View Full Version : LoI Fixture 6-7 April
Pages :
[
2]
06/04/2018, 9:55 PM
When I saw the two red cards and the extra 9 minutes of over time on Livescore I just knew Caulfield had to be involved somehow. Lol
As for Horgan, kind of feel sorry for him, somewhere someone told him once that he could make it as a goalkeeper. As for Bradley, why does he keep picking him!
Asterix
06/04/2018, 9:58 PM
Kavanagh clearly onside for his goal in the first half, no shock that the officials **** up again. Dundalk have a serious discipline problem just seem to get away with all the time.Wont say anything about the keepers, everyone at rovers knew its a problem for a long time now.
Ezeikial
06/04/2018, 10:08 PM
Kavanagh clearly onside for his goal in the first half, no shock that the officials **** up again.
I presume you watched it on TV, or has the view from the away section dramatically improved?
Dundalk have a serious discipline problem just seem to get away with all the time.
Are you aware that Dundalk have had the best disciplinary record of any club over the last 5 years, and have won the fair play award in the majority of those seasons?
Wont say anything about the keepers, everyone at rovers knew its a problem for a long time now.
Does that include Stephen Bradley, or is someone else responsible for recruitment at Rovers?
06/04/2018, 10:12 PM
Kavanagh clearly onside for his goal in the first half, no shock that the officials **** up again. Dundalk have a serious discipline problem just seem to get away with all the time.Wont say anything about the keepers, everyone at rovers knew its a problem for a long time now.
Well decisions can go with the top teams in the league - such is football!
06/04/2018, 10:13 PM
Kevin Horgan is absolutely woeful. Gifting goals all around him this season.
Ezeikial
06/04/2018, 10:16 PM
I thought Shamrock Rovers were excellent tonight and really put it up to Dundalk.
They could be league challengers with two decent quality additions - a goalkeeper and a manager
mcgonigle
06/04/2018, 10:20 PM
Dundalk have a serious discipline problem just seem to get away with all the time
Took me a while to stop laughing at this 😂
Dry your eyes 😭
White Horse
06/04/2018, 10:24 PM
Dundalk have a serious discipline problem just seem to get away with all the time.
Not sure what game you were looking at.
I saw two teams trying to play football in the right way, while pressing and tackling with excellent discipline.
sulywaterfordfc
06/04/2018, 10:56 PM
When I saw the two red cards and the extra 9 minutes of over time on Livescore I just knew Caulfield had to be involved somehow. Lol
As for Horgan, kind of feel sorry for him, somewhere someone told him once that he could make it as a goalkeeper. As for Bradley, why does he keep picking him!
Caulfield ran into the pitch and tackled a player and got put on his arse. Disgraceful from a so called professional manager
ToberonaTornado
06/04/2018, 11:06 PM
Caulfield ran into the pitch and tackled a player and got put on his arse. Disgraceful from a so called professional manager
http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/ee/52/a2/7aa0f776720567affba0d15e9cf8fc8ffccb7cc89f/INPHO_01355272.jpghttp://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/90/e5/5c/036df4b1337775b5455136041d3885b4d469c607f9/INPHO_01355274.jpg
Real ale Madrid
06/04/2018, 11:34 PM
Cool story bro
oriel
06/04/2018, 11:54 PM
http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/ee/52/a2/7aa0f776720567affba0d15e9cf8fc8ffccb7cc89f/INPHO_01355272.jpghttp://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/90/e5/5c/036df4b1337775b5455136041d3885b4d469c607f9/INPHO_01355274.jpg
Outstanding by the boy Caulfield, take a bow son.........oh hang on.
Crosshead
07/04/2018, 12:09 AM
The ball was out of play. Hery came over to dribble it back onto the pitch to time waste and Caulfield went after him to retrieve it.
Hery was ahead of Caulfield, turned around, and took a few steps towards Caulfield before shoving him. Caulfield shouldn't have gone to get the ball, but it's an understandable thing to do when a goal down in injury time. Hery's reaction was completely disproportionate.
sullanefc
07/04/2018, 12:10 AM
There is a red card in that Cleary lad when the refs catch on to him.
Fair play to Rovers dominated Dundalk for long spells. If only ye had a keeper.
07/04/2018, 12:12 AM
Plenty of cameras on that incident. Caulfield won’t be coming out of it the worst. A real marker laid down by Waterford tonight. Great to have a proper Munster rivalry back.
