16/01/2017, 6:37 PM
Surprised Sligo have let nuggent go

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/01/2017, 8:41 PM
He was out of contract

16/01/2017, 9:41 PM
He was out of contract

Aye but was he not offered a new one especially towards the end of last season when he stepped up and did really well.

dundalkfc10
17/01/2017, 8:08 AM
Did I say there wernt?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/01/2017, 8:16 AM
Aye but was he not offered a new one especially towards the end of last season when he stepped up and did really well.

Not to the level that he was expecting. Schlingerman was already signed to the end of 2018.

WoodquayBoy
17/01/2017, 11:35 AM
Not to the level that he was expecting. Schlingerman was already signed to the end of 2018.
Six clean sheets in 7 games, and that wasn't good enough!

redobit
17/01/2017, 12:06 PM
Six clean sheets in 7 games, and that wasn't good enough!

Nobody saying he wasn't good enough. He was offered a contract and he didn't accept it.

I seen Nugent pre-season and he wasn't great, so was worried when he came in toward the end of the season. But in fairness to him he had improved with full time training and done well. I'd still prefer Shlingerman, he has proven himself over a longer period and is probably going to be our first choice. Which may have been a reason he left too.

poster
17/01/2017, 12:49 PM
Gufc sign goalkeeper Ciaran Nugent ex Sligo and re sign Conor Winn ,

Nugent will be number one there I assume?

**FrOsTy**
17/01/2017, 9:21 PM
Waterford IN:

Garry Comerford (Cobh)

squad up to 14 now.

17/01/2017, 9:43 PM
In a major shock, Jason Byrne joins Cabo from UCD.

sbgawa
18/01/2017, 9:43 AM
In a major shock, Jason Byrne joins Cabo from UCD.

Are you being sarcastic or is it really a shock ?
Is he still good enough ?

I think there will be a good crowd next Monday btw

18/01/2017, 1:21 PM
Pat Devlin has also gone from UCD to Cabo.

18/01/2017, 4:35 PM
saw it in one of the papers this morning that Cabinteely are payin players for the first time. wonder is Jason Byrne on much money? Byrne surely will have the chance of getting close to Bradleys record. Sure I havent seen Byrne play in a few years but I would respect Pat Devlins judgement in the matter after all he saw him training every day with UCD.

placid casual
18/01/2017, 6:35 PM
I wouldnt trust Pat Devlin to take my rubbish out.

have to laugh at pinnochio byrne - He's so desperate to beat Bradley's record he'll play for anyone, in any division.
he couldnt get his game for the students last year, so methinks his time has come and gone at this stage

I'm open to correction but didnt Bradley get all his goals only in the top division?

19/01/2017, 12:35 AM
I wouldnt trust Pat Devlin to take my rubbish out.

have to laugh at pinnochio byrne - He's so desperate to beat Bradley's record he'll play for anyone, in any division.
he couldnt get his game for the students last year, so methinks his time has come and gone at this stage

I'm open to correction but didnt Bradley get all his goals only in the top division?

Ask Pat Morley.

I believe he spent his last two or three seasons in the First Division once it was introduced in the mid-80's.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/01/2017, 7:55 AM
Ask Pat Morley.

I believe he spent his last two or three seasons in the First Division once it was introduced in the mid-80's.

Ah he's not bitter about it :)

White Horse
19/01/2017, 8:52 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/clifford-ready-to-fall-back-in-love-with-the-game-35379580.html

Good interview with Conor Clifford in the Independent today.

Lads like Clifford and Paul Corry have endured tough times in England. It is great to see them coming back to the LOI and being enthusiastic about it.

WoodquayBoy
19/01/2017, 10:46 AM
He's so desperate to beat Bradley's record he'll play for anyone, in any division.

And what's wrong with wanting to break the record? More power to him if he manages it

Pablo Escobar
19/01/2017, 11:46 AM
Ask Pat Morley.

Pat was playing up until 2002 with Cork City. I couldn't tell you about the divisions of his prior clubs, but he was certainly playing a lot later than the mid 80's......actually he only started in the mid 80's.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/01/2017, 11:54 AM
He's on about Bradley playing his last few season in the First Division

Here's Morley making an absolute fool of himself

https://www.balls.ie/football/rte-pundit-pat-morley-jason-byrne-has-scored-more-loi-goals-than-him-83690

eitoof
19/01/2017, 3:50 PM
He's on about Bradley playing his last few season in the First Division

Here's Morley making an absolute fool of himself

https://www.balls.ie/football/rte-pundit-pat-morley-jason-byrne-has-scored-more-loi-goals-than-him-83690

I hadn't seen that before - what a tosser!

Ezeikial
19/01/2017, 4:03 PM
Pat Morley is different class.

Will leave it at that.

19/01/2017, 4:40 PM
There was a guy knocking about when I was at college who always maintained that he was Pat Morley (and to be clear he meant the Cork City striker, not just a guy of the same name). Despite not being the right age, build etc and just really clearly not being Pat Morley. He got really annoyed when this was pointed out. Fecking fruitloop.

Less of a tube than Pat Morley mind you.

19/01/2017, 5:49 PM
Limerick FC In:

Chiedozie Ogbene (Cork City)

https://twitter.com/limerickfcie/status/822152593916985345

19/01/2017, 6:20 PM
At least one less than happy Corkonian in the replies there

Pablo Escobar
19/01/2017, 6:27 PM
At least one less than happy Corkonian in the replies there

Absolutely. He's a smashing talent. The best to come into the league in a long long time IMO. I'm not sure I want to know what actually happened.

thomas72
19/01/2017, 6:41 PM
How cork let that lad go I'll never know brilliant signing for Limerick

19/01/2017, 6:55 PM
Absolutely. He's a smashing talent. The best to come into the league in a long long time IMO. I'm not sure I want to know what actually happened.

