View Full Version : Scotland V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 14th November 2014 - Euro 2016 Qualifier
Pages :
[
7]
09/11/2014, 6:42 PM
3 games into the qualifying campaign and there's a documentary on Sky Sports 1 about Scotland/Strachan/ make believe. It will probably be running on a loop on Sky Sports Scotland.
Strachan: Making Scotland Believe, Sky Sports Originals presents Strachan: Making Scotland Believe. Scotland manager Gordon Strachan discusses his dream to take the national side to the UEFA Euro 2016 Championships.
Pretty much a non stop backslapping affair about how good it's been so far with Gordon.
The appropriate time for participating in these programs is after your team has qualified, after they have proven the case. The Scots are getting high on theory.
The wife had just awoken from her post dinner slumberhangover and the start of that program was on. She sat silently for a minute or two, then asked who the w*nker on the tele was. She's not that clued into football, but I thought she showed incredible insight on the matter.
Crosby87
09/11/2014, 7:51 PM
All of the media are like "Wilson and McCarthy in doubt for Ireland." What are they basing that on. They could be fine.
09/11/2014, 8:14 PM
All of the media are like "Wilson and McCarthy in doubt for Ireland." What are they basing that on. They could be fine.
Doubt occupies the space between 'they could be fine' and 'they are fine'.
swinfordfc
09/11/2014, 10:22 PM
Wilson def out - hamstring is gone - saw the way he pull up in the spurs game!
DannyInvincible
09/11/2014, 10:33 PM
If it was a tear with McCarthy, he would surely have known right away by virtue of the pain, no? If it's merely fatigue, is it more than likely he'll be available?
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 7:10 AM
Yeah that's what I was assuming myself while watching the dodgy link. He looked in slight discomfort more than serious pain. He was only faking it anyway of course, planting the seeds of doubt, as Roberto looked on with pride.
http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02556/roberto-martinez_2556216b.jpg
10/11/2014, 9:24 AM
in light of the recent comments by Strachan about it being acceptable to boo McGeady and McCarthy, as long as it wasn't sectarian (??) and McQueen's comments this morning - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/gordon-mcqueen-i-hope-mccarthy-and-mcgeady-get-a-horrible-reception-because-they-deserve-it-30731771.html - does anyone else remember the ok2boo campaign?
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=110917
http://foot.ie/threads/9376-On-OK2boo-who-said-the-following
the doc
10/11/2014, 9:29 AM
in light of the recent comments by Strachan about it being acceptable to boo McGeady and McCarthy, as long as it wasn't sectarian (??) and McQueen's comments this morning - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/gordon-mcqueen-i-hope-mccarthy-and-mcgeady-get-a-horrible-reception-because-they-deserve-it-30731771.html - does anyone else remember the ok2boo campaign?
Wee Gordy can be a pain at times then a really nice bloke, he's like a little Jekyll and Hyde, must be the Ginger Hair!
No doubt Tetsa will want pictures and written evidence of that too!
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 9:56 AM
I've not really heard much out of McQueen before, thankfully. He sounds like a bit of a buffoon.
He says:
I hate that. I’ve got no time for these players. You’re born in Glasgow but then you go and play for somebody else? What’s that all about? I’m not having that at all.
Will it be hard for them coming back here with Ireland? I really hope so. I hope they get a horrible reception because they deserve it. I’m sure somebody must have asked them to play or Scotland at some stage.
You’re either Scottish or you’re not Scottish and you should know that by the time you’re 12 years of age.
I played alongside the likes of Bob Wilson and Bruce Rioch, who were born in England but they always considered themselves Scottish. That’s all I want. If you feel Scottish then you’re Scottish...
Ignoring McQueen's seeming wish make assumptions and speak for others when it comes to their personal identity, an Irish team-mate of McGeady and McCarthy might say: "I play alongside the likes of McGeady and McCarthy, who were born in Scotland but they always considered themselves Irish. That’s all I want. If you feel Irish then you’re Irish."
