View Full Version : Champions League 2014/5

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

The Fly
22/10/2014, 9:29 PM
He's also at the end of his career.

22/10/2014, 11:54 PM
Gibbs was fortunate to make a perfect first time connection with the dubious cross to score Arsenal's first. I doubt whether he would be able to ever do that again in his football career, thereby proving that it was one off, a fluke.

Real ale Madrid
23/10/2014, 9:35 AM
Jaysus I thought it was a great cross and a great finish - a super finish actually . Didn't lash at it just let the momentum of the cross do the work- nice controlled side foot, very deliberate, into the far corner. Excellent.

DannyInvincible
23/10/2014, 2:04 PM
I've not seen Gibbs' goal, but I enjoyed geysir's mock analysis of it. Geysir has had his tongue firmly wedged in his cheek ever since Paul attempted to convince us our lovely-worked goal in Gelsenkirchen was a product of unique pot luck. :)

Real ale Madrid
23/10/2014, 2:16 PM
I've not seen Gibbs' goal, but I enjoyed geysir's mock analysis of it. Geysir has had his tongue firmly wedged in his cheek ever since Paul attempted to convince us our lovely-worked goal in Gelsenkirchen was a product of unique pot luck. :)

Ahhhhhhhh I see - missed that.

23/10/2014, 7:07 PM
I don't know if there's a Europa League thread but I note that Slovan Bratislava and Sparta Prague played tonight; is that the first competitive game since the Czechoslovakia split in 1993?

DannyInvincible
23/10/2014, 7:28 PM
The first competitive game between clubs from the respective countries? Surely not.

DannyInvincible
23/10/2014, 7:34 PM
MŠK Žilina and Slavia Prague played one another in the second qualifying round of the 2007/08 Champions League. There may well have been other games before that.

23/10/2014, 10:17 PM
Jaysus I thought it was a great cross and a great finish - a super finish actually . Didn't lash at it just let the momentum of the cross do the work- nice controlled side foot, very deliberate, into the far corner. Excellent.
Actually it was only a great cross because Gibbs with his superb first time contact, made it a great cross.
Gibbs only had one choice, hit it first time in the air on the volley and it was far from a given that he would even hit the target, never mind score.

ArdeeBhoy
24/10/2014, 12:12 AM
He was very good at that but the CL/Europe seems beyond him. Old age catches up finally.

About Gerrard, as in the last post on the previous page.

24/10/2014, 10:23 AM
The first competitive game between clubs from the respective countries? Surely not.

Cheers. But given that Slovan and Sparta were big rivals that's what I was going at.

DannyInvincible
24/10/2014, 1:56 PM
Ah, sorry, I thought you meant between any clubs from the respective countries rather than Slovan and Sparta.

DeLorean
24/10/2014, 4:56 PM
Jesus Danny, how did you think he was asking that :)

04/11/2014, 7:30 PM
Gerrard left out of the Liverpool team. They've been more adventurous I suppose without having him as a passenger but they are still off the pace.
Benzema's goal was a cracker. Super cross from Marcelo.
And Dortmund are winning. So all things considered this is a good evening so far.

04/11/2014, 9:00 PM
Strangely impressive CL form by Dortmund considering their BL travails this season. Anderlecht will be rueing a couple of minutes of madness in the home game against Arsenal which scuppered their chances of progress.
There was an impressive 17 year old kid (Embolo) who scored for Basel, the commentator said he was 7th youngest scorer in the CL.
Who were the others? Offhand I haven't a clue, none come to mind.

04/11/2014, 9:24 PM
Strangely impressive CL form by Dortmund considering their BL travails this season. Anderlecht will be rueing a couple of minutes of madness in the home game against Arsenal which scuppered their chances of progress.
There was an impressive 17 year old kid (Embolo) who scored for Basel, the commentator said he was 7th youngest scorer in the CL.

I'd wager Messi was one. But I have no idea. But no doubt there are some here who do.

Dortmund in the Bundesliga have been befallen with some of the most one-sided (in the sense that they have been the best team and still not been able to stick the ball in the net) losses I've witnessed. I think that the continued bad form in the league has become self-fulfilling at this stage. The thing is a decent result against Monchengladbach at the weekend and they could easily go on a 7-match unbeaten league run and be in the top-6 by the winter break.

They play with a lot more freedom in Europe as well. Tonight's goal is the first they've conceded in the CL this year. 13-1 on that count. It's quite remarkable.

