View Full Version : American Politics

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20

16/01/2025, 7:31 AM
Does he have the information about his son paying homeless people to pose with caps and flags?

16/01/2025, 7:52 AM
What I don't want to happen is that we wake up one morning and there are platoons of Russian and Chinese soldiers doing joint maneuvers in northern Greenland. It will be too late to get them out of there at that point. Trump obviously has information that you and I don't.
You know people in Russia support the invasion of Ukraine on the basis of not wanting something to happen that isn't going to happen, and on assuming Putin has information they don't?

seanfhear
16/01/2025, 8:11 AM
Only four more days to see the back of Joe Biden ~ Biden will not be remembered of having been up to much of, importance / quality, in American history.

Biden is basically the American version of a crooked FFG gombeen ~ Who milked everything that he could out of being an American politician for 50 years !

16/01/2025, 12:32 PM
I'm sure anyone who's had a student loan forgiven, or can now afford insulin, will agree.

16/01/2025, 12:42 PM
I'm sure what America needs to kick on right now is the re-election of the guy routinely regarded in various scholarly reports as one of the worst Presidents ever (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_rankings_of_presidents_of_the_United_St ates).

I can see that definitely helping things.

mark12345
16/01/2025, 3:09 PM
You know people in Russia support the invasion of Ukraine on the basis of not wanting something to happen that isn't going to happen, and on assuming Putin has information they don't?

I guess that's your way of saying you're sure there's no Russian/Chinese activity going on in Northern Greenland. We shall see

16/01/2025, 3:11 PM
Is there Chinese activity in the room with you now, mark?

mark12345
16/01/2025, 11:28 PM
Only four more days to see the back of Joe Biden ~ Biden will not be remembered of having been up to much of, importance / quality, in American history.

Biden is basically the American version of a crooked FFG gombeen ~ Who milked everything that he could out of being an American politician for 50 years !

You make a lot of sense Sean.

mark12345
16/01/2025, 11:39 PM
I'm sure anyone who's had a student loan forgiven, or can now afford insulin, will agree.

The problem with forgiving student loans, is it creates an awful lot of resentment with the millions who attended college through the years and didn't have their loans forgiven. Should they also get a rebate? And then there is the regular Joe plumber or construction worker or truck driver who goes out and works his behind off every day to support his family. His taxes go to pay for many many things already, and now he's told he has to pay extra for someone else's kids who took the loan and agreed to pay it themselves. Why should they be allowed not to pay at his expense? It creates an awful lot of division among the communities. I rather like the Irish model where education is relatively free and relatively easily accessible to all citizens. At least that's how I understand it.

seanfhear
16/01/2025, 11:55 PM
You make a lot of sense Sean.
Any serious examination of Joe Biden's political career would reveal a pretty sorry story ~ ~ Joe Biden is basically the American equivalent of an FFG gombeen politician ~ ~ Except on an American scale !

It's interesting as to why that has not been done ~ ~ Maybe it will be done now, after Joe Biden and family are out ? !

mark12345
17/01/2025, 12:01 AM
I'm sure what America needs to kick on right now is the re-election of the guy routinely regarded in various scholarly reports as one of the worst Presidents ever (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_rankings_of_presidents_of_the_United_St ates).

I can see that definitely helping things.

Donald Trump is the most hated, and yet the most loved president in American history. In terms of popularity among the voters - he received more votes than any US president ever. Polls for this past election (November 2024) ranged from wrong to way wrong.

17/01/2025, 6:15 AM
The problem with forgiving student loans, is it creates an awful lot of resentment with the millions who attended college through the years and didn't have their loans forgiven. Should they also get a rebate? And then there is the regular Joe plumber or construction worker or truck driver who goes out and works his behind off every day to support his family. His taxes go to pay for many many things already, and now he's told he has to pay extra for someone else's kids who took the loan and agreed to pay it themselves. Why should they be allowed not to pay at his expense? It creates an awful lot of division among the communities. I rather like the Irish model where education is relatively free and relatively easily accessible to all citizens. At least that's how I understand it.