What's the difference?
I think we’ll beat Ireland at Celtic Park. I thought that Celtic had some very average sides at times but European teams coming to Parkhead were intimidated by the atmosphere there. There are certain grounds where the crowd just gets to the opposition. As long as I live I’ll never forget playing for Scotland against Wales at Anfield in 1977 in the game that took us to the World Cup finals. That was intimidating. The stadium was literally bouncing, with Scotland fans everywhere you looked, even though it was their home game. We didn’t play well that night but we still won 2-0.
Like Anfield was packed with Scotland fans in 1977, Celtic Park will be bouncing with over ten thousand Ireland fans everywhere you look on Friday night. We won't be intimidated. Many (including our management and quite a few players) will feel very much at home in the surroundings. The Celtic Park staff won't even have to remove the tricolour from above the North Stand.
ArdeeBhoy
10/11/2014, 10:05 AM
It's just the usual sh*t-stirring/'mind games' beforehand, must be a slow news day for their media?
Olé Olé
10/11/2014, 10:35 AM
It's been summed up fairly well by quite a few people (including Tom English, an Irishman working with BBC Scotland) but the hostile reception that McGeady and McCarthy will be subject to in Celtic Park isn't likely to be as bad as what they've faced in Ibrox.
Furthemore, something I haven't heard mentioned, wee James and Aiden haven't played in Scotland in 5 and 4 years, respectively, at which stage they would have been 18 and 24. If McCarthy could withstand it then, I'm sure he's more than capable now. McGeady played for about 7 seasons with Celtic so I'm sure he coped with enough of it over his time there. Not to mention his time in Moscow, I'm sure the fans of CSKA and Lokomotiv weren't rushing to roll out a red carpet for him either.
The level of conviction shown in their decisions to play with Ireland their entire footballing careers demonstrates this shouldn't be an issue for them. Such cracking footballers, it's easy to admire their decision and talent.
In fact, I bet it's not even a big deal for them. It's more of a deal for the media needing to fill column inches and us supporters looking to put a spin on the game as we wait giddy in anticipation and try to predict some facet of the whole occasion that could prove completely unpredictable.
Olé Olé
10/11/2014, 10:38 AM
How about James gets a right (fair) cruncher in on Darren Fletcher? Let him know that it's not one bit acceptable for a Scottish-born, PL player of Irish descent to play for the Tartan Army!
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 11:22 AM
It's been summed up fairly well by quite a few people (including Tom English, an Irishman working with BBC Scotland) but the hostile reception that McGeady and McCarthy will be subject to in Celtic Park isn't likely to be as bad as what they've faced in Ibrox.
Furthemore, something I haven't heard mentioned, wee James and Aiden haven't played in Scotland in 5 and 4 years, respectively, at which stage they would have been 18 and 24. If McCarthy could withstand it then, I'm sure he's more than capable now. McGeady played for about 7 seasons with Celtic so I'm sure he coped with enough of it over his time there. Not to mention his time in Moscow, I'm sure the fans of CSKA and Lokomotiv weren't rushing to roll out a red carpet for him either.
The level of conviction shown in their decisions to play with Ireland their entire footballing careers demonstrates this shouldn't be an issue for them. Such cracking footballers, it's easy to admire their decision and talent.
In fact, I bet it's not even a big deal for them. It's more of a deal for the media needing to fill column inches and us supporters looking to put a spin on the game as we wait giddy in anticipation and try to predict some facet of the whole occasion that could prove completely unpredictable.
They've put up with plenty of ribbing and abuse (of an anti-Irish and sectarian nature) before for their decisions and they've taken it on the chin. Friday night won't be anything new or worse for them. They're relishing Friday night. It'll be a massively proud night for their families and the wider Irish community in Glagow.
