View Full Version : Off season rumours

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

blueblood
16/11/2014, 3:57 PM
I always thought of all the underage teams as separate, a bit like all the community work etc. Limerick FC isn't just about putting money into the first team either, also I don't really think it's realistic we'll qualify for Europe but stranger things have happened. I'd settle for top half finish again but not so many points behind the top four tho it would be nice to finish higher I don't think the money is there.

bluewhitearmy
16/11/2014, 4:04 PM
I never dismissed either conor o donnell or abdel i just stated that i didnt know much about them to judge them either way.if you had read my posts properly you would have seen that.anyway they are hardly the players that are going to push for a european spot next season?its not a bad thing having all the underage teams but i dont see that its of a major benefit having baby blues etc?they wont be ready for 10 years or more.the club is trying to do too much too soon.it must be costing a lot of money to keep all those kids teams going?walk before you can run.no loi club have the amount of kids teams that we have.from the limerickfc site it says that it costs 250 euro a year fo
r a kid under 16.thats a lot of money for most people these days.i dont think that a lot of the local junior clubs like having limerickfc with so many underage teams as they take from their pick.could be wrong?

On Conor O'Donnell you said "its not a good sign of things to come" On Abdel you said "but if thats the best we can up with so far" and now you have said the bit in bold in your post that is quite clearly making out that these are not good players when you have absolutely no clue about them whatsoever do you? You never stated you didn't know much about them to judge and you quite clearly judged them its there in your own posts you judging them. How can you say that they are hardly the players to push for Europe when you have no idea about either of them.

The underage teams cost the club absolutely nothing that side of the club make their own money to run. And about the junior clubs so what if they aren't happy? They are out for what is best for them and them only and we need to do that is best for us. A load of LOI clubs have the same underage teams we have Shamrock Rovers have had it for years for example. 250 might be a lot of money but nobody is forced to pay it if you want to join you know its that much then its your choice.

delboyderis
16/11/2014, 10:03 PM
If you cared to read a post from nov 7th i did mention that i didnt know much about connor o donnell to judge him as a player.you are very selective in what you want to read.i still think the club should be aiming higher than these two lads and that no disrespect to them.the club shouldnt accept mediocrity,aim high,
to make things work in limerick the club does need to work with junior clubs and likewise the junior clubs with the club.why dont all the parents/families and kids of these underage teams go to all the home games if they are that benefical?i wouldnt compare limerickfc with shamrock rovers as they are a much bigger club in a bigger city with more support.it was a mistake by foot.ie that put letters in bold.walk before you can run.i just think the club would be better off with a lot less underage teams and let the city junior clubs have the schoolbys and let the club concentrate on having a good senior squad,19's and maybe under 16's.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

16/11/2014, 10:17 PM
You can't say the club should be aiming higher than the two lads and then say you have never seen them play or know nothing about them. For all we Abdel is a better winger than anyone in the league and O'Donnell is one of the best prospects around.

I see no harm in the underage, especially if they are paying their own way. For years people in Limerick have said Limerick FC should develop their own players and that they are a nothing club with no structures in place. They are now trying that and still get stick from people.

bluewhitearmy
16/11/2014, 11:21 PM
If you cared to read a post from nov 7th i did mention that i didnt know much about connor o donnell to judge him as a player.you are very selective in what you want to read.i still think the club should be aiming higher than these two lads and that no disrespect to them.the club shouldnt accept mediocrity,aim high,
to make things work in limerick the club does need to work with junior clubs and likewise the junior clubs with the club.why dont all the parents/families and kids of these underage teams go to all the home games if they are that benefical?i wouldnt compare limerickfc with shamrock rovers as they are a much bigger club in a bigger city with more support.it was a mistake by foot.ie that put letters in bold.walk before you can run.i just think the club would be better off with a lot less underage teams and let the city junior clubs have the schoolbys and let the club concentrate on having a good senior squad,19's and maybe under 16's.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

No I read this the fact is you said that after you had already judged him and then you did the same with Boumaira. And now you have again judged them in this post having already said a few times you have no idea about either I mean how is this hard for you to grasp?

