View Full Version : American Politics

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 1:26 PM
Breaking news from Washington, just moments ago. Biden just pardoned Anthony Fauci. Why on earth would Fauci need a pardon? I thought he saved the world from Covid? At least that's what we were told for the last 4 years. Fair to say someone has been pulling the wool over the eyes of the world.

Oh and there's more. He just pardoned the members of the January 6th committee. Why would they need pardoning. Did they do something wrong? Did evidence get destroyed or did I get that wrong?
There is seriously dark stuff going on in the background in America !

What-ever about Fauci ~ Having to pardon the members of the Jan 6th Committee is another level ~ Why would they have to be pardoned ? !

20/01/2025, 1:45 PM
Why would the Trump regime go after Fauci? Did he do something wrong? Wouldn't you like to know if he did? I guess Biden has no interest in finding out? And Trump is going to take action against those who tried to hold him accountable? They did try to hold him accountable and found nothing, and then the evidence (apparently exonerating him) went missing. And the "chief" J6 commissioner Liz Cheney could very well have been going to jail for her role in all of it. But Joey put paid to that didn't he.

So it's ok to try to find Trump accountable, but not Fauci?

Its appears like "go ahead and get Trump and if you don't succeed sure I'll pardon you anyway."

But keep on tuning into the BBC that bastion of truth and honesty. It probably explains why yore relying on my posting history rather than knowing the story yourself?
Who do you blame for the 1.2 million deaths in the US during COVID - the president who wanted to know if injecting bleach would cure the disease, or his chief medial advisor who made recommendations to save lives?

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 1:48 PM
Who do you blame for the 1.2 million deaths in the US during COVID - the president who wanted to know if injecting bleach would cure the disease, or his chief medial advisor who made recommendations to save lives?
Fauci came out with a lot of stuff that even he admitted was rubbish later on !

Why the hell would Fauci need a pardon ? !

20/01/2025, 2:02 PM
But keep on tuning into the BBC that bastion of truth and honesty.
The BBC is one of the most renowned journalistic sites in the world. Your contribution, let's not forget, has been a YouTube video, which had already been removed, of someone who specialises in outrage and has a penchant for hysteria.

I think I know which source I'd read more into, thanks.

20/01/2025, 2:03 PM
Fauci came out with a lot of stuff that even he admitted was rubbish later on !

Why the hell would Fauci need a pardon ? !
Really? I'd like to see some examples of him admitting his stuff was rubbish.

The BBC is one of the most renowned journalistic sites in the world. Your contribution, let's not forget, has been a YouTube video, which had already been removed, of someone who specialises in outrage and has a penchant for hysteria.

Don't forget gr*pt.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:13 PM

Well, why don't we ask Joe himself? On the debate stage prior to the 2020 election, Joe told the world that anyone (meaning Trump) who allowed even one person to die of Covid (at the time there were 220K deaths) did not deserve to be president. Yet Joe took the reins thereafter and the better part of another million people died. So who exactly do we blame again? And did Joe (the upstanding man of his word that we all know him to be) step down, like he said Trump should have?

And why on earth (which is the point of the original discussion) does Mr Fauci need a pardon? Again, did he do something wrong? Joe sure doesn't want anyone to know what Fauci did? Doesn't the world have a right to know? But Joe also didn't want anyone to know about Hunter's antics did he, and he stood on the same debate stage that night and told the world that his son did nothing wrong. And then went ahead and gave him a pardon too. Forgive me for feeling that old Joe isn't exactly above board about his actions and the actions of those around him.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:16 PM

The BBC WAS one of the most renowned journalistic sites in the world (with a major emphasis on "was"). But that was many years ago now.

20/01/2025, 2:21 PM
And what do you base that on exactly?

The BBC is listened to worldwide for a reason.

Mark Levin...isn't.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:23 PM
The way they reported the news. How about yourself?

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:27 PM
There is seriously dark stuff going on in the background in America !

What-ever about Fauci ~ Having to pardon the members of the Jan 6th Committee is another level ~ Why would they have to be pardoned ? !

Why indeed? I tend to think that pardons are reserved for people who have done wrong.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:31 PM

Mark Levin...isn't.

You apparently didn't know there was evidence (once in the hands of the J6 commission) which went missing? And the BBC is listened to worldwide. You're right, they do have a worldwide audience - but they choose what to report and what not to. Like I said, they once were very reputable, but not anymore.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 2:36 PM

Mark Levin...isn't.

Do you believe the media tells all of the truth all of the time?

20/01/2025, 2:41 PM
The way they reported the news.
Can you elaborate on that?

