View Full Version : SSE Airtricity League Transfers 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12

sbgawa
01/07/2017, 6:41 PM
Wexford In:

Aaron Dobbs (Shamrock Rovers - loan)

Dobbs is a huge talent. Will score goals for wexford. Glad to see him getting sone game time.

thomas72
02/07/2017, 1:54 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/LimerickFCie/status/881502820238856192

Limerick sign New Zealand international winger from Blackpool.
He played under Neil mcdonald when he was at Blackpool

shep
02/07/2017, 2:51 PM
Killian Brennan and Garvan to be announced tomorrow for St Pats

sbgawa
02/07/2017, 2:54 PM
Surprise surprise

02/07/2017, 2:57 PM
also in for Wexford is Conor Dunne that used to be with us two years ago(without a first team appearance)
Totally forgot about him. Good talent. I like what Locke is building down there

disgruntled
03/07/2017, 2:18 PM
Kieran Sadlier has arrived at City.

Yossarian
03/07/2017, 2:19 PM
Kieran Sadlier has arrived at City.

How much did Cork pay for him?

03/07/2017, 2:22 PM
Not disclosed. Sligo fans claim 30k plus add ons. No idea if that's right.

PartySaint
03/07/2017, 2:38 PM
Good news for Cork and the other teams fighting relegation

ArFella
03/07/2017, 2:46 PM
Good news for Cork and the other teams fighting relegation

Ahh now, Cork might not win the league but I'd say they're safe from relegation ;)

El-Pietro
03/07/2017, 3:15 PM
I think between himself and Connolly we got the better player, but that is based entirely on how they have played at Turners Cross. Sadlier always stood out against us and Connolly performed poorly. Sounds like Kenny/Dundalk fans are happy with their man and Caulfield/City happy with ours.
I can't remember the last time we signed such a big name/in demand player though. Mooney maybe?

Ezeikial
03/07/2017, 3:33 PM
I doubt either manager would be unhappy immediately after signing targeted players. Personally I am optimistic but cautious , that Connolly will work out, but there are no guarantees with either player

oriel
03/07/2017, 4:08 PM
That's it exactly, I'd say both Dundalk and Cork are both very happy they got the right guy, Dundalk badly needed some quality on the wings and Connolly should add to that and he should also improve with a much better side. Sadlier is also an excellent player and should do very well for Cork.

Good moves for both players.

Pablo Escobar
03/07/2017, 4:26 PM
That's it exactly, I'd say both Dundalk and Cork are both very happy they got the right guy, Dundalk badly needed some quality on the wings and Connolly should add to that and he should also improve with a much better side. Sadlier is also an excellent player and should do very well for Cork.

Good moves for both players.
Ironically, I think both clubs are more in need of a solid centre back.

White Horse
03/07/2017, 4:58 PM
Ironically, I think both clubs are more in need of a solid centre back.

Cork look solid in the centre of their defence. Perhaps, they will need someone next season when Delaney goes back to his club.

I think Hoare will come good for Dundalk and Vemmeland has done well since coming in. Rosenberg will put that to the test.

03/07/2017, 5:25 PM
is sligo the new feeder club for Cork City i wonder? thats a huge blow to Sligo Rovers survival hopes I reckon!

El-Pietro
03/07/2017, 5:26 PM
Cork look solid in the centre of their defence. Perhaps, they will need someone next season when Delaney goes back to his club.

I think Hoare will come good for Dundalk and Vemmeland has done well since coming in. Rosenberg will put that to the test.

We have Ryan Delaney and Alan Bennett and Benno can't play more than a game a week. We played Conor McCormack at centre half in Derry and Estonia. We also have two lads in from UCC and an U19 about to step up but relying on them in Europe will be tough.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/07/2017, 5:33 PM
is sligo the new feeder club for Cork City i wonder? thats a huge blow to Sligo Rovers survival hopes I reckon!

Caulfield must be up on double figures for players he's taken from us at this stage

Big blow alright but got a bit of money to replace him at least

Oldred
03/07/2017, 6:29 PM

May be, but may not be either. We'll have funds now to strengthen the squad with maybe 2 or 3 players plus the last 10k to be paid on Cork winning the league.
20% of any sell on fee as well. Good deal considering he was out of contract at the end of the season.