04/11/2014, 9:43 PM
Bojan and Fabregas were 17, maybe Ramsey too?

05/11/2014, 8:19 AM
Here's (http://talksport.com/magazine/top-ten/2011-09-30/ten-youngest-champions-league-goalscorers-including-fabregas-ramsey-santa-cruz-and-more) a top ten from three years ago anyway

DeLorean
06/11/2014, 11:44 AM
Is it just me or does Fabregas have a face for slapping? I remember years ago, he must have only been 18 or 19, I saw a questions & answers thing with him on Sky Sports. He was asked what is his ideal night out and he replied by saying, "a romantic meal with my girlfriend and maybe a glass or two of wine". I knew then that we wouldn't get on. Class player though, I think Barcelona have really shot themselves in the foot by selling him.

There were always question marks over whether that Bojan would be able to do it on a rainy night in Stoke, but I don't think anybody expected that he would have to do it for the home side.

09/11/2014, 7:19 PM
I'd wager Messi was one. But I have no idea. But no doubt there are some here who do.

Dortmund in the Bundesliga have been befallen with some of the most one-sided (in the sense that they have been the best team and still not been able to stick the ball in the net) losses I've witnessed. I think that the continued bad form in the league has become self-fulfilling at this stage. The thing is a decent result against Monchengladbach at the weekend and they could easily go on a 7-match unbeaten league run and be in the top-6 by the winter break.

They play with a lot more freedom in Europe as well. Tonight's goal is the first they've conceded in the CL this year. 13-1 on that count. It's quite remarkable.

And win they did.

1-0 thanks to a Kramer OG. The tide is turning. Hon Dortmund!

EDIT: An OG Dickie Dunne would be proud of.

https://vine.co/v/OiWMaqd7hPt

26/11/2014, 9:15 PM
Tonights 5th round CL schedule was packed with interesting games, last night was a bit boring.
The first goal by Arsenal was a classic Arsenal goal from the Wenger era.
Probably Arsenal will still just get the 2nd spot.

DannyInvincible
26/11/2014, 9:19 PM
Unwitting pitch-invading tourists at half-time of Basel-Real?

http://giant.gfycat.com/HarmlessSlimAnglerfish.gif

26/11/2014, 9:39 PM
Unwitting isn't a word I would use, what some people deliberately do for attention, an angle. some commercial opportunity.
And here you are Danny, promoting them :)
I'd hope that camera was confiscated.

27/11/2014, 12:48 PM
It wasnt me, i have no friends:D

27/11/2014, 9:35 PM
That was bizarre in Basel. I hear there was some coordinated pitch invasion at WHL at half time, carried out on behalf of some commercial concern.
Although harmless, this is a pretty sick state of affairs, cynical business practice.
I think even Benno can appreciate zero Uefa tolerance, in this context :)

28/11/2014, 7:32 PM
What was the WHL pitch invasion all about?

28/11/2014, 9:06 PM
What was the WHL pitch invasion all about?

The Daily Mail (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2852982/The-three-pranksters-White-Hart-Lane-pitch-invasions-Tottenham-face-UEFA-fine.html) has it all in the subheadings, a guide to the whole story in a nutshell .

REVEALED: The three YouTube 'pranksters' behind White Hart Lane pitch invasions... as Tottenham face UEFA fine after their actions

Gomes Garcia, Nathan Brown and Dan Jarvis are part of TrollStation
Pranksters have racked up millions of views on YouTube
Google owned company is yet to take any action against TrollStation
Trio ran on to the pitch during Tottenham game sporting BassBuds shirts (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2852316/Tottenham-s-Europa-League-game-suspended-three-separate-incidents-saw-fans-invade-pitch.html)
Company, who sell Tottenham branded merchandise, deny they knew anything about the incident
BassBuds say they have cut all ties with Troll Station in the aftermath of the incident on Thursday night
The trio were tweeting before the game about what would take place
Metropolitan Police confirm three are still in custody after being arrested
UEFA have opened disciplinary proceedings against Tottenham
Previous pranks include turning Tube carriage into a strip club

I suspected that was what the Basel "invasion" was all about, now I'm not so sure, there is a coincidence -> one similar event on 2 different pitches, but The Basel duo could well just be, 2 out and out space cadets.