What has the parents going to games got to do with whether having these teams is beneficial? And I cant compare us to Shamrock Rovers am considering you said no other club have these underage teams and my comparison was that Shamrock Rovers do I'd say its fair.

What you post makes no sense at all you have on a few occasions now either said you haven't judged 2 players that you knew nothing about or complained that I have said you judged them while judging them in the exact same post. This walk before you can run stuff with regard the underage teams is utter nonsense too.

17/11/2014, 1:17 AM
We need to bring in quality and do well next season to get the ball rolling in the markets field. Pats money isn't there to do so so hard to see how that will happen with out other business people investing in the team.
From what I've heard, the money is there for next season. Finn's been made a bigger offer than any of Dundalk/Pats/Rovers.

17/11/2014, 8:09 AM
From what I've heard, the money is there for next season. Finn's been made a bigger offer than any of Dundalk/Pats/Rovers.

I wonder is it a case though that they are willing to sacrifice the wages of two players to get in Finn? We badly need a marquee signing and while he didn't have his best season with ye last year he would still be a massive signing for us. Guaranteed starter also but might not be with Pats, Dundalk or Rovers.

delboyderis
17/11/2014, 8:36 AM
These two guys may turn out to be excellent players but to do well in this league you need experienced players.we have lost barry ryan last week who was one of the best keepers in the league and lee jay lynch would have been a top midfielder.its no good trying to replace players of this calibre with young lads.people wont go to the games if the first team hasnt top players playing exciting football.there isnt anything wrong with a certain amount of underage teams but i just think the club has too many at the minute.

delboyderis
17/11/2014, 8:37 AM
that would be great if it does happen.

delboyderis
17/11/2014, 8:42 AM
if the parents and kids of these underage teams did go to the games it would bring more revenue to the club.last season the home attendances were less than a 1000 which was terrible.some people only went to a game when their little johnny was playing at the half time kick about and wouldnt be seen again at a game.i dont know how the club keeps going to be honest,theres only a core of die hard supporters who are keeping the show on the road.

17/11/2014, 10:05 AM
To be honest I'd say the club is just about hanging in there. Without Pats money we'd be in big trouble. Thing is that is the same all around the league. Barr 4 teams all the attendances are very poor in this league. Dundalk have only had big crowds back recently, Cork always have good crowds but really swelled this year then you have the two rovers that get good steady attendance numbers. Bohs and Pats crowds are ok but not great and the rest are very poor.

delboyderis
17/11/2014, 3:29 PM
Theres no reason why we cant get good crowds at our home games.theres a lot of soccer supporters around limerick but unfortunately its the premier league that they support.if the club can make the markets field a place were people will want to go it would great.hopefully they might get 2000+ at the games.it all depends on what type of a team that martin russell puts together for the 2015 season.as you said without pat o sullivans help the club would be in trouble.if they can get the local business community to help it would be great.

NeverFeltBetter
18/11/2014, 8:17 AM
https://twitter.com/BazzzaRyan/status/534500333138239488

Sentiment seems to pop up a fair bit with departing players.

18/11/2014, 8:58 AM
https://twitter.com/BazzzaRyan/status/534500333138239488

Sentiment seems to pop up a fair bit with departing players.

It's very worrying seeing these comments regularly popping up but I think vague statements and/or comments like that are very unprofessional.

donnrua
18/11/2014, 1:07 PM
Barry was happy enough to play for us for 6 seasons without much as a peep from him and then the club release him and he bad mouths the club on Twitter with no explanation. Interesting to see Yvonne Tracy agreeing with him so can we take it that Shane Tracy is gone too, and can we expect him to take to Twitter whining too? What is it with Footballers and Twitter anyway. Shows a complete lack of class if you ask me!

