View Full Version : The 2017 LOI Attendance thread.

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

patrickccfc
22/03/2017, 5:56 AM
Tony Cousins' taxi still holds three afaik.

Haha, brilliant

Dalymountrower
22/03/2017, 9:28 AM
Tony Cousins' taxi still holds three afaik.

Doffs cap.

22/03/2017, 8:59 PM
I am extremely worried with our attendance this season. With the fallout with our fans and our poor form since the tail end of 2015 I can see us staying in the first division for at least a decade. I cant see any way around it.Nothing inspires me any more.

dundalkfc10
23/03/2017, 8:37 AM
Due to health & safety regulation it's I think it's 6,900. And this is 100% headed for a sellout.

Wonder if your stewards will start randomly picking people entering the away end and tell them their not getting in cause they are too drunk, to the Gardai getting involved and them all getting in just before or after kick off.

Happened the last 3 times, we took a crowd down and we have near 400 tickets sold as of this morning.

Pablo Escobar
23/03/2017, 9:21 AM
Happened the last 3 times, we took a crowd down and we have near 400 tickets sold as of this morning.

It really is co-incidental that it happens to the same clubs, time and time again. It's the same with our crew, it always seems to be the same guys that get picked on.

I've never had an issue anywhere. Maybe I'm just lucky.

pateen
23/03/2017, 12:56 PM
Wonder if your stewards will start randomly picking people entering the away end and tell them their not getting in cause they are too drunk, to the Gardai getting involved and them all getting in just before or after kick off.

Some fans come for the drinking and acting the clown but the majority come for the football and the day out.
Its the same at every club.

dundalkfc10
23/03/2017, 2:07 PM
Some fans come for the drinking and acting the clown but the majority come for the football and the day out.
Its the same at every club.

IMO the stewards do it to be ********s!

Partizan
25/03/2017, 6:28 PM
Attendance of 1,647 at the RSC tonight for the Waterford v Wexford match.

Dalymountrower
25/03/2017, 6:51 PM
What was the crowd for the cup final in Richmond Pk?

oriel
25/03/2017, 7:27 PM
6,746 at Cork v Dlk, that's very impressive. Will be interesting to see their next home attendance but that's still a brilliant turn out.

patrickccfc
25/03/2017, 7:46 PM
6,746 at Cork v Dlk, that's very impressive. Will be interesting to see their next home attendance but that's still a brilliant turn out.

Next home game is against derry so I'd expect a large enough attendance. Not as much as today I think though.

wonder88
25/03/2017, 8:58 PM
649 is the figure given by the Bray twitter account. Not great for what must have been a lovely evening weather wise up their.

25/03/2017, 9:20 PM
less than 100 at the UCD game tonight id say

26/03/2017, 1:46 PM
Harps vs Sligo a slightly disappointing 1,751.

Only around 200 Sligo fans at best making the short trip up the road.

ger121
26/03/2017, 2:31 PM
Maybe it's just me, but I'm generally happy if the attendance is around or above your club's season average. Granted you'd have higher expectations for the bigger games.

26/03/2017, 2:51 PM
Maybe it's just me, but I'm generally happy if the attendance is around or above your club's season average. Granted you'd have higher expectations for the bigger games.

Circumstantial really. A north-west derby, whether it's any combination of Sligo/Harps/Derry, shouldn't really be going below 2,000 attendances.

There was 1,800 at our first game against Cork in Finn Park, and I thought there was more in attendance last night to be honest.

26/03/2017, 5:25 PM
Harps vs Sligo a slightly disappointing 1,751.

Only around 200 Sligo fans at best making the short trip up the road.

1700 is a good turnout. Bar the one offs like Derry to not be miles off a 2k attendance is grand. Sligo's poor standing currently wouldnt have generated the massive derby interest. If an average can be held in and around 1700 at Harps as ye try to consolidate a permier place with mid-table safety that things are not so bad especially when population trends are factored in.

27/03/2017, 12:37 AM
Circumstantial really. A north-west derby, whether it's any combination of Sligo/Harps/Derry, shouldn't really be going below 2,000 attendances.

There was 1,800 at our first game against Cork in Finn Park, and I thought there was more in attendance last night to be honest.
Might have been a lot of free tickets given out? Clubs aren't supposed to count them in attendance but some do.

27/03/2017, 9:01 AM
Bray v Limerick: 649

27/03/2017, 10:50 PM
Weekend attendances:

Cork City vs Dundalk: 6,746
Finn Harps vs Sligo Rovers: 1,751
Waterford vs Wexford: 1,647
Drogheda v Bohs: 702
Bray v Limerick: 649
Athlone v Shelbourne: 228
UCD v Longford: 200 - from UCD. No official figure available.