10/11/2014, 11:50 AM
http://foot.ie/threads/9376-On-OK2boo-who-said-the-followingits a pity this article didn't appear ten years ago
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/aiden-mcgeady-and-james-mccarthy-prepare-to-face-the-music-at-celtic-park-1.1994140
10/11/2014, 11:57 AM
Strachan give a rallying cry and permission to the type of people who had been throwing bile to at McCarthy and McGeady for all those years when they played in Scotland, to renew their activities. The type of bile managers O'Neill and Lennon took great exception to and most always sought to marginalise.
McQueen just directly, with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer, insults the ethnic identity of Scots/Irish tradition in Scotland.
All that piece needed to qualify as an arch bigot/racist rant, was add on 'why don't they all go home'.
10/11/2014, 12:10 PM
I thought Strachan's comments were alright, McQueen stupid.
10/11/2014, 12:28 PM
Strachan's flippant comments are just as ignorant as McQueens. Try telling the typical rabid scottish bigot that it's okay to renew your anti irish abuse against McGeady and McCarthy, but just keep a lid on it this time, it's for a good cause. 'As if 'you can send them blanks instead of bullets, it never did me any harm'.
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 1:05 PM
For another view from Scotland, Alex Neil (current Hamilton player-manager and former team-mate of James) with some more enlightened and magnanimous comments: http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hamilton/299109-alex-neil-hopes-james-mccarthy-is-not-singled-out-by-boo-boys/
Asked about Strachan's comments, Neil told STV: "Obviously he [Strachan] will be looking for every advantage he can for his team and for the nation.
"I’m hoping James doesn’t get singled out for any treatment because he doesn’t deserve that. The fact is Scotland didn’t approach him to play and Ireland did.
"That’s no fault of the kid. He’s just got to go and enjoy his football and the thing is with James it will be water off a duck’s back."
Neil will watch on in the hope that McCarthy comes up against his former New Douglas park team-mate James McArthur at Celtic Park.
And he says everyone connected with the club still feels pride at seeing the pair play in England's Premier League.
He added: "I hope both of them have a real good game but I’m Scottish and I want them to win. I hope James McCarthy has a great game albeit not win the match.
"It’s a terrific achievement by the club and by the players and I think everybody will be filled with pride watching the game.
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:11 PM
Strachan was playing down the significance of it and I think he was right to deal with it that way. The more of a fuss that's made of it, the bigger a reaction there will be. Strachan said they're only going to boo them because they know they're good, can't get any fairer than that imo.
10/11/2014, 1:19 PM
http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/19/e1/63/19e163744789f1e718a64fe118f3cf69.jpg
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:25 PM
The Football Association of Ireland today (Monday) confirmed that Martin O’Neill has finalised a 27 man squad to face Scotland and USA on Friday, November 14 and Tuesday, November 18.
The squad sees the inclusion of both Derby defender Cyrus Christie and Ipswich striker David McGoldrick after their documentation was finalised last week.
Marc Wilson misses out due to a torn hamstring during Stoke’s win over Tottenham Hotspurs yesterday. While James McCarthy will travel to Dublin for assessment after picking up a hamstring injury during Everton’s clash against Sunderland yesterday.
The squad will assemble this evening ahead of the week’s first training session in Malahide tomorrow morning.
Final Republic of Ireland squad
David Forde
Shay Given
Rob Elliot
Darren Randolph
Richard Keogh
Seamus Coleman
Cyrus Christie
John O’Shea
Alex Pearce
James McCarthy
Jeff Hendrick
Ciaran Clark
Stephen Ward
Darron Gibson
Aiden McGeady
Anthony Pilkington
James McClean
Robbie Brady
Stephen Quinn
David Meyler
Robbie Keane
Shane Long
Daryl Murphy
David McGoldrick
Jon Walters
Kevin Doyle
Anthony Stokes
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:31 PM
We all dream of a team of number ones. Don't ask me what that's about.
10/11/2014, 1:34 PM
No Paul Green? O'Neill is nothing but a populist.
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:35 PM
He knows he'll be calling him in later when McCarthy's ruled out.