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 1:18 PM
Barry was happy enough to play for us for 6 seasons without much as a peep from him and then the club release him and he bad mouths the club on Twitter with no explanation. Interesting to see Yvonne Tracy agreeing with him so can we take it that Shane Tracy is gone too, and can we expect him to take to Twitter whining too? What is it with Footballers and Twitter anyway. Shows a complete lack of class if you ask me!

It shouldn't be said on Twitter and the like maybe but he is far from the first one and enough players say it while they are still there just in private. I'm more concerned about the reputation we will get as a club because this comes out from someone every single year last season it was a player leaving too because as he said he was forced out cos of the way he was treated.

Treaty Gooner
18/11/2014, 1:18 PM
Barry has previous with this kind of thing if I'm not mistaken. If he's frustrated then Twitter is one of the few avenues open to him to voice that frustration. Still unprofessional mind, but I'm not sure he'll lose too much sleep over it.

18/11/2014, 1:30 PM
What I've seen on Twitter is this:

Ex players giving out about the club.
Ex-players telling other players they need to get out of the club and go elsewhere to a bigger team.
Ex-players giving out about ex-managers.

Some of these players are the same guys that have put up comments about being delighted to have re-signed with the club when they have in the past.

I have heard about some carry on from certain people in the club which I have been disgusted by in the past but there is a way and means of doing things. Comments on Twitter giving no background or reasoning is not the way. Tarnishing a whole club as well is not very professional. Their are some good people involved in the club that don't deserve it. Could you imagine if the club put up something saying "X player has been released cause he caused trouble in the club".

LK37oldskool
18/11/2014, 3:54 PM
Ryan has quickly forgot a lot of work people behind the scenes have done for him over the years, its a pity he has resorted to such pettiness but i think it says more about him than the club. You have to remember that the club have no real avenue to reply to such comments without coming across as unprofessional. Best to remember Ryan at his best for us and let him wallow in his nastiness.

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 4:26 PM
Ryan has quickly forgot a lot of work people behind the scenes have done for him over the years, its a pity he has resorted to such pettiness but i think it says more about him than the club. You have to remember that the club have no real avenue to reply to such comments without coming across as unprofessional. Best to remember Ryan at his best for us and let him wallow in his nastiness.

No matter if it is nastiness or pettiness or not he is right and that shouldn't be ignored either. The treatment by Limerick of some players is a complete and utter disgrace and the way they do things in the off season leaves a lot to be desired. A few in the background used to dealing with first division players and don't seem to realise the same approach won't work with people in the premier. Still players up to last week players that did well for us last season that have no contact at all from the club regarding their future and that simply isn't good enough.

donnrua
18/11/2014, 5:31 PM
Who are the players that have been treated disgracefully? And by disgracefully I don't mean offered less money or released!

LK37oldskool
18/11/2014, 5:44 PM
BWA, not sure how you make out he's right, from what I am led to believe he got the wrong end of the stick and over reacted. He was not badly treated more he didn't get what he wanted and threw a hissy fit. The club really looked after him over the years and he is now trying to sully their name.

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 6:12 PM
BWA, not sure how you make out he's right, from what I am led to believe he got the wrong end of the stick and over reacted. He was not badly treated more he didn't get what he wanted and threw a hissy fit. The club really looked after him over the years and he is now trying to sully their name.

I'm not talking about his current situation I have no idea what went on with him I am talking about the fact Limerick have treated people badly before and the fact there were still some players waiting to hear from them last week on their futures they still are treating people badly. You seem to be involved with the club or know what goes on there from the way you are talking so you will know that things have been done badly by the club. Things like people waiting months to hear about their future and promises being made and repeatedly broken are not good ways to deal with people.

I know a lot of lads that have played for the club and have seen both sides people just sulking cos they don't get what they want but definitely the club need to improve on how they deal with people too. People inside the club can be just as quick if not as public in sullying peoples names when they want rid of them too.

donnrua
18/11/2014, 6:28 PM
People seem to forget that players break promises to clubs too and loyalty works both ways. Plenty of players have left Limerick in recent times and have said good things about the club. Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league. Maybe Russell is trying to replace some of the players he inherited and until such time as he does he keeping a few hanging on in a game of wait and see. If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them. And I'm still waiting to hear who exactly has been treated disgracefully?

