View Full Version : Off season rumours
Pages :
[
5]
05/01/2015, 4:49 PM
Well if it's true then there are two things that could happen;
It will pressure the club into getting a move on with players to ensure the ones we have that things are happening,
Or
They tell him if he doesn't want to be there then move on, the club don't want players that don't want to be there.
You can see why Shane is dodgy. He started with us last season with a lot of promises. Pre-season came and the squad wasn't what was expected and the squad at the start of the season wasn't what was expected. We were very poor until mid-season when good signings were made. Now pre-season is coming again and the squad is very light, the better players are all signed up and most our good players are moving on.
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2015, 5:49 PM
Well if it's true then there are two things that could happen;
It will pressure the club into getting a move on with players to ensure the ones we have that things are happening,
Or
They tell him if he doesn't want to be there then move on, the club don't want players that don't want to be there.
You can see why Shane is dodgy. He started with us last season with a lot of promises. Pre-season came and the squad wasn't what was expected and the squad at the start of the season wasn't what was expected. We were very poor until mid-season when good signings were made. Now pre-season is coming again and the squad is very light, the better players are all signed up and most our good players are moving on.
Unfortunately there is a third option of he wants to leave we don't let him and we have a player stuck here with no interest in being here.
delboyderis
06/01/2015, 10:04 AM
It doesnt look very professional from the outside, the way the off season has been going for the club.the whole county should be on a high with the return to the markets field and putting together a decent squad.very little talk around about limerick fc and the upcoming season.
06/01/2015, 10:21 AM
The thing about it is the general public probably don't have a clue how the squad is shaping up, whether it's good or bad. Unless you are actively online on social media you probably wouldn't know much of the goings on. 95fm is the only other really decent source for information on the sports program Saturday mornings.
Some people I have talked to didn't even know we had lost the likes of Lynch and Djillai and think we are picking up where we left off last season.
kingpin4
06/01/2015, 12:23 PM
The thing about it is the general public probably don't have a clue how the squad is shaping up, whether it's good or bad. Unless you are actively online on social media you probably wouldn't know much of the goings on. 95fm is the only other really decent source for information on the sports program Saturday mornings.
Some people I have talked to didn't even know we had lost the likes of Lynch and Djillai and think we are picking up where we left off last season.
For the love of dear God, do NOT tell them otherwise! :) If the season started tomorrow, we'd struggle to break a gate of 500 people.
It's disappointing how quiet it all is when you think that this is probably the last chance the club have of capturing some imagination of the fans in the city and county.
LK37oldskool
06/01/2015, 12:25 PM
"Money's to tight to mention" as a famous 80s warbler told us!
06/01/2015, 3:38 PM
any word on Joey Ndo lads?
donnrua
06/01/2015, 4:56 PM
There's a mafia style code of silence regarding all things Limerick FC at the moment!
bluewhitearmy
06/01/2015, 6:09 PM
Gone as far as I know. If he is gone it was sure nice of us to save Sligo that few grand the second half of the season with no benefit at all to ourselves.
delboyderis
07/01/2015, 9:53 AM
Mick leahy didnt last long either.he is on the pfai team for norway trip.god only knows what kind of central defence pairing we will have for the new season.
07/01/2015, 10:13 AM
Mick leahy didnt last long either.he is on the pfai team for norway trip.god only knows what kind of central defence pairing we will have for the new season.
Over the years a lot of players have gone on that trip and re-signed wih their previous club. Just keeping the options open I'd imagine. It does tell us though that it's another player that hasn't agreed terms (if they were offered).
The PFAI team this year is probably the weakest I've ever seen.
07/01/2015, 10:15 AM
So as it stands out of our starting back 4 Robbie Williams is the only one re-signed. I think Robbie is a decent player but out of the back 4 he was our most injury prone, which is a worry. We'll need him having a fullfit season.
kingpin4
07/01/2015, 1:44 PM
So as it stands out of our starting back 4 Robbie Williams is the only one re-signed. I think Robbie is a decent player but out of the back 4 he was our most injury prone, which is a worry. We'll need him having a fullfit season.
Out of our starting back 5, we've only our left full signed.
Any news on Oji or Nzuzi? I heard they were expecting them back for pre-season and Leahy too. Potential defence of Williams, Oji, Leahy/ Whitehead and Nzuzi is a mid-table team's defence. Could be worse, could be better.
bluewhitearmy
08/01/2015, 4:20 PM
First 2 days of pre season cancelled cos we didn't have enough players to train. Nice to see we are going into a massive season for us moving "home" so organised.