You're not very good at elucidating on your points beyond the most basic of Trump-like rebuffs, are you?

Do you believe the media tells all of the truth all of the time?
What sort of bull**** question is that?

I certainly believe some media outlets are more equal than others. BBC >>>> Mark Levin for example.

20/01/2025, 3:04 PM
He's definitely been that way in the past. Hopefully he is changing

He is unashamedly Democrat but does a great job of pointing out the flaws with all sides of the argument. He is a hawk for Israel though. Anyway, for someone who doesnt mind acknowledging that there is fault for sh!tty American politics all over the place, id recommend the stand-up. Its a good laugh.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 3:24 PM
Can you elaborate on that?

You're not very good at elucidating on your points beyond the most basic of Trump-like rebuffs, are you?

What sort of bull**** question is that?

I certainly believe some media outlets are more equal than others. BBC >>>> Mark Levin for example.

My basic stance on the media, here in America anyways, is as follows:

About 11 - 12 weeks ago the media was telling Americans that Trump is Hitler.
Yet since that time, many of the leading lights on the Democratic side have met with and shook hands with him.
And the American people are supposed to take the media seriously?

As I write I am watching Mark Zuckerberg at Trump's inauguration. He, Bezos and the CEO of Google have all backed Trump in recent days.
But this is the guy who is compared to Hitler? So hopefully you can see that the media is far more propaganda than truth these days, and indeed has been for a long time.
Most Americans have this opinion - you'll just have to trust me on that one.
And I could go all the way back to Russia Collusion which held America to ransom for the bulk of Trump's first term. Crap of the highest order it was.
And then there was the Hunter laptop which the media played a big part in suppressing.........there are many many examples of media lies and bias in America.
And none of them, to my knowledge, have ever come out after the fact and apologized for getting their stories wrong. And their mistakes always seem to benefit the Democrats, never the other way around.

Ultimately I would much prefer if (in the words of Rodney King) we could all just get along and turn over a new leaf for the New Year.
Maybe that is wishful thinking, but hopefully not.

20/01/2025, 3:30 PM
My basic stance on the media, here in America anyways, is as follows:

About 11 - 12 weeks ago the media was telling Americans that Trump is Hitler.
We were discussing the BBC.

Can you show me an example of the BBC saying that Trump is Hitler?

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 3:38 PM
The BBC WAS one of the most renowned journalistic sites in the world (with a major emphasis on "was"). But that was many years ago now.Correct ~ Was.

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 3:40 PM
Why indeed? I tend to think that pardons are reserved for people who have done wrong.
Certainly for people who have a lot to cover-up and did wrong ~ Why else would they need pardons ? !

20/01/2025, 3:42 PM
Zuckerberg, Bezos, etc, are all acting in their own self interest. He's shown before that he can make a lot of money for people who show him favour, and make life difficult for anyone who doesn't.
There's going to be a lot of focus on things like AI in the near future, and none of them want to run the risk of sanctions against their own company. So now we're in the situation where CEOs have to make nice with the President so he doesn't ruin their companies, just because he can.

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 3:43 PM
Well - here we go again. 4 more years.

For a nice change of pace :

Merica's new assistant Sec of State. Godspeed to anyone living over there.

20/01/2025, 3:50 PM
Correct ~ Was.
Why is it correct seanfhear?

Do you also have articles from the BBC likening Trump to Hitler?

Or any reason for your view at all?

Hmm?

You say four more years - but genuine question. Will he last four years?

Wouldn't surprise me if a bookies somewhere was offering odds on him not.

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 3:53 PM

For a nice change of pace :

Merica's new assistant Sec of State. Godspeed to anyone living over there.

Obviously walls work ~ ~ That's why everybody has them in their houses, and locks on their windows and doors ! !

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 4:36 PM
You say four more years - but genuine question. Will he last four years?

Wouldn't surprise me if a bookies somewhere was offering odds on him not.

Getting him impeached is a long shot. What would get him impeached? He's a convicted Felon as it is.

At least he's rowing back on this gender ideology nonsense anyway!

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 4:37 PM
Obviously walls work ~ ~ That's why everybody has them in their houses, and locks on their windows and doors ! !

Mother of God.

20/01/2025, 4:40 PM
Getting him impeached is a long shot. What would get him impeached? He's a convicted Felon as it is.
I'm thinking more of him getting shot again

Or even dying of old age and McDonald's

At least he's rowing back on this gender ideology nonsense anyway!
I wouldn't joke at the nasty stuff to have come out of that ideology in fairness...

mark12345
20/01/2025, 4:45 PM

I cannot. I did not make that claim (it was about the media in America).

