View Full Version : U23 players 2019/20
Pages :
[
6]
Olé Olé
28/10/2019, 3:54 PM
https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/scouting-report-randolph-hopeful-of-denmark-appearance
Looks like Parrott will get that go against New Zealand alright.
28/10/2019, 8:24 PM
Frimpong, the 18 year old right back that Celtic signed from Man City the same day they signed Lee O'Connor, starts for them today. O'Connor doesn't seem to be any nearer to a breakthrough at Celtic than he was at United.
Edit: very positive reports on Frimpong's debut coming out of Celtic Park as well.that Frimpong kid is amazing. Really talented and infectious personality. The senior players love him and he draws a reaction from them. O’Connor may have to wait a while.
liamoo11
29/10/2019, 6:24 PM
https://www.the42.ie/caoimhin-kelleher-liverpool-arsenal-start-carabao-cup-4870706-Oct2019/ it seems caoimhin will start against arsenal which will be a fine test
Razors left peg
29/10/2019, 8:15 PM
Whats the story with Obafemi, he seems to have fallen out of contention with Southampton completely
30/10/2019, 8:25 PM
U17 player, and greatest name in football, Anselmo Garcia McNulty appeared for Wolfsburg U23 against West Ham in the Premier League International Cup tonight, and picked up a booking in a 3-2 win. He's been a regular for their U18 side, think that's his first appearance for the U23s
seanfhear
30/10/2019, 8:37 PM
U17 player, and greatest name in football, Anselmo Garcia McNulty appeared for Wolfsburg U23 against West Ham in the Premier League International Cup tonight, and picked up a booking in a 3-2 win. He's been a regular for their U18 side, think that's his first appearance for the U23s
Does he have a nick-name ?
samhaydenjr
31/10/2019, 2:41 AM
Anthony Scully continued his recent run of scoring, getting West Ham's second: https://twitter.com/WestHam/status/1189629961407254528
gastric
31/10/2019, 3:43 AM
Does he have a nick-name ?
Wolfie McNulty?
01/11/2019, 12:52 PM
Anthony Scully and Jason Knight nominated for PL2 Player of the Month for October:
https://www.premierleague.com/news/1474997
Scully won the September Player of the Month
01/11/2019, 1:15 PM
Short profile of Hondermarck at Norwich from The Pink Un: https://www.pinkun.com/norwich-city/hondermarck-potential-shines-through-for-city-in-local-friendly-fixtures-1-6326391
samhaydenjr
02/11/2019, 12:07 AM
Whats the story with Obafemi, he seems to have fallen out of contention with Southampton completely
Back in the U23s tonight and set up Southampton's goal in a 4-1 defeat to Brighton, who didn't have Warren O'Hora in their squad... is he being looked at by Potter? https://www.premierleague.com/match/50660/premier-league-2/2019-20/southampton-v-albion
Anthony Scully and Jason Knight nominated for PL2 Player of the Month for October:
https://www.premierleague.com/news/1474997
Scully won the September Player of the Month
Surely Scully should be in the U21 squad, after 12 goals in 10 games, especially with Connolly moved up. If he isn't, then it's clear that Kenny doesn't have a clue!
Also Nathan Tormey got his second goal in two games for Arsenal against Spurs - call him up SK! https://int.soccerway.com/players/nathan-tormey/453116/
(https://int.soccerway.com/players/nathan-tormey/453116/)
Also, Olamide Shodipo was back for QPR's U23s on Tuesday and scored the final goal in a 3-0 win over Millwall, with Masterson captaining the side: https://www.qpr.co.uk/fixtures/under-23/2019/millwall-u23s-v-qpr-u23s/?tab=report
tommy_c12000
03/11/2019, 4:06 PM
Another goal for Scully today, as West Ham continue to cake walk PL2 Division 2. Never seen him play but does appear to be on forum having had injury issues that other posters have pointed put. Reading the WH forums, they appear to rate Nathan Holland higher with Scully still not getting much attention, however, Holland is a year older. Definitely agree should be looked at under 21 level
samhaydenjr
03/11/2019, 10:28 PM
Another goal for Scully today, as West Ham continue to cake walk PL2 Division 2. Never seen him play but does appear to be on forum having had injury issues that other posters have pointed put. Reading the WH forums, they appear to rate Nathan Holland higher with Scully still not getting much attention, however, Holland is a year older. Definitely agree should be looked at under 21 level
Amazing run he's on, topping the goalscoring list in his league and hitting double figures in nine games. Let's hope it's not just a streak.
