View Full Version : The 2017 LOI Attendance thread.
Pages :
[
12]
EatYerGreens
08/09/2017, 1:12 PM
Everything is worse than Finn Park.
In Syria - yes.
Not so much in Ireland though.
08/09/2017, 2:33 PM
In Syria - yes.
Not so sure about that, if you have seen the recent Copa 90 doc on Syria, looks like their league is up and running again in style:D
08/09/2017, 4:35 PM
In Syria - yes.
You've clearly never been so.
ToberonaTornado
08/09/2017, 10:21 PM
2493 in Oriel Park tonight.Decent enough considering season tix not valid and only about 100 Drogs supporters.
09/09/2017, 10:32 AM
2493 in Oriel Park tonight.Decent enough considering season tix not valid and only about 100 Drogs supporters.
With about 30 of them (the F45 lads) leaving after an hour
FAI Cup Quarter-Final Attendances,
Shams 1500+
Galway 850
Dundalk ?
Longford 900
12/09/2017, 1:48 PM
FAI Cup Quarter-Final Attendances,
Shams 1500+
Galway 850
Dundalk ?
Longford 900
Dundalk attendance is two posts above yours.
Nice 1, miss read it, thought it was related to a league game.
Partizan
16/09/2017, 11:49 AM
871 at Ferrycarrig last night for Wexford v Waterford.
About 800 from Waterford.
Olander
16/09/2017, 12:06 PM
875 at Eamonn Deacy Park last night for Galway United v Derry City.
About 865 from Galway.
Shíte attendance.
16/09/2017, 1:37 PM
875 at Eamonn Deacy Park last night for Galway United v Derry City.
About 865 from Galway.
Shíte attendance.
I reckoned there were 40 odd from Derry, though all quite spread out. Brutal turnout.
And I reckon all of the Galway sports fans are still celebrating or recovering from the All-Ireland event this last few weeks and don't really have any money to spare!
oriel
17/09/2017, 10:08 AM
The official crowd at the EA Sports cup final was 4,132
17/09/2017, 8:39 PM
Harps v Sligo - 1,743
oldyouth
18/09/2017, 7:49 AM
871 at Ferrycarrig last night for Wexford v Waterford.
About 800 from Waterford.
Total nonsense. Approx 500-550 from Waterford. We thank you for the financial boost at the end of the season
Partizan
18/09/2017, 3:48 PM
Total nonsense. Approx 500-550 from Waterford. We thank you for the financial boost at the end of the season
871 was the official attendance given by your club. Those who were at the game said that Waterford fans were the overwhelming majority at the match.
Anyway, we are glad that we provided a much needed boost to your coffers because with us in the Premier next season, you lot will find it difficult to replace us.
oldyouth
18/09/2017, 6:44 PM
871 was the official attendance given by your club. Those who were at the game said that Waterford fans were the overwhelming majority at the match.
Anyway, we are glad that we provided a much needed boost to your coffers because with us in the Premier next season, you lot will find it difficult to replace us.
Have a look at the video of the game your club has put up tonight. The left hand side of the stand doesn't exactly cheer when you score. After the 3rd goal, you can see all the empty seats vacated by Wexford fans. As I say, the stand holds 600
Yep, thanks for the money you all paid in for this game, but for the last few seasons, when you didn't have an arse in your trousers, you brought no more than clubs over twice the distance away
Congrats on your title
SPXcyan
18/09/2017, 7:38 PM
And hopefully the next fixture between our two clubs will be a Premier league one.