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 4:53 PM
Mother of God.The Vatican is surrounded by a wall !

mark12345
20/01/2025, 4:53 PM
Zuckerberg, Bezos, etc, are all acting in their own self interest. He's shown before that he can make a lot of money for people who show him favour, and make life difficult for anyone who doesn't.
There's going to be a lot of focus on things like AI in the near future, and none of them want to run the risk of sanctions against their own company. So now we're in the situation where CEOs have to make nice with the President so he doesn't ruin their companies, just because he can.

Without a doubt, pretty much everything you say here is true.
But the fact that those guys are rubbing shoulders with this awful, awful tyrant (which the media would have us believe he is) and then the media doesn't hold them accountable afterwards. Surely that shows us that the media (which once held governments and politicians accountable on behalf of the people) now stand for absolutely nothing other than their own financial bottom line. Propagandists in other words.

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 4:55 PM
I'm thinking more of him getting shot again

You'd have to be absolutely certain that he was shot at in the first place.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 4:59 PM

Like I say, I do not have an example of the BBC saying this, but now that we're talking about it, would not it have been proper of the BBC to have published an Op Ed refuting these suggestions by those in the American media. Can we at least agree on that?

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 5:09 PM
Excellent speech ~ Very emotional ~ Up the Republic.

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 5:28 PM
Joe Biden's latest pardons ~ They are ~ Joe Biden's siblings and their spouses ! !

Nothing too see here folks !

https://apnews.com/article/biden-pardons-family-trump-white-hous-caee326c4723a4ba6d972f7daf750a0b

mark12345
20/01/2025, 5:40 PM
Joe Biden's latest pardons ~ They are ~ Joe Biden's siblings and their spouses ! !

https://apnews.com/article/biden-pardons-family-trump-white-hous-caee326c4723a4ba6d972f7daf750a0b

You beat me to it Sean. The following is direct from MSN.com a few minutes ago.

"WASHINGTON – President Joe Biden pardoned his brother James Biden and other relatives Monday for unspecified crimes, a similar last-minute move to protect his family from potential investigation as when he pardoned his son Hunter Biden for gun and tax convictions.

The president said he pardoned his brother and other relatives ? his sister Sara Jones Biden, his sister Valerie Biden Owens and her husband John Owens, and another brother, Francis Biden ? because of concerns about "baseless and politically motivated investigations wreak havoc on the lives, safety, and financial security of targeted individuals and their families," he said in a statement released minutes before the end of his term."

Those labelling Joe's family as "The Biden Crime Family," will feel vindicated now. That said, others are saying now that pre-emptive pardons are not worth the paper they're written on as one needs to be charged with a crime before he/she can be pardoned.

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 5:46 PM
You beat me to it Sean. The following is direct from MSN.com a few minutes ago.

"WASHINGTON – President Joe Biden pardoned his brother James Biden and other relatives Monday for unspecified crimes, a similar last-minute move to protect his family from potential investigation as when he pardoned his son Hunter Biden for gun and tax convictions.

The president said he pardoned his brother and other relatives ? his sister Sara Jones Biden, his sister Valerie Biden Owens and her husband John Owens, and another brother, Francis Biden ? because of concerns about "baseless and politically motivated investigations wreak havoc on the lives, safety, and financial security of targeted individuals and their families," he said in a statement released minutes before the end of his term."

Those labelling Joe's family as "The Biden Crime Family," will feel vindicated now. That said, others are saying now that pre-emptive pardons are not worth the paper they're written on as one needs to be charged with a crime before he/she can be pardoned.It is obvious the Biden family have been on the take for years ~ ~ And, that's why they have to be pardoned regardless of the waffle in the Joe Biden statement ~ And the same can be said for Fauci and the January 6th Committee.

Why have people being lying to themselves about the Biden family and the others ? !

20/01/2025, 6:00 PM
You left out the most important part

Biden said the pardons were intended to shield his family from politically motivated attacks and should not be mistaken as an acknowledgment of any wrongdoing.

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 6:18 PM

Brilliant speech by the convicted Felon though. Totes emosh!

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 6:19 PM
You left out the most important partJoe Biden says a lot of stuff ~ Most of it nonsense.

Ye were told that he would pardon very dodgy People ~ ~ Which he just has !

20/01/2025, 6:28 PM
You'd have to be absolutely certain that he was shot at in the first place.

In fairness, the guy behind him who took the bullet would beg to disagree. If he wasn't dead.