Elsewhere, Josh Barrett responded well to being sent back to Reading's U23s, with 1 goal and 2 assists: https://www.premierleague.com/match/50527/premier-league-2/2019-20/sunderland-v-reading
samhaydenjr
05/11/2019, 1:26 AM
Tyreik Wright scored his second goal in four games for Villa's U23s tonight, while team-mate Jack Clarke was credited with an assist against Oisin McEntee's Newcastle: https://www.premierleague.com/match/50529/premier-league-2/2019-20/aston-villa-v-newcastle
tommy_c12000
05/11/2019, 4:35 PM
Tyreik Wright scored his second goal in four games for Villa's U23s tonight, while team-mate Jack Clarke was credited with an assist against Oisin McEntee's Newcastle: https://www.premierleague.com/match/50529/premier-league-2/2019-20/aston-villa-v-newcastle
Anyone with insight into Wright? Still only 18. Only saw him play in Armenia with U19s, he was very poor and substituted at HT vs Czech Republic. Appears to be left winger, and is playing regularly for Villa PL2 team with 7 appearances this season, along with an U18 appearance. McEntee appears to be doing well although he didn't overly impress me in Armenia, established as u23 centre half for Newcastle as an 18 year old - this is his first full season at PL2, hopefully can secure a loan move next summer to continue his development.
elatedscum
06/11/2019, 6:44 PM
i saw some of the 17s games Wright played and the 19s qualifiers and games in Armenia. Never particularly stood out to me but glad to hear he's doing relatively well.
As for McEntee, I think he's a solid young player. We have a **** load of centre halves at every level, so he's one amongst a crowd...
21s: Masterson, O'Shea, Scales, Nolan, McCarthy, D O'Connor, Kelly, Ndaba, O'Driscoll, O'Hora, Finnerty, McNally
19s: Collins, McEntee, McGuinness, Omobamidele, Sobawele, Richards,
17s: Garcia-MacNulty
tommy_c12000
06/11/2019, 9:00 PM
With Ederson injured, Bravo suspended for next champs league game at home vs Donetsk, it will be interesting to see how close Bazunu gets. Hopefully Ederson is out for a few weeks, Bazunu is probably 4th choice behind Carson? He played the uefa youth game today
06/11/2019, 9:44 PM
Festy Ebosele scored for Derby's U19 side in the UEFA youth league
liamoo11
06/11/2019, 10:43 PM
With Ederson injured, Bravo suspended for next champs league game at home vs Donetsk, it will be interesting to see how close Bazunu gets. Hopefully Ederson is out for a few weeks, Bazunu is probably 4th choice behind Carson? He played the uefa youth game today
Grimshaw is ahead of bazuna I'd say
tommy_c12000
07/11/2019, 2:17 AM
Grimshaw is ahead of bazuna I'd say
I've noted Bazunu has 6 PL2 starts this season, to Grimshaw's 2. And Grimshaw is 21 and has been PL2 for the past 3 years with a handful of games each year, no loan move yet. Grimshaw appears to be on the proverbial road to nowhere, Bazunu is a potential destination, let's hope Pep agrees. The next Iker Casillas, establishing himself in his teenage years.
