View Full Version : Off season rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

harpin
28/01/2015, 11:36 AM
If they're going down that road surely to god Shane Clarke is the best option.Rumour Russell is interested in John Connery.

I like Shane and I thought he'd do a lot better in the First when he was here but if Junior players are the answer we're in big trouble

kingpin4
28/01/2015, 12:58 PM
I like Shane and I thought he'd do a lot better in the First when he was here but if Junior players are the answer we're in big trouble

Hard not to agree. While all the lads mentioned are very good players. It's not like they're just stepping up to the First Division, we're asking guys to go right to the highest level they could be playing in Ireland. May not be a huge step up, but surely Russell released Hanlon and Sheedy because he didn't deem them good enough. He didn't take a chance on Clarke midway through last season, but yet these guys are being deemed good enough now.
You'd have to feel a little bit sorry for Russell because if we start the season with the current squad, he's going to take the flack for it all when there are 400 people watching a game in the Markets Field.
For the money that'd be offered to Clarke, Connery, Hanlon and Sheedy, I'd rather take one Shane Tracy over the 4 of them. Worrying times at the moment.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 5:04 PM
Hard not to agree. While all the lads mentioned are very good players. It's not like they're just stepping up to the First Division, we're asking guys to go right to the highest level they could be playing in Ireland. May not be a huge step up, but surely Russell released Hanlon and Sheedy because he didn't deem them good enough. He didn't take a chance on Clarke midway through last season, but yet these guys are being deemed good enough now.
You'd have to feel a little bit sorry for Russell because if we start the season with the current squad, he's going to take the flack for it all when there are 400 people watching a game in the Markets Field.
For the money that'd be offered to Clarke, Connery, Hanlon and Sheedy, I'd rather take one Shane Tracy over the 4 of them. Worrying times at the moment.

He has been screwed the same way Taylor was. Promised this that and the other in terms of budget and then given nothing like he was promised. Only a matter of time then when things start going wrong during the season for the club lads to start spreading the stories about how its all his fault just like they did with Taylor.

Going for junior players that aren't even the best junior players in the city is just embarrassing no offence to Red Hanlon or Barry Sheedy but if Russell can turn around and say Shane Clarke wasn't good enough last season then those two are a million miles away. They wonder why people get annoyed when it was people from the club spreading things like they had a good chance of getting Ronan Finn and we end up with this garbage so far.

blueblood
28/01/2015, 5:23 PM
Is there any truth in the rumour that POS has no money for players because he has to pump his money into the Markets Field. If true I really feel for him having to deal with the idiots of LEDP.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 5:27 PM
Is there any truth in the rumour that POS has no money for players because he has to pump his money into the Markets Field. If true I really feel for him having to deal with the idiots of LEDP.

If that is true and he is paying for it to be redeveloped he would wan't to be getting the LEDP to give him the keys to it. If he is paying for the work to be done and keeping the original arrangement with them then it isn't the LEDP that are the idiots.

CraftyToePoke
28/01/2015, 5:39 PM
He has been screwed the same way Taylor was. Promised this that and the other in terms of budget and then given nothing like he was promised

I thought Taylor was given a reasonable purse early on ? Or no ? And would there not be contractual clauses re playing budgets at this level for Russel coming in ? I know its something id want security and assurance of anyway, not something that would be done on a handshake at the top level of Irish soccer surely?

Not confronting you here, genuine questions.

delboyderis
28/01/2015, 5:47 PM
Dont know if its true about pat putting his money into the markets field and having nothing to spend on a squad?its a pity if it is true because the club could end up in the first division with the mediocre squad thats there at the minute.it must be frustrating for martin russell and pat if it is the case.

blueblood
28/01/2015, 6:09 PM
If that is true and he is paying for it to be redeveloped he would wan't to be getting the LEDP to give him the keys to it. If he is paying for the work to be done and keeping the original arrangement with them then it isn't the LEDP that are the idiots.

I doubt he's paying the full amount for the redevelopment but if he is he'd better get the keys, still I suppose it's still no excuse the way the club have treated some players from last season, it costs nothing to be nice

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 6:30 PM
I thought Taylor was given a reasonable purse early on ? Or no ? And would there not be contractual clauses re playing budgets at this level for Russel coming in ? I know its something id want security and assurance of anyway, not something that would be done on a handshake at the top level of Irish soccer surely?