20/01/2025, 6:33 PM
You left out the most important part

Doesnt that just set up Trump to do the same thing when he leaves office? Don Jr. et al? It does stink a bit as a political move, a bit selfish. Not that I believe they have done anything wrong, I get the motivation (and will similarly get the motivation when Trump does it). As P-Stu pointed out - and i hadnt thought to question it before - it is a farce of a privilege.

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 6:57 PM
In fairness, the guy behind him who took the bullet would beg to disagree. If he wasn't dead.

"the bullet" - weren't multiple shots fired and wasn't trump apparently hit by a ricochet or a fragment?

20/01/2025, 7:18 PM
Doesnt that just set up Trump to do the same thing when he leaves office? Don Jr. et al? It does stink a bit as a political move, a bit selfish. Not that I believe they have done anything wrong, I get the motivation (and will similarly get the motivation when Trump does it). As P-Stu pointed out - and i hadnt thought to question it before - it is a farce of a privilege.
Yes, and this is the state of American politics, where these sort of measures are seen as necessary.

20/01/2025, 8:23 PM
But keep on tuning into the BBC that bastion of truth and honesty.

Yet Gript is a perfectly cromulent source of information.

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2025, 8:37 PM
Anyone buy $TRUMP or $MELANIA coins?

mark12345
20/01/2025, 8:53 PM
Yet Gript is a perfectly cromulent source of information.

I only recently came across Gript. From what I have seen of it, it is a user-based platform which allows people to have their say on various topics.
How can that be a bad thing? It is also now subscription only, is it not?

mark12345
20/01/2025, 8:56 PM

Fair play to you Stu.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 9:05 PM
It is obvious the Biden family have been on the take for years ~ ~ And, that's why they have to be pardoned regardless of the waffle in the Joe Biden statement ~ And the same can be said for Fauci and the January 6th Committee.

Why have people being lying to themselves about the Biden family and the others ? !

There are none as blind as those who will not see, Sean. In fairness, I have been aware of the Biden crimes for quite some time now, as I'm sure you have too. But for the life of me, I can't understand why folks (and I'm thinking of those close to me) who were told that Biden's family was in it deep, and that Joe would pardon Hunter, then refuse to accept that they might have been wrong when it actually comes to pass (first Hunter pardoned and now this).

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 9:23 PM
There are none as blind as those who will not see, Sean. In fairness, I have been aware of the Biden crimes for quite some time now, as I'm sure you have too. But for the life of me, I can't understand why folks (and I'm thinking of those close to me) who were told that Biden's family was in it deep, and that Joe would pardon Hunter, then refuse to accept that they might have been wrong when it actually comes to pass (first Hunter pardoned and now this).It is harder to get a person to admit that they have been fooled, than to fool them in the first place ( old saying that works well for con-men / con-women )

Just look at the numbers of pardons from Joe Biden ~ The Biden's are a nest of crooks and have been for decades in America ~ What does it say about the American Democrat party that the Biden's rose so high in that party ~ And what really is the American Democrat Party ? !

https://twitter.com/USMortality/status/1881355620391211408

mark12345
20/01/2025, 9:40 PM
Joe Biden says a lot of stuff ~ Most of it nonsense.

Ye were told that he would pardon very dodgy People ~ ~ Which he just has !

Things are heating up for Mr Fauci. In response to today's pardon Rand Paul (Chairman of Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs) says "If there was ever any doubt as to who bears responsibility for the Covid pandemic, Biden's pardon of Fauci forever seals the deal.......Fauci's pardon will only serve as an accelerant to pierce the veil of deception. "

seanfhear
20/01/2025, 9:48 PM
Things are heating up for Mr Fauci. In response to today's pardon Rand Paul (Chairman of Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs) says "If there was ever any doubt as to who bears responsibility for the Covid pandemic, Biden's pardon of Fauci forever seals the deal.......Fauci's pardon will only serve as an accelerant to pierce the veil of deception. "
People like you and me knew, that Joe Biden would pardon all sorts of dodgy people, and a lot of dodgy people in his own family.

We know this, we see it coming ~ ~ But innocents, can't see it coming and can't understand why he is doing it !

We know why he is doing it ~ Because the Biden family is as dodgy as fook, and have been for decades ~ And the Democrat party is a dodgy party and has been for decades !

This is the reality of the Democrat Party and the Biden family !

Now the Republicans are probably much the same ~ And who knows, maybe worse sometimes ~ But some People think the Democrats are whiter than white, when that cannot be further from the truth !

I feel sorry for the innocents that have their eyes opened at times like this !

mark12345
20/01/2025, 9:51 PM

It is indeed quite a strange privilege. I think we can safely say that American politics is dripping in corruption and has been for a very long time. This pardon business was arguably designed to get people off the hook.