View Full Version : Ins/Outs
Town Legend
01/11/2015, 10:59 AM
Outspoken, I just moved your post into a new thread.
So who would the rest of you keep and who do you see going for one reason or another?
Hunt - leaves, shouldn't have been dropped and I'd say travel is killing him.
Skinner - Had an awful season wouldn't keep him, we need an experienced keeper in.
Mulhall - With Pat Sullivan apparently retiring next year can be Jamie's year.
Rhys - Rumours that he's going to move closer to home so he can study on his final year in college. We need to do everything we can to keep him, player of the year.
Rossi - Hasn't spoke to Tony about next year yet but would like to stay and if he can stay fit he's a good asset to the club, a top notch bloke as well. Keep.
Havo - Good lad to have around the squad and club. Keep.
Flynn - When fit our best defender. let's see how it plays out, in an ideal world would like to keep him.
Powell - Had a good end to the season, keep.
Deady - Lovely lad but hasn't settled at all.
Don - People frustrated by his injuries but when Fit one of the most unique threats in the league with his pace and power. Keep.
Shannon - Again a lovely lad but at most a squad player.
Kev - The mans a joy to watch, sign him up for the rest of his days.
Salmo - Club legend in my eyes, shouldn't even be a question of him staying or not.
Rice - Retiring apparently
Gannon - Developing into a really good footballer, keep.
Kaleem - Linked to Derry
Ben Mohamed - Some people saying Wel do well to keep him but I don't think he was consistent enough to earn a big big move so hopefully we can enjoy another year of his skills. Massive year for him next season.
Doherty - Lol
Shaw - When used properly he's a great link up player and a goalscorer as he proved in last few games. Keep
Sully - Rumours that he's off, can't blame him he was treated shoddy this season. Still by far our number 1 striker. Hope he stays.
Kelly - You can see that touch of class in him and he scores goals, Keep him.
I'm sure I missed a few there.
Town Legend
01/11/2015, 11:06 AM
Keep: Hunt, Mulhall, Powell, Rossiter, Gorman, Flynn, O'Connor, Ben Mohammed, Gannon, Rice (if not retiring), O'Sullivan (but I think he might go), Kelly.
Let go: Skinner, Sullivan, Deady, Haverty, Salmon, Doherty, Shannon, Simon (only here because I think he'll join Derry), Cowan (injury prone and joining a Dublin club), Shaw (he seems to just play for a contract!)
01/11/2015, 11:16 AM
Ah you can't get rid of Salmon, he's a natural leader.
Town Legend
01/11/2015, 11:31 AM
His legs are gone, not fit for the pace of Premier football. He got his season in the premier, now we need to move on if we want to improve and not be holding onto players for sentimental reasons. If he stays he's be a bench player and that's not what he'd want.
01/11/2015, 11:50 AM
His legs are gone, not fit for the pace of Premier football. He got his season in the premier, now we need to move on if we want to improve and not be holding onto players for sentimental reasons. If he stays he's be a bench player and that's not what he'd want.
Personally I think there's far too many players in this squad that don't care about the club or the fans and are just here for a pay cheque and while Salmo may not have played as often as expected it's important we keep some passion within the dressing room and he certainly offers that.
Town Legend
01/11/2015, 11:59 AM
I just think hes not the same player he was before he suffered that serious knee injury. Since coming back it just seems that he hasn't the legs to get up and down the pitch playing as a midfielder. But that's just my opinion. I'm sure TC will talk to him and he probably would re-sign but if I were manager I'd be looking for a better option out there.
01/11/2015, 2:43 PM
I just think hes not the same player he was before he suffered that serious knee injury. Since coming back it just seems that he hasn't the legs to get up and down the pitch playing as a midfielder. But that's just my opinion. I'm sure TC will talk to him and he probably would re-sign but if I were manager I'd be looking for a better option out there.
Oh no I can see what your saying but I just think he's good to have around the club
02/11/2015, 11:13 AM
Town linked with Graham Kelly and Alan McNally of Bray, both centre halfs in today's papers. While the rumours of Sully's departure continue online, hopefully all hot air though. Also hearing we could be losing a key young member of the squad.
02/11/2015, 11:17 AM
Also hearing we could be losing a key young member of the squad.
Doherty?
02/11/2015, 11:58 AM
Doherty?
