View Full Version : LoI Fixture 6-7 April

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

blueblood
11/04/2018, 7:22 PM
You can keep saying kicking, and maybe that's what you think kicking is in Limerick? Who knows.

But yes, Caulfield clearly realised he shouldn't have encroached on the pitch, and walked away. I'm impressed that you've picked out the person who wasn't violent as the 'bully' of the incident. And the person who actually got aggressive is just a poor victim? Bizarre to say the least.

Caulfield made the wrong decision initially, in trying to get the ball.

He made the right decision in not getting involved or reacting after being pushed. The fact that you're trying to paint this as a negative is laughable. No doubt if he had reacted and gotten involved in the melee you'd slaughter him for that too.

Blame him for what he did, sure. Trying to insult him for what he didn't do, and not getting involved in the scrap, us silly.
Hitting something or someone with your leg is kicking or do ye not call it that in Cork (do ye call it PICKING SOMETHING UP as Caulfield does) ???
I would call the action of hitting someone with your leg violence especially since he had no business being on the pitch...
I never said Hery was a poor victim, what he did was wrong but two wrongs don't make a right!
Caulfield was right not to get involved after being pushed, he was probably in shock like a bully would be I don't know and I don't think he deserves praise for not reacting after the push, he wasn't being very restraint 5 seconds earlier.

sullanefc
11/04/2018, 7:26 PM
Some amount of cr@p being spouted on here.
The Caulfield hate is quite amazing. It's actually quite satisfying that he is getting under the skin of so many opponents. Keep it up JC.

11/04/2018, 7:33 PM
Bizarre to say the least. Trying to get the ball off someone is kicking now. Is every tackle a kick in Limerick? That's your definition of violence now?

Come off the stage.

We're accused of bias, and no question of course were inherently biased, but it's laughable that you and a few others think you're being perfectly reasonable and logical in this. There's bias all round.

blueblood
11/04/2018, 8:16 PM
Bizarre to say the least. Trying to get the ball off someone is kicking now. Is every tackle a kick in Limerick? That's your definition of violence now?

Come off the stage.

We're accused of bias, and no question of course were inherently biased, but it's laughable that you and a few others think you're being perfectly reasonable and logical in this. There's bias all round.

Call it what you want I'd call a a kick it would obviously be different if it happens between two players during a game then we would call that a tackle.
Would you think it was OK if a non-player came onto the pitch and made contact (with foot/arm/head/whatever) with a Cork player? I'd call that person an idiot and some might even consider it a violent act by the pitch invader.

Ezeikial
11/04/2018, 8:26 PM
Some amount of cr@p being spouted on here.
The Caulfield hate is quite amazing. It's actually quite satisfying that he is getting under the skin of so many opponents. Keep it up JC.

JC and many Cork supporters (both here and on social media) have become a laughing stock

blueblood
11/04/2018, 8:35 PM
JC and many Cork supporters (both here and on social media) have become a laughing stock
Sure they think we're all just jealous and picking on poor innocent Caulfield they're delusional

11/04/2018, 8:55 PM
Call it what you want I'd call a a kick it would obviously be different if it happens between two players during a game then we would call that a tackle.
Would you think it was OK if a non-player came onto the pitch and made contact (with foot/arm/head/whatever) with a Cork player? I'd call that person an idiot and some might even consider it a violent act by the pitch invader.

I'll call it what it was. A soft tackle at most, an attempt to get the ball. He was sent off for pitch encroachment, which it was, not violent conduct. Calling that a violent act is simply nonsense. Stupid, sure. Inappropriate, yes. A sending off offence, yes. Violent, no. And 'bullying', laughable.

A N Mouse
11/04/2018, 9:17 PM
I'll call it what it was. A soft tackle at most, an attempt to get the ball. He was sent off for pitch encroachment, which it was, not violent conduct. Calling that a violent act is simply nonsense. Stupid, sure. Inappropriate, yes. A sending off offence, yes. Violent, no. And 'bullying', laughable.

Ok, so we've established he shouldn't have been on the pitch. Can we skip the semantics over what he done there and get to the bit where we acknowledge that it's him landing on his hole that was the petrol on the flames.

If we get that far maybe we can jump to realising that he wouldn't have been dumped on his hole, thus escalating the situation, if he wasn't on the pitch.

Or is the cognitive dissonance just too strong?

