View Full Version : Off season rumours
Pages :
[
1]
bluewhitearmy
30/10/2014, 1:40 PM
Just somewhere to keep any storys going around in the papers or whatever can have a seperate one when we actually confirm any business.
So far rumoured to be on the way out is absolutely everyone.
Been linked with
Danny North
Jeff Henderson
Paul O Connor
Robbie Benson
Aaron Greene
Ronan Finn ( This one made me laugh more than the rest).
Not sure if any of the ones I have seen us linked with are realistic.
Daydreamer
31/10/2014, 11:44 AM
Didn't he play with ucd under Russell ? Good player would be a decent signing as would o connor and Henderson I think
Daydreamer
31/10/2014, 11:45 AM
Don't think Danny North is the answer .... Saw him earlier In the season and looks v unfit
What about kilduff ? Wasn't he mentioned last season ?
31/10/2014, 3:24 PM
Kilduff is probably off to St.Pats. Finn was with Russell at UCD but I'd imagine if he is leaving rovers there will be a queue of teams looking for him. We would be certainly well down the list for him.
delboyderis
31/10/2014, 4:00 PM
Ronan finn would be a great signing if we could get him.dont know much about the others that have been mentioned.hopefully they will hold onto some of the squad from last season.cant see rory gaffney staying with his recent good form and cant blame him if he did want to move onto bigger things.he has been good for limerick the last 3 years or so.we need a couple of lethal strikers for starters.early days yet but hopefully martin russell can get a good strong squad together for next year.
01/11/2014, 11:37 AM
Is there even the slightest chance that the club will do a bit of business this side of xmas??
Play the poor mouth in pre season, sign a ****e squad, lose half your crowd and throw a big wodge of cash at it in June when no one cares.
The Limerick Model.
01/11/2014, 12:08 PM
Is there even the slightest chance that the club will do a bit of business this side of xmas??
Play the poor mouth in pre season, sign a ****e squad, lose half your crowd and throw a big wodge of cash at it in June when no one cares.
The Limerick Model.
If we don't do a lot of our business before Christmas I'm throwing a few bob on us to be relegated.
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2014, 12:35 PM
Wonder will the whole whether we will be in the Markets Field or not have an effect on business. If we really are meeting Finn which I have now heard we actually are its a waste of time he is never coming here should be spending our time getting someone like Sam Oji to re-sign as soon as possible.
01/11/2014, 3:19 PM
re-signing our better players from last season needs to be the priority first. Keeping the core of the team together will help hit the ground running. A massive over haul will be no good.
Cork fan saying Duggan has said on Facebook that he is going back to Cork. He has a year left with us so would be surprised to see that happen.
Anyone know if Ndo will stay on as a coach? Could be a big help in securing some players with his reputation around the league.
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2014, 3:26 PM
re-signing our better players from last season needs to be the priority first. Keeping the core of the team together will help hit the ground running. A massive over haul will be no good.
Cork fan saying Duggan has said on Facebook that he is going back to Cork. He has a year left with us so would be surprised to see that happen.
Anyone know if Ndo will stay on as a coach? Could be a big help in securing some players with his reputation around the league.
Im fairly sure he isn't even on facebook.
Told Ndo is gone.
01/11/2014, 4:23 PM
Im fairly sure he isn't even on facebook.
Told Ndo is gone.
Probably made up off the top of someone's head
Potty about Ndo. I wouldn't be surprised to see Heary want him kept at Sligo.
blueblood
01/11/2014, 8:39 PM
I really don't get that if Ndo is gone, what was the point signing him in the first place..
blueblood
01/11/2014, 8:44 PM
Re Duggan. I think he's been unhappy at Limerick now for a good while, he was sick of the spoofing, hope he's convinced to stay
01/11/2014, 10:44 PM
The Ndo thing is the type of disaster that Limerick specialise in.
The most respected figure in the league ran out the door while we are gonna spend a fee grand on Anthony Fennellys badges.
Joey Ndo.
Sam Oji.
Lee Lynch.
Patrick Nzuzi.
Shane O'Connor.