08/01/2015, 4:47 PM
First 2 days of pre season cancelled cos we didn't have enough players to train. Nice to see we are going into a massive season for us moving "home" so organised.
That is an absolute joke. Christ I'd have jumped in if they were stuck.
bluewhitearmy
08/01/2015, 5:06 PM
That is an absolute joke. Christ of have jumped in if they were stuck.
Unsigned player that was supposed to do the testing yesterday has told me it was cos of lack of players but I have literally just had a conversation with Tommy Barrett on twitter and he says it was cos equipment and facilities were unavailable so testing will start tomorrow. He expects 12-13 players there tomorrow.
Now usually I would believe the player ahead of people from the club straight away but I have no reason not to trust what Tommy says, maybe just a mix up with what the player was told I'll get onto him.
08/01/2015, 5:21 PM
Unsigned player that was supposed to do the testing yesterday has told me it was cos of lack of players but I have literally just had a conversation with Tommy Barrett on twitter and he says it was cos equipment and facilities were unavailable so testing will start tomorrow. He expects 12-13 players there tomorrow.
Now usually I would believe the player ahead of people from the club straight away but I have no reason not to trust what Tommy says, maybe just a mix up with what the player was told I'll get onto him.
Ya Id take Tommys word for it on that alright.
bluewhitearmy
08/01/2015, 5:25 PM
Ya Id take Tommys word for it on that alright.
A few others from the club I'd be unsure.
I hope the 12 or 13 he is talking about for tomorrow doesn't include the likes of Val Feeney and Paudie O Connor.
NeverFeltBetter
09/01/2015, 12:23 AM
All of this is incredibly worrying. I'm surprised at how slowly things have moved on the player front, even for Limerick. Wonder how the financial picture really is.
harpin
09/01/2015, 9:37 AM
All of this is incredibly worrying. I'm surprised at how slowly things have moved on the player front, even for Limerick. Wonder how the financial picture really is.
Considering POS said he wouldn't be a sugar daddy this season and the squad or lack of so far I'd say it's fairly bleak
delboyderis
09/01/2015, 3:56 PM
The team that they have at the minute wouldnt even be good enough for the first division.if pat o sullivan isnt going to pump money in?i dont know if anybody else will.not a great pre-season at the minute.
bluewhitearmy
09/01/2015, 9:22 PM
Not saying he has and not having a go at Pat he has done more than anyone else would and more than could ever be expected of him but if he has pulled back a lot he has picked the worst possible time to do it. This is the season more than most with moving back to Markets Field that we needed to be strong this goes wrong and I'd be seriously worried. Never know though guess we just have to live in hope that a Patterson or something will come off.
delboyderis
10/01/2015, 9:22 AM
Would agree with you there.why cant a major sponsor be found to help?pat o sullivan must have pumped in thousands over the last few years.even with the messing in not getting back to pre-season training on the 7th?the way things are going at the minute it wouldnt surprise me if limerick are in the relegation spots for next season.at the minute the team is way too weak.i doubt if season tickets are flying out the door.
10/01/2015, 9:27 AM
I usually wouldn't worry about what the squad is like at this stage with 2 months still to go but it's just the fact all other teams are ahead of us at the moment. We need to rattle off a lot signings in the next two weeks.
As it stands Bray, Bohs, Drogheda are as strong or stronger than last season with Galway and Longford both looking decent.
gufc2000
10/01/2015, 12:14 PM
I usually wouldn't worry about what the squad is like at this stage with 2 months still to go but it's just the fact all other teams are ahead of us at the moment. We need to rattle off a lot signings in the next two weeks.
As it stands Bray, Bohs, Drogheda are as strong or stronger than last season with Galway and Longford both looking decent.
Longford look more than decent it would appear. We've only about 10 signed up so far at the minute so after ye I'd say we've the least signed. There isn't a whole lot of quality available in Ireland at the minute, bar a minority that went on the PFAI trip.
Interesting few weeks ahead
kingpin4
12/01/2015, 7:01 PM
Any new faces at preseason today? Had heard there were at least 2 expected, but didn't get any names.