10/11/2014, 1:43 PM
The squad looks better for Christie and McGoldrick's inclusion, though seven forwards is a lot. It's not a bad squad really. I see Westwood didn't make it. Which keeper will make the bench? Given probably.
Meanwhile Scots call up 20 year old Scottish Div 2 full back.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/scotland-call-in-hearts-defender-callum-paterson-as-cover-1.1995120
SwanVsDalton
10/11/2014, 1:45 PM
Daily Record hack says that only four players (http://balls.ie/football/scottish-football-columnist-really-doesnt-think-much-irelands-players/) in the Ireland squad would get near the Scottish team. Naturally, two of them were born there.
Between this, Strachan and McQueen, the Scots are really ramping it up for Friday. Mind games, call-to-arms, sabre rattling, whatever you want to call it - this is for real. Suits me. Let the Scots blow themselves out, get aggravated at the rubbish Irish not rolling over and then sucker punch em. Job done.
On the Winstone scale, this match is now officially 'tasty!' With fans all over Celtic Park, the atmosphere is going to be thick and flammable. CAN'T WAIT.
SwanVsDalton
10/11/2014, 1:46 PM
The squad looks better for Christie and McGoldrick's inclusion, though seven forwards is a lot. It's not a bad squad really. I see Westwood didn't make it. Which keeper will make the bench? Given probably.
Technically, they all make the bench now don't they?
I think four keepers in the squad still looks totally weird, especially when we're missing one of our main ones.
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:49 PM
I see Westwood didn't make it. Which keeper will make the bench? Given probably.
What the hell? This outdoes Delaney on the bizarro scale. He didn't pick up a knock did he?
SwanVsDalton
10/11/2014, 1:51 PM
What the hell? This outdoes Delaney on the bizarro scale. He didn't pick up a knock did he?
He's injured according to RTE (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2014/1110/658219-christie-and-mcgoldrick-in-ireland-squad/).
Philly
10/11/2014, 1:52 PM
I think he had something up after his game at the weekend yeah.
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 1:54 PM
Feck it, didn't hear a word. Last I saw was that he played 90 minutes and kept another clean sheet on Saturday. Was looking forward to him getting a run out against the States.
backstothewall
10/11/2014, 1:55 PM
I think Shane Duffy can feel very hard done by here. He is playing superbly for Blackburn, while Clark isn't playing at all at Villa.
In Wilson's absence I would probably have had him in the XI, never mind the squad.
10/11/2014, 2:04 PM
Daily Record hack says that only four players (http://balls.ie/football/scottish-football-columnist-really-doesnt-think-much-irelands-players/) in the Ireland squad would get near the Scottish team. Naturally, two of them were born there.
Between this, Strachan and McQueen, the Scots are really ramping it up for Friday. Mind games, call-to-arms, sabre rattling, whatever you want to call it - this is for real. Suits me. Let the Scots blow themselves out, get aggravated at the rubbish Irish not rolling over and then sucker punch em. Job done.
On the Winstone scale, this match is now officially 'tasty!' With fans all over Celtic Park, the atmosphere is going to be thick and flammable. CAN'T WAIT.
I love that writer's persuasive argument. The only player he actually compares to any of theirs is Forde.
10/11/2014, 2:12 PM
James McArthur having a scan on a calf injury according to SSN.
10/11/2014, 2:12 PM
I think Shane Duffy can feel very hard done by here. He is playing superbly for Blackburn, while Clark isn't playing at all at Villa.
In Wilson's absence I would probably have had him in the XI, never mind the squad.His missus had a baby last night: https://twitter.com/ShaneDuffy34/statuses/531813340931448833
not sure if that played into his omission from the squad, but if it did, it's understandable
10/11/2014, 2:14 PM
Playing well at Blackburn only puts Duffy at Scotland's standard. We can do better than that!
Wangball
10/11/2014, 2:20 PM
The Daily Ranger is one of the worst newspapers I've ever had the misfortune to read. Pure thrash.