In any case, Ederson injured his thigh apparently, probably not too serious so should be back by next CL game. If not, we could see Gavin on the bench, you never know.
samhaydenjr
09/11/2019, 12:36 AM
Some news from the Premier League Cup - 17-year-old Timi Sobowale played for Blackburn's U23s against Middlesbrough tonight, having recently gone on trial from Man City: https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/18001072.rovers-take-man-city-youngster-trial-given-defensive-injuries/ https://www.rovers.co.uk/news/2019/november/report-middlesbrough-u23s-pl-cup/
elatedscum
09/11/2019, 2:29 AM
Good move for Timi if it happens. He’s a lad with plenty of ability, but City’s academy has such a volume of good players that if you’re not playing, you’re better moving on sooner rather than later...
liamoo11
09/11/2019, 8:28 AM
Good move for Timi if it happens. He’s a lad with plenty of ability, but City’s academy has such a volume of good players that if you’re not playing, you’re better moving on sooner rather than later...
Aoron o driscoll made a similar move from city to Southampton 3 years ago . Isn't stephen hunt his agent?
liamoo11
09/11/2019, 2:13 PM
Obafemi on bench today hopefully gets a chance
tommy_c12000
22/11/2019, 7:54 PM
Another goal for Scully, making it 11 this season, as West Ham won 4-0 vs Villa in PL2 Division2. Coventry captained West Ham while Clarke played for Villa. Other noteworthy events: Bazunu and Wilson kept clean sheet for Man City. No Kelleher for Liverpool, i hope he’s back in time for League cup. O’Hora played for Brighton in this 3-5 loss to Liverpool. Charlie McCann on bench for Man United but saw no action. No Parrott for Spurs, let’s keep our fingers crossed as always
tommy_c12000
23/11/2019, 1:09 PM
Obafemi starts today, only bright note for the young irish today. Connolly, Molumby injured. N Collins, O’Shea, Knight, Idah, our 4 Celtics youngsters, do not make match day squads. Parrott not even in traveling squad.
Olé Olé
23/11/2019, 2:57 PM
Great news re Obafemi. Pity that he will never fit into McCarthy's system.
tommy_c12000
23/11/2019, 3:40 PM
Solid 75 minutes for Obafemi, was lively and used the ball well in only his 2nd prem start. Hard to believe he is 6 months younger than Connolly. Got a bit more about him than just pace. Should have had a tap in, somehow Cedric messed up the square ball, and he played Ings through for the penalty foul. I thought it worked well with Ings up front. Let’s hope Southampton hang on here for 2-1, and this is the start of a string of starts for Obafemi
Eirambler
23/11/2019, 7:43 PM
They didn't hold on, but Obafemi had been subbed off before the end anyway. Sounds like he played well, I've only watched him a few times and he was average enough, so it's good that it looks as though he's better than I was giving him credit for.
Hopefully he gets a run of starts and Southampton move up the table. I don't think it matters too much if he doesn't fit McCarthy's system, he probably only has one or two more games in charge anyway, Obafemi will be one for the next campaign if he makes it at Southampton.
24/11/2019, 5:43 PM
I only saw MOTD highlights - and it was only against Arsenal whose defence would make me look good :) - but that was the best I've seen him. Lively and direct. Should have had a tap in as tommy said above.
samhaydenjr
24/11/2019, 7:39 PM
Great news re Obafemi. Pity that he will never fit into McCarthy's system.
It's odd how, with only 2-6 games left in Mick's short tenure, we're still talking as though he has some grand tactical strategy that needs to be reformed over time to accommodate all the U21s coming through. Mick got dealt a poor hand - a short-term appointment with no time to blood in players before qualifiers started, with a frontline decimated by injuries and retirements - his only goal to qualify for Euro 2020. I think he's done a reasonable job given the constraints of his contract and having to deal with a pretty makeshift squad. And he's still managed to give debuts to eight players and have nine score their maiden international goals.