03/07/2017, 6:33 PM
Caulfield must be up on double figures for players he's taken from us at this stage

Big blow alright but got a bit of money to replace him at least

What odds Gary McCabe replacing him?

buzz442
03/07/2017, 10:52 PM
Not disclosed. Sligo fans claim 30k plus add ons. No idea if that's right.

Cork, Dundalk & Limerick all in for Sadlier. The whole look and feel had to be right for him, despite Dundalk offering more plus 2 x players and better personal terms the player chose Cork City, but then it was never going to be anyone else for him.

40k, plus 10k if CC win the league plus sell on fee clinched it for Cork.

03/07/2017, 11:29 PM
50k for a player who's out of contract in four months?

04/07/2017, 6:04 AM
Buzz must have been down the local hairdressers in Sligo to hear the rumour of those figures.

White Horse
04/07/2017, 8:25 AM

I recall the howls of derision when Dundalk paid 30k for Daryl Horgan a few years ago. How times have changed.

Cork are being pragmatic. The player is available now, they think he is what they need, and they have gone for him. Cork appear to be a well run and financially astute club.

04/07/2017, 8:58 AM
I don't think we'd be paying it if we couldn't afford it, it will be well covered by the other transfers, but that's two big money transfers in the league this window. Not often you see that.

sbgawa
04/07/2017, 9:13 AM
Cork are taking approx. 25k extra in gate receipts over what Rovers and Dundalk are getting .
25 k times say 20 home matches is 500k , sponsorships are bound to be up with success, add in 150k for Maguire and maybe something else for O connor, they can well afford it.
They are looking at a guaranteed two rounds in Europe next year at least.
Between that and Dundalk's euro millions its looking ominous for the rest of the league.
Have to hand it to Cork they are certainly proving that nothing succeeds like success.

disgruntled
04/07/2017, 12:49 PM

Cork, Dundalk & Limerick all in for Sadlier. The whole look and feel had to be right for him, despite Dundalk offering more plus 2 x players and better personal terms the player chose Cork City, but then it was never going to be anyone else for him.

I understand its 30k + 10k.

04/07/2017, 4:05 PM
cork are in their holes taking in 25k per game more than dundalk and shamrock.

If sadlier moved to cork and dundalk were offering better personal terms he's an idiot. As for the Limerick link we've a proud tradition of bidding for players we actually haven't a hope of getting. We're in for Pat Hoban aswell. :good:

sbgawa
04/07/2017, 4:14 PM
according to the LOI attendances thread they are averaging 1500 people per game more than Rovers and Dundalk.
Even at €10 per head that's 15K per match and they are only getting bigger crowds you'd imagine as title coronation approaches.
Guaranteed a full house in two euro games.
It might not be 25k per game but its a Lot

Oldred
04/07/2017, 4:41 PM

That was Corks original offer while Dundalk were in the picture.

ToberonaTornado
04/07/2017, 5:15 PM

Cork are taking approx. 25k extra in gate receipts over what Rovers and Dundalk are getting .
25 k times say 20 home matches is 500k , sponsorships are bound to be up with success, add in 150k for Maguire and maybe something else for O connor, they can well afford it.
They are looking at a guaranteed two rounds in Europe next year at least.
Between that and Dundalk's euro millions its looking ominous for the rest of the league.
Have to hand it to Cork they are certainly proving that nothing succeeds like success.

That was Corks original offer while Dundalk were in the picture.

:rolleyes: Time for the Numberwang video.......again!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjOZtWZ56lc

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/07/2017, 5:15 PM

If sadlier moved to cork and dundalk were offering better personal terms he's an idiot. As for the Limerick link we've a proud tradition of bidding for players we actually haven't a hope of getting. We're in for Pat Hoban aswell. :good:

I do think Sadlier was a bit foolish. If he hung around till the end of his contract he would have gotten himself a nice deal in the UK.

sbgawa
04/07/2017, 6:28 PM
If someone in the UK wanted him 30 or 40 k wouldn't have put them off.