Dunno what the fluck Caulfield was doing in delaying Shep coming on. Way too many players in City line-up that shouldn’t be starting or are out of position. Changes needed - tonight and the ensuing suspensions might force those changes sooner than later.
07/04/2018, 12:31 AM
It will still be a sideline ban minimum. It does look that he gave Hery a good nudge when trying to get at the ball and Hery turned around and shoved Caulfield as he was backing up and he fell. Hery will of course get a ban but at least he was supposed to be on the pitch Caulfield wasnt and that wont be looked upon in a 'not the worst' way. A manager cant just run on to a pitch to get the ball to get the game get going, its up to the ref to deal with time wasting not JC! Poor example to be setting.
ToberonaTornado
07/04/2018, 12:35 AM
https://www.facebook.com/Neill.Industry/videos/10216483265702719/?t=25
Some vid of the JC incident(not great)
sullanefc
07/04/2018, 12:35 AM
It will still be a sideline ban minimum. It does look that he gave Hery a good nudge when trying to get at the ball and Hery turned around and shoved Caulfield as he was backing up and he fell. Hery will of course get a ban but at least he was supposed to be on the pitch Caulfield wasnt and that wont be looked upon in a 'not the worst' way. A manager cant just run on to a pitch to get the ball to get the game get going, its up to the ref to deal with time wasting not JC! Poor example to be setting.
He should be publicly flogged for his outrageous behaviour. Won't someone think of the children.
CorribsideSteve
07/04/2018, 1:00 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9CLiDqYfLc
There is a red card in that Cleary lad when the refs catch on to him.
Fair play to Rovers dominated Dundalk for long spells. If only ye had a keeper.
Cork moving from 1st to 3rd, in one night, losing, red cards, including the manager sent off, I would be more worried about things closer to home if I was you.
Pressure starting to tell.
bluemovie
07/04/2018, 1:09 AM
What the feck went on at the RDS? Six sendings off?!
The Young Scientist Exhibition?
07/04/2018, 1:14 AM
He should be publicly flogged for his outrageous behaviour. Won't someone think of the children.
Stick to the sideline ban! If Caulfield expects his captain to keep his cool in games rather than having to sub him after 20 minutes he should really be able to keep his own discipline too. Controlled passion rather than impetulance in the heat of a game would be preferred im sure you'd agree.
07/04/2018, 1:31 AM
Another bad night for Shamrock Rovers. Their keeper is Junior/Amateur level at best. Haven't seen such a poor one in the PL for a long time.
Did you not see him when he was playing for you?
Speechless about that tonight. I knew Horgan wasn't very good but he's stepped it up a notch tonight. Overall, thought it was a good games. Was shaping up to be another 0-0 before that.
sullanefc
07/04/2018, 1:48 AM
Stick to the sideline ban! If Caulfield expects his captain to keep his cool in games rather than having to sub him after 20 minutes he should really be able to keep his own discipline too. Controlled passion rather than impetulance in the heat of a game would be preferred im sure you'd agree.
I honestly wish we were better at the sneaky foul play like yourselves. We are too overt when we foul. Too naive. Genuine complement to ye.
07/04/2018, 1:52 AM
I also believe my team is too honest.
sullanefc
07/04/2018, 1:58 AM
Well Cleary kicked Shamrock heads and hacked shins but managed to get away with it tonight. The trend was set within 90 secs of the game tonight when one of your boys was taken out of it with a body check and the ref gave ye nothing.
07/04/2018, 2:03 AM
Well Dundalk got away with a bit tonight but it's not why they won, and we're well capable of giving as good as we get. I just think it's funny that you think Cork somehow lack cynicism. Come back to me when you have three players sent off within a couple of months for booting players up the hole in front of the referee.
CorribsideSteve
07/04/2018, 2:08 AM
He hardly played any games. It was Conor Wynn who was mostly in goals. Keepers at all levels are wide open for criticism when something like the second Dundalk goal occurs. He's only 20, which in terms of GK longevity is very young, so loads of time to get better I suppose. Is Chechinski injured or deemed less capable in goals?
