especially with Bazunu injured (I think; it's been a while since I heard an update there). Kellagher's been in this position for several years to one degree or another. This window or the next won't matter in the long run. The important thing is he finally seems to have lost patience with benchwarming.

Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 6:18 PM
Not sure who this Kellagher lad is you keep speaking of John, but theres been noises around Kelleher getting moves every summer in the last few years. I hope that this is the time he actually does it, but I'll believe it when I see it.

Ramsdale, who is only 6 months older than Kelleher has played 167 more club games, and hes not even a lad playing regularly all the time!

21/08/2024, 6:51 PM
Time is tight, sure, but I'd argue three points. First, his replacement wasn't hired for no reason; Liverpool now have not only the option but in FFP rules incentive to move him on. Second, yes there hasn't been much noise, but not every transfer is telegraphed in the media. Third, I agree it's a matter of concern that there's not much time left in the window, but I'd distinguish between concern and panic. I think he'll go in this window, or possibly in one of the next two. I'd rather it were sooner so he's playing, especially with Bazunu injured (I think; it's been a while since I heard an update there). Kellagher's been in this position for several years to one degree or another. This window or the next won't matter in the long run. The important thing is he finally seems to have lost patience with benchwarming.
Bazunu is out until around Christmas, so an excellent opportunity for Kelleher (or someone else??) to take the #1 spot. I don't actually think someone else will, but maybe Max O' Leary as our only regular squad option actually playing football, might get a cap.

21/08/2024, 6:57 PM
Ramsdale, who is only 6 months older than Kelleher has played 167 more club games, and hes not even a lad playing regularly all the time!

That’s crazy actually. And so many similar examples have been referenced in the past.

21/08/2024, 7:01 PM

I hope you’re right on points 1 & 2 above. You’re right that it is still viable. On point 3, I’ll say I didn’t read much panic in the posts (incl my own!) just a sense of exasperation on how this could play out.

I really hope he goes now. Hes already at a disadvantage with the season started across the board. January windows are a bust in general now and even more so for keepers. Next year he’ll be no further ahead (in that another season on the bench more or less) doesn’t make him any more attractive to potential buyers.

Razors left peg
21/08/2024, 7:39 PM
Bazunu is out until around Christmas, so an excellent opportunity for Kelleher (or someone else??) to take the #1 spot. I don't actually think someone else will, but maybe Max O' Leary as our only regular squad option actually playing football, might get a cap.

To be fair I thinks its a no brainer that Kelleher is our first choice keeper through the Autumn games, O'Leary should probably get a cap but Kelleher would be the undisputed #1 until Bazunu gets back playing. Im assuming we have games in March/April next year, if Kellehers situation remains as it is now and Bazunu is playing Premiership football, that again would be a no brainer for Bazunu to be our 1st choice in my opinion.

Travers and O'Leary are unlucky to have those two lads in front of them, but I dont see either really establishing themselves for us unless Kelleher stays a sub keeper long term and Bazunus injury causes him to regress