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 6:37 PM
People seem to forget that players break promises to clubs too and loyalty works both ways. Plenty of players have left Limerick in recent times and have said good things about the club. Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league. Maybe Russell is trying to replace some of the players he inherited and until such time as he does he keeping a few hanging on in a game of wait and see. If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them. And I'm still waiting to hear who exactly has been treated disgracefully?

I'll name one that isn't in the league anymore then and that isn't with the club currently. John Tierney when he left the club people were told he had told the club he wouldn't stay that he wanted mad money that he had said this and that and disrespected the club. After all the lies people in the club spread about him me and others seen text messages that proved almost everything they said had been a load of nonsense and that he had basically been forced out the door, that is a disgraceful way to treat someone that had won our player of the year the previous season. There was another just last season which I think is the one Jofspring is talking about that I can't mention for the same reason with a few others they are still playing and I'm not gonan drop em in it.

Who forgot that players break promises to the club? They do and that makes no difference at all to the fact the club treat some people badly and need to improve on it.

There is no-one saying people should be offered something immediately please show me where anyone has said that? I know one player that is there currently that was promised he was being offered a deal before the end of the season, up to 4 days ago he still hadn't heard a thing from the club that isn't a good way to treat people.

You have argued a lot of points that no-one made in your post.

18/11/2014, 6:40 PM
Some people seem to think that as soon as the season is over a player has to be offered a new contract - but sorry that's just not how it works in a part-time league.

Straw man.

No one has claimed that. Anywhere.

If he got rid of all the players he didn't really rate and failed to replace them the thread would be alive with people ranting and raving about releasing players and not replacing them

They are rid of. They are out of contract.

The club has done it's business poorly over the last few off seasons. I don't think that's really up for debate to be honest.

Now on to Facebook to see what rumours the board are spreading around the place. :good:

da bishop
18/11/2014, 6:47 PM
Ryan will be a serious loss to our points total next year,.regarding Finn as a possible signing....lads ffs.

18/11/2014, 6:51 PM
Depends on the boys greed to ambition levels I suppose

LK37oldskool
18/11/2014, 6:57 PM
It's still very early days in relation to signing players. We seem to forget that over the last few years we barely had a squad before the start of the season. I think we should wait and see what develops over the next few weeks. Russell showed in the summer break he can attract quality players. I reckon there will be a good squad in place shortly. That said it still won't satisfy a few on here who seem to only exist to want to be buds with the players and slam the club. That's only my personal opinion though.

donnrua
18/11/2014, 7:00 PM
The Ndo thing is the type of disaster that Limerick specialise in.

The most respected figure in the league ran out the door while we are gonna spend a fee grand on Anthony Fennellys badges.

Joey Ndo.
Sam Oji.
Lee Lynch.
Patrick Nzuzi.
Shane O'Connor.

There's five absolute no Brainers off the top of my head that should have been done the second the final whistle went in tallaght.

Instead we've the usual ghouling around while other clubs are off signing players that should be on our radar.

No panic though we only need a goalie a centre half (maybe two??) Two fullbacks two centre mids two wingers and a striker.....

On the Duggan thing I get completely where he's coming from he must have been sickened lookin at cork all year but at the same time stuff like that kinda grates with me. It's grand for blueblood or lim till I die to be fed up but he's a professional on a good wodge and I can't remember him having a particularly good game??

Nothin at all against him but it hasn't worked out and at this stage if we could get him off the books would be a good bit of business, having him here is gonna hamper us signing other players.
Straw man am I? You seem to have a very short memory!!!

18/11/2014, 7:15 PM
Straw man am I? You seem to have a very short memory!!!

I meant your argument I quoted was a strawman argument.

Not sure what the post you quoted has to do with that??