legendz
04/07/2017, 8:06 PM
I do think Sadlier was a bit foolish. If he hung around till the end of his contract he would have gotten himself a nice deal in the UK.The player seems to think he required the move to Cork if he's to get an offer from the Championship.

sulywaterfordfc
04/07/2017, 8:36 PM
Waterford FC

In
Sean Heaney (Shamrock Rovers - Loan for the rest of the season)

Out
David Mulcahy (Mutual agreement - Work commitments)

El-Pietro
04/07/2017, 9:38 PM
Mulcahy better not come back near us!

buzz442
04/07/2017, 11:44 PM

McDonald knows Sadlier very well from his WHU days so I guess that he hoped that might swing it. Otherwise no idea why you would think that Sadlier is an idiot turning down a better offer from Dundalk???

The lad chose CCFC because it felt right all round, gave him european football exposure this season and next and if you are happy off the pitch then that tends to dictate your performances on it.

Not all footballers are about just the money at 22, he is young, at this stage of his career it's all about putting games, goals, assists and experience on his CV, both of which make you a re more marketable commodity in football.

Either way, it's done now, the lad is happy, SRFC have a fighting fund and we move on.............................

Bray Head
05/07/2017, 12:33 PM

Probably the end for Mulcahy in the League of Ireland. Been a good servant in the years he's been around to various clubs.

Philosophizer
05/07/2017, 12:47 PM
Probably the end for Mulcahy in the League of Ireland. Been a good servant in the years he's been around to various clubs.

An outstanding servant I would say. He was still brilliant for Bohs only last season while 37. And stayed playing until 39, fair play to him!!

El-Pietro
05/07/2017, 1:01 PM

My least favourite Cork City player of all time. Couldn't understand why he was brought back last year, and was baffled when he kept playing despite consistently being at fault for goals.

PartySaint
05/07/2017, 3:47 PM

Waterford looking at him apparently

Muller is great, bit of a cult hero at Pats

05/07/2017, 4:48 PM

This confuses me.

El-Pietro
05/07/2017, 4:54 PM

...he just left Waterford...

El-Pietro
05/07/2017, 4:54 PM
An outstanding servant I would say. He was still brilliant for Bohs only last season while 37. And stayed playing until 39, fair play to him!!He
He aged two years in a year?

Bunny Kelly
05/07/2017, 10:14 PM
We all age two years in a year :)

I am 35 now in 2017 & will turn 37 in 2018

06/07/2017, 2:54 AM
McDonald knows Sadlier very well from his WHU days so I guess that he hoped that might swing it. Otherwise no idea why you would think that Sadlier is an idiot turning down a better offer from Dundalk???

The lad chose l eCCFC because it felt right all round, gave him european footbalxposure this season and next and if you are happy off the pitch then that tends to dictate your performances on it.

Not all footballers are about just the money at 22, he is young, at this stage of his career it's all about putting games, goals, assists and experience on his CV, both of which make you a re more marketable commodity in football.

Either way, it's done now, the lad is happy, SRFC have a fighting fund and we move on.............................

It was more Maguire's recommendation that swung it with Maguire and Sadlier being pals at West Ham. Maguire didnt enjoy his spell at Oriel due to lack of game time so it makes sense that he told his friend Sadlier that he was a bench warmer at Dundalk and a complete contrast when at Cork where it was great.
All the stuff on Cork City feeling right, EL football etc well he could turn up to Cork City and not like his time there at all and he must pander to a manager's selection of an in form squad. We shall see in due course how he gets on as he has some boots to fill and with an expectant crowd all around him at Turners Cross also.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/07/2017, 7:57 AM
As an aside whose place is Sadlier going to take? Move Sheppard up top?

sullanefc
06/07/2017, 8:05 AM
As an aside whose place is Sadlier going to take? Move Sheppard up top?
Shep up top is most peoples thinking. It remains to be seen though. JC was actively trying to get a striker in from Leeds. I'd rather he signed a good CB first and trust Shep up top.

desaintsno.12
06/07/2017, 8:13 AM
Dave Mulcahy is one of my favourite Pats players of the last few years. Serious man love for him.

PartySaint
06/07/2017, 8:28 AM
...he just left Waterford...

Ha, I meant to say Drogheda are looking at him