Ah he deserves a new deal cmon now
02/11/2015, 7:30 PM
Town linked with Graham Kelly and Alan McNally of Bray, both centre halfs in today's papers. While the rumours of Sully's departure continue online, hopefully all hot air though. Also hearing we could be losing a key young member of the squad.
saw in todays sun that shamrock rovers want to sign Gary Shaw. Seen piece in todays mirror on Alan McNally earlr. didnt see piece about Graham Kelly what paper was that in?
03/11/2015, 12:19 AM
saw in todays sun that shamrock rovers want to sign Gary Shaw. Seen piece in todays mirror on Alan McNally earlr. didnt see piece about Graham Kelly what paper was that in?
Just heard it somewhere can't remember where though, it appears he's staying with bray now anyway
03/11/2015, 6:52 AM
Had a listen to that interview with Davy and Salmo last night. Wasn't as non committal or negative from Sully as some had been saying. I think he genuinely hadn't spoken to Tony yet so he was going to have to wait and see what was on offer. Didn't sound like he was expecting to be able to go full time either as he said he has to look after his job. Not to say he's definitely staying but he did say the club have been very good to him and he was hoping to stay. Though I suppose he was on Longford local radio. We'll just have to wait and see. I don't doubt he has other offers.
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 7:01 AM
Last night on Soccer Republic Stewie Byrne was saying LTFC was a great club to play for and would have no problem in attracting some of the better players next season. Always good to hear former players saying good things about our club.
Rare for Stuey to even acknowledge in the media he did actually play for us!
03/11/2015, 11:12 AM
Rice has been released. Best of luck to him and thanks for everything but his legs are pretty much gone and we should hopefully be able to replace him with a better player.
Did the job in the first to get us up, but this year was probably a season too far at this level. I will say though, that the games I got to, I never thought he was as bad as made out by others.
03/11/2015, 11:21 AM
Yeah fully agree with you. He wasn't that bad this season at all and always tried hard but doesn't mean we need to keep him another year on presumably decent enough wages.
03/11/2015, 12:11 PM
Mark Salmon gone to, very sad having watched pretty much every one of his games over the past 6 years. Was one of the best signings Tony ever made.
03/11/2015, 12:15 PM
Salmo was a great signing and a great captain. He'll be missed around the place. Tony is swinging the axe today by the looks of things I hope he has some replacements in mind.
03/11/2015, 1:10 PM
That's ****e, would have held on to him, if he was happy with a squad role, but perhaps that wouldn't be the case.
Pace Tony, sign some fast, mobile players, please! You'd imagine we must already have some replacements lined up if we're announcing big names on the way out so soon.
03/11/2015, 2:57 PM
Hunt gone too.
Darklordsbane
03/11/2015, 4:19 PM
Good man TC keep it up
03/11/2015, 4:57 PM
Hunt is the most surprising one so far. Presuming he was let go and didn't make the decision himself. Might have been a falling out with TC.
L.T.F.C.
03/11/2015, 5:20 PM
Christ... A good few players with the chop. Very disappointed with Hunt and Salmon gone. Time will tell what Tony does, but he may do it quick.
03/11/2015, 6:15 PM
Hunt may not have been the most popular at times but his treatment towards the end under cousins was awful. Not surprised at all he's left/been let go I don't know which one it is. If Skinner starts as number 1 next season il cry.
03/11/2015, 6:16 PM
Last 2 seasons we've all been crying about not having an experienced keeper, a pacey centre half, some decent wingers and a solid striker. Be a laugh if we start 2016 with all these problems still not solved
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 6:25 PM
Add Kevin O'Connor to that growing list of departures.
L.T.F.C.
03/11/2015, 6:34 PM
Add Kevin O'Connor to that growing list of departures.
Are you ****ing joking?
hollocaine
03/11/2015, 6:41 PM
Awful treatment of Hunt? He plays poorly at home to Pats and gets dropped. That's hardly awful treatment. Also, isn't Hunt engaged to a Cork girl? Maybe, he's moving on to be based down there.
As for Salmon, maybe he can't commit due to family commitments. He said in the paper recently that his partner is expecting twins.
Rice is the only one of the three claiming to be "disappointed". TC is right to let him go. TC never appeared to give Rice direct instructions during games as Rice probably felt he was above what TC say. Rice helped get us promoted and secure Premier status and we're all grateful, but in my opinion both Rice and Sullivan never paid any heed to the manager and that's not good for any team (regardless of what ye think of TC).