07/04/2018, 2:16 AM
Chencinski was dropped after letting a couple through his legs in Waterford. I get the feeling Bradley isn't hugely convinced by either of them but the chopping and changing isn't really helping either of them. Horgan is young and I think he'll be a good keeper, but he really needs to be getting regular games at a lower level rather than a team challenging for Europe.
Scrufil
07/04/2018, 4:30 AM
Horgan is young and I think he'll be a good keeper, but he really needs to be getting regular games at a lower level rather than a team challenging for Europe.
So he needs to sign for Athlone Town...
First half was poor at RSC but Waterford were very good in 2nd half and deserved the win. McNamee missed a sitter for Cork at 1 1. Great atmosphere there. The brawl at the end was a pity as will overshadow the result and lead to a few suspensions for both sides.
Dalymountrower
07/04/2018, 7:39 AM
Lots of intricate tippy tippy from Bohs last night, very young team.Should really have converted 3/4 good chances.
Good defensive display from Limerick, but they mostly lumped up the pitch to a manic O'Sullivan with the little possession they had, resulting in a couple of chances to steal it.
Think Bray and Sligo are as good/ bad as both Bohs and Lim.
Fair play to away fans , kept singing all through the game.
07/04/2018, 8:15 AM
I doubt you'll have any Dundalk supporters disagreeing. I'd liked to have seen Ross Tracey between the posts.
For sure. It's just strange that two of the top teams in the league have four poor keepers between them. Cork and Waterford have better keepers on the bench - Cherrie and Corbet - than Dundalk or Rovers have starting, it seems.
sullanefc
07/04/2018, 8:24 AM
Well Dundalk got away with a bit tonight but it's not why they won, and we're well capable of giving as good as we get. I just think it's funny that you think Cork somehow lack cynicism. Come back to me when you have three players sent off within a couple of months for booting players up the hole in front of the referee.
The way Cleary, O'Donnell, Shields get away with things shows that your lot are very good at the dark arts.
Ezeikial
07/04/2018, 8:32 AM
For sure. It's just strange that two of the top teams in the league have four poor keepers between them. Cork and Waterford have better keepers on the bench - Cherrie and Corbet - than Dundalk or Rovers have starting, it seems.
Are you trolling or is that a genuine opinion?
Corbet is a better keeper than Rogers? Do you actually watch premier division football?
Bizarre
07/04/2018, 8:50 AM
If not right now, then certainly has the potential to be quite soon.
Rogers is a poor keeper; that's been seen a number of times.
The last time Corbet played in Oriel Park, he was being dubbed Superman on Twitter for his performance. Which was hardly an isolated one as, in particular, Europe showed.
Certainly, I know which one I'd rather have in nets.
You've an awful habit of charging into a debate swinging your mickey and dismissing people as trolls instead of, you know, engaging in a point.
mcgonigle
07/04/2018, 9:18 AM
I just think it's funny that you think Cork somehow lack cynicism. Come back to me when you have three players sent off within a couple of months for booting players up the hole in front of the referee.
Hilarious isn't it. The blinkers they sell in Cork are on a different level, either that or it's an on going deflection. The most cynical side in the league by some distance.
Rovers fans are calling it out because they lost and are understandably looking for excuses but for Rovers fans to be pointing at our discipline is laughable
mcgonigle
07/04/2018, 9:30 AM
The last time Corbet played in Oriel Park, he was being dubbed Superman on Twitter for his performance. Which was hardly an isolated one as, in particular, Europe showed.
You've an awful habit of charging into a debate swinging your mickey and dismissing people as trolls instead of, you know, engaging in a point.
I'm calling you out on this as you're talking nonsense. Rogers made a few mistakes mostly against top European sides but hasn't put a foot wrong since then. He has been excellent last season and so far this season. I wouldn't swap him for any keeper in the Premier let alone the first division.
Corbet may well turn out to be a top keeper but right now he's playing in a rubbish division. If he was that good he wouldn't still be with UCD whether he's studying or not, he would go if the price was right. At one stage every young keeper in the league is touted as the next superstar, rarely happens.
sulywaterfordfc
07/04/2018, 9:33 AM
A photo has appeared of Caulfield attempting to trip Hery before been put on his arse. Caulfield had no right to be on the pitch regardless whether the ball was dead or not, the game was still live. The incident led to a bawl where a further 4 reds followed. People seem to think Caulfield will get off lightly, funnily that’s the cork view. He deserves a big ban, no manager should enter the pitch and tackle a player. No just Caulfield coming into the field but it could be said him running onto the pitch incited all the players. He’s a sore loser and couldn’t deal with it, they bottled the win. Cork fans seem to not see McNutly, he regularly wastes time and taunts Dundalk fans in particular yet and done nothing but winged and moaned about our keeper doing it. Huge night overshadowed by childish behavior unfortunately.