There's five absolute no Brainers off the top of my head that should have been done the second the final whistle went in tallaght.
Instead we've the usual ghouling around while other clubs are off signing players that should be on our radar.
No panic though we only need a goalie a centre half (maybe two??) Two fullbacks two centre mids two wingers and a striker.....
On the Duggan thing I get completely where he's coming from he must have been sickened lookin at cork all year but at the same time stuff like that kinda grates with me. It's grand for blueblood or lim till I die to be fed up but he's a professional on a good wodge and I can't remember him having a particularly good game??
Nothin at all against him but it hasn't worked out and at this stage if we could get him off the books would be a good bit of business, having him here is gonna hamper us signing other players.
01/11/2014, 10:45 PM
Course if we do all our business in the next two weeks hooray!
02/11/2014, 1:30 PM
Will Fennelly even be kept on?
Had heard Russell would keep the lads on till the end of the season and then bring in his own people next season.
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2014, 1:41 PM
Will Fennelly even be kept on?
Had heard Russell would keep the lads on till the end of the season and then bring in his own people next season.
Might not have a choice considering Taylor never wanted Fennelly in the first place.
02/11/2014, 2:43 PM
Might not have a choice considering Taylor never wanted Fennelly in the first place.
If I was in a position like that I'd say its either me or him. Don't see why anyone other than the manager should decide the assistant.
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2014, 5:07 PM
If I was in a position like that I'd say its either me or him. Don't see why anyone other than the manager should decide the assistant.
First day Taylor met him was opening day of the season.
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2014, 5:09 PM
Lee J off to discuss a move with a Scottish team not a trial they have offered him a deal he has an offer from Cork too, Shane O Connor supposedly as good as done to Cork Folan to Pats and Nzuzi has turned down the first offer made to him which was described as insuting. Lee J and Nzuzi things I'm 100% sure of.
02/11/2014, 5:36 PM
I'd imagine Scotland is very tempting but If it's a low league club it might not be that appealing as he has a girlfriend here also as far as I know.
If players get offered poorer money that's fine if you know you can get a decent solid player for that money because as we know, good money has been wasted on average players in the past. But there is no point offering the likes of Nzuzi a low wage and then going out and giving a poorer player close to what you would have ended up giving Nzuzi.
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2014, 6:29 PM
I'd imagine Scotland is very tempting but If it's a low league club it might not be that appealing as he has a girlfriend here also as far as I know.
If players get offered poorer money that's fine if you know you can get a decent solid player for that money because as we know, good money has been wasted on average players in the past. But there is no point offering the likes of Nzuzi a low wage and then going out and giving a poorer player close to what you would have ended up giving Nzuzi.
Its an SPL team. And tbh he would not even be over in Scotland had Limerick done things right with him.
06/11/2014, 11:43 AM
Still not a peep about any of last seasons team being re-signed. Cork, Dundalk, Pats, Longford all tieing up last seasons players already. Sligo and Cork adding.
Squad as it stands just Shane Duggan?
delboyderis
06/11/2014, 3:36 PM
Rumours on the mirror that they are looking at ucd's connor o donnell?its not a good sign of things to come.very little coming from the club at the minute.early days but worrying for the new season already.
06/11/2014, 4:26 PM
Signing one of the most promising young keepers in the league is a worrying sign?
Fair enough.
Your other ex-UCD keeper seems to have worked out quite well.
bluewhitearmy
06/11/2014, 4:49 PM
O'Donnell would be a very good signing, I think id rather he spend a year working with Barry Ryan but wouldn't be too upset about him coming in if Barry does retire. Made a few howlers but I think all young keepers do he has massive potential. Heard we met Benson again and it went well too it would be a massive shock if we could pull that off.
A few have signed back from last season too from what I hear just no announcement yet.
06/11/2014, 5:20 PM
Nice if we could get an announcement just see the ball is rolling and show other players we are making moves.
delboyderis
07/11/2014, 1:05 PM
Its more than a goalkeeper that we need to be honest.thats why i said it was worrying,dont know much about the guy to judge him as a player.