Not confronting you here, genuine questions.

Taylor never had a bad budget don't get me wrong but he was promised that the budget would be increased for a push for european football in his second season, instead it was slightly cut. He still had enough of a budget that he should have done better than he did but the club did go back on what they told him. Have way more sympathy for Russell he was told after last season that he would be given the money to push on from last years finish and the way things are going that is clearly not the case. Anyone that thinks Russell is putting a squad like this together by choice is mad.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 6:31 PM
I doubt he's paying the full amount for the redevelopment but if he is he'd better get the keys, still I suppose it's still no excuse the way the club have treated some players from last season, it costs nothing to be nice

If he is paying a single cent towards it he would want to be getting a far better deal than the club were originally from the LEDP.

LK37oldskool
28/01/2015, 6:39 PM
The team that's been put together won't get any better,there's no money. Cutbacks are been made everywhere.

CraftyToePoke
28/01/2015, 7:27 PM
Taylor never had a bad budget don't get me wrong but he was promised that the budget would be increased for a push for european football in his second season, instead it was slightly cut. He still had enough of a budget that he should have done better than he did but the club did go back on what they told him. Have way more sympathy for Russell he was told after last season that he would be given the money to push on from last years finish and the way things are going that is clearly not the case. Anyone that thinks Russell is putting a squad like this together by choice is mad.

Well, maybe Taylor wasn't shaping up as a man to be giving even more money to as like you say, he had enough playing budget for the side to be deemed under performing. Maybe as well the public response to being in Thomond with several marquee signings didn't warrant throwing more money at it, or him.

Re Russell, I still cannot believe that in this day and age a contract was signed at the top level of Irish soccer whereby its unclear how much the playing budget will be and what he will be expected to achieve with it in order to keep his job. And if he has put himself in that position, it's his own lookout. Is this the case ? As you are saying he was told one thing but another is happening.

But, overall, I broadly agree with most on here it's an underwhelming pre season, even taking into account I had expected a more developmental approach to players with his achievements at UCD, to be re signing released players or players previously deemed not good enough is not going to get people flocking, but neither did several UK imports and all the Thomond fanfare. So we wait and see, I am sure the club sees no value in a relegation season.

28/01/2015, 8:17 PM
There's no way under the sun the club would have given Russell a budget clause in a contract.

I'd be interested to know if any clubs do it.

Way too many variables to be promising a fella anything.

As evidenced by the fact we haven't a pot to **** in all of a sudden.

You can be sure of one thing, if there was a budget clause Russell would have walked by now.

Can't see any of Pats money in Markets Field either, we would have heard about it by now.

As for seeing no value in a relegation season, that's fairly obvious but no mon no fun, as they say.

The squad as it is now will do an Athlone.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 9:18 PM
Well, maybe Taylor wasn't shaping up as a man to be giving even more money to as like you say, he had enough playing budget for the side to be deemed under performing. Maybe as well the public response to being in Thomond with several marquee signings didn't warrant throwing more money at it, or him.

Re Russell, I still cannot believe that in this day and age a contract was signed at the top level of Irish soccer whereby its unclear how much the playing budget will be and what he will be expected to achieve with it in order to keep his job. And if he has put himself in that position, it's his own lookout. Is this the case ? As you are saying he was told one thing but another is happening.

But, overall, I broadly agree with most on here it's an underwhelming pre season, even taking into account I had expected a more developmental approach to players with his achievements at UCD, to be re signing released players or players previously deemed not good enough is not going to get people flocking, but neither did several UK imports and all the Thomond fanfare. So we wait and see, I am sure the club sees no value in a relegation season.

I have never ever heard of any manager getting guarantees on what budget he will have from a club and I speak to a few LOI managers. It may happen but I haven't heard of it ever.

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 9:20 PM
The team that's been put together won't get any better,there's no money. Cutbacks are been made everywhere.

You have changed your tune from telling us all we were being negative for no reason and everything was gonna be fine so thats worrying.

29/01/2015, 9:44 AM
If Pat is putting money into the Markets Field then he must be getting some kind of guarantees. At the end of the day Pat is a business man and he wouldn't have made the money he has if he was a mug.