Do you need a lie down??

donnrua
18/11/2014, 7:23 PM
O.K I'll take you through it in baby steps because you're obviously a bit special. The quote from you clearly stated the names of 5 players that should have been re-signed as soon as the final whistle went in Tallaght. You stated, in reply to me, that no-one ever claimed that players should have been re-signed as soon as the season finished. Now can you understand that or would you like me to take you through it again?

18/11/2014, 7:27 PM
I get it now :/

Burnt!!

The perils of foruming on a phone. :/

Having said that I think most clubs would offer there best players new deals straight away, not all or even most of their players, just the ones other clubs might want.

Do you think a club should try to hold on to their better players??

Do you think Limerick have done good business over the last couple of off seasons??

donnrua
18/11/2014, 7:46 PM
I'll name one that isn't in the league anymore then and that isn't with the club currently. John Tierney when he left the club people were told he had told the club he wouldn't stay that he wanted mad money that he had said this and that and disrespected the club. After all the lies people in the club spread about him me and others seen text messages that proved almost everything they said had been a load of nonsense and that he had basically been forced out the door, that is a disgraceful way to treat someone that had won our player of the year the previous season. There was another just last season which I think is the one Jofspring is talking about that I can't mention for the same reason with a few others they are still playing and I'm not gonan drop em in it.

Who forgot that players break promises to the club? They do and that makes no difference at all to the fact the club treat some people badly and need to improve on it.

There is no-one saying people should be offered something immediately please show me where anyone has said that? I know one player that is there currently that was promised he was being offered a deal before the end of the season, up to 4 days ago he still hadn't heard a thing from the club that isn't a good way to treat people.

You have argued a lot of points that no-one made in your post.
Sorry I didn't realize that you could only make a point on the basis of someone else making it first:p

donnrua
18/11/2014, 8:04 PM
Limerick have done ****e business in the off season since we got back in to the premier. Last season was comical in fairness but I think Taylor has to take the flack for most of that. We did some good business during the summer when it meant f**k all. I can't understand the N'do situation, if there even is a situation. Agree with you on O'Connor he's a fine player. Lee Lynch was out of our control. Gaffney is probably gone from what I hear which is a pity, he really came on with Russell at the helm. Barry Ryan going is no real surprise to me and I hope Folan is gone because I never rated him or Robbie Williams for that matter. Oji should be given whatever he wants to re-sign, he's that important IMO.

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 8:59 PM
It's still very early days in relation to signing players. We seem to forget that over the last few years we barely had a squad before the start of the season. I think we should wait and see what develops over the next few weeks. Russell showed in the summer break he can attract quality players. I reckon there will be a good squad in place shortly. That said it still won't satisfy a few on here who seem to only exist to want to be buds with the players and slam the club. That's only my personal opinion though.

No we remember which is why we have said we have done our business badly over the last few off seasons. How did barely having a squad before the start of last season work out for us again?

No its people who call it as they see it I have defended the club on numerous things even in this thread for example. I'd say we are slightly less bias one way or another in our views than someone who has a family member working for the club like yourself tbh.

bluewhitearmy
18/11/2014, 9:07 PM
Sorry I didn't realize that you could only make a point on the basis of someone else making it first:p

Just that you seemed to be making out like someone had said the opposite to the points you made which they hadn't.

Limerick have done ****e business in the off season since we got back in to the premier. Last season was comical in fairness but I think Taylor has to take the flack for most of that. We did some good business during the summer when it meant f**k all. I can't understand the N'do situation, if there even is a situation. Agree with you on O'Connor he's a fine player. Lee Lynch was out of our control. Gaffney is probably gone from what I hear which is a pity, he really came on with Russell at the helm. Barry Ryan going is no real surprise to me and I hope Folan is gone because I never rated him or Robbie Williams for that matter. Oji should be given whatever he wants to re-sign, he's that important IMO.