LK37oldskool
07/11/2014, 3:42 PM
Just to let you know that a lot of last seasons squad have been offered contracts. The club are waiting on responses. Not much they can do bout that. these can be delicate enough dealings and we shouldn't assume that club aren't working hard behind the scenes to get things sorted. Announcements will be made when deals are complete. Lets give them the benifit of the doubt.
bluewhitearmy
07/11/2014, 4:29 PM
Just to let you know that a lot of last seasons squad have been offered contracts. The club are waiting on responses. Not much they can do bout that. these can be delicate enough dealings and we shouldn't assume that club aren't working hard behind the scenes to get things sorted. Announcements will be made when deals are complete. Lets give them the benifit of the doubt.
I can see why some people wouldn't be too willing to do this tbh but knowing a few of the players and talking to em yesterday and today it seems the club actually are making a real effort. Was told by one of the lads today we may have even gotten one back that was on the brink of leaving.
Looks like Gaffney to Rovers is almost done though which is a pity.
LK37oldskool
07/11/2014, 7:47 PM
Lee J to Hamilton seems to be a done deal. Best of luck to him.
08/11/2014, 12:05 AM
Happyish with the business that's going on at the moment. Slow off the mark but shur what else is new.
Keeping Shane O Connor would be a pleasant surprise.
Still quality reinforcements needed all over the field.
08/11/2014, 12:12 AM
Forgot to say if our keepers next year are UCD lad and Ali it will cost us points.
08/11/2014, 11:28 AM
Ya would like to hold onto Shane O Connor. Thought Ali did well at the tail end of the season but we need someone with a bit of experience also. Barry may stay on yet but I'd say it's doubtful.
Mike Aherne said this morning that the club have been up in Dublin talking to players but are keeping their cards close to their chests.
He also confirmed Ali and Prince have re-signed.
blueblood
08/11/2014, 12:24 PM
Jofspring said:
08/11/2014 1:28 PM
What's the story with their work permits, how long were they issued for? It's good news if there's no problems and they can just play away, Prince is a fine player but I haven't seen much of Ali but he seems handy enough.
bluewhitearmy
08/11/2014, 12:59 PM
Ya would like to hold onto Shane O Connor. Thought Ali did well at the tail end of the season but we need someone with a bit of experience also. Barry may stay on yet but I'd say it's doubtful.
Mike Aherne said this morning that the club have been up in Dublin talking to players but are keeping their cards close to their chests.
2 good re-signings there especially Prince.
08/11/2014, 1:01 PM
What's the story with their work permits, how long were they issued for? It's good news if there's no problems and they can just play away, Prince is a fine player but I haven't seen much of Ali but he seems handy enough.
He said they are gone home for the off season and will have to await work permits. That's why they were the first to have signed.
09/11/2014, 3:10 PM
Folan to Pats
Fingers crossed!
12/11/2014, 9:26 PM
Barry Ryan has confirmed that he is gone from the club on Twitter. Sad to see him go. Will be interesting to see who we look to now. O'Donnell from UCD mentioned above.
delboyderis
13/11/2014, 2:20 PM
Barry will be a big loss for us.he saved our skins on many a night over the past few seasons.will be interesting to see who replaces him.still very quiet on the transfer front.all the big guys are making signings but we seem to be keeping things very quiet at the minute.a lot of rumours going around but nothing concrete.they wont get 2500 at the markets field if they dont make a few big name signings in the off season i'm afraid.
what players are rumoured?
donnrua
13/11/2014, 4:26 PM
Barry will be a big loss for us.he saved our skins on many a night over the past few seasons.will be interesting to see who replaces him.still very quiet on the transfer front.all the big guys are making signings but we seem to be keeping things very quiet at the minute.a lot of rumours going around but nothing concrete.they wont get 2500 at the markets field if they dont make a few big name signings in the off season i'm afraid.
Will the Markets Field even be able to accommodate 2500, I thought the capacity was 2215?
13/11/2014, 9:14 PM
Will the Markets Field even be able to accommodate 2500, I thought the capacity was 2215?
Thats the figure as per the tender on e tender.