St Pats v Shamrock Rovers: (2,000 estimate on Extratime)
Cabinteely v Cobh: (175 extratime estimate)

seand
29/03/2017, 2:33 PM

Hmm, hasn't "randomly" happened to me or anyone I know. Would the "random" unfortunates in question have been randomly drinking heavily by any random chance?

29/03/2017, 4:11 PM
Has anyone seen an official attendance from Richmond Park at the weekend yet?

ToberonaTornado
31/03/2017, 8:31 PM
3015 Dundalk v Drogs.

El-Pietro
31/03/2017, 9:20 PM
2900 odd in Limerick

ger121
31/03/2017, 9:27 PM
2600 at Dalymount. Bout the only good thing about tonight.

ToberonaTornado
31/03/2017, 9:31 PM
2900 odd in Limerick

2989 official.Good atendance

2510 official Shamrock Rovers v Harps

ToberonaTornado
31/03/2017, 9:35 PM
465 official attendance Shelbourne v Wexford.

Dalymountrower
31/03/2017, 11:32 PM
2600 at Dalymount. Bout the only good thing about tonight.
Looked like 3,000 to me.

ger121
01/04/2017, 1:01 AM
Looked like 3,000 to me.

I got that figure off a tweet from the club. Always have my doubts about them i.e. They are a tad under the actual.

RathfarnhamHoop
01/04/2017, 7:52 PM
I got that figure off a tweet from the club. Always have my doubts about them i.e. They are a tad under the actual.

They probably don't count tickets they give away, which technically you aren't supposed to count when giving official numbers

02/04/2017, 9:20 AM
401 Longford V waterford - 50 plus from Waterford

03/04/2017, 10:04 AM
Derry-Bray: Sold out at 1,574.

El-Pietro
03/04/2017, 10:42 AM
Derry-Bray: Sold out at 1,574.
Has there been any unrest around the capacity? Do you have a lot of fans who would travel to Buncrana but can't get tickets?

03/04/2017, 10:49 AM
The NW derby on Good Friday will be tricky. Harps may only get ~80 tickets. Although it's inevitable some will buy home tickets from the Donegal outlets. Would be a great game for the likes of Eir Sport to show as there will be a lot of people wanting to see the game that can't make it.

El-Pietro
03/04/2017, 12:46 PM
The NW derby on Good Friday will be tricky. Harps may only get ~80 tickets. Although it's inevitable some will buy home tickets from the Donegal outlets. Would be a great game for the likes of Eir Sport to show as there will be a lot of people wanting to see the game that can't make it.

I was thinking more about home fans, but its a pity there won't be more Harps fans at this game. You'd love to see 3/4000 at games where possible and its a real pity that we have a situation like this and people are locked out of a game. Crazy in LOI terms but circumstances dictate.

03/04/2017, 12:51 PM
Yeah- Derry could probably easily sell double the capacity themselves before you even take us into it. So it would be great if it were on the box.

EatYerGreens
03/04/2017, 1:04 PM
I was thinking more about home fans, but its a pity there won't be more Harps fans at this game. You'd love to see 3/4000 at games where possible and its a real pity that we have a situation like this and people are locked out of a game. Crazy in LOI terms but circumstances dictate.

Maybe if Ireland's national sports weren't the only ones in the world run by an organisation which actively discriminates against and blocks certain other sports, then you'd have a few thousand more at Derry games held in the town's Celtic Park - not in a small 'stadium' in a small town 30mins away.

03/04/2017, 3:10 PM
Has there been any unrest around the capacity? Do you have a lot of fans who would travel to Buncrana but can't get tickets?

Not really, people know the craic at this stage. If you don't get your ticket in advance, you likely won't get in.
We'd definitely have more at games if the capacity was higher though.

Maybe if Ireland's national sports weren't the only ones in the world run by an organisation which actively discriminates against and blocks certain other sports, then you'd have a few thousand more at Derry games held in the town's Celtic Park - not in a small 'stadium' in a small town 30mins away.

Maybe if we had approached said organisation officially and with a proper business case, instead of casually asking a club in the city to make the case for us, we would have a few thousand more.
Or maybe even if we had asked to use that 3,100 capacity football ground barely 6km from the Brandywell, wouldn't that have been an idea now.

But, alas, no. Buncrana every other week and Sligo for European matches it is.

El-Pietro
03/04/2017, 3:17 PM
I still don't understand why the games aren't being played at Institute!