13/01/2015, 12:40 PM
Have heard nothing myself. I got the feeling from Russell's interview that he is fairly restricted this season with the budget. It seems maybe he needs to be very wise with what he spends so wants to see what he is getting before commiting to players. If we did try sign Finn though it must mean their is a few quid for at least one marquee signing (not that there is any really left out there).
bluewhitearmy
13/01/2015, 3:49 PM
Seen a bit of training today and tbh it has done absolutely nothing to change my mind that this season is gonna be a disaster unless something changes.
Conor O Donnell
19s Keeper
Robbie Williams
Tony Whitehead
Shane Costelloe ( Not sure on this)
Paul O Connor
Shane Duggan
Darragh Rainsford
Val Feeney
Ross Mann
Dean Clarke
There was 5 lads that weren't there last season I only knew one was told names of another 2 and have no idea whatsoever who the other 2 were.
No sign of Oji,Nzuzi,Tacy or Hughes. Right to Dream lads not here yet either.
kingpin4
14/01/2015, 8:08 AM
Seen a bit of training today and tbh it has done absolutely nothing to change my mind that this season is gonna be a disaster unless something changes.
Conor O Donnell
19s Keeper
Robbie Williams
Tony Whitehead
Shane Costelloe ( Not sure on this)
Paul O Connor
Shane Duggan
Darragh Rainsford
Val Feeney
Ross Mann
Dean Clarke
There was 5 lads that weren't there last season I only knew one was told names of another 2 and have no idea whatsoever who the other 2 were.
No sign of Oji,Nzuzi,Tacy or Hughes. Right to Dream lads not here yet either.
Without mentioning their names, would you be happy if we signed any of them?
Can't see us keeping Tracy or Hughes, which is a bit surprising when they weren't big earners there.
I was told the Right to Dream lads aren't expected back anytime soon because of clearance issues. So probably won't see them until later in pre season if true.
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2015, 2:10 PM
Without mentioning their names, would you be happy if we signed any of them?
Can't see us keeping Tracy or Hughes, which is a bit surprising when they weren't big earners there.
I was told the Right to Dream lads aren't expected back anytime soon because of clearance issues. So probably won't see them until later in pre season if true.
Being honest I have no idea who 2 of em were the other 2 I think were just returning from England so could go either way. The one I actually knew tbh no I wouldn't be happy with it he was with us in the first division and was released when we got promoted.
If we don't keep the 4 lads then we have completely taken apart a squad that looked decent at the end of the season.
delboyderis
14/01/2015, 5:07 PM
At the minute the above sounds like a b team.will be a long season if it stays that way.backwards the club seems to be going at the minute.worrying times on shannonside.
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2015, 5:47 PM
Its coming out now anyway so might as well say it was Sean Brosnan that was training with us.
delboyderis
14/01/2015, 5:56 PM
He wasnt a bad player with us before but maybe a bit on the light side unless he filled out?its a striker that we really need and a few defenders if we arent going to sign some of last years guys.
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2015, 5:57 PM
He wasnt a bad player with us before but maybe a bit on the light side unless he filled out?its a striker that we really need and a few defenders if we arent going to sign some of last years guys.
Gotten a bit taller but not filled out and imo him and Dean Clarke being 2 of our strikers would be a huge worry.
delboyderis
14/01/2015, 6:16 PM
i would agree with you there.why dont they chat with mark quigley?
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2015, 6:37 PM
i would agree with you there.why dont they chat with mark quigley?
Cos he would want more than 200-300 euro I reckon.
kingpin4
15/01/2015, 10:56 AM
Its coming out now anyway so might as well say it was Sean Brosnan that was training with us.
That's not the worst bit of news to be fair. I was always impressed when I saw him play. Obviously, I wouldn't fancy him as a starter but he wouldn't be bad to have to throw on if you're chasing a game (and from the way things look, we could be chasing a lot of games)
Incidentally, did any else read Russell's interview on the Limerick website and start to realise that it may not get a whole lot better than it currently is?
http://www.limerickfc.ie/pre-season-day-two-russell-eyeing-positive-preparation
bluewhitearmy
15/01/2015, 1:24 PM
That's not the worst bit of news to be fair. I was always impressed when I saw him play. Obviously, I wouldn't fancy him as a starter but he wouldn't be bad to have to throw on if you're chasing a game (and from the way things look, we could be chasing a lot of games)
Incidentally, did any else read Russell's interview on the Limerick website and start to realise that it may not get a whole lot better than it currently is?