And I think there would have been a place in Mick's plans for Obafemi, had his last year not been hampered by injury. From what I've seen, Obafemi's hold-up play and ability to pick a key pass are good, which are two of McGoldrick's main attributes - plus he's super-quick. I think his pace makes him an excellent outlet for McGoldrick - and against Switzerland, Mick showed a willingness to use a hold-up player and another striker up front. i think Obafemi would also work as an impact player, like Hogan against the Swiss. So, if Obafemi gets 10-15 games in the next three months or so, I would not be surprised to see him in the squad for the play-offs
Olé Olé
25/11/2019, 4:44 PM
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/liverpools-plan-rhian-brewster-revealed-17310894
Preston in for Kelleher?
mark12345
25/11/2019, 8:51 PM
It's odd how, with only 2-6 games left in Mick's short tenure, we're still talking as though he has some grand tactical strategy that needs to be reformed over time to accommodate all the U21s coming through. Mick got dealt a poor hand - a short-term appointment with no time to blood in players before qualifiers started, with a frontline decimated by injuries and retirements - his only goal to qualify for Euro 2020. I think he's done a reasonable job given the constraints of his contract and having to deal with a pretty makeshift squad. And he's still managed to give debuts to eight players and have nine score their maiden international goals.
And I think there would have been a place in Mick's plans for Obafemi, had his last year not been hampered by injury. From what I've seen, Obafemi's hold-up play and ability to pick a key pass are good, which are two of McGoldrick's main attributes - plus he's super-quick. I think his pace makes him an excellent outlet for McGoldrick - and against Switzerland, Mick showed a willingness to use a hold-up player and another striker up front. i think Obafemi would also work as an impact player, like Hogan against the Swiss. So, if Obafemi gets 10-15 games in the next three months or so, I would not be surprised to see him in the squad for the play-offs
Mick deserves credit for blooding new players, no doubt about it. But he also has to take the rap for persisting with any or all of Hendrick, Whelan, Hourihane and McClean. And there are others. Mick also can be blamed for settling for a draw and telling the whole world beforehand: "I am a genie in a bottle Mr Mick, I can grant you three wins". " Nah we can't get ahead of ourselves. Just give me a draw and we'll be fine."
tommy_c12000
25/11/2019, 9:20 PM
Highlights from today’s games in PL2, Idah scores only goal in game for Norwich. Clean sheet for Omobamidele. Goal and an assist for O’Shea, badly needs a loan move in January. Barrett, N Collins both resigned to playing PL2, although early substitution for Collins raises hopes he may be in squad for midweek game (as long as it wasn’t for injury). Knight not in derby squad, presumably will be included in first team squad this week, given a couple of injuries to first teamers including mason Bennett (reportedly not alcohol related). Reghba on as 2nd half sub, and mcentee played in Newcastle’s win
25/11/2019, 9:23 PM
Dara O'Shea is the one from the myriad of defenders who I'd love to see in the Senior squad now. A very impressive defender, and for someone not overly tall (to me anyway) he's impressive in the air, and quite physical, but also seems to be a nuisance in the opposition box.
Think he's got a huge future for us.
tommy_c12000
25/11/2019, 9:34 PM
Dara O'Shea is the one from the myriad of defenders who I'd love to see in the Senior squad now. A very impressive defender, and for someone not overly tall (to me anyway) he's impressive in the air, and quite physical, but also seems to be a nuisance in the opposition box.
Think he's got a huge future for us.
Agree he looks good, but he needs to get first team games soon (although that doesn’t appear to hurt Kevin Long’s ability to make irish squads....)
26/11/2019, 6:45 AM
Highlights from today’s games in PL2, Idah scores only goal in game for Norwich. Clean sheet for Omobamidele. Goal and an assist for O’Shea, badly needs a loan move in January. Barrett, N Collins both resigned to playing PL2, although early substitution for Collins raises hopes he may be in squad for midweek game (as long as it wasn’t for injury). Knight not in derby squad, presumably will be included in first team squad this week, given a couple of injuries to first teamers including mason Bennett (reportedly not alcohol related). Reghba on as 2nd half sub, and mcentee played in Newcastle’s win
Idah's goal has been changed to an assist.