09/12/2014, 9:11 PM
Is that Basel 10 EPL 2? I have lost count.
First it was Manchester Utd, then it was Tottenham Hotspur, followed by Chelsea and now Liverpool, hammered and exposed by a club from a mini league, which much give inspiration to all small league clubs around Europe.
In this CL crucial last 16 qual game, Liverpool attempted to drag Basel down to their level, which accounted for the hoofing and misplaced passes in the first quarter, but once Basel got their fine goal to go ahead, it was a lost cause for Liverpool. I think then they would have had to score 3 to finish ahead of Basel, but apart from from a blast from the past from Gerrard, they were embarrassing.

NeverFeltBetter
09/12/2014, 10:21 PM
Liverpool really get found out this year without Suarez, Rodgers seems like a totally different manager. Interesting tie with Man Utd at the weekend. United winning games while playing poorly with injured ravaged squad, and Liverpool looking drained and confidence shy.

KK77
10/12/2014, 8:53 AM
First it was Manchester Utd, then it was Tottenham Hotspur, followed by Chelsea and now Liverpool, hammered and exposed by a club from a mini league, which much give inspiration to all small league clubs around Europe.
In this CL crucial last 16 qual game, Liverpool attempted to drag Basel down to their level, which accounted for the hoofing and misplaced passes in the first quarter, but once Basel got their fine goal to go ahead, it was a lost cause for Liverpool. I think then they would have had to score 3 to finish ahead of Basel, but apart from from a blast from the past from Gerrard, they were embarrassing.

No they just needed to win to finish ahead of Basel. Yes Basel have a great recent record against English sides. They fully deserved to go through absolutely.

KK77
10/12/2014, 8:54 AM
Liverpool really get found out this year without Suarez, Rodgers seems like a totally different manager. Interesting tie with Man Utd at the weekend. United winning games while playing poorly with injured ravaged squad, and Liverpool looking drained and confidence shy.

Gary Neville said it will be like the red lion against the dog and duck!

DeLorean
10/12/2014, 9:31 AM
I think then they would have had to score 3 to finish ahead of Basel

You would have got some shock had that deflected header from Henderson scraped past the keeper!

This is actually Liverpool's second time getting knocked out by Basel (W0 D3 L1), United finished ahead of them in a group alright at one stage (W1 D2 L1), Tottenham lost on penalties that time in the EL (W0 D2 L0) and Chelsea knocked them out of the competition then in the next round, before losing the two CL group games last season (W2 D0 L2). I can't remember anymore recent encounters so that leaves Basel's record at (W4 D7 L3). In terms of having the last laugh, I suppose you could say it's 3-3, as Chelsea qualified from that CL group ahead of them. They also managed a win in the CL knockouts against Bayern, before getting heavily beaten in the return leg. They put this on their Instagram page before taking it down :)

http://ep.imgci.com/PICTURES/CMS/76500/76513.3.jpg

DeLorean
10/12/2014, 3:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ly0rmTNdvkQ#t=127

NeverFeltBetter
10/12/2014, 9:50 PM
Fair and balanced.

DeLorean
11/12/2014, 9:52 AM
I have to say I like Thompson though, seems like a very normal kind of guy who just loves his football team. They should let him do all the Liverpool matches. Some more craic on Sky Sports last night, reminds me getting a fit of laughing at mass years ago!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygYnnsWuqvc

11/12/2014, 12:15 PM
I have to say I like Thompson though, seems like a very normal kind of guy who just loves his football team. They should let him do all the Liverpool matches. Some more craic on Sky Sports last night, reminds me getting a fit of laughing at mass years ago!

No one normal can get so excited the way he does when two teams are playing that he has no interest in come within 50 yards of the goal. The others are bad enough but he brings hype to a new level. I know they are under instructions from Sky to make it exciting but he goes way over the top, apart from that buffoon Kamara. "Unbelievable Jeff, there is a throw in". I have to sit through this each Saturday waiting for news from some far flung post in the Championship.

SKY SPORTS NEWS is now full of irrelevant stats and mind bogglingly boring tweets from players: "Well done lads. Up the City" came from some injured Manchester City player last night. Geesh.

I am getting too old for this.

DeLorean
11/12/2014, 12:46 PM
No one normal can get so excited the way he does when two teams are playing that he has no interest in come within 50 yards of the goal.

Oh yeah, very true. I find that a bit cringing myself. Charlie Nicholas overdoes it as well.

KK77
11/12/2014, 1:13 PM
No one normal can get so excited the way he does when two teams are playing that he has no interest in come within 50 yards of the goal. The others are bad enough but he brings hype to a new level. I know they are under instructions from Sky to make it exciting but he goes way over the top, apart from that buffoon Kamara. "Unbelievable Jeff, there is a throw in". I have to sit through this each Saturday waiting for news from some far flung post in the Championship.