The gap on automatic regelegation is massive, what a start. Beating Rovers and Cork at home back to back, I spent years of Dreaming just to meet them in the later stages of ge FAI cup
07/04/2018, 9:49 AM
I'm calling you out on this as you're talking nonsense. Rogers made a few mistakes mostly against top European sides but hasn't put a foot wrong since then. He has been excellent last season and so far this season. I wouldn't swap him for any keeper in the Premier let alone the first division.
Well that's fair enough - at least you're trying to argue facts, which I can respect. There can obviously be a decent element of opinion, and exposure bias, involved in deciding who's a better keeper.
I would point out that Corbet is playing in the Premier, not the First (which was my original point!) He's with Waterford now.
I don't agree with your point -
If he was that good he wouldn't still be with UCD whether he's studying or not, he would go if the price was right.
Aside from the fact that he's not with UCD any more, players can often stay at UCD longer than they would at other clubs. Corbet stayed just long enough to complete his Master's - just like Benson and McMillan, for example. So I don't think your point above is relevant, as it also argues that Benson/McMillan (and others) aren't top players.
It's a shame in one way that Waterford signed Vigoroux so soon after signing Corbet, as Swindon's first choice keeper from 2015-17 is clearly going to be better than UCD's first choice for the same period. But with Vigoroux going back to Swindon in July (apparently?), I guess Corbet has to take the chance to learn from his experience and try make the spot his own come then.
Crosshead
07/04/2018, 9:54 AM
A photo has appeared of Caulfield attempting to trip Hery before been put on his arse. Caulfield had no right to be on the pitch regardless whether the ball was dead or not, the game was still live. The incident led to a bawl where a further 4 reds followed. People seem to think Caulfield will get off lightly, funnily that’s the cork view. He deserves a big ban, no manager should enter the pitch and tackle a player. No just Caulfield coming into the field but it could be said him running onto the pitch incited all the players. He’s a sore loser and couldn’t deal with it, they bottled the win. Cork fans seem to not see McNutly, he regularly wastes time and taunts Dundalk fans in particular yet and done nothing but winged and moaned about our keeper doing it. Huge night overshadowed by childish behavior unfortunately.
The gap on automatic regelegation is massive, what a start. Beating Rovers and Cork at home back to back, I spent years of Dreaming just to meet them in the later stages of ge FAI cup
Caulfield was wrong to do what he did and has admitted as much, but the idea he incited the whole thing is nonsense. The Waterford bench wouldn't give the ball to Griffen for our throw, and Hery dribbled it onto the pitch. Caulfield will rightly get a sideline ban, but raising your hands to a player is violent conduct, I'm sure there'll be a dim view taken of doing it to a manager.
For all the cheers Waterford fans gave Hery for doing what he did last night, we'll see how they do without him for a good few games.
placid casual
07/04/2018, 9:56 AM
It must be really disheartening for the Rovers players to put all that effort in, and then watch as the calamity in goal( we have 2 of them !!) destroys all they tried to do.
The manager knew in pre season that a keeper was needed. It may now cost us a place in Europe, which would cost him his job. He has to get someone in the summer.
I know Rogers is usually in goal for them,but how have Dundalk kept a clean sheet until now. The lack of proper strikers in this league is striking!
P.s caulfield is a knob end
Ezeikial
07/04/2018, 10:07 AM
Your claim was so utterly bizarre that it was deserving of being questioned - at least you have now tempered your existing madcap claim by moderating to claim that Corbet has the potential to be better.
Gary Rogers has over 500 appearances and apart from having an outstanding clean sheet record in the current season, also had more shut outs than any other keepers in the PD last season. He has been called into the full international squad and has a fine collection of league and cup honours, along with a host of personal awards
Niall Corbet on the other hand has made 2 premier division appearances and has yet to keep a clean sheet, He previously played at a vastly inferior level with UCD and has shown some promise.