Eirambler
26/11/2019, 11:46 AM
All five of the young Irish lads at Celtic starting for their reserves today. Really disappointing that we're almost into December and they haven't managed as much of a minute of competitive football between them at the club this season. Hopefully a few of them can get moves out to the rest of the SPL in January.
liamoo11
26/11/2019, 1:08 PM
Nice to see regba and mcenneff back from injuries that seem to have kept them out for the last 4 or 6 weeks
liamoo11
26/11/2019, 2:05 PM
All five of the young Irish lads at Celtic starting for their reserves today. Really disappointing that we're almost into December and they haven't managed as much of a minute of competitive football between them at the club this season. Hopefully a few of them can get moves out to the rest of the SPL in January.
Great to see connell back he seems to have been injured for the last 3 months
27/11/2019, 9:09 PM
Lee O'Connor and Armstrong Okoflex combined for Celtic Academy's goal against Brentford B in a friendly yesterday, goal here at 1:48
xN-4ihykgRo
tommy_c12000
27/11/2019, 10:10 PM
Scully with another goal in the premier league international cup today. Coventry played in their win as well against O’Horas Brighton. Southampton lads (O’Driscoll and Ledwidge) played as well losing to Monaco
28/11/2019, 4:09 PM
Lee O'Connor and Armstrong Okoflex combined for Celtic Academy's goal against Brentford B in a friendly yesterday, goal here at 1:48
xN-4ihykgRo
The original video has been marked private but a new version is available here
gktYFnvC-P4
tommy_c12000
28/11/2019, 6:04 PM
The irish featured prominently. Key question is will any of them feature in the 9 December eligible matches that Celtic have (Coffey also eligible for their Europa cup game)? If not, then things need to happen during the January transfer window from a loan standpoint for all players.
First
29/11/2019, 10:09 AM
Leo Gaxha starts for SUFC 23's today against Leeds United.
tommy_c12000
02/12/2019, 8:28 PM
Premier League Cup (U23) matches today:
Travers and Kilkenny played in Bournemouth's 2-0 victory over O'Driscoll's/Ledwidge's Southampton. Travers made some excellent saves, and Kilkenny was very effective too, according to second hand reports on their fan's forum.
Does anyone know what has happened to Will Smallbone? 3 PL2 appearances this year, and nothing else. No documentation of injury. This is on the backdrop of featuring heavily for first team in pre-season.
In other pertinent matches, no Kelleher for Liverpool. Assume protecting him for bench appearance vs Everton on Wednesday. No Knight for Derby, after his 9 minutes of first team football over the weekend. And no N Collins for Stoke City (or Shawcross for that matter who has just returned from injury) - this was their most recent U23 centre back partnership. I am expecting Michael O'Neill to change their backline significantly in the coming weeks, so hopefully this is a positive sign of an impending return to first team football for Nathan. Carters-Vickers has been woeful, and is only on loan from Spurs, while Martins Indi and Batth have been also very poor in recent weeks. The fans are crying out for a change. Shawcross would be a great partner for Nathan to learn from.
tommy_c12000
02/12/2019, 10:41 PM
To answer my own question, from his twitter page, Smallbone appears to be only back in training for past 2 weeks after being out for 2 months .....
03/12/2019, 2:09 AM
Yeah I somebody congratulating him on his return a couple of weeks ago. Good to see.
liamoo11
03/12/2019, 5:55 PM
To answer my own question, from his twitter page, Smallbone appears to be only back in training for past 2 weeks after being out for 2 months .....
Ferry has been out injured all season as well and very little sign of Sean brennan which is a shame . O driscoll really needs a loan at this stage in Jan
elatedscum
04/12/2019, 2:29 AM
Ferry has been out injured all season as well and very little sign of Sean brennan which is a shame . O driscoll really needs a loan at this stage in Jan
As far as I know Ferry restarted training this week.