ToberonaTornado
11/04/2018, 9:39 PM
STANLEY ABORAH has been banned for SIX matches for his part in the brawl at the end of the Munster derby between Waterford and Cork City.
And Blues midfielder Bastien Hery has copped a four-game ban for his part in the row on Friday night which saw him shove City boss John Caulfield to the ground.

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2431070/waterfords-stanley-aborah-banned-for-six-matches-following-brawl-at-the-end-of-the-munster-derby-with-cork-city/

sbgawa
11/04/2018, 9:43 PM
Jeez that seems harsh.

patrickccfc
11/04/2018, 9:51 PM
Wow, I would've thought Hery would've got the most severe punishment out of everyone. Wonder why that length of a ban for Aborah. Be interesting to see the bans in comparison for our lads.

gormacha
11/04/2018, 9:52 PM
Notwithstanding my obvious interest in the matter, but that seems astonishingly harsh.

sbgawa
11/04/2018, 9:53 PM
Apparantly Caulfield has got 3 months in mountjoy.
Assault with a deadly weapon fair enough

White Horse
11/04/2018, 10:06 PM
What did Aborah do to deserve six matches? That seems crazy.

jinxy lilywhite
11/04/2018, 10:10 PM
Was aborah considered more because his incident was in the tunnel after the event.

I have to say the description of the events reminds me of the Simpson episode where Bart got knocked down by Mr Burns.

Yossarian
11/04/2018, 10:10 PM
What did Aborah do to deserve six matches? That seems crazy.

Did he not grab Buckley(?) around the neck as he was heading for the tunnel? Still seems a bit harsh though.

11/04/2018, 10:19 PM
I still want to know how it is considered that he was walking away before he got shoved backwards which by general consensus among Cork fans was the cause of the melee?

He didnt charge in the direction of a player/ball and then turn and contritely walk back to the dugout, as he did do when he picked himself up.

Even suggesting that Hery had a bit of a menacing look, Caulfield wouldnt turn his back on player he felt threatened by so he was backing off facing Hery when Hery himself darted forward and pushed, JC then felt he could get up, dust himself down and walk away from the flash point...makes more sense than claiming he was trying to walk away before Hery turned and heading in his direction (or that he had actually picked up the ball).

Talk of being a bully or kicking or racism is pure conjecture but so is the claim that he was trying to walk away after a rush of blood copping that he had erred.

What factually happened (as I saw it lol) - Waterford bench were making a quick throw in difficult, Hery then slapped the ball out of the Cork players hands and dribbled the ball away, JC saw this and charged toward Hery to retrieve the ball, JC didnt get the ball but Hery turned to the person who was trying to get the ball after running at him/in his direction, JC took a couple of steps back as Hery moved toward the person who had just ran at him/toward him, Hery reacts as he pushes the person or JC and JC ends up on the floor, Cork players charge to the defence of their manager and Waterford players react in kind. JC is well away from the melee by now which is closer to the Waterford bench, JC gets up and quietly walks back to his technical area, players get sent off with extras toward the tunnel and both managers are sent off.

It is my own opinion that JC didnt suddenly see the light, and that what he had done had resulted in a melee so introspectively walked to his bench, I think when the melee kicked off he moved quietly to his bench hoping that his initial encroachment or even charge/movement toward Hery would be missed or not be considered by the ref, he knew that Hery was in trouble and he was right. The melee, while not planned, he subsequently hoped would mean his own moment of madness would not register. He probably thought he was justified and I think he was after Hery had run over and taken the ball off the Cork throw in taker. I think he would be more bothered by being knocked on his ass than anything and even privately that this coud work out better for Cork than Waterford under the circumstance. Imagine of the main protaganists were Stephen Kenny in the role of JC and Greg Bolger (when at Cork as I dont think McCormack would be as daft as do what Hery did) as Hery, and try and run through the whole thing from anothers perspective!

sullanefc
11/04/2018, 10:20 PM
Aborah abused the ref and had to be restrained from going after him. Also confronted Buckley going down the tunnell after the melee.

sullanefc
11/04/2018, 10:26 PM
But yeah, Caulfield started it so probably a bit harsh on the lad.