Mad Ted
White Horse
07/04/2018, 10:15 AM
Defensively we were all over the place last night. A lot of the credit should go to Carr, whose hold up play was excellent. However, Folan had a mare which eventually affected Cleary beside him. There is no way we could have kept eight consecutive clean sheets with that level of defensive performance.
It was a really good performance by Rovers, very disciplined too.
Its still too easy go get behind their defence on the left. The first goal came from one such move but Dundalk should have capitalised this weakness more.
I don't understand why Bradley didn't go for Cherrie but then again there is a lot about Bradley I don't understand, like why he let Madden go, and why he won't play Aaron Bolger.
Ezeikial
07/04/2018, 10:18 AM
The manager knew in pre season that a keeper was needed. It may now cost us a place in Europe, which would cost him his job. He has to get someone in the summer.
We would gladly fund-raise for the transfer kitty to sign a keeper, if it meant Bradley keeping the job
(Psst.....There's a rookie keeper with potential on the bench at Waterford!)
07/04/2018, 10:20 AM
Oh, Rogers has had a better career than Corbet, there's absolutely no doubt about that. It helps that he's 12/13 years older of course.
But playing games for St Francis 18 years ago, or winning the FAI Cup for Drogheda 13 years ago, or the Setanta Cup for Sligo 4 years ago, don't really impact as an assessment of the two players' abilities today, do they?
mcgonigle
07/04/2018, 10:21 AM
Well that's fair enough - at least you're trying to argue facts, which I can respect. There can obviously be a decent element of opinion, and exposure bias, involved in deciding who's a better keeper.
I would point out that Corbet is playing in the Premier, not the First (which was my original point!) He's with Waterford now.
I don't agree with your point -
Aside from the fact that he's not with UCD any more, players can often stay at UCD longer than they would at other clubs. Corbet stayed just long enough to complete his Master's - just like Benson and McMillan, for example. So I don't think your point above is relevant, as it also argues that Benson/McMillan (and others) aren't top players.
It's a shame in one way that Waterford signed Vigoroux so soon after signing Corbet, as Swindon's first choice keeper from 2015-17 is clearly going to be better than UCD's first choice for the same period. But with Vigoroux going back to Swindon in July (apparently?), I guess Corbet has to take the chance to learn from his experience and try make the spot his own come then.
Fair enough, didn't realise he was now with Waterford but I think the point still stands that if he was that good they wouldn't have brought in Vigoroux.
Put it this way, if we had signed Vigoroux, like Sava he would only be getting in now due to Rogers form and injury.
Obviously I hope Corbet turns out to be brilliant and we sign him as a long term replacement for Rogers
07/04/2018, 10:24 AM
Agree, wouldn't have Rogers in the nets either. Too liable for silly mistakes and his kick outs are rubbish. When the top teams came a calling from Europe he was constantly shown up. Easy to get away with rubbish in our league
Ezeikial
07/04/2018, 10:28 AM
Oh, Rogers has had a better career than Corbet, there's absolutely no doubt about that. It helps that he's 12/13 years older of course.
But playing games for St Francis 18 years ago, or winning the FAI Cup for Drogheda 13 years ago, or the Setanta Cup for Sligo 4 years ago, don't really impact as an assessment of the two players' abilities today, do they?
Corbet has played 2 senior games in the top flight with Waterford this season (no clean sheets) and a handful of European games in 2015 where he conceded 8 goals. Other than that he has played at a very low leval
Come back to this "debate" when he has actually played at least 12 top flight games.
07/04/2018, 10:31 AM
Fair enough, didn't realise he was now with Waterford but I think the point still stands that if he was that good they wouldn't have brought in Vigoroux.
There's probably more to it than that, in that Vigouroux is with Swindon, whose chairman owns/runs Waterford. They've sent lots of players on loan over there (I don't know why exactly, but that's a different thread!)
Waterford evidently have big ambitions, and on that basis, why not have two decent keepers? It's a squad game, plus Corbet can learn a lot from Vigouroux over the coming 2/3 months.
I think if a Conference sub defender can easily make his way into the Dundalk first team, then a League One starting goalkeeper would be a better option than Rogers too. If any club has a decent player and a better one comes along, they should look to sign the better one.
Agree with your last line - and as I say, in the end of the day, it's just a matter of differing opinions, none of which impacts what happens on the pitch in the slightest.