View Full Version : The 2017 LOI Attendance thread.
Pages :
[
11]
redarmyfaction
20/08/2017, 6:19 PM
the boycott continues with them and has surged massively. You should have seen some of the Athlone town fans tweets telling club to **** off and Roddy to go!Dont blame Athlone fans reaction it must be awful seeing your club run to the ground.
Surely the boycott ought not extend to away games, where you can support the team and not the regime, is not the real truth that there is no interest in Athlone in their club.
NeverFeltBetter
20/08/2017, 9:50 PM
The way the club has conducted itself recently its a miracle anyone attends their home games.
disgruntled
21/08/2017, 10:46 AM
Not one Athlone fan? Wow.
There were 13 Athlone fans there.
The reason they weren't counted was because they were togged out for the team.
14 if you count Roddy :)
trevy
21/08/2017, 11:04 AM
1068 at Waterford v UCD which I think is our lowest crowd of the season which was surprising.
ForzaForth
21/08/2017, 1:46 PM
206 at Wexford v Cabinteely.
21/08/2017, 5:02 PM
Surely the boycott ought not extend to away games, where you can support the team and not the regime, is not the real truth that there is no interest in Athlone in their club.
I know up to recently that a few of the Athlone town fans that I know did that but things must be deteoriating badly for this to happen.
21/08/2017, 9:04 PM
Haven't got official figure yet but I'd be very surprised if there was 1,000 in Finn Park tonight. Rotten weather all day definitely contributed.
Looked quiet small and you only see three sides from the TV coverage, the main covered stand opposite the camera position and behind the goals. The town end terracing was populated while the river end opposite had only a car parked behind the goals. The Main stand seemed to have no one in the seats, but more standing on the terracing. You could hear fans on the gantry side , but the numbers were not seen on camera, maybe it was the 100+ Cork fans who travelled.
Estimated attendance would be in the mid to high hundreds at a guess!
22/08/2017, 12:22 PM
Looked quiet small and you only see three sides from the TV coverage, the main covered stand opposite the camera position and behind the goals. The town end terracing was populated while the river end opposite had only a car parked behind the goals. The Main stand seemed to have no one in the seats, but more standing on the terracing. You could hear fans on the gantry side , but the numbers were not seen on camera, maybe it was the 100+ Cork fans who travelled.
Estimated attendance would be in the mid to high hundreds at a guess!
There was nobody on the gantry side. It was closed off by the TV crew. Disaster really for Harps, club shop on that side, the only half decent toilets in the ground closed off, and away fans were then dotted around the ground. The river end is also closed to supporters, and has been for ten years.
There was around 50 Cork fans in all, and fair play to them, horrible journey on a crap Monday night.
Didn't get official attendance yet, but it was close to 850 according to one of the directors I spoke to this morning. Naturally, the horrendous weather and game live on TV didn't help that at all.
EatYerGreens
22/08/2017, 10:14 PM
There was nobody on the gantry side. It was closed off by the TV crew. Disaster really for Harps, club shop on that side, the only half decent toilets in the ground closed off, and away fans were then dotted around the ground. The river end is also closed to supporters, and has been for ten years.
There was around 50 Cork fans in all, and fair play to them, horrible journey on a crap Monday night.
Didn't get official attendance yet, but it was close to 850 according to one of the directors I spoke to this morning. Naturally, the horrendous weather and game live on TV didn't help that at all.
Are clubs getting paid/compensated now for games being live on telly ? I can't recall what the latest was on all of this.
22/08/2017, 10:47 PM
Are clubs getting paid/compensated now for games being live on telly ? I can't recall what the latest was on all of this.
Not a cent. Enforced closure of the club shop on the night, and not a cent in compensation.
bluewhitearmy
23/08/2017, 11:29 AM
Not a cent. Enforced closure of the club shop on the night, and not a cent in compensation.
Do they actually have to close it? Why not just tell RTE no? Madness to just bow to something like that unless you absolutely have to.
NeverFeltBetter
23/08/2017, 12:01 PM
I would assume there is an obligation to allow tv coverage? FAI mandated, etc. As crappy as the deal is, I'm not sure denying broadcasts is the right response for the league as a whole.
23/08/2017, 12:06 PM
RTE have the say on it, as they did with kick-off time and a full day use of the ground before the match. Club shop had to be closed despite Harps requests to have the broadcast lorries moved. They parked right in front of the club shop and the main toilet block.
A local journo made an interesting claim afterwards too, that it was just lucky it wasn't a big game for Harps where a bumper attendance was expected or capacity would have been cut massively.
The sooner we get into the new ground, the better.
Official attendance was 829 in the end.
23/08/2017, 6:40 PM
A local journo made an interesting claim afterwards too, that it was just lucky it wasn't a big game for Harps where a bumper attendance was expected or capacity would have been cut massively.