People who got a lower minimum wage in 1995 should also be reimbursed their wages to current standards, if you subscribe to this logic.

17/01/2025, 7:45 AM

In terms of his wealth compared to other elected US politicians in the senate/house of representatives:

"Biden ranked near the bottom in the center’s data in the years before he became vice president: Biden ranked 570th of 585 officials in 2005; 614th of 636 officials in 2006; and 626th of 639 officials in 2007. "

"We looked for the latest rankings by the Center for Responsive Politics to get a sense of where his wealth ranked when he left the White House.

In the latest data that include Biden, Biden again ranked near the bottom: 577 of 581 officials in 2014."

Only since he left the white house as Vice president did he really start making money from book deals and speeches.

https://www.politifact.com/factchecks/2019/oct/30/joe-biden/fact-checking-joe-bidens-claim-hes-among-poorest-g/

For a guy that you claim milked America for everything he could for 50 years, he didn't do it very well.

17/01/2025, 8:39 AM
Donald Trump is the most hated, and yet the most loved president in American history. In terms of popularity among the voters - he received more votes than any US president ever. Polls for this past election (November 2024) ranged from wrong to way wrong.
Trump got 77 million votes. Biden got 81 million in 2020
https://www.fec.gov/documents/4227/federalelections2020.pdf

17/01/2025, 8:41 AM
And my post was about Trump being one of the worst-rated Presidents in history. Ability and popularity are quite different.

seanfhear
17/01/2025, 10:01 AM
In terms of his wealth compared to other elected US politicians in the senate/house of representatives:

"Biden ranked near the bottom in the center’s data in the years before he became vice president: Biden ranked 570th of 585 officials in 2005; 614th of 636 officials in 2006; and 626th of 639 officials in 2007. "

"We looked for the latest rankings by the Center for Responsive Politics to get a sense of where his wealth ranked when he left the White House.

In the latest data that include Biden, Biden again ranked near the bottom: 577 of 581 officials in 2014."

Only since he left the white house as Vice president did he really start making money from book deals and speeches.

https://www.politifact.com/factchecks/2019/oct/30/joe-biden/fact-checking-joe-bidens-claim-hes-among-poorest-g/

For a guy that you claim milked America for everything he could for 50 years, he didn't do it very well.I suggest that you look in to Joe Biden's family, and how and why they made their money ? !

17/01/2025, 10:11 AM
I suggest that you look in to Joe Biden's family, and how and why they made their money ? !
Did any of them serve in government?

seanfhear
17/01/2025, 10:20 AM
Did any of them serve in government?That is hardly relevant or a good thing, if they are making large amounts of money, just by their connections to the politician Joe Biden !

17/01/2025, 10:52 AM
That is hardly relevant or a good thing, if they are making large amounts of money, just by their connections to the politician Joe Biden !
Well it's a good thing nobody else with a connection to a US politician, especially a president, have made large amounts of money.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-68296877

seanfhear
17/01/2025, 11:40 AM
Well it's a good thing nobody else with a connection to a US politician, especially a president, have made large amounts of money.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-68296877Joe Biden and his family are the talking point here ~ Now as it goes pretty much every American politician ( or family ) has unexplained wealth ~ The reality is American politics is totally corrupt and probably pretty much always has been ~ For decades and more anyway.

In my opinion, pretty much all American Politicians are highly corrupt ~ Be they Republicans or Democrats ! !

17/01/2025, 11:47 AM
Joe Biden and his family are the talking point here
Why? To deflect from the Greenland bullshirt?

17/01/2025, 11:52 AM
Joe Biden and his family are the talking point here ~ Now as it goes pretty much every American politician ( or family ) has unexplained wealth ~ The reality is American politics is totally corrupt and probably pretty much always has been ~ For decades and more anyway.