Wangball
10/11/2014, 2:24 PM
I have to admit I feel a little sorry for Alex Pearce. McGeady & McCarthy - 2 guys who have never ever been anywhere near a Scotland squad - are being vilified and threatened with being boo'ed out of existence for declaring for us (the team they played with from youth) and big Pearcey - who actually lined out for Scotland @ 21 level - barely warrants a mention in their torrents of abuse!! Its just not fair!
I'm genuinely shocked that they're still bitter over McGeady & McCarthy any way, sure didn't we give Jim O'Brien back to them?!
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 2:31 PM
I feel sorry for Westwood. A good performance against the US might have put him in contention for a future competitive starting place but he won't get that chance now.
Delaney deemed surplus to requirements again, and with Wilson missing? Strange.
Pleased to see fresh faces in there in the form of Christie and McGoldrick. Welcome aboard! It's unlikely they'll get a run-out in Glasgow, but at least they're options and we should see what they can do against the US.
IsMiseSean
10/11/2014, 2:35 PM
I forgot about Alex Pearce playing for Scotland at youth level.
On his wiki page it says he played for Ireland at schoolboy level. Is that true?
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 2:41 PM
I see ErrTÉ appear to think Hendrick will be making up the defensive numbers in Wilson's absence...
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/rte3_zps3001b3e1.png
10/11/2014, 2:50 PM
I dug this out of the wayback machine: http://web.archive.org/web/20030817030354/http://www.ok2boo.com/
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 3:03 PM
I know the FAI are to assess him, but did McCarthy have an assessment at Everton today then and, if so, has there been any indication as to the seriousness of the concern?
10/11/2014, 3:04 PM
His missus had a baby last night: https://twitter.com/ShaneDuffy34/statuses/531813340931448833
not sure if that played into his omission from the squad, but if it did, it's understandableif my experience of having a week old baby and a hormonal wife at home is anything to go by, I'd be begging to go to Glasgow. He's got a mother in law I presume. Use her.
10/11/2014, 3:06 PM
I dug this out of the wayback machine: http://web.archive.org/web/20030817030354/http://www.ok2boo.com/
Fran Rooney said that? Jaysus. So that's what spawned the Delaney School of Populism.
Wangball
10/11/2014, 3:10 PM
He'll be grand. The false info being spread is all part of Roberto Martinez's anti Ireland & pro Scotland agenda which obviously stems from his time (1 season) @ Motherwell....wait sorry, I meant to post this on YBIG not here...my bad.
I know the FAI are to assess him, but did McCarthy have an assessment at Everton today then and, if so, has there been any indication as to the seriousness of the concern?
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 3:34 PM
I have to admit I feel a little sorry for Alex Pearce. McGeady & McCarthy - 2 guys who have never ever been anywhere near a Scotland squad - are being vilified and threatened with being boo'ed out of existence for declaring for us (the team they played with from youth) and big Pearcey - who actually lined out for Scotland @ 21 level - barely warrants a mention in their torrents of abuse!! Its just not fair!
And what about McGoldrick? Is there no outrage reserved for him? I hope the Tartan Army know he also had the audacity to turn down an approach by Strachan who was dead set on convincing him to play for Scotland!
hoops1
10/11/2014, 3:56 PM
Gordon McQueen produced Hayley thats more than McGeady or McCarthy ever have.
He can say what he likes.
DannyInvincible
10/11/2014, 4:13 PM
Is MccCarthy undergoing his fitness assessment with the FAI tonight then?: http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11671/9559457/european-qualifiers-republic-of-ireland-midfielder-james-mccarthy-faces-fitness-test
He will undergo an assessment when he joins up with the rest of a 27-man squad in Dublin on Monday evening.
DeLorean
10/11/2014, 4:17 PM
Hard to keep up with all the various articles but I don't think this was linked (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/legacy-of-ferguson-years-forgotten-in-gloomy-windswept-fortress-on-sea-s-edge-1.1994987?page=1) already. Decent read.