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 6:43 PM
I am .....hopefully. Just wanted to see the reaction ;) I hope it now doesn't come back to bite and that he will be released!! With Hunt been released surely that must point towards a deal been done for Schlingermann?? Skinner cannot be No. 1 after that howler against Sligo.
03/11/2015, 6:46 PM
The ambition is to challenge for Europe next year I'm told so can only assume TC is hopeful of bringing a good few in. Kevin O'Connor should be one of the ones we do everything we can to keep though. Maybe he's had a better offer though. It's far too early at the moment to be crying about the squad but some early signings would be reassuring.
Edit just saw TL was joking (hopefully)
03/11/2015, 6:54 PM
If we sign decent players, such as schlingermann, or however it's spelled, we won't miss the 4 lads all that much. Hunty isn't a top half quality PD keeper, and Skinner obviously isn't, so we need someone there. I like Salmon, I'm sure everyone does, and I'd personally have kept him. Rice and Sullivan won't be big losses, negative ego's never help. As long as what Longfordian says is true and the ambitions are to sign more quality.
I'm not really panicked by what's happening, more so sad to see Salmon and Hunty go after their combined over a decades worth of service. There's still place for a bit of sentiment in football.. :(
03/11/2015, 7:08 PM
People need to calm the **** down. LOI players come and go. There's nothing new here. Realistically, the 3 lads we know have gone today are very replaceable. Salmo's not good enough, Rice's legs are going/gone and Hunt blows hot and cold. Personally I would have liked to have seen Salmo stay as a squad player as he's given so much over the years but if he wasn't going to be happy with that role then best of luck to the fella. Fans must also remember that we're dealing with lads that have lives to live outside of Longford Town. Maybe Salmo/Hunt were offered deals and wanted to stay but their circumstances wouldn't allow. Some of the comments online today about the club/TC etc. have been ridiculously stupid. There's 4 months until the season starts. March will come, we'll have a squad of lads together and we'll go again.
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 7:17 PM
I caused a few gasps in the previous page by suggesting releasing Salmon.....looks like TC and myself are on the same wavelength! Now to release Gary Shaw as he only seems to play when his contract is up for renewal. I could be wrong but I think back in Mathews time Dessie Baker was like that!!
03/11/2015, 7:27 PM
I caused a few gasps in the previous page by suggesting releasing Salmon.....looks like TC and myself are on the same wavelength! Now to release Gary Shaw as he only seems to play when his contract is up for renewal. I could be wrong but I think back in Mathews time Dessie Baker was like that!!
Ah no, Gary works his socks off, but the formation and system we played for the vast majority of the season doesn't suit him. Need to get the ball out wide and hit his head, not hoof to him standing on the HW line all game. He's not PD standard with the ball at his feet, and missed far too many chances in that regard, but I think he'll improve more yet and can be an asset.
03/11/2015, 7:27 PM
I always go on this website before I go onto the other websites. How did the news break about Salmo, Hunty and Ricer? gutted for salmo in particular as he was one of my favourite players and was superb with the supporters. I am not too surprised about the other two tbh.
03/11/2015, 7:33 PM
On their own Twitter accounts
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 7:36 PM
On Twitter Marty. Now Acorn, if you say Shaw works his socks off I wouldn't like to see him not working his socks off!
03/11/2015, 7:44 PM
On Twitter Marty. Now Acorn, if you say Shaw works his socks off I wouldn't like to see him not working his socks off!
Being up top in a 4-5-1 or a pseudo 4-3-3, when your team doesn't retain possession well, means he spends most of the game chasing lost causes and heading the ball about the place. It's tough work for anyone at any level, he's a pretty big man, and not really suited to the physical demands of that sort of play style. That sort of role would probably suit Davy better tbh, because at least he could effectively chase the balls over the top and not fall over once he reached the box like Shaw, but that's a discussion for another day. If we had good wingers and were able to build play up more and whip crosses in, Shaw could be deadly. Taking Limerick for example, their form turned around once they just started getting the ball up the wings and hitting a target man in the box time and time again.
I've admittedly not seen us as much as I'd like this year, but any time I have, Shaw's started, been very isolated and absolutely knackered by the 60 min mark.