In my opinion, pretty much all American Politicians are highly corrupt ~ Be they Republicans or Democrats ! !
The title of the thread is American Politics, not Joe Biden and his family
As a Presidential candidate, Biden has released his tax returns, explaining where his wealth has come from. Incidentally, so has every other candidate since the 1970s. Except one.

mark12345
17/01/2025, 7:53 PM
The title of the thread is American Politics, not Joe Biden and his family
As a Presidential candidate, Biden has released his tax returns, explaining where his wealth has come from. Incidentally, so has every other candidate since the 1970s. Except one.

You've obviously never heard about the contents of Hunter's laptop?
And you've obviously never heard about Joe Biden's threat to the authorities in Ukraine that if they didn't fire the prosecutor who was looking into his son's dealings with Burisma they would not get the 1 billion of American taxpayer dollars. (I told them) "You're not getting the billion dollars. I'm leaving in 6 hours, if the prosecutor is not fired you're not getting the money. Well son of a bitch he got fired (ha ha ha)."

https://www.c-span.org/clip/campaign-2018/user-clip-biden-tells-story-of-getting-the-ukraine-prosecutor-fired/4820105

And Trump's taxes were broadcast to the nation by Rachael Maddow, after they were leaked to CNN - it must be at least 3 years ago now. At the time Trump was holding back his taxes - if you recall he said he would release them when the contents of Hillary's 33,000 emails were released (but that never happened).

mark12345
17/01/2025, 8:06 PM
Joe Biden and his family are the talking point here ~ Now as it goes pretty much every American politician ( or family ) has unexplained wealth ~ The reality is American politics is totally corrupt and probably pretty much always has been ~ For decades and more anyway.

You're right on the money Sean (pardon the pun) with this. American politics is totally corrupt, the Republicans and Democrats are all in bed together, and I would estimate that 98% of them are bought off by special interests. I think we knew there was corruption in Washington already, but Trump really pulled back the curtain and exposed it all. After all he was never one of them and still isn't. We never would have known about the Deep State and their tactics were it not for Trump. Why didn't any of the Bushes, Clintons or Obama tell us about the Deep State? I think we all know the answer to that question.

17/01/2025, 8:10 PM
I think he did more than just pull back the curtain, he embraced it

17/01/2025, 9:27 PM
I suggest that you look in to Joe Biden's family, and how and why they made their money ? !

Post up some evidence related to Biden's family and how they made their money.

seanfhear
17/01/2025, 9:54 PM
Post up some evidence related to Biden's family and how they made thier money.

how did Joe Biden's brother make his money ? (https://www.google.com/search?client=safari&sca_esv=567ab18d067741e3&rls=en&q=how+did+Joe+Biden%27s+brother+make+his+money+?&spell=1&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwib8Jz56_2KAxXngf0HHbc5NJwQBSgAegQIDRAB&biw=1008&bih=576&dpr=2)

A lot of reading to do there ~ And that is just one brother !

17/01/2025, 10:05 PM
A ****ing random Google search isn't evidence for God's sake

Are you that unable to make a cogent argument on your own? Or are you just so used to regurgitating any old crap you hear so long as it agrees with your views?

seanfhear
17/01/2025, 10:19 PM

Are you that unable to make a cogent argument on your own? Or are you just so used to regurgitating any old crap you hear so long as it agrees with your views?
Lets see who else Joe Biden gives pardons to in the next day or two ~ ~ He already had to give Hunter Biden a pardon covering 10 years ! ( that's 10 years )

Why would anyone in there right mind be batting for the crooked Biden family ~ ~ It's bizarre !

mark12345
17/01/2025, 11:29 PM
Post up some evidence related to Biden's family and how they made thier money.

