View Full Version : Ins/Outs

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

12/11/2015, 9:00 PM
@pajoflynn has signed back. I believe that's going on his shirt next year as part of his deal.

12/11/2015, 9:05 PM
@pajoflynn has signed back. I believe that's going on his shirt next year as part of his deal.

new song made up for next season!

Pajo Flynn King of Twitter!! delighted that hes back the PR we get from his tweets is superb way better than the clubs own attempt at PR!

12/11/2015, 9:05 PM

new song made up for next season!

Pajo Flynn King of Twitter!! delighted that hes back the PR we get from his tweets is superb way better than the clubs own attempt at PR!

15/11/2015, 8:04 PM
Schlingermann has talked with Tony! Drogs still trying to convince him to stay, hope to God we get him.

sparkey
17/11/2015, 10:58 AM
Has there been any word on Gary Shaw resigning? Have the club approached him, or is there still possible interest in him from some of the bigger clubs as was reported mid season?

17/11/2015, 1:51 PM
Getting worried about Ben Mohamed not signing back but at least there's no whispers of him signing for anyone else

17/11/2015, 2:09 PM
He had trials lined up for himself in England I believe. Don't think he's ready for that step up yet though.

17/11/2015, 2:14 PM
Has there been any word on Gary Shaw resigning? Have the club approached him, or is there still possible interest in him from some of the bigger clubs as was reported mid season?

Signed with Shamrock Rovers from what I hear.

Town Legend
17/11/2015, 2:55 PM
I hope you're right Nigel!

Town Legend
18/11/2015, 9:44 PM
Skinner re-signed.

19/11/2015, 2:47 PM
Peter McGlynn from Bray has signed. Defender as far as I know. Was banished from the squad for complaining about Bray's training on Twitter!

Town Legend
19/11/2015, 3:26 PM
Fabio O'Brien is our new strength and conditioning coach.

19/11/2015, 3:48 PM

Ah feck I thought he had signed

19/11/2015, 4:46 PM

is that confirmed? I thought he was happy playing for Glenavon!

Town Legend
19/11/2015, 4:52 PM
https://twitter.com/fabster9/status/667374731981660160

19/11/2015, 4:58 PM
Ah feck I thought he had signed

If he retired and claimed his tax back I don't think he'd be allowed play LOI again.

Town Legend
19/11/2015, 5:05 PM
I think he has 6 months or so left on his playing contract. He's 36 now and I know Tony was on about getting the squad younger.

19/11/2015, 5:17 PM
He's done well since he went up north and would still bang in the goals. Who was our last S and C coach anyway, wonder why the change?

19/11/2015, 5:25 PM
Don't think we had a dedicated one. Graham Lawlor did most of it I think combined with whatever other duties he had. Don't know if he's staying on or not.

19/11/2015, 8:07 PM
If GL is staying on and we've brought in a dedicated fitness coach that's brilliant from the club. Very pro set up.

20/11/2015, 12:32 PM
Ben Mohamed has signed for Bohs. **** sake that's annoying.

20/11/2015, 12:39 PM
Gutted gutted gutted

CityRebel
20/11/2015, 12:39 PM
Ben Mohamed has signed for Bohs. **** sake that's annoying.

Why Ayman, it's disappointing news for Longford.

Town Legend
20/11/2015, 3:54 PM
Although I would of been happy if he signed back I'm not disappointed he didn't. He promised a lot but failed a lot of the times to bring it. He produced in flashes and was too easily muscled off the ball as the season went on. Be interesting to see how he gets on with Bohs but I'm not losing any sleep over him leaving.

Darklordsbane
20/11/2015, 4:55 PM
Couldn't agree with you more TL

20/11/2015, 6:14 PM
While he did fade as the season went on you can't say he was one for getting pushed off the ball easilly, yes hed over play it at times but for the size of him he was well able to get stuck in and win the ball back. Long will be a much better manager for him to develop under

Town Legend
20/11/2015, 7:04 PM
Don't get me wrong, he wasn't afraid to jump into a tackle. But a lot of times when sizing up the defender I'd be thinking 'he's going to take this defender to the cleaners' only for him to take too much out of it before the defender had enough of it and eased him off the ball. He needs to bulk up a bit and if he does then the potential is there. But does he have the attitude and commitment to put that effort in?

20/11/2015, 9:24 PM
very disappointed with the news with Ben Mohamed. he had serious potential but end product was disappointin.. think Bohs have got a bargain!

L.T.F.C.
21/11/2015, 10:35 AM
Although I would of been happy if he signed back I'm not disappointed he didn't. He promised a lot but failed a lot of the times to bring it. He produced in flashes and was too easily muscled off the ball as the season went on. Be interesting to see how he gets on with Bohs but I'm not losing any sleep over him leaving.

Easily muscled off the ball? What games do you watch? He is very young and is really someone we should be looking to hold onto.

21/11/2015, 11:10 AM
He's in school in Trinity, isn't he? So, maybe wanted a move to somewhere handier to play and train for. Bohs is a slight move up, so you'd not blame him if it were the case. If he wanted to go, the club probably wouldn't have gotten in his way, although they easily could have..

I'm very disappointed, I think he's a star in the making with the right guidance.

21/11/2015, 11:19 AM
Not sure there was much the club could do about it. His contract was up and he was only an amateur as far as I know. Not that we'd have been entitled to anything if he was a pro as he'd only been with us one season. In other news Kealon Dillon has signed from Bohs by all accounts.