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 7:49 PM
Its not just this season that I think Shaw isn't up to it. Apart from a about 10 games last season I just don't think he's as good as a lot of people make him out to be. But if he's still with us next season and bangs in 10-15 goals or gets that move across the water as mentioned in summer window gone by then I'll accept that he's a good player!
03/11/2015, 7:50 PM
Salmo wanted to stay said it in his radio interview the other day and said it the other night. Not overly worried about rice as his legs were going and his wages are probably too big to be a bit part player. Hunt made a mistake and was dropped, Skinner made several and wasn't if this not unfair treatment I don't know what is. If Kev is gone il be gutted simply because he is so good to watch but he's being linked heavily with a return to bray afaik.
hollocaine
03/11/2015, 7:53 PM
Re. Schlingermann, I wouldn't have thought that we'd be in the mix for him. After the season he has had and at his age, he surely is eyeing a move to a full time club. If, for example, Rovers go for him then Craig Hyland will probably come available and he's a more likely target for us.
Daly (Drogs), Dillon (Bohs) and Corcoran (Sligo) are possible other targets. Benson (UCD) would be another good addition but he is probably on a scholarship there.
03/11/2015, 7:57 PM
If limerick went down could we nick Freddy Hall. Good shot stopper and comes for crosses, but will try to Neuer his way in to trouble at least once a game.
Great way to keep everyone entertained..
Re schlingerfella, I don't think any of the Dub clubs or Bray need him to be honest. They all have good enough options, unless Dundalk wanted to replace Rodgers with someone with more potential. He works for the FAI over there so we'd be a handy enough commute.
hollocaine
03/11/2015, 8:00 PM
Salmo wanted to stay said it in his radio interview the other day and said it the other night. Not overly worried about rice as his legs were going and his wages are probably too big to be a bit part player. Hunt made a mistake and was dropped, Skinner made several and wasn't if this not unfair treatment I don't know what is. If Kev is gone il be gutted simply because he is so good to watch but he's being linked heavily with a return to bray afaik.
Skinner also had some good games too, as did Hunt. Their practically identical appearance record for the season shows how even they are as keepers. The travel required for Hunt though is not going to improve him and it's for the best to move him on.
Wasn't O'Connor, along with Darren Quigley, the two main players owed wages by Bray from 2013? He'd hardly be rushing to return to them then if he has any sense. But, if he is "linked heavily" then so be it!!! (Any source to this link?!)
L.T.F.C.
03/11/2015, 8:10 PM
If limerick wen't down could we nick Freddy Hall. Good shot stopper and comes for crosses, but will try to Neuer his way in to trouble at least once a game.
Great way to keep everyone entertained..
Re schlingerfella, I don't think any of the Dub clubs or Bray need him to be honest. They all have good enough options, unless Dundalk wanted to replace Rodgers with someone with more potential. He works for the FAI over there so we'd be a handy enough commute.
Hall in the mix with Cork.
Town Legend
03/11/2015, 8:10 PM
If a contract is offered to KOC I'd safely say he'd sign it. As regards Bray rumours, I'd highly doubt he'd go back there. According to Charlie Darwin the Dub clubs don't need Schlingermann bar maybe Bohs, Bray re-signed Cherrie and Dundalk have Rogers. It could be between ourselves and Derry to snag him if he becomes available.
03/11/2015, 8:15 PM
I'd say the forum wasn't even this active when we got promoted :D
03/11/2015, 8:51 PM
Skinner also had some good games too, as did Hunt. Their practically identical appearance record for the season shows how even they are as keepers. The travel required for Hunt though is not going to improve him and it's for the best to move him on.
Wasn't O'Connor, along with Darren Quigley, the two main players owed wages by Bray from 2013? He'd hardly be rushing to return to them then if he has any sense. But, if he is "linked heavily" then so be it!!! (Any source to this link?!)
Was chatting to someone heavily involved at bray and he said Mick Cooke was keen to get Kev back on board but as you said the money he's apparently owed is an issue.
03/11/2015, 9:02 PM
I'd imagine the fact that like Quigley they can't acknowledge that he's actually owed the money without getting in bother would be a bit of a sticking point all right. I'd be confident enough we could match whatever Bray can offer and at least he knows he'll get paid it with us so it's just whether it's handier for him bearing all that in mind.