Philosophizer
03/04/2017, 3:54 PM

Is it possible that Derry would have more fans from the Inishowen peninsula than they would from the Waterside of the city? If so, it might back up the argument that by playing in Buncrana for a season they're re-inforcing ties with that section of their supporter base, and probably capturing new fans from Inishowen too...

oriel
03/04/2017, 4:07 PM

Maybe they didn't want their pitch used all summer, or being on the other side of the divide maybe it was a non runner from the start, or possibly relations are not good between the two. Derry lads will know more. Would it have required IFA approval also?

El-Pietro
03/04/2017, 4:18 PM
Is it possible that Derry would have more fans from the Inishowen peninsula than they would from the Waterside of the city? If so, it might back up the argument that by playing in Buncrana for a season they're re-inforcing ties with that section of their supporter base, and probably capturing new fans from Inishowen too...

Maybe, but I would imagine there is very little room for new fans this season as they will be at capacity for just about every game.

03/04/2017, 6:51 PM
Is it possible that Derry would have more fans from the Inishowen peninsula than they would from the Waterside of the city?

Nah, loads of fans from the Waterside.
Officially, two years ago at least, the reason was that we couldn't get Friday nights (not sure I buy that one). Besides, we originally went for Sundays in Buncrana, so Fridays obviously weren't that important.
Riverside would have been so much handier for the vast majority of our fans. Things like public transport being available at night there would have made it more accessible for people. Additionally, for the numerous Belfast-based fans, who cannot make kick-off in Buncrana, Riverside is even handier than the Brandywell.

03/04/2017, 10:53 PM
Maybe they didn't want their pitch used all summer, or being on the other side of the divide maybe it was a non runner from the start, or possibly relations are not good between the two. Derry lads will know more. Would it have required IFA approval also?

*I must read all pages before replying*

Institute don't own the ground, the YMCA do. It's not a great surface generally. It's built on wet ground beside a river, though that really isn't helped by Stute playing on it through the rain, ice and snow all winter. It noticeably improves over the summer. Stute tend to play nice football at the start of the season, gradually reducing to hoofball when the the surface doesn't allow it.
The 'divide' thing is a non-issue, and the clubs get on really well. Institute are basically the second team of most Derry fans. Loads of player/staff transfers in either direction, and plenty of crossover of fans. I'm an on/off season ticket holder at Stute, for example.
Riverside is IFA approved, so no issue there.

It's been decided that we're playing in Buncrana. No real explanation as to why, but sure that's the way our club works for most things.

Philosophizer
04/04/2017, 9:31 AM
The 'divide' thing is a non-issue, and the clubs get on really well. Institute are basically the second team of most Derry fans. Loads of player/staff transfers in either direction, and plenty of crossover of fans. I'm an on/off season ticket holder at Stute, for example.

Thanks for the info. I had just presumed there was an intense rivalry like what exists between some of the Belfast clubs

EatYerGreens
04/04/2017, 12:29 PM
Maybe if we had approached said organisation officially and with a proper business case, instead of casually asking a club in the city to make the case for us, we would have a few thousand more.
Or maybe even if we had asked to use that 3,100 capacity football ground barely 6km from the Brandywell, wouldn't that have been an idea now.

But, alas, no. Buncrana every other week and Sligo for European matches it is.

I'd agree with you on Institute's ground. I think Derry City were being timid and overly fearful to not sort access to that (if they could've got it, that is).

I don't agree on the GAA though. Only a vote of GAA Annual Congress would have allowed Celtic Park to be used by Derry City FC. Yes - DCFC should have done the approach the proper way. But I'm not sure that would've got the use of Celtic Park past a Congress that is still the domain of a large number of bigoted backwoodsmen.

pateen
04/04/2017, 12:47 PM
Does the FAI have serous restrictions on attendance at the Markets field.
Just watched the clip of the sold out game and there’s standing and green spaces all over the ground.

Could easily fit 5000 there rather than 3000

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1NtoGaIKrU

04/04/2017, 3:31 PM
Doubt it is purely an FAI limit.

fieldofmarkets
04/04/2017, 6:15 PM
Think I remember the fire officer being involved when it opened and deeming capacity to be 3050 once all sections were available. It was even less than that for a while because the grassy banks had no grass and a couple other pieces not tarmacced. You could clearly fit plenty more in.

04/04/2017, 6:43 PM
Seen a corrected figure for Cabinteely vs Cobh of 378. Still missing an official figure from St Pats vs Shamrock Rovers from last weekend if anyone can help.

Weekend figures:

Dundalk v Drogheda: 3,015
Limerick v Cork: 2,989
Bohemians v St Pat's: 2,600
Shamrock Rovers v Harps: 2,510
Derry v Bray: 1,574
Galway v Sligo: 891

Shelbourne v Wexford: 465
Longford v Waterford: 401
Cobh v UCD: 354
Athlone v Cabinteely: 142