Good point, never thought of that. What if RTÉ demanded to show a north-west derby?
Presumably also, any cup semi-final would be out of the question, given the likely decent away crowd.
23/08/2017, 7:38 PM
Good point, never thought of that. What if RTÉ demanded to show a north-west derby?
Presumably also, any cup semi-final would be out of the question, given the likely decent away crowd.
In the event of a daytime kick off though, presumably Aldi car-park could be used, with permission, for the broadcast vans.
EatYerGreens
23/08/2017, 9:24 PM
You wold think the Premier League Club group, or whatever they're called, would be doing something about the live games.
There is essentially nothing in it for clubs to be shown line, and it probably actually costs them in reduced gates.
There's an argument that having the league on TV is good for it overall, but that would need some research. It also means that every club should ideally want someone else to be the ones being shown live/taking the hit for the league. I don't see crowds flocking to the Welsh Premier League btw, despite S4C regularly showing their games live.
Somebody must be getting paid - directly or indirectly - for live games. TV content does not come free. Are RTE effectively paying the FAI via their international rights deal ? Surely Eir Sports must be paying someone for their live games ?
littlebray
23/08/2017, 9:59 PM
Are RTE effectively paying the FAI via their international rights deal ? Surely Eir Sports must be paying someone for their live games ?
Precisely. FAI put domestic coverage in as a condition of the international rights, a long time ago, and then ignored it for years. There's no specific money for LOI coverage.
sbgawa
24/08/2017, 11:23 AM
You wold think the Premier League Club group, or whatever they're called, would be doing something about the live games.
There is essentially nothing in it for clubs to be shown line, and it probably actually costs them in reduced gates.
There's an argument that having the league on TV is good for it overall, but that would need some research. It also means that every club should ideally want someone else to be the ones being shown live/taking the hit for the league. I don't see crowds flocking to the Welsh Premier League btw, despite S4C regularly showing their games live.
Somebody must be getting paid - directly or indirectly - for live games. TV content does not come free. Are RTE effectively paying the FAI via their international rights deal ? Surely Eir Sports must be paying someone for their live games ?
Rovers generally have more games on TV than most other clubs and have complained in the past about the effect on gates, it does help with Sponsors as they get to see their advertising on TV, but that's a hard one to quantify.
Overall its good for the league and for the profile of whatever clubs are on but even 3 or 4 k per match to the home club would take the sting out of it.
Ezeikial
24/08/2017, 12:51 PM
Rovers generally have more games on TV than most other clubs
I suppose this is a true statement
But then so is "Bray have a better goal difference than most other PD clubs"
24/08/2017, 12:59 PM
Cork City have been on TV more than anyone else this season. Dundalk next, then Shamrock Rovers.
sbgawa
24/08/2017, 10:35 PM
Cork City have been on TV more than anyone else this season. Dundalk next, then Shamrock Rovers.
Interesting that for this season, my main point was that clubs should get something even if it's only 3 or 4k to off set the gate decrease when matches are on telly. Not to mention cases like harps having to close the club shop...its mad ted.
EatYerGreens
24/08/2017, 10:51 PM
Precisely. FAI put domestic coverage in as a condition of the international rights, a long time ago, and then ignored it for years. There's no specific money for LOI coverage.
That would explain RTE not paying to broadcast games, but what about Eir Sport ? They shouldn't be getting content for their schedule for free.
25/08/2017, 9:07 AM
That would explain RTE not paying to broadcast games, but what about Eir Sport ? They shouldn't be getting content for their schedule for free.
Explains nothing as it's a myth. RTÉ has no deal with the FAI re international games, all done through UEFA, FIFA and EBU. FAI sell rights to international friendlies to Sky. RTÉ have a separate deal for the League and Cup. Been banging my head against a wall about this rubbish for years.
EatYerGreens
25/08/2017, 10:05 PM
Explains nothing as it's a myth. RTÉ has no deal with the FAI re international games, all done through UEFA, FIFA and EBU. FAI sell rights to international friendlies to Sky. RTÉ have a separate deal for the League and Cup. Been banging my head against a wall about this rubbish for years.
So if RTE have a specific deal with the FAI for League and Cup coverage, surely there are payments involved ?
Kingswood Rover
25/08/2017, 10:22 PM
Credit where credit is due, was expecting Tolka to be a big kip but in fairness the place while old was very tidy even the jacks was a lot better than the last time. the pitch was in great nick, Shocking crowd 1300 max with the vast majority Rovers.
ToberonaTornado
25/08/2017, 11:21 PM
Credit where credit is due, was expecting Tolka to be a big kip but in fairness the place while old was very tidy even the jacks was a lot better than the last time. the pitch was in great nick, Shocking crowd 1300 max with the vast majority Rovers.
That not a decent crowd for Shelbourne? What was the capacity for tonight's match?