You didn't just ask that question, did you?
Conservative TV and radio talk shows have been talking about "The Biden Crime Family" for 3 years now. That is quite a serious allegation to make if not true, wouldn't you say?
How come you haven't heard about any of this? Where have you been? And what is your explanation for the video that was posted? Can you explain why Hunter, who didn't speak Ukrainian and had no knowledge of the energy industry, made over a million dollars from Burisma?

mark12345
17/01/2025, 11:35 PM
I think he did more than just pull back the curtain, he embraced it

Exactly what corruption did he embrace? I am dying to know.

mark12345
17/01/2025, 11:54 PM

A random Google search isn't evidence? But a Wikipedia search (not too long ago on this thread) is?
I tend to agree with you about Google searches, but Wiki is even lower down the credibility list, is it not?

Aside from all that, I've got a suggestion, and I'm being as candid as I can with you. How about you tune into some American radio talk shows?
I strongly suggest Jeff Kuhner on WRKO Radio (available on the internet and airs every weekday from 11am to 3pm Irish time). There is also the Glenn Beck show and the Clay and Buck show (available on the internet also).
We all can put forth our opinions on this forum until we are blue in the face, but these radio shows will give you an insight into what is really going on with everyday life in America.
There are other shows / podcasts I can give to you if you are interested in what's going on.

18/01/2025, 5:12 AM
Youse should all watch the latest Bill Maher stand-up on HBO “Is Anyone Else Seeing This?”.

seanfhear
18/01/2025, 5:19 AM
Having to give you Son an open all encompassing 10 year pardon ~ ~ And some People think the Biden family is Not as dodgy as fook !

And, as I said, Watch who is on Joe Biden's last pardon list ? !

18/01/2025, 7:45 AM
Exactly what corruption did he embrace? I am dying to know.
I posted this link at the top of the page.

18/01/2025, 12:01 PM
Didn't even have to wait 24 hours for the next one
Trump launched a cryptocurrency last night. That'll end well.

mark12345
18/01/2025, 2:26 PM
I posted this link at the top of the page.

That is a pretty broad brushed attack on Kushner. It says he made a lot of money from the Saudis without actually doing anything wrong. It suggests a conflict of interest due to his ties to the WH. Kushner for his part defends himself and his actions and there was no investigation of any kind that I'm aware of. If there was wrongdoing on Kushners part it represents a huge missed opportunity for the Dems that they didn't rake him over the coals when every other minute aspect of DT's life was being brought to court.
That said, if Kushner was found to have done something wrong, I would have no problem with them throwing the book at him. He was a thorn in Trump's side in the eyes of many.
At this point in time though, Kushner has not received a presidential pardon dating back years like someone else we know.

mark12345
18/01/2025, 2:29 PM
Didn't even have to wait 24 hours for the next one
Trump launched a cryptocurrency last night. That'll end well.

What is your take on DT's sentencing the other day? Do you see things slightly differently now?

18/01/2025, 2:38 PM
What is your take on DT's sentencing the other day? Do you see things slightly differently now?
That he was still convicted of 34 counts of fraud

mark12345
18/01/2025, 2:40 PM
Youse should all watch the latest Bill Maher stand-up on HBO “Is Anyone Else Seeing This?”.

I have to give credit to Bill Maher. He has begun to speak quite a bit of sense recently

mark12345
18/01/2025, 2:47 PM
A judge who handed down no jail time for 34 felonies, no suspended sentence, no fines and even wished the defendant "Godspeed " in his closing remarks. And on top of that he made his decision public before issuing from behind the bench. He's definitely unique that judge and you are also unique for thinking this was anything other than a political hit job.

seanfhear
18/01/2025, 2:59 PM
I have to give credit to Bill Maher. He has begun to speak quite a bit of sense recently
Bill Maher ~ Always a great man to hold his finger in the air, and work out which way the wind is blowing !