SKY SPORTS NEWS is now full of irrelevant stats and mind bogglingly boring tweets from players: "Well done lads. Up the City" came from some injured Manchester City player last night. Geesh.

I am getting too old for this.

You should have seen him on the sideline when he was assistant manager!

22/12/2014, 8:12 PM
No they just needed to win to finish ahead of Basel. Yes Basel have a great recent record against English sides. They fully deserved to go through absolutely.
I just had a belated look at the tiebreakers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014–15_UEFA_Champions_League_group_stage#Tiebreak ers) and Liverpool would have had to score 3 to go through once Basel scored their first.
if Liverpool scored a 2nd and won 2-1, they would have drawn level on goals scored over the 2 games. The next criteria was highest number of goals scored away from home and Basel had that one.

DeLorean
18/02/2015, 12:29 PM
Only saw this now... you're overthinking it Geysir. Liverpool would have had more points than Basel if they had won the game. Tiebreakers were never going to come into it.

Pos
Team
Pld
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Qualification

Real Madrid (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real_Madrid_C.F.)
+14
Advance to knockout phase (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_UEFA_Champions_League_knockout_pha se)

Basel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Basel)
−1

Liverpool (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liverpool_F.C.)
−4
Qualification to Europa League (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_UEFA_Europa_League_knockout_phase)

Ludogorets Razgrad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PFC_Ludogorets_Razgrad)
−9

If Liverpool had won they would have had 7 points, Basel would have been stuck on 6.

I wonder how many of these types of incidents pass without some hero with a mobile phone capturing it. Scum of the Earth.

The Guardian - Paris police launch inquiry after Chelsea fans seen abusing black man on film (http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/feb/18/met-police-join-search-chelsea-fans-caught-abusing-black-man-film-paris-metro)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBeeZVd6urI

19/02/2015, 9:21 PM
Thats cleared that up, unfortunately for Liverpool there was only a small piece of that game where there was a danger of them them winning, they were just played off the park by Basel, but there's no disgrace in that :)

20/02/2015, 12:24 PM
View from Basel: Very disappointing game, no real atmosphere. Bad tactics from Sousa, Basel didnt really go for it at all, Porto not much better. A draw a fair result from two very poor teams. González's goal was a real peach, nicely put away, but after that Basel rarely threatened. Referee was awful, Mark Clattenburg gave 9 yellow cards in a game that wasnt bad tempered, and he looked like he hadnt a clue what he was doing, comical.http://www.footballfans.eu/img?f=5042013&w=600&h=301

24/02/2015, 7:31 PM
Dortmund are conspiring to lose a game they've been on top for much of.

Hummels went walkabout for Juve's second.

24/02/2015, 7:57 PM
Dortmund are conspiring to lose a game they've been on top for much of.

24/02/2015, 11:05 PM
:')

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyrb-qFkjKs

25/02/2015, 6:47 AM
That was the first time I had heard the Barca away fans (the 50 or 60 of them) make noise in a game.

KK77
25/02/2015, 9:23 AM
Suarez world class as ever!

25/02/2015, 9:37 AM
I was flicking between the two games last night.

I turned on Barca-City at one stage and the first thing that I heard uttered was "The last thing City want to do now is to concede another goal".

Lawrenson, insightful as always. And as for having Mendieta on the panel? Christ wept.

DeLorean
25/02/2015, 10:32 AM
I had to keep going into the 'other channels' option to get ITV. For flicking purposes, TV3 would have been more practical but the inconvenience was better than listing to Trevor and Lawro for any length of time.

Second leg of Dortmund Juve should be a cracker. Manchester City = Groundhog Day.... with all their billions, have they made one signing in the last three years that has actually enhanced their team?

Nevermind Hummels, Kompany is officially the most overrated defender in world football for me.

25/02/2015, 1:37 PM
You need more choices in life Delorean, having to flick all the way through to other channels is just so retro.
I have 2 sky digiboxes and can flick in between with ease, or record one game while watching another and catch up with the recorded game at half time and of course at the end of the live game. With good use of the ff button you get 2 games in full + abit of panel discussion as opposed to one game + all the panel discussion + adverts. Or do like hyper Bonnie and have 2 or 3 going on the computer along with one live on the box.

The Barca v Man city was first division quality compared to the 2nd division Juve v DVB. Even Messi's penalty and follow up miss was an astounding first class mishap.