11/04/2018, 10:29 PM
Do they ever publish the finding of the disciplinary panel? Had to have been something said or something in the tunnel that wasnt on camera. What the 4th official saw would likely be most relevant as he would have a very close up view with the 4th official's dugout literally in the middle of the melee at first. On the face of it it seems harsh. Will Caulfield get a longer ban than Reynolds who seemed to do very little. Hery's 4 game ban was expected really. Was the photo of McNulty landing a nice one on a waterford player not submitted ;p

11/04/2018, 10:30 PM
But yeah, Caulfield started it so probably a bit harsh on the lad.

You finally starting to see JC's clarity on it all?

11/04/2018, 10:33 PM
Hery could plead provocation I guess. We don't know what Aborah said either, and what went on after they left the pitch.

11/04/2018, 10:42 PM
All very quiet on the Cork side of things or the panel still deliberating a life time ban for JC!?

Ezeikial
11/04/2018, 10:51 PM
No matter what bans have been handed out to the Cork side, the usual suspects will be on here claiming it is a victory for Cork City and a vindication of Caulfield

11/04/2018, 10:52 PM
All very quiet on the Cork side of things or the panel still deliberating a life time ban for JC!?
I'd say Waterford are annoyed at the severity of their bans and therefore inclined to tell journalists. I would suspect Cork maybe don't feel so aggrieved.

sbgawa
11/04/2018, 11:45 PM
The only thing ghat separates this from any regulation handbags incident is Caulfields involvement.
If Waterford have been hammered like this it will be interesting to see how cork get on

Real ale Madrid
12/04/2018, 12:38 AM
Superb stuff. I hope Waterford are well and truly stuffed in Derry on Friday. Buckley and Beattie will probably get 3 games each. No huge loss and Caulfield could do with a 2 or 3 game spell on the sidelines anyway!
Next time they will just give the ball back. :)

12/04/2018, 6:20 AM
Still not sure what Reynolds did?

Aborah ban is very long. There were reports he went for the ref, if true that would explain it. Herys ban seems about right. Big losses.

Fai have put the boot in anyway, so I'd expect our bans to be similarly harsh.

12/04/2018, 6:23 AM
No matter what bans have been handed out to the Cork side, the usual suspects will be on here claiming it is a victory for Cork City and a vindication of Caulfield

No idea what our bans or like, but the Waterford bans certainly hand us an advantage. They're missing two very key players and it gives us the opportunity to be back ahead of them, ideally by a few points, by the time those players are back. Harsh on waterford and Waterford fans in that sense.

12/04/2018, 6:41 AM
Waterford fans convinced its an attempt to sabotage their title challenge by the FAI because they don't like newcomers doing well.

You can't beat the insanity of social media around stuff like this.

mcgonigle
12/04/2018, 6:56 AM
Waterford fans convinced its an attempt to sabotage their title challenge by the FAI because they don't like newcomers doing well.

You can't beat the insanity of social media around stuff like this.

Ridiculous, it is clearly a conspiracy instigated by Kenny and Dundalk. Who apparently is the high king of the disciplinary panel

12/04/2018, 7:02 AM
Ridiculous, it is clearly a conspiracy instigated by Kenny and Dundalk. Who apparently is the high king of the disciplinary panel

If true, it definitely will be a lifetime ban for Caulfield and Nults. Possibly also a decree that forces us to continue starting buckley over McNamee.

mcgonigle
12/04/2018, 7:21 AM
If true, it definitely will be a lifetime ban for Caulfield and Nults. Possibly also a decree that forces us to continue starting buckley over McNamee.

Lets not be too hasty, we're warming to Mark (we're on first name terms now 😉) after his performance in Oriel. If he keeps that up he'll be a cult hero in no time.

The rest of your suggestions are foregone conclusions obviously. Also I'm hearing you will be handed a penalty ban for the rest of the season, so you'll be down at least another 30 goals

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 8:02 AM
Superb stuff. I hope Waterford are well and truly stuffed in Derry on Friday.

No idea what our bans or like, but the Waterford bans certainly hand us an advantage.

The "we won the scrap" nonsense has started early.

Both Cork and Waterford are losers in this.

Real ale Madrid
12/04/2018, 8:29 AM
The "we won the scrap" nonsense has started early.

Both Cork and Waterford are losers in this.

Yes - but Waterford lost more than us. :) I didn't really care until I read the woe is me nonsense from Waterford fans and the people like you gleefully taking a cut off Caulfield.

All parties were wrong and I don't condone anything that happened but I'm thrilled with the Agora and Hery bans as they are both Vital to Waterford and they are title rivals. Simple as.