18/01/2025, 8:51 PM
A judge who handed down no jail time for 34 felonies, no suspended sentence, no fines and even wished the defendant "Godspeed " in his closing remarks. And on top of that he made his decision public before issuing from behind the bench. He's definitely unique that judge and you are also unique for thinking this was anything other than a political hit job.
I'm pretty sure I'm not the only person who thinks he was convicted of 34 counts of fraud

mark12345
19/01/2025, 12:43 PM
I'm pretty sure I'm not the only person who thinks he was convicted of 34 counts of fraud

That's correct. You're not the only person that thinks that. Everyone, including me, thinks and knows that. Doesn't make it right though. It will eventually go to the Supreme Court and I'm pretty sure it will die a death like all the other cases against Trump.
Anyway.........something I saw on Gript this morning which is quite interesting about upcoming Irish/ American trade relations.

https://gript.ie/it-is-time-for-ireland-to-reconnect-with-irish-america/

mark12345
19/01/2025, 12:44 PM
Bill Maher ~ Always a great man to hold his finger in the air, and work out which way the wind is blowing !

He's definitely been that way in the past. Hopefully he is changing

19/01/2025, 7:10 PM
something I saw on Gript this morning

Usually a good sign alright.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 11:32 AM
Usually a good sign alright.

Breaking news from Washington, just moments ago. Biden just pardoned Anthony Fauci. Why on earth would Fauci need a pardon? I thought he saved the world from Covid? At least that's what we were told for the last 4 years. Fair to say someone has been pulling the wool over the eyes of the world.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 11:38 AM
Breaking news from Washington, just moments ago. Biden just pardoned Anthony Fauci. Why on earth would Fauci need a pardon? I thought he saved the world from Covid? At least that's what we were told for the last 4 years. Fair to say someone has been pulling the wool over the eyes of the world.

Oh and there's more. He just pardoned the members of the January 6th committee. Why would they need pardoning. Did they do something wrong? Did evidence get destroyed or did I get that wrong?

20/01/2025, 11:57 AM
BBC are reporting (https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8r5g5dezk4o) it's a "pre-emptive pardon to prevent unjustified politically motivated prosecutions"

So effectively it seems it's to stop the Trump regime going after them. Given there's an active anti-vaxxer in health and an extremely petty and biased President with a criminal history coming in board (the BBC also report that "Trump has suggested he would take action against those who tried to hold him accountable for an attempt by his supporters to overthrow the 2020 presidential vote"), there's a weird kind of logic.

The whole pardoning thing is daft - although I notice the two Trump flag-flyers haven't criticised Trump for his pardons. Quelle surprise there.

or did I get that wrong?
Going on your posting history to date on this thread, I'm going to say yes. Yes you did.

mark12345
20/01/2025, 1:13 PM
BBC are reporting (https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8r5g5dezk4o) it's a "pre-emptive pardon to prevent unjustified politically motivated prosecutions"

So effectively it seems it's to stop the Trump regime going after them. Given there's an active anti-vaxxer in health and an extremely petty and biased President with a criminal history coming in board (the BBC also report that "Trump has suggested he would take action against those who tried to hold him accountable for an attempt by his supporters to overthrow the 2020 presidential vote"), there's a weird kind of logic.

The whole pardoning thing is daft - although I notice the two Trump flag-flyers haven't criticised Trump for his pardons. Quelle surprise there.

Going on your posting history to date on this thread, I'm going to say yes. Yes you did.

Why would the Trump regime go after Fauci? Did he do something wrong? Wouldn't you like to know if he did? I guess Biden has no interest in finding out? And Trump is going to take action against those who tried to hold him accountable? They did try to hold him accountable and found nothing, and then the evidence (apparently exonerating him) went missing. And the "chief" J6 commissioner Liz Cheney could very well have been going to jail for her role in all of it. But Joey put paid to that didn't he.

So it's ok to try to find Trump accountable, but not Fauci?

Its appears like "go ahead and get Trump and if you don't succeed sure I'll pardon you anyway."

But keep on tuning into the BBC that bastion of truth and honesty. It probably explains why yore relying on my posting history rather than knowing the story yourself?