Only saw him a couple of times but he certainly looked to have something about him. Looked a bit raw but you'd expect that at his age.

19/01/2017, 7:52 PM
The fact that Russell plays a very attacking style of football could really stand to him. Just look at Turner. He wasn't everyone's favourite at Limerick but when we got going in the season run in two years ago he was delivering some impressive attacking performances, scoring and setting up a lot of goals. Dean Clarke similarly was setting up a lot of opportunities and was a real thorn in opposition fullback sides.

21/01/2017, 1:33 PM
Limerick In:

Rodrigo Tosi (Persija Jakarta)

thomas72
21/01/2017, 2:20 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TKAhqjoF0gM&t=3s

Limerick new signing apparently he has looked absolutely awesome in training players have been hugely impressed by him.
Two excellent signings by limerick to add to a good team there already told to expect another 3 from overseas.

**FrOsTy**
21/01/2017, 3:07 PM
Waterford IN:

Sander Puri (Nomme Kalju)

Squad so far: Matthew Connor, Robin Dempsey, Patrick McClean, Conor Whittle, Gary Delaney, Dean O’Halloran, Owen Wall, Dave Mulcahy, Shane O’Connor, Anthony McAlavey, Garry Comerford, Sander Puri, Dean Walsh, Paul Murphy, Mark O’Sullivan.

Pablo Escobar
21/01/2017, 4:26 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TKAhqjoF0gM&t=3s

Limerick new signing apparently he has looked absolutely awesome in training players have been hugely impressed by him.
Two excellent signings by limerick to add to a good team there already told to expect another 3 from overseas.
So that's Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Bray and Limerick that are going to win the league this year. This will be a big season for under-delivering expectations :)

thomas72
21/01/2017, 5:05 PM
So that's Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Bray and Limerick that are going to win the league this year. This will be a big season for under-delivering expectations :)

Who said anything about winning a league stay in the thing will be the aim.

greywanderer
21/01/2017, 5:15 PM
Paddy McCourt on the way to Dundalk.

bluewhitearmy
21/01/2017, 5:33 PM

If any of em do win if will be doing well considering any player not with Cork is ambitionless has an awful attitude is just after money or useless. According to Cork fans anyway.

Pablo Escobar
21/01/2017, 8:29 PM
If any of em do win if will be doing well considering any player not with Cork is ambitionless has an awful attitude is just after money or useless. According to Cork fans anyway.
True.

22/01/2017, 12:45 PM
If McCourt signs you can give dundalk the title now. Perhaps the only man that can replace the magic of Horgan

22/01/2017, 2:17 PM
If McCourt signs you can give dundalk the title now. Perhaps the only man that can replace the magic of Horgan

How has he been performing recently though. Didn't someone say he couldn't get into the Glenavon team.

White Horse
22/01/2017, 3:01 PM
How has he been performing recently though. Didn't someone say he couldn't get into the Glenavon team.

He lacked fitness with Glenavon. He's training with Dundalk as they want to assess what level of fitness they can get him to.

22/01/2017, 5:51 PM
Harps in:

Ciaran O'Connor (Dundalk - loan until July)

22/01/2017, 6:45 PM

Sorry I should have said if he's fit and he's up for it then you can hand the the title haha

23/01/2017, 9:45 AM
Limerick in:

Bastien Hery (Accrington Stanley)

ForzaHoop
23/01/2017, 9:52 AM
Ollie is flat out getting a squad together

FINN HARPS have signed Dundalk striker Ciaran O’Connor on a six-month loan deal.

The 20-year-old, better known at Oriel Park as ‘Gazza’, will link up with Ollie Horgan’s tema until July and is expected to feature on Saturday when Harps play Athlone Town in a friendly at Lissywollen.

In July 2015, O’Connor signed an 18-month deal with Dundalk and is highly-rated by Lilywhites boss Stephen Kenny.

O’Connor hit 16 goals for the Dundalk Under-18s in his first season and graduated to the first team squad.

O’Connor has had previous loan spells at Warrenpoint Town and Derry City.

In 2014, he scored five goals at Warrenpoint and he netted three times in ten appearances at Derry in 2015.

O’Connor is likely to see action on Saturday, along with fellow newcomers to Finn Park, Killian Cantwell, Jonny Bonner, Danny Morrissey, Harry Doherty and Caolan McAleer.

thomas72
23/01/2017, 11:02 AM
Another huge signing for Limerick. Liverpool fans may remember this lad from his man of the match performance against them in the third round of the league cup in the 15/16 season.

gspain01
23/01/2017, 11:21 AM
Another huge signing for Limerick. Liverpool fans may remember this lad from his man of the match performance against them in the third round of the league cup in the 15/16 season.

or even his hair.

eelmonster
23/01/2017, 11:45 AM
Limerick in:

Bastein Hery (Plymouth Argyle)

Wasn't he with Accrington Stanley? Musn't have been fond of his milk.

23/01/2017, 11:58 AM
Wasn't he with Accrington Stanley? Musn't have been fond of his milk.

Yup, my mistake.

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2017, 12:56 PM
Limerick in:

Bastien Hery (Accrington Stanley)

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/472303/who-is-bastien-hery-new-limerick-fc-signing-and-ex-psg-player/

Allegedly called Rochdale "a dump".

I wonder what he'll think of Limerick.