The latest leakage from the board suggests 3020.
What that 3020 consists of is a mystery.
delboyderis
14/11/2014, 8:06 AM
ronan finn is one that has been circulated but how true is that?they team does need a boost in quality all over to push on from last season and maybe grab a european spot?.pat o sullivan mentioned he needed 2500 to break even in the markets field at the end of last season.
14/11/2014, 8:15 AM
We need to bring in quality and do well next season to get the ball rolling in the markets field. Pats money isn't there to do so so hard to see how that will happen with out other business people investing in the team.
The club are supposed to have talked to Ronan Finn alright but I'd imagine a few clubs will want him. Other players being talked to also but as of now that's all it is, talks.
bluewhitearmy
15/11/2014, 12:41 PM
Abdel Boumaira a winger from Right to Dream is in.
delboyderis
16/11/2014, 9:05 AM
Best of luck to abdel but if thats the best we can up with so far?have lost two good players in barry ryan and lee lynch.the team needs major quality signings for next season and so far nothing is announced.the club website has nothing but underage news?i dont see why the club ever got involved in having so many underage teams.we are one of the only loi clubs to do it.even the under 19's havent been much of a success in providing the senior team with quality players.cork city have been very busy in the off season and we as usual will leave it to the last minute to assemble a good squad.no reason why we couldnt have a squad assembled by this side of christmas.very dissappointing so far.
16/11/2014, 10:50 AM
Well in fairness the club haven't actually issued a statement about signing Abdel, they just mention it because he sent over a picture of himself with friends in Benin with jerseys the club sent over. It's not like they have gone out of their way to try tell us they are making signings.
They seem to be talking to players behind the scenes and haven't made any official statements on signings despite having a few. In the past the club have usually announced a bulk of players in one go so I take it they will do that again. It's still only the second week in November so plenty of time to have a lot of players signed up before Christmas. The fact none of our players have been popping up as signed by other league Ireland clubs is to me a sign we are either still talking to them or they are at least still available. Plenty of good players still not signed back up with their previous clubs elsewhere either.
It would be nice to have some kind of a statement soon though.
bluewhitearmy
16/11/2014, 2:11 PM
Best of luck to abdel but if thats the best we can up with so far?have lost two good players in barry ryan and lee lynch.the team needs major quality signings for next season and so far nothing is announced.the club website has nothing but underage news?i dont see why the club ever got involved in having so many underage teams.we are one of the only loi clubs to do it.even the under 19's havent been much of a success in providing the senior team with quality players.cork city have been very busy in the off season and we as usual will leave it to the last minute to assemble a good squad.no reason why we couldnt have a squad assembled by this side of christmas.very dissappointing so far.
Do you know anything at all about him though? Have you seen him play or spoken to anyone that has seen him play? I seem to recall you complained that we were linked with Conor O'Donnell too and then admitted you knew nothing about him :confused:. I don't see why you would seem to dismiss someone without knowing anything about him from people from Right to Dream, the lads that went to watch him from the club and a number of lads I have spoken to that he trained with last season with us Abdel is a very exciting signing.
I agree with you we need quality signings and I agree with ya about the 19s but the rest I don't understand. Its hardly a bad thing that we have underage teams. And we have 7-8 players signed already from talking to players they just aren't announced. The fact they aren't announced is a bit annoying but they are happening.
delboyderis
16/11/2014, 3:30 PM
I never dismissed either conor o donnell or abdel i just stated that i didnt know much about them to judge them either way.if you had read my posts properly you would have seen that.anyway they are hardly the players that are going to push for a european spot next season?its not a bad thing having all the underage teams but i dont see that its of a major benefit having baby blues etc?they wont be ready for 10 years or more.the club is trying to do too much too soon.it must be costing a lot of money to keep all those kids teams going?walk before you can run.no loi club have the amount of kids teams that we have.from the limerickfc site it says that it costs 250 euro a year fo
r a kid under 16.thats a lot of money for most people these days.i dont think that a lot of the local junior clubs like having limerickfc with so many underage teams as they take from their pick.could be wrong?