27/08/2017, 2:48 AM
862 at Limerick v Harps
RathfarnhamHoop
28/08/2017, 11:42 PM
That not a decent crowd for Shelbourne? What was the capacity for tonight's match?
Extratime gave a crowd of just over 1700 in their report. Not bad considering the boycott and all
Ezeikial
29/08/2017, 9:50 AM
Extratime gave a crowd of just over 1700 in their report. Not bad considering the boycott and all
KRAM at it again?
sbgawa
29/08/2017, 2:30 PM
Ironic really that Rovers supporters who used to picket outside Tolka were inside last Friday with Shels fans boycotting Tolka.
Thought the crowd was a little disappointing from a Shels perspective (their own supporters attending), you'd imagine given the teams they play every week that all the Shels support would show up for an old school derby like this...
Makes you wonder how many will show up in Dalymount if and when that is built ??
Philosophizer
29/08/2017, 3:20 PM
Makes you wonder how many will show up in Dalymount if and when that is built ??
On the flip-side, what do Bohs supporters suspect will be the attendance when they move to Tolka next season (presuming that does ahead as planned). Will they still be able to average 1900 at home matches, considering Tolka is only 20-30 minutes walking distance from Dalymount.
And does anyone know what the capacity of Tolka is these days. For Bohs vs Rovers, Dalyer does be at, or near, capacity. Would be a shame if the end up having to turn away patrons for the Dublin derby.
sbgawa
29/08/2017, 4:25 PM
that will be critical for Bohs cos they could be there for 3 or 4 seasons at least...if crowds fall off big time they are up the creek
29/08/2017, 5:29 PM
Tolka capacity can't be any more than 4,000 these days at maximum. It wouldn't take much to open up the closed off parts of the ground though, little bit of TLC.
29/08/2017, 8:29 PM
that will be critical for Bohs cos they could be there for 3 or 4 seasons at least...if crowds fall off big time they are up the creek
It's their cup final.
Ezeikial
29/08/2017, 9:12 PM
Thought the crowd was a little disappointing from a Shels perspective (their own supporters attending), you'd imagine given the teams they play every week that all the Shels support would show up for an old school derby like this...
The attendance reflects poorly on Rovers as well as Shels - even if there is no direct bus from Tallaght and a MyPosts spaceship being clamped, 1700 between two Dublin clubs is dire
29/08/2017, 10:41 PM
It was their cup final, not ours.
01/09/2017, 11:15 PM
Limerick v Harps - 1,211
ToberonaTornado
03/09/2017, 7:42 PM
Dundalk v Pats 2388
Northsider
04/09/2017, 10:49 AM
I seriously doubt we will be leaving Dalymount until a timetable is set for a return. There's no point in us playing in Tolka while Dalyer is left to rot while we are in limbo. I'll be stunned if we are not back in Dalyer next season unless something radical is proposed in the meantime.
sbgawa
04/09/2017, 1:55 PM
I hope you are right having been in Tolka for the cup match I wouldn't be rushing to get down there.
Philosophizer
04/09/2017, 2:35 PM
I hope you are right having been in Tolka for the cup match I wouldn't be rushing to get down there.
is it still that bad? i saw someone on here praising it after the Rovers cup match so thought they might have cleaned it up a little
sbgawa
04/09/2017, 8:38 PM
To be fair a few bob spent could bring more of it up to a decent standard and I guess that might be spent as part of the overall plan but you could probably say the same thing about sections of dalymount. The bits they can use are enough for 90 percent of their matches
sbgawa
04/09/2017, 8:42 PM
Given the crowds shels get now and the fact the stadium is to be knocked you can hardly blame them for not spending
04/09/2017, 11:19 PM
is it still that bad? i saw someone on here praising it after the Rovers cup match so thought they might have cleaned it up a little
In the past couple of years they've cleaned it up considerably, first Shels and then after the council took over, and the pitch is good. It's still falling apart though.
ger121
07/09/2017, 2:30 PM
Used to be one of my favourite grounds. Sad to see it falling into disrepair.
Kingswood Rover
07/09/2017, 5:06 PM
Lads Tolka is at least as good at United park and the Oriel of last year was not up this year, i was surprise at how clean it was the bally-bok end is still an eyesore mind
Philosophizer
07/09/2017, 10:37 PM
Lads Tolka is at least as good at United park and the Oriel of last year was not up this year, i was surprise at how clean it was the bally-bok end is still an eyesore mind
That's not saying much. United park is by far the ugliest and most thrown together ground I know.
EatYerGreens
08/09/2017, 11:35 AM
That's not saying much. United park is by far the ugliest and most thrown together ground I know.
I haven't had the pleasure yet.
Is it worse than Finn Park ?
08/09/2017, 12:36 PM
I haven't had the pleasure yet.
Is it worse than Finn Park ?
Everything is worse than Finn Park.