Bambino
29/01/2015, 9:46 AM
Does anyone know the reason why there was a falling out between Shane Tracy and the club? Its disappointing seeing the likes of Darry Kavanagh signing for Carrick United, i know he played for us before but he hasnt done half bad the last few years with Pats and Sligo, he'd also be a decent additiojn seeing whats there at the moment.

Also, with regards the junior players in town the only ones worth moving for would be Clarke and Waters. Clarke is probably the best striker at junior level in the country and was deemed not fit enough to come in over half way through the season from what i heard. I dont think it was a question of his ability. Waters is a raw talent and with Russells record of developing players it might be worthwhile signing him to see if he could be a Jay O'Shea type of player, unbelievable pace and extremely tricky winger!! There wouldnt be other players around town in my opinion. Red hasnt really set the world on fire at Pike either so if he cant stand out with them then how do Limerick expect him to make a difference at senior level.

It goes without saying that we all want the club to do well and hopefully something good comes together with regards the squad in the coming weeks cos would be great to see a decent team back playing in the markets field.....hard to be optomistic at the moment though!!

LK37oldskool
29/01/2015, 12:12 PM
You have changed your tune from telling us all we were being negative for no reason and everything was gonna be fine so thats worrying.

Things are way worse than i thought, i'm not kidding. Dont know how things have been let get to this stage and unfortunatly there are still 6 weeks to kick off. Watch this space.

donnrua
29/01/2015, 2:20 PM
Things are way worse than i thought, i'm not kidding. Dont know how things have been let get to this stage and unfortunatly there are still 6 weeks to kick off. Watch this space.

What's with the watch this space nonsense. This is an off season rumour thread so if you've got anything then you should spill. We all love a good rumour!

da bishop
29/01/2015, 7:50 PM
no comparision between budgets for Taylor and Russell,the chairman has pulled the brakes ,maybe he has done some thinking because up to now it would seem others did it for him..businessman or not he pumped lots of money into many dead horses ,players,staff,venues etc ,good intentions on his part but totally unrealistic especially since promotion.a settled season in the MF and that will be it imo.football wise nothing wrong with a few locals joining the squad once they are the right choices and not ...juniors ...to make up the squad.

bluewhitearmy
29/01/2015, 9:50 PM
Staff from Bruff been let go today apparently things are very bad. I asked the person I talked to would the club be there for the start of the season and was told "wouldn't bank on it" .

Please keep in mind now this is a rumours thread and I am just relaying what I was told in a conversations its not to be taken as fact.

29/01/2015, 9:59 PM
I missed this you guys :D

Whats it been? Three? Four years?

Hope we end up in First Division, Cobh, Cabinteely, way better craic :good:

da bishop
30/01/2015, 9:23 PM
There's no way under the sun the club would have given Russell a budget clause in a contract.

I'd be interested to know if any clubs do it.

Way too many variables to be promising a fella anything.

As evidenced by the fact we haven't a pot to **** in all of a sudden.

You can be sure of one thing, if there was a budget clause Russell would have walked by now.

Can't see any of Pats money in Markets Field either, we would have heard about it by now.

As for seeing no value in a relegation season, that's fairly obvious but no mon no fun, as they say.

The squad as it is now will do an Athlone.

I have missed it too lol.

delboyderis
31/01/2015, 8:36 AM
Time will tell what the new season brings.five weeks to kick off.as is, it looks like the first division beckons in 2016.bringing in poor quality cast offs wont cut it,re-signing ex players that couldnt cut it before and a team of mostly under 19's.shane duggan and co must be scratching their heads?

delboyderis
31/01/2015, 9:28 AM
Just listened to mike aherne on 95fm and he said that some admin staff have been laid off by the club this week.he also said that only 50 or so season tickets sold so far?pat o sullivan is looking for help in running the club.you could see things werent going well with the club when they havent signed many top players.mike aherne thinks that theres a possibility of limerick not starting the league in march.its terrible to see this going on before the season starts and moving back to the markets field.limerick should be on a high.maybe its time for a cork city approach and let the supporters take a stake in the club and help out pat o sullivan?

thomas72
31/01/2015, 9:32 AM
Was listening to it as well it doesn't sound good at all possibility of pulling out of soccer altogether there is no more money from pat o sullivan between rent for markets field players wages the academy don't know how Limerick are suppose to sustain it impossible.

delboyderis
31/01/2015, 9:39 AM
Doesnt look good at the minute.it was always going to be very hard for one man to keep things going.pat o sullivan has put a lot of his money into the club.it would be a pity to see the club go bust before the season starts.could a supporters group like the foras group that saved cork city help in saving the club?