20/09/2017, 5:21 PM
Week 26:
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,918 (1,627; 1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 1,013 (957; 769; 718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 4,180 (2,533; 3,263; 3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,505 (1,563; 1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 893 (583 FD; 813; 1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 2,825 (2,738; 3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,207 (1,169; 1,290; 975 FD)
Harps - 1,293 (1,216; 784 FD; 449 FD; 479 FD; 429 FD; 433 FD; 644 FD; 480 FD)
Limerick - 1,583 (1,131 FD; 1,206; 757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Pat's - 1,468 (1,088; 1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 3,062 (2,041; 2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,663 (1,750; 1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 158 (156; 314; 653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 341 (352; 610)
Cobh - 362 (403; 366; 223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Longford - 345 (488 PD; 803 PD; 567; 379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
Shels - 482 (554; 596; 713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 241 (297; 216; 397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 1,451 (314; 460; 470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 340 (585 PD; 553; 331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,875 (1,476; 1,681; 1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 465 (476; 486; 495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,330 (1,117; 1,249; 1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE:
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 309,379 (292,204; 332,805; 297,334)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 48,364 (52,807; 54,474; 55,408)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 357,743 (345,011; 387,279; 352,742)
20/09/2017, 9:30 PM
Hope admins don't mind me posting this here, first half of tonight's Between the Stripes LOI podcast focused on low attendance figures of recent weeks, we spoke to Hendo, Wexford Fc media officer Shane Marron and a Galway United fan on what they think is causing the low figures at a crucial time in the season. You can take a listen here (also available on itunes) - https://audioboom.com/posts/6319513-episode-13
Hendo interview a must listen, talks very emotionally.
Partizan
22/09/2017, 8:11 PM
Official attendance of 2,547 announced at the RSC this evening for Waterford v Longford Town.
Shearer
22/09/2017, 8:31 PM
1,970 at Limerick vs Cork.
Olander
22/09/2017, 9:48 PM
2117 at Terryland Park tonight. Easily 500 of that was from Sligo.
22/09/2017, 9:57 PM
2,543 - Bohs v Pats
163 - UCD v Cobh
ToberonaTornado
22/09/2017, 10:08 PM
Didn't hear a number for Dundalk v Drogs tonight.
Lims v Cork 1,970
oriel
22/09/2017, 10:47 PM
Unusually no official crowd given for Dlk tonight, I'd estimate it at between 2,500 - 2,600
WoodquayBoy
22/09/2017, 11:39 PM
2117 at Terryland Park tonight. Easily 500 of that was from Sligo.
That would be a third of the old stand. They didn't come close to filling the 1/4 they had. Very impressive support from them, but would have higher 300/350. Club should know anyway as there is a separate stile and ticket booth for away fans. Their display before the teams came out was good. Hate the shower of b@&€#%^s but would miss the games against them, so hope we both stay up
ToberonaTornado
23/09/2017, 7:04 AM
Unusually no official crowd given for Dlk tonight, I'd estimate it at between 2,500 - 2,600
2200 i'd go.Decent turnout considering the opposition.
ToberonaTornado
23/09/2017, 7:06 AM
and the lack of away support.Doubt it was 100
I was in the stand for the first half, terrace for the second, looked a decent crowd from both areas, I'd definitely say over 2.2k
White Horse
23/09/2017, 9:38 AM
and the lack of away support.Doubt it was 100
There was 25 on the terrace, but a good few more among the home support in the stand. 100 may not be far off the real figure.
25/09/2017, 7:38 PM
6,983 at Cork v Dundalk
oriel
25/09/2017, 10:26 PM
Very impressive attendance, loads in league 1 in UK would be happy with that.
CuanaD
25/09/2017, 10:33 PM
2,361 the official attendance for Pats v Rovers according to the RTE website,
Dwarfed by the Cork attendance, but still a decent turn out
El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 9:37 AM
Two very good attendances for a Monday night
26/09/2017, 9:44 AM
6,983 at Cork v Dundalk
Must be the biggest LOI attendance in a long time? Or did Rovers get more during their league wins in Tallaght?
El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 10:09 AM
Two more home games for us in the league, and presumably won will be a Trophy Presentation so potential for at least one more bumper crowd.
patrickccfc
26/09/2017, 11:18 AM
Two more home games for us in the league, and presumably won will be a Trophy Presentation so potential for at least one more bumper crowd.
Should we fail to win it up in dalymount then we should expect a big crowd the Monday against derry, and then a potential trophy presentation on the last night against bray should get a full house.