21/11/2015, 11:22 AM
Not sure there was much the club could do about it. His contract was up and he was only an amateur as far as I know. Not that we'd have been entitled to anything if he was a pro as he'd only been with us one season. In other news Kealon Dillon has signed from Bohs by all accounts.
Ah, I figured he had some form of Semi pro forms, in that case if we offered him a contract slightly better than what he's on we'd have had the right to hold on to him/get comp isn't that how it works? I can't remember. It's not like LOI clubs ever push that on the players with internal moves anyway, because no one can afford fees bar the odd exception like Horgan.

I have absolutely no idea if Dillon is good, but hurray!

21/11/2015, 11:35 AM
That's how it goes but they have to be u23 and with you for more than one season on professional/semi professional forms before you're entitled to anything. It's actually enforced quite a bit if the player is good. Dillon is a good young player or at least has good ability. Lost his way a bit at Bohs after a good start.

Town Legend
21/11/2015, 11:54 AM
Easily muscled off the ball? What games do you watch? He is very young and is really someone we should be looking to hold onto.

I have been at all the home games and majority of away games and I've seen him several times try and take on a defender and when he was kept to the outside and tried to cut in he was muscled off the ball. If you bothered to read a later post I said he needs to bulk up that there is potential there. But for me he promised a lot and delivered little.

21/11/2015, 12:40 PM
John McKeown has signed from Cabinteely according to himself anyway

https://www.the-newshub.com/football/mckeown-excited-by-longford-challenge985

Club have announced it now. TC wasn't kidding when he said he was lowering the age profile of the squad.

http://ltfc.ie/longford-town-sign-ex-cabinteely-captain-john-mckeown/

21/11/2015, 2:26 PM
John McKeown has signed from Cabinteely according to himself anyway

https://www.the-newshub.com/football/mckeown-excited-by-longford-challenge985

Club have announced it now. TC wasn't kidding when he said he was lowering the age profile of the squad.

http://ltfc.ie/longford-town-sign-ex-cabinteely-captain-john-mckeown/
Spose if the squad morale was going out the window a bit, last year, as it sometimes looked. Bringing in a bunch of young players will make it easier for him to be the alpha dawg and control things.
I'd be surprised if this chap will be up to it, but sure I wish him luck.

21/11/2015, 2:47 PM
Dillon is a fantastic signing exactly the sort of player we should be after, young with plenty of potential but bags of ability already. I had it in my head McKeon was a striker didn't realise he's a CM player, the step up from bottom of FD to mid table PD football is huge and that's worries me but he showed an ability to score goals at Cabo and that's something our midfield has lacked without a fit Salmo so hopefully he can add a goal or two. As for McGlynn the reports on him aren't good, can see him and TC butting heads quite a bit.

While lowering the age of the squad is great it's a very risky move especially when you consider TC doesn't have a great reputation for working with young players like a Martin Russell for example. I'm all for bringing in young lads with potential but we need steel too, hopefully Schlingermann will be the first well established signing followed by a few more.

Town Legend
21/11/2015, 3:01 PM
There's breaking news at 5 on Shannonside of another midfielder signing to go along with Dillon. I hope its not the announcement of McKeown joining as that won't be news as he was already announced on twitter. It also wouldn't get the excitement going for next season!

21/11/2015, 3:17 PM
I'd be surprised if it's not McKeown. Tony probably missed that it had already been announced.

21/11/2015, 3:27 PM
Be incredibly surprised if McKeown makes much impact in the Premier. He was part of a really poor Cabinteely side and didn't exactly stand out. A strange signing for Longford.

Town Legend
21/11/2015, 4:08 PM
Go away outta that Nigel, you'll be eating your words when he bangs in 20 goals next season and we win the treble!

IrishRossi
21/11/2015, 4:53 PM
no new announcements made on shannonside only for doubts about shaw signing back

DRDoc
21/11/2015, 5:38 PM
Be incredibly surprised if McKeown makes much impact in the Premier. He was part of a really poor Cabinteely side and didn't exactly stand out. A strange signing for Longford.

McKeown and Ekanem were Cabo's two standout players last season - streets ahead of everyone else

McKeown is certainly good enough to play in the Premier - no doubt about that at all - very well rounded player

Dillon also - started out v well at Bohs, maybe struggled second half of the season to get into starting eleven or squad, but again if he wants it he is definitely good enough for a mid-table Premier side - and in truth that is what Longford are aiming for again

(they are both centre mids - so it will be interesting to see where TC plays them...... :) )

21/11/2015, 7:19 PM
no new announcements made on shannonside only for doubts about shaw signing back

Tony Ghee said he was hoping to get the McKeon announcement made on shannonside before social media leaked it out but that obvuisly didn't happen so it's just the 2 signings today lads

cobhlad
22/11/2015, 3:17 PM
What's Paul Hunt like? Hear he's leaving to move closer to home

22/11/2015, 3:20 PM
Decent keeper, a really good shot stopper on his day. Not top class but certainly would be a good addition for Cobh.

22/11/2015, 3:29 PM
Decent keeper, a really good shot stopper on his day. Not top class but certainly would be a good addition for Cobh.
Agreed. Grand by 1st division standards, never been able to command his box as well as I'd have liked, he's a pretty big man, and in great physical condition, so you'd expect better, and kicking is so so, makes the odd howler, and positioning can be suspect. But sure if he didn't have those weaknesses he wouldn't be where he is..

23/11/2015, 10:50 PM
Lorcan Shannon or Pat Sullivan have signed for Shels not sure which

http://i66.tinypic.com/2nuio1s.png

23/11/2015, 11:45 PM
Top lad but never broke into the team for a consistent spell of time so probably right for him to move on. Very best of luck to him. Another member of the league winning squad gone.

Darklordsbane
24/11/2015, 10:21 AM
Best of luck to him but for me he was another one who didn' t deliver enough end product