31/01/2015, 9:40 AM
I thought we were kind of led to believe that the academy looked after itself. Almost like a seperate entity?

I can understand the season tickets sales. Absolutely zero was done to entice people to buy them. Every other club has been signing up new players or at the very least re-signing last seasons ones. We have done very very little in that respect meaning no buzz there and nothig to entice you to buy. Did they think the Markets Field would make people want to run out and get them?

I know the Markets Field is just a shell at the moment but surely they could have had an open day for people to come up, go into the stand or across to the popular side and see where they might want to pick up a season ticket for.

If worst case scenario we have to pull out cause of lack of money, what happens the Markets Field? Who will rent it? The GAA have loads of good facilities around. Rugby has some nice little grounds, Thomond Park and now Munster also have a redeveloped Musgrave Park which is far superior to the Markets Field. Where will the LEDP get the income to pay back the loans?

faceoff
31/01/2015, 7:59 PM
I thought we were kind of led to believe that the academy looked after itself. Almost like a seperate entity?

I can understand the season tickets sales. Absolutely zero was done to entice people to buy them. Every other club has been signing up new players or at the very least re-signing last seasons ones. We have done very very little in that respect meaning no buzz there and nothig to entice you to buy. Did they think the Markets Field would make people want to run out and get them?

I know the Markets Field is just a shell at the moment but surely they could have had an open day for people to come up, go into the stand or across to the popular side and see where they might want to pick up a season ticket for.

If worst case scenario we have to pull out cause of lack of money, what happens the Markets Field? Who will rent it? The GAA have loads of good facilities around. Rugby has some nice little grounds, Thomond Park and now Munster also have a redeveloped Musgrave Park which is far superior to the Markets Field. Where will the LEDP get the income to pay back the loans?

Its baffling how junior clubs like Fairview,Pike,Janesboro all own their own facilities which with a few quid would get them a LOI license and yet the senior club in the city hasn't a pot to **** in.Bewildering.Limerick around just as long.They should own their own ground years ago.If junior clubs can do it why the hell couldn't they.

delboyderis
01/02/2015, 9:03 AM
Over the years limerick hasnt had the same people running the club unlike the junior clubs who would have people that grew up with the club and their families and people from the community.how many different names has limerick had since it was founded and how many different chairman etc?too many people with self interest and not the long term of the club.pat o sullivan seems to be one of the only geniune guys who wants it too succeed.i dont think they should have ever left rathbane?the burning of the clubhouse years ago set it back a lot.even with the markets field it wont ever be the clubs.a lot of the junior clubs have a clubhouse which provides a place for members and the community to go.limerick dont have that anymore.

01/02/2015, 4:09 PM
Over the years limerick hasnt had the same people running the club unlike the junior clubs who would have people that grew up with the club and their families and people from the community.how many different names has limerick had since it was founded and how many different chairman etc?too many people with self interest and not the long term of the club.pat o sullivan seems to be one of the only geniune guys who wants it too succeed.i dont think they should have ever left rathbane?the burning of the clubhouse years ago set it back a lot.even with the markets field it wont ever be the clubs.a lot of the junior clubs have a clubhouse which provides a place for members and the community to go.limerick dont have that anymore.
what happened to yer clubhouse there that it got burnt down..

delboyderis
01/02/2015, 4:19 PM
local vandals decided to burn it down because they had a run in with the bar man/manager.

faceoff
01/02/2015, 7:49 PM
local vandals decided to burn it down because they had a run in with the bar man/manager.
Im sure Insurance covered that.You have to have a place to call your own otherwise your throwing money down the swanny renting all the time.Makes no sense whatsoever.

donnrua
01/02/2015, 9:08 PM
Im sure Insurance covered that.You have to have a place to call your own otherwise your throwing money down the swanny renting all the time.Makes no sense whatsoever.
I'm fairly sure it wasn't insured

blueblood
02/02/2015, 4:07 PM
Ian Turner singed back according to Farcebook

delboyderis
02/02/2015, 4:56 PM
He isnt a bad player.will need more than him to stave off first division football in 2016.