Its absolute quality having Waterford back as a force in the league, it will lift both boats in the long run and long may it continue. Can't wait for June 1. Bring it on.

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 9:11 AM
Yes - but Waterford lost more than us. :) I didn't really care until I read the woe is me nonsense from Waterford fans and the people like you gleefully taking a cut off Caulfield.
The comedy continues.

This only became something you care about when you read comments from anonymous people on the internet?

Or when people made fun of Caulfield?

At no point prior to that were you concerned about the impact on your club's reputation?

No concern about any suspensions impacting on Corks title challenge?

No winners here only losers, except for the league points obviously.

Real ale Madrid
12/04/2018, 9:14 AM
The comedy continues.

This only became something you care about when you read comments from anonymous people on the internet?

Or when people made fun of Caulfield?

At no point prior to that were you concerned about the impact on your club's reputation?

No concern about any suspensions impacting on Corks title challenge?

No winners here only losers, except for the league points obviously.

Indeed! You've thought a lot about this Ezeikial - let it go!

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 9:27 AM
Indeed! You've thought a lot about this Ezeikial - let it go!

No problem.

I'll stop calling you out, when you stop your "we won the scrap" bull$hit.

Its what a child might say after getting a split lip in a playground spat. Take your oil and move on.

El-Pietro
12/04/2018, 9:31 AM
Are ye honestly arguing over who gets the last word here lads?

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 10:15 AM
Are ye honestly arguing over who gets the last word here lads?

I very much doubt that this "debate" is finished, and I will continue to call out any "we won the scrap" nonsense as it appears here.

12/04/2018, 10:22 AM
The idea that these suspensions will impact us on the pitch is a non runner, unless Nults get suspended. He would be a huge loss. The rest simply won't have an on pitch impact. Not by design or anything, we were just luckier in who decided to get themselves involved!

It's foolish to ignore the potential relative impact it will have on the pithy for waterford, who are currently above us. I'd prefer if the scrap hadn't happened, but I'd be lying if I said I'm not glad those particular players are banned for waterford.

You can call that what you like, but given what happened and how bad it could have been for us, I'm glad that those were the players involved. If McCormack for instance had gotten involved, we'd be in trouble.

We'll have to wait and see if Nults get pulled for his involvement. Cherrie hasn't looked great when he has played so far.

El-Pietro
12/04/2018, 10:28 AM
To be fair the real winners are Dundalk and Rovers.

Real ale Madrid
12/04/2018, 10:41 AM
I very much doubt that this "debate" is finished, and I will continue to call out any "we won the scrap" nonsense as it appears here.

Thank God you are here! Denouncer of all things nonsensical.

I was merely making the point that Waterford's suspensions will hit harder than ours which is a fair point I think. But feel free to disagree. I couldn't care less who "won" the fulltime handbags.

12/04/2018, 10:51 AM
To be fair the real winners are Dundalk and Rovers.

Yep, fair point. Not having players suspended is certainly better than having players suspended!, except maybe Gary Buckley...(i hope he doesn't read this, he's a nice guy!)

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 11:01 AM

Thank God you are here! Defender of all things nonsensical.

I am not defending anything in this thread - nonsensical or otherwise

Real ale Madrid
12/04/2018, 11:05 AM
I am not defending anything in this thread - nonsensical or otherwise

To be fair I phrased that all wrong.

Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 11:23 AM

Thank God you are here! Defender of all things nonsensical.

To be fair I phrased that all wrong.

Is that a parapraxis of your own posts around this subject?

Briuk
12/04/2018, 11:45 AM
When are those suspensions going to be announced?

Pablo Escobar
12/04/2018, 11:56 AM
When are those suspensions going to be announced?

The FAI will announce Monday, apparently. We have most likely been informed also, but haven't spilled the beans.

sulywaterfordfc
12/04/2018, 11:59 AM
Regardless whether Caulfield realized when he was doing it or after he done it was wrong. He still done it and was wrong regardless and it’s as simple as that. This oh he knew he done wrong thing is nonsense because he still done wrong and some Cork are failing to accept that. There’s no justification for a manager entering the pitch of play whether it’s 1 yard or 100 yards and that’s the issue.

Accept your manager had a moment of madness and acted the clown. Accept your loss and move onto the next game. A suspension for Caulfield will probably benefit Cork more then anything