If he was to be a squad player id be pleased but considering at the minute all we have ahead of him is Dean Clarke Ill wait and see.
Russell has gone from saying he was hoping to have a strong competitive squad at the end of pre season to it will be okay. Reckon he as been sold short the same way Taylor was.
blueblood
15/01/2015, 6:22 PM
If that's what's said on the club website you can be guaranteed the reality is a lot worse,
It's very very disappointing how poor preparation has been and has been each season getting worse since we got promoted
15/01/2015, 11:41 PM
It just seems the interest isn't there for a good senior football team in Limerick. If Pat wasn't putting in the money he has we would still be trudging along in the first division most likely back in Hogan Park or Jackman Park. The bigger business people in Limerick don't want anything to do with football and would prefer to row in behind Munster Rugby. Every year for the last number of years Pat has wanted someone to come on board with him and ease the burden a bit but no matter how many great things he has done, underage structures, return to the premier, movement back to the Markets Field, it just doesn't look like the help is going to come.
So where will the money come for better signings? I agree we need to hit the ground running in the Markets Field if we really want the club to take off but where the money will come from, that I really don't know.
bluewhitearmy
16/01/2015, 12:52 AM
It just seems the interest isn't there for a good senior football team in Limerick. If Pat wasn't putting in the money he has we would still be trudging along in the first division most likely back in Hogan Park or Jackman Park. The bigger business people in Limerick don't want anything to do with football and would prefer to row in behind Munster Rugby. Every year for the last number of years Pat has wanted someone to come on board with him and ease the burden a bit but no matter how many great things he has done, underage structures, return to the premier, movement back to the Markets Field, it just doesn't look like the help is going to come.
So where will the money come for better signings? I agree we need to hit the ground running in the Markets Field if we really want the club to take off but where the money will come from, that I really don't know.
He says this every year but from what I have been told by a few people and they are business people he is one of the major problems stopping people getting involved. Like turning down sponsorship from McGettigans last season was madness there was some help for him but he didn't take it.
16/01/2015, 8:10 AM
He says this every year but from what I have been told by a few people and they are business people he is one of the major problems stopping people getting involved. Like turning down sponsorship from McGettigans last season was madness there was some help for him but he didn't take it.
Ya heard something about McGettigans being turned down. We had no sponsor at all and while the club shouldn't give it away for nothing we badly needed a sponsor. Beggars can't be choosers and looked so unprofessional not having a sponsor.
bluewhitearmy
16/01/2015, 12:27 PM
Ya heard something about McGettigans being turned down. We had no sponsor at all and while the club shouldn't give it away for nothing we badly needed a sponsor. Beggars can't be choosers and looked so unprofessional not having a sponsor.
I would have thought you accept what they offered considering we were well into the season and had no sponsor at the time and then try and build the relationship with them as time went on. Pat talks a lot though about wanting businesses to support him and he also goes on about wanting fans to get involved and help out but I know first hand how awkward it can be to get involved and help out I have offered a few times to help with different things and have then been asked to jump through hoops before they would allow me to and then its just a case of thinking I'm trying to help them they are making it as hard as they can why should I bother.
faceoff
17/01/2015, 10:37 PM
Has Martin Russels son signed.Heard he has.
17/01/2015, 10:48 PM
He signed a few weeks ago.
bluewhitearmy
17/01/2015, 10:51 PM
He has and it is a complete joke.
bluewhitearmy
20/01/2015, 3:09 PM
This is what trained this morning.
Conor O Donnell
Robbie Williams
Shane Costelloe
Colm Murphy
Tony Whitehead
Val Feeney
Sean Russell
Shane Duggan
Paul O Conor
Darragh Rainsford
Ian Turner
Ross Mann
Dean Clarke
Sean Brosnan
3 lads training that I didn't get names for too.
delboyderis
20/01/2015, 4:22 PM
Still doesnt look like much of a team.interesting to see what kind of a team lines out for the msc match on saturday?
faceoff
22/01/2015, 11:11 AM
Still doesnt look like much of a team.interesting to see what kind of a team lines out for the msc match on saturday?
Kieran Hanlon returning also apparently.Things not looking good.
blueblood
22/01/2015, 5:33 PM
Kieran Hanlon returning also apparently.Things not looking good.
At least people can't be giving out about signing a load of English blow ins this season....