LFC Blue
02/02/2015, 5:23 PM
The Turner signing and publicising by the club reads like the club saying "We'll still be around for March 7th but with a team of Ian turners rather than a team of Sami ojis"....alright by me anyway atleast the doomsday scenario now seems to be off the table.

bluewhitearmy
02/02/2015, 7:08 PM
Club statement tonight or tomorrow.

bluewhitearmy
02/02/2015, 7:12 PM
Speaking to a few today and apparently things looking more positive today than they did 2 days I'm told something has happened to help but no idea what yet.

LFC Blue
02/02/2015, 8:15 PM
Speaking to a few today and apparently things looking more positive today than they did 2 days I'm told something has happened to help but no idea what yet.

Sounds good. The Blues are back in business🙏

sulywaterfordfc
02/02/2015, 11:45 PM
I heard from a Portadown fan Ken Oman was training with Portadown but he wants to stay in the LOI and is likely to sign for Limerick.

Anyone ye hear about it?

bluewhitearmy
03/02/2015, 2:15 AM
Sounds good. The Blues are back in business🙏

Hopefully thats what tomorrows statement is confirming.

AlanOB
03/02/2015, 8:56 AM
And here's said statement: http://www.limerickfc.ie/statement-from-chairman-pat-osullivan

Basically saying that there will be a significant reduction in his financial support going forward and that the club will have to live within its means.

Hopefully this will, at the very least, silence the Taylor revisionists, by showing them quite how much he underachieved with the budget at his disposal.

I wouldn't be surprised if Russell got us the same kind of league placing with a fraction of said budget.

delboyderis
03/02/2015, 9:05 AM
Its up to the business community in the region to help out now?the squad wont be great for the new season if no money there though.at least theres a bit of clarity about pat o sullivan and the club.how long will it last when they havent bums on seats at the markets field?i hope it does work but i would be worried with the quality of the team for the new season.

03/02/2015, 9:44 AM
Where to from here is the problem? We need a statement directly from the club and not basically an address from the chairman. The fact Pat has pulled first team funds has been confirmed and that's fair enough. The club now need to let us know what will or has to be done from here and needs to be done ASAP. Further statement surely to follow.

LK37oldskool
03/02/2015, 9:57 AM
Not sure who can respond from the club as there is no one there.all full time staff are gone. Don't know who is actually running things now.

AlanOB
03/02/2015, 10:00 AM
Also, what has to be done is quite clear from the chairman's statement - the club must live within its means going forward.

That's it really. Player wage expenditure will be a percentage of the club's income, primarily made up of its pathetic gate receipts.

Hopefully, the much vaunted (and much mentioned in the statement) youth system will eventually come to the rescue.

03/02/2015, 10:19 AM
Not sure who can respond from the club as there is no one there.all full time staff are gone. Don't know who is actually running things now.

Is Kieran Judge gone?

Also, what has to be done is quite clear from the chairman's statement - the club must live within its means going forward.

That's it really. Player wage expenditure will be a percentage of the club's income, primarily made up of its pathetic gate receipts.

Hopefully, the much vaunted (and much mentioned in the statement) youth system will eventually come to the rescue.

Ya I understand living within the means but where do we go as in who is running the club? Money won't just come from gate receipts, so where and how else will funds come in? Do the fans have to get more involved? For example a trust. Are the club going to look for more investors? How is sponsorship this season going. How much is the rent on the Markets Field? What income is needed week to week to keep the first team going?

There isn't a single club in the league being run off gate receipts.

LK37oldskool
03/02/2015, 10:29 AM
AFAIK he's now only voluntary

03/02/2015, 12:40 PM
I heard from a Portadown fan Ken Oman was training with Portadown but he wants to stay in the LOI and is likely to sign for Limerick.

Anyone ye hear about it?

Heard nothing but we could do with the experience if nothing else.