26/09/2017, 1:43 PM
Should we fail to win it up in dalymount then we should expect a big crowd the Monday against derry, and then a potential trophy presentation on the last night against bray should get a full house.
Ah so that's cork plan. Stretch it out and keep filling the cross.
El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 1:59 PM
Ah so that's cork plan. Stretch it out and keep filling the cross.
We bring larger than usual crowds for away games for every chance we have of winning the league so everyone benefits.
redobit
26/09/2017, 2:25 PM
Sligo Rovers crowds last 2 home games of the season in 2012 were 6k for each. How things change.
sidewayspasser
26/09/2017, 4:45 PM
Must be the biggest LOI attendance in a long time? Or did Rovers get more during their league wins in Tallaght?
I'd say it was about the same attendance as the Cork - Dundalk match in 2015, when the Guards decided the ground was full. Official figure back then was 6900 IIRC.
26/09/2017, 5:39 PM
I'd say it was about the same attendance as the Cork - Dundalk match in 2015, when the Guards decided the ground was full. Official figure back then was 6900 IIRC.
This be correct. Official attendance was given that day as 6,900 although I recall people at the time saying there were another 300-400 people in the ground that day.
The last previous 6,000+ attendance in the league before that was Corks final home game of the season against Bohemians in 2014 which drew 6,219 people to Turners Cross.
This be correct. Official attendance was given that day as 6,900 although I recall people at the time saying there were another 300-400 people in the ground that day.
The last previous 6,000+ attendance in the league before that was Corks final home game of the season against Bohemians in 2014 which drew 6,219 people to Turners Cross.
Regulars to Tuners Cross known that the official attendance of 6900+ is not correct. I was in the shed which holds around 1,500 seated, but it is well established that one half of the shed end where fans only stand and there is well over 1,000 + packed in, which really puts the Shed well over the 2,000+ mark, the security is so non-existent. The only time that H & S is considered was during Europeans games where tickets are numbered and the seating capacity is strictly adhered too. There was a few hundred people standing at the side of the St Annes End when all the seats were eventually taken up. The only empty seats were about 50 sectioned off between the Dundalk fans at one end of the Derrynane Road Stand. So you could possibly add another 500+ on to the official attendance.
Closer estimate of 7,500! :cool:
oriel
27/09/2017, 10:33 AM
Clubs will never go over reporting the safety figure that each stadium has for obvious reason, I agree looking on tv that the left corner of the shed was overfull with standing fans, same for the exact opposite corner with the only non seating small part. It def looked over 7k.
I think Dundalk had similar problem for the final game of the season v Cork in 2014, the shed was over packed as fans who had tickets for the temp stand behind the goal couldn't be bothered walking up to it, so that ended up no more than half full, and right next to it Cork fans were jammed in, would have been better giving them that away end only and putting the excess Dlk fans in the regular away side, but there would have been problems on access / exits for both sets of fans. No official crowd was given but 'around 5,000' was reported I think.
Drogs also had similar issues when they won the league in 2007, they couldn't go over 2.2k I think, the last game they won it in, they probably had closer to 3k I think.
27/09/2017, 10:47 AM
Most clubs have had these issues. Both Finn Harps v Limerick play-off games in Markets Field and in Finn Park were way above the stated 'capacity' figures. Finn Parks capacity was set as 4,200 for that but there were supposed well over 5,000 at it. The same in Markets field, I'd say there were close to 5,000 that day too.
nr637
27/09/2017, 12:24 PM
Too be honest, besides the obvious H & S issues which we all agree with, its nice to see the discussion on crowds at our games being under estimated and large attendances at games, lets hope it continues! :)
ToberonaTornado
30/09/2017, 12:05 AM
3563 at Cork v Lims tonight.
how many did Limerick bring?
LK37oldskool
30/09/2017, 7:01 AM
I believe we sold our allocation of 600. Was disappointed in the Cork attendance. Lots of empty seats in the Donie Forde stand.
30/09/2017, 8:06 AM
Think they were 630 or 640 tickets sold in Limerick. There were a few Limerick fans scattered throughout the rest of the ground too.