Agree with almost all of this tbf except I'd keep Williams think he did ok under Russell. Both seasons we have been in prem we have done business in summer when it meant **** all started this season with a far weaker squad than we had ended the previous season with. The Ndo thing is mental if he isn't re-signed than we have basically just saved Sligo a few grand for no real benefit to us at all. Oji I definitely agree with he should have been the first talk to asked what he wanted then given it and work around that never mind this offering Finn big money Oji is more important.

This whole moving back to Markets Field is the last chance we have to get a bit of buzz around the club again and that is why it needs to be done right now more than ever imo.

delboyderis
19/11/2014, 9:26 AM
Why are ye all at each others throats with the various posts.it isnt very professional the way the club has or is handling things with signing players in the off season.letting players like barry ryan go is a big mistake.he still had a lot to offer the team and was worth a good few points the last few seasons.sam oji should be signed up but dont know why?i thought stephen folan had come on a good bit last season.patrick nzuzi since he joined has been a good player for us.if rory goes we will struggle next season to score goals and thats what was a big problem the last two seasons in the premier league.we need to replace him with another top quality striker.shane duggan also needs somebody to help him out in the midfield.jason hughes tries very hard but i think that he isnt up to premier league top level.from a supporters point of view its all very dissappointing what is or isnt going during the off season and its not helping the clubs battle to win over new supporters for the 2015 season.

thomas72
21/11/2014, 10:48 AM
http://www.punditarena.com/football/irish-football/rlyons/cork-city-sign-kieran-djilali-from-limerick/

delboyderis
21/11/2014, 1:03 PM
Disappointed to hear that kieran djilali has signed for cork.i thought he wasnt a bad player when he signed mid season.to be honest its not looking good for the team next season so far.most of the big clubs are announcing signings daily.cork have a full squad nearly assembled already.the club then have season tickets up for sale on the net already without having much of a squad put together?martin russell should have the majority of his squad put together by xmas but the way its going i dont know?a lot of the quality players have been signed up and whats left isnt great to be honest.in the last few weeks we have lost 3 good players in barry ryan,lee lynch and now djilali and they havent been replaced so far.nobody seems to know whats happening with rory gaffney?i thought he was supposed to be going to shamrock rovers.it would be great if the club started to announce a few decent signings as they are badly needed.

21/11/2014, 4:03 PM
The timing of the season ticket announcement was strange to say the least. If we do have players signed then surely that was the perfect opportunity to do a double announcement.

delboyderis
21/11/2014, 4:15 PM
I would agree with you there.i dont know to be honest whats going on with the club at the minute.

bluewhitearmy
21/11/2014, 4:15 PM
Hearing Conor O Donnell may be over the line and heard we are in with a shout with Robbie Benson. Benson would be a top signing.

Also not very solid but was told we were talking to Paul O Connor too.

delboyderis
21/11/2014, 4:22 PM
Its a start i suppose.if they do manage to pull off the signing of ronan finn that would be a coup.

21/11/2014, 6:38 PM
Benson and O'Connor would be two very good signings.

Don't know much about O'Donnell but based on what was said by stu here it would be a good signings.

I'm still hopefully we can hold on to Gaffney. If he was 100% going to Rovers I'd imagine it would be done by now. Gaffney played his best football under Russell and if he is still interested in going to the UK then being our main man might be more beneficial than possibly fighting it out elsewhere for a start.

delboyderis
22/11/2014, 8:47 AM
I dont know much about any of the players mentioned above but if martin russell can get the best out of them.agree you with you about rory.if he was going to rovers it would have been done by now but you never no what will happen.its still very disappointing with the lack of off season signings for the club at the minute.

donnrua
22/11/2014, 1:08 PM
I heard something about Gaffney going to Cambridge, anyone else hear that rumour?

delboyderis
22/11/2014, 3:02 PM
Havent heard anything.rory would be a big loss as we havent any other decent striker at the minute in the team.

delboyderis
22/11/2014, 3:18 PM
Rumour on twitter that gearoid morrissey and rory are heading to cambridge but thats not official yet?just wait and see.

delboyderis
22/11/2014, 10:15 PM
Another rumour going around is that